Toyota Vios Facelift for M’sia launched: RM72K-RM92K!

UMW Toyota has launched the facelifted Toyota Vios this afternoon. Like most MC (minor change in Toyota speak) cars, the makeover is limited to the front and rear look, wheels and cabin trim while the internals are unchanged. Powered by the tried and tested 1NZ-FE 1.5-litre with 108 bhp and 141Nm mated to a four-speed automatic, the refreshed Vios sees a slight increase in price over the old car, ranging from RM1,100 to over RM2,000 depending on variant. Here are the new prices, which are OTR with insurance:

• Vios TRD Sportivo RM92,000
  • Vios G RM87,300
  • Vios E RM81,500
  • Vios J (A) RM76,090
  • Vios J (M) RM71,990

Up front, the main change is the radiator grille, which brings some “Camry style” to the Vios. The grille now has two chrome horizontal bars as opposed to the previous single split, while the fog lamp housings are now in silver. At the launch event, UMWT showed off the range topping TRD Sportivo and the G-spec, and both came with new design 15-inch alloys and door visors. At the back, the MC Vios gets new taillamps that has more detailing compared to the plain old units. The chrome strip above the number plate is also longer and more prominent now. I have a feeling Toyota wanted to give the Vios a “classier” feel with this facelift, and the grille, chrome and multi-spoke alloys are supposed to create that effect.

Inside, the theme continues with piano black trim on the trademark “waterfall” centre console and chrome on the gear shifter base, hand brake knob and door handles (chrome package only for G). There’s also a new steering wheel with its base flattened off slightly and redesigned audio controls on the left spoke. In the G, the wheel is covered in dimpled leather while the TRD Sportivo gets red stitching to match the rest of its red/black cabin. The G gets combination leather seats and a light grey/beige theme, which further enhances the Vios’ airy, spacious feel. Variants lower down the range get dark grey fabric. We don’t get the Thai market’s HUD, start/stop button and AUX jack.

Equipment wise, all variants come with ABS with EBD and Brake Assist. J-spec cars get a driver’s airbag while the rest comes with two. Most of the goodies such as rear disc brakes, 15-inch rims and integrated stereo are only for the TRD Sportivo and G-spec. As before, the TRD Sportivo can be ordered with optional sports suspension. Scanning through the spec sheet, I saw that both manual and auto J-spec cars now come with power adjustable and retractable wing mirrors, which wasn’t the case previously, if memory serves right.

UMWT started taking orders for this car in February, and has over 2,500 bookings in hand as of now. The company plans to sell 32,400 units of the Vios this year and is confident of retaining the model’s No.1 position in the B-segment.

Pictures from the launch after the jump.

Toyota Vios facelift live images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1049]
Toyota Vios facelift official images
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1050]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Snotmaster on Apr 15, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Oh wow, $22,000 just for an entry level car. I remember in the US that used to fetch a Camry less than 10 years ago.

• quite hot, the girls

• AE86 (Member) on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:12 pm

if buy car free the red hot girls then i don mind… haha…
      drive any lausy car with that girl beside, i feel like driving lamboghini…
      Walking also got wind behind me…

• ong chin aun on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Red Hot !

• acerman on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Ya.. I think they should package with the models too and then I wouldn’t mind if people say I’m driving a dugong!

• N@ndesk@ on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:44 pm

Yeah man, chicks in RED is definitely an eye catcher…

• magic on Apr 15, 2010 at 3:52 pm

ok la. tetap memaintainkan sifat2 ahbeng! tahniah.

• MrDDR on Apr 15, 2010 at 3:52 pm

Track car?

• Facelifted..Facelifted..Facelifted..Facelifted..

• Muh Hong Quat on Apr 15, 2010 at 3:58 pm

mau tipu ka? TRD mcm nieh sampai 92k HAHAHA kolo proton jer mesti korang hentam terok2 ini kereta dugong mesti korang suka,,,, hahahaha

• pomen_GTR (Member) on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:32 pm

aiyyo..

add TRD carpet cost more than 20k ah???

a set of ahbeng lowering spring also cheaper than that…wakakakakaka…..

• goodaymate! on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:08 pm

Just another 13k you can get Racing spec Satria neo lotus…

• toyolta on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:14 pm

not 13k, but 23k …kira betul betul…

• theanswer on Apr 16, 2010 at 8:14 am

lol..at 93k can get u a forte 2.0 with 6 airbag..bla..bla..bla..spec.

• Totally agree with you!

• Konichiwa on Apr 17, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Indeed!! Kia Forte much better.. This is such an ugly bitch, I mean the car. The gerls are Hot btw..

• turbonatics on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:39 pm

this dugong is rubbish..aiyaaa…it makes me puke…

• ugly car.nice amoy.
    1st..

• look nice…

• yawn …

• anonimus on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:02 pm

ugly.period.

• Hi,

First impression, those ‘red’ lenglui girls clad in a very short miniskirt… yummy…

Second, the only thing I hate about Vios is, why in the heck they’ve placed the driver’s speedometer, rpm meter and all those drive indicators in the middle of the cabin!~

• You hate dont buy loh.. bising ini orang..

better than Persona Elegance what..

• Jimmy on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:21 pm

haha.. i know why u said it is better than proton.. because u r the dugong owner.. dugong is always dugong..

• ya lor.. persona elegance is definitely better…. why this vios interior look extremely boring and cheap aaa…????

• Ma[X] on Apr 16, 2010 at 5:51 pm

agree. persona e is better in term of value for money.
            current dugong bumper: ugly
            new dugong bumper: UGLIERR!!!!
            OWH I CANT TAKE IT ANYMORE!!!!!!! TAKE THE UGLY THING AWAY OF ME!!!

• redxdevil (Member) on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:54 am

yeah! dugong never look good. too boring.. too cheap looking

• Persona is better

• turbonatics on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:48 pm

with rm90k,u can get Persona E highline,send to R3 tuning…fuhhh…memang cun la…

• raja hakim on Apr 18, 2010 at 12:36 pm

what… batter than persona elegance!!! are you blind or crazy… this dugong is the most ugly car ive ever seen… the persona is even better
        with a price like that…. im just goona stick to the honda city E or naza forte 2.0!!!
        btw you must be the dugong owner!!!! i feel sorry for you

• acerman on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:46 pm

I agree. Why did they put it in the middle? Hmm…

• lalala on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:00 am

short skirt meh?? its hotpants la…

• turbonatics on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:42 pm

bcoz,toyota is out of fresh ideas….just recycling the old dugong,put some makeup,some eye shadow…bla2,the named it TRD SPORTIVO…Persona E is much more better than this rubbish

• bundi on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:03 pm

facelift my ass!!!

• why? you’re ass very old fashion?
      go to those slimming thing. =P

• ehm…. nothing interesting…

• calvin on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:06 pm

new vios is launced! hemm.. i think the previous version looked nicer.. =P

• The more I look at this car, and the utter and grossly under engineered architecture of it, the more confounded I am by the droves of people of buy them, especially in light of the choices available in the market today.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 22, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Chun,

Then u need to understand the meaning of a TOTAL CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE. Until u do, u will never understand why the Vios sells so well. Driving a car is not just about looks. A car is an investment which ure bound to see losses. The idea is to minimise yor loss and at the same time enjoy a reliable car that gets u safely from A to B. If u havent owned a Toyota u wont know what im talking about.

There is no car which is perfect and the Vios is far from it. But it has all the important factors going for it. Physical looks come in 2nd compared to reliability, maintenance costs and resale values. Of course u cant expect a high level of safety in the Vios since its a B segment model. Specs arent anything to shout about either. But it has other factors going for it and that will keep the sales going.

Cheers!

• petrol-head on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:09 pm

1 WORD = = nice!!! far far better than Satria NEO Rm100K++ another blood sucker from hard earn ppl money, fall into PROTON gimmick

• hanson on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:50 pm

actually, Vios TRD is just a gimmick by Toyota.
      Satria Neo R3 Lotus Racing is not a gimmick.
      you will get what you pay for in Neo R3.

• Christophe on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm

agree with you hanson!
        petrol-head got no brain otherwise he will not have to use petrol head(assume he has a petrol brain too) to speak crap here!
        haha!

• life in the slow lane on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:31 pm

i am sure the satria neo is very reliable..

nuff said

• MoFaz on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:24 pm

the brakes on Neo R3 is much more reliable than Toyota brake pedals

• This is the fake TRD , i don like proton, but i hav to say neo r3 has worth, due to the rel racing spec.

• raja hakim on Apr 18, 2010 at 12:46 pm

i think the neo r3 is a bit of over pricing… but i have to say it is worth it….
        THIS DUGONG SUCKS!!!!!

• You obviously know nothing about cars. Check properly the specifications for the R3 Neo then talk. I’m not a Proton lover and dun even drive 1 but I sure think the R3 has some serious stuff going on.

Toyota TRD version of Vios is lame. Doesn’t do any justice at all. Ohlins suspension + 4 pot AP racing brakes is the reason why R3 Neo is RM 115K. Vios TRD gives u what for the extra u’re paying?

Anyway, as usual, Toyota brings out the ugly + boring cars. Nothing more, nothing less. Ppl who likes the Toyota must be boring drivers cause their cars are all developed without any passion or soul. Just to mass produce.

As for me, my car is like my wife (though I’m not married). When I pick a partner, do I just go for something that can produce tonnes of babies for me of should I go for someone I really love (beautiful, not only appearance but also mind). Picking toyota is like buying your wife from Cambodia..just use money and buy to produce your next generation.

• staff on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:35 pm

Opps… wrong ppl to comment… my words meant for the petrol-head…

• hah?? you make comparison this dugong ( 108bhp) with Satria Neo R3 Lotus Racing(145 bhp) ?? Are serious?

• typical malaysian on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:11 pm

yeah we can compare it with neo R3 since they release their vios TRD version, why not?

• Jimmy on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:24 pm

dugong is dugong.. welcome to all dugong owner..

• staff on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:33 pm

the 100+K satria neo is not for you… you know… bcoz it is only 25units and you cant afford 1/25..

• Neo CPS R3 Lotus Racing can smoke Vios TRD any time any place.. bet it be in a drag race or in a race track…

• kereta on Apr 16, 2010 at 5:02 pm

no need r3 version, CPS also can smoke it already~

• then try smoke normal/ original Kelisa at S-corner… don’t say straight line / drag….

Kelisa 53hp vs Satria Neo CPS/R3? 125/140?

If Neo lost then it will be a Joke….

• Cynical on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:13 am

People race at corners only is it?

• vigoss on Apr 21, 2010 at 7:34 pm

lol noob try to compare race at s corner only.
            hahaha.
            better put GTR for best cornercar.

• akupunya on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:10 pm

boringg…and ugly add on..

• kennyphan on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:11 pm

almost 2K price increase little change!
    Anyhow, M’sian still prefer Toyota brand!
    Sure can continue sell.

• Still fugly !!!!!!!

• forteOwner on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:12 pm

This Vios is a Big Joke parking next to my Forte…especially the TRD version LOL…

• Yes bro…good for u for buying a much better car than this. You sure got a better deal/safer car than this overprice joke.

• raybrig on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:15 pm

it’s still dugong anyway…

• Ericboy on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:40 pm

What’s dogong means?

• speed_lover on Apr 18, 2010 at 6:34 pm

it’s a sea mammal..you may ask mr. google

• Did you mean dugong is a kind of tame fish that can perform kissing acts with kids watching it on an aquirium pavement ? I barely remember this fish is being named flipper in an old tv series, ring any bell?

• Better get mazda 2 lah!!! Toyota suck blood 1

• Fiesta better than M2 (if the interior was based on the car they show at 1 utama recently)

• If, as reported by Paul, the Fiesta that was previewed was from Singapore, it could be made in Germany. The ones to be sold here will be from Thailand. Am trying to manage your expectations lah.

• torque (Member) on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:23 pm

Agreed with dzat! The Fiesta seats is much more comfortable compared to the M2 plus u got dual clutch somemore…but then both cars are better buy than this dugong!

• Prelude on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Dugong facelift..

• Tiadaid on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Why are UMW so skimpy with their features on this Vios? Can’t even feature an AUX port? Come on, how expensive can a radio with an AUX jack? Whereas Honda can offer radio with AUX AND USB port in their City?

Alas, still will be a best seller, only because of the badge. If this was any other car brand, surely they’d be bashed to no avail.

• Will still be the best seller for non-national car…cheaper cost better margin!..T brand, confirm ppl will buy

• Sallehy on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:17 pm

haiya…harga naik..sikit je ubah…:(

• Jason on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:19 pm

the white color is nice.

• hanson on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:22 pm

my god! what a beauty in red!

• Only those moron will buy this dugong.

• 4agze (Member) on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:23 pm

screw the dugong!!!
    hello ladiessss~~~

• You got it wrong la.

Screw the ladies.. and what car?

Wahahahahaha

• linear_system on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:25 pm

still not so nice..but still ppl will surely buy this since its toyota..ugly,expensive,boring for this vios i suggest..

• Apa mcm?

• subhero on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:30 pm

ugly car , cun amoi. bad price, good amoi.

• perkasa on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:39 pm

mcm hampeh..dah lah mahal, kete bukannya laju mana pun… 1.5l = 108bhp??…wahhh kelakar kelakar..baik beli forte..tak pun amik pesona CPS..laju pun laju

• MoFaz on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:29 pm

Persona takde CPS la bang, ada IAFM je. tapi still more power than this dugong :)

• r u sure persona hv better power than vios??u might be kidding..go and hv a test drive on vios before u speak..dun just based on technical sheet..

• Jimmy on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:26 pm

hallo kawan.. lu g test drive persona n compare la… jgn cakap jer tapi tak pernah test

• MoFaz on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:31 pm

i did test drive vios before i buy waja…
            to me, vios is a very boring machine.

• bianca on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:08 am

klau x penah bwk persona jgn citer la bro, aku dh try bwk vios la, klau stakat main kt trafic light baik x pyh, kelisa lg pick up, beraper top speed vios leh dpt, 170? 180?, 140 pn dh goyang,,, pstu x leh nk blah
            persona jauh lbih stabil drp tin kosong bgerak

• Persona can even smoke Civic 1.7 (7th generation) at 195 kph.
            Seen that, done that…

Vios is a non-contender….. not worth a try…

• redxdevil (Member) on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:50 am

yg komen ni bukan tau apa-apa pasal kereta. kau tau apa itu bhp? persona vs vios sure persona menang la. its FACT

• kelisa pickup??lol…it’s different segment pls..then why ppl buy other bigger cc car rather than kelisa since kelisa pickup better than 1.5 litre car…lol…

wow..persona can even smoke civic 1.7vtec??u go civic 7th gen forum speak there..see wat responce they give u..maybe d civic owner dun feel wan to race u also..d civic owner just speed at 120 and just let u smoke at 195 u also duno..and hw much time u take frm 0-195??lol..if wan test,test first round than change car,sometimes is d drive prb pls..and try to compare auto with auto transmission..nt manual..

act is a very common things, those who support persona sure will said persona is better than vios..

i got drove those car before i gave comment,nt just simply shoot here..

• to redxdevil.

seems like bhp is all d things for u..i gave u a 1000bhp car if u duno hw to control also no use,dun forget,driving skill is important too..

• azlan on Aug 04, 2010 at 5:09 pm

proton persona campro engine compare toyota vios vvti . really toyota vios is most powerful than proton persona.moreover,toyota cars is sales worldwide EXPERINCE IS BETTER THAN PROTON PERSONA.lets think PROTON FANS,how will the proton is the best engine,LOTUS IS SUPPLY ENGINE FOR PROTON,WILL U THINK TIS CAMPRO IS THE NEW TEHNALOGY ENGINE.CONCLUSION OLD TEC ENGINE. BUTgood thing of proton persona is spacious space and hav resonable price, TOYOTA VIOS is all alluminium vvti 1.5 engine and fuel comsumption,good pick up engine.most important VIOS is reliable car.

• Proton persona up hill,the engine is very noisy and no powerful.(MOFAZ) don lie people. toyota vios ,honda city,kia forte,nissan latio is powerful engine. toyota vios is my alternative.toyota vios is best seller of non-national car.

• rizal on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:30 pm

nice car.. vote for vios…

• keep on bashing on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:30 pm

wow!!! so sweet!!! i mean the girls, not the car :p

still think that persona facelift is better deal, though most of you will say better fc, reliable engine bla bla bla…

same old story, with the saving of RM30K can buy you 5 years of petrol, assuming you consume RM500 per month :)

• MoFaz on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:31 pm

heck.. i consume less than rm200 in ‘normal’ months. only more usage during raya :)
      that’s petrol for more than 12 years!

• meteoraniac on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:32 pm

wow

words cant express how beautiful

the models are….

• roughn3ck on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Now with that price, better go and get Kia Forte…

• torque (Member) on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:26 pm

True…if u could bare the waiting agony for the 2.0 version….

• jerrymouse on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:35 pm

why is it still the old 1.5L engine??
    does this engine really that good ?
    just curious ><

• DonkeyKong on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:29 am

Nope, Toyota is just being lazy. They have an engine + gearbox combo that works, so they don’t bother changing it while they keep raising the prices. I salute Toyota owners!!

On a related note, I have a potential business opportunity for Toyota owners. My name is Mbeki Kolon. I am the assistant treasurer of Namibia. Our govt has been overthrown but we need to move the money out before the rebels get it. I would like to offer you an opportunity to help us with this. In return, we will give you a portion of the USD$458 million that we will be moving out of Namibia.

• Barf. The interior gets cheaper and cheaper looking with the facelift. Mana Grade S?

But somehow I think Vios is a better buy than Mazda2 Sedan.

• Prices increased but still don’t get HUD, start/stop button and AUX jack. Haiz!

• seperlinky on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Face lift = Reason to increase price

• rhoma on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:41 pm

overpriced “MC” dugong

• youngbags on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:47 pm

bunch of blood suckers. slight cosmetic changes and charges exorbitant price. go fly kite.

• Automotive_Critics on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:52 pm

Overall design still proportionate and ergonomically better than others. Nice side profile and rear end design. But Forte will eat gradually into vios market.

• lazyf on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:52 pm

Persona Elegance is still a better deal…

• very nice amoy…

• toyoto on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Better buy Kia Forte full spec 2.0 with this price..Price increase to pay the US lawsuit ka haa?

• wuttaheck on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:30 pm

nicely said bro..nicely said :D

• DonkeyKong on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:34 am

Making hay while the sun is still shining.. their sun is still brightly shining in sucker-packed markets, like Malaysia..

• AE86 (Member) on Apr 15, 2010 at 4:57 pm

actually i dont really care bout the facelift thing… no matter how good it dress up.. the inside still the snail speed engine… it would be nice if they provide turbocharged or supercharged version, or larger displacement of n/a engine.

• nogori on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:00 pm

still dugong car… minor change… front n rear only…

NO improvement…

UGLIEST CAR IN THE WORLD…..

• Riker on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:00 pm

I remember somebody said the dashboard looks like men’s underwear… I always laugh my guts out whenever I think about that.

• kedaikopi on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:01 pm

this model from its inception until it became the facelift model and the TRD model, I do not have to like it. very ugly. If we mention about the price, with a 1.5L engine, it is too expensive ..! (Facelift model only laa.. maybe kalau TRD tu, sesuai laa RM90K..)

• Neo.S on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:03 pm

er…….no different with that few chibai K …..not much TRD performance part too

if i’m rich i still go for 115K Neo with that custom Ohlins and AP racing….

not worth for the engine performance yeah you are right …..but to get the Ohlins i guess you have pay more than 60K to build a custom made .

• which model you more prefer vios , city o M2?

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:04 pm

one thing for sure…forte owners wont regret with their decision after seeing this dugong facelift!

• DonkeyKong on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:37 am

But too bad 2nd hand car dealer outlets are dominated by cinapek and ah beng, so they’ll still assign higher resale value to T and H

• megpan on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:07 pm

add rm3k to TRD can get 2.0 forte, come on la UMW, be reasonable

• PeeOne on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Yeah dashboard looks like G-string

What happened to Toyota these days. !!

• Mysticmind on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:10 pm

wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

92K for 108hp!!!

great!!!

great my ass!

• Persota on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:14 pm

The facelift Persona is so much nicer ! Better handling too

First time i say Proton nicer than Toyota the Giant

• carneo on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Dugong only need to paid 72k….but not much change also, but why no body comment on this about the noting change facelift and price increase, if compare to Proton Elegance lot of comment for the noting change facelift.

• Christophe on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:20 pm

look at the grey plastic interior!!!
    it so FUGLY!!!
    for this price, go FORTE!!!

and the exterior!!!
    looks like pregnant woman!!!
    ugliest car on road today….

but the girls do look pretty….=p

• lazyf on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm

i would consider either Forte or Persona Elegance…

• MoFaz on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:37 pm

if you have more money, go for Forte. if not, buy Persona…
      and don’t even give this dugong any consideration at all.. I never like this dugong since first version.

• bobby on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:39 am

I agreed. It is sad to see lotsa ppl buy dugong and drove it with pride. They do not realise the real value of the car.

• scuddie on Apr 16, 2010 at 6:58 pm

Lol..but they do realise the real re-sell value for the car..=p

• wow…quite a backlash for TOyota….wonder why its being bombarded heavily on internet always…
    but in real world..its always the King..Toyota.
    Is it because of the age group factor??

• rambo ramsey on Apr 15, 2010 at 7:33 pm

Its the ladies lah bro. They love this car to the bits!

• Christophe on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:30 pm

teenage girls do like guys driving Honda and Toyota though…
        i’m really puzzled by this..
        Honda and Toyota is driven by Uncles not teenagers…

• xatomic on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:03 am

u mean those ah lians haha

• DonkeyKong on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:39 am

Toyota should bundle subwoofers and techno non-stop remix CDs with Vios, guaranteed to lock down this customer base!

• no teen, uncles pun uncles lahhh… janji drive T&H :)

• uzmar on Aug 04, 2010 at 5:45 pm

Christophe jangan cakap gosip toyota dan honda for uncle not for teenanger.kalau tak ada kemampuan membeli kereta jepun,jangan beli,jangan cakar banyak. Peribahasa kata….UKUR BAJU DI BADAN SENDIRI. toyota dan honda bukan sekadar for uncle, juga boleh driven oleh teenager. membeli kereta ialah mengikut cita rasa sendiri.

• niamafufu on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:30 pm

the interior quality no much different wf proton and perodua… y dey jus know how to cut cost but nvr thnk how to improve the quality?

• DonkeyKong on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:41 am

Because they wanna cheat people. Luckily for them, Malaysia is full of dumb buyers.

People who buy Toyota probably would buy “Magic Stones” also

• I saw hotgirl on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Wow, I can only see the hot girl. Marvelous ~

• Playboy on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Wow! such a marvelous beautiful hotgirl.

• Speedster on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:39 pm

Wow! extra 2k for the girl posing on the facelift launch?

• shitty car and whyla ppl still wanna buy and the best seller for non national car segments somemore. i really dun understand the majority’s taste out there.
    definately Forte is the better buy even though i dun own one.
    come on la ppl , choose wisely la.

• oldman on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:40 pm

if dont own a forte, how do u know its a better buy….think, think harder why many people bought this over a forte or shitty persona elegance…

• DonkeyKong on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:46 am

Herd mentality

• alex c. tseung on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:53 am

I think it is always down to personal taste on cars. but if one compare the spec with this 3 mentioned cars, it is quite obvious that you are getting more technology on forte and you pay less for a persona elegance. go figure y people keep buying it. maybe its some sort of mental block to this for people are tired of being forced to buy something inferior all their lifes. once they have the means to buy a branded product, they will go for it even if it is a cost down version of the brand.

• that bcoz the oldman always think Persona is shitty eventho they dont even own it…

• klaka seram on Apr 15, 2010 at 5:49 pm

the dugong rules

• Its always your money your choice. I would consider it overpriced for the specs and even peace of mind cos other cars (like Koreans and Conti) nowadays, esp for first 5-years are more realiable than in the past. Waiting for CyberM to comment but hopefull you guys can be less emotional.

• sayapdewa on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:07 pm

exterior ugly, interior ugly, person in dis car for sure …. what a ugly dugong ever!!

• sutheshkumar on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:09 pm

as the J spec comes with a driver airbag now, how the E and G spec is differentiated?

• no HUD,no aux jack,no start stop…what a funny facelift

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:37 pm

G spec kit absent in the E spec: leather seats, integrated stereo, 15-inch wheels, chrome package, leather wrapped steering, rear disc brakes and door visor.

• I dun like the face lift.. glad to buy it b4 the “face lift”. I especially do not like the PRICE!

• osh_kosh on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:25 pm

the good thing is that the new J spec got Airbag & power adjustable and retractable wing mirrors.. but still the price was quite high for ‘plain’ car.. TRD version maintain the worse version with a sub-90k price.. i’ll go for a 308 or Forte with that price! Toyota, thank but no thank!

• Motorist on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:27 pm

RM92K for a top end Vios ???!!! There’s a sucker born every minute.

Even if they throw in those 2 pretty girls in red as a GWP, it’s still not worth it.

• Who is more stupid?

The car company that sell overpriced car, with outdated design?
    or the consumers that buys anything so long it has the Toyota badge?

Good work, Toyota. You make more money. For the next generation Vios, please price your car above 100k or more. buyers dont seem to mind paying more, dont mind paying installment for 10 year or more….They are so very willing

• Maserati on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:31 pm

Even at this price level,its gonna sell 10x more than the mazda 2..

• britney spearmint on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:32 pm

my Dream Car, y nobody here seems to appreciate this beauty, it’s sporty actually, the power delivery is silky smooth, the gearbox is so reliable, the plastic dashboard is so sexy n solidly built, it may look like a dolphin, but it’s really an adorable animal !

• BedFord on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:33 pm

dear britney,

first of all nobody label this overprice car a dolphin but dugong.bet u havent even know how the creature looks like.i agree the car is as good as honda(also over pricing dickhead company)only a person who wants their money worth spend knows thats rather than a spoilt rich kids.sampai kiamat laa pakai 4 speed auto gearbox.
      plannin to buy forte,i suggest to buy the 2.0 spec.better deal.but if u guys still insist buyin lower cc,then i suggest the new ford fiesta sedan 1.5cc.6 speed gearbox and at a great price around rm85k for a high spec model.looks is much more better.

• alex c. tseung on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:02 am

I am not quite sure if britney meant what was posted by her. I think she was being sarcastic. I could be wrong.

• britney spearmint on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:50 pm

I forgot to mention, it’s a Bad Dream of mine,and in my Dream,it’s a Dolphin that turns into a Car,i am certain the creature i saw ain’t Dugong. Btw, my name is Britney spearMint, I dunno anyone known as Kevin Federline. Am I Not a little bit Off the topic? I apologize. Happy motoring everyone! It’s Friday :)

• didn’t toyota pay britney 10 million to do the commecial in 2003?

• torque (Member) on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:34 pm

No wonder u pick Kevin Federline maa…. :-)

• Ericboy on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:48 pm

Try to go just 80km/h,ya… just 80km/h and count 1…2…3… and turn… then you’ll know what’s the diff….

• niamafufu on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:11 pm

plastic dashboard looks so sexy?OMG
      because the middle dash looks lyk lady gaga‘s High-X

• sawec on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:36 pm

You can get a Camry with this E-Spec price in Taiwan. You are paying a Camry’s price and only getting a Vios in Malaysia. Sigh…

• jienyuk on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Fact: The girls are way much prettier than the cars.
    Fact: The car is WAY over-priced.
    Fact: The car reputation reliability is begining to wane.
    Fact: The Kia Forte is a much better bargain.
    Fact: Why people still buys it? Simple, resale value. How T cars get such high 2nd value? One of the greatest business scams ever (legal) Top Mark.
    Fact: Top Mark push the 2nd value price way up to keep a healthy image of the new cars.
    Fact: One of the Top Mark branch manager was caught a year back for such scandal.

FACT: Toyota is over-rated. The Koreans are coming.

• alex c. tseung on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:16 am

Actually IMHO, I think that a car’s resale value is dependent on the demand for the brand and modal. What this means is the same old “Supply & Demand” curve. When you are trying to sell your used car, when there are alot of offers for it, naturally the price will go up for one will pay just that a little bit higher to get it. On the other hand, if a used car is not a brand or modal that is sought after, it means that there will not be a bidding war for it thus the lower resale value.

By the judge of things, I fore see that the forte could be a highly demanded used car, thus it will have a higher resale value compared to its predecesures. This is of course yet to be seen in the near future.

• alpha999 on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:17 pm

Alex, c. Tseung, I couldnt agree more. resale value depends on demand. Even till now, ppl still lookin for 2nd hand vios. Example, a 2nd hand vios 2003 can still cost as high as RM 50k. For me, this is unacceptable. However, there are ppl still willing to purchase at that price. So there goes the resale value. A 2nd hyundai accent 2008 can cost much lower that but how many are willing to buy it ???????

• MoFaz on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:43 pm

what a mistake.. they should never employ beautiful models to pose beside this car, they make the car looks ugly…
    they should use ugly models, so that the car will looks beautiful :)

• Scuddie on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Anyhow,it’sstill one of the most highest frequency to be seen in kl road by any chance…can any1 explain for this? Other than the badge issue..

• ahmad on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:55 pm

reliability, cost saving in term of petrol and service. Dugong is dugong and overpriced, but if you drive more than 150kms every day, 6 days a week for 7 years, which model you prefered? vios or persona..give me your best answer

• alex c tseung on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:28 am

I speak solely for myself. I would go for the one that my wallet permits me. I will drive around in a kancil if i have to if that is what it takes to put food on the table for my family and a roof over their head to protect them from the elements.

No point that you drive a fancy branded car while your 1 year old daughter is starving and you have to live in a dump because all your money is given to the branded car manufacturer.

• 4agze (Member) on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:45 am

when the difference are almost 20k for persona n vios, there is no more argument on fuel efficient..~20k can get fuel for almost 7years..u tell me who’s smarter??

• xu wen chao on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:48 pm

nothing hots except the girls.. a value buy if the facelifted vios comes with the girls. sure got attentions from peoples but not the carlah… hate the meter panel….

• snakepit on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:54 pm

mana dia ah beng illuminated speedometer light yg tala kat front windscreen tu??apasai umw tarak bagi?lu orang mau tipu orang ka?
    toyota-ik…still want to sheitbrix us. cepat2 la korang mampus.

• the interior looks so cheapo !

• malaysia memang boleh on Apr 15, 2010 at 6:59 pm

since when dugong can wear skirts??
    haha….hot chicks and ugly DUGONG.
    this is not a facelift,we should call it UGLY-fied process instead!!!

• Still in love with the previous model..hate diz dugong :S

• still inlove with the previous model..hate this dugong

• David on Apr 15, 2010 at 7:20 pm

Definitely way off the pace for me. My 2010 Accent 1.6 looks way better than this dugong car. It even corners better too, and the ride is surprisingly comfortable unlike Hyundais of the past. Okay, it’s not the best car in the world, and it only comes with a driver’s airbag, a rather pointless bodykit, ah-beng alloys, and ridiculous fuel consumption (300 kilometers out of a 45 litre fuel tank). But, despite all these drawbacks, i’m chuffed to bits with my Accent, not just it’s a way rarer car on the road (apparently, there’s only around 3000 of them on the road so far), it’s way cheaper too, at 68k. So, Vios, eat that. I’m not a Toyota worshipper. I just buy cars that are good as a overall package.

• for those who always change their car, go ahead with this car..but for those who want to use their car as long as possible without buying a new car, just go for forte..since toyota has better resale value..

• freeze on Apr 15, 2010 at 7:31 pm

2K increase is ok for the J. You get an airbag and a few more extras, remote folding mirror etc. It’s a Toyota. it’s reliable. It’s premium for Malaysians. Prestigious.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:53 am

It won’t have stuck pedals, malfunctioning ECUs, or the tendency to roll over, right?

Reliable? Prestigious? Ummm.. yeah.

• Kambing Gurun on Apr 15, 2010 at 7:36 pm

“We don’t get the Thai market’s HUD, start/stop button and AUX jack.”

Which means T looked down on us and view us Malaysians as a bunch of morons. They say: Whatever we put up they’ll buy…

• cyc3488 on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:55 pm

and they will always say: “It’s Toyota mahh.. must be good la” lol…

• Another crap car on the road

• chap_de_x on Apr 15, 2010 at 7:55 pm

dont ever expect so much from toyolta….this what u call facelift….increase price sommore….common toyota…but i guess malaysian will always be malaysian…this fugly think will sell well….just because resale value….crap

• why are you guys whining abt the price? hahaha, ppl are still buying this crap despite the ugly design and old tech. They are leading the b-segment with vios. HAHAHA

• trav_da_man on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:02 pm

I lol at this. Despite evrybody bashing this car like nobody business, in the end ppl will buy the vios more than the forte. Dont ask me who the winner but in the end UMWT is laughing all the way to the bank.

• johari on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:21 pm

waiting for a new vios design…..not facelift….when?????

• trav_da_man on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Maybe 2 more years. By now toyota should be designing n testing the next generation of the yaris. Hopefully will be using new dual vvti engines with new gearbox rather than the old n tired 1NZ-FE.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:55 am

Chances are toyota will use back the same engine, same gearbox, same underlying chassis, identical suspension components, but use a different body, and redesign the interior. 80 year old grandma with incontinence getting plastic surgery and botox.

And it’ll be the new segment leader in Malaysia!

• Prob 2012.. when earth is doomed.

• Otakelapa on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Waaaaah, blue eye girl!!! More pix pls^^

• still same old ugly dugong! only thing that is attractive is the model in red XD

• MonfereBlogspot on Apr 15, 2010 at 8:35 pm

Seems that they launched 1 day early than expected… I dont like black interior, gimme the silver interior!!

• sixtythree on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:09 pm

My daily mode of transport here in Jakarta is dugong….dugong is everywhere here in TAXI DISGUISE!! I can say 98% of the dugong here is taxi…n i tell u it serves well as a taxi :D

• At least at indon they use vios for taxi.. U here still can’t afford vios.. u only afford saga… ooppsss… saga is a taxi… upgrade to persona la… ooooppppssss… some of taxi use persona… then upgrade to waja la… oooppppsss… waja bcome taxi also… Price RM60000… taxi juga ka???? better buy vios here la… even in indon its a taxi…

• Mysticmind on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:05 am

FYI.
        saga taxi are 1.6

they can tapau any persona ,
        and surely they can tapau this rubbish T dugong anytime!

• toyotabasher on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:09 pm

car = boring
    chicks = hot
    conclusion = vios sux

• Even the girls, i prefer Mazda 2 Wonder 4 :-)

• MBX 320 on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:14 pm

I think U Better wait another 2-3 year of third generation Vios.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:57 am

No matter how long you wait, buying T and H cars = getting ripped off

• Now I’m waiting for the Honda Freed launch next week. I’m sure there will be a lot sour grapes who would complaint expensive lah, looks like a shoe box lah, Honda cekik darah lah, etc.

Let the countdown begins – 7, 6, 5 …

• Sentul Cowboy on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:23 pm

another piece of crap from UMW and Toyota

• bboyahman on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:27 pm

add 1k++ i can get forte 2.0cc ….da bao VIOS gao gao…

• The_King on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:30 pm

Go for the city or forte or mazda or ford or anything else that had the same or less price but not for this toyota. For me, u pay more for toyota but you got nothing . I rasa boring tgok interior vios ni mcm interior BLM. Com’on guys, open ur eyes !

• damned ugly car

• staff on Apr 15, 2010 at 9:50 pm

My opinion of why ppl buying toyota is
    1. Perceived by “import factor” and japan quality
    2. the design is just adequate to common ppl, especially ladies
    3. High resale value
    4. to show ppl, they got money…

• keep on bashing on Apr 16, 2010 at 8:41 am

agreed. especially your last point. i met quite a lot of vios owner (friends or other owner on the road), always shows ‘eksyen’ face, like they are driving a gold plated car or what.

but i pity them :p

• still ugly as usual… say tak nak to dugong!

• Toyota drivers are idiots on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:07 pm

I rather get a Fiesta, Forte or a Persona than this overpriced piece of junk, not even an AUX input.

• mcpadey on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:15 pm

Boring car…for a boring person

• EPstar on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:33 pm

not impressed…

• bmpower on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:53 pm

the Real Dugong is more beautiful than this.

This T from shah alam plant are RUBBISH!

• Hello everybody, first of all I don’t own a Toyota and I only drive a Saga….

but here’s my 2 cents:

1. I’ve driven the Vios before (my boss owns one and I drove it a few times already) and I cannot help it that the handling on my Saga is way better than the Vios. Seriously, for a car half the price of the VIos, it is much superior.
    2. The only advantage stops there I’m afraid…the fuel consumption is hopeless on my Saga and I dread the day the government eliminate all the subsidies. Although I know Vios may not be the best fuel-saving car out there, it is still one of THE best and that is why people buy them….
    3. Don’t even let me get started on the Saga’s power window…..and my boss dont have any problems with his Vios of 3 years. While all my buddies who bought Saga all complain of the same problem. So, Persona or Neo? Erm, no thank you. You may think its a small problem but when you have that problem you wouldn’t think its small…try not being able to wind down the window when u need to pay at the toll gate? Inconvenient? You betcha……
    4. Toyota and Honda both can get the market share because of its resale value only…but like a lot of you guys said it: the Koreans are coming…while I’d love to see it we would have to wait patiently for that to happen. However, the good news is coming: apparently in the US, Hyundai outscores all makes when it comes to recurring purchase, which means more people are going back to buy Hyundais as their 2nd or 3rd cars….hmmm…..let’s just keep our fingers crossed….
    5. Forte? Well, I’ve not driven it before but I’ve sat in the the display cars a few times (contemplating to buy actually), but don’t u guys think the interior looks way too plasticky like the Saga? That’s around 30k difference yo for the same type of interior material quality, a few hundred bucks extra for installment every month for the average joe like me…really? I’m not too sure…
    6. Some of you mention age group….definitely lah…their strategy is to target those in the mid 30s to mid 40s who can afford it….u think those fresh grads can afford? that’s half of their monthly paycheck leh….i dont think so loh……..makan pasir meh?

• Christophe on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:27 pm

i have had a Persona for 2 and a half year and there is not a single problem with the POWER WINDOW problem….i guess just unlucky ones have the problem

plasticky for FORTE???
      VIOS interior is not PLASTIC then???
      and it damn grim GREY plastic!!!
      YUCK!!!
      at least FORTE’s is black!!!

my Persona outsprint the CITY and VIOS all along the highway….

but fuel consumption,i think you are right and handling too….

• Thomanic on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:47 pm

It means your car is good…it does not means everyone else is same condition as yours…But…the power window problem is so wide spread that i believe it is true..thats is coming from my fren who just bought persona… power window spoiled and air cond blowing hot air without reason in 3 weeks time…(but at the 1k service they get it fixed though)

Black plastic and Grey plastic is still plastic…..anyway

• Christophe on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:10 am

guess im really lucky…=)

at least its not GREY…
          imagine you walk out at night where it is BLACK…u feel relaxed and calm…
          and you walk out in the morning and the sky is GREY…u just feel like you are going to be stuck in jam!!!

this is what GREY plastic interior did to human!!!
          thats why all the car manufacturers now used BLACK plastic interior…

• about pwr window problem, i heard it is still exist(from this forum), but i found it juast amusing when this happened to my cousin on his blm. but actually, not pwr window problem in the end, but he accidently push the window lock button,n for a month, he tought it was pwr window problem,funny isnt it. about persona aircnd, there are many persona or gen2 user, still didnt understand how to use the a/c correctly. actually im not blaming the user since proton make the dial quite complicated to comprehend by malaysian, where to the left is cooler, turn to right less cool, since the center of the console state 25′ but for persona elegance, they add up 20′ on the left, 25′ on the center, 30′ on the right.

• Oris_TT2 on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:08 am

no one cares about that.ini zaman minyak mahal.better drv slowly for better FC

• kancil_driver on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:52 am

Plastic is okay.

Plasticky is NOT okay.

– City also plastic inside but looks much better. Waja looks better inside. What matters is the color as well as the texture of it, and also the design. For me, grey color is a NO, NO, NO.

• hmm… POWER WINDOW problem… i think u r unlucky guy.. i already used my proton gen 2 (m-line) since 2004.. and i never facing any problem compare with the story that i have heard from other people, and i love the proton handling, it is much Convenience you drive event saga (i already drive my sis car)… n u know what, my cousin who had bough the vios last year already have a power window problem at the rear side… so i think this is a general issue that most car have it.. by the way i totally dislike this facelift… cheeers!!

• MoFaz on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:49 pm

fuyooo… even Saga is being compared to this dugong.
      power window again? hahaha… u sounds like a typical basher, or toyota fan. my father have saga, and he definitely loving it. no problem at all :)
      but yeah, FC is high… might as well use 1.6 campro instead of 1.3

• staff on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:45 pm

Is it really power window problem?

coz my 1 year persona never had one… and fuel consumption is max 6.4L/100km or about 15km/l…

• mitlanevo on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:55 pm

gimme city, vios, forte, mazda2 and persona ANYTIME…

• omahabojan on Apr 15, 2010 at 10:58 pm

S S D D = Same Sh*t Different Day

• alisya on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Nice…. I like it!!

• Thomanic on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:35 pm

It does not need discounts already sell like hot cakes…

• DonkeyKong on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:59 am

Toyota can close all the dealerships and fire all salesmen and become an MLM company, and it’ll be the only MLM that really works in Malaysia

• michael on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:38 pm

not come wit start/stop button :S

• 1st:)

• Viosuser on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:40 pm

I was driving my Vios on Maju Expressway last week and saw a fast driving Saga. I tried to provoke him by tailing his back. That Saga picked up upon being provoked. 100kmh….. 110kmh…… 120kmh…. 130kmh…… 140kmh….150kmh….. I gave up

(SPEEDING KILL THE ABOVE STUNT IS PERFORMED BY PROFESIONAL)

Honestly I think I can beat him if I want ( My top speed was 165 and i believe can go higher). But a Saga with this kind of performance truly earn my respect.

i use to have bery bad experience with my first ISWARA but i think they are improving. Just wonder when they can compete without government protection.

• rickyll on Apr 16, 2010 at 6:05 am

Speed kills. Don’t ever try that again. Even my 26 year old Nissan Sunny can touch 150 if i really push it. I have seen Viva, Kancil speeding like mad on the highway, pity those naive souls. The bottom line is “Be very, very careful when you are driving, always think of others as well as your loved ones” Cheers, have a nice day.

• Speed kills…i you dont have proton high speed stability

• Wochomi on Apr 17, 2010 at 3:30 pm

My Iswara (previous car) can hit 160km/hr no problem, max out at 5000rpm. But one thing… I don’t think it can stop in time in an emergency. The breaks are bad….. So it’s not just how fast you can go, but can you stop in time also.

Life sucks… don’t make it any more worse.

• MonfereBlogspot on Apr 18, 2010 at 12:47 pm

Magma engine is way much powerful than Campro engine…

• samreng on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:47 pm

The only first reason why i don’t like vios is because the panel meter is put at the center dashboard…Really don’t like & hate that design…Alza also same…haiyaa… For you’ll info, Kia salesman just told me that Toyota & Honda already had meeting with Naza to push them to hike-up forte price… yala…. with high spec at RM81+++ forte had:-
    1)automatic/digital air-cond
    2)push start button
    3)keyless entry system
    4)All 5 tyre got 17″ sport rim even SPARE tyre!
    5)Electro-chromic mirror
    6)USB, AUX & Ipod connectivity
    7)Rear parking system.
    8)6 cd changer.
    9)Electronic stability control
    10)Shiftronic 4-speed auto transmission gear
    Got all this for Vios? Jangan mimpi ler… sure price tag very expensive… Even facelift vios just like basic car but to put at high price….no passion at all….

• Tiadaid on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:15 am

Price fixing? In the US both UMW & Naza will be punished severely for that!

• David on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Forcing Naza to increase the price of their Forte just because it eats into their market share? This is totally unethical of UMW and Honda Malaysia, as well as showing how scared they are of losing Vios and City sales.

If this is true, i’m never, ever going to put my money on any new Toyota from UMW as it makes them look like a bunch of REALLY sore losers. And so should other potential Vios and City buyers. Boycott these two cars that Malaysians aren’t a bunch of easily deceived fools, and we won’t be pushed around by a two-bit car distributor. Save up some cash, buy an Accent, Forte, Persona whatsoever. This would ought to teach these two companies a brilliant lesson not to force us into buying their cheap scrap.

Oh, and by the way, i do have an Innova, but it’ll be the last Toyota i will possibly buy until Toyota makes cars that we really want. One of the reasons, too, why i have an MC Accent.

Just my 2 cents out take on this issue.

• staff on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:49 pm

the thing is… dont really trust the salesman…

bcoz they sometimes good at twisting facts…

for prices fixing whatsoever… find reliable source.. such as senior executive from both company you mentioned… and smartly dig the story from them..

• Vios G=RM87K..
    Persona E = abt 57k..

so, why pay more? of course to show off.. BIAR PAPA ASAL BERGAYA..

then, no money..bank tarik kereta.. sialoo

• libralcl on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:50 pm

Yoko,

I am previous owner of Proton Saga (BLM). I have to disagree with the statement that you mention Forte is plasticky as Saga. Now I am a Forte owner so I can differentiate the quality of the interior materials used for both cars. Forte is way far better than Saga frankly saying. It even better than Vios & City. Try to stays in Forte for more longer time and go back Saga you will know what I mean. Btw, Vios is not a bad car just others are better in terms of price & specs. It does serves it purpose for some ppl who dont like big car (want a car easy to drive and parking), good pertol consumption and reliable.

Cheers.

• Eric G on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:50 pm

KENAPA? KENAPA?!

• Anonymous on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:58 pm

Pedal of Death… Pedal of Death… Pedal of Death…

This brand is spooky…

• trav_da_man on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:05 am

Another reason why the vios sell well is the toyota SA always give good deals. They can give u up to 2k-5k discounts, rebates or free 1st yr insurance.

• staff on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:57 pm

does this means that the price should already lower 2 to 5k per car…

so, the price printed is just a gimmick and TOYOTA want to show that they are generous and people oriented by giving discount to the car, isnt it?

for example:
      car price 70K + Offer to be given 5K (so called free 1yr service + rebates + gift)

so, the printed price will be 75K…

when ppl come… nego… nego… nego…

toyota salesperson said “OK, we give you 5k discount and free 1st year insurance)”

buye think “Wow… a very good offer, good deal”… then buying it… at 70K, the actual price of the car…

so, basically, no discount at all…

• xatomic on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:10 am

Funnily enough majority bashers…but let’s see Toyota’s sales of this car..

But wait da min..people who browse this website and bother to comment are car enthusiasts and know bout cars..know that toyota are ugly and over priced and not a drivers car. Anyway their target market are probably not us. They wont bother anyway. Yeah i think this apply to all the women and aunties who just want a small, easy to park car with reliability and fuel consumption.. toyota could be the brand that comes into mind.

can’t deny toyota has built such a brand reputation and got their target mkt right.

These cars are not for us, who wants truly a drivers car

• unknown on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:38 am

Toyota Vios is a good car…. so is the honda city, forte, ford, etc other good cars out there…. each has a different feel, looks, so it depends on individuals. Not every human are the same and some have their preference….unless u have tested drive all the cars, no one would know what to comment about comparing which one is better…. =) compare city to vios, vios definately accelerate faster, nice for town driving, but the city cruise on highway better… so each have their advantages…talking about service centers and convenience, toyota and honda got many service centers and they are huge centers….other brands, maybe shared service center or smaller ones, require longer waiting time…. etc..

• scuddie on Apr 16, 2010 at 7:49 pm

Yes..u are sounds so sensible here..but sometimes i just couldn’t figure out why there is such a narrow minded people,say,when one’s complaining for some proton’s car problem then he will straight away,like no tommorow pledging u as the “typical basher”..that was really really laughable and feel utterly pity to the absurd people like this..god bless him..lol…

• Kcivic on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:02 am

My friend drove Kelisa for few years and no issue but when he upgraded to Vios last year, i could easily beat him with my then Waja of 4 years Enhanced Edition driving to Melaka at Seremban Melaka highway. I drove 150km/hr and my Waja very stable. When i asked him cannot go any faster? He said he was scared. I asked him what happened? See ghost ah? He said no. I asked, then what? He said every time he step on the pedal, his Vios felt like floating because too light. So, i said better buy Waja. Also, Vios interior look so terrible and for drivers, sake, why use the cheap looking colour GREY? Even my then Waja interior look so much better, black and dark brown and my upper wooden steering beat the crap out of Vios plastic grey steering. Waja had audio control steering some more. I think Honda City so much better to be honest. Vios latest facelift is like Rolex recently ‘facelifted’ its legendary Explorer I. Stick to the original. Ok, Rolex did something which Toyota did not do to upgrade technical part such as engine, Rolex gave the new Explorer I the Parachrome balance springs and made the case larger, and even improved further on shock absorptions. Vios remains a car for petite drivers, put a tall guy or a fat guy into it, is like forcing myself to wear my primary school uniform, haha.

• White Jack on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:27 am

Fren, what Rolex did for E1 is totally new model while maintaining its original look. This is not facelift. So cannot compare with VIOS, which is now at facelifting phase.

As for the LV sub, it is facelift model for Rolex, so only cosmetic change, no update on technical/technology related change. This model you can compare with VIOS.

• sick&tired on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:07 am

car and girls both look like crap. Can’t they find girls who are not flat in front and back?

• g-spot on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:09 am

dugong pakai braces

• lkf0512 on Apr 16, 2010 at 8:23 am

dugong pakai braces and lipstick (the front grille of white TRD)…it’s hideous!

Luckily we still have Forte…Kia rocks!

• aikido toyoda on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:27 am

i just took one from my factory
    works great
    108hp is enough to race my family to genting
    is because i cant even slow my car down!

please buy this for your sons or daughters
    or maybe your girlfriend
    arikado

• Herminem on Apr 16, 2010 at 2:58 am

Vios is overprice and over rated, and its ugly but it is way better than persona not to mention about quality issue but try to make a u-turn with a pesona it is a hassle when even 7series or even S class do the u-turn so effortlessly while u need to stop and reverse back so MALU feels like i don’t know how to drive a car..The turning radius is ridiculous . Looking at Forte price and the spec it really tempting or you even add another 3k for the Pug 308 or you can wait for Ford Fiesta

• So you assess how bad or good a car is based on u-turn performance…hmmm

• staff on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Are you nuts or what?

this shows that you are not qualified to have a driving license when you are the only person hve problems in making turn with persona… while others are happy are have no problem with you kiddy problem…

• Andrew on Apr 16, 2010 at 5:43 am

now the dugong looks like JOKER smiling from the front..anyone agree?

• dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong…. dugong….

i wish naza can come out with ads.. forte on land to compete racing with dugong swimming in water… then halfway, the dugong semput…. then come out with the tag line “Dugong is still a dugong. Kia Forte is a better choice”…muhahahahaha

• azrai on Apr 16, 2010 at 8:01 am

Fat dugong with steel teeth. Pimp it baby.

• lol @ people whining over the price. just go buy your cheap wira, persona or the super forte if you don’t have money. other people will still buy this. it’s not your lost tho. why so serious O.o

• Flash news

Toyota is recalling thousands of Vios in Malaysia due to safety hazard to the eyes of onlooker.

• I just saw this.. lol
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Vios#In_Malaysia
    The car, commonly known as Dugong, like its predecessors, is…..

• samtindeh on Apr 16, 2010 at 8:33 am

do i spot a rapper there in grey? :-)

• Unknown on Apr 16, 2010 at 8:36 am

I could drive my TRD at 160. Stable on highway. If compared to Waja, the main factor affecting stability is not weight but the tyres. Most cars brag about it being lighter so it saves more fuel and accelerate faster :). It’s the tyre that’s making vios feel like floating. Waja has wider and bigger tyres hence making it more stable. Vios should have use a wider base tyre. Vios go up highlands no sweat can overtake trailers uphill.

• Spot on, if a Ferarri were to use only 185/60/14, the handling will also be very different but if you change tyre size for Vios, you will also change the comfortt and FC which the Vios is more tuned towards.

• if i not mistaken, in trd version, they also change the spring or the absorber. yes, tyres have effect on stability, but not that much because all are oem tyres, not performance one. but when u r talking about stability, it involves on handling dynamic. not only torsion beam versus independant multilink, but also rides n handling. i cant reveal how far the vios n waja or persona fare, u will be shock, but this thing shud not be reveal. yes,trd is better than the normal one, not only the aerodynamic involve in bodykit construction(hopefully there is wind tunneling testing), n spring, but its still far way from p1

• staff on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:08 pm

you are talking about taking over trailers uphill?

haha… it is like comparing bicycle and a turtle…

• 60sens on Apr 16, 2010 at 8:55 am

yoh yoh ade rapper kat gamber atas..

• _xXx_ on Apr 16, 2010 at 8:56 am

Nice…………….

I mean the girl in red minus the 2 apeks on top.

• Arashikage on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:10 am

308 Turbo’s better.

• Oris_TT2 on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:12 am

KIA /NAZAForte,FORD Fiesta…..pls la bungkus VIOS ni.It is not even worth mentioning anymore these days.PESONA lg lawa dr DUGONG NIE!!!!!

• Mad Cat on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:40 am

KCivic – nice analogy with Rolex. I like the Sea-Dweller but dislike the Sea-Dweller Deepsea!

As far as Toyota goes, their fans will still buy it, and people who don’t know any better and don’t want to, don’t know how to, or don’t have time to shop around.

My bet is Forte 1.6SX. Loaded to the brim with equipment, selling well in North America. (At least it’s got an NCAP rating!)

• KCivic on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:39 am

Totally agree with you Mad Cat. The older Dwellers so much better and more palatable as Deep Sea too thick and heavy and no one will go or survive 3,900m into deep sea right? You sound like a watch guy. Paul’s blog will turn into Timezone or Watchprosite one day, haha..

• Kcivic on Apr 16, 2010 at 4:27 pm

Mad Cat, i totally agree with you. The old Dwellers better, not so thick and non one will go 3,900m depth. You sound like a watch guy. Soon, we turn Paul Tan’s Blog into Watchprosite or Timezone. Haha.

• hatevios on Apr 16, 2010 at 9:49 am

i’ll rather spend 92k on tat chick then this dugong

• carneo on Apr 16, 2010 at 7:32 pm

92k only on tat chick ! …..92k you can a football team + reserve chick with sam quality at Vietnam

• arcadicus on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:32 am

LOOK! THAT DUGONG IS SMILING…….. HAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!

• Spectre on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:50 am

They should get the 1st gen Vios design and make a little facelift.. like, add side mirror indicator, or maybe change the grille a bit… add some extras like usb input, bluetooth, etc.. then, I will buy the Vios rather than this ugly dugong!!

• staff on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:11 pm

vios and this ugly dugong?

you are comparing what with what?

both are same…

• booked, waiting for test drive !

• Rassan on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:21 am

Vios is a good car anyway BUT:
    1) Why the price hike (every year?)?
    2) What’s the benefit fitted with TRD? Big improvement on horsepower?
    3) Compare with Kia Forte, see the specs. Korean cars getting improved.
    Some Malaysian people still mentioned T&H better than Korean,etc…
    3) Low spec no air-bag (J specs). Safetly first or economical $ first?
    4) UMW-Toyota, sickening politician people controlling $$$.
    5) Center dash meter-panel? Is it for cost cutting or better pleassure viewing?
    6) Even price hike, still people will buy this dugong and maintain no.1 non-national car
    best seller. Bravo 1 Malaysia! (sigh!)

Better shift to Kia Forte, Peugeot 308 VTI, Mazda 2, Proton Saga, Perodua, Ford Fiesta rather dump money just for the T cosmetic changes! Kaaa Tuiii!!!!!!!!

• alldisc on Apr 17, 2010 at 11:15 am

the vios J now has a driver’s SRS airbag as standard item hence the price increase (also electric wing mirrors)

center dash panel is nothing new. it was a trademark design for estima since the very first model back in 1989.

other than estima, the perodua alza also have it, hyundai matrix, the purpose of centre instrument meter is that it can be positioned higher and easier to read. nothing else.

• i won't buy on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:37 am

i won’t buy this piece of shit. always facelift it and increase price. i’m not that stupid. at least do some drastic change lah, add in dual vvti or paddle shifter. change carpet or grill, go to Brothers also can la….

• alldisc on Apr 17, 2010 at 11:20 am

where got ALWAYS facelift?? this is the first time for this model vios.

the old model also got one time facelift.

honda city got a facelift once during the previous generation. the first model also got one time facelift. so what??

proton persona one time facelift, gen2 once, saga 4 times facelift (from Orion-Magma-megavalve-iswara-LMST)

kancil was facelifted 3 times

talk is cheap. dont simply talk, but do some homework before talking.

all toyota models have a mid-life facelift. its a normal practice in japan. all nissans and honda models were in similar cycle.

• Since the incident in US, I don’t think Toyota is the most reliable car anymore. And for vios, i think this facelift is unnecessary. The only thing that suppose to be in the previous vios is to include the airbag!!! I’ve bought E model, airbag only at driver’s side. Now for the same model, they install at passenger’s side as well.

I’m thinking to trade in my car and go for bigger car.

I was a fool who thought that Toyota is the best… but not anymore

• cybermaster98 on Apr 27, 2010 at 11:31 am

So u bought a Vios 1.5E with the assumption that since the car was a Toyota so it was the ‘best’ in the market? If u pass comments like this i would assume ure an idiot. Only an idiot will think that the Vios is the best. If the Vios is the best that what about BMW, Merc, Rolls Royce, Porsche, etc?

U bought a B segment car for around 75K so judge it based on that price range. If ure judging your car based on the lack of 1 airbag i would say ure an idiot as well as im sure u knew this before u bought the car rite? Judge your car based on the quality, dependability and cost of maintainance. If u say based on these criteria’s your Vios isnt good then so be it. Its your call. But if ure judging a value of a car based on the airbag then its plain silly.

Also please dont pass comments like just cuz there was a recall so that particular make isnt reliable or safe anymore. Thats another crap statement. Merc, BMW and Fiat’s have had recalls in the past as well. So are u gonna say those cars arent reliable and safe too? Common man. Talk sense.

Dont over dramatise issues just to prove a non existant point. Judge recalls for its specific issues. If the recalls happen continously for a few years then it might be a cause for concern. Until then do your own reading and analysis then make a sound but fair judgement.

Cheers!

• Gen2 Biru Muda on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:12 pm

Do u guys notice the rapper?

• alpha999 on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:40 pm

significant price increase for the J model due to popularity…….

bash all you can, it will be top seller for 2010……

• x-vios on Apr 16, 2010 at 12:51 pm

It’s already ugly, now uglier…

• BoringMOOMOO on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:03 pm

To toyota,

Have you read the comments in this page?

If you keep doing wat you are doing, you are going down, soon~~~

the competition is getting hot now, and yet you still come out with something crippy, and yet again increase price… justify please… you still wanna get most bucks out of our pockets?????? huh??

have you ever think of cherish, & appreciate us for our supports so many years, give us something better in pricing & specs, would you????

from,
    used to be a loyal toyota fans..

• alldisc on Apr 17, 2010 at 11:24 am

169,000 units sold since 2003 with 2 generations.

honda city cant even hit 50,000 units mark even with 3 generations begining 1996.

i think UMW did study the market but they look at trends rather than an individual crap! they also consider all vios owners feedback for future improvements. that is more valuable input – real life ownership experience rather than talk crap

• x-vios on Apr 16, 2010 at 1:28 pm

TRD employs Ah Bengs to work there….

• mehmet ezzone on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:12 pm

no HUD,no aux jack,no start stop…
    aux jack also no aa?? other car now have usb maa..
    haisshh..pitty toyota

• Cucukman on Apr 16, 2010 at 3:23 pm

last few days i heard in TV3 news that Toyota/Lexus recall their car again because Lexus 4WD car “terbalik” at the corner…poor handling or what? But when it comes to Malaysia, UMW Toyota always said Malaysia not affected by the issue.. Donno want to trust or not…
    last time umw said stucked accelerator pedal in malaysia is ok..
    But, Toyota still got best sales… it is not about quality actually, its about mentality…

Not all vios user are rich, some of them prefer to eat maggi mee to pay monthly installment..haha.. but what did he get buy having a vios? wooo..all people will praise him woo…unless he is a super rich guy from super rich family, buy a foreign car to show off their wealth.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 26, 2010 at 11:43 am

Cucukman,

U need to check your facts. Only then will u understand the real issues. The sticky accelarator is caused by the PRODUCT not the BRAND. Not all components of a car come from the car manufacturer itself. So if a part gives trouble is it fair to blame the manufacturer as the cause? Of course its the manufacturer’s duty to ensure quality of the parts they install in their cars but we need to look at the issue subjectively. Even after the Toyota recall, i think it was Fiat who issued a recall of certain models which also had their accelerators produced by the same company.

So the issue was with the accelerator. The accelerators produced for ASEAN Toyota’s do not come from that same company. It was a US or European company if im not mistaken. So that is why Toyota Malaysia said the models here are not affected by the recall.

So please dont try to create any false pretense by passing comments about issues which you have limited knowledge about. Its always juicy to make up gossip but lets stick to the facts here.

Cheers!

• cybermaster98 on Apr 28, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Now Porsche is also recalling all Panamera models worldwide for the seatbelt issue. Does this mean Porsche is also unsafe and thus should be avoided?

• Freaking OVERPRICE..!

• not worth it!!!better buy korean cars..=)

• cyc3488 on Apr 16, 2010 at 4:01 pm

this car only looks nice when driving in kampung area….

• mr_3m on Apr 16, 2010 at 5:24 pm

yawn.. yawn…
    what else is new on this Vios? Luckily there’s some chicks to lighten up the occasion especially the one in pic DSC_0604b…. otherwise this post ain’t worth a look in paultan.org….

for once, this hideous thing by Toyota surely make Lotus Racing Satria Neo at RM115k looks good value especially if Toyota can get away with RM92k for a Vios with some make-up by TRD(and some more doesn’t make the Vios look any prettier!!!) plus bog standard power… *yawnnnn*

but anyhow, your money your choice… and there are better value choices like Kias, Peugeots, Suzukis on the market too…

• Darius on Apr 16, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Blatant use of sex appeal to promote a stupid rubbish car. Guess they had to get extra hot chicks to compensate for this big fat slug of turd.

There should be a law against exploitation of such hot women and forcing them to pose with such disgusting vehicles!

• staff on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:16 pm

You are talking about Vios net ads in the YouTube isnt it?

A vios parking in front of a retaurant, suddenly, some ladies come and write their phone number on the car… some of of signal that, when you are buying a Vios, it will help in becoming chick magnet…

• any1here play modern warfare 2?… well i did.. didnt kill any enemy. Just fire at d car until it explode. lol.

• staff on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:17 pm

hoho… sure it really intense bro…

Plus, dont hide near the burning car… it’ll kill you….

• paparadzi on Apr 16, 2010 at 6:17 pm

People who buy Vios are likely to:

1. Don’t like to send the car to the workshop for unscheduled maintenance.
    2. Don’t care much how it looks.
    3. Don’t care if people overtake them at the traffic lights.
    4. Don’t bother about top speed, as long as it can maintain legal highway speed.
    5. Don’t like to spend a cent more on fuel than absolutely necessary.
    6. Don’t like to have faulty power windows, creaking dashboards and uneven gaps on the bodywork.
    7.Don’t like to sell the car after a few years for 30% of the purchase price; they’d rather have 60%.
    8. Don’t care about the internet crowds’ perception about the car.

Yup, Proton Persona and Kia Forte are definitely much much better than the dugong Vios!

• Tiadaid on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:06 pm

You should add one thing. People who buy Vios are likely to:
      9. Don’t care paying a lot of money to buy something that’s overpriced and overrated when there are other good options to choose from, because they’re only interested in the shiny metal brand badge!

And no.7 only occurs because there are many people who are no.9 but can’t afford to buy new one. Get rid of no.9 people and you’ll see.

• 10. Don’t care/don’t know even if it cos as much as a BMW / Merc.

• halfclutch on Apr 16, 2010 at 6:28 pm

Buy peugeot 308 vti 1million times better than TRDugong

• coldfusion on Apr 16, 2010 at 7:28 pm

the TRD price tage is NUT! btw this car is rubbish

• limsk on Apr 16, 2010 at 7:32 pm

Toyota;’s publicity stun with MC (is it necessary) and may this be the last of VIOS cosmetic changes or I assumed that this price hike was to pave way for next release model of VIOS with dual VVTI engine and other features mentioned by other ppl and another price mark-up based on current price.

• you know what in Thailand almost 90% teksi is Toyota. but back in to malaysia . ppl berebut-rebut buy toyota. what a joke .

• Tezza on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:05 pm

Sorry mate,i think u r the truly joke by saying this..well, tell me what did u expect for the taxi in thailand? all proton saga blm,no? proton wira,waja,persona,exora? or even perodua viva? Most of the taxi driver here choosing the proton car as their “business tool”simply because they come much cheaper in price and ease of maintenace since it’s a goverment fully protected car..likewise, toyota is one of the most favoured car brand for the taxi company or driver in thailand because they are taking the car FC,reliability,accomodative etc…Mind you,please do not locked urself to the prejudiced conventional thinking that a taxi service must running by some comparatively “inferior” vehichle though it’s happening at our country as well as some third world country .. In fact,almost 70% taxi services are carry out by the Mercedes,Bmw,Volkswagen car,but then would it be laughable to say malaysian is a joke for “berebut” buying those mercs,bimmer,volkswagen,since those are highly favoured cab car in germany..? Please think of something before u’re commenting..ignorant isn’t quite a bliss rather than something else..

• Squawk on Apr 16, 2010 at 10:00 pm

As a car, it’s fugly and offers nothing for its price.

As a Toyota, it’ll sell well.

• Toki tuluoi.. on Apr 16, 2010 at 11:51 pm

AE111 version 98 aku lebih best!!

• unknown on Apr 17, 2010 at 12:57 am

all those who thinks that rich people with too much money buys a vios, you are wrong… why buy a vios when u wanna show off? better buy an Accord or Camry to show off right… vios is for those who are in a situation whereby toyota gives higher trade in for ur old car or discounts…. sticker price is overpriced la, but after the discounts and ur extra value for trade in, i think its a fair price. Last year i asked honda and toyota to take in my old car, honda can give 4k less compared to toyota starting offer price… so what do u think? City or Vios in that situation?

• Does not matter, you are good citizen that willing to pay more tax for gov, well done!

• Darius on Apr 17, 2010 at 10:46 am

Buy proton, ppl say support lousy national car, support crony, support G
        Buy Toyota, ppl say japanese fanboy, get ripped off, contribute to tax
        Buy second hand car, ppl say support used car dealer, out of date, no money

So how?

So whichever way look at it, no solution. In the end, buy whatever you like and dont bother reading all the arm chair comments from people who:

1. Got nothing better to do
        2. Trying to act as car expert when dont even own a car
        3. Jealous of high earning people who drive better cars
        4. Want to blame G for their own screw up in life
        5. Demand subsidy and cheap things all the time
        6. Think their tax money is worth so much

• haih j spec so expensive hahaha … but some people still like it even it the worst design dugong … haha facelifted naik harga sampai gitu sekali… woah nih nak kaber kerugian hari tu kot … ape pun teruskan membeli hahaa good for our eco… (DUGONG)

• dns500 on Apr 17, 2010 at 9:06 am

if you wants to buy, just buy. if cannot buy, don’t wants to buy, just keep silent please. so many complaints lol!

• johnnydick on Apr 17, 2010 at 9:18 am

don buy toyota car… nw they image oready tranish…. no safety like wht happened in USA n Euro… i don wan to die so fast man…..

• Toyota,

just slap some TRD stickers, and can increase your selling price already. No need to install those TRD stuff.

Malaysian are plain dumb and still will buy your products.

• though it’s a trd… it is still a dugong.. city is way better…

the last two pics… err… how much they cost paul?

• Kcivic on Apr 17, 2010 at 10:35 am

just compare what Honda did for their City, a true facelift and further enhancement. Toyota gave make-up to vios, slap lipstic, powder, eyeshadow to the poor girly car and bravo, better street value, i mean sell higher price. Civic also facelifted but look so much different, rear lights, better looking new headlamps, new wheels, darker interior. Toyota shoud do more cos new Proton Neo really Lotus-tuned and everything but some say TRD only sticker rather than really done up by Toyota Racing Development. Maybe TRD stands for Toyota Really Dull. Joke joke.

• jamal on Apr 17, 2010 at 12:52 pm

too many vios on the road rite now. msian income increase la maybe. now more can afford a toyota. in 10 years time more will buy a bmw or merc i hope

• toyol taik.. on Apr 17, 2010 at 12:59 pm

new ‘dugong’ was come….its been like tenuk….

• Squawk on Apr 17, 2010 at 4:39 pm

I thought the old H City was fugly until this new Vios came along. Didn’t know Toyota was so desperate to beat Honda in the fugly category too. :-P

I’m waiting to see how many of these will carry the “L”exus badge on the road. :-D

• Christophe on Apr 18, 2010 at 1:54 am

wow!
      i must really know u dude!
      i F-ing hate the old H city dude!
      i think we should totally hang out and bust all the old H city on the road!!!!
      =)

• ooppss… another toyota recalled in US of A…

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/8626668.stm

• BORING CAR..

• Normal Life on Apr 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm

i will choose Persona E compared to this Vios.. So, i can save some money for future..
    Some malaysian prefer to get vios not because of its performance, but because its brand and resale value..

Let say, 2010
    Persona E-RM57,000 (save RM30,000)
    Vios G-RM87,000

on 2020, assumption only
    Persona E 2010 model- RM25,000(lost RM32,000)
    Vios G 2010 model – RM40,000 (lost RM47,000)

So, guys.. which one is better??
    Let say, we use RM30,000 saving money on 2010 to invest in unit trust.. by the end of 2020, we already got about RM60,000..

So? If u are brilliant, are u choosing Vios? ya, for rich person its just small money, but for normal persoan, better do some investment..
    BTW, i prefer the car for enjoyment of driving, ya Persona..

• smallfish on Apr 18, 2010 at 7:47 am

I agree with you.
      This tiny cary sucks so much money, and keep on suking up every time facelift.
      In term of performance, it not better than Persona either – it is just TOYOTA brand,
      nothing else.

• Someone on Apr 17, 2010 at 8:58 pm

People please stop comparing toyota and proton, especially the prices. Wait for the tax to removed, then by all means, go ahead…

• tested today…. disappointed! nothing special as compare to my 04 vois…. give up on it and add another 20K plus to buy used RX8…. cheer… :)

• Tezza on Apr 18, 2010 at 1:56 am

Rx-8 is a rather good perfomance car..but then hearing that the maintenance for the rotary engine would be very expensive due to the oil grade problem at here..is it true?

• yup..u need u change the engine every 100,000 km!!!.. normally re corn engine cost 12k-20k..

• guys, let’s be mature. you may not like toyota / vios and it is alright to put up your criticism. but it sounds very stupid to label vios / toyota owner as dugong / lame blar blar blar.

yes, i am a vios owner and before i bought it i went to check out persona first. i open up the door, look at the interior and then close the door ~ you could already feel the different between toyota and proton…

i guess people buy proton simply because it is CHEAPER than a toyota. and talking about why toyota is priced higher than proton? please ask our government, they will have the answer…

just my 2cents

• MonfereBlogspot on Apr 18, 2010 at 12:38 pm

My mother also owns a 1st gen Vios the door feels way much better than persona elegance…

• unknown on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:56 pm

Before i bought a vios also i was considering a persona as it is cheaper, looks ok, bigger…. but when i sit inside, not so big and the windows so small no view.. feel trapped.. but ok la since its cheaper than vios, so i took test drive… 4 ppl sit in car with the SA, i wanna accelerate like driving a 1.0 engine… rev up to 4k rpm still so slow pick up…. dno whats wrong… is it just that particular car or what….

then i went to toyota show room, just for fun try try the vios, because its kinda pricy compared to persona…. but try d ah, so nice feeling… feel like driving a feather compared to a rock like persona…. so easy to accelerate, big cabin, nice steering, persona steering so hard…. brakes also lousy in persona… vios brakes response much sharper…

i think people who say proton better, mainly because its cheap, or they don’t wanna compare with vios… should try test drive both on the same day, so ur feeling is still there and can make proper comparison….

• acerman on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:38 am

It’s all depends on your pocket money. If u have money just to expense on cars like that its your choice. I do not care. I’d know a person who bought an alphard with a 3k salary, now suffered to pay the monthly payment of the car cause think his salary will be more than 3k but… (u know what I mean) .
        Like I said before, it all depends on your choice. U have more money just go and buy and we will never now what will happen to us the next day forward.

• Mr.Jk
    u have to face to the real world, again real world… where u live.. it is malaysian..
    u want the govt deduct all taxes? please la..it just your dream that never come true..
    Your family, who want to protect it? Yourself right?
    our automotive industry? who want to protect it??? our Govt la..
    open your mind…

Vios is nothing.. not best handling.. not too much so called ‘resale value’..it just a product of Toyota.. i also prefer Persona Elegance..interior is not the problem, can easily customize it at any specialist interior designer.. most important is comfort and best handling..

• Mr. Otai,

Hallo, wake up…. it is not me who should face the real world, it is our government!!! why should you blame other people for being fast, better simply because you are slower??? sigh…

• Cucukman on Apr 18, 2010 at 5:03 pm

i heard ‘Achik Spin’ dead in Toyota Estima due to Sticking Accelarator Pedal in LEKAS Highway..

Anyone?

• i m not sure about that but from thestar report, his (achik) friend said he saw achik got thrown out of the mpv…it is sad to read that since from what i can see, the estima absorbed the crash impact quite ok.no intrusion into the cabin.i can only assume that achik was not wearing seat belt.

but anyhow,his ajal has arrive..it is a sad case but we can definitely learn a lesson from this incident.

al fatihah achik

• Wan Seremban on Apr 18, 2010 at 5:40 pm

Seat cover TRD nampak dah luntur warnanya.. macam murah je.. tak cantik langsung.. letakla Recaro ke.. ish ish..hampa..

• jimmytan on Apr 18, 2010 at 5:55 pm

please feel free to contact me for more vios promotions n rebate
    enquiries r welcome

017-6266612

• I think u all need to really drive and own the Vios in order to judge…I used to have fleet of proton cars….and currently a fleet of Toyotas…
    Has a korean car and drives old City very frequently….
    Toyotas give the best complete ownership experience…
    car per se…its not the fastest..not the prettiest..boring mostly….but after 5 years….u thin back..its actually the best buy compare to others….try it and u will know…
    of coz…never own any luxurious fleet yet….oni had old S320 and Rexton…so cant compare with Beemers and Merc la…duh

• Cynical on Apr 19, 2010 at 11:49 am

Try it? Try what? Buying this dugong you mean? Thanks, but no thanks.

• thne go buy your persona lah, dun enter vios forum

• yalo..they wan to show off with their persona elegance..if vios come out with new facelift with vios elegance name..i think will be different..lol..

• Normal Life says:
    17/4/2010 at 8:03 pm
    i will choose Persona E compared to this Vios.. So, i can save some money for future..
    Some malaysian prefer to get vios not because of its performance, but because its brand and resale value..

Let say, 2010
    Persona E-RM57,000 (save RM30,000)
    Vios G-RM87,000

on 2020, assumption only
    Persona E 2010 model- RM25,000(lost RM32,000)
    Vios G 2010 model – RM40,000 (lost RM47,000)

So, guys.. which one is better??
    Let say, we use RM30,000 saving money on 2010 to invest in unit trust.. by the end of 2020, we already got about RM60,000..

So? If u are brilliant, are u choosing Vios? ya, for rich person its just small money, but for normal persoan, better do some investment..
    BTW, i prefer the car for enjoyment of driving, ya Persona..

THIS is for poor people minded and planing, aiyah…rm30000 only ma….care what? who care????

• Wan Seremban on Apr 19, 2010 at 6:18 pm

Aiman tak kisah.. haha.. Rm30k can marry 1 more time lor..

• acerman on Apr 20, 2010 at 9:42 am

Agree… saving RM1 a day for the whole 32 years also cannot reach Rm30k but RM11520 only.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 26, 2010 at 11:31 am

Eddy,

You are basing your calculations solely on RESALE VALUE. Of course any fool in Malaysia will know that Proton has the best resale value. Toyota has the best resale value among non national cars. So if u compare resale values between Toyota and Proton of course Proton wins hands down.

But the real issue is that resale value is not the only factor in judging a car. In previous forums i mentioned 6 criterias to determine this:

1) Dependability
      2) Quality
      3) Cost of maintenance
      4) Standard of after sale service
      5) Specs
      6) Resale value

Proton loses heavily in Criteria 1, 2 & 4. Although Proton’s quality has improved but overall its still behind Toyota and Honda. Ive maintained Proton’s, Toyota’s, Honda’s and Kia’s. Toyota is still ahead of the pack here. I would say that the Koreans under local distributers are the worst with Proton coming close. If u havent owned and serviced a Toyota u will not be able to visualise the difference. Buying a car is a total customer experience. Not just based on 1 or 2 factors. I also know that there is no such thing as a perfect car. So we’ll choose what we feel to be best for us and each of us are free to do so.

But in saying this, i do agree that a Persona is quite ok. It will do as a 2nd car. Hope they improve further.

Cheers!

• kazos on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:44 pm

janganlah gaduh2, setiap org punyai pandangan yang berbeza.. yang penting kereta yg dibeli mestilah selamat, berkualiti, kos servis yg berpatutan,pelbagai guna & ada resale value yang munasabah

• ayieDklau on Apr 19, 2010 at 1:11 am

i support proton cars…more improvement now…well done proton….

• Seriously on Apr 19, 2010 at 8:43 am

Nice post of the girls in red :) There were other pictures of some funny thing on wheels but I’m not sure what is that.

• eddie on Apr 19, 2010 at 2:14 pm

For those who love proton jus go ahead…dun come vios forum ka ka chao chao…
    alot lot of our rakyat died coz of crash…mostly is proton car…proton car doesn’t have GOA body..
    again, for those who love forte jus go for forte then…
    i m proud of owning 2 generation of vios now…

• alot of rakyat died becoz there are too many idiots driving on the road….one example of these idiots is the one who drives a GOA body car but dont wear seat belt.

• Perodua Azaha on Apr 19, 2010 at 5:27 pm

Old proton maybe Tin Milo Body….
      Today proton already reinforce with HSST….
      Now Perodua (Toyota Son) put Tin Mlo on their product…..
      The Toyota Son’s car contribute more death in accident…..

If Toyota Car So So and So Great With GOA body… just looked at the simple example…
      Recently Achik Spin (an artist) was death in car accident. Do you know what car his driving?…… THE GOA BODY OF TOYOTA ESTIMA….

Cheers…

• whatever the body structure, even merc or volvo, cant stop u from ajal…think twice bro before make a statement..

• Perodua Azaha on Apr 21, 2010 at 7:46 pm

So don’t said the proton or perodua car not safe la bro.

• IMHO,the passenger(Achik) doesn’t wear the seatbelt..if not how come he can be throw out from the car whislt the driver don’t and just got the minor injury if i’m not mistaken..no matter what car u drive without the safety precaution it will cause fatal if accident occured..one thing for sure,speed killed..

• Perodua Azaha on Apr 21, 2010 at 8:13 pm

Achik was the driver, not the passenger and his friend was admitted to the Tuanku Ja”afar Hospital. (minor injury will not admitted).. and the Estima was caught on fire and exploded after crashed. How come ‘ the safest car’ can burn so easily just crashed into a signboard.

Think twice man.

• nobody on Apr 24, 2010 at 11:04 am

come on bro… get ur facts right… cannot just simply say most of fatal accident involve proton… u should use the ratio of proton on the road compared to fatal accident, and compare it to ratio of toyota’s… if plenty of proton on the road, ofcourse odds are many accident involve proton…. sigh… don’t confuse ppl with ur lame reason….

• It doesn’t matter what make of car u drive as long as u r happy with it. The 1st consideration when owing a car will be whether it is low maintennce in the long run as labours are expensive and time is precious. Don’t fancy a dugong with auto seven-speeder and adjustable suspension if at the end of the day, have to pay thru’ the nose for a mere glitch or routine service.

• I agree that Vios is super pricey compared to others, but i would still consider Vios / City over Proton, Kia, others in the same price range. People may go for brands, but most of them go for comfort, reliable, and good service after sales.

Most of my Toyota and Honda fans change cars quite often, about 2-3 years once. And most of us just buy toyota and honda with different segments, never consider others, simply because we have been disappointed by others.

I think it is about how much CASH you have, we don’t really care what other brands have to offer. You can have alot of specs with no solid engineering foundation. Proton and Kia are those who can compete in terms of reliability.

Of course, toyota must show sincerity to improve over recent SAGA.

• Malaysian are not IDIOTS! on Apr 20, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Damm like that can sell for RM92K! Proton will follow suit and guess what we all Malaysian end up buying crap new car with 3 times over price than other countries.

Mazda3 @ USD16,095k X 3.2 = RM51,504 in US and Canada
    Mazda3 = RM134,000.00

• Malaysian are not IDIOTS! on Apr 20, 2010 at 4:32 pm

Damm like that can sell for RM92K! Proton will follow suit and guess what we all Malaysian end up buying new crap car with 3 times over priced than other countries.

Sooner or later CAR will be priced at RM100k starting for a kancil facelifted for 100x.

• Joe Jambol on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:04 am

dugong…dugong..what a shit..

• adjoubri on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:26 am

such a overprice car!.kia forte are more value to buy i guest.but if poor men like me, a 2nd hand proton SAGA with NGV converted is good enough.haih!

• cybermaster98 on Apr 22, 2010 at 10:41 am

Just a little info about Toyota sales in America for March 2010:

So much for all the talk about Toyota’s demise. Not only was the brand as a whole March’s best-selling automotive brand in the United States, its most famous product was the best-selling car in America in March, too. The Toyota Camry crushed all the competition. Sales of the Toyota Camry in March doubled up the Camry’s Sales Stats total from February.

Better yet for the Japanese giant, the Toyota Corolla (Altis) was the US second best-selling car in March, some 7,000 units ahead of its main competitor, the Honda Civic. Combining sales of the two best-selling GM cars, the Chevrolet Malibu and Chevrolet Impala, still isn’t enough to topple the almighty Toyota Camry, a car which has had its share of horrific press coverage in 2010.

Top 7 cars sold in March 2010:

Toyota Camry – 36,623
    Toyota Altis – 29,623
    Honda Accord – 29,120
    Nissan Altima – 24,649
    Honda Civic – 22,463
    Ford Focus – 19,500
    Hyundai Sonata – 18,935

Top 7 Car Brands for March 2010:

Toyota – 166,644
    Ford – 159,367
    Chevy – 133,165
    Honda – 96,540
    Nissan – 85,526
    Hyundai – 47,002
    Kia – 30,522

I have said in the Kia Forte forum before that the increased sales for Kia & Hyundai in February 2010 will not last long. Toyota will always work to regain their No 1 position and sure enough it has happened in March 2010. This will now continue.

• cybermaster98 on Apr 22, 2010 at 11:20 am

Just some info on Toyota sales for March 2010 in America:

So much for all the talk about Toyota’s demise. Not only was the brand as a whole March’s best-selling automotive brand in the United States, its most famous product was the best-selling car in America in March, too. The Toyota Camry crushed all the competition. Sales of the Toyota Camry in March doubled up the Camry’s Sales Stats total from February.

Better yet for the Japanese giant, the Toyota Corolla (Altis) was the United States second best-selling car in March, some 7,000 units ahead of its main competitor, the Honda Civic. Combining sales of the two best-selling GM cars, the Chevrolet Malibu and Chevrolet Impala, still isn’t enough to topple the almighty Toyota Camry, a car which has had its share of horrific press coverage in 2010.

The Top 8 car sales in March 2010:

Toyota Camry – 36,623
    Toyota Corolla (Altis) – 29,623
    Honda Accord – 29,120
    Nissan Altima – 24,649
    Ford Fusion – 22,773
    Honda Civic – 22,463
    Ford Focus – 19,500
    Hyundai Sonata – 18,935

The Top 7 Brands for March 2010:

Toyota – 166,644
    Ford – 159,367
    Chevy – 133,165
    Honda – 96,540
    Nissan – 85,526
    Hyundai – 47,002
    Kia – 30,522

I mentioned in the Kia Forte forum before, that the improved sales for Kia & Hyundai on Feb 2010 will not last long. Toyota will always work to regain their No 1 position and it has been proven in March 2010. The Koreans have a long way to go especially in Malaysia.

• nobody on Apr 24, 2010 at 10:56 am

any vios/yaris in the list? same brand doesn’t mean same quality over all models….

• cybermaster98 on Apr 27, 2010 at 11:15 am

Nobody,
        There is no Vios on the list because these stats are for US market. Vios is for Asean markets. And trust me the quality standards are similar if not higher. Let me be a judge of quality since i own a Toyota.

• don’t joke lar fanboy….nobody believes our dugong is better quality than a yaris in the US or Japan.

want to worship toyota also dun lebih la…ppl are not dumb.

• cyberspace on May 13, 2010 at 8:45 am

wei cyber boy…malaysian vios are thailand hand made..and they are sucks…lol

• Just a simple toyota owner on Apr 22, 2010 at 12:31 pm

I always wonder if you guys don’t like vios y u all so concern about the car updates, pricing, design and blah blah..blah… and waste you valuable time here talking craps… and start arguing with those who like vios?
    Dugong…dugong la…. it’s very subjective when it come to taste.
    For those who dislike vios most probably i think u guys still like the car but just cannot afford to own it. That’s y u all very sensitive when it comes to vios and start comparing with other cars. That explained y although u all do not like the car but still come here to sing ur very own song~ LOL~
    Despite all the bad comments, vios still is the best selling foreign car in malaysia… ever wonder y?

• Oyeah on Apr 23, 2010 at 10:54 am

same goes to Proton.. whenever Proton launch new model.. thousand comment can be read in Paultan.org..

So?

• Malaysian are not IDIOTS! on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:09 pm

Well to start off, its a forum and forum is for people who express concern over what cars are being sold in Malaysia and eventually will raise the level of intelligence and expectation our cars. It is also a contribution to Toyota as well as they can review the comments and made better decisions the next time but i don’t think that they care as long as Perodua and Proton remains the major player in Malaysia with a policy of denying the Malaysian rights to getting a better car by pricing foreign cars way above their income level with taxes. I uses the benchmarking for 20% of my net salary income for monthly installment, which means if I earn RM5000 x 20% =RM1000 then I can own a Vios or a City or Forte.

What happens to people earning below RM6,000 – WELL PROTON LOR

• nobody on Apr 24, 2010 at 11:18 am

you have the money, go ahead, buy vios or any car… it is just us, human… most of ppl, when we buy something, and use it for sometime and we regret, we are not going to tell others bout that… instead we’ll still say its the best… bcoz we want to protect and defend our choice… i just bought a car recently… test drive lancer, city, civic, vios, forte… didn’t test persona bcoz i own one… and my pick was not vios… it’s not the best option of my interest… and honestly, i’m very happy with the choice i made… so, if u got the money, go ahead and buy… u’ll the one who would feel regret if u make the wrong choice… nothing todo with anybody who commented here….

• somebody on Apr 27, 2010 at 11:01 pm

is very simple to know the truth…whether people will regret buying the car. These are the strategy/ methodology:

1. Termination of AP
        2. Bring Proton and Perodua to International Market i.e termination of foreign car taxes

The first car that brings to mind? definitely not the car that you own right now which also goes for 90% Malaysians. is not about money or not.

The point here is simple, in this country we are not given a choice to choose and therefore the car manufacturers knows this and can price a useless piece of shit,CKD in our backdoor neighbor which labor is a lot cheaper than us and taggin it to world status at RM80k and above. The LV concept “No discount, you want it you buy it”.

• minnow on Apr 23, 2010 at 2:20 pm

http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/article/ALeqM5iu-Ysaa50c_41MUFgOhBq8YbO5zA

• Martin on Apr 25, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Can anyone tell me is Forte selling more than Vios already? How come forte 2.0 was stuck in the dock?

• cybermaster98 on Apr 26, 2010 at 11:07 am

The Naza Forte sold 568 units in March 2010 compared to 2519 units of Toyota Vios in the same month. The Vios is still the best sellling non national make.

• minnow on Apr 26, 2010 at 11:19 am

not yet….its pretty hard to change Malaysians mindset…they prefer to buy the brand rather the car itself….

Forte 2.0 was stuck in the dock cauz T n H got intimidated by the specs n price, n went to make official complaint to Customs……

• cybermaster98 on Apr 28, 2010 at 5:16 pm

Malaysians look at resale value, cost of maintenance, quality and dependability as buying a car is a major investment for most Malaysians due to the high prices.

• jgn jeles la oi..minat toyota pakai la.komen lebih2 mean u pun minat toyota…banyak yang komen kat cni yang pakai proton…go la proton persona!!!!!

• cybermaster98 on Apr 26, 2010 at 11:05 am

Top 50 car sales for March 2010 in Malaysia (with overall sales for 2010 in brackets):

Rank 7 – Vios – 2519 (7654)
    Rank 8 – City – 1752 (4943)
    Rank 10 – Camry – 1542 (3031)
    Rank 13 – Accord – 766 (1862)
    Rank 14 – Civic – 754 (2227)
    Rank 15 – Altis – 686 (1357)
    Rank 18 – Forte – 568 (1149)

Toyota Vios is still going strong as the No 1 non national make despite being called all kinds of names. Haha!

• Just a simple toyota owner on Apr 27, 2010 at 9:43 am

Agreed…. dugong…dugong la….
      Let the number do the talking~
      LOL

• jack sepang on Apr 28, 2010 at 4:19 pm

hi all..

to all toyota fans out there..
    I agree with u all… vios is better from all same category cars out there..

I myself not yet own a vios,, but i do planning to buy in june 2010.

the thing is… toyota is the one i choose.
    test drive all model last month.. but vios is the best..

to all others brands supporters,, try drive vios 1st… and u know how much it above the rest..

LOL

• cybermaster98 on Apr 28, 2010 at 5:13 pm

I agree with you. Drive the car and feel it. Go over bumps, rev the engine, accelerate from traffic lights, load up your back seat with ppl, off the radio, listen to the wind noise (if any) while driving at 70kmph, feel the smoothness of the gear change and listen to the door closing sound.

These are aspects which will determine the quality of the test drive. Dont just sit in the car and look at the color of the speedometer or any other cosmetic stuff. Many ppl go for test drives but dont know how to test a car or what to look for. Thats why they end up with silly remarks and assumptions after the test.

• can’t believe still got ppl buy this piece of shit!!!

• this vios surely is Malaysia’s No.1 scam for 2010…

2700 fellers scammed each month!!

ahhahah

• cybermaster98 on May 04, 2010 at 1:01 pm

King,
      Yes for sure. All a major scam by Toyota. We are such idiots. But then again, i dont mind being called an idiot as long as im happy with my car and ive got 7 yrs of trouble free driving. Its a pity u cant partake in such a glorious feeling. Haha!

(p/s nice to see u back again in the forums)

• blacky on May 18, 2010 at 11:15 am

go touch n feel it…i like the flat bottom steering…

• kayzack on Jun 24, 2010 at 11:33 pm

hey agreed wif blacky..

• Any idea when the new model or facelift coming for the Vios ?? Anyone out there ?? Paul ??

• Call me idiot etc but I just LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE the dugong look..the best in my eyes…love is blind whatever people say you just DOOOOOOOOOOOOOONT CARE..

Live your life cheerfully just follow your hearts you punya duit you punya sukala how’s you going to spend it……to what kind of car…

Waiting for my ordered Vios….