USM and UNITEN triumph in Perodua Eco-Challenge 2010

The Perodua Eco-Challenge 2010 happened at the Melaka International Motorsports Circuit over the weekend, and we were there to witness 12 institutions of higher learning “racing” to squeeze out the the most kilometres from one-litre of Petronas Primax 95 fuel.

This edition is the second year where Perodua is running the Eco-Challenge as part of its corporate responsibility program. Malaysia biggest car maker by volume wants to make P2EC an annual event, and is seeking to rope in the Ministry of Higher Education and other corporations such as Petronas as co-organisers of this innovation nurturing competition. So far, Perodua has spent RM2.2 million on P2EC (over 2 years), which we think is money well spent and good value for the carmaker, considering the publicity generated.

Back in February, Perodua donated one unit of the Viva plus RM10,000 seed money to each of the engineering departments of the participating institutions, which included Politeknik Sultan Azlan Shah (PSAS), Universiti Kuala Lumpur-Malaysia France Institute (UniKL-MFI), Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM), Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN), Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) and Politeknik Ungku Omar (PUO). The other institutions are Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (Unimas), Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM), Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP), Universiti Malaysia Pahang, Universiti Industri Selangor (Unisel) and Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia.

I took a walk around the “paddock” before the race started and two teams caught my attention – USM’s heavily modified engine and UTM’s choice of Myvi wheels/tyres, which contrasted with the ultra thin/small (or standard) wheels of the others (team leader Saiful Anuar said this was because they wanted “handling stability” without touching the brakes in corners). Many teams also had a “boat tail” cutout for aerodynamics, inspired and “proven” by a car from last year’s contest.

In the automatic transmission category, USM retained the title they won last year and took home RM20,000 cash. Their Viva looked relatively standard and did not feature much aero mods. In fact, USM’s car was the heaviest on the grid (680 kg) with the heaviest driver; the uni chose to focus on their forte – engine design. Led by Professor Horizon Walker Gitano, the Penang based uni modified the Viva’s 1.0-litre three-pot engine to run on only one-cylinder and on an Atkinson cycle (like the Toyota Prius).

USM and UNITEN triumph in Perodua Eco-Challenge 2010The American professor, which runs the USM engine lab, said that while the Viva engine produces 45kW, the competition required only 2kW, so their car made 3-4kW from an effective 330cc. The compression ratio is 11:1, with an expansion ratio of 18:1. They also used a self developed extra lean ECU (5-8% improvement over stock ECU), which is commercially marketed in the Philippines for LPG bikes! With 1,500 km of testing done, USM’s 37.2 km/l was entirely expected by the team.

In the manual category, UNITEN managed 42.7 km/l, which is a big 5.2 km/l ahead of second placed PSAS. Unlike USM, UNITEN specialises in CFD and aerodynamics and is no stranger to solar powered car events. Their car was among the lightest in the field too. UNITEN had various sub-competitions among students and combined the best of ideas for their Viva, which used nano-particle engine oil.

Most of the lecturers involved all agreed that their students learn so much more from a competition like this than by merely going through the syllabus. While some of the cars looked crude from the outside, there’s were lots of creative solutions going on under the skin, achieved with a small budget. Perodua is on to something good here with its unique approach to CR initiatives and we look forward to next year’s edition.

Gallery after the jump – check out the other modified Vivas!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1255]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kevin on Jun 28, 2010 at 9:26 pm

This is friggin awesome!!

How come no such things during my uni days.

Darn

• paultan fan on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:49 am

no funding perhaps? :-)

• Motorist on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:23 pm

This is one of the best way to get students to apply what they have been taught & most importantly, for them to think out of the box.

Kudos to all participants. Congrats to the winners.

• Thomanic on Jun 28, 2010 at 9:49 pm

the green VIVA number 07 does have some nice body works design man……looks sporty without the ah beng looks…nice

• nice~

• Well done to Perodua! Doing something useful and benefiting for Malaysians.

• mahasiswa on Jun 28, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Hey Paul,
    Do check out the upcoming Shell eco-marathon Asia this 9th-10th july in sepang. Universities from around asia (japan, Pakistan, china, Indonesia, Philippines, and of course Malaysia) will compete in various category to see who can go the furthest with the least amount of fuel.
    http://www.shell.com/home/content/ecomarathon/asia/

• Tiadaid on Jun 28, 2010 at 10:37 pm

As much as this competition could help, I’d like to see a competition where economy is balanced by practicality rather than all out economy. I mean, cars on this challenge are economical, but not practical. Shouldn’t these competition be about finding technology that can be used for future cars? That way, we can actually get the technology that make cars more economical to run and is practical as well. Heck, P2 could even pay a royalty to the unis whose technology are used. Now THAT would be awesome!

• nazri on Jun 28, 2010 at 10:40 pm

nicely done.. well done guys!

• Firdaus Abdullah on Jun 28, 2010 at 10:46 pm

I have tried to initiate a gravity racer competition in my uni but in the end due to lack of interest from potential sponsors, the initiative ended as a class project. Nevertheless the students enjoyed themselves.

• scanzew on Jun 28, 2010 at 10:48 pm

good idea by usm..make cover on rear wheel..reducing CoEd can reduce fuel consumption

• alldisc on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:23 pm

unless the cover is easily removable it is not going to be so practical upon tyre change. even citroen has abundant such designs (notable on Pallas, GS, CS, XM)

• ford_ton on Jun 28, 2010 at 11:21 pm

This is way better looking than cockroach on wheels as found on Shell challenge. Anyway that was F1 in term of eco challenge. This is more like Japan GT with everyday looking cars.

• Congrats!

This is how our engineering students should do their homework. This is purely education.

Not just another “pertandingan roti canai terbesar di dunia” or “peraduan membuat kek puding terbesar 1malaysia dihatiku” and all those lame attempts to waste rakyat’s money.

• with all the lab test, modification, it is great to see a car with 30~40km/l, good job!

in contrast with the recent controversion nissan claim that a user car got 165km/l….which to me is impposible……

• littlefire on Jul 02, 2010 at 8:34 am

Nissan competition is out of the normal competition, they can shut down their engine while crusing down or even slowing down and push the car in N mode without starting the engine just to win the race…

• Jimmy Dean on Jun 28, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Most of the modifications involved were just for weight reduction and most teams don’t understand that at sch low speed, aerodynamics improvement can help little. Only two innovative teams caught my attention; i. USM with 2 cylinders deactivation and running a compression ratio of 11 and ii. UTP with 1 cylinder deactivation and mass balancer (engien running real smooth) plus crazy compressed air fuel delivery system (no fuel pump!).

• theanswer on Jun 28, 2010 at 11:49 pm

good job..good exposure for future engineers.

• i am from UTM , i am amazed by UTM candidate can be so smart by using bigger tire which is heavier etc, especially when it is OEM stockrim and tire.
    didn’t they check out the BMW dynamic efficiency, Merc blue efficience , honda hybrid , prius etc are using low resistance tire to reduce the friction ?

• theanswer on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:19 am

agree..lol. agree. at that low speed..no need brakes anyway..they should use smaller and lighter tyre. maybe engineering must come along ‘petrolhead’. not just purely nerd reading engineering books.

• 4G63tDSM on Jun 29, 2010 at 11:22 am

LOL…. precisely.

Not sure which smart guy there thought about that….AND why his/her teammates even allowed that. But I suppose “thinking out of the box” could lead either way….

Hell if diven the choice I would even use motorcycle tyres. Even smaller contact patch due to the round carcase….and they are very stiff, minimizing losses. afterall, 4 of them tyres will carry the weight of a lightened Viva.

Odd…i see some cars didn’t even bothered to underdrive the accesories….that would be one of my first mods to the engine.

• hey, do not just judge like that..
        probably.. they might have tested the car with both sets of tyres and found out that the myvi tyres gives better fuel economy due to less use of brakes..
        this might not purely be based on assumptions, but based on experiment no matter how weired the result be..
        in the other hand, we, the arm-chair critics are who came out with various assumptions..

• Who said smaller contact patch minimises losses? What losses? And who said bigger mean heavier? This is old-time thinking! Have you done your research? Is an F1 wheel lighter than your Modenas rim?

Underdrive the accessories? What accessories? Everything was removed!

• sbk enthusiast on Jun 30, 2010 at 9:54 pm

haha..4G63tDSM..he got u too..=p

• hope UTM will do the best for the next competition. use all experiences to make the best one.

• Annoy-nimal on Jun 29, 2010 at 7:53 pm

Im not from UTM. But I think UTM uses larger tires are due to their race strategy. Some of these cars are set up for higher speeds hence the required traction. Also bear in mind that these cars are stripped to the bones and trust me, even taking your average corners becomes a challange… But still, I wouldnt do it.

• alldisc on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:27 pm

bigger and thus heavier wheels/tyres contribute a lot to unsprung weight and this is actually the main enemy to fuel economy. for a car to get to move from standstill and/or durign acceleration weight plays a vital factor.

• experiment-guy on Jun 30, 2010 at 12:58 am

theoretically, yes thinner n lighter wheel will reduce rolling resistance. but; as we test the,
      big n heavy wheel (as shown)- hi stability, good handling, easy to maintain engine rpm during cornering due to kinetic energy from heavy wheel(no gear down shift during cornering, which is good for fuel consumption)
      spare tyre (thin) – very bad handling, hard to maintain engine rpm during corner (often drop and gear will down shift which is not good for fuel consumption)
      Fuel consumption- both got similar result..(because it run on a track with lots of sharp and low speed corners and NOT on a straight line..)
      So, by maintaining the engine rpm with least gear shifting will result low fuel consumption. and not to forget, they used automatic transmission car..i’m sure u guys know how hard it is to prevent the ‘auto’ gear from down shifting as the car slows down during the cornering. Then why must works so hard to drive the car while u can get the same result in easier way. Well, that what we call it ‘racing strategy’. Don’t just blindly read the books and just believe it without having any common senses on the situation.

• sbk enthusiast on Jun 30, 2010 at 2:37 pm

guys, I’m the driver for UTM Team..yes, you guys got the points there..spare tires are lighter, less unsprung mass, less rolling resistance, etc..we have already tested our car with spare tires in UTM..in a straight line without taking tight corners..but when we came to MIMC and do testing there before race day, we realized that our spare tyres aren’t capable to stand with high speed at tight corners..and the tires start to slip..then we changed to stock myvi tyre taken from our last Perodua Eco-Challenge 2009 Myvi car as we do not have enough budget and we do not have any sponsorship to get another proper tire..that’s the only choice that we have..and for those that had never been in MIMC, you do not knows how tight the corners there, with a hairpin and lots of low speed turn..it is a drifting track bro..fyi,the result we got there is much better compared to using spare tires due to better vehicle handling..and for those were not present there, it was a heavy rain at MIMC since 3 days before race day, thus this stock tyre gives better aquaplaning in rainy day as a day before race day there was a lot of water splash covered all over the track..nevertheless, our prediction was false..there was no rain on race day..it was a great shiny day and the rules didn’t allow us to make any changes on tires on race day..so guys, yes slim and lighter tyres gives less resistance, but it doesn’t apply at MIMC unlike SIC!!it’s my responsible in tire selection due to my feedback and my driving response..this tire is a part of our race strategy..oh ya, minimum weight allowed by Perodua is 650kg and our car was weighing at 672kg..but another heavier car (USM) grab the throphy..congratulations to them..bashers, u need to study the rules of the race before made any destructive comments..and paul, we have already told you about this, but I wonder why you do not wrote these..I’m not defending my team, but it’s my responsibility to keep my university pride unlike you lo..claimed from UTM but wrote such that comment to your uni..you should come to UTM Auto Lab and ask the team yourself..i guess what faculty you are coming from??

• sbk enthusiast on Jun 30, 2010 at 2:45 pm

i forgot something, this BIGGGG tires give us additional mileage due to its larger effective tire radius DUDE!!and oh yes, sorry because we do not accelerate so much unless at the starting point..we maintained the speed at each point of the track..GOT u!!=D

• eman89 on Jul 01, 2010 at 11:42 pm

sbk,sabar la.. amik yg elok,pekakkan telinga utk yg tak elok.. :) its life.. and fyi,the bashers out there, u should have seen last year, the winner of manual category was not using small tires.. it is a stratergy, not always we can succeed.. but congrats to u guys in the UTM team.. :) insyaallah,next year do even better.. :)

• The USM Engine team leader is actually my friend.

http://www.mmail.com.my/content/37944-usm-ready-defend-eco-trophy

Say Lai, congratz!

• kudos for perodua to promote the engineering of the local university, i am from local university and i clearly see how dhis will benefit the students . especially it is a direct involvement of the participants and the company.

• drMpower on Jun 29, 2010 at 12:01 am

i been watching the students accumulating the said milage almost everyday, day till night. and kudos to prof horizon for his efforts. hes the american with the weirdest desire for weird motorcycle.

he rides a junk bike with terrible smokes. he should have ‘borrowed’ one of the modenas bikes with electric power thingy he and his team done. saves fuel. and environment. ;p

he should have done the cylinder cycle thing where in lower speeds it uses only one and whenever more power needed, it uses all available. perodua should consider doing a race that need speed and also saves fuel. like this it will encourage a better result.

saving fuel is important but what more important is, saving fuel AND arriving the destination at the stipulated period. or time.

if not mistaken it was him and his team that triumphed last year with their myvi.

• littlefire on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:19 am

If i not mistaken, his bike is using used oil from the kitchen or hawkers to run on it.. It can be said as recycled fuel.. Nice smell dude.. Sometime can even smell pisang goreng or friend chicken flavour from it.. No kidding dude.. The draw back is a lot of smoke and not so powerfull, but it is a good way for bio-fuel..

• drMpower on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:00 pm

hahaha..really? i dont know that. i was following him the other day (by mistake he was riding to somewhere n i am driving to somewhere as well).

my god the smoke. it was like the motorcycle is on running broken cylinder (s) !

but yeah. hes one of the guys that do real engineering works, in real life. no syok sendiri one.

• theanswer on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:21 am

wow american with passion in fuel efficiency? definitely american ‘murtad’. no wonder he lives in msia.

• littlefire on Jun 29, 2010 at 12:11 pm

Not all Americans are fuel guzzler.. Are u still in dinosour era? If u went to California & other big cities in US. They have a lot of Hybrids driving along..

• alldisc on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:30 pm

its because california has rules requiring LEV or ZEV vehicles. the city has the worst level of air pollution.

• littlefire on Jul 02, 2010 at 8:41 am

Yup, that why i felt funny why some people here still think US there still trap in those old guzzlers.. If they still support those engine, would you think Hummer will bangkrap in the first place?

• drMpower on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:01 pm

ahahahah this guy is no jay leno.

imagine jay leno riding a junkie bike with bio fuel in it?

not the jay ‘guzzler’ leno i know!

• dickybird on Jun 29, 2010 at 9:08 pm

jay leno is the guy with Y2K bike, the jet turbine bike, he wouldnt be seen dead on a smokey bio-fuel bike. LOL!

• Most important fact of fuel saving. Don’t use Petronas 95. Seriously… Don’t believe? Go try BHP, Caltex, Esso. (Shell is an exception that matches Petronas’s quality quite “well”).

• agree with you
      petronas 95 is low quality of fuel
      i have use ESSO into my car recently
      im proud with my performance, fuel efficiency in my car

• acerman on Jun 29, 2010 at 7:02 pm

Tried Caltex Techron 95. Save me a lot on fuel usage besides Petronas Primax 95.

• eman89 on Jul 01, 2010 at 11:14 pm

agree.. tried BHP, and got even more mileage than shell.. and even MORE than petronas.. sorry, but it is the truth.. :) i can even do the experiment these two week, and post the result here.. want to see?

• How sure are you?…
      I travel at least 100km a day. and long distance travel at least twice a month.
      and I ended up using Primax 95.
      better mileage than the Shell “lebih kilometer” crap..
      proven….

Shell was good, but before 2008…
      now?… not anymore….
      Primax 3 is better….

but that’s my opinion.. you may differ…

• Shell was on the “exceptional” list, what I meant was, they actually matched Petronas’s lousiness.

Go try Esso or caltex for a week. I am not trying to bash, rather I am trying to point out the ugly truth.

• Tiadaid on Jun 30, 2010 at 9:26 am

Meh, I’ve tried them all and there’s no difference. Mileage still the same, performance also the same.

• then which brand that you used right now?

• Tiadaid on Jun 30, 2010 at 8:54 pm

Right now I use whatever brand’s the closest. If I have to fill up near my office, Esso. At home, Shell…

• littlefire on Jul 02, 2010 at 8:42 am

Maybe u mix to much until what fuel u using also dont know… U should try only Shell for few days and then Esso for a few days only to compare to result it self..

• Please try it out on same type of fuel on a week basis. Not on random campur sini sana rojak style. Tell me the result if you do do it. Was thinking of asking Paul to do the test but they are under sponsor from BHP, so… I know they can’t.

• Tiadaid on Jul 02, 2010 at 9:35 am

Actually I did. Two weeks on Shell, then two weeks on Esso, then another two weeks on Petronas. The results are the same, mileage around 420 km city driving. And I’m driving a Honda City 2004 i-DSI.

• Eric G on Jun 29, 2010 at 12:44 am

Hi paul, can you give us some common mods among these VIVAS? like fuel enhancer stuff like that or maybe different spark plugs? That would be great!

• S Hensem on Jun 29, 2010 at 3:05 am

bravo Uniten! Good job :)
    Next can try Alza/Exora pulak?

• eman89 on Jul 01, 2010 at 11:18 pm

alza la kot.. exora cannot.. perodua eco shallenge.. :P akaka.. never mind, we ask PROTON to do some competition like this la.. hehe.. eh, anyone uses persona? a few told me(owners of persona) that it is fuel economic.. :)
      anyway, bravo uniten(manual) and USM(auto)..

• shawal on Jun 29, 2010 at 5:16 am

Awesome piece of automotive news , looking forward to the future

• littlefire on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:16 am

Contraz to USM… U make us proud..

• dukeKTM on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:31 am

not fair….there’s no such thing during my study times…I studied Automotive engineering too….why??? :P

• leonardo on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:33 am

Why did the UTM driver use a racing suit and full face helmet for a slow economy run? Was the car unsafe?
    You don’t need to be an engineer to figure out wider tires means more rolling resistance. With UTM’s experience in Australia’s solar run, they should have done better.
    Besides CSR, Perodua managed to get good publicity and managed to sell thier products to first time buyers, among which are graduate students. Perhaps Perodua engineers can use some of the ideas for future engine development?

• Motorist on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Gaya mesti ada, bang.

Banyak cewek there. Gotta impress them ;-)

• experiment-guy on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:18 am

its written in the rules and regulation bro..plz check..
      perodua made the rules but they don’t really strict on it..
      btw, i saw some other team wore the same attire as well.
      just for precaution ma..even slow moving shell eco marathon got crash during race.

• sbk enthusiast on Jun 30, 2010 at 2:52 pm

check my previous comments up there about tire selection..
      and yes, i’m not the only person wearing such that attire..
      it’s in the rules sir..
      you should be there and see yourself..

• Luckily…no car crash..

If the car crash…sure someone WILL DIE in like a sardine..

• One more thing, Perodua biased to UPM because UPM already do research with Proton…rite?

• ezmil75 on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:43 am

UNISEL car looks more like a racing car than an eco car… Those are Wedsports alloys with fat tyres

• squall_shinoda on Jul 02, 2010 at 6:54 pm

Yeah, maybe… but Unisel was not the only team that used alloy wheels. Even if the race may require racers to drive slowly, gaya mesti ada gak bro… normal laa, ramai awek tengok maa… anyway, even with a “pimped” Viva that looked more like a racing car, Unisel team still managed to get second place for auto car just behind USM what… so, that’s not bad anyway…

Anyway, USM really deserved to win the auto category because of what they had under the hood. Both USM and Unisel developed custom-made ECUs, but USM used their trump card for the race – by switching off the other 2 cylinders, leaving only 1 cylinder running. Anyway, that was not a new technology; the idea was almost the same as Honda Accord 3.5’s VCM technology. The only difference was USM permanently shut off the other 2 cylinders for the sake of the race, while Honda’s VCM reactivates all cylinders after reaching certain RPM.

• the reader on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:53 am

this is great stufff….hopefully Perodua can exploited this in any way for their better future…

• 112bz on Jun 29, 2010 at 9:11 am

Hmmm. It seems UiTM lost because they spent all the money on modding the car into a heavy racing car! Pointless!

• Eric G on Jun 29, 2010 at 11:50 am

TOTALLY! FORD FOCUS RS WANNABE!

• Motorist on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Gaya mesti ada, bang.

Kalau tak boleh mod enjin, kita mod body, buat cantik giler, macam racing car.

Kalah tak apa, gaya mesti ada

• experiment-guy on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:23 am

kire mnang gaye r ni..
        g auto show la bro..
        sure perodua buat jd concept car..

• BWB man on Jun 30, 2010 at 8:14 pm

Part of the competition is a category where car design (read: styling) and engineering presentation will be evaluated. We are just doing our best to win all categories since the actual race will be very competitive. btw, thanks to Motorist for saying our car “cantik giler” but winning third prize is not considered losing we’ll come back with RM5000 plus another RM10,000 for the car design/engineering presentation 1st prize. the styling exercise is good for our students (all mechanical engineering students including the umbrella girl who is also in-charge in dynamic analysis) to give them chances to explore artistic side of themselves… engineering is not all sciences. it is also an art.

our design philosophy is based on a practicality of a car and its styling is based on a market study amongst youngsters within our campus. yes, these people love racing cars. why should any fuel-efficient car look boring or like a spacecraft?

while some of you are saying that perodua is holding an unrealistic competition because all the seats and everything are stripped out of these cars. my understanding is that the weight-shaving represents the weight of future urban cars. of course a car shall have seats and all things that are needed for human comfort but this exercise (competition) is meant to simulate the car with new, stronger and lighter material that may be feasible (cheaper) to be produced in the future.

Our Viva, just like our Myvi last year, is also modified to save fuel and deliver more power when it is needed. To say that our “racing car-looking” viva can only hold to 40km/h and be useless is indicating one’s ignorance. With a flick of a switch, this green viva is ready to be driven like mad…and fast…and we did it when tested the car on the same go-cart track a week before the race. it handles like a dream. again, just like myvi, this viva will undergo further test and improvements especially at higher speed regimes.

• dream on Jun 29, 2010 at 9:51 am

good ideas and exposure!

the next step should be to translate those ideas into practical applications, not just theory-based solutions to be presented at competitions, workshops or conferences…

• UiTM did finish respectable 3rd with 36.7 km/l and 1st in the Engineering Design (and they won this Engineering Design category for some reasons). The idea was to achieve maximum fuel economy without losing the practicality/functionality of the car. The car is still 4 seaters and a comprehensive aerodynamics aids were implemented under-neat the skin.

• nonon on Jun 29, 2010 at 11:56 am

JUST LIKE RUBBISH ON THE ROAD…….ALL DESIGN LIKE AH BENG’S SIFOO

• PSAS tech on Jun 29, 2010 at 12:02 pm

A big congrat to Politeknik Sultan Azlan Shah..although it was a first attempt we can compete with other big name of Universities that have so much experience before and advice by a big name of professor and doctors..we only advice by a degree holder teacher..and our garage and budget is like a ‘bawah pokok rambutan’ mechanic..but our spirit and hardworking finally paid..(^_^)

• edward on Jun 29, 2010 at 12:06 pm

although this is a good engineering exercise, it is extremely impractical. most of the methods used here are extremely impractical and ridiculous.

perodua listen up, do a normal road test in real world conditions. not running the car with 1 cylinder with 4kW. do not modify interior of the car. weight lightening should only happen at certain areas of the car.

• experiment-guy on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:30 am

agree..4 seater car with 1 cylinder?..crap..how long will it take u to KL from Jb?
      driving 30-40 km/h in highway. 10 hours+ break in r&r…insane..

• Jimmy Dean on Jul 02, 2010 at 8:39 am

In terms of practicality, some of the ideas can be used with modifications. Cylinder deactivation if done right means that in low speed driving (urban driving), you deactivate some of the cylinders (while not removing any cylinder and open the valve to reduce pumping losses) and activate all of them when you need maximum power. A snap-on rear wheel cover is a practical accessory (instead of bolted to the body) which can reduce your fuel consumption at high speed. Lower rolling resistance tires might cost slighly more, but you save alot on fuel.

• alpha999 on Jun 29, 2010 at 12:23 pm

uni undergrads improving on fuel efficiency….good effort but it’s not new……so how soon will we see these ‘eco-cars’ on the road?

• armandd on Jun 29, 2010 at 12:35 pm

Professor Horizon actually has 8 US Patent under his name. I worked for him in USM in 2007 as Research Assistant. This is his website:

http://skyshorz.com/home/home.php

• tokmoh on Jun 29, 2010 at 12:52 pm

I’m surfin this blog in mobile version on ipod touch, n it’s buggy when i change horizontal/vertical orientation. Hope u can fix it, paul. Thx.

Nway, somebody on top said it right, practicality would b most appreciated. Maybe the local unis could do better by researching how to apply start-stop thing in perodua cars or something along the line. Nevertheless kudos to the uni students n perodua. U can do better nxt time

• Jonnie on Jun 29, 2010 at 1:03 pm

So wanna study Auto Engineering, u know which U to attend and which to avoid… quality of lecturer lar.

• LittleMin on Jun 29, 2010 at 1:17 pm

same comment with 112bz. I duno wat the heck UiTM students are thinking, as they have mod the car into a racing car look? with wider rims n tyres..racing seat and heavier fibre or PU front bumper somemore..do they know that this is eco-challenge competition but not some autoshow challenge? =.=”
    same goes to UNISEL..
    (however i have to admit that UiTM’s viva does really looked awesome..)

• Tiadaid on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:19 pm

Meh, their car’s still the lightest. If they fiddled with the engine, they could have probably gotten more. Still, third isn’t that bad.

• uniten student on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:31 pm

congrat too uniten cause they won manual category.
    but it suck to be uniten student due too lack of funding.
    what i mean is that the winning money should have been given too the students that worked hard till 6am in the morning.
    should UNITEN take all the prize money?since they already had their own funding for the “next year” perodua eco challenge.which is about rm40k?

uniten…..shame on u for taking student’s money.

• uniten student on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:33 pm

uniten is taking away hard worked student’s prize winning money.
    good for u uniten

• zikri on Jun 29, 2010 at 2:59 pm

i think perodua should change their competition between standard modification and RnD modification. Standard modification is like reducing weight, modified the air intake and many more which can be done by people outside.

for the RnD or “just to win” modification, they can deactivate the cylinder and do other thing to push the output of the engine to minimum level power output to maximize the usage of fuel…. this type of modification simply cannot be followed by us… Did you want to drive 1 cylinder car go to kuantan from kl????hehehe

just my opinion…. for me, the philosophy of the challenge not for eco… i think for another else…

even my U is lost but with better fuel consumption, 27.6km with 3 cylinder….hehehehehe

• experiment-guy on Jun 30, 2010 at 1:40 am

agree..respect to all 3 active cylinder team..very practical thinking..

• kimi_ on Jun 29, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Why TOC automotive college not participate??????

Danny, is that the UTM use bigger wheels because of this theory: if two cars with 12-inch tyre

and 15-inch tyre both with same speed like 5km/h, then the bigger tyres one will achieve more

km than smaller tyre????

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:07 pm

According to the team leader, the Myvi wheels were to provide better stability, as they aimed to not use the brakes in corners (the circuit had a tighter section)

• Jimmy Dean on Jun 30, 2010 at 8:46 am

I kinda of agree with their strategy. UTP is using a larger low rolling resistance tire instead of crappy small spare tire. Based on their finding, the rolling resitance of LRR is just slightly more and the spare tire flex during corner. During the competition, the driver didn’t press the brake pedal not even once.

• sbk enthusiast on Jun 30, 2010 at 2:54 pm

agreed with you..check my previous comments about UTM Team tire selection..

• Jimmy Dean on Jul 01, 2010 at 12:15 am

I guess both UTP and UTM were on the same big tire strategy except that UTP manage to buy low rolling resistance tires (and inflated to higher than rated pressure) and UTM is using stock Myvi tires. Based on track testing by UTP, the bigger low rolling resistance tire (Crr = 0.013) manage to get 1.2 km more distance compared to the skinny spare tire (Crr = 0.012). Both teams would’ve won big if it rains that day!

• Motorist on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:20 pm

My guess is that TOC is not a university or polytech.

• I wanna change my viva with myvi rim/tyre. Looks good.

• BWB man on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:27 pm

I am one of UiTM team members. I don’t know what’s up with some of you guys keep bashing on our cars. It’s OK for me. I just want to make some things clear 1. it is compulsory (Perodua’s regulation) for the driver to use full race suit & helmet due to fire hazard. 2. the tyres are not thick. In fact they are similar to standard width but for 15-inch rims. we calculated that it is safe to do this as the weight of the car has been reduced to 650kg (minimum weight allowed by Perodua). we also think that practicality is important in our design so very thin spare tyres is a strict NO. 3. our front bumper looks heavy but one can see that our car is the lightest in the competition. We are sponsored by Fuza Design and be the first outside the company to use it. 4. the speed may be around 30 to 45 km/h but trying to maintain 40km/h on this go-cart track is hard without opting for stiffer and shorter springs and dampers. 5. Dr Horizon is right. 650-kg of cars with standard body needs around 2kW of power. We calculated (both through CFD and wind tunnel test) that required power for a Viva to overcome aerodynamic drag is around 0.6kW. That’s 30% of the overall power required (the rest is need to counter rolling friction, inertia etc) hence aerodynamic improvement is important even at slow speed. Our approach is that since everybody lightens their cars and incorporates innovative technologies on their powerplant, we, like other teams, thought that aerodynamics may give some edge to winning the competition.

Dr. Horizon is a respectable professor. We may not agree with his approach (we would love all of our three cylinders..hehe) but he has shown us the way. My respect also goes to Uniten, our greatest rival and our friend.

some may say that our styling is Ford Focus wannabe. whatever. we have never thought about Focus at all. The design, paint job, artwork etc are all done by our students using the cheapest material possible.

I have many other points to share. Paul, if you are interested, you are welcomed to our laboratory to see for yourself what we have done. We may not have cylinder deactivation technology, but we know a thing or two about aerodynamics.

• oldman on Jun 29, 2010 at 7:23 pm

some good points….BWB.

just ignore the basher….the basher still think the best car in the world is Potong…so go figure…

• Tiadaid on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:15 pm

Never mind with the bashers. Take criticisms constructively and strive to improve your result next time around. Hopefully UiTM can come on top next time!

• sbk enthusiast on Jun 30, 2010 at 2:57 pm

clear points there dude!!agreed with you..
      I’m from Team UTM..check my previous comments frien..=)

• BWB man on Jun 30, 2010 at 8:18 pm

well, sbk, I must’ve been your super senior… I got my degree in UTM. hehehe

• armandd on Jun 29, 2010 at 4:51 pm

if u use myvi rims/tyre combo on the viva and use the stock absorber/spring, your tire will definely scrap the car body.. must use adjustable or sport spring.

• armandd on Jun 29, 2010 at 5:29 pm

hmm, maybe not.. coz the car weight has been reduced=p

• mata katak on Jun 29, 2010 at 9:05 pm

Aiyo….some local university projects that their ppl syoik sendiri only. Waste money and mostly wont yield results, and often just becoming white elephant.

I remember their solar power car last time……design like sh*t, and all the components damn heavy, taken from motorbike bulat-bulat….

Even a self learned person can do better than these UNITEN or UTM jokers……

Sorry to be unsupportive and un-MAlaysian, but I’m merely telling the truth, without sugar coating my words….

• Tiadaid on Jun 30, 2010 at 9:24 am

Typical. How can Malaysia move forward if there’s people like you among its ranks? If you say any self learned person can do better, then why don’t YOU come out with a car that’ll beat all of them instead of belittling other people. They should be encouraged to experiment rather than be shot down.

• dickybird on Jun 30, 2010 at 10:54 am

they should be allowed to do what they THINK is right! so you can keep your less than supportive comments to yourself. it is very hard to find places where our youth are allowed to be creative and think for themselves on how to solve a problem. so kudos to them, learning by doing and applying what they learned.

• Jimmy Dean on Jul 01, 2010 at 12:22 am

You’ve to start somewhere rather than just sitting idle on your ass whining when other people are busting their ass. You don’t run before you can walk. Even if things might look simple or they fail in their attempts… the lessons learnt through this experience will turn them into better engineers in the future. Honestly, I’d learnt more from my failures than my success throughout my engineering career.

• Tiadaid on Jul 01, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Unfortunately, many Malaysians want to run before they walk…

• eman89 on Jul 01, 2010 at 11:25 pm

tau takpe.. i rest my case.. all been said by y guys.. malaysia boleh.. :)

• Given a choice, which car would you rather drive?

• blackJKX on Jun 29, 2010 at 7:03 pm

Can use only 3 wheels? mr been sure hate that.just kidding

• jap lagi perodua guna kat promosi kate kete kite jimat minyak… jimat minyak 1 liter leh pg 48 km siot .. kete ko togel semua memang lah mod lagi situ sini.. buat lah betul betul sikit adoi…. bukan kutuk budak u tau tp aku rasa nanti ader lah yang guna info nih nak jual kete p2 tuh.. hampeh… pls lah … not benefit at all dulu dgr banyak gak research dari budak u tp tak ader pun yang di guna mane g erk.. saje tanye… takkan pattern tak lepas lak. ape pun congrat budak budak yang menang kkk for ur effort .. utk penjimatan minyak …

• uniten student on Jun 30, 2010 at 2:29 am

dude.frankly speaking. u dont know what the hell are u talking about.

it seems that u cant see the figure,that uniten clocked the highest mileage.
    this is because thatweve dont a lot of rnd.

people like u doesnt deserve to speak out their/ur opinion.

if u can do it.why dont u do it?
    what do u know about uniten car anyway?just look from the outside?cmon la bro…..

think before u speak.

• biggie on Jun 30, 2010 at 8:42 am

there are a number of competition for automotive student; coming up is the Formula Varsity, Shell Eco Challenge etc.

• so nobody used miniturbo,icharge,stromberg fuelsaver,mygreenoil and all those kind of fuelsaving miracle products?

• Jimmy Dean on Jul 02, 2010 at 8:43 am

I think some of the teams had tried and figured out some of these “miniturbo,icharge,stromberg fuelsaver,mygreenoil ” is just as good as snake oil.

• macam mana USM boleh jadi Champion? sedangkan kami yang kira lap for each instituitions kira, UNISEL lebih satu lap dr USM?
    ada konspirasi ke? sbb banyak perkara yang boleh membuat USM dalam kontroversi. saya bukan dari mana2 institusi yang bertanding, sekadar pemerhati dari U luar yang datang untuk mendapatkan info dan berita terkini.
    ada penjelasan dari PESERTA atau PENASIHAT USM???

• nobody on Jul 02, 2010 at 5:25 pm

adam..
    FYI…both usm and unisel achieved 22 ++ laps, okay..the difference is only that usm is 300m far away from unisel’s car..i dont really think that perodua did a mess thing with those calculation of number of lap and the distance and not to forget the lap time..so, just keep the unsatisfactory thing in yourself..even unisel contestants confessed about this matter..

• squall_shinoda on Jul 02, 2010 at 7:11 pm

Agreed with you, nobody… I came to watch the event and I found nothing wrong with the lap calculation. Each car had been released one by one, and the gap between the first car and the last car was almost a lap but not a lap yet. And Unisel’s car was not the last car being released. Since cars were not released at the same time, the starting time for each team was not the same.

So to adam, you should get your facts right before making any false accusation. In this case, you should better ask Unisel students themselves, as all of them agreed that both USM and Unisel achieved 22+ laps; USM led Unisel by about 300m. Oh, BTW I was there as one of Unisel’s supporters.

• Jimmy Dean on Jul 02, 2010 at 11:00 pm

There is this GPS data logger inside which measure the distance traveled by each car which is more accurate than your lap calculation (and probably have enough RAM than your brain). Enough said.

• kami adalah terlatih dalam hal sebegini. kami dihantar oleh pihak universiti untuk membuat kajian dan penilaian pada setiap kereta, pertandingan dan mutuh pemarkahan. terpulang pada saudara/i untuk memberi komen.
    seramai 10 orang di antara kami, tidak termasuk staff pembantu seramai 3 orang, adakah kami semua tersilap? apa kata supporter dari universiti lain yang membuat tinjauan?
    apa kata Dekan dr universiti lain? tepuk dada, tanyalah selera. kami menunjukkan dan mengangkat martabat pengadilan yang bermutu tinggi di tempat yang setarafnya.
    jangan ikotkan rasa hati dan ilmu yang dangkal untuk menolak jawapan dari pihak lain, tp kita sama2 perlu untuk mengatasi kelemahan tersebut supaya tiada kes2 kontroversi sedemikian rupa pada masa akan datang.

untuk kesekian kalinya, kami tiada kepentingan dalam pertandingan ini kerana tidak terlibat secara langsung. tahniah yang menang dengan caranya, dan takziah untuk yang menang dengan cara sebaliknya~

• Jimmy Dean on Jul 06, 2010 at 9:18 am

Terlatih? Manusia memang buat silap tapi tak nak mengaku bila dah silap kira lap. Don’t you know that each car has a GPS data logger which record the distance? Find out about the facts first. I pity the university that hires your group.

• ilyas on Jul 22, 2010 at 8:00 am

come on guys.. the event dh lama lepas.. get a grip.. USM dh menang.. so what? even tough Unisel ada lap extra.. but if i am not mistaken.. unisel ada record satu lap tu more then 4mins.. and it should be less then that for a lap.. u might be in the lead then.. but need to bare in mind.. penalty will deducted..

what so ever it is.. i was there and i was among the unisel EX students doing my observation.. and lend them my RIMS.. hahaha.. (pasang pun tak betol.. haih~!) u guys need to learn a lot.. ” its a jungle out there..mende kecik takat ni tok sah nk keco2..” at least u got seken place mah.. ok la tuh.. but a true winner dose not get the podium finish all the time.. USM pakai 1 piston.. korang pakai 3.. then beza takat 300m.. kire korang menang la jugak.. menang di hati..(this means keta USM tu lagi makan minyak la… even pakai 1 piston..) pk pk kan lah..