Aston Martin Cygnet is not a joke after all – sales to begin in 2010!

aston cygnet

I remember when I first saw the Cygnet. In the office, having morning coffee, I unwrapped my weekly Autocar and nearly fell out of my chair! It wasn’t April Fools so this “Astonised” Toyota iQ had to be real. Only one official photo was released then – of people working on a clay model – and now Aston Martin shows the completed car and says that it will go on sale next year.

We can see that although the good folks at Gaydon have tacked on Aston styling cues such as the big grille, side fender vents and rear lights, the Cygnet still looks very much like an iQ. Similarly, the cabin retains the little Toyota’s dash architecture and instrument pack but with everything wrapped in red and black leather.

The official line is that the Cygnet “represents a creative, environmentally conscious solution, being small, yet with presence – and highly fuel efficient, now combined with the prestige of Aston Martin’s luxury brand ownership.”

The Cygnet will be initially available only to Aston’s European customers before general sales start. Perhaps Aston is positioning the Cygnet as a “top up” option for its current menu, like when you’re offered dessert at a special price after buying the main course!

More pics after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=687]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Dubravko on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:40 am

Nice design & concept…I wonder whether Daniel Craig will ride one on the next Bond sequel…

• F2xtreme on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:40 am

Ugly!!!!!

• ambush on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:50 am

so basically its a toyota…lol…

• izzolution on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:50 am

First!!!!

Is this car going to be sell in Malaysia?

I wonder how much the car price will be…

• Gajen on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:53 am

its freaking ugly…in fact the iq is so much better looking…i think aston is trying to get money by selling this car to use for rnd for future models…business not good i guess

• apeng on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:54 am

1st….

not bad..nice interior…

• looks like a baby alien

• tiny car sucks

• 1st.. haha.. fortwo version of aston martin.. but the grill still shows originality..

• skiborne on Dec 17, 2009 at 11:10 am

wow first super compact GT, ;P

• skiborne on Dec 17, 2009 at 11:11 am

this would dissapoint jeremy clarkson. hahah

• shawal on Dec 17, 2009 at 11:16 am

Lets ring up the Brabus V12 GLK and run over this thing….

• ezwann on Dec 17, 2009 at 11:24 am

Cute little baby with a big price tag

• Bruno on Dec 17, 2009 at 11:27 am

The first photo looks like a Viva Elite.

• nice interior. wonder what engine they'll put in

• ggg2c2 on Dec 17, 2009 at 11:49 am

engine?

• first!!!!

Hehe

• Hudson on Dec 17, 2009 at 12:31 pm

not bad.. very cute…

• mystvearn on Dec 17, 2009 at 2:54 pm

What is the engine like? Maybe this will cost more than your standrad M3

• DirkTooth on Dec 17, 2009 at 3:27 pm

cute car..

striking interior!!

• Pricing-wise will be skyrocketing high. Perhaps, 1 Cygnet=3 iQ?

• JULIAN_LEE on Dec 17, 2009 at 3:46 pm

BMW 1-Series better than this Kancil crap

• wow nice and cute car..but red interior is no good…

• littlefire on Dec 17, 2009 at 4:16 pm

Damn.. Is like a more posh Smart-for-2… I bet this will sell expensive due to brand.. How's the engine spec? Same as Toyota IQ?

• matador on Dec 17, 2009 at 4:33 pm

still aston tho…no matter how ugly it is..

• pulge on Dec 17, 2009 at 4:44 pm

Unacceptable.

• Reminds me of smart for 2.

• Jeffery Chew on Dec 17, 2009 at 5:05 pm

cute and stylish!

• lambov12 on Dec 17, 2009 at 5:16 pm

hopefully they put the 6Litre V12 into the Cygnet … haha

• _xXx_ on Dec 17, 2009 at 5:22 pm

Bruno said,

December 17, 2009 @ 3:27 am

The first photo looks like a Viva Elite.

——————-

no no it looks more like a Rusa in the 1st pic. I thought it's a Maivai in the 2nd photo but it has the look of a Kancil in 3rd photo but it looks exactly like a nautica in the last photo

• Cilisa on Dec 17, 2009 at 5:35 pm

People who will buy this car only care about the brand, not a typical Toyota..

• Jimmy Dean on Dec 17, 2009 at 5:47 pm

Maybe it has something to do with Corporate Average Fuel Economy regulation in the US. Buy the big fuel guzzler Aston Martin and get a free fuel sipping bastard twin of Toyota IQ. Maybe?

• Haha… mini 007's car??!!

• stephenstreets on Dec 17, 2009 at 5:50 pm

Look so cute and like going back and forward and jumping here and then while revving its small cute engine and saying "When i grow up I'm gonna a be race car just like my dad!" like finding nemo! LOL .. anyway something really new and ahead of its time. Imagine this machine in our highways and freeways at it will look small but in a city with small roads from Rome, Itally, and etc maybe will start to look like speedy gonzales!

• WTF 666 on Dec 17, 2009 at 5:51 pm

the front looks better than JULIAN LEE'S face…

• alpha0201 on Dec 17, 2009 at 5:54 pm

Now everyone can own an Aston Martin!

• milanRed (Member) on Dec 17, 2009 at 6:08 pm

beautiful design, but interior color… blueeeghhh…. might look decent with tan or black though

• kodok on Dec 17, 2009 at 6:14 pm

look like abarth/fiat 500. are they repeating the times that most car maker producing small & cheap car to increase volume?

• They'll priced circa P20k.

• Initially they micro Aston will be sell to existing Astonians, much later they'll sell to general public.

• squawk on Dec 17, 2009 at 6:53 pm

That's not a new model. It's a DB9 sandwiched in a 3 car pileup.

• Initially they micro Aston will be sell to existing Astonians, only later they'll sell to general public.

• Fuego66 on Dec 17, 2009 at 6:57 pm

Well ppl, this is all Marketing! Picture this, a rich guy has an Aston Martin Volante, and what car his daughter has to drive?? Of course this cute little AM as well. Status man, status . .. . .

• squawk on Dec 17, 2009 at 7:35 pm

My First Aston?

• squawk on Dec 17, 2009 at 7:36 pm

… is a Toyota?

• scottloeb on Dec 17, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Paul,

This is not a joke, but an insult.

• btw, HOW they gonna make the v8 or v12 exzo sound?? put extra speakers ker?

• go on on Dec 17, 2009 at 8:14 pm

????fugly

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 17, 2009 at 8:14 pm

this is disgusting

• Probably somebody on the Aston's board of directors needs a trolly for their groceries

• angel on Dec 17, 2009 at 9:35 pm

midget austin.. lol

• Imran on Dec 17, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Someone please tell me they're pulling an April Fool's joke 4 months early…

• ford_ton on Dec 17, 2009 at 9:50 pm

Someday, somewhere , someone in Malaysia will slap on an old Merc lorry grille on their P2 and claims he now drives a baby AM like Paul posted a chap ( he lives in AU2 if I'm not mistaken) driving a BMW nosed maivee….Hahahah..

• droll on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:13 pm

i still don't understand WHAT IS THE REASON BEHIND BUILDING SUCH A CAR?!

• droll on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:14 pm

i just noticed the glove compartment has a leather strap and buckle!!!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHHAHAAH

• droll on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:14 pm

you'll be the laughing stock of your neighbourhood if you buy this car.

• mingyuyu on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:44 pm

people will say this ALIEN is nice just because it is an Aston Martin… If this is proton, sure people will bash it again! FUgliest small car I ever seen!

• bastard son of the toyota iq and aston martin db9.

• BRAZBUZ on Dec 17, 2009 at 10:55 pm

wow really expensive looks…

i wonder why it does't change its powerplant and decide to use toyota engine

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 17, 2009 at 11:04 pm

oh well, when you buy this, u can say…' I DRIVE AN ASTON MARTIN'

• initial R on Dec 18, 2009 at 12:22 am

JULIAN_LEE said,

December 17, 2009 @ 7:46 am

BMW 1-Series better than this Kancil crap

————–

Think this wrong, should said Mini Cooper better than tis Kancil Crap…

• initial R on Dec 18, 2009 at 12:27 am

Kid's, don't do on real world. If u drive Auston Martin (in drunk), please don't tackle a Girl drive Toyota iQ (drunk also). U will end up like this….. So, don't drink, tackle & drive…….. :)

• Just_Once on Dec 18, 2009 at 12:32 am

Copy_cat is a trend for every car maker recently…

• this will probably be the most reliable aston martin ever…. lol…

• c14man on Dec 18, 2009 at 1:58 am

iQ patent sold to Aston? or joint venture?

• Its neither british nor european…..at least get one from euro continent, if renaultsport clio, fiat 500, mini cooper etc

• The Dean on Dec 18, 2009 at 4:44 am

fyi, the engine still the same unit found in iQ.. so it will be slower than iQ because of the refinements… not a pure aston than..

• Jimmy Dean on Dec 18, 2009 at 8:41 am

ford_ton said,

December 17, 2009 @ 1:50 pm

Someday, somewhere , someone in Malaysia will slap on an old Merc lorry grille on their P2 and claims he now drives a baby AM like Paul posted a chap ( he lives in AU2 if I’m not mistaken) driving a BMW nosed maivee….Hahahah..

—————————————————————-

You mean like this: http://s526.photobucket.com/albums/cc344/libero_m…

• tokmoh on Dec 18, 2009 at 9:21 am

Forbidden love…… the result……

Rich man fell in love with poor woman. And this happened to be their kids.

• walau a~~~~~~is it real?!!!