Toyota Corolla Altis with Dual VVT-i launching soon!

UMW Toyota Motor’s website has been updated to include details on the impending arrival of the facelifted Toyota Corolla Altis. This mid-life update brings us a new top of the range model – the Corolla Altis 2.0V which is tentatively priced at RM131,990.00.

The new Corolla Altis 2.0V comes with a 2.0 litre Dual VVT-i 3ZR-FE engine producing 147 PS at 6,200rpm and 187Nm of torque at an earlier than usual 3,600rpm. This is mated to a Super CVT-i transmission with 7 virtual gear ratios, spanning from 2.396:1 to 0.428:1. Among safety features offered include VSC stability control and dual airbags.

It’s not just the 2.0V that gets the new Dual VVT-i engines – the entire product range has been updated with new engines, even the 1.6E model. All of the Corolla Altis engines now come from the ZR family and they all have Dual VVT-i. It’s not as advanced as Valvematic but still very nice when most of its competitors only have some kind of variable valve timing on the intake valve only, while Dual VVT-i is able to vary both the intake and exhaust valves.

The Altis with the 1.8 litre engine is available in two variants – the 1.8G at RM122,990 or the 1.8E at RM112,990. The RM10k difference between the two specs at first glance are only in terms of equipment and trim, but upon taking a closer look it looks like the 1.8G has VSC stability control while the 1.8E doesn’t.

Other than that, the powertrain is the same – the 1.8 litre 2ZR-FE engine makes 140 PS at 6,400rpm and 173Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. This engine also gets a Super CVT-i 7-speed gearbox. with a 2.386 to 0.411 gear ratio span.

The cheapest model is the Corolla Altis 1.6E at RM105,990 powered by the new Dual VVT-i 1.6 litre 1ZR-FE engine making 120 PS at 6,000rpm and 154Nm of torque at 5,200rpm. This model doesn’t get the Super CVT-i gearbox but makes do with a 4-speed Super ECT transmission. Dual airbags are also standard on this car as with all of the models above.

No word yet on Toyota’s site on when the new Corolla Altis will be launched, but we’ll surely update you soon! In the meanwhile, look after the jump for 2 TVCs we managed to source from the Thai market as well as some Thai market photos.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1445]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• finally dual vvt-i

• PutraRocker on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:49 am

hoyeahhh o_O

• VW fans on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:32 pm

now is the era of twin charged engine (turbocharged + supercharged) and dual clutch transmision…

• vwtoyota on Aug 29, 2010 at 4:53 pm

go and suck with the VW logo and you will turn blue with when you pay for the services and the lousy resell value…. by the way my friends car got tolled….. because the service centre did not change the “surpposely” changes oil… oil slug built up….

• vwtoyota on Aug 29, 2010 at 9:02 pm

….as referring to earlier … VW comments…..here is what ..I think VW live in Caveman age…he could not understand international demographic studies…. civic is not build for malaysia and it is a general car been sold worldwide. Civic is one of the best selling car in Australia and US, of course not counting in Japan. The reason is that the car design is to serve a purpose and meet daily requirment needs. It is not a car that is measured by income earner or stereotyping user / driver who they are.

I think you are entirely fail to understand the functions and form, that meets today economic status.

If you want to judge on car then might as well compare rolls royce and a yacht.

So if you drive VW means what? “Safe and Sound” ….no… it is a”People’s Car”
        “Das Auto”……you are part of the common drivers and paying premium price for a “People’s Car” .. sound funny isn’t … MR. VW.. hahahaha…. “Das Auto”

• Vgs turbo on Aug 27, 2010 at 2:30 pm

Sure fuel efficient… If comes with turbo or supercharger, sure more fuel efficient.

• ejan_ on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:09 am

hmm, high interest rate make me think twice to buy new/2nd car..

• _xXx_ on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:10 am

u can always buy in cash or dun buy. Do u know that many turned bankrupt because of long tenure, low/zero d/p but high interest?

• losaa on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:51 pm

i always thought if you can afford 100k car, you must be mature enough to think about financial stuff.

seems like i’ wrong :P

• ejan_ on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:15 pm

sure no promotion for altis.. 3.5%..

last 2 year we can buy Toyota product as low as 2.15% interest rate..

• abcde12345 on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:44 pm

my father bought this car last year..the interest rate was 1.99%..hahaha..

but when i drive between altis and civic..i prefer civic in every way..

fyi..altis become the best car seller for last year..i mean it..highest in the world..
            i dont know why..is it bcoz all the buyer are from the middle age or older..i dont think young generation would prefer this type of car..

• boyan_kepayang on Aug 29, 2010 at 2:15 am

Toyota Altis sold a lot globally as company fleet cars besides also as taxi. minority as private own.

• OpenMind on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:20 am

this is expensive and it is getting closer and closer to accord or camry 2.0E.

• Love Altis? NO? on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:08 pm

in that price rage i better that camry or accord 2.0E
      enjoys the pride..lol

• drMpower on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:27 am

this is quite refreshing. really.

i was very close choosing the 1.6 model 14 months ago, but finally opted for city because of youthfullness of the honda.

altis should be focusing on the middle/ senior executive level i.e normal people who has work for quite sometime yet they are young like in below or early 30 to below 40 band of age. last generation altis was awful to the max, the current generation with pointing curves and bodykits promises a lot but the interior is just… OLD.

now that it has much younger look centre console and paddle shifters and that sporty steering wheel, i pretty sure this facelifted altis would be finding new homes very soon

the similar rival civic won this segment fight almost effortlessly. forget about the 2.0 forte or 2.0 mazda. they just dont stand a chance upon mighty civic~

• What is so mighty about it? Forte and the Mazda 3 are so much better in every way. Loaded with more toys than civic. So what so mighty eh? So far the design which is still fresh and good SC which makes it still sellable. i think the mighty in this segment is Mazda 3. Drive it and you will know which is mighty.

• drMpower on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:08 pm

well, from sales point of view, it is the civic. of course driving preference is very personal. however, if the sales of civic is much more than the mazda, then it can be concluded that there are many people like the civic more than the mazda. many of them have preference to civic rather than the mazda.

the physical dimension also doesnt help the case where the civic is bigger than the mazda. as for the price, of course forte is the mightiest of them three ;D

again, i am stressing that driving experience/ preference is personal and you are right about ‘drive it and you will know which is mighty’. it just my preference is the civic. thats all ;D

• linear_system on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:19 pm

but i think if mazda3 and kia forte are honda, im sure the sales of civic wont be as mighty as it is now..its just the brand that make it sales strong..

• ejan_ on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:23 pm

from sales point of view, local P win!
          high sales figure just show many follower but can’t guarantee best in class..

• civic_Noob on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:58 pm

howerver, again, if the sales of persona is much more than the civic, then it can also be concluded that there are many people like the persona than the mazda?? I am very confused now pleaseeeeeee help me decide a civic or persona.

• KCivic on Aug 27, 2010 at 3:56 pm

you simply cannot compare civic to persona. its like comparing Paris to Bukit Tinggi.

• come on, don’t think that your civic is the standard of Paris ok, it is still very far away…. the most is Genting Highland lah… you thought that your CIVIC is like Aston Marton meh?

• DiscoStick on Aug 27, 2010 at 2:13 am

it is not mighty, it is just sheer and shallow decision the public tend to make. They just blindly follow what the others opt for. My experience was: “do u know he drive a Honda?” and “wah, vios leh he drives”. sadly it happens in johor. Brainless followers are everywhere.

• Love Altis? NO? on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:10 pm

Madza ok la..
        Forte forget it la..

• c14man on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:09 pm

because most malaysian who can afford 100k cars in this generation are in the age group of 30-40’s.
        naturally, they are attracted to simple, functional, comfortable cars.
        it’s just that easy.
        toyota did their homework before designing.
        those younger generation who get subsidy from their parents can buy something younger at that price range…

• wuttaheck on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:00 pm

mighty civic? pfffttt (credit to peyno). have you actually seen the Forte & Mazda 3?

typical die hard honda fan…i hope you drive a honda

• boyan_kepayang on Aug 29, 2010 at 2:22 am

glorious japs’ car already bygone era. koreans’ car same fate soon.
        fad now is Polo & Fiesta

• BadBET on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:47 pm

mighty civic? wah one day honda civic can be like meggi and panadol, people don’t say car but civic. how ‘mighty’ honda civic at japan? anybody? or it is just malaysian worship the brand like this.
      civic is a good car, but please don’t look down other brand. Everything man created must have the -ve side too.

• handsome*Dude on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:46 pm

308THP out run this ALtis 2.0 in everyway~ only drawback is without a boot~~

• jab strong fierce! on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:37 am

oh hey civic, eat your heart out! can’t beat the best selling world’s nameplate, don’t you? =P

*no pun intended

• Andrew on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:07 pm

There’s a market for everything.

Most people consider car only as a transportation method – and they will probably choose a Corolla. Those who enjoys driving will not.

It’s really that simple.

• malaysia memang boleh on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:49 am

The ugliness is still there.No doubt

• DonkeyKong on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:23 am

Maybe even the ugliness has been amplified. The dugong forehead is more prominent than ever, and they had to add disproportionate foglamps to the mix. No doubt it’s a comfortable vehicle, but the price is simply too high for its segment. Fortunately Toyota has stopped ripping people off with an antiquated engine and a 4-speed transmission, and is finally outfitting the Altis with up-to-date engine and transmission options.

• _xXx_ on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:13 am

if this is ugly wat do you call juara/blm?

• autojohndoe on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:09 pm

juara = suzuki apv

saga = subaru…haha… how many ppl change they front to subaru?

• BadBET on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:55 pm

not much, usually people just let it in standard condition. Just some bunch of subaru wannabee change their front. same goes to waja, wira or perdana, most user not even bother to change the sport rim. Most car we see everyday is in stock condition.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Juara = The ugliest car around. Convert it to a sedan and round up the features, and you’ll get a Vios dugong.

Saga = decent looking car, youthful though conservative. Looks almost identical to Aveo Lux.

• I would call juara/blm and even emas; ABOMINATIONS. Haha.

• Those who just bought their altis sure will regret for not getting this new altis…

• DonkeyKong on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:24 am

Toyota buyers never ever regret their purchases because they worship Toyota unconditionally. Otherwise how can you explain the fact that the ugly Vios dugong still sells hell a lot better than the City, Forte and other cars?

• alpha999 on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:41 am

toyota will never be forgotten for achieving something great in the past

• Kicap on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:36 am

You should drive all of them and you will know why vios is championing in this category…(put aside the fascia)

• Type F on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:47 pm

Stop talking about Vios.
        She’s totally out of the league.
        Really hate that ugly dugong looks.

• Kicap on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:34 pm

I can stop talking about vios, but the latest chart shows that it still the best seller. Yes, many hate the dugong looks but the handling, engine and fuel consumption made it on the top of it class. Period. Sorry to say.

• cyberspace on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:28 pm

out of the league..cant u read and understand..go to other forum discussing vios..

• linear_system on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:15 pm

handlind???im sure ppl will support me if i say that proton is better in term of handling.vios cannot even beat saga..engine,yes i agree with u that it is reliable…fuel consumption, well i’m not sure about this..

• PakAbu on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:07 pm

I don’t think Toyotas are famous for good HANDLING. Ride comfort, yes.

Considering that our roads come with free potholes and uneven surface, most people notice ride comfort more than handling. After all if you’re stuck hours and hours in traffic jams, moving inches by inches, who’ll notice ‘handling’? Comfortable seats, good insulation, cool air-con, quiet engine, nice sound system, light steering wheel, light brake pedal, responsive auto transmission,……. those are the things that people notice.

If you drive up to Genting, Cameron highland or some other rural roads, then you’ll want good handling. But how many times in a year you do that. Most of the time, city driving…. hours and hours, day and night… T_T

• kamal on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:14 pm

i know vios ride, sorry to say not comfort enough when do long journey, saga is better

• abcde12345 on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:47 pm

r u sure vios is the best seller?
            dont simply make a fact

• YeapyEvo on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:55 am

Handling for vios? Are u sure? May be u dun know what is the meaning for handling? Floaty and unstable on corner are definitely not “handling “

• cybermaster98 on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:54 am

linear_system says:
            26/8/2010 at 3:15 pm
            handlind???im sure ppl will support me if i say that proton is better in term of handling.vios cannot even beat saga..engine,yes i agree with u that it is reliable…fuel consumption, well i’m not sure about this..

Try finding another car of a similar category which can give you about 13.5km/L in 100% city driving or 15.4km/L for 100% highway driving. So far i think only the City iDSI has better fuel consumption.

• vios is a good wife
            city is a pretty wife
            forte is a hot lover

• Even Toyota’s older model say the 1980’s model Corolla etc. are more reliable and better fuel consumption then the new Protong.

• _xXx_ on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:15 am

u want something that never change, buy the P brand, sorry not Porsche…hehe

• stephen on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:45 am

yes the P brand….I dump vios for a P….. no regret.

• _xXx_ on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:17 am

oh yeah, not now but later

• losaa on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:55 pm

he will get no girls, and no frens.

how can you marry someone that does a downgrade? and how can you make fren with someone that has no taste? lol

• _xXx_ on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:53 pm

haha, I meant PEUGEOT. Can I have thumb-ups now???

• nabill on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:53 am

the spec numbers is lower than competition , seems dual vvti is primarily aimed for cleaner engine and reduced fuel consumption rather than outright power….even cps 1.6 beats it for power , though has a less torque (150 compare to 154nm)…

• reply on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:17 am

i dont think 1.6cps can beat the altis in terms of power….once u drive this dual vvti car u will know the power is totally different….

• are u currently using dual vvti engine or u just talk…

• lkf0512 on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:57 am

I guess the figure doesn’t show much other than just a bunch of numbers unless you test drive it yourself…let it be 1.6cps or 1.6 Dual VVT-i…go test drive

But I guess my vote is for 1.6 Dual VVT-i…

• suluk on Aug 29, 2010 at 2:44 am

Toyota 1.6 Dual VVT-i
          = mediocre performace + good fuel economy + average low emission.

Proton 1.6 CPS
          = mild performance + average fuel economy + mediocre low emission.

PSA/BMW 1.6 Prince
          = good performance + good fuel economy + good low emission.

• r u sure on that???it has 154nm but at 5200 rpm while cps has 150 at 4500 rpm. Dont be blind by the japanese. look at the dyno graph of 1.6 engine, even it has a slight torque dip around 2500 rpm. by looking at the graph, around 2000rpm it only achieve 120nm while cps 130nm and iafm 127nm, meanwhile at 3000rpm it achieve around 135-138nm while cps n iafm achieve 138nm.

so based on that figure, do u think, which one is better???
        the only think make u feel it faster because it is lighter. the g spec weight 1230kg n e spec 1225. do you know that persona elegance h-line already weight 1245kg?

so dont belittle our own country men

• rossi46 on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:45 am

thats why in modern/civilised places like europe…ppl buy diesel…torque and environmentally friendly engine

• Kicap on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:43 am

MAT, you r right on the graph…but dont forget the new 7speed gear. I believed the gear will bring the altis much much faster forward than the old GB in proton!

• speed on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:19 pm

agree

• hvannees on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:44 pm

{{The cheapest model is the Corolla Altis 1.6E at RM105,990 powered by the new Dual VVT-i 1.6 liter 1ZR-FE engine making 120 PS at 6,000rpm and 154Nm of torque at 5,200rpm. This model doesn’t get the Super CVT-i gearbox but makes do with a 4-speed Super ECT transmission}}

corolla altis 1.6 4 speed only la lol!

• 1.6 model come with auto 4 speed gearbox dude, please read carefully. btw,dun worry, in the near future proton also will use cvt replacing its 4at

• redwings on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:38 pm

Many same segment also 4-speeders..
            Mazda3 1.6, Forte 1.6 & 2.0, Peugeot 308

• Philippines SWAT sucks on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:40 pm

CVT 7 speed?! Reminds me of the gearbox problem from the previous City. Almost similar ma since got 7 virtual ratios.

• Type F on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:54 pm

MAT. your r the man!!
          Lower price CPS but comparable power with Dual VVti.
          I can say in terms of FC, corolla win just a bit only =P

• cybermaster98 on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:03 am

Type F says:
            26/8/2010 at 12:54 pm
            MAT. your r the man!!
            Lower price CPS but comparable power with Dual VVti.
            I can say in terms of FC, corolla win just a bit only =P

Fuel consumption Toyota win just a bit only? Whats your defination of ‘a bit’? Try getting me a mid range Proton model that can give you between 13.5km – 15km/L consumption for 100% city and 100% highway driving. Most of us started with a Proton and i havent heard anybody saying that a Wira, Waja, Gen2 or Persona has good fuel consumption.

• Velocity depends on engine power + gear ration + weight. I believe cps can beat or equally as good as 1.6 vvti in term of power acceleration… and for sure G2 cps smokes vios anytime.

• kamal on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:22 pm

if not because of speed g2 cps will win because the vios driver doesn’t dare to past corners fast

• cybermaster98 on Aug 27, 2010 at 11:19 am

ZAd says:
            26/8/2010 at 2:08 pm
            Velocity depends on engine power + gear ration + weight. I believe cps can beat or equally as good as 1.6 vvti in term of power acceleration… and for sure G2 cps smokes vios anytime.

The Vios 0-100kmph acceleration will beat the CPS anytime. Vios power to weight ratio is more than the CPS irregardless of the gear ratio. The earlier model Vios had a factory tested 0-100kmph acceleration of 9.8secs. The only car in the Proton range which could beat that was the Satria GTI and the Putra at that time.

• obviously the milo tin dugong is faster since it is around 200kg lighter than the gen2

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:01 pm

lol! comparing persona with altis. Different category altogether la bro. If proton is that good why are they still getting protection from the G? And don’t get me started with the R&D fund.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:26 am

The 1.8 engine’s output is quite respectable though. 5 years ago, most 2-litre engines are putting out less than that! Even compared to engines to today, this 140hp 1.8-litre engine has enough output to trade blows with many 2-litre units, being just a few horses short.

• rossi46 on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:43 am

HP is irrelevant for daily usage…its torque that matters

• Thomanic on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:58 am

but alot people DUN realized…..

HP is what you see on paper…..Torque is what you FELT….

• Mur7hy on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:31 am

dude.. dont even bother talkin about CPS… lol…

• theanswer on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:27 am

cps can beat honda b engine u know..lol~

• Cowabunga! on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:07 pm

yup CPS can also smoke 4G63 , SR16 and 4A-GE…wow!!!…
          I hope he sticks to CPS forever.

• seriosly, yes CPS can do it, I’ve smoked B16A EK9 in my Neo. I love my CPS.

• RE:Cowabunga! no doubt…..they can only afford CPS…..even if u compare Evo x with CPS…still CPS win…..they will never face the truth

• Malaysia version come with smoke tail lamp is pretty sweet, CVT-i come with only 4 speed the purpose is for ” Malaysian daddy to realize how fun it was so can but something with more speed for their son or the another way round” ^^ and no more ECT overall 8/10 for very smooth ride, quiet, and comfortable … although the power is low but the aerodynamic is there this car will go kinda quick as well …

as for civic new model coming Is going to be more weird than this “not to criticize civic” but come on, only youngster with spiky hair will go for this.. toyota is kind therefore this car is made specially for 30’s with average income .. if all brand come out sporty car imagine 30’s with civic and clash with a youngster with civic installed led LOL ..

overall good car although is the same segment but target market is different in my point of view ^^

• kacangman on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:33 pm

Average owner? Dude, with the average income per capita of RM100k price does sounds more like a luxury car. Go figure how much newly graduated employee earns. <RM1.5K!

Then I shall say Kelisa is the average car to own. Off course I'm talking about average here..

• well…Corolla is an ‘average’ car in other countries tho..some even became taxies ! haha

• vwtoyota on Aug 29, 2010 at 9:00 pm

I think VW live in Caveman age…he could not understand international demographic studies…. civic is not build for malaysia and it is a general car been sold worldwide. Civic is one of the best selling car in Australia and US, of course not counting in Japan. The reason is that the car design is to serve a purpose and meet daily requirment needs. It is not a car that is measured by income earner or stereotyping user / driver who they are.

I think you are entirely fail to understand the functions and form, that meets today economic status.

If you want to judge on car then might as well compare rolls royce and a yacht.

So if you drive VW means what? “Safe and Sound” ….no… it is a”People’s Car”
      “Das Auto”……you are part of the common drivers and paying premium price for a “People’s Car” .. sound funny isn’t … MR. VW.. hahahaha…. “Das Auto”

• what are the civic fd headlamps doing here?

• Samuel Schick on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:10 am

still with torsion beam ? why can’t they use independent suspension for that price.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:29 am

Err.. because this car isn’t targeted at boy racers who believe that all corners should be taken at no less than 100km/h? Although these Toyota cars are still targeted at chinamen and ah bengs, the Altis and Camry have never been known for their handling and acceleration prowess

• littlefire on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:05 am

Car with torsion beam have their advantage also.. More bigger space for the rear passenger and storage in the boot. Altis is not made for sport car, it is made as an passenger car.. Even Saga also using torsion beam…

• yup but saga is in different segment :-) and one more thing, if torsion beam cannot be made to sports car, why honda type r (euro spec fn) and renault use them for their sport cars??? make me wondering, if japanese always can,right mr little fire, but malaysian always cant and get bashed. if i not mistaken(sorry if i wrong), u also ask the same question when exora come with torsion beam :-)…

• littlefire on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:27 pm

Are u sure? I think i am the one that explain the use of torsion beam in the exora link. As P1 claim that exora got great handling by lotus, i just wonder how to tune both sporty & comfort into a big mpv like exora? You cant get both world in 1..

Those sport car torsion beam are also not normal type also, see thier torsion beam got added Z-type Anti-roll bar and also different sport absorber to couter the swing action coz by torsion beam. Anyway, torsion beam if tune or modifed can also go offroad also. See the old VW beetle and u will know.. But still, sport tune torsion beam will be more stiffer and not comfortable. So in the end, i can say each suspension system got their con & pro. Just for Altis, the big space for rear passenger & boot is the reason for torsion beam..

• autojohndoe on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:17 pm

have you ride on exora? they got both…

• is the same thing what i said before, dont belittle our own product and of course lotus. how about evora, its handle like sports car but it is comfort as a daily car.

if u dont ever drive exora at least for 300km, dont comment on that, even journalists from thailand and indonesia praise the set up, not only better than other mpv, but better than some other sedan in the market, and also as comfort as others. even they mention new honda stream(independant set up) run out of money if u want to go head to head with exora in term of ride and handling.

about torsion beam, yes u can use thicker anti roll bar but it still call torsion beam, the same case as independant, they are lots of type of independant set up but they still call independant, they still can use thicker anti roll bar also. not only that, even the bump steer also differ, the bushes and many things. even u use independant or torsion beam, in the end, it still depend on who tuning it.dont believe jeremy clarkson, he even mentioned myvi ride and handlling better than neo,gen2 and savvy. can u believe that, even the fifth gear team. if they mentioned myvi that easily to losing it rear end, goyang macam sampan is good, so how can u believe that???they are bias towards us. In australia, they wrote persona handling can easily mach vw golf gti handling.

so my countrymen, if foreigners praise our own product but we bashed them, i think we malaysian still under invasion. this kind of people sold their own country to others and look what happened to iraq nowadays….even saddam is dead, there is no peace overthere because most of them are the people who sold their own countrymen and country

• and no need to wonder how to tune torsion beam for comfort and sporty becoz it is lotus job, not urs. the have shark n raven. thay have efficient dnamic ride and handling programme. just wonder, who u r questioning lotus wether they can tune it better than others. even lotus can tune mercedes amg slk black edtition, last year dubbed as the best amg ever, but beaten buy lotus engineer when they re sat up and tuning back this merc and walaa, it is better than the original without even change anything, just tuning.

even in this world, i believe that the only car that has variable traction control, it is around 30 settings to play around, it is lotus 2 eleven. even the most expensive rides or even ferrari dont have that. so if even amg and even ferrari solute lotus(in ride and handling), who are u to question that???

but never heard any european sports cars submit to any japanese cars. yes, they have good cars, but they never been on par with the conti even today..

• i not stating that proton is far superior than the japanese counterparts, it just i hate when malaysian belittle our own product by stating it without facts, just used their blind judgement. I the one who recommend my sister to buy vios(1st batch) after selling her wira, even she eyed for waja during that time. after a while, learning about proton, see how they grow, how they evolve from craps to a better one, we shud give credit where its due.

the most important part is support our own products. blood is thicker than water. that is what japanese and koreans did previously and they succeed, look at toyota, honda, hyundai n kia nowadays. if not because of the support from their own kind, they would not succeed/

• Someone on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:59 pm

@ MAT.

I understanf=d your stand perfectly. No one should belittle their own countrymen and national companies(at least, not too much)

But the problem is, how come when someone comments that a japanese car has a certain better feature than a national car, they get thumbed down and slammed like crazy, and no one calls that bashing? There are really many national car fans here actually, more than those supporting other brands, yet most act as if the foreign-car-supporters are the bashers and idiots.

• @someone, it was they simply because the way they made the comparison. how can u said bad things to proton when using torsion beam but when toyota used it, it is ok and commendable. so, it not wrong to praise foreign product as if u read my comments, i mentioned that toyota is a good car and have a good engine. i just hate when someone talk for example, toyota engine is 25 years modern n better than proton which is not. i do my homework first before i comment. i admire, honda, hyundai, kia n toyota, not to mentioned conti cars, but never i make comparison in insulting way to our own product. that mind set did tarnish proton before as we always listen the word “biasalah bang, kete malaysia” from proton foreman. it simply becoz of this mindset.
            to be success, we need to take things seriously, this is what proton been doing now.
            trust me, even proton comeout with 1.6 cfe turbo engine, with lots of power n torque compare to 1.6 dual vvti n even valvetronic, they will always say that toyota engine is better than proton. even if exora now been the best selling mpv in thailand, even beating toyota(i know it is not a big figure, but it shows that we even slam toyotas mpv over there), this kind of people will say that toyota is the best.
            lets look for next year shall we to see whether the bashers can accept proton is better than toyota.

• anonymoud on Jan 07, 2014 at 7:11 pm

F1 Cars and GT300/GT500 race cars should use rear torsion beam instead rear independent suspension systems if torsion are really so good.

• MoFaz on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:21 am

haiyoo.. comparing Saga to this Altis? how much is Saga, how much is Altis?
        even Waja is using multilink suspensions.

• kamal on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:32 pm

i saw a woman driving exora very fast in a city, yes a woman, so the probabilities are either the woman herself is an ah beng or the exora handling is very good

• dickybird on Aug 27, 2010 at 7:08 pm

she is an Ah Lian and her boyfriend, Ah Beng is paying for the petrol so she step on it only lah! LOL!

• TKLow on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:29 am

Board says cannot, the profit margin will drop from 40% to 35% la..

• theanswer on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:28 am

ask that to renault engineer..renault still use torsion beam for it performance car such as clio rs and megane R.

• 132k is freeeeaking expensive for dis car…

accord 2.0 is only 141k

bloodsucking UMW !!

• Johnny on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:39 pm

actually the price is reasonable provided they give all the goodies as in the pics.

• Philip J. Fry on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Isn’t the 2.0 Civic about 130k?

• Don’t envy accord at 141K and don’t underestimate same cc car with the price tag of 132K, the different is not only the space. Anyway,I own an accord, now mixed feeling…

• nebula87 on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:08 am

Finally this new toyota altis can replace my ex-beloved mitsubishi lancer…XD

• GreenEco on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:39 am

On the launch event, there was Altis drift show by Masaki Nishihara, a Gymkhana world champion (white Altis), and a Thai from TRD Team (black Altis). They drifed to harmonize dance performance on the stage on the WET SURFACE which I will never dare to try!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u_hkXExFO4o

• nolan on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:30 am

nice…but pricey

• peanuts on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:13 am

How about Camry? They should have implement this to Camry as well (since it sells like hot cakes).

• Redwings on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:08 pm

This maybe next… Seem like T sucks blood more, used to be 1 facelift and changed to all new model, but now, altis is in second facelift with bigger engine n dual vvti.. Next will be camry n soon vios.. Kekeke

• elite on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:05 am

Dual VVT-i is how many generations above Lotus Campro?

• dual vvti can be considered as old engine dude, the newest one is valvematic. nevertheless, it still a good engine. why need belittle our own product???cps is as good as 1.6 dual vvti, check my comment above n check the dyno chart of 1.6 dual vvti n cps n even iafm. u will know how good we are. left alone single vvti in old altis. it is all becoz u already set ur mind set that japan engine must be powerful and far superior than ours but the dyno chart said not.

• MoFaz on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:34 am

he or she is not elite, but ‘stoooopid’ la.. you can go back and see his/her past comments in various other post… talking crap like he/she knows everything but he/she have no idea at all. otherwise known as bashers.

• engine expert on Aug 28, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Hi elite

Toyota VVTi is 3.5 generation ahead of Campro. Campro need another 28 years to catch up.

• Plus 28 years of catching up and another 25 years of protection.

• littlefire on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:39 pm

You just see the dyno chart, but did not see the overall..

1. Fuel consuption

2. Maintanence

3. Spare part availability

4. Durability

5. Quietness & Comfort

6. Gearbox

By comparing CPS engine, maybe CPS engine win in the dyno chart but the most important thing of owner having a car is aftersales service. Toyota engine 1 thing that last until now is the durability and easiness of getting spare part. Besides that, they are more quiet & comfort built. By the way, you will need to compare to torque curve of both car, as to get a better FC. The higher & faster torque can get at low rpm is better, just like those diesel engine which can give u very good FC.

1 more last thing, since u r one of those P1 supporter which always mention that P1 can do better. Why not open up our market like Thailand and fight competitively interm of pricing & performance. We as consumer will be even happier! Since Proton can do so good in Thai market already! :P

• MoFaz on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:55 pm

the initial argument is only about VVT-i vs CPS… that’s why we refer to dyno chart. haiyaa.. lu suka lari topik laaaa..

• DonkeyKong on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:23 pm

Campro block and head itself is quite robust, but currently let down by the 4-speed Mitsubishi auto gearbox. Wait till Proton start putting in Getrag manual and ZF auto gearboxes later this year or early next year, then we might see better improvements.

IAFM’s and CPS’ torque curve is pretty good, but the 4-speed auto isn’t doing much with it. Furthermore, with a decent torque output, that gear ratios in the 4-speed box is still a bit short. With that sort of torque output it should be able to cruise at 110km/h at 2400 or 2500 rpm, but the 4-speed auto box make the car do it at over 3000 rpm. With a 5- or 6-speed ZF auto box, maybe we can see taller top-end ratios that can help lower the rpm at highway speeds which will directly improve fuel consumption as well

• i think for gen2 n waja cps it is 2700rpm at 110kmh. it is kia gema engine dual cvvt(it is the same as dual vvti) at 3000rpm 110kmh

• ha..ha..now about open market, as i mentioned, if opened, proton also without tax, so persona elegance h-line 30k versus vios 60k, so which one u buy???it is the same scenario, but u must remember, we cannot abbolish the tax since it is our country income, dont u understand on that???

• dyno chart is done in the best engine condition, best air/room temp condition, n etc…it dosen show anything….just drive it then u know…

the normal vvti got many variable in driving condition…let alone the dual vvti…there will be a lot more variable to suit the driving condition…

cps r just plain static transition from one process to another…

just drive it….to know the feel

• its not many variable, just two(even if its name variable the same as variable intake system or variable camprofile system). it is whether advance or retard setting of the degree o the camshaft itself. we also can do that manually by using adjustable cam gear.

it is still dual process. thats all. so what do u think? dont be fooled by the word variable, even cps has one, it is known as VIM(VARIABLE intake/induction system)if u ask. but it just changes between TWO runners, one is short, one is long.i know about vvti becoz my sister own one and previously always drive her car, even taught her how to drive auto car. but after driving gen2 cps,i know the different. have u ever driven both head to head to make comparison???

• the early vvt got many “variable driving condition” . the timing is advance during cold start. During going uphill or with load, the timing is advance to increase power. n it can be advance at almost any rev range from 1k-5/6k rpm. or it can be advance by simply flooring it. with such a small thing at the cam pulley, it increase the torque/hp across the rev range

n with dual vvti, it make everything times 2, retard/advance, retard/retard, advance/retard, advance/advance apply to above condition.

i say cps is just plain transition from one process to another cause high cam n vim only happen at certain rpm. with the simple vvti, it can bring the power much more earlier in low rpm which much better in real world driving.

n i own a satria mivec n civic 2.0s, there is vios,latio n hilux in my family which i drive alot. i driven a ek9(belong to my boss which i borrow for a whole week) n a close fren 20valve black top(LE)

im bragging, i’ve just driven them…

• cps is like stuck in the 90s mindset where honda,mitsu,nissan, etc. each of them came with high lift cam idea like the sr26vvl, b-vtec, mivec, etc.

almost every manufacturer is fitting the a vvt pulley to every model nowdays, cheap n effective.

• sorry
            im not bragging, i’ve just driven them

• by the way, 1.6 dual vvti 120ps, so it means in bhp it is 118hp. the same as honda city 1.5 vtec engine output.

• and one more thing, it means, toyota alsp cheat us by giving big numbers and showing an impressive dyno charts,,ha…ha…

• @KKK
          if u think vvL is stuck in the nineties, why toyota used it back in the valvematic engine, the newest one after vvti.
          i must mentioned that vvti is good, but cps is not bad either. even porshe from variocam change to variocam plus by adding cps(by the way, cps named patent by lotus engineering).
          the only problem for vvL is emmision control, even honda still using vtec, so it means that they are 90s engines right.

so, it doesnt mean proton only live in the 90s, toyota with their new 90s engine valvematic and honda 90s vtec engine, so all of them are old engine.

satria mivec is not cps.i also had driven the cars that u mentioned, i know the different, but that is during 90s. but now we r talking about vvti or dual vvti with cps that under euro 4 emmisions control. even the old altis just commit to euro3 emmision, even using the same engine as it predecessor, but because of euro 3, the power has to lowered down, thats why now they change to dual vvti, if not, the old one will have really2 lower power becoz of euro 4.

u also mentioned, retard/advance, retard/retard…etc, it is still retard and advance right, dual process. it is not retard/ advance/lift.
          so u want to know how cps&vim work. so lets compare, low lift/long runner,
          high lift/long runner, high lift/ short runner. so in cps, we have low lift, high lift, long runner, short runner.

u must remember, cps engine has 2 technology cps and vim. even both on intake, it doesnt matter, the most important part is power output.

even when proton released the new engine with direct injection, turbo, vvt(even bmw n vw, recently they mnage to combine vvt n turbo together in harmony)vim, u still said that toyota is better right becoz they have the 90s valvematic engine :-)
          even ferrari doesnt use vvt, so does it make their engine outdated??? nope, it doesnt matter, the most important part is power.

by the way, toyota dual vvti is a good engine, but cps is not far behind. why dont u try to transplant cps into vios n see how it perform. i need to remind u that vios kerb weight only 1050 kg while gen2 cps is 1245kg, that is 200kg more or 3@4 average adult weight. i drive vios full load with 5 people like driving gen2 cps with drivers only. do why not try to drag vios full load with gen2 with only driver. so which engine is better???
          it is not the engine hampered proton cars performance, it is the weight. even DSZ acknowledge that when launching exora. the engine is good, just the weight is too much. vios weight is the same as saga blm weight only.

for me, not only drive japanese cars, also had the opportunity drive koreans and conti cars, so i know the different. just put perspective 1.6 vs 1.6 only.

dry this altis 1.6 first, try to compare to vios performance(which suppose to be better in term of power to weght ratio)

• Rhys Millen on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:05 am

Only now then they introduce Dual VVTi ???? a little slow compared to Hyundai isn’t it ????

• wallstreet on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:09 am

an uncle, now trying not to look so uncle……

• Chilavert on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:31 am

overpriced !!

• sonyman on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:34 am

are we confirming getting the one we see upstairs.? cause it looks too promising,

• azrai on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:45 am

Uncle Chong’s car with skirting. in Malaysia sure new Waja Lancer tapau this Altis. Even the new Altis become exotic right now (low numbers on the road) compare to the earlier version.

• losantara on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:05 am

Totally agree, In MALAYSIA Proton sure tapau Toyota, but at the rest of the world TOYOTA tapau Proton.

• best quote of the century…

• night on Oct 13, 2010 at 5:36 pm

hahahah ….. for sure proton can tapau toyota in our country Malaysia…. Cos our income only can match to proton . look back to our income, mostly people get rm 12xx to 18xx is not easy to apply loan for japan brands car, except the supporter (means father n mother) big income or business than can be easy. one more thing, now every people want to own a car as specially for the people just started to work surelly income not as high as we thing. so proton market is very big. thats y proton tapau toyota and honda etc. some more local brands car still under protecting by our lovely G, lols

• big T,,, nice, but seemed u’ve tried so hard….

• Grandisan on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:02 am

Very misleading advert , young people would go for Civic la …this Altis is for org tua OKU ( orang kurang otak) only hahaha …. boring car for boring people

• Black Joe on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:17 am

Grandison, how young are u? and do u own a civic? I have owned both the cars. Civic for 2 years and now Altis for a month. Altis finishing is way better than Civic, it is more compact & the ride is way smoother. I am not taking anthing out of Civic- good car but I think it is bcos Civic is assembled in Malaysia, that the finishing is not like Altis. I can be wrong but for u to say Altis is for orang kurang otak only shows that u r not matured enough to have a decent conversation on cars!! The market is not only for young ppl.

• timber8115 on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:09 am

TYT should put carbon fibre trim instead of wood trim. Everything looks beautiful but when looking at the trim, it really a total disappointment.

• Antonio Samarache on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:07 am

Agreed! If they want to attract younger buyers, they should provide trim which is more attractive to the younger buyer. Wood… well, today to attract younger buyer most popular is brushed aluminium trim, carbon fibre etc. Wood is fine but should be black wood like what they have in some European cars.

• better altis than before,but with that pricing i rather get vw golf 1.4tsi..

• mohsin on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:13 am

This is a very good bargain!
    kudos!

• Bob_B78 on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:16 am

Design wise is ok la. Spec wise, I’m skeptical for the CVT transmission.
    If I want a good and reliable car, I would probably choose Toyota.(provided no more quality issues)
    If I want to enjoy driving a car, I could choose Honda, Mazda or Mitsubishi.

• hauzi302 on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:26 am

Seems like this time round this updated Altis still without the leather seat

• Antonio Samarache on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:03 am

What’s the big deal with leather seats? Doesn’t hold the driver well in corners and even if they offered, it would most probably be fake ones or leatherette as it is commercially called and sprayed with leather smell, Better they lower the price of the car and get the leather (the real one) done outside.

• MoFaz on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:53 am

but the price is not low, yet it’s increased!
        fabric seat hold the driver better than leather in corners? that’s a cheap excuse. why Mercedes and BMW provide leather seats then..? their car is much faster than this Altis, for sure the driver swaying like hell in corners, right?

well, whatever toyota do is ok, but if proton do it sure kena bash.

• Antonio Samarache on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:10 pm

Merc and BMW seats are designed differently. They ‘hold’ the driver because of how they are shaped. Japanese seats are flat and generally do not provide grip for the driver. That’s why I said that fabric is better. It is a personal preference of course, until the Japanese stop making space saver tiny thin seats.

• Haidir on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:30 am

pricetag is over rated than a civic. and its spec sheet is lower too

• abcde12345 on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:01 pm

new honda civic will launch by next year dude
      jz a few months left
      i suggest u to wait
      no regret even if u buy the current generation
      really worth it if u wanna compare with this altis

• acerman on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:36 am

Altis is actually a good car from Toyota. Its actually serves it purpose as an everyday work-to-work, travelling in distances car. It doesn’t have that ummphh, like the civic, but for those who are looking for a value for money car, and wanted something simple and normal, its actually a good choice.

• TKLow on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:00 pm

Agreed with u dat Altis is simple n normal, but certainly not value for money. RM132k Its seriously overpriced! IMO, value for money was used to be the previous generation City when it was 1st launch in Msia, but for now, I would say those makes from Korea..

• DonkeyKong on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Value for money? HAHA!

• value for money? lmfao!!!

only the toyota salesman says that!!!

• paul, what 7 virtual gear ratios is all about???

• autojohndoe on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:24 pm

it is CVT…

it has no discreet gear shift…

go read about CVT…

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:27 pm

CVT is all about variable ratios so the engine will run at its optimum powerband.
      with CVT you wont feel a thing during an acceleration (just like a Suzuki scooter), which was why electronics are used to create the feeling that the driver has 7 gears to control. and due to these 7 gears are not actually a specific ratio, they are called virtual.

• LandCruizerzz on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:42 am

Haha, seems like TOYOTA the BIG Brother are also into CVT gear box, current models in the market having CVT gearbox:

1. Mitsubishi Lancer GT
    2. Nissan Sylphy
    3. Nissan X-trail
    4. finally the Toyota Corrola

those who bought the above are the smart one, coz the normal 4/5 speed auto box is going to obsolete soon!

• DonkeyKong on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:33 pm

Normal auto gearboxes won’t go obsolete so soon. 6-speed and 8-speed autos can still put up a decent fight because there have been so many innovations to improve efficiency.. Lepelletier gearsets to keep them compact and robust.. twin torsional dampers and multi-plate wet clutches to improve smoothness despite the increase in shifting sprags.. More efficient torque converter assemblies that implement clutch lock-up from 2nd gear onwards.. etc.

In addition to that, regular auto gearboxes still transfer torque through helical gears, so they are definitely tougher and can handle higher torque loads compared to chain-type CVTs (that wear down faster than constant-mesh helical gears) and toroidal-type CVTs (that rely on traction fluids to transfer torque).

Dual-clutch transmissions are better for high-torque high-performance applications, while 6, 7 or 8-speed auto gearboxes are very good for regular driving. CVTs are good for fuel economy but they can never replace good ol’ helical gears.

• sochamic on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:43 am

Dual VVT-i is able to vary both the intake and exhaust valves ??!!!
    I believe this is nothing new at all, Honda has already developed and marketed this back in 2004 in their i-VTEC engines already.

• Paul Tan on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:32 am

For their high revving Type R engines yes. But the normal version in the Civic that people can afford to buy… Are you sure?

• littlefire on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:43 pm

BMW also long time used in their car.. They call it Double Vanos.. Ask Paul he will know better. Haha..

• i believe u…..

• Haidir on Aug 27, 2010 at 11:15 am

u got it right ,it s not new. they not sell new technology equiped car here or any other ASEAN country. contrary, valvematic engine, TC, ESP v already used by toyota in europe

• Naz@AE111 on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:43 am

finally a 2.0 liter engine.. can’t wait to c it coming here..

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:47 am

timely, and nice looking. 4 speed auto also ok as long as there is an overdrive ratio. i mean 95% of car drivers with auto tranny do not bother to count every time the gear changes and what gear the car is using every other time.

• Espresso! Quick! on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:55 am

toyota needs to get younger buyers to their side. if they stay with older buyers a.k.a. those with the $$$, they will have a pr disaster. even now, toyota cars are viewed as cars for older folk. the older folk will one day die out and there will not be enough younger buyers to replace them leading to shrinking market share.

with this new facelift, i think they would be able to attract a larger share of the youth market. the pre-facelift model was just awful with curves in the wrong place and those silly round reflectors at the rear. this one is a breath of fresh air. they need to work down their pricing though but i don’t think this is gonna happen. at least compensate the high price by offering a longer warranty period or even throw in 2 or 3 years of free
    servicing… and i don’t mean just the cheap stuff! to include parts AND labour! if that can be done then they may have a strong package.

question is, do they need to even give a strong package to sell? or people will buy it simply because it is a toyota?

• LandCruizerzz on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:33 am

yea, like what Ford and Mitsubishi is offering 2 year free maintenance package, included those engine oil and parts, i rather prefer this rather than discount, coz the price of the oil and parts will always go up every year, and money keep on depreciate due to inflation…

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:30 pm

actually, vios and yaris are the offers to the youngsters. there is a manual option to choose against automatics right up to the TRD inspired spec.

• sham_azlan on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:39 pm

young ppl will become old ppl what. takkan u tidak tua?

• lanjaw on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:07 am

most of the features you can get it from current lancer at 10k cheaper!
    199 torque, 155hp, except for VSC laa..

• MoFaz on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:59 am

and from waja replacement later at probably RM50k cheaper!
      RM50K if i put in ASB could become RM80-100k in 10 years… yeeeha!

• sham_azlan on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:38 pm

if u accident in p1 car and still alive that time…..

• MoFaz on Aug 28, 2010 at 3:38 am

are you confident enough you won’t be killed in this Altis? even Princess Diana died in Mercedes S Class la.. remember? owh, you’re still a child, you won’t understand.
          and Lancer achieved 5-Star NCAP rating, have better features than Altis, and definitely not boring.

• losantara on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:51 pm

eh fren you are here ah…..oh ASB…no wonder you know nothing about share market. By the way your money will not be RM 80-100k after considering ‘rule of 72’. Faster google it because I know you totally has no idea of what is that and you only know how to READ READ READ via internet :)

• MoFaz on Aug 28, 2010 at 3:49 am

I simply mentioned ASB just because it’s the highest return investment for the lowest risk, or should i say NO RISK AT ALL?. of course you can earn more from higher-risk investments.
          it’s just a simple statement and it’s always you, a “self proclaimed high-IQ” looser who make things become unnecessarily complicated. This is not investment blog, and I’m not interested to argue about rule of 72 or whatsoever here.

• losantara on Aug 29, 2010 at 5:05 pm

It’s good to hear that you admit you are NOT FIT to comment on financial matters and NOT INTERESTED to argue about the topic.

You have 2 choices:

1. STOP commenting on financial matters or I am going to pin you down if you make mistakes.

2. Change your username to ZoFom

• tsuprasonic on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:07 am

love the flat bottom streering wheel

• likahsing on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:09 am

good but not good enough to win my heart. altis design is quite old and boring, not aggressive at all.

plus its expensive too

• Why they (Jap car) are so expensive…

• Antonio Samarache on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:54 am

Because they probably take a large part of the money you pay for it and probably re-invest into their aftersales and parts. This means, you are already paying in advance for aftersales service. The car’s price could possibly be a lot cheaper if they did not factor it in. But then, you will probably have not so good aftersales. Which do you prefer? Pay more for the car when new and get better aftersales or pay less for the car and pay high when the time comes to service it?

• likahsing on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:42 am

thumb u down bro. i dont think so, they’re making a lot of money from the after sales to. sekali service pun dah berapa kena? not to mention major servis. business is about money lorr.

• If Dubai make car, their car is also expensive. Very simple, everything in Japan is more expensive than Malaysia.

• Mur7hy on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:34 am

i have no idea… how people can compare CPS with this altis… lets face the fact.. people buy CPS cuss u cant afford vvti or Vtec.. stop living in denial..

• jamal on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:41 pm

agree. haha. swallow it with a pinch of salt

• nope, i can afford to buy a civic, but i bought waja. why need to waste money if u can get it with less money. car is not an investment, it is debt….or liability. Datuk syed albukhari can afford bugati veyron, but i bought perdana.(i not say that perdana is the same league of veyron, just mere comparison).

• ringtourer on Aug 27, 2010 at 3:15 am

uhm not exactly..well theres 2 ways about this . Many people consider cars as investments because it allows them to function from day to day, go to work send kids to school etc

• Thomanic on Aug 28, 2010 at 5:36 pm

cars are never investment….they are liabilities…..

since when u sell ur car…ur car raise in price? (i mean now, not during 80’s)

• Someone on Sep 01, 2010 at 4:48 am

comments like these show that they have no interest in cars in the 1st place.

People like u(and MAT. above) consider cars as a mere product, something akin to your toaster or washing machine. REAL car enthusiasts(which I presume this site caters to) won’t mind the fact that a car’s price will go down, as other things besides property mostly do too, but just spend their time with their car happily, knowing that they have bought something that they love.

• so why they always brags about the other rides especially proton when they do not have interest with the product. just focus on product u love right mate.

and why also they keep asking the same issue about depreciation and car prices(especially proton) when u r not interested in it???if u like that thing very much, it doesnt matter how much u pay for it, even it is the same thing but different price right.

i’m also interested in cars, but may be not as enthusiast as it shud by ur definition. but i think it is absurd if some one bought a waja, and convert it into evo even the cost of conversion nearly the same as buy the evo it self.

why not just buy the evo? is it enthusiast or stupidity

• ringtourer on Sep 09, 2010 at 11:03 pm

@ Thomanic….

actually i meant that in another sense…but it works both ways, sorta…a vehicle with higher resale value is even less of a liability than one with lower value…with respect to original price…

cheers

• amirad on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:38 pm

yep! dunno why they like to compare CPS with VVTi. I have both CPS 1.6M and 1.8 (single) VVTi in my garage and I think both of them are OK. Personally I prefer the CPS until my VVTi is converted to TSI.

• _xXx_ on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:04 pm

this simple hi-lo 2-step valve height mechanical thingy has a BIG name called CPS

• Jimmy on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:39 am

Facelifted one the headlight design is nicer; also the CVT and dual VVTi. But come on Toyota, will you put in leather seats for E/G/V for Malaysian? By the way, torsion beam so what? Some D-segment cars of other makes can’t even manage well their so-called multi-link suspension? More equipments vs reliability/durability? You get what I mean if you suffer steering/wheel/suspension problems when your new car is just 50k in milage.

• Poovan on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:45 am

finally..some good specs have been thrown in and with good (not latest) engines.

• rodimuslai on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:47 am

I like this car tail lamp design hee hee.

• obheng on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:52 am

For those who die die must buy a Toyota. At such prices, there are plenty of other cars to choose from, offering far more for the money.

• Jules on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:52 am

This specs should have been out much earlier, then this current altis wouldn’t have been quite a flop

• Chief on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:58 am

As usual, the price will hold many people to buy it… have to stick either Forte or City only.. isk isk

• Naughty on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:06 am

I prefer the Thailand interior build. It colors are much more appeal to me rather than the light brownish color….so ah pek not that it is in a MERC or BMW…..:P

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:08 am

5k increase on 1.8G and its not even a new model!!!…WTH!!

• Noway on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:09 am

The Altis 2.0 and civic 2.0 are by far too expensive which is 40k more than better equiped and safer Kia Forte 2.0. I would save hell of RM50k with interest and oppotunity cost on Forte.
    In USA market, the price difference between the Forte and Altis/Civic is not more than 10%, whereby here in the boleh land, the diffrence is about 29%.
    Forte is rated the best in safety in the same segment.

• Thomanic on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:47 am

So, you got a chance to enjoy undervalued Hyundai car here…..Shhh…dun tell anyone bout that.

• alpha999 on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:48 am

so r u getting a forte anytime soon ??

• paparadzi on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:27 am

Wait until you have to maintain or sell your Forte….

• cybermaster98 on Sep 01, 2010 at 9:51 am

Noway says:
      26/8/2010 at 10:09 am
      The Altis 2.0 and civic 2.0 are by far too expensive which is 40k more than better equiped and safer Kia Forte 2.0. I would save hell of RM50k with interest and oppotunity cost on Forte.

Yes save 50K and then lose 70K when it comes to selling. Lose even more after the warranty is over and u need to pay thru your nose for parts. Have u owned a Kia before? I guess not. See me in 4-5 yrs time and we’ll see if ure still this optimistic. Good luck bro.

• calvin_ng on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:18 am

I prefer Independent suspension compared to torsion beam… at least it can take corners and bump better and 2 airbag for 2.0 hahaha even City give 4 Airbags.. cmon lah we pay so much for so little… at least car manufacturer can have those important safety device to save life….

• I have cars with these 2 suspension systems. When you sweep corner hard on uneven surface, the tail will throw you out. But, no problem absorbing undulation road, both serve well.

• uncle/auntie car.

only for old folks and old fart that will buy altis.

• andrew on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:36 am

I got a deep discussion with a sales guy on this new Altis yesterday. From first look, it is still bland, doesn’t look as exquisite as the current one, if u know what i mean.
    Interior wise somewhat i feel worse than the current version. The only good thing is the dual vvti engine. Not so sure about the reliability of CVT compare to 5 speed auto of Civic. Some friends told me that maintenance for CVT is more expensive. Price also gone up, the 1.8e price is very near to the 1.8 civic. At first i really want to buy the altis, but now a bit skeptical, perhaps a test drive will double convince me, else for sure will go for Civic. Really feel that Toyota let us down.

• Ongwc5 on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:15 am

Better test drive both bro, if u prefer a good NVH level & comfort ride, Atlis for sure, otherwise a good handling car like civic may suit u, but u must live with the lousy NVH (CKD civic only) + stiff suspension, my 2cents! : -)

• Bob_B78 on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:14 pm

From what I know, the only good thing about CVT is lower fuel consumption.
      Other than that, if it breaks down, it’s a lot more expensive to replace/repair

• DonkeyKong on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Altis is no doubt a very comfortable car with excellent NVH. Very silent interior even at high speeds. The CVT should improve things a bit because I remember feeling those kickdowns on the 4-speed auto when going to Bukit Tinggi.. with just 4 ratios, the drivetrain is not really that smooth when you pile on the load.

CVT maintenance will definitely be more expensive. The CVT’s traction fluid itself is definitely pricier than regular auto gearbox fluids (Dextron III-V), not sure if it’s more expensive than LT71141 fluids.

• rossi46 on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:36 am

Forget all this vvt-i whatever engine…we are moving to euro4 nxt year, why not bring those torquey 1.4 D4D or 2.0 D4D, fuel consumption of 60 mpg & 51mog respectively making this 40mpg vvt-i engine looks such as breathless gas guzzler…come on Toyota

• tikus on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Sure or not …our G likes to talk only.Later postpone to 2012 or later.

• The Loner on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:44 pm

Before that, are you sure government will allow ultra low sulphur diesel in Boleh Land?

Those D4D mentioned are for Europe and now must compliant with Euro 5 standards.

• namawee on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:40 am

Finally Toyota! Good job for updating the engine. will the vios gets a dual vvti too?

• razzack04 on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:58 am

Most Malaysians love durian, but I have a friend whose grandma gave him a durian orchard but he hate durians. SO, some like Toyota because it’s a “safe choice” ,senang nak jual, design acceptable to most people etc. Some like civic because of its futuristic design (love the slooping roofline), huge digital speedometer, best looking OEM wheel (in my opinion). Others choose Lancer coz it’s related to EVO, jetfighter nose. Some wants space, and they choose Sylphy.
    Different people, different taste…. Toyota is good overall by not being outstanding in anything specific.

• i don’t buy what you said…

• Thomanic on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:07 pm

You dont buy nevermind…alot people buy….

see sales number….nuff said.

• akupunya on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:18 pm

u buy proton ka?

• autojohndoe on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:31 pm

what so good about vtec? its name so GRAND and MASCULINE… VTEC!!!

i think, that is why ppl think it is so powerful… VTEC!!! it sound like ganas one…

ppl are talking about buying the content of the statement… not car…

haish… simple english also cant understand

• alpha999 on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:36 pm

u dont buy coz it;s not for sale

• MoFaz on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:08 pm

what’s the conclusion about the durian?
      if durian fell onto any car, for sure it will be dented la.. :)
      chill bro, just kidding… let’s go makan durian!

• i luv durians

• razzack04 on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Durian conclusion :
      1) Different people different taste.

• BMW M-Problem on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Good statement… Toyota is a safe choice…cant go wrong…

• kamal on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:52 pm

can go wrong, better to buy other car and invest the balance somewhere else

• Cowabunga! on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:19 pm

can’t go wrong?…
        interesting.. i recall Toyota did a lot of massive recalls lately….

• ringtourer on Aug 27, 2010 at 3:21 am

hmm where here or somwhere?? my neigbourhood toyota benkel like usual je…

• akupunya on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:16 am

very common design. just look like current sentra.
    why this kind of model come to Malaysia as a new model?

old nanny getting botox!
    this is what I hate on UMW Malaysia.
    please bring the good looking model la…or even a futuristic one..

• Deuter on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:31 am

the current toyota altis owner wont regret as the impact to them is less, this is always the toyota strategy to protect the current toyota owner in term of resale value. no doubt the enhancement is a lot, but it is justified by the higher price. the previous owner bought their toyota, with lower spec than this, but at the lower price as well. Toyota price control is good, unlike other brands, if a cbu model they bring in sells good, they will localize it and make it cheaper and cbu owners will puke, no protection at all.

P/S: to leave comment, is email required? after leaving email address, a lot of mails will flood to our mailbox if someone leaves a comment, paul, anyway to enhance this?

• Antonio Samarache on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:41 am

I think the e-mail bit is for the administrators to check who sends in the replies. It is not for public viewing. Just tick off the box below “Nofity me of followup…” if you don’t want your e-mails flooded when people reply to your post.

• Noway on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:09 pm

This is not a price protection strategy from UMW, this is just to make more money or raise the profit margin by UMW.
      Selling cars can go listed in the Bursa and just take a look at their profit after tax in the anuual financial report.

• MoFaz on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:19 pm

But BMW and Mercedes could do CKD here, no complaints from the current owners. it will only become a lot cheaper if you use 40-50% local parts. but current owners can also enjoy lower price for their spare-parts too.. right?

p/s: your email will be flooded only if you tick “Notify me of followup comments via e-mail”

• Deuter on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:44 pm

MoFaz,
        just for example (hopefully wont offend anyone) , Suzuki Swift before year 2005 was sold at about RM 90k (CBU models), after 2005, the price is at RM 70K. If i were the owner of Swift in 2004 who bought at RM 90K and not long after that CKD was introduced at RM 70K, I will be very upset because immediately i cannot sell my car unless it is below RM 70K. The buyer protection is not in place for the first batch of people.

I am discussing this at the point of view of pricing, not the car. i am a big fan of Swift, it is a nice car.

• MoFaz on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:35 pm

but for suzuki, that would be good in some other way:
          more people will buy Swift, and more people would get to know Suzuki better. which means, they might get more loyal customers afterwards. the more car they sell is better for them.
          in consumer point of view, yes, pity those who bought Swift in 2004. but they bought the car because they like it, it’s unlikely they would sell it off within a year. after 4-5 years of usage, they could sell it without feeling the pain.

• Philip J. Fry on Aug 26, 2010 at 7:11 pm

I believe the Swift was only sold here in 2005, and the normal spec was about low 80s, while the premium specs were high 80s, close to 90k.

The CKD version didn’t start selling until 2007, and is selling at about 74k (80k for premium spec).

The price difference is around 10k, not 20k.

• Astronauts on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:15 am

same apply to chevrolet optra last time

• Mitsui on Aug 29, 2010 at 4:12 pm

dont worried dude, Lancer Users are even worst probably will commit suicide later when WAJA LANCER is launched ! Price slashed above 40k.

• evoskylancer on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:44 am

paul, care to explain on the eco mode found in this altis in detail?

• Ra1nmaker80 on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:18 pm

The new and upcoming Hyundai Avante/Elantra will eat this car for breakfast in terms of pricing, specs, performance and styling. I can’t believe Toyota has come up with such a poor design for a car which is being launched in 2010. Looks like it’s late by 10 years design wise.

• BMW M-Problem on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:25 pm

I agree Hyundai will come up with something fantastic for the price but the problem is
      it is a Hyundai………..Buy now and when selling time …..die …no value…..
      This is reality so don’t flame me cos this is a fact.

• ra1nmaker80 on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Need i say more??
        http://paultan.org/2010/04/30/hyundai-launches-all-new-avante-in-south-korea/

If you’re talking about economics and re-sale value down the line; it’s actually proportional to the car’s initial selling price and market demand as in Altis is about RM 120-130K and whereas if the Hyundai were to sell in the RM90K region, I’m sure you would seriously be second guessing yourself sooner or later. Not to mention the 5 year or 300K Km warranty as well. Toyota has been a big market player for a long long time; however it does not seem to realize that the new kid on the block has suddenly stepped it up a gear and will seriously give it a run for its money. It’s also all to do about mentality and perception of people. I hear the current Avante X20 is a best seller in Singapore and US; so surely they are doing something right within their stables.

• _xXx_ on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:10 pm

stop day-dreaming. SD is losing $. The new Avante will come with a BIG price tag

• victor lee on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:26 pm

Nice update.. they fire the previous designer and hire a better ones. I love the front grill, head lamp which no more old skool toyota’s and rear lamp also chun but the fog lamp parts is abit out of the design. Great JOB!

• blackjkx on Aug 26, 2010 at 12:37 pm

Pricey?
    Thats why they got 5~8 mths bonus pay every year…like comp of mine..hehe.
    Go go malaysian automotive industry

• autojohndoe on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:36 pm

How high the price is, UMW never worry one… ppl will buy… and…

They got scapegoat to explain… Tax and NAP…

• canaimumbai on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:06 pm

exatctly, same with Proton, a Persona already cost above RM50 K, Honda 2.4 engine at 150k above, poor Malaysian

• alpha999 on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:42 pm

yupe…not only profitable but also demands highly qualified employees

nowadays….to apply for a job as toyota salesman…requires an undergraduate cert…..

• amirad on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:22 pm

I plan to become a Toyota salesman when I’m finish doing my PhD hopefully by next year. So better chances to get the job.

• hullahup on Aug 26, 2010 at 1:02 pm

kenapa rupa dia macam Persona ek? ke perasaan aku jer..hahaha

• Regarding the virual 7 gear, is it something like the one Honda used to have for their City before? Its not actually a 7 gear box thing right?

• yup. correct. programmed seven speeds and not really 7 gears.

• BMW M-Problem on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:20 pm

It does real have 7 mechanical gears. Basically there is 7 ratio driven by belt.
      I am sure there is good and bad for these type of gearbox.

Good :
      Good accelaration.
      Good fuel economy.

Bad :
      CVT oil is more expensive than Toyota type IV. ( Not sure how often must change).

CVT in malaysia is not something new. Honda has used it in its City and failed miserably. Lancer has used it and so far no major issue. So for Toyota the GB is supplied by Aisin so should not have any issue provided properly maintain with the correct oil.

• Openmind on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:48 pm

I seriously dont think your statement that CVT failed miserably in Honda City is valid. There were many cases reported, but why dont you look at those with CVT still performing well. ,

• Cowabunga! on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:44 pm

This is why some people fail to realize this.

I have a neighbor that is still driving the City first 2003 model, and not a crack of sound til today. 7 years..and drives the car everyday and long trips.

so, if you are going through stats…please let me know what do you mean it has failed?.

Honda has stopped CVT transmission on the small-mid size engine because it was high cost maintaining /manufacturing them.

Think Lancer has no major issues?… There was just one Lancer on my fren’s garage,…CVT total kong, even with ATF coolers….
          And have you heard about the launch of Lancer without the ATF cooler causing all the Lancers’ CVT gearbox to fry later?.
          So, why wasn’t a statement that the Lancers’ CVT “failed” miserably?.

While CVT oil is expensive, this is broken evenly with the cost of fuel.
          With good fuel economy…some people won’t mind paying a little more for them.

Make known, I’m not a City fan boy. I keep an open view like Openmind here.

• Nicer specs than the Civic. I love CVT gearbox. One thing i cannot tolerate is the Civic ugly dashboard and speedometer. Dual VVTi will be great too!

• with this stupid expensive price.. i rather buy a peugeot 407. far far better in terms of safety and comfort.

• altimate on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:09 pm

But unfortunately, no matter how hard they tried, this model will slowly fade and die gracefully.. come on lah, the very core design of this car was never meant to be sporty, now with ah beng-style tail-lights and spoiler, it looks worse than before..

in order to compete against other heavy weight contenders in the segment, toyota needs to work harder.. much harder !.. in sales, it is already crawling slowly behind isuzu d-max at the 20th spot for god sake.. it used to be one of the top selling models in msia !:
    http://www.motortrader.com.my/Cars/NewsHeader/Highlights/The-Bestsellers-of-July-2010.aspx

• Deuter on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:01 pm

when it comes to making one of the biggest purchases in life, sometimes the design and look of the car will become secondary. to like a car and to buy a car is different. To make sure that you invest your money into something you are confident of, there are other elements to analyze. if only the look and design alone, toyota definitely wont be the choice of many. their cars are trusted today, is not their design, more on the way they manage their production, their customers. Just my opinion, people choose toyota not because of its look.

• altimate on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:55 pm

Although I do agree with you that ppl look at other factors when making their purchase (i do that too), but why do you think in your opinion that the Altis is performing poorly in terms of sales despite being most sought after brand ? bcos the looks is what sells in Msia. And my point in essence was Toyota’s attempt in trying to make a non-sporty Altis into one will be futile.

I’m commenting on Altis specifically not on Toyota as a whole.

• Noway on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:39 pm

I agree with you, people who choose Toyota dont really care about the looks.
        They bought because of belief in quality and resale value.
        But at the same time, I wont pay extra 30% to buy a toyota knowing that there are still other good alternatives, such as Forte, cruez in the same segment..

• BMW M-Problem on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:14 pm

On wheel the altis should give better Hp compared to civic cos of the CVT gearbox.
    Only a road test will confirm this. Anyhow the fuel comsumption should be the primary concern for these type of car not performance.

• razzack04 on Aug 26, 2010 at 2:39 pm

It’s a TOYOTA, that’s enough for some people. You guys reading and contributing are the smart one. Most people out there just look at the car, nampak cantik, boleh bayar installment..ada nama, Honda, Toyota (tak nak Proton, Perodua kereta local nampak koman) terus beli. They don’t know anything about torque, multi-link suspension, handling, vvti, cvt etc. When lots of cars on the road are Protons, Hondas, Toyotas, Nissans… then some people start to think “I want to be different, I want peugeot or whta ever brand as long as different”. A few years later, nak jual Peugeot harga drop. Honda, Toyota jual pun ok lagi.

• Gud point bro…same happen to kia/hyundai..price drop…

• Noway on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Ya, all prices of previous kia/hyundai dropped like waterfall.
        The new Sonata pricing is too close to camry/accord, it will not suceed to beat the Japs.
        So far i think there will be one exception, Forte.

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:20 am

this is the reason why companies like peugoet, kia or hyundai do not price their C-segment cars (407/optima/sonata) like camry or accord. they know in first year alone the price will drop gila-gila one. they sell it way down cheaper and offer more toys as standard kit.

• BMW M-Problem on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:17 pm

you have a valid point

• brader….go check out in motortrader or thestar newspaper how much is a 5 year old 407 and a 5 year old camry.

the depreciation is almost the same, the camry having around 5% better value only.

is it worth while to pay 30% more now just to get extra 5% when u sell the car later?

japs don’t hold value that well these days anymore.

• White Jack on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:57 pm

but that poor 407 owner took him 6 months to sell it off, but the lucky Camry owner took 3 days to sell ? haha…

the prices they posted there are their dream price, not actual sold price.

• white jack,

How do you know he took 3 days to sell?

if you say all ads are dream price, then the camry feller must be asking for a dream price too. else he could have just traded in his car and no need to advertise at all.

• vincent choong on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:24 pm

Ask yourself a simple question, 407 and Camry, which one is a safer ride? Which one is more important? You life and the lives of your love ones or “Resale value”?

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:25 am

bro the market value for 5 years old camry is lower because that is an older model. in 2006 a new camry was launched, the impact was there.

try compare 08-09 407 with camry 2.0 08-09 and we can see theres some difference.

use www.mudah.my as quick reference.

• Scuddie on Aug 27, 2010 at 3:58 am

Oh how cool is that razzack04..thats absobutely true..i bet many of those T&H haters here were simply hate it because they are just seeing that too many of the same kind of car at road (vios&camry) at road and some “protectionism to weaker side” sneaked into their mind unnoticeably thats y they absurdly always picking 1 or two things strenght point of those relative “trivia” car to bash,critics on those more publics favoured cars like there is no tommorow…blahh blahh blahhh…..say like vincent choong u just go take the peugeot 407 if u could afford and thinks that it’s a safer ride in fact nobody will care about ur choice but please,please don’t trying to imply that toyota camry is a terribly unsafe car when u make ur comparison above…how ignorant could u be …come on, retard….

• hewyk on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:21 pm

you can register your interest in the new altis at the toyota.com.my site : http://www.toyota.com.my/altis/index.dot

beware though it’s a tiresome flash site.. so it might take forever to load.

• Finally Altis 2lit is coming soon. Well, most pratically thing important to buy a car is the reliability. If there’s a quality build in this car, sure reliability is not an issue. The specs written out is only to show what this car offer. Not matter how much power or torque quoted by the car makers are not important.

From my point of view, a figure can quoted at any numbers with + – 10%. I wonder the 2.0lit. specs quoted with RON100 fuel or locak RON95/97. If it’s RON100, then I believe the power quoted with RON95/97 should be slightly lower. As well as the torque.

For a normal car (non turbo) with 2 passengers inside, the acceleration from 0 to 100km/h can be done at sub 10 secs or below, then this car is powerful enough. Needn’t a VVti or campro or a VTEC. Fuel consumption wise about 0.18 sen / km still acceptable.
    Without replacing critical parts in 5 yrs will consider a reliable car. Replacement like wear and tear parts should be at least quoted as same as the manufacturer.

My friend as a mechanics, he told me Toyota is not as reliable as before. Any comment from Toyota user? I never own a Toyota car before therefore I can’t comment much about it.

• sham_azlan on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:10 pm

i have a 7 years vios and 2 years hilux….still ok…..but my 7 years wira is getting me a headache lately….

• autojohndoe on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:37 pm

maybe becoz you love vios more than wira…

car also has feelings you know?

hoho

• tmsoo on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:40 am

Haha, this i would agree..

I used to own 1.6 and 1.8 wira, both having 2 problems only. Others minor can service. Cost of service maintainance quite low.

2 big problems are gearbox, and another one is the small gears inside the throttle body.

• sham_azlan on Aug 26, 2010 at 4:14 pm

woo…..sure is a hot topic here….that much comment…..like toyota or hot….u ppl sure very interested in this car….

• Maserati on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:02 pm

oooo..dual vvti!! The closest thing to the smoothness of a Lexus!!

Hp and torque might be low on paper,but when you drive it,it will be change ur mind about toyota cars =)

• whats more, this c-segment altis @132k cost 4k more than the bigger,sexier(my opinion), safer, more comfortable, more spacious and more solid, european d-segment peugeot 407.

one day in future i think UMW will price their cars higher than merc and bmw and still will have ignorant clowns say ” its a toyota ma!! sure value for money one!!.”

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:45 am

UMW does not sell the cars at high price.
      It is others that sell their cars at cheaper price so as to attract buyers. Marketing strategies maa… Why Honda, Mazda and Nissan sells the equivalent Accord, 6 and Teana at similar prices to the Camry?
      And UMW also have some very expensive models available like, if you request them to bring in Vellfire, it is as high as 700K but of course, comes with warranty lah!

Their division Lexus is selling LS460 at 700-800K level too! but then of course, the equivalent BMW 750i retails at 1.1 million RM.

• libralcl on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:23 pm

This typical Malaysian mind that is causing the other brands not “T & H” have lower resales values last time & may be now. But soon you will see changes if the non “T & H” keep on improving their techs, specs, good value, reliability & better after sales service might change the situation. We will need to see what the Japs can do to fight back if they want Malaysian to continue support the 2nd values of their cars since the biggest challenge now they are having is the price. No doubt now you can still see a lots of ppl still going for T & H but you are seeing more and more people going for the under dogs as well.
    Back to this Altis, it is always a good thing that Toyota offers a better tech for their offering to Malaysian market but ppl you do comparison accordingly. So at the end it still depends on ppl own taste. Good job Toyota on this one but if the price is more competitive will be a better bargain.

• henryee on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:37 pm

Silly Specs in terms of Safety features~~~
    2 air bags??? Come on Toyota, where’s your 6 airbags, why still 2 airbags in the higher specs???
    Kia Forte already includes 6 airbags and all the safety features and others can easily win this Toyota Altis.

• RM One Hundred and Thirty Thousand for a Corolla? It’s RM! not Rupiah!
    This is just crazy. The Corolla is consider a basic car in US.

All Hail our great Gomen and thier NAP!!!

http://www.toyota.com/corolla/trims-prices.html#/?view=sidebyside&vehicle=null

• autojohndoe on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:34 pm

see… NAP become the scapegoat… never ppl see at UMW side as the money eater…

• canaimumbai on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:03 pm

autojohndoe

You are right, not just UMW but Proton, Honda and ect ect…….

• ENGINEM5 on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:12 pm

58k can get a 2.4 litre Corolla in US ? Proton only give us a 1.6 litre Persona !!!

• vincent choong on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:22 pm

RM132k? Fine! But we are not getting the one with side airbags and curtain airbags.. If Malaysians bodoh bodoh go n support this kind of cars, why bother to offer more?

• losantara on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:27 am

Thanks to the link !

2.4 litres corolla only RM 58k. OMG! Thanks to Proton Protection !!

• nazri on Aug 27, 2010 at 5:56 am

thanks to umw for 6 month bonus

• canaimumbai on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Ya RM 58k for a 2.4 engine TOYOTA at the rich country……cannot imagine…..our Persona already RM 50k plus…….cut troat……..

• NASOPE on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Our Persona is already 58k without inport duti……..

• autojohndoe on Aug 28, 2010 at 10:44 am

they also got taxed….

go check…

• NASOPE on Aug 28, 2010 at 4:18 pm

My dearest Autojohndoe,

So you mean it’s the Government OR Proton make our Persona so expensive ? You are SLAPPING your own face with both hands by contradicting your own comment STUPID….

2.4 liter Coralla in US RM 58k
            1.6 liter Persona in Malaysia RM 58k

• callenish on Aug 29, 2010 at 1:15 pm

NASCOPE,

our persona is just RM35K if not because of sales tax, go and check

• NASOPE on Aug 29, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Thanks for the info callenish,

callenish is saying that it’s actually NAP sucking our money and make a cheap Corolla priced at 130k and a cheap Persona priced at 58k ?

Which mean when AUTOJOHNDOE mentioned that the NAP is great IS all BULLSHIT. His comment has poor readership and I will pin him down whenever I see him making BULLSHIT sdtatement again. You better change your username and make sure AUTOJOHNDOE disappear.

• tikus on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:57 pm

U Guys forgot about Mazda 3 2.0.Its Better then Altis with great handling and CBU from Japan.

• mr.... on Aug 26, 2010 at 5:59 pm

nice sporty black interior than the oldish cream interior….
    my mom have the previous gen altis 1.8G & it looks ‘old’. the new altis looks better and this one comes wt new rear lamps! nice. Corolla & Corolla Altis is different rite? i saw a brunei Corolla (no led rear light, no foglamps etc) & it looks uglier than the Altis we have in Msia.

• rexis on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Toyota cars like Altis or Camry are never sporty in the first place. They more like defining the drivability of the car, ie stable and quiet, their goal is make you feel like sitting at your own sofa in your house, not vroomvroomrrrrrrroooom keeeeeek eeeeeeek. And the truth is no matter how people hate them bash them sue them, they however, still the best sellers.

And, whao, dual vvti finally :D wonder how is the fuel consumption?

• vincent choong on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:45 pm

This car is purely for Toyota die hard fan, with few thousand extra, you can drive a higher class, better looking, better features Sonata YF, why stick with their overpriced crap? Even a Lancer and Slyphy is a better deal compare to this! UMW staff must be laughing to see how Malaysians contribute to their 6 months bonus.. Wahahaha..

Resale good? Don’t forget you pay more money and interest when you purchase the car, do your math! Unless you buy the car with cash.

• sham_azlan on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:04 pm

PPL that can afford this car no need to loan…..who cares about interest…..don’t care u ppl like this car or not the number of comments had reached 200…..look like alot of ppl interest about this car.

• losantara on Aug 28, 2010 at 4:41 pm

Vincent and sham_azlan both of you are wrong,

a 2.9% car loan only yield a 4.2% effective rate (rate similar to housing loan) If you can make more than 4.2% * in investment with your 100k. It make no sense to buy a car by cash. I use to pay a high amount of downpayment for my car but later learnt that if fact I WAS VERY STUPID to do that. Trust me, NEVER BUY A CAR BY CASH UNLESS YOU CANNOT BEAT THE 4.2%.

* I am refering to a 2.9% offer by TOYOTA for a 5 years installment. I haerd that interest rate for P1 and P2 is higher but not sure.

• losantara on Aug 28, 2010 at 11:22 pm

Correction:

It’s 2.54% car loan yield a 4.81% effective rate (rate same with housing loan)

• ksthong on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:36 pm

I got my Mazda 6 recently…and I am laughing at those people buying Honda Accord and Toyota Camry…wake up!

• cybermaster98 on Sep 01, 2010 at 9:48 am

They are the same ppl who will be laughing at YOU in about 5 yrs time when your service bills and maintenance costs increase and your resale value is crap down under.

• Cowabunga! on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:49 pm

exactly vincent…if I wanted to talk all day about resale value…i’ll just get a Honda instead, why would I bother a toyota for?…

those interested….no comment. your money, your car.

• alldisc on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:12 am

really?

Civic FD 2.0 ’06 model now sells at 100K, thats a whopping 30K drop after 3 years or 10K every years…. doesnt sound good at all to me.

• cybermaster98 on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:59 am

alldisc says:
          27/8/2010 at 9:12 am
          really?

Civic FD 2.0 ’06 model now sells at 100K, thats a whopping 30K drop after 3 years or 10K every years…. doesnt sound good at all to me.

If you know cars well enuf, you would have known that ALL cars drop drastically within the first 5 yrs especially the first 3. If u wanna compare resale value, then do it for the 5yr and above models.

Toyota Vios 1.5E 2003 model (new) = RM74,700 Resale value now:RM 45K+ Drop of about 40% only in 7yrs plus. Higher cc cars will have lower resale value percentages.

• Hello,

Slyphy/Altis/Civic is comparable. Lancer is somehow losing out, it doesn’t takes you a long time to understand why, just jump into a Lancer and try it out.

Lancer has never been a serious contender even with the latest sharkfin front nose look. Heavy body weight 1.4tonnes with poor NVH, traction control is missing from the list too, bored and cheapskate interior, engine specification looks good on paper spec but pratically driving experience doesn’t seems promising, fuel consumption is so-so only. The fierce and sexy 18″ wheelie doesn’t contribute much.

Remember, wholesome in Many is better than Aewsome than some.

Do the math and calculate wisely.

• handsome*Dude on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Boring car~~

• Openmind on Aug 26, 2010 at 6:50 pm

for me, the business case of buying altis 2.0 at 131k doesn’t work for me……..forte, in my opinion offers better value at 40k cheaper.

• Very nice but expensive!anyway lah that’s not Proton so ppl will still buy Toyota even it’s expensive :)

• toyotomato on Aug 26, 2010 at 8:45 pm

lose the wood trimmings! not nice at all!

• for that kind of money, go for peugeot 407. what’s an overprice jap car? well it is just an overpriced japs car! where the regular watanabe, kiko, yamashita et al drive in jap.

• cybermaster98 on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:55 am

hoho says:
      26/8/2010 at 9:14 pm
      for that kind of money, go for peugeot 407. what’s an overprice jap car? well it is just an overpriced japs car! where the regular watanabe, kiko, yamashita et al drive in jap.

1) You have no idea whatsover about the costs of maintaining a Peugeot
      2) You do not own a Peugeot or a Toyota.

Cheers!

• MoFaz on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:25 pm

he have right to state his opinion, that’s what he think. people know that continental cars cost more to maintain, and if he could afford the car, sure he could afford the maintenance cost too.
        do you think people wont buy BMW or Merc just because the maintenance cost is multiple time higher than toyota?

• cybermaster98, from the grammar and the way you defended toy-auta, it looks like you are some company working to promote the marque. some pr company, perhaps?

• reuben how on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:29 pm

I’m so sorry to rub it in but for RM 120K am driving the most expensive camry – hybrid, power leather seats, 6 air bags, VSC and interest rate only 1.6%. not in malaysia though…

• Conti-luver on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Finally, UMW Toyota is doing the things in the right direction!
    Bravo! I guess all the news about VW making local CKD version soon, does help.

• txsuprasonic on Aug 26, 2010 at 9:48 pm

kia? my friend had to beg the used car dealer to take in his car.

• urggg…. TYT still, cannot live without the ugly fake wood trim…arghhhh

• Jimmy on Aug 26, 2010 at 10:46 pm

After calculating the upfront overpaid money and interest, and later the resale value say after 5 years, if the total loss (buying car = loss money) is the same between Altis and Forte, which one will you choose? #Pay extra 40k upfront + 10k extra interest for 5-year loan, sold at 80k after 5 years vs 30k for Forte# You get prestige and reliability for Altis but you get 6 airbags for Forte 2.0. The other features are irrelevant after these calculations. Choose Forte if it can prove:1) reliability & durability, 2) it performs better during crash, and 3) no issue of deploying the airbags during crash.

• cybermaster98 on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:53 am

Jimmy says:
      26/8/2010 at 10:46 pm
      After calculating the upfront overpaid money and interest, and later the resale value say after 5 years, if the total loss (buying car = loss money) is the same between Altis and Forte, which one will you choose? #Pay extra 40k upfront + 10k extra interest for 5-year loan, sold at 80k after 5 years vs 30k for Forte# You get prestige and reliability for Altis but you get 6 airbags for Forte 2.0. The other features are irrelevant after these calculations. Choose Forte if it can prove:1) reliability & durability, 2) it performs better during crash, and 3) no issue of deploying the airbags during crash.

2) Safety features are second to actual driving skill. So no point comparing them. Why dont u take in the cost of maintenance in your overall calculations? Spare parts for Kia and Hyundai are expensive. I know cuz both makes are in my family.

There was a guy who made a similar claim about the Forte being more cost economical in the long run in the Forte forum. And in the end it was proven that even against the Vios, the Forte proved to be of lesser overall resale value. Best you provide more detailed calculations here against the Altis. I would like to see.

• I sat in my friend’s new Altis….well, i felt it is quite small with 3 adults at the back. Yes, power is good…but my 50k cheaper waja CPS are not far. Futhermore…i got full leather seat, xenon headlights, much much more spacious and superior handling. I would say unless you are really loaded, if not…its not worth the money. Better save for something else.

• loollool on Aug 26, 2010 at 11:51 pm

boring car indeed!

• Viosuser on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:36 am

Yes this is expensive…………

• Joker The Great on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:00 am

Hi Guys,

Official launch on 28/09/2010…
    All can get ready on that day

• YeapyEvo on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:02 am

I will add another 20k for a Golf 1.4 , 20k is nothing for those who can really afford 130k car.

• lalalala~~~~ on Aug 27, 2010 at 1:18 am

boring~~~~~~

• it target toyota loyalist only..does’nt matter price increase..2airbags only..huh. what is eco all about then? anyone care to explain..

• wow.. start button and nice player.. but i wonder will they imported those stuff as well? lol..

• another crap car from toyota,so powerful for wat can’t race with super AUTO mate ar,get yourself a Fairlady,anyway brake sucks dunno kill how many ppl on the road

• ADAMpus on Aug 27, 2010 at 4:35 am

HA ha ha correctly said, Toyota and luxes had major RECALLS!!

• toyota men on Aug 27, 2010 at 7:22 am

congrats to toyota will launch new altis, xsabor nk tgk kete ni msuk kt my pust servis, with the same problem – brake disc judder ,absorber leaking, squeking noise from steering rack..wait n see!

• autojohndoe on Aug 27, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Nooooo…

dont said toyota has defect…. ppl will hate you!!

Toyota is their lifesaver…

haha….

• ToyotaTheGreat on Aug 28, 2010 at 11:35 pm

100% correct, never bash Proton also, you will kena thumb down until posting hidden. Proton is their beloved mother in law

haha….

• woooo ur in cso/warraty or wat this is company sekrit ma… hahaha, gua kasi tau boss baru u tau

• openmind on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:56 am

Toyota recalls 1.33 million Corollas, Matrixes
    Toyota issues recall of 1.33 million Corollas, Matrixes to address possible engine stalling

Toyota said Corollas and Matrixes equipped with 1ZZ-FE engines may contain a defective engine control module, the computer that regulates the performance of the engine. In some cases, a crack may develop on the module’s circuit board, which could prevent the engine from starting or could cause harsh shifting or an engine stall.

• openmind on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:59 am

For those who dont know, the current toyota altis 1.6 is using the same 1ZZ-FE. Again, there will not be a recall for altis in malaysia as usual….because all the car here not affect….because we are paying sky high price….thus we get a grade A engine, while US/Canada get a 3rd grade engine…..Ha…Ha…..

• tail-gated the car carrier…. couldn’t recognize as an altis… nice front but rear is not so nice..
    toyota sales will sky-rocket again..
    hopefully the waiting period is shorter

• Noway on Aug 27, 2010 at 10:07 am

Toyota image has been planted in malaysians brain for so long until now manys could not see other car models.
    Let those buy the toyatas they want, i would reather save my money for something more meaningful.
    Talking about logic, would anyone buy a 2006 Civic/Altis for RM100k or chose a brand new RM93k fully loaded Forte 2.0. The cuurent Forte price has in fact caused a drop in the second value of the C segment used cars.

• Very old fashion and too many skirtings which to me TYT is trying very hard. Tend to over-did it this time. Very “beng” to me. Not appealing. Forte/Mazda/Civic looks much more natural and attractive.

• Nicky Rowe on Aug 27, 2010 at 12:54 pm

Of all the brands, think! Which brands are heard to have reflected their brands grand? Read the number of recalls and which have the most? Consider that before you purchase the “BRANDS”.
    Friends…your safety should be your most concern and not brands or what ever the gimmicker adverts say. Think on these things.

• Terence on Aug 27, 2010 at 5:52 pm

Friends….. at least Toyota willing to recall, even due to small defect. Other brands??

• openmind on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:47 pm

do you think they really want to recall….???

Let me post a few questions and this is not comparing among other brands but solely based on the recall:

1. Why majority of the recall is in those countries (US, Canada, China, etc)? Do you think their strong consumer right or strict government has anythign to do with the recall?
        2. Do you think, even here in Malaysia, we are getting much better design or specification, which led to the fact that recall is not happening here? Perhaps, as I mentioned earlier, we pay double the price so, we are getting much better product.

No car manufacturers in the world will recall cars if they are not force to…because this affect cost and most important reputation…..When the facts are laid onto the table, Toyota has simply no answer to it, thus they know that they have no choice but to recall.

DOnt get me wrong, I also like toyota but I am just trying to judge this objectively.

• flizzardo_sohigh on Aug 27, 2010 at 5:32 pm

they priced the car too high

the sales of waja replacement (lancer) will kill this

• if it is too high, then it is probably not intended for those who can’t afford it. yes, the fake lancer will come soon and yes, there will ba a gazillion people buying it thinking they have the ‘real’ thing. then, it is best for them lah. for those who can afford it, then the corolla is also best for them lah. and of courselah everyone knows nobody will beat proton in sales. a totally useless statement and waste of space in this blogsite. toyota are not intending to compete with the wajalution with the corolla! :D they don’t need to.

• Lucky I do not own any Toyota, thought safe with Honda (Accord 2006). Who knows these things happened to me.
    1. 1st 2 months – change brake rotor and brake pads
    2. the following few months – vibration when braking, fed up changed 3rd party pad
    3. just after 1st birthday (42K km) – battery kong, warranty up to 40K km only and cost me RM280
    4. Just one month after 3rd years (warranty ends) – Exhaust sensor kong – cost me RM1,200
    5. 3.5 years – Rear dampers start giving “kong-kong king king” sound
    6. Lately wind noise from driver’s side door and under carriage vibration
    I assume this car served me well up to 5th year only. After that it is as bad as 3 years old proton but I’ve paid tripple the price.

I still believe Toyota quality is slightly better than Honda.

• ZAd,

In terms of built quality and parts realibility. Yes, Toyota is slightly better than Honda. I know well because i am driving “H”.

City E grade, pricetag RM90K, HM service interval every 5k, nobody complaint it is overprice?

• alldisc on Aug 30, 2010 at 11:48 am

being with toyota for a period of 5 years, frankly speaking toyota has its own share of problems.

go to a Merc or BMW service centre be there at the customer desk for an hour and we will hear so many complaints about those cars. there is no car without problem. we just need some luck, thats all.

• mata katak on Aug 27, 2010 at 6:20 pm

superbly nice design.

extremely reasonble pricing

Fantastically good resale value

All in Malaysia….

Wah……..I should have bought it like yesterdayi!!!

• autojohndoe on Aug 27, 2010 at 7:14 pm

In malaysia… for some people…

owning and buying a toyota make them feels like they are one level up than a commoners…

hoho

• john doe on Aug 28, 2010 at 2:59 pm

exactly…they only have to go up north to thailand ans south to singapore and see the worth of toyota ther….ther its treated like hw we treat proton here….

• hahaha on Aug 28, 2010 at 11:18 pm

powerful comment pin autojohndoe down, he owns a proton hahaha

• NASOPE on Aug 29, 2010 at 4:26 pm

autojohnhoe is a stupid fella, you go read all his comment in this page and discover yourself.

• autojohndoe on Aug 30, 2010 at 10:04 pm

when i ever call you stupid?

dont assume you know me when you dont…

• Yoong Tofu on Aug 27, 2010 at 8:53 pm

CVT is for mat rempit.

• petra on Aug 27, 2010 at 9:49 pm

Still like Dugong and Donkey for me….

• drivers on Aug 27, 2010 at 11:03 pm

http://www.aboutlawsuits.com/toyota-corolla-matrix-recall-engine-problems-12435/
    Toyota Motor Corps. has announced that it will recall 1.3 million Corolla and Matrix vehicles due to defective engines that have caused at least three automobile accidents.
    The Toyota Corolla and Matrix recall was announced on Thursday, increasing the total number of recalled Toyotas over the past year to more than 12 million. This latest recall came amid a federal probe into the engine problems that have led to more than 160 complaints to the U.S. National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), including at least three crashes.

About 1.13 million Toyota Corolla and Toyota Matrix cars from model years 2005 through 2008 sold in the U.S. are included in the recall, as well as another 200,300 sold in Canada. In addition, General Motors has announced that it is recalling 200,000 Pontiac Vibes, a clone of the Toyota Matrix built for GM by Toyota. All of the vehicles are equipped with the 1ZZ-FE engine and two-wheel drive. According to the NHTSA, which began an investigation on August 18, the engines can stall at any speed, without warning, and fail to restart.

• Poovan on Aug 30, 2010 at 9:37 am

Wah wah wah…posting this is like a big time achievement to proof that Toyota has problems with their cars!!! How sad can it be when we don’t use common sense and just try to bash Toyota. Yes, Toyota has its problems. Big time!!! But they had the courage to come out and say it. They really apologized. Honda had problems and had recalls. Proton have problems and have recalls. But none of them apologized. None of them bothered to come out and face it. Honda cars were caught on fire due to their issue with the switch of their power windows. Killed people too….did they apologize?? No. Then you may say, but Toyota recalled 1.3 million cars and Honda only 400K cars!! Duh, of course, because that are the numbers that are sold. Toyota sells more cars than Honda, so obviously when there is a problem with a model, the recall is done for all the cars!! No necessarily all of them are affected. A recall is done, so that engineers can check out the problem and rectify if needed. It is just a procedure.

I’m not being bias. I now drive a Camry 2.0E ACV41, Year 2005. I bought it 2nd hand but I still take it to Toyota for service even after the warranty habis. Why? Because I trust they will do a good job and take ownership of the problem. Recently, I had problems starting my car. My initial take was there was a problem with alarm mobilisor not allowing me to start my car. 2 weeks ago, I could not start my car even after 1 hour, It was around 10:30pm, I called a Toyota technician who had given me his number (this is not usual).I told him the problem and he got the Cobra Alarm guy to call me. All this was done within 3 minutes. The guy asked me to do a few things but nothing was working. Now, being the usual process, they will normally ask you to tow the car to your house or Toyota and they will see to it the next day. I infact raised a concern that I did not want to leave my car behind and I needed the car urgently the next day. The technician in fact drove all the way from Shah Alam and came over to Jln Ipoh by 11.30pm. He did some checks and found it was an issues with the starter and not the mobilisor. This was done within 3 minutes or so. I finally got my car started after that. The starter was loose, so there was a connection problem with it. He adjusted it and there was not a problem since. He did not take a single sen from me and I got to drive my car back.

My friends, this is what you call service. Customer satisfaction comes with a price. That’s what you are paying for. Yes, Waja, Persona, Forte may all look good and feel good now. All new cars should. But wait until 3 to 5years and you will see the difference. It is not the initial quality but how robust the quality is i.e. how many years it can last that is important. On top of that, remember your resale value!!

I beleive I have said enough. It is now up to you to judge!!

• cybermaster98 on Sep 01, 2010 at 9:44 am

Poovan, well said. This is exactly what ive been trying to tell these ppl. Only if u have owned and Toyota will u realise the level of their examplary service standards. There was an instance once last year when i sent my car for service at the Jalan 222 service centre at PJ. I returned the next day at around 11pm and told Toyota that i needed to have my car for another meeting the next morning. They actually stayed open till about 11.30pm just to allow me to collect and pay for my car. Only when i had left did they close up for the night. Im only driving an old Vios and yet Toyota provided me with the highest level of service.

I have had numerous good experiences with Toyota service standards over the past 7 years at different locations. I doubt if ill ever leave Toyota.

• The comments are shoot up to few hundreds within days meaning what? The grape is sour because one cannot taste it?

Those who are making their critism blindly, negative comments are showing sign of envy, jealousy. People who can afford does not care much about interest rate because they are paying hefty amount of downpayment, loan repayment..tenure, what’s up?

Futuristic, trendy and curvy shape and design are Not typical Toyota family car.

Last but not least, so many comments, so many voice, so many posting/message. What does it mean? Yes, the facelift of Altis caught people’s attention right? If you are not interested, you don’t even have to click on this link and read the entire news, right..

Just my 2 cents. The truth hurts.
    – ralf – from Lyn dot net

• MoFaz on Aug 28, 2010 at 3:56 am

i could afford it, but it’s not worth the money. i could get higher ‘class’ cars within the same price range. get it?

• then buy the car you want. what’s wrong if others want to spend their own hard earned money on something that they find as relevant to them? got class or otherwise.

they may not want cutting edge design like the fancy dual tier dashboard… they may not even find 6 airbags useful but then it is their choice. toyota has lots of service centres nationwide. the servicing may not be cheap but they still have peace of mind. maybe that’s what they want.

for those who buy other stuff… then, they have their right to do so. priorities bro, it is what’s important to them and what’s important to you. no two fingers are the same.

• canaimumbai on Aug 29, 2010 at 4:07 pm

you can afford this ah really !!?? By cash of 9 years loan ?

• Poovan on Aug 30, 2010 at 9:18 am

Please tell me what “Higher” class car can you buy below this range?? You got to be joking!!!

• alldisc on Aug 30, 2010 at 11:44 am

i think it is Kia Optima.

• High class on Aug 31, 2010 at 10:16 am

Good one Alldisc! Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

• Poovan on Sep 01, 2010 at 9:50 am

you better be joking, otherwise you will be crying after 2 to 3 years when you want to sell your optima…no resale value!!!

• kia optima??? hahahah……i’m not saying its a bad car or of any sort……but you went from atlis to optima shows your level of mentality….

oh dear……higher “class”……..

• flizzardosohigh on Aug 28, 2010 at 12:55 am

the interior is alottttttttt better than the prefacelift …

finally a contender for C segment

• “not worth for money” means couldn’t afford laa….
    if got money who care worth for money or not!!!!

• Leonardo on Aug 28, 2010 at 6:42 pm

New Altis with twin airbags = Hyundai i10 and suzuki alto! (Rm 52k only).

• a car is not judged by the number of airbags alone.

• losantara on Aug 29, 2010 at 4:06 pm

Ya he is leonaoda da vinci great great great great grandson so he is not as smart as his great great great great grandfather

• awg1031 on Aug 28, 2010 at 6:43 pm

my dad owns this car (last year model)..so far it’s a very nice car and very comfortable..soundproofing is very good i must say..i guess many complaints just because the look just not to their taste..well everyone gets to have their own view n my dad really likes the car..

and it’s not ‘owning and buying a toyota make them feels like they are one level up than a commoners’ like some stupid of a ‘never driven this car’ said..stop spouting ‘band,brand,brand’..your just suggesting that others that buy this car never test driven it beforehand and does not drive other cars..duh

• awg1031 on Aug 28, 2010 at 6:46 pm

owh, n for civic wannabes..the look of that car is like ‘ptuuuiiih’ at stock..most of u mod it to look awesome..duh

• black on Aug 29, 2010 at 6:40 am

I cant understand why do ppl buy this overpriced sedan hrmm :\

• vwtoyota on Aug 29, 2010 at 4:49 pm

I think I will go with this new Altis and to stop my dream with VW because I think the service will be an issue with Volkswagen car in Malaysia. I think Toyota had meet my match in looking for a 7 speed gear options and a double VVTI…. man.. that is loads of power. VW buy cheap and service like thru your pocket.

• paragon on Aug 31, 2010 at 1:53 pm

this is just my personal view.

servicing may not be too big of a difference as VW service every 15k km while toyota service every 5k km. perhaps if you compare VW 1 service cost to 3 times toyota service cost they won’t too far apart maybe VW only a wee bit higher.

also safety wise, you get loads of safety feature with VW especially the 6-airbags – a feature for a thoughtful dad and husband for yourself and your family.

last but not least what an awesome feeling with VW superb ride and handling and effortly shifting using the DSG gearbox.

toyota fans may not agree with me but I’ll pick VW over toyota anytime.

• azrai on Aug 30, 2010 at 8:13 am

The Star online

Friday, August 27, 2010
    Corolla safety recall in US
    Toyota will conduct a voluntary safety recall involving 1.13 million 2005-2008 Corolla and Corolla Matrix vehicles sold in North America to address some defective engine parts.

On vehicles equipped with the 1ZZ-FE engine and two-wheel drive, there is a possibility that a crack may develop at certain solder points or on the electronic component used to protect circuits against excessive voltage (varistor) on the Engine Control Modules ‘s circuit board.

In most cases, if a crack occurs at certain solder points or on certain varistors, the check engine may illuminate, harsh shifting could result, or the engine may not start. In limited instances, if cracking occurs on particular solder points or varistors, the engine could stop while the vehicle is being driven.

There are three unconfirmed accidents alleged to be related to this condition, one of which reported a minor injury.

• autojohndoe on Aug 30, 2010 at 10:14 pm

misalignment of the CVT belt will shorten the life of CVT.

This misalignment occured during the gear shift because CVT used by Honda, Toyota and Mitsubishi is single acting pulley. Means that, during gear shifting, only one side of pulley move for both drive and driven pulley.

it will better if the CVT is double acting pulley, but the problem with double acting pulley is, rigidity and consistency of giving the clamping force to maintain the friction between belt and the pulley…

• Maddy on Sep 02, 2010 at 1:24 pm

As for me..comfort comes first…sound proof….economical…7 speed…dual vvti….
    so i ve booked the car…loan has been approved to secure low interest……looking forward to launch…juz confused bout the colour..light silver or dark silver

• n00b123 on Sep 02, 2010 at 6:57 pm

Bro, mind to share what is the current interest rate you got for your toyota?

• nmadhavan on Sep 09, 2010 at 12:31 pm

got 3.25% at eon bank…got it approved almost 3 -4 weeks ago

• mine 3.2% public bank. hopefully d rates will go down at the end of dis year cos d car will only b ready smwhere in nvember i think. dats wat my agent told me

• wanttobuynewaltis on Sep 20, 2010 at 4:48 pm

eh i thought toyota got its own financial plans i.e. 2 tier plan etc2..
            cant apply kah?

• E Bear on Sep 04, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Dark silver, more rare.

• for me is a very interesting car for this toyota altis . it has a cvt 7 speed gear box,surely have more saving in fuel.but the toyota car is no very good when you are in very high speed in corner

• eddie on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:27 pm

yes, i plan to buy 1.6 altis wwith dual vvti and 120hp !! need will be power than current 1.6 with 109hp with vvti

• I prefer Mazda3 than H Civic or Altis!

Civic for lalazai dream car!

Altis for old man or Thailand Taxi

Mazda3 just the stupid front grill is stupid but the car is pretty awesome and cool!

• city likers on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:47 am

wait till honda city upgrades to this new dual vvti specs..,slicky,styloo,sexy giler..better than altis.dats 4 sure

• coolthinker on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:41 pm

think for your future ? i can only say that toyota will make the life better in your future cause it will help very much in cost saving.i try changes a lot of car like BMW,Mercedes,Honda , proton but until now the one which give me the value of money and life are the toyota cars.Proton are good but later you will in pain of the probleam given ….Dont just said something .sometimes the ungly can make your family life style brighter.

• yahoo on Jan 07, 2011 at 11:28 am

i want to buy altis 1.6….. pls give some advise

• rickkydavid on Feb 26, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Always remember dont be fooled by car models reviewed overseas that are also sold
    here. Due to different requirements they r better built for their markets.What u get here
    is generally inferior.Buying base models also compromise their quality.Its better to buy at least a model up .

• David on Jul 08, 2011 at 10:34 am

With dual VVT-i engine, the new Toyota Altis’s performance has been increased, and also the pricing has also seen a slight hike as compared to the previous version models.