Facelifted Opel/Vauxhall Corsa is a big fan of the Mazda2!

Opel has facelifted its Corsa supermini (Vauxhall Corsa in the UK), which first came on the scene in 2006. GM’s 2011 model year B-segment contender to the Polo, Clio and Fiesta gets a “sportier, expressive look” to cloak the internal updates for 2010 cars, which got new engines, upgraded suspension and retuned steering.

The facelift re-proportions the upper and lower grilles. The lower one is wider and taller to visually widen the car. In addition, a mesh grille design replaces the current horizontal bars while the chrome “wings” of the Opel logo is bigger. The German brand has also added “eagle eye” headlamps along with signature wing-shaped daylight lamps that made their debut in the Insignia. Six new alloy designs and a larger Opel Blitz logo at the rear are included as well.

There are also new fog lamp units with “integrated chrome blades” that really reminds me of the Mazda2; the green colour on the Corsa helps the visual link to its Japanese classmate too. What do you think? See the familiar smiley face?

All variants have been updated with new trim or fabrics. The new Touch & Connect navigation system has a five-inch touch screen that displays both 2D and 3D bird view maps from SD navigation cards. Features include an option to choose the most ecological route and the proposal of alternative routes when faced with traffic, even when navigation is not active. It’s Bluetooth, iPod and USB compatible, too.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1727]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hmm.. I think it looks cool! Btw, no more Opel in Bolehland??

• subhero on Nov 24, 2010 at 12:44 pm

front : mazda 2
    back : latio
    roof : new sonata.

• Mancini on Nov 24, 2010 at 3:46 pm

thumb up for you pal. you score perfect ten. aku tiru jer

yous truly
      opel cheif design team

• nabill on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:27 pm

opel implements the design alot better …looks alot nicer than the mazda 2…specially the interior…the mazda2 interior looks soo bare…

• mr_3m on Nov 24, 2010 at 5:15 pm

bare to save weight, perhaps?

• Ash Menon on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:51 pm

agreed. to me the interior of the 2 was it’s weakest design area. i kept looking at the speedometer and i was like “omg a picanto looks more upmarket than this.”

• vliam on Nov 24, 2010 at 2:06 pm

love the interior but why the yellow a/c knob in the centre.

• i think if this Opel Corsa compete with Satria Neo, the Corsa will win..
    hehe…
    The price is should be par with this two machines…if ridiculous tax is removed and hence, no one will buy the Satria Neo…

• Critique on Nov 24, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Well, I disagree… people who want a car with aggressive looks will get the Neo.. my 2 cents at least.

• subhero on Nov 24, 2010 at 3:51 pm

i think satria neo is better than this, more better if satria neo lotus

• mazda2 rebadged..lol

• Faisal on Nov 24, 2010 at 4:49 pm

yezza.. mazda2 rebadged hehe..

• Bius Dogong on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:07 pm

overall exterior looks are not their own original design.. is there any business relationship between Opel with Nissan and Mazda?

• Ash Menon on Nov 24, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Love the color! But…why is there one yellow knob in the middle…

• Jimmy on Nov 24, 2010 at 11:29 pm

See, the interior of a B-segment bread-and-butter car also can be very nice, not like the ones in M’sia(I am not talking about luxury brands like 1-series and A-series).

• Hyundaifollower on Nov 25, 2010 at 7:58 am

We can’t compare this to a Mazda 2 as they are engineered and market to different segments.
    Continental cars are designed for safety, speed and handling as their expressways could speed up to 200km/h whereas Japanese are concerned on lightweight and fuel saving.
    We should not forget their aftermarket value.
    Proton are meant for domestic and they are produced for the affordability to those who are going for point A to point B and we could see that Proton are expanding and improving (though is slow but still improving. e.g. proton inspira)

Just my 1 cent thought