Alister McRae takes driver’s seat in Neo S2000

Karamjit and Alister

Apparently Karamjit Singh will be replaced by Scotsman Alister McRae at the next round of the APRC scheduled to take place in early October in Indonesia. The McRae name is synonymous with rallying – Alister is the late Colin McRae’s brother. It’s not known officially at the moment whether this replacement is temporary or permanent.

Proton Satria Neo S2000

I wonder if it has something to do with Karamjit not being used to a left hand drive car (so far the results haven’t been fantastic) and delays with a right hand drive conversion, or some problems with Karamjit not being available. But anyway, all I want to see is the Neo S2000 ‘tapauing’ the other cars so if a better driver is going to help do that, I’m all for it.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• You're Slimebal on Sep 22, 2009 at 12:10 am

Maybe it's not the driver, it's the car?

• Paul Tan on Sep 22, 2009 at 12:16 am

Let's observe.

• Abdul Qayyum on Sep 22, 2009 at 12:49 am

right.. wait and see..

• saki77 on Sep 22, 2009 at 1:47 am

yup..lets wait and see…

dont assume anything yet..

• teamsleepnine on Sep 22, 2009 at 2:14 am

karamjit will be back in china….

• taboogen on Sep 22, 2009 at 3:04 am

who is the driver is not important but what car he is driving that make the headline

• I fully agree on a replacement, repects for Karamjit but

his time is past. Car is still way off the pace. Maybe

a better driver can give better feedback to the engineers

• When Guys Wilks Drive Suzuki Swift Rally… the swift is nowhere. but when he drives Neo S2000..most of the time this car tapau evo n Subaru. N got the 1st and 2nd place a few times…So this car is absolutely heaven!

• AIMAN MALAYA DESIGN on Sep 22, 2009 at 7:52 am

idop proton!!~~~

• anonymous on Sep 22, 2009 at 8:42 am

Sad lah…. sad to see our national rally hero being replaced by others but Mcrae might be a good temporary replacement

• LotusLover on Sep 22, 2009 at 10:12 am

wait for the right hand drive version and hope for karamjit return.

anyway, neo s2000 is great rally car.

• Maxgil05 on Sep 22, 2009 at 3:48 pm

malaysia tak boleh lah, how long it takes to replace right hand drive as malaysia car all are right hand drive or either Neo S2000 might not be Satria Neo after all.

• hmwong on Sep 22, 2009 at 6:11 pm

We need to develop local talent in motorsport, be it drivers or technical personel. There is always things to be learnt. Life long learning is the key. We may be the best, but there's always another mountain higher. Giving up on a talent for a set-back is definately not the way to develop talent. Not only applies to our flying Karamjit Singh though. And it's not about "tapauing" others as we may "tapau" other driversl, but we may end up learning nothing. So, is there a point?

• Karamjit has been round for umpteen years.

We should have just asked him abt the reason

for all the crashes & errors.

It's not the driver as mentioned.. its the car.

The poor power to weight ratio must be the reason.

On paper the S2000 is the best but its not all abt power.

Only time will tell.!

• Those that built the Satria Neo S2000 have been around for umpteen years too. Probably we need new blood…. if you travel balik kampong Plus highway you can see many talented drivers zig zagging, using the emergency lanes and driving more than 110 km/hr. They can apply to race…..

• rally_fan on Sep 23, 2009 at 7:38 pm

"The poor power to weight ratio must be the reason.

On paper the S2000 is the best but its not all abt power.

Only time will tell."

but the s2000 cars are always ahead of the turbo group N cars in europe. they make up for their lack in grunt with more advanced gearboxes, suspension..etc. this will be interesting to watch..

• gtmaniac on Sep 23, 2009 at 7:51 pm

Karamjit not used with LHD cars?

His daily driver (till now, if I'm not mistaken) is an LHD Wira that he got as a present from Proton since 1995/96.