Something for the girls: Honda FREED Styling Study at Tokyo Auto Expo 2010

Honda FREED

This is another Honda concept destined for the Tokyo Auto Salon 2010 – and it’s a Honda Freed. This should be interesting for us Malaysians as it’s no secret that the Freed will be landing on our shores soon.

Honda FREED

There’s no Modulo name tagged onto this one, instead it is labelled a “design study”. It’s quite a feminine design, going beyond the pinkish paintjob. Check out the little butterfly and floral ‘tattoos’ around the body.

Look after the jump for hi-res pix of the modded Freed.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=769]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wajarlah on Jan 15, 2010 at 12:08 pm

Yess!

• silaey on Apr 13, 2010 at 11:06 pm

wah… so beautiful… s0me0ne buy f0r me plz… i want it…!!!! warGhh… i can’t wait anymore

• Gajen on Jan 15, 2010 at 12:24 pm

i like this car but not this particular one…i hate all these girlish things lol…ive seen jazzes,swifts and myvis modified to look girlish

• Bruce Ban on Jan 15, 2010 at 2:25 pm

Haha maybe there will be optional body works such as boyish and girlish body-kit :D

• mystvearn on Jan 15, 2010 at 2:39 pm

When will this car come again?

• G-Hard on Jan 15, 2010 at 4:05 pm

as usual our government will put higher tax 4 dis car to protect proton.stop dreaming di siang ari to da ppl yg bpndapatan rndah n sdrhana utk mmiliki dis car..

• corolla_KE70 on Jan 15, 2010 at 5:21 pm

i hope the price wont be as premium as jazz…

• azrai on Jan 15, 2010 at 5:29 pm

Honda Freed SE = Sissy Edition.

• mohd hafizzul on Jan 15, 2010 at 6:22 pm

GIRL-GIRL….

• 1malaysia on Jan 15, 2010 at 6:25 pm

any idea how much it will cost in the bolehland?

• Eh Honda Freed bukan dah lama ke? I'm seeing this car long time ago at here singapore.. i thinks since of last year.. its new meh?

• Girlish b/kit package = gf and wife

Boyish b/kit = bf, hubby, ah beng, ah pek, wait shud we add tai ko??

Good idea for car manufacturers to cash in…..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 15, 2010 at 7:06 pm

can't wait for this to come. the current crop of cheapo van's look bad. especially exora.

• The Loner on Jan 15, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Actually this considered as light deco. If let's say heavy deco on the body (not the body kits, just painting & stickers), the Japanese will call this type of cars as "Itasha"????.

• squawk on Jan 15, 2010 at 9:25 pm

It's Bruno's car. :-)

• Black Dog on Jan 15, 2010 at 9:37 pm

Gajen, I bet you hate girlfriends and your Mother too, right!

Something seriously wrong with u. Girls are to be LOVE not HATE!

But MPVs like Freed will be driven more by OLDER GIRLS (Aunties!). And if it's black, a guy will look good in it too!

• anybody knows when or is this Freed coming to Msia?…planning to replace my 06 city wt this. btw, is this freed have a rear aircon blower?..at least the rear or 2nd row, not like those new stream/wish/alza…these is msia ler pls, hot & very humid

• djmeng on Jan 16, 2010 at 2:55 am

just around the corner …..we hope as i seen one unloaded at pj in front oldtown sek17

• dickk on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:31 am

The price also high in Thailand…so what diff.. suck Honda.

• Neutral on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:34 am

Hello!

I think this is not a new Freed,it just cosmetic stickers/emblem/bling-bling to boost sale.

• steven on Jan 16, 2010 at 5:20 am

this car will cost between city and civic. My bet is with the high spec which includes electric rear sliding door is RM120K.

Cheapest City is 90k+ and civic 115k+. So it should slide in between. It will not make sense if Freed 1.5cc will cost higher than a Civic 1.8cc

Honda sales man will have a training/course on 25th January to brief them on this car.

• steven on Jan 16, 2010 at 5:31 am

Frankly speaking Exora is actually a very practical car but after 3 generations of national service, proton saga, wira & waja, I have no confident in Proton anymore. Especially the after sales service.

Just go to SS5 Giant supermarket and you will see Proton exora car with promotion "Beli Exora boleh bayar hutang untuk kereta lama". I guess they are trying very hard to sell Exora.

• dickk on Jan 16, 2010 at 5:54 am

Just bling2 with sticker and then NEW CAR…. ha ha STUPID STUFF FOR MALAYSIAN

• opaque on Jan 16, 2010 at 6:26 am

don't think freed is cheap. same price as stream in sg. unless its ckded

• honda freed – made in indon…

• keretakuda on Jan 16, 2010 at 9:06 am

NICE CAR..

• peYno on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:54 pm

gorv will make this car expensive to protect ALZA.. direct competitor to Freed.

• peYno on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Honda freed= Girlish version= look like girlish

P2 ALZA= standard version oso oredi looks like girlish

prrrfthhh

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:32 pm

very sexy car

• slimershine on Jan 17, 2010 at 4:52 am

for girl i think its okey..

but for guy.. eeeuuuuwwwww..

better go s.neo. macho car~

• minto on Jan 17, 2010 at 2:32 pm

Its beautiful feminine car and romantic car with pink color

• King Samurai on Jan 17, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Freed is coming soon..just round the corner before CNY..or might be right after CNY. Freed will be replacing the old Stream for regional based Honda's MPV line-up..coming straight up to our shores CBU from Indonesia. Price might be sitting between City and Civic but also slightly more expensive from the Tomyamland's Jazz as heavy excise duties and import tax imposed to all CBU models. Though we might been left out 2 years behind since Freed originaly released in Japan, this model is very well accepted in Singapore brought in by the grey importers.

Here in Bolehland…Freed will be positioned in very very niched target market (thanks to our tax regime) as Exora and Alza or will be dominating the compact mpv segment. Honda M'sia will not be targeting volume sales for Freed surely, but just to spice up their model line-ups. Definitely not answering the market demands for a competitive and affordable MPV to young & small families. Non-Honda hard cores but looking for a better built mpv will go for the lower price CKD Grand Livina (or Kia Rondo maybe?) for a compact mpv instead.

Should someone can afford for RM150k-170k price range to get a 7 seater mpv…why go for this compact-sized but pricey Freed? There are bigger and better officially imported mpvs like Stream and Wish or even the marked-down Grandis. Off course there will better offerings from the grey importers…so many heavily discounted Wish that can go as low as Freed's price list. Some points to ponder…just my 2cents.

• King Samurai,

Interestg if pricing if arnd 90k-100k, like the sliding rear door (very practical) but again, got rear aircon or not? kidz will be screaming at 3rd row if w/out rear blower…..dun give me the reason/mktg talk of sufficient blower from the front reach 3rd row thingy, those ppl dun have kids!

• King Samurai on Jan 18, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Dzat,

Price definetely wont be around RM90-100k..impossible. Jazz higher spec already reach RM110k. I guess it'll be seating around RM113k..just between Civic 1.8..or else these models will cannibalize each other. Seating configuration might be 2-2-3, not like stream or wish (2-3-2) due to its boxy body, in japan they have 8 seater variant with 2-3-3 config. I personally think that aircond blower is sufficent..just look at the interior design..airflow is somehow kinda good.

• king samurai,

tks for the info. ; )

• tulang on Jan 18, 2010 at 9:09 pm

is that truth they will launch before cny?…

if the price is not reach 100k… then will consider this.. till now, honda [M] still no news for this… even no advt.. at least just give some hilghlight.. so that people wont book for alza, exora [if the price is competitve]

• King Samurai on Jan 18, 2010 at 11:48 pm

tulang,

I will cut my hair half-bald la if Honda M'sia selling this Freed below RM100k. Highest spec in Tomyamland (with bodykit & sat nav) is just over 1 mill Baht, lowest spec is about 850k Baht…Then come to beloved Bolehland with tax this tax that…price should hover around RM115k. Maybe plus another 5k for Modulo kits la..sat nav la…bla..bla..bla..

Bro, if you have mid-size family (3 or more kids) with budget below RM100k go for Grand Livina instead. Smaller family with 2 kiddos then you may go for Alza. If you dont mind about built quality, engine performance, fuel consumption..then can consider Exora or Rondo Citra II.

Freed is no longer a secret…Paul Tan did cover this story since its launch in Japan in 2008..This model was the replacement for Mobilio (more squarish and wierd looking compact mpv). I saw few times in KL this wierdo Mobilio and one in honda dealer in Senawang few years ago…car wasn't for sale..the dealer owner imported from Japan (AP holder maybe?). Now this Freed is coming very soon…i heard honda sales people go for training in their Melaka training centre..I think to launch before CNY is too soon….may be in early March..Looking at Honda Msia's trend of launching new models in past years, March would be more appropriate. Anyhow, we have many MPVs in our market now (including those from blood sucking grey importers), money and choice is ours…so let the market decide..Which would be the best national makes MPV and non-national makes mpv.

• tulang on Jan 22, 2010 at 6:49 pm

any latest news/update for honda freed… cant wait too long..!!!

• progtfa on Jan 22, 2010 at 10:42 pm

my friend (a honda SA) just attended the briefing for Honda freed, this car is launching soon maybe April price around 115-118k

• tulang on Jan 25, 2010 at 4:20 pm

wahh… so expensive…for 1.5…. for sure people will go for another options…if they have….

1.5cc with that price is quite expensive… n dont think people in the middle range cant afford for this car/mpv… if they wanna compete with other competitors such as nissan, toyota, honda need to do something with that price.. the price is should below 100k….

• tulang on Jan 25, 2010 at 4:29 pm

so expensive…. for sure people will prefer wish[recond] instead of this freed… unless ure honda fanatic…

• zulib78 on Jan 30, 2010 at 9:40 am

rm115k is too expensive…… pls wise guys… but if u want to buy .. its your money anyway. If this the price in our Bolehland… those who are ada duit lebih sikit… better take stream/wish/mazda5.

But wait till may2010 !!!!, i heard that govt. will introduce a new fuel price scheme….

• Itam Limbat Pandak Oyin on Apr 10, 2010 at 11:03 pm

Berapa duit hargenye?

• hang solo on Apr 19, 2010 at 12:27 am

comfirm price $114980. sama harga to honda civic 1.8.launching on 22/4/10.
      frankly this honda freed are overwhelming in japan and indonesia,
      of course in japan they sell approx $70-80k(after convertion) and in indonesia also that range due to local assemble. But not to Malaysia, the import duty will cost more than $30k, hence this model will not “move fast” like avanza or alza or exora!!!!
      anyhow, think twice before you decided, (one Freed = 2 Alza)