FIA and Christian Horner: Red Bull RB6 is perfectly legal

Red Bull’s RB6 that powered Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber to a one-two finish at the Malaysian GP is the fastest car on track at the moment, leading some rivals to question its legality. Word has been going around that the RB6 uses some sort of ride height adjustment device which optimises performance for both qualifying and the race.

This has led the FIA to issue a statement. “Any system device or procedure, the purpose and/or effect of which is to change the set-up of the suspension, while the car is under parc ferme conditions will be deemed to contravene art 34.5 of the sporting regulations,” it said. The ruling body has also inspected the RB6 and found it to be perfectly legal, faxing all the F1 teams to confirm that anyone who implements such a system will be contravening the regulations.

Meanwhile, Red Bull Racing team boss Christian Horner says the FIA’s reminder “has no impact” on its RB6. “The car that we will take to China will be exactly the same mechanically as it was in the first three races. It has absolutely no impact on the specification of our car.

“Fundamentally, we’ve got a fast car. The guys have done a good job and it’s inevitably one of those things that people perhaps make accusations when you are running competitively,” he said. “But I take it as a compliment. I’m sure if we were running 14th, similar accusations wouldn’t be made,” he told Autosport.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mohsin on Apr 12, 2010 at 4:02 pm

This season F1 racing seems more interesting.
    Unpredictable result! Go rookie go!
    Er, no discount for the drink, eh?
    I drink red bull kadang2 for balik kampung!
    If got discount, maybe hari2 minum especially when World cup 2010 start kick off!!

• osh_kosh on Apr 12, 2010 at 4:28 pm

“The car that we will take to China will be exactly the same mechanically as it was in the first three races. …” hmm… mechanically the same, that’s the point here.. :)

• Squawk on Apr 12, 2010 at 4:30 pm

So Newey’s magic bull really has wings.

• oh yeah !
    eat that other team!

• Adrian Kok on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:40 pm

Bring it on la!!. The RB 6 is a sweet car that will take the world championship this year….

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 12, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Wonder how fast this car will be when it uses Mclaren rear wing style air duct when europe grand prix starts.

• kimi_ on Apr 12, 2010 at 7:17 pm

Adrian Newey always design fastest car on grid (eg McLaren when Raikkonen there) but the

reliability become issue (same when he is in McLaren)_

• haha..u rite..he too focus on 1 side and forgot another side..nwy..good job for them..

• JoeGti on Apr 12, 2010 at 7:17 pm

Go vettel go, hes a new schumi

• Alifz on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:37 am

Go go go..go Red Bull and Renault..
    Smokes more to Alonso..hahaha

• monash.u on Apr 13, 2010 at 10:28 am

rory byrne is the answer to adrian newey’s championship design.

• Squawk on Apr 13, 2010 at 12:06 pm

Newey pushes his designs to the limit which means there’s very little tolerance for error.

• even if u run last, mr tony would be happy :-)

• my god toni would be proud even if u can run last :-)

• vette on Apr 13, 2010 at 1:54 pm

lets hope they do perform well in china to proof their innocence ^^

• I-Have-a-Kimchi-GirlFriend on Apr 13, 2010 at 4:05 pm

sorry, can someone tell me why RedBull F1 is so good now? i’m a bit lost~~

• leonardo on Apr 13, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Well said Christian Horner – if you are team HRT, nobody cares if you have ride adjustment or some other gadgets.
    I guess some of the better funded teams are envious that Red Bull has the fastest car even with a prudent budget for F1.