Proton Exora 25th Anniversary Edition – limited to 25 units!

Proton unveiled a special trio of cars at its 25th anniversary celebration gala dinner tonight. This is one of the three – the Proton Exora 25th Anniversary Edition, which is joined by a Persona 25th Anniversary Edition and a Saga 25th Anniversary Edition. Each model will only be available in 25 units.

All three sport a similiar design theme said to be inspired by a tiger’s face. They’re all finished in a Pearl White exclusive to these commemorative models. There’s a very thin and subtle line on the side of the car following the shoulder from the front all the way to the rear, to represent a tiger’s stripe. The ‘stripe’ ends at the rear with a small 25th Anniversary logo. They come with uniquely designed alloy wheels. The ‘mouth’ of the vehicle is blacked out, which actually reminds me of SEAT’s Bocanegra front end styling.

What’s most special is the interior, which is done in a nice brown colour with the 25th Anniversary logo embossed in the headrests. They may not look that great or represent how they look like in real life in the photos we have for you as lighting conditions was really bad at the dinner hall but they really give the interior a more upmarket feel, though I feel it would be even better if the dash material was made darker. I’ve seen similiar brown leather in the Passat CC and the E90 3-Series offered here in Malaysia.

Externally, there’s a subtle bodykit and I can see that the front bumper has chrome surrounds at the foglamps similiar to the Exora Prestige bumper.

The Exora’s head unit has been replaced with a widescreen unit with touch screen control. I didn’t get a chance to play with the head unit but from the photos I managed to snap I can see logos for SD card and USB, together with your usual disc loading slot at the top. The widescreen display is also used to display video feeds from a reverse camera as well as GPS navigation screens.

For the second row passengers, there’s individual LCD screens integrated into the front seat headrests. I’m not sure where these LCD screens get their input source from but I did find that they have USB ports built into them, so perhaps they are able to load MP3 and MP4 files. We’ll find out more about the extra specs for you later when we get the chance.

Speaking of the second row, the seats have been modified so that the second row consists of two ‘captain seats’ with spacing between them as compared to the usual tumble-forward bench.

And how much for all this you ask? The Proton Exora 25th Anniversary Edition costs quite a premium over the regular Exora – RM91,998. Bookings will open from the 12th of July onwards at all Proton showrooms nationwide, but if you want to see the limited edition cars you’ll have to come to the Centre of Excellence showroom by the KESAS highway.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1307]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kurikuri on Jul 09, 2010 at 11:49 pm

first! nice!

• pororo on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:35 am

if it’s inspired by tiger then the cars should be in orange (tiger) colour right? why white?

or perhaps it’s the white tiger? :P

• izz86 on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:09 am

rimau putih dah hampir pupus… tu yg proton wat kaler putih… utk kita memelihara rimau putih tu… huhuhu…

• there is white tiger n they r much bigger than normal tiger….
        http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_tiger

• Neonda on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:21 pm

kalau belang harimau dah macam kete company pulak…cos proton use dat stripe as their company/official service car..hehee

• Ikhwan on Jul 10, 2010 at 8:10 pm

Kesian… mahal nyer

• Neonda on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:24 pm

barang tambah mahal la sikit bang…takkan nak arge sama..haih…camana ni…
        bila proton jual murah kata itu takdak lah ini takdak lah…now bila dah tambah itu ini, u pay for what u got la…macamana la proton nak taruh turbo kat engine kalo gini gaya…bila xdak tebo dok kutuk…bila dah taruh nanti, arge mahal..bising pulak…susah business gini..hewhew

• VW_fan on Jul 09, 2010 at 11:53 pm

No matte black finish? LOL

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jul 09, 2010 at 11:58 pm

like all typical m’sian…i juz want to know the price :D

• hidup proton…. wa caya sama lu….

• nice facelit

• nice colour combination on interior.. but exterior.. only so so…

• nv respect on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:15 am

tat s so ugly..see the interior n the exterior.. the interior, the color brown does not match the panel n steering color..wt s tat??
      n the exterior? wt s tat? black n white? chocolate??

• MazdAstina on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:01 am

wow! 25th anniversary, 25 units, 25 ringgit?

• price also special, mayb RM250,000 LOL..

• Raixa on Jul 10, 2010 at 3:30 am

You must the old timer Malaysian who have no desire to read the full article, it has been stated that this L.E only gonna cost you RM 95K++

• 1Malaysia on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:19 pm

RM 25 may be for 25th Anniversary toy car for your children

• kaskas on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:02 am

look weird at the back with black color….

• acerman on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:03 am

I didn’t know they can do these with sliding seats. The car looks exclusive. This is what I call limited edition. Not like the other counterpart.

• Mr Adds on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:03 am

how much?

• Artz3 on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:04 am

Attn: P2 Branding Department.

Dear sir, so you should know, this is what Limited Edition actually mean. 25 cars. Its limited, see. “Millions” is not limited in every where else in this sane world ‘side Malaysia.

• sri hartamas on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:06 am

This Exora really looks great! but why only 25 units? and whats the pricing like?

• anak2 kita on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:02 am

maybe 95k
      persona n saga the price also hv 25 yrs edition

• HirumaKecil on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:16 am

bcoz they celeb their 25 birthday lol…. but not 25… its 75 unit… 25 exoras, 25 saga and 25 personas… huhu.. just like satria neo r3 lotus edition.. super special small volume make it worth to buy….

• A special edition with a 2 liter V6 Pedana engine would be nice.

• nazri on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:07 am

nice paul..
    how much?

• Any price difference?

• wow !! LCD screen !! Turbo engine !!??

• acerman on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:17 am

But I jut don’t understand Proton. They can do many possible things with their cars with lots of goodies and tech, but why can’t they produce them in massive scales…?

• rageaccel2 on Jul 10, 2010 at 8:34 am

to make it affordable for me and u..to many good stuffs will make the price skyrocketed.. but i rather say the price is still ridiculous compared to our neighbours..

• which neighbor?….down south? there car much more expensive..indon?

• acerman on Jul 13, 2010 at 12:27 am

Their cars (indo) are cheap but the price of petrol there is 4 times higher than us.
          p/s
          Don’t ask me silly questions like how do I know, I’d been there more than once for holidays with my family.

• Elvis on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:30 am

LCD Screen already standard spec in western countries.

• theanswer on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:16 am

do u really need a lcd screen? *except for gps..also can use external garmin. what we need as a standard spec is abs or airbag system..but i prefer abs.

• HirumaKecil on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:18 am

this is eastern countries… mbe that is the reason… huhu…

• frossonice on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:08 pm

Do you mean on your Casio watch? You’re generalizing it. Not all car have LCD screen.

• Tiadaid on Jul 10, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Cars in western countries uses LCD screen to operate all the functions of the car from radio to air con. It’s been said that it is highly distracting and dangerous. So, since everything else in the car is operated manually, do you really need LCD screen at the front?

• Elvis on Jul 11, 2010 at 2:43 pm

LCD screen use for reverse camera, GPS, controlling air con, stereo etc which is now all are touch screen based. You think you dont need lcd touch screen until you start using car that depends on it., you wont go back! Just like current touch screen handphone guys. But then again, we are SO BACKWARD that any new overprice cars launch terus buy one….without lcd touch screen when such models elsewhere are standard…petty us….

• annoy-nimal on Jul 13, 2010 at 9:39 am

Just because some other cars use LCD screens, that dont make em better than cars that dont use them. You see them on TV but not all europeans cars (even in europe) use LCD screens.

• Neonda on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:30 pm

dont just look at proton dont have LCD Screen…even new Accord bring in Malaysia no LCD screen…imported got one..wide your perspective dude…

• clement on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:10 am

Damn….. luckily its only 25 units. Honestly… something wrong with the color scheme…

• dzulx on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:13 am

cant they find any better color for the leather.. Doesnt look right..

• malaysia memang boleh on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:34 am

The colour is actually quite good but the flash makes it too bright.

• Proton leather seats colour are weird.Like waja or Perdana creamy seat. Must be cheap

• HirumaKecil on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:20 am

waja seats looking good for me…. some merc and bmw also use that color…

• perghh on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:52 am

Hmmm, perhaps they are targeting the Family Man? Which comprises on uncle? You know how this colour is rather interesting to them right? Haha.

• Chyan on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:21 am

lol. Saw crap quality photos from your tweets. :D

I can say this is ain’t bad at all.
    The seats look rather exclusive. (Note: BMW 3 series Cabriolet Leather Colour for M’sia Market)

Looking forward the full review!

• lkhoe on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:23 am

Looks great. How was the turn out?

• hand ball on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:33 am

what a waste of time and resources.
    same ugly looking P1 exora with the same out of breath tak pro engine.
    after 25 years and…….coming out with this is just PATHETIC !!!

• acerman on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:05 am

Have u driven one?

• HirumaKecil on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:21 am

as usual.. basher always basher…

• prolever on Jul 10, 2010 at 2:30 pm

and how long do kia and Hyundai take to became the best just like now..

• acerman on Jul 10, 2010 at 8:17 pm

More than 25 years. Remember that KIA was bankrupt once and Hyundai took over.
        Here’s the fact.
        “Kia’s bankruptcy in 1997, part of the Asian financial crisis, resulted in 51% of the company being acquired in 1998 by South Korean rival Hyundai Motor Company, outbidding Ford Motor Company which had owned an interest in Kia Motors since 1986.”

source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kia_Motors

• zaff1984 on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:36 am

the center console really turn me off…. steering look better compared original version…

• nazri on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:44 am

paul, i notice something at exora dashboard.. issit windscreen display HUD ??

• sutheshkumar on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:19 am

that is the GPS receiver. You can see similar receivers like this on built in GPS cars.

• SquarePetrolHead on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:47 am

Hmmmmm… Proton supporter here but I would say poor execution on this limited edition. Colors of the seat is great and the material looks really swanky… BUT OMG doesnt the rest of the interior’s material look out of place? If it is an L.E why could they have really done a more complete job and replace all the grey with a more matching color…

Look at the dash and then look at the seats… i’d rather look at the seats

They’d probably say its a branding exercise but too poorly executed to change anybody’s perception IMHO

• Tiadaid on Jul 10, 2010 at 8:25 am

Can’t change too much on the dash, since it won’t be cost effective. Seats easily modified, but to modify dash need more money I think

• I second that. It would be nice if the lower half of the dashboard sports the same brown color as the seats and door trims

• jaguh kampong on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:53 am

Macam cut and paste sahaja.
    Depan + belakang macam Saga BLM colour scheme
    and a total mis-match btw the tan colored seats and weird dashboard
    colour tone too.
    Dissapointed with this face lift except for its AV system.
    Boring la.

• samseng kampung on Jul 10, 2010 at 7:15 pm

then when proton made a basic exora u will said.. such a boring car..

• I agree.. this people don’t have a live bro, always bored…!

• Imran on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:07 am

Good job proton. This is truly a limited edition car. With limited units..and completely different design. not like the old days..put some bodykit..wallah…’limited edition’..

• yea, and u’ll look like a fool for buying a RM95k car from proton.

• Motorhead on Jul 11, 2010 at 7:02 pm

Ppl are really fool buying the 100K+ Perdana…. Perdana is from Proton is it?

• Neonda on Jul 15, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Bro..just stay with your Kancil if have no money ok?

• Nicerule on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:21 am

The Proton Exora 25th Anniversary Edition costs quite a premium over the regular Exora – RM91,998……..Mahal..Mahal….Mahal…la……

• subhero on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:54 am

limited lah bro.. dont u know what price for limited unit?

• HirumaKecil on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:24 am

ade ke limited edition sama harga ngan yg biasa????

• fasgen on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:55 am

mahal tak yah beli… ni untuk orang yang berminat saja.. hanya 25 orang yang pakai…

• Vios User on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:25 am

The value of these cars are going to appreciate over years, quickly get one Proton lovers …

• Spencer on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:30 am

After 25 years still produce such a quality cars.. how can they improve the next coming 25 years?? disappointed…

• theanswer on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:19 am

after 25 years of engineering..my one year blm auto gearknob already spoiled..gearknob i repeat..the button ‘toing’..tercabut abes..what p1 sc did is..wrap it with celotape!.

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:41 pm

you are right… 25 years are a long time for a car manufacturer.. they shud come out with a BMW quality product and priced it at P1 price !!

• prolever on Jul 10, 2010 at 2:34 pm

another one…
      and how long kia and hyundai takes to be just like now…10years???
      lol.. it takes almost 50years… 50 years la bro…

• lorsaa on Jul 10, 2010 at 6:40 pm

50 years ago they are still in korean war, dun be funny.

• oomph on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:14 pm

we dont care how long has proton been in the industry.
        as long as proton is selling, customers want quality.
        not excuses after excuses for poor quality issues.
        50 years ago technology was different than now..
        all have the same access to technology but proton still produces crap!

• dickybird on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:53 pm

well he does have a point, he is an unsatisfied customer while you are just a proton apologist.

• Tiadaid on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:48 am

Take a look at a Honda car when they were 25 years old. Rust-buckets all! Plus the Japanase have the advantage of its citizen who work hard to achieve success. Malaysians only know how to bash and blame others for their shortcomings.

• dickybird on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:13 am

really? rust buckets? u sure? how about protons after 5 years and why is it do i see so many proton drivers still open their doors rather than their windows to pay tolls.
            and where you do suppose all those malaysians get the money to buy all those imported cars, if they only know how to bash and blame? the curs of proton is that its workforce have no pride in doing what they do hence the constant quality issues.

• E Bear on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:37 pm

Hmmm I am driving a 14 yr old honda bucket…..got a bit of rust as usual, nothing life threatening.

Quality also due to components, not just the assembling crew.

If the screw misfits or missing, then you can blame the workers.

• mystvearn on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:33 am

Hopefully this is only Liimited to 25 units. Not like perodua’s myvi for girls take.

This will sell. Also, maybe a slightly maroon leather seats would fit better than brown?

• matrxe on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:47 am

Haish…sakit mata tgk centre console. macam myvi. I don’t mind paying RM1000 extra for a better design console..like honda stream. really.. mahal sgt ker?

• zaff1984 on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:32 am

hahah… me too, bkn sbb apa… nmpk tak premium langsung…. myvi even simple, but it have quality materials. Yes, agree at least make interior like honda… we dont ask quality like Audi…

• What so special about honda stream console?

• zaff1984 on Jul 11, 2010 at 9:17 am

MAT. , dont get me wrong… im not a basher or anything… but i think Proton can do better and ppl deserve a bit better…

• autojohndoe on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Well… just pay for the Stream… No one ask you to that…

• RM1000 for redesign the center console? be reasonable bro.. if u give that price u just get the fibre one.. not PP/ABS ma… fibre no need mould.. but plastic wise, it need lots of money to make another tools/mould/insert… and they just make for 25 units only! do some research bro..

• why exora h-line doesnt have a leather wrapped steering instead of this??

But exora singapore spec have it!!!
    proton discriminate malaysian!

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_photos.php?CarCode=10742

• Nope, that only for certain dealer who offer different kind of fitting, not proton. you can log on to proton singapore website to see whether it is different or the same as ours. log on to www.proton.com.sg So dont create a story that not even exist

• are you sure what you talking about?
        i have seen proton singapore website, the interior and exterior picture gallery make me not believe what you commented. As you can see, the picture gallery is taken from exora brochure in Malaysia spec..! I think proton singapore doesnt have an actual picture for their proton exora and that why proton singapore use exora brochure in Malaysia spec for reference.

In addition, You can surf into proton edar website and choose proton exora for more detail. Also, dont forget to download brochure for your reference..

Thank you.

• prolever on Jul 10, 2010 at 2:39 pm

m$%&n
      the leather seat is an incentive of the showroom…
      and about discrimination, will u pay about 2k for leather seat for you car..
      and plus, you know la how much taxes the G take..

• haha
        its parallel with 1Malaysia concept
        ‘People first, performance now’

Rakyat will suffer first with all increasing price of goods!
        haha
        thanx gov

• dickybird on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:38 am

MPs and HM Agong are also ppl ma! so ngam lah, ppl 1st performance now!

• prolever on Jul 11, 2010 at 8:21 pm

hahahahaha

• bobby on Jul 10, 2010 at 2:00 am

Not bad huh. Just need some finishing touches on the color adoption. It seems kind of weird, but just donno what is it.

• ni baru limited tak kire lah org cakap pe yang dapat cube 25 org jerk wahahaha jgn cakap limited jual beribu budus… p2 bahser dah start nak kutuk tuh .. ke panas hati tgk benda mcm nih … 25 unit it limited chasis siap tulis no berapa lagi .. nak ciplak pun tak leh ….

• IMHO, the exterior just too AH BENG for me..

even ah beng can do better than this so-called 25th anniversary edition..

Im sorry..im not bashing..but i was expected something better..perhaps 2.0 CPS or turbocharged engine bay..

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:42 pm

you were right.. proton shud instal a new engine for their 25 unit exora… even Mercedes do that, rite?

• yes.. i agree.. ah beng infront of my apartment already make-up 2 exora, 1 merc, 1 bmw, 1 alza and 1 myvi (all staff car i think, i see all of it everyday there).. all look alike bcoz have same colour, but the bodykit they put was very nice..
      supposed proton give limited edition engine too with limited edition other spec..

• yeah right ah beng can do better… can ah beng give you warranty?

• botak on Jul 10, 2010 at 3:33 am

put carbon at the front.. sure be so nice..

• shawal on Jul 10, 2010 at 3:58 am

Excellent!, lets add extra weight to strain that 1.6 engine!

• HirumaKecil on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:27 am

no extra weight lol…. standart have 3 seater seat at 3rd row.. this one got seat for two only meh….

• really dont understand why proton always lauch the “limited Edition”, lotus racing edition now 25 years edition only 25 units, can it be 2,500 units? after that no “special edition spare parts at all”. The whole colour scheme look like mat rembit style, no elegance and luxury feel, national car RM91k +?

• Tiadaid on Jul 10, 2010 at 8:45 am

Because they’re celebrating their 25th Anniversary, that’s why they have limited edition of only 25 units.

• keyboard.rosak on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:59 am

bro,
      it is becos this is special editions for proton 25th year anniversary.

got it?

Neo Lotus also part of the plan of 25 limited units.

• this car is more limited than pagani zonda.

huiyo. and when u go service center, u’ll pengsan, tak ader part la bang, ini part sikit saja.

• hmmm i don’t get it, what are try to tell here? i think there will be not a problem, they just used an existing part/carry over parts only and they just adding an accessory into this 25th edition.. other than that, the engine still remain the same? so you like to make a service on your LCD? or Leather seat?? i’m totally confius with ur statement… hahaha

• dickybird on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:51 am

yup! pors they only redo interior lah, did not do anything to the mechanicals lah. that would cost another huge amount which they dont have.

• The 25 owners will suffer every time they turn on the car ignition and watching the 25 years emblem comes out alive in the monitor reminding them of the rakyat’s 25 years of suffering.

• acerman on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:09 am

Why is that?

• frossonice on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Suffering from what? I don’t see people die by the roadside from hunger… If you mean suffering from high car price, then get a better job and buy your dream car. Sheeshh.. Politics.

• Thomas L on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:55 pm

Wow, you are so brilliant. 25 years rakyat suffer from what exactly? Please enlighten us since you are the Professor in Political Science; what our nation had been suffering from.
      poor education? lack of health care for the poor and needy? scarcity of basic needs? poor economic development? lack of food & commodity? poor infrastructure? bloody civil war?

• edwin on Jul 10, 2010 at 6:32 pm

suffering from the exorbitant price tag on other non-national car , which the rakyat had to pay through thier nose for years , just to protect the 25 y.o. infant or should i say ‘ BABY ! ‘ .

• Tiadaid on Jul 10, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Suffer from poor mentality.

• dickybird on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:01 am

poorly made cars, underinvestment in public transport and infrastructure, and the vast majority of her citizens barely making enough money to ride anything other than a kapchai.
        and if you think this country has made advances in the areas you have listed, then why is the feeling on the street is that we are moving backwards rather than forward.
        please enlighten me, mister U Must Not Object?

• Tiadaid on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:45 am

Kapchai, really? All the traffic jams in KL, those car must be foreigners using it eh?

• dickybird on Jul 11, 2010 at 6:44 pm

for every car you see, there are even more kapchais. all those cars in kl causing jams are mostly pendatang punya so yes you could say that foreigners are driving them. :P

• Tiadaid on Jul 11, 2010 at 9:49 pm

Yeah, right. Man, where I live, my house’s the only house with only one car! My aunt who’s my next door neighbour have three cars, my other next door neighbour have four car, my front neighbour have 5 cars. This isn’t a joke!

• dickybird on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:17 am

your point?

• Thomas L on Jul 11, 2010 at 7:35 pm

Ok, the poorly made car, i must agree a bit, but they’re slowly picking up in terms of quality and value. Maybe our child in the future may be driving Proton cars with they heads held up (So I hope).

Vast majority of citizen barely making enough money? You are blaming the gov because you didn’t complete school with flying colors (which the govt had been providing for extra cheap), further your studies and get yourself a good job with a good pay? Wow that’s amazing.

Underinvestment in public transport? Now you tell me that you cant afford yourself a ride, you’re hoping the govt to provide everything for you for free? Mouth-feed everyone so every rakyat can be satisfied with the government achievement?

Have you ever been to rural areas? Or have you involve yourself in road projects? Do you know how hard it is to construct roads for Malaysia’s terrain, how expensive and demanding our local engineers and workers are? And that only development in Semenanjung Malaysia deserve the govt attention? What about those in Sabah & Sarawak?

If you’re not living the life you’re expected right now don’t blame others, blame yourself! If you still have a bit of self-respect for yourself, get yourself a good job and stop complaining.

• dickybird on Jul 11, 2010 at 8:24 pm

well for a person who is so self-righteous as to tell me to get study harder and get a better job and thus a better ride, he is giving excuses about the difficulty in constructing roads in our tropical climate? laughable or do you need to go back to school too?
            well as for the vast undereducated majority, whatever you might think of them, they are the reason this govt seeks to continue anti-competitive affirmative action policies.
            as for public transport i never said i wanted it free, and indeed i have been raised with the attitude that nothing is for free and nobody is entitled to a living. however, they are quite a number who are raised to think they are entitled to something.
            “poor education? lack of health care for the poor and needy? scarcity of basic needs? poor economic development? lack of food & commodity? poor infrastructure?” these are facts of life when you look the state of play in my beloved home state of Sabah. even in your rude self-righteousness, you cannot blame the poor people themselves and admit it is a clear failure of the govt to provide even the most basic amenities. so you can take your high and mightiness and go fly a kite.
            i have a great paying job and choose to speak up for those who do not have the ability or opportunity to do so and what i see as unjust in this country of mine. where do you get off being so self-righteous and condescending?

• saki77 on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:00 pm

(read with less emo as possible)bersepah sepah orang Malaysia boleh pakai kereta mewah….kalau dah malas belajar… tak boleh dapat kerja baik, tak boleh simpan duit, tak boleh beli keta mahal… takkan kerajaan juga yang salah…apa punya mentaliti la macam ni… I’m not pro-government or anything… just read ppl mumbling about tax, govt bla2…so typical….why dont you just change yourself….lots of others who can afford to buy expensive cars…if you cannot afford, just shut up, buy what you can, just dont blame ohers for what you cannot achieve….

• dickybird on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:30 am

tell that those folks who form the politically connected elite and who are brainwashing the majority to think that they are entitled to privileges from the govt just because they form the majority. and when they dont get it or fail to compete, who do they blame but those who can succeed without any govt aid.

• Barkcrack on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:59 pm

LOL. Good point bro

• gila…

• bravo!

• danoneism on Jul 10, 2010 at 5:06 am

hehe.. white with tiger stripes???? looks like a zebra to me.. hahahaa

• some of u guys didn’t read till the last paragraph and kept asking about the price…
    annoyying la dude!!!

• HirumaKecil on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:30 am

agree… did not read all… but still want to bash.. if just ask for the price is still acceptable… WHY YOU PEOPLE DID NOT READ BEFORE COMMENT??? DON”T JUST READ THE TITLE….

• PakAbu on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:09 pm

LOL
      TL;DR

(Too long; didn’t read — in geekspeak) ;-)

• _xXx_ on Jul 10, 2010 at 6:37 am

can they finish selling all the 25?

• Zacke on Jul 10, 2010 at 7:39 am

Even with the new leather seats, the Exora dash still looks cheap. Once, I asked the Exora Project Manager why Proton didn’t use Wira dash material? He said – the cost is higher…

• zaff1984 on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:47 am

He said like that..? for Wira dash material…? OMG even wira material not so good he can say like that… wish proton to have a good interior quality and design like honda stream is just a dream…

• acerman on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:11 am

Yes. His correct. It’s quite expensive. As same as Waja dashboard.

• because the price is cheap…

• Siewperman on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:56 am

I second you..

• it is because EPA rules. Dont u know that??? thats why even the current civic dont use the same material as the old ones. check back civic ek & fd. Ek material is better, but why honda use hard plastic to civic fd. it is the same as previous gene of lancer and the newer lancer GT. So, next time, look at the other auto maker also dude, dont just make story. yes, u can use soft plastic(not even exist in wira, lancer gt n civic fd), but it cost higher except if we are living in euro where that kind of plastic is quite cheaper.

• scottloeb on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:02 pm

slush moulding, the cost of producing the soft-like plastic material is expensive. Its feasible for certain price range of cars, but not to entry level. Vios use injection moulding but Camry use slush moulding.

• Wari Nordin on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:01 am

Proton just make a car for malaysian like me, not for richer like other basher..
    thanks Proton!!!!

• edwin on Jul 10, 2010 at 6:38 pm

other cars are not so expensive lah if not becos of Proton ! go get the real price of a vios or city in thailand ! and you still thanks proton for robbing you the right to own a decent car with a real life price tag !! such sucker !!

• autojohndoe on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:39 pm

so… go and buy at Thailand… OK?

• hahaha… so how bout the exactly price for P1 car before taxing?? i think it much cheaper from the imported cars.. i bet u..

• RM95K for a Proton quality car u consider not rich?

• dream on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:22 am

Change dash colour n design!
    Then I’ll reconsider…

• Jumbsuck on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:30 am

And the price for Tok Arab is RM45,999 not bad for stone-age specs but made looks like space-age for fools here. Front look as fugly as Ford Ranger bumper and with black rear end, once again the intellectual design just as good as Ah Beng standard. Have you guys grown sick with brown seats Gen2? Nope, RM45,999 price is worth the most.

• Nutty Dad on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:31 am

This is certainly not a 25th anniversary “give away” to thanks the rakyat for their contribution, considering the “premium” price this Exora carries!!.
    This special 25th anniversary LE certainly hit the bulleye to commemorate 25yrs of rip-off & rakyat “sacrifice”…..

• sochamic on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:43 am

Interior looks OK, some improvements. But exterior looks cheap by slapping black paint on front bumper and boot lit. Looks like those ah beng chop shop design as you can see a lot of similar paint jobs on kancils. Not really a good effort here.

• Lovely.

• subhero on Jul 10, 2010 at 9:56 am

ok lah…

tak cantik sgt, tak buruk sgt..

haha..

• SquarePetrolHead on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:23 am

RM91k++… Thats way too much for this effort. I would have thought that they could have bumped up the price a little and done a more comprehensive job on the interior rather than this hodge-podge job. THe Interior colours do not compliment one another. Its not easy on the eyes IMHO and does not strike me as luxurious enough for the price. Also somthing should have been done to uprate the engine…

• Simon Har on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:32 am

hmm… with only 25 units, who gets to buy it?

• Tee Lim on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:34 am

just another take by Proton at conning the public’s money.

They should invest more into the R3 division to make R3 versions of the better selling models to get the public interested in the brand. (making a Lotus Racing edition of the Satria Neo which costs a bomb – because of expensive bits, not R&D – does not really count)

Instead, they just keep making special editions and limited editions. That will only make people look for like 2 seconds.

I seriously don’t think Proton can survive another 25 years if they keep this up.

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 10, 2010 at 7:01 pm

wow.. thats a genius idea… so anyone can create so-call neo r3 lotus by installing those bits right? screw the chassis refinement and handling, just install those hi-po parts will make the deal !!

• went to coe just now. no price list & no brochure. wtf is proton doing? selling exclusive car, everything not ready.sigh! then dun name it 25th Anniversary Edition. Name it 25th Not Ready Edition.

• very nice. a good changes of Exora’s interior design!!!

• Siewperman on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:56 am

Am I the only one that thinks the center console’s colour destroys the entire look? All dark tones being disrupted by this cheap looking plastic piece.

• PakAbu on Jul 10, 2010 at 6:17 pm

Yeah. Stands out like a sore thumb. Should have made it blend it with the dash.
      I Like the seats though. Simple n nice.

• Already 25 Yr still alive. GOOD…..

• learner on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:00 am

this is the real limited edition!!! because it’s stated 25 units only. same goes tu neo lotus. to the other national maker that recently launced LE model, please understand the meaning of limited edition.

• I found that leather seat trims & finishing are not well enough. Look at armrest for front row beside driver you can see misalignment joint. + wrinkles everywhere. I figured out new Persona also got this problems with their leather seat.

• kenshiro80 on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:09 am

Good job on the initiative but the workmanship is kinda untidy n the plasticky feel in all over the place esp the seats which really looks out of the place!! celebrate 25 years of excellence should be use more exclusive materials n better craftsmanship….this looks like a regular exora with minor facelift (painting n decals) n with a diff leather seats – smells like a last minute ‘brilliant idea’ …..Proton need to be better than this….

• learner on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:11 am

i just realize that, proton now want to make the black colored centre grill and bumper as one of the trademark. this have been widely applied by savvy outside there.

• Derick on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:20 am

It got tun mahathir autograph, that why the price RM91,998.00.

• elite on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:22 am

add more weight now can challenge naza ria’s reputation

• Faceless Void on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:12 pm

super duper yummy

• frossonice on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:17 pm

And what with the “mahal” and “why only 25 units” craps? Its a Limited Edition. You don’t sell a million unit to be called a limited edition. Limited Edition rarely cost cheaper than the normal vanilla flavored one.Grow up, will you.

• azamreeves on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:30 pm

proton should come with other model that can more luxurious like this, bigger n spacious like estima/alphard with price reach 100k. then it will sell

upgrading of current exora with heavy price tag will not attarct more seller but will kill the existing proton fan

• Toyota Drivers are idiots on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:46 pm

That’s a nice looking third world taxi.

• actually there is an organic design in the centre console of exora which u cant see in the pictures and rain sensor

• Just_Once on Jul 10, 2010 at 12:56 pm

Too many colour, the exterior pearl white, bumper black, interior roof white, dash board light haze, now seat brown. For you to love or hate.. So professional…

• libralcl on Jul 10, 2010 at 1:12 pm

Same engine? Or turbo charged?

• wira dash material is wayy higher and not environmentally friendly.
    u need base + coating + sponge + mount coating + pvc/vinyl .
    exora one is only 1 piece.

• @#$%^ on Jul 10, 2010 at 3:58 pm

Only for 6!

• youngbags on Jul 10, 2010 at 4:10 pm

I don’t give a rat ass what you ppl say but this car is shit fugly.no taste.put it to the world stage n they laugh in your face.

• akupunya on Jul 10, 2010 at 4:14 pm

mcm ni je ke mampu buat oleh Proton?
    spray cat hitam putih, tukar color seat.
    cam taik jer aku tgk seat tu.

mmg confirm staf Proton tk reti design n play color.
    semak aku tgk exora SE ni.

mazda 5, mazda 8 jugak cun.
    dah 25tahun, takat tu jer leh buat.

finishing exora and materials mmg sucks gila.

• learner on Jul 10, 2010 at 4:59 pm

kesian-kesian, nak gula-gula?

• Cucukman on Jul 10, 2010 at 5:20 pm

patut la Mazda 3 MPS dah lama takde..rupanya asyik tukar2 id.. nak promote Mazda la katakan..hehe

Anyway, Exora 25th Edition price still acceptable… with that accesories… Honda/Toyota MPV cannot get under RM95k….

But i’m waiting for Turbo Exora… can consider to take one later..

p/s: Dimana ada kemahuan, disitu ada highway..

• Lancermania on Jul 10, 2010 at 5:33 pm

thn u should go apply to proton R&D, thy ned EXPERT like u, who knw hw to bash thg saja. See if u are the one who involve in these project, can u do it beter??

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 10, 2010 at 7:04 pm

betul jugak tu.. memang staff proton tak tau buat kerja.. ko yang pandai, kan? pegi apply keja kat Proton… ohh no… ko punya Degree tinggi sangat, proton tak mampu nak bayar gaji ko demand tinggi sangat.. cepat pegi mintak kerja kat AMG, harumkan nama Malaysia !!

• Mr Bak on Jul 10, 2010 at 8:20 pm

U just pay below RM100K, u got this LE. If u don’t like, u pay RM150K and u get Stream/Wish. More u pay, more quality u get.

• akupunya on Jul 11, 2010 at 8:50 am

dah 25 tahun, bagi aku dah matang dah.
        sebab proton melalui ‘transfered tecnology’, bukan ‘pioneer’.
        bnyk ‘reverse engineering’.

kalau nk buat engine power boleh la kata susah, ambik masa.
        ni design pun sucks. tgk seat pun melebeh. ada ke seat color coklat, plastik color kelabu?? matching color pun failed. kalau nk tukar color seat atau nk tunjuk seat tu mewah, letak le color yg match. hitam pun mewah kalau desing cun.

satu lagi, design dashboard center macam design ABC. simple. keta continental, japan pun bukan ada function bnyk pun. tapi diroang susun button and design the dashboard nampak cantik. kenapa orang proton tk leh buat?

bila bash, suruh aku keja kat proton. mcm main bola. korang condemn player tk leh shoot goal, habis tu korang apsal tak pergi ganti dia main?? ayat cam ni ayat lapuk la.

ford fiesta or mazda 2 pun keta murah, tapi tk nampak ‘kemurahan’nya.
        keta2 lain harga mahal sebab kena cukai. bukan sebab kualiti.

bagi aku proton ni survive 25 tahun, tapi sama ja mcm comp china yang beru wujud 5 tahun lepas.

• waklanproton on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:41 pm

eleh……

• ExoraNice on Jul 10, 2010 at 4:49 pm

Proton has a BRAND new Showroom in Old Klang Road too – saw it today

• atleast better than livina & unser

• failed black on white effect…

• mkrafz on Jul 10, 2010 at 5:46 pm

this is what we called a ‘limited Edition…’
    not some crap colours scheme and with toyota trd wannbe seats?
    what happen with car engineers these days?

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 10, 2010 at 7:08 pm

you were right… what wrong with car engineer today? you should go and lead them how to make good cars these days !! and since Proton is so low in standard for your qualification, please apply the job at those 3 German car Manufacturer.. God bless and selamat harumkan nama Malaysia bro !!

• acerman on Jul 10, 2010 at 8:27 pm

There more female engineers than man engineers I suppose.

• OMG…. RM90K++ for something like this? assuming the interest rate is 4.1% and taking a 9 years loan, those 25 dudes should pay around RM1100 per month. OMG OMG paying that much for a fuel guzzler engine? those 25 buyers must be so damn rich. then after 3 years, the value drop to RM45K. ouch!!! good luck to those 25 rich dudes…… unless bank can give special loan period like 25 years loan for this “anniversary edition”. LOL

• MoooL on Jul 10, 2010 at 6:52 pm

No pics of the other two cars?

• Maserati on Jul 10, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Another one of those “limited edition ” rubbish that Proton has come up with.Why is it that Proton likes to come up with LE crap when none of their cars are actually doing well?

And to make matter worst,from the pictures it looks horrendous!

• chain on Jul 10, 2010 at 7:38 pm

the back is so awful…

• mehhh on Jul 10, 2010 at 8:46 pm

looks cheap…..despite all of the LCDs…

• pak turut on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:17 pm

Everytime Malaysian come out with the new idea people will bash like hell, if suddenly we found out that the same idea is being used by the other OEM, then we started to embrace the idea. This mentality will never make us a leader.
    Japanese people even a foolish new idea they will make it feel very proud.

• fasgen on Jul 11, 2010 at 8:48 am

org mesia wat pikir susah… jadi macam susah nak tgk sesuatu mengikut kaca mata positif. Exora ni guna OEM. apa pun warnanya ia OEM. yang pelik ramai plak orang mesia cari barang jepun, boh kt diaorang… dashbord 1 contoh.. padahal benda tu dah usang, berabuk kotor kat kedai potong…. mahal plak tu.. ada pon orang cari… jd tak de masalah utk proton utk buat seme ni.. lagi pun aku rasa yang banyak bash ni org yg pakai kete biasa jer.. tak hebat mana pun.. sebabnya kalu Paul buat cerita pasa kete mahal2 paling2 50 post jer… maknanya org tak minat sgt.. tapi kalau P1 n P2… nah kau berlambak2… he he

• Neutral on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:28 pm

MM some honest comment from me:
    1. Very big n weird hearest of driver!!!!
    2. Brown leather is not for mid and young ages customer.so maybe only oldies suitable to buy this car

good luck limited owners!

• korokoro on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:52 pm

hate that stupid striping :p

• did there any modification on the engine?

• shashi kumar@proton on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:23 pm

great idea from proton but too late, the competitor is going beyond. Got Lotus tech but using in minor change only what a shame. Exora limited edition should have egine 1.8cc or 2.0cc with dvvt tech and low fuel comp……Dont be JUARA KAMPUNG Proton

• dickybird on Jul 12, 2010 at 7:12 pm

juara kampung pun bukan, yg jaguh is P2. if not why still need govt protection to compete in malaysian market?
      bila product tak bermutu tak jual, blame malaysian ppl tak patriotik, tak sokong proton and kereta imports for taking away their periuk nasi. proton cermin diri dulu, stop hiding behind govt protection and improve yourself only then will you rise in malaysian eyes.

• Paul, hope can show also bout saga 25 n persona 25… tq in advance

• 1kereta on Jul 10, 2010 at 11:49 pm

yeah… that marks 25 years of failure, nothing worth collectible….yet!

• gen2lama on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:35 am

i got three already…….all proton…..smile always….cheap….can settle short loan period…smile again…..

• sayapdewa on Jul 11, 2010 at 2:19 am

hey dude, please prove that..what failure proton been made now? tell me..

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 11, 2010 at 3:30 pm

dont worry, nobody ask you to buy it also..

• raybrig on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:18 am

nice limited edition car..but the interior is ugly…something wrong with the center console design plus for me..they should change the leather seat color into black with red trim..at least continuous with the steering wheel trim where u can see the dominant of the black color..if thats happen..the interior will looks cool…

for the price..i think it is not a problem because it is a limited edition mpv…all the best

• Ha Gnih on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:57 am

Everything is limited for proton. I wonder if they ever think of something really brilliant than just another facelift ?

• reuben how on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:21 am

Hey guys!!! Drive a third world car at a 1st world car Oh My God, why not? RM 91888? In Australia, that will buy you a Camry Hybrid (after some discounting). I feel sorry for the 25 people that placed their downpayment.

Buy a third world car at a first world car ? Only from a country that claims its Truly Asia. Truly, a failed state. Only Iranians want to live here.

• reuben how on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:22 am

sorry i meant 1st world car price!!!!. for some reason the keyboard cancelled the keystrokes…

• Tiadaid on Jul 11, 2010 at 6:46 pm

After discount. That’s the key word. AFTER DISCOUNT. I always wonder why we can’t haggle for car price here. We always pay sticker price, whereas in some other countries you can get a car below the sticker price at one dealer, and have another dealer top that offer. Why are we paying sticker price for the cars?

• dickybird on Jul 12, 2010 at 7:15 pm

beli proton where got discount 1? u want buy, dont want belah! always been the proton way, some more their HP rate always high when compared to other makes.
        i got my livina 1.8L, got 3k discount and HP rate was onyl 2.8%!
        discount memang ada just not at proton.

• naiklg on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:22 am

well done proton for this 25th anniversary….

• naiklg on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:23 am

hi guy..

see this link for more information

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/25anniversary/

• PakAbu on Jul 11, 2010 at 6:53 pm

Why are they listing features that are NOT included? Why write a feature then put a ‘dash’?
      Just list the ones featured only lah :roll:

• Hmm…RM 92k versus the original High Line version at about RM75k.
    That is a premium of about RM 17,000.

I wonder if I get a HighLine version, and then change the leather seats myself, install the touch screen GPS, LCD monitor behind head rest….etc …will it be cheaper than RM17,000???

The differences are mostly cosmetic changes and one can probably do themselves outside.

Just my 2 cents

• danoneism on Jul 11, 2010 at 4:22 am

the extra cost is for the zebra lining… oppss.. is a tiger lining.. hahaha..

• crazyboutcrv on Jul 11, 2010 at 6:34 am

just to geattract buyers- those 25 are silly to buy this.like you said you can install it by yourself.no engine change,still underpowered.ikut ikut Perodua.the leather seats make it trying to be like Passat CC.Sheesh!Taruh 2 litre baru people will considerlah.

• PakAbu on Jul 11, 2010 at 7:43 am

Yeah. 17k is quite steep. :(
      But then I’ve of people paying much more for ‘special’ plate numbers.
      It takes all kinds, my man, it takes all kinds.

• learner on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:43 am

then, your will be the 26th of 25 limited edition?

• 47ronin on Jul 11, 2010 at 12:09 pm

well ery, if you dont mind, kindly specify the price for each item to do comparison against Exora LE.

BTW this spec is far far far much greater than the bloody idoit Honda Freed.
      Premium MPV Honda? Or simply Japs worshiper.

• then,urs is not the limited editiion wan…just copycat wan…huhu

• verygood on Jul 11, 2010 at 1:59 am

This is the kind of product we get when we support P1.
    Even crappy add-ons we say it is fantastic + applaud them.
    Is what we get after 25 years in the motoring industry?
    What is the point of producing cars when you can’t even
    get a right engine to match the heavy weight Exora.
    Turbo yes but the engine R&D is taking ages.
    That is why Exora loses to Alza – cos everyone is waiting
    and don’t wanna be stuck with an old engine.

• 25 units only, 17k price premium, only an accessorized model…WTF ingat Buggati ka? got classic value..sedih aku tgk proton ni, sedih lagi bila kena byr kereta mahal di m’sia..25 years of expensive cars so that proton can give us overpriced rubbish..

• http://www.proton-edar.com.my/25anniversary/

You guys already know about Exora price here… let’s check this~~~~~~~ :O

25th Anniversary edition:
    Proton Saga: RM54,500!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Proton Persona: RM69.500……………….

Crazy! :O

• nebula87 on Jul 11, 2010 at 4:19 am

guys, pay attention to the clip at 2:51, dat guy had a difficulties at opening the EMAS’s door..he uses 2 hand to open dat damn door…lol

• Ha Gnih on Jul 11, 2010 at 8:36 am

STILL looks like SHYTE !

• akupunya on Jul 11, 2010 at 8:52 am

25 years for proton is similar 5 years china automaker.
    So, who is the best?

• Tgk belakang ok tgk depan depan …. lemah lutut ambo. Tgk color seat rasa nak cabuutt lutut. Tak dok colour lain. Brown looks burukkk …..

• Chris on Jul 11, 2010 at 9:56 am

Look so Ah Beng!!!

• Izhar on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:04 am

proton have good ideas but the problem is the cost to build it…
    this LE exora was nice….but proton need to improve their finishing…
    engine???cause this is LE, suppose they need to install different engine…but of course need more cost…anyway congratulations to proton, trying to improve and make those positive and negative comments to make better car….

sometimes i tried to imagine if no half cut workshop in our country…….

• this limited exora running on the same engine as the normal exora?

• nyan46 on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:41 am

thought skirting just stick it with sellotape like sage se,after 6month you can find it at north- south highway.

• 92 ribu tanpa cukai import pasal proton negara punya,exora LE kalaulah import punya boleh cecah harga + – 130 ribu.bandingkan livina impul 1.8.waa duit kite,kita tentukan apa yang kite mahukan.pernah pakai gen 2,gua musang – grik menangis campro 1.6.

• Dude, the engraved metal plaque signed by Tun already worth the penny…

• farhat on Jul 11, 2010 at 3:16 pm

i dont think we are ready to see L.E. versions of Protons. Im not a proton basher but we have recently seen improved designs from the manufacturer but not improved quality and built, being 25 years in service and 25 years of getting bashed by anti-protonians..
    Fine, they think they have accomplished ‘super’ styling with the new Exora and Persona, but dont keep your hopes up right yet with these L.E. and priced way higher than what we can pay for a Proton.

Proton is still under the rocks, there are problems, lack of R&D, they are not making cars for our sake, nor for the nation’s sake, but they are doing this for an obvious thing which is money. I’ve lived in Germany for 6 years and i’ve seen how they improve quality after they know people are not satisfied with it. And now they succeed and they get praised.

As for the constant 1 Malaysia reminders, we do want to praise our Proton, but it seems that we are forced to love it thus Proton will continue making these cars at the same pace without improving. Plus, we Malaysians have to keep the national company in first place so the 60% or so of us can have a decently priced people carrier and not lure into buying Malaysia’s overpriced oversea competitors..

All i want is for Proton to limit its use of (what they call) R&D resource on making these pointless Limited Editions and focus on what is best for their customers, mentally, because Exora’s, Sagas, and Personas are still their top sellers until now, they should have no problem with with selling them, even their baseline models.

If they really want to improve on their sales, I recommend stop the L.E (for now) for their top sellers which are doing fine in terms of sales, and have the R&D do its job to re-targeting their Savvy audience, put it back in the spot light competing against the Myvi, now im fine with that where most of the car buyers now are the youth : New Facelift Savvy: Streamlined Hood, Dual SRS Airbags, Improved handling, New colour schemes as standard *at least*..

• learner on Jul 12, 2010 at 7:24 am

that’s their way of celebrating 25 years of existing. you talk too much about R&D, how much R&D to restyling the car? half of billion?

• farhat on Jul 12, 2010 at 7:14 pm

dude im taking about its better for them to restyle the savvy and sell them in mass rather than using up their resources on putting LCDs, Leather seats, leather trims on models that are already selling well enough for Proton. Even brainy Neo potential buyers turn to P2 because they know what they will get back with P2. Half a billion maybe to re-style the body, yea, but it will cost less if they just tune up the Savvy which should be big in our market against the Myvi.

25 years of production/service.. why not give proton buyers free check-ups, discounted spare parts and services, lower priced accessories, just like the swedish counterpart, Proton is no close to Mazda producing restyled Miatas for their anniversary.

• yay…. here we go again.. another great comment!…..

• lorsaa on Jul 11, 2010 at 4:28 pm

they should sell 2500units to all supporter in this forum.

• keith on Jul 11, 2010 at 4:33 pm

me wonders, in another 50 years from now, would it fetch a million ringgit or so? think about it – 25th anniversarylimited version…

• mr audi owner terigin nk pakai p1 on Jul 11, 2010 at 5:52 pm

this kind of design and quality? i bet paling bnyk leh jual pun 25units! haha..kesian

• chap_de_x on Jul 11, 2010 at 6:13 pm

When a car called limited edition it should be limited…and this car are specially made for special 25 buyer…buyer that dont have problem with money ….buyer that appreciate exclusivity…this car will sell….for example the neo lotus limited edition with 115K price tag it still sold out dont they….it not like perodua that make so called “limited edition” but nothing that i can consider as limited.Personally i like the seat colour…saw that kind colour scheme at BMW showroom….personally the dash colour not matched with the seat….should be a little bit darker….

• saki77 on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:08 pm

agree with you, if then ppl say who buy it stupid, at least they’re stupid with money…full stop..hehe..

• Neo Lotus tu dah habis jual ka bro?.. Macam tak pecaya je?.. Dulu orang bash macam nak mampus.. mahal lah, ah benglah itulah… inilah…

• Hup Holland Hup on Jul 11, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Limited Edition…..looks good… just for this 25 units..

• arroncyl on Jul 11, 2010 at 8:55 pm

Paul,
    Where is the another two version 25th Anniversary Edition Car, (Saga & Persona)??
    :)

• nak stream RSZ on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:28 pm

aduh… sit coklat…. ???tak jadi la beli… simpan lagi sikit la utk downpayment RSZ….
    kalau 92K , tambah skt bole angkat wish ..exora interest 4.1% bulan bulan sama je dengan pakai wish/stream… hadoiii!!!!

• autojohndoe on Jul 11, 2010 at 10:48 pm

So… beli la bro… no need to tell ppl what are you buying…

bcoz… no one care!

• Lihan Ding on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:59 pm

All of you really wanted Proton to get improve?…. Simple just chance the gov. Rise and Fall , Forward and backward, good or bad the proton was.. all because the gov. Then, wanna P1 chance, just chance the gov on next election.

p/s : Ini bukan hasutan tapi nasihat kepada mereka yang tak puas hati dengan proton.

• biggie on Jul 12, 2010 at 9:09 am

well try to read suara keadilan (or now keadilan) or harakah then you know by voting the other side will bring back Proton to year 0.

• dickybird on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:04 am

that remains to be seen. but under this govt until year 50 pun proton will remain a chekai carmaker.

• changing gov is not everything

• Haiya, 92k tuh skali ngan cukailah, tanpa cukai belh gi dalam 70k ajer. Memanglah xberapa boom sangat, tapi leather tu mahal beb, tengok depan mata baru nampak. oklah tu rega.3 LCD termasuk gps n reverse camera. kurang2 2k satu lcd, itu saja dah 6k. cat double coating. nappa leather, captain seats, memang mahal pada yg standard, rim 16 custome made, tayar 16, rain sensor, meter lain. oklah tu dalam 17k.

• my fren
      have you download for exora brochure?

• no need to download because already have many brochures including internal circulation that come with nearly 30 pages with full glorious colors and specs that is P n C :-). not only exora, i have sagablm’s, gen2’s, persona’s and neo’s also. it is the same, like in malaysia, some dealers offers lcd tvs, tinted and etc, but it is never from proton. it is the dealer initiative to increase sales. i have torque mag from singapore who did the shoot out between exora, rondo n suzuki apx, and u will be suprise with the outcome, it is exora reign as the new hero in kampung geylang n for the exora, it is the same as in malaysia n even u google try to search from thais website they do shoot out exora, freed, avanza, innova, it still the same car with same specs.(by the way, exora wins this shot out).

• gtmaniac on Jul 12, 2010 at 2:37 pm

MAT. – you are the proof that there are still people that talk sense. Agree with you.

At last! Leather steering & gear knob. Really wanted these 2 things.

Got my H-Line last week. Looking at this SE & it’s extras, I didn’t regret that I didn’t wait for it. Most of the accessories can be done outside, although it won’t be as exclusive.

• Tengokaje.. on Jul 12, 2010 at 12:53 pm

Nice effort P1. Happy 25th anivessary

Salam..

• cardreamer on Jul 12, 2010 at 1:37 pm

For how good it is, sorry to say the engine remain the same…sluggish at its most…unlike other brand, they’ll permit you to test drive the car for you to ‘feel’, but Proton is so reluctant to let you test drive their car, esp Exora for potential customer to ‘feel’…because they know people can feel something not to their expectation…for how good the price is, its is money that people are paying out…

I’ve been looking for MPV lately, been considerin a five year Recond or a new Exora. When i first test drive it when it was first launched, i already feel the ‘underpower; of its engine…put me off…since selling of my Citra…am start looking for a replacement…test drove RM100k plus recond and last few week went to a proton showroom at Shah Alam, ask the sale any test drive available, he simply say no…without any recommendation…piss me off, then the other next week went to other showroom in Jln Puchong, the same answer..no test unit..got to make apptment and wait for call…then i straight away go to Damansara so called Platinum 3S near IKEA…also been told no test drive..even the test drive car is there…then i walked out with my family and being helloed by a mak guard outside…telling her that i was refused a test drive…suddenly she walked in and the same person eventually came out and offered me a test drive…with sour hearted, i went for a ride..and finish…my kids asked me..”so soon finish arr?”…and with that test drive..sorry proton, you have good car but very sluggish engine!…quick proton..exora may be good for money but…i rather part my money to a better car even at higher price..

• dickybird on Jul 12, 2010 at 9:04 pm

bro, have you tried the Grand Livina? if it is not too small then it is a great ride for under 100k. where can you find an estate style car for that much money in msia? 1.8L engine is smooth and quiet and ride is plush. took mine up to camerons via simpang pulai and it was a good drive.

• fasgen on Jul 12, 2010 at 10:08 pm

sorry to say.. actuallay you dont know how to drive campro engine… you cant put gear only D always…

• Bevin on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:55 am

Better don’t know then to know becos after pushing it too hard………many problems will appear magically after the warranty period expire.

To be fair, auto car should leave it in D most of the time. The 3rd gear useful sometimes. Besides it is supposed to kick down, some cars even have grade logic.

• acerman on Jul 13, 2010 at 12:36 am

I am so sympathy with U. I’d been to ONLY ONE dealer and they offered me a new test drive unit without me saying yes of buying one. So pity…

• Sapa yang MINATdan ada duit lebih beli la. Only 25 units made. Not for the masses. For the masses who think this 25th edition are just like any other ah beng upgrades then go buy the HLine or even the base line version la. Why so kecoh?

• cardreamer on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:42 am

Yeah, ive test drove Livina, its a great car…like the engine and smooth feeling very much…but the interior space and seat arrangement, ie 3rd row cannot split is a down for me…my in law is using one too…

Yes i agreed Campro is unique in its drivability character..simply say it is an engine with its own character…but to me its character will only shines in a car that has its optimum power to weight ratio. I had commented before how good to drive a waja compared to vios or even city, all of which i had tested. Persona is the best for money car that we can but out there..and so for the new saga…which is far away better than the old saga…congrat to Proton for those cars…

But for Exora, the campro 1.6 has lost its character…lost of fun of it….don’t expect people to toggle around the gear to make it move, for it is an automatic!..unless u said it is an AMT version or shiftronic or what ever than it make sense…people expect smooth transition and adequate power to move it on from still….

One more thing, as onthers had commented, the dash design is so simple and not goodlooking. Why can’t they just copied the same design as savvy which is praised by many as ‘VW look alike’…though its hard plastic but it looks better and neat…

My suggestion for Proton is that, out source your engine for certain model to fit its usage and practicality…its is nothing wrong in it…others has been practicing it as well…

I am now considering taking up the Toyota ISIS selling by a grey importer…don’t really know how durable it is but after test drove, like the 1.8 VVTI engine and the interior is very good for me…but of course with my tight budget, Proton really put me down…

• jl@ipl on Jul 14, 2010 at 4:13 pm

100% Agree.

Saving my budget for Exora turbo. Wonder when it’ll launch?………

• jl@ipl on Jul 14, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Forgot to mentioned one thing.

I own wira 1.3 aeroback before. Bought in 2001. When to Kelantan, fully loaded via Pengkalan Hulu, Perak. Once halted by the crossing cows, took forever to climb back. 2003, trade in for LMSS. Less spacious by more power, more fun drive.

I yet to rest drive the Exora, base on reviews, I’m pretty sure the Exora behave very much like the wira 1.3……………….Correct me if I’am wrong.

• E Bear on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:06 pm

The Livina wasn’t that impressive.

I think the Exora will be fine if only with driver on board.

It is quite common for mid-sz sedan with 1.6 lit engine to suffer under acceleration, that is why the Exora Turbo is being planned.

Small turbos do give out more power but it is not easy to match it to a 4 spd gearbox and what type of power curve compromise to choose.

The torque could shred the gearbox, shorten it’s lifespan or jerk every time a gear changes.

And then there is a question of how much reliability and quality can be traded off for a lower price tag.

Better don’t rush then to end up with recalls and apologies later.

• RM92k to buy a 1.6l Malaysia-made MPV?! You gotto be kidding me… Only Malaysians are conned to buy that… sad :*(

• nak stream RSZ on Jul 13, 2010 at 11:50 pm

cardreamer… agree with u…

• RM 91K for 1.6 Exora ??? hahahhah !!! Proton always try to con Malaysians which they are doing for the last 25 years

• ayam kampung on Jul 15, 2010 at 12:14 am

katakanlah proton gagal sebelum 2020, apa rasanya akan terjadi kepada pekerja-pekerja proton, jurujual proton, vendor proton – jumlah kesemuanya mungkin sekali lingkungan 250,000 – 300,000 orang. Dimana hendak mereka kerja dan mencari pendapatan.
    Risau juga ya memikarkan hal ini…tetapi sampai bila harus sabar dengan kualiti yang kurang enak.
    Patriotik kerana proton adalah produk orang melayu satu hal, tapi duit yang habis lingkungan 50 peratus selepas memakai tidak sampai 2 tahun dan kurang keselesaan ketika memandu tak dapat di ganti balik.
    Kita harus menghadapi kenyataan.
    Proton seharusnya sudah boleh menjadi lebih besar dari KIA motors, tetapi oleh kerana isu kualiti yang tidak sudah-sudah, ianya hanyalah angan-angan mat jenin sahaja.
    Saya bukan ‘bashing’ ataupun ‘basher’ – tetapi kita harus membuat perubahan kepada Proton demi masa depan bangsa dan tun mahathir. Hidup Tun Mahathir ! Hidup Proton ! Hidup Melayu ! Hidup Perkasa ! 1 Malaysia !

• E Bear on Nov 03, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Proton has been fine for 25 years….with Petronas around, another 25 should be a piece of cake.

We just hope they will wake up some time soon.

Finally solved my LMST windscreen rain leak by plugging the side with polymer sealant behind the weather seals.

The side of the bumper loose after breaking some plastic bits in a minor kissing incident.

The lower grill also broken after parking it into a kerb.

P1 should consider improving and not being creative in cutting corners only.

• Steven on Jul 15, 2010 at 2:34 pm

The interior leather seat colour is SUCK. Why don’t the use cream colour? Just like the Prestige Model.

GPS should be on top of dashboard, u can’t see GPS on the screen below. Sure a lot of road accidents.

• protune? on Jul 25, 2010 at 9:46 am

RM91,998? ape la yg proton tmbh smpai jd harge mcm tu. tak berbaloi lngsung. upgrade sendiri lagi bgus. lcd screen nmpk murah tak berkualiti. pilih warna seat tak matching lngsung. nk muntah ak tgok. ak rse baek korg beli je model m-line and modify sendiri lg berbaloi. patutnye proton upgrade la size tayar besa sikit. kasi 17 ke! lampu led kt bumper ala2 audi. sunroof. bru la mahsyuk! kalo camni baek angkat kia citra rondo. lengkap! enjin plak mantap 2.0 litre. busuk nye proton. idea belambak, tapi mentaliti sama. dari gen2 tarik bontot jd persona, baek ko tarik engine v6 psg kat exora. kan mahsyuk!

• someone on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:26 pm

Dashboard still look cheap and is selling that expensive!!! They really think Malaysian are bunch of stupid idiot. Are we???

• Fat Bear on Nov 03, 2010 at 3:54 pm

It’s worth it!

Got Tun Mahatir signature Ok……if I am not wrong all these cars should be fully sold very quickly.

This is an economical way for P1 to celebrate their 25th in a humble way.

Whether it has a later collectors’ value I don’t know but the approved vendors and major dealers, directors, senior mgt staff should buy up all these stock as a sign of gratitude.

Maybe even some Govt depts too.

• mata katak on Nov 03, 2010 at 9:35 pm

After Mahathir signed, maybe proton should produce another 25 car with NAjib signature, another 25 units with Badawi signature……

Amacam? Baru best kan?

• Bevin on Nov 04, 2010 at 10:51 am

Value tak sama lah. Tun macam ori, founder, creator of Proton ada istimewa sikit.

Lagipun Pak Lah sudah pencen.

Datuk PM terlalu b z dgn ETP…dll…..chicken pox lagi…aisay……

• MORGAN on Jan 03, 2015 at 11:03 am

too late… i alreday buy Proton.. it still photocopy car!!!