Test Drive Report: Second-generation Volkswagen Touareg

After the big bang entry of the Golf TSI and new Polo, the arrival of Volkswagen Group Malaysia’s next new model will be relatively low key, and rather unexpected. The first batch of the second generation Touareg SUV is already in town, as we discovered when filling up at a petrol station last month. You can register your interest now, but we understand that sales will start in January 2011.

VGM responded to our request for a test drive with the same brown “999” unit that we spotted. It is a 3.6-litre V6 powered model paired to an 8-speed automatic gearbox, the sole variant offered in Malaysia. Despite being improved in every area (as you’ll read about after the jump) and loaded with equipment, the price is unchanged from the outgoing model – yours for RM437,283 OTR excluding insurance.

Continue reading the report after the jump.

Our short fling with the new Touareg started off on the right note. I’ve always loved the previous gen car for having the traditional broad shouldered macho 4X4 look (none of those crossover thing here) while being understated and classy. This new car doesn’t change the recipe, but improves on it. It’s big, it’s handsome, and it’s a very “manly” sort of car, for the lack of a better description. Looks like a facelift at a glance, but pore over it a little and the all new sheetmetal becomes apparent.

As expected, it wears Volkswagen’s new family nose as you’d find on the Golf. Compared to the previous vertical grille look, the new nose is meant to make the cars look wider, and this effect is truly amplified on the Touareg. It’s a very bold and proud front, with a big VW logo, large air intakes that don’t nod down in shyness and U-shaped LED daytime lights. It’s a face that most will yield to when you barrel down their rear view mirrors.

That assertive face is stuck on a muscular body. Like the old car, the shoulders stand high and broad, but there’s more sculpture on the rear section now. The body is less slab sided than before and there are slight concave door panels plus a glasshouse that narrows towards the rear (used to be square). The profile shot you see below shows the extra depth of the new look. More 3D, if you like.

The rear is immediately recognisable as a Touareg, but is less flat. The tail lamp clusters are smaller and the design switches from round to L-shaped with a dot in the middle, a look that can also be had on the Golf as an upgrade. The rear bumper has a mild diffuser-style piece with neatly integrated twin tail pipes.

The Touareg looks huge, but its footprint isn’t much bigger than before. Overall length has grown by 41 mm and the wheelbase is longer by 38 mm, but the 1,928 mm width is unchanged. The new car sits slightly lower than before too.

Test Drive Report: Second-generation Volkswagen TouaregThe big news here is that model for model, the 2,103 kg new Touareg is 210 kg lighter. That’s the weight of two very big blokes, so it’s quite substantial despite not having the old model’s aluminium bonnet and plastic front fenders. The diet programme includes the extensive use of tailored blanks, new steel suspension that’s 43 kg lighter and a lighter gearbox. Amazingly, rigidity is up by 5%, so there’s no sacrifice.

Unlike the old Touareg, this car is offered in two configurations – 4Motion (AWD with Torsen LSD, off-road programme that manipulates ABS/EDS/ASR, Hill Descent Assist) and 4XMotion (45 degree climbing ability, driver switchable 5-mode AWD system with locking differentials and low-speed low-ratio transfer case). Ours is the 4Motion, which should still be able to get you out of that construction site and climb up to 31 degrees. Approach and departure angles are smaller now, but that’s of no importance to most of the VW’s urban users.

If the outer sheetmetal went through mild evolution, the interior design takes a quantum leap. Function dictated form in the Mk1, and everything was straightforward and square without flair. The new dash is much more warm and classy, even in our test car’s all black colour scheme (there’s a dark brown option that’s very nice). Quality soft plastics blend very well with metallic pieces and wood trim, and that huge panoramic glass roof (front portion can slide open) is great to have on evening drives.

Many of the elements – four-way steering buttons, shift paddles, light dial, meter design – will be familiar to a Mk6 Golf owner. That usually isn’t a compliment, but not this time – there’s nothing that feels cheap or will make one feel shortchanged, which says a lot about what goes into VW’s people’s car. I like the “3D effect” of the instruments; the two circular dials are slightly raised from the full-colour central display, like islands.

The centre console is much less busy that before, and that’s thanks to the big colour display that groups together various functions. You can access the stereo, climate, phone functions via Bluetooth and navigation from here. There’s also a screen that shows a compass (with the name of the road you’re on), elevation and steering angle.

But the chief party piece is the Area View 360-degree camera system. It stitches together live feed from four cameras (front, rear, wing mirrors) to give a top view of the Touareg via the central TFT screen. More than just a gimmick, Area View, which works in tandem with audible warnings, is incredibly accurate (zero lag) and helpful – the Touareg is a big car and I was really thankful for it when parallel parking and maneuvering through narrow car park ramps.

It comes on automatically when reverse is selected, but can be called upon anytime via a dash top button. You can also choose the camera you want to focus on by tapping the screen, like side to see how much room from the kerb you have, or front to check out another car’s butt close up. Passengers are bound to ‘Oooh’ and ‘Aaah’ seeing how it works. Brilliant.

The Touareg’s width isn’t just felt in the parking lot. At times it feels like our lanes are too narrow, and I needed some time to get used to the size in town. But once settled, this big VW surprised in the drive. It’s very agile for something so large and is entirely comfortable being driven with gusto. There’s relatively little body roll and the steering hits the sweet spot in weight and accuracy. Personally, I like the fact that the rim itself isn’t too thick and that it doesn’t feel artificially heavy.

Couple the above with good grip and you have a skill set that’s very accessible, and more than adequate for the regular SUV driver in my opinion. While the handling may not be as genre defying as a Cayenne or even an X5, how often do you see one of those carving up back roads?

The Touareg’s ride comfort is good and you can drive the length of the NSE without tiring, but it’s not unflappable. A hint of choppiness surface on highway stretches that are less well made, and big bumps can be felt. It’s very good, and we’re nitpicking here, but it never feels as magic carpet magnificent as a Land Rover Discovery does.

The VR6 engine under that huge hood is not new, but improved. It’s a 3.6-litre FSI direct injection unit with 280 PS and 360 Nm of torque, figures that are identical to the old car’s. However, it has been updated with a new engine controller (that integrates a new thermal management system, among other things), features a more precise machining process for the cylinder crankcase, modified piston rings and weight-optimised forged pistons.

All that, plus the new 8-speed auto and lighter weight, combine for better performance and efficiency. Fuel consumption is 20% improved at 9.9L/100 km and CO2 emissions are down by the same figure. The 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 7.8 seconds, 0.8 sec better than before. Top speed is 228 km/h.

Test Drive Report: Second-generation Volkswagen TouaregIn practice, the engine is quite characterful, emitting a growly note when you extend it. Once momentum builds up, you’ll be climbing up the speedo at a fast rate, and the engine enjoys revs.

Some might wonder why there’s no DSG here but a torque converter auto. For luxury applications, Wolfsburg prefers the smoothness of a TC auto over the efficiency of a DSG. But it’s not like any Touareg owner will complain about this 8-speed Aisin 0C8 ‘box, because it’s quick shifting, very smooth and makes the right calls, so much so that I never felt the need to use the paddles. Gears seven and eight are overdrive ratios – the engine ticks at just 1,800 rpm at 110 km/h.

At highway speeds, the engine disappears into the background, leaving just wind rustle from the top section (could it be the glass roof?) and tyre roar, which can get quite loud on the PLUS highway’s concrete surface.

Other notable inclusions are regenerative braking, where the alternator will charge the battery when the Touareg is coasting or braking. VGM has ticked every box on the spec list except for air suspension, which translates to a lavishly equipped SUV.

12-way electric adjustable front seats, 18-inch rims, bi-xenons with washer, electronic parking brake, keyless entry/start, automatic tail gate and the abovementioned panaromic glass roof plus Area View are all standard. The latter is part of the touch screen RNS 850 system with navigation, 40 GB hard disk, two SD card slots, DVD playback, Bluetooth, AUX-in and 6 CD changer.

The RM437k price tag may sound steep in isolation, but there’s actually no price increase over the old car, despite the better kit count. In comparison, the entry level BMW X5 with a 3.0-litre engine will set you back RM568k. The only thing that could probably hold some buyers back is the lack of a seven-seat option, something the X5 and Discovery 4 offers. Otherwise, the new Touareg is a very strong package in the big SUV segment.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• seancorr on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:02 pm

2001 or 2011?

• Bernard Chan on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:30 pm

Volkswagen is so so so so stupid. If I can afford this car at RM437k, obviously would mean I got lots of money.

So, if I got lots of money, why not I buy a Porsche Cayenne at slightly more at RM550,000?

I get a better car, more respect in public, higher status, 4 years free service and warranty and I actually own a Porsche. A real Porsche. An actual status symbol/

• planet-green on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:31 pm

porsche is actually under volkswagen group. how can they be stupid, not all the people buy car just 4 status. btw japanese car maker still the best, provide better durability & also comfort:)

• better durability and comfort ? japanese car?..u type wrong isnt?..first time heard ppl say japs car is more durable and comfort.

• armandd on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:28 am

jap car may be more reliable, but in terms of comfort, conti cars win hands down..

• car-r-us on Feb 06, 2011 at 11:02 pm

About comfort i’m not agree…..but durability yes…japanese cars durability are no doubt one of the best….european cars are more comfortable and safer.

• firefox on Mar 14, 2011 at 7:51 pm

bro, Cayenne and touareg are same platform, same engine, but maybe a different tuning, btw, of course Porsche is the status, but cayenne brand new got so cheap meh…..? both also a good car, depending how u look on it, just like girls….hahha if u like it, proton also a status for u…

• objectivism on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:01 pm

lol… VW owns Porsche yooo.

• Francis on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:18 pm

I dont think the blame should put on VW, but to those whom set the tax on the car.
        Getting a better car will not gain respect from public if the driver drives a like a mad cow just like few months a go an idiot drives a S2000 park at “less fortunate driver” parking slot which has being shared in Facebook.

Your porsche will attracts attention, Not respect. if a drives bloody japs saloon car, hotel bellboy still opens the door for me…Jokey still parks my car..
        what makes your porsche so special?

If you say Porsche Cayenne will gain better respect,
        Well to those Toureg owner.. you can proudly says Toureg can tows a bloody 747

• Ha Gnih on Dec 16, 2010 at 12:18 am

Dude, you not making any sense. 437K vs 550K ? What if that someone can afford up to 437K only ? Can’t squeeze themselves dry just to get the extra 100K out just to buy a Porsche right ? By the way, VW is a good car brand. The Toureg especially. And yeah, VW owns Porsche. So why are they stupid again ?? o_O ?

• eeeriz on Jan 15, 2011 at 8:39 pm

Just to clarify, Porsche is currently used Toureg’s platform for Cayenne, so, technically speaking Porsche Cayenne is something like cousin to Toureg, only it’s more expensive, more luxury and more powerful!

PS/ luv Cayenne Turbo’s engine growl when traffic light turns green…

• Robert Tan on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:49 am

Such a car would only appeal to the rich. And the rich want status. Porsche gives the status.

By the way, there is no such thing as someone can just afford 437k as said by Ha Gnih. If you can afford such quantum, you can afford to add Rm100k. Nobody in their right mind would just cukup cukup buy a RM437k car.

At this pricing, this car is doomed for failure. Remember, you are not marketing to the masses. At this pricing, you are then marketing to the elite, who are generally brand conscious. These elite group want Porsche, Ferrari, Jaguar, Bentley etc.

Don’t blame the government on the tax issue. This is heights of stupidity to price it nearly half a million.

• RON97 on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:31 pm

agree. just traded-in xc90 & i picked x5 anyway got free maintenance + extra seats. love the porsche but in the form of 911 not cayenne…if u want image buy rovers, mate.

• Robert Tan on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:57 am

Cayenne is a better buy. For RM100,000 more, you get 4 years free service and 4 years warranty.

That alone is worth RM100,000 considering VW parts are super expensive.

• alamak on Dec 17, 2010 at 3:45 pm

ALL VW cars from 2010 onwards has 5 years unlimited mileage warranty.

Correct me if i’m wrong, Porsche Cayenne is based on the Toureg isn’t it?

• Reinmuster on Dec 21, 2010 at 3:26 pm

yes, they share same platform joint developed by both Porsche and VW.

Audi Q7 also share the same platform

• Ze Ber on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:04 am

Sometimes, politically incorrect becos Porsche more like playboy or too flamboyant for management. For tauke ok lah.

• gimmeone on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:33 pm

Firstly you cant be stupid to be the top selling brand in your own country. Secondly you got a sick sense of self worth…..respect for driving a porsche? happy, envy, jealousy. awe maybe but respect? ROFL

• January 2001 or January 2011?

• Duane Yeoh on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:25 pm

Erm… “sales will start in jan 2001” ?

• jflee169 on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:26 pm

“You can register your interest now, but we understand that sales will start in January 2001.” Paul, u sure is 2001? i think it should be 2011.

• Duane Yeoh on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:26 pm

erm… “sales will start in jan 2001” ?

• think sales start 2011. typo

• is this the same toureg that Richard hammond drove in one of the Top Gear outing at sweeden (season 15)?

• peeps on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:45 pm

i dont think so. season 15 is out pretty long ago.. this baby is fairly new.

• if I could afford this car, I would choose the Discovery 4 because it seats seven and much more capable off-road. The Disco is also much more comfy but heavy.

• insperut on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:55 pm

season 15 was few months back

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySYy7uNT-k8

• Reinmuster on Dec 16, 2010 at 8:59 am

The show was shown in July this year (Senna’s tribute episode). Not too long I guess.

• Yes you are right! Is season 15 episode 5 to be exact.

• yes you are right! Season 15 episode 5 to be exact!

• its danny not paul.

• RAZMAN MAJID on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:43 pm

Beauitiful Toureg indeed.

438K or 550K for basic Cayenne…

Tough decisions for 2011.

• gangully on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:46 pm

aiyoh… why you all so hard on Paul? paham paham lah…

anyways… seen one in the samebrown colour on the road WUN8600 or something like that…

• peeps on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:47 pm

oh man.. this is perfect for a family car! what a beauty. ill take this anytime over Q5.

• everything brilliant at rm400k price tag hehehe

• SoMeOnE on Dec 15, 2010 at 4:50 pm

yep thats the one dude…btw guys..paul s only human. and thus prone to typos like all of us lol…..i think its kinda obvious its NOT 2001….

• BeemerFreak on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Great car overall….. Danny, since this car is available with navigation, did VW mention that their RNS 510 navigation system will be available for Malaysia as well?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:24 pm

No mention on that, although I’m sure many GTI/Passat CC owners are willing to pay more for it

• rosdi on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:12 pm

When is the new Polo GTI coming?

• majority of Malaysian love CRV. Not Toureg. Quality and Engine Pick-up cannot match Honda anytime.

• rosdi on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:05 pm

This is the best (or is it the saddest?) joke of all time.

• handsome*dude on Dec 16, 2010 at 2:43 am

Yes, this poor s60 fellow is talking nonsense, he said that i guess he can’t even afford a CRV, so he didn’t know what he is talking~~

Pick-up cannot match CRV?

since this New Touareg done 0-100 in 7+ secs…means the CRV can do in 6+ secs ??? if so, i dun mind getting a CRV~~ hahahahaa~~

btw, the CRV sold in malaysia is about 150k, but let’s say if it can add up all the gadgets that found in this Touareg, (like the panoramic roof, all view cameras, many ways elects seats~~ the air bagssss.~the nagivation system….and all the safety featuressss) guess the CRV will cost u at least 200k above !!!

• how can u compare a CRV with a Toureg…u are in the wrong page…

• mr. you on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:09 pm

WHAT ??!!

• Please, CRV is not even in the same league as the TOUAREG.

• budleee on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:22 pm

majoriy malaysia love CRV

understood

honda quality

understood

engine pick up not matching honda???

2.0 honda vs 3.6 volkswagon??

huh?

• is this guy for real….making prank comment..should consider spam comment

• Jimbo on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:44 pm

Dude, seriously are you living in a cave? Typical (T & H) Malaysian mentality. You can’t compare apple for an apple for this one with the CRV (please lah have some sense) and may I kindly remind you this beast is far superior than a CRV (in terms of power & pick up, GERMAN QUALITY, equipment, space, vehicle class & etc) Please don’t get all typical and compare the price lah, it’s not worth it. I’m just saving you less booing from the rest of the guys. No offense intended. Cheers.

• lol, a no cure Honda- Die- Hard – Fans, why would you still come out to ruin Paultan’s forum.

• Chuck on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:43 pm

Seriously dude you must be joking about CRV has better quality than the Toureg.

• insperut on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:48 pm

LOL of the week!

• lol compare a european marque car to a normal single cam engine CR-V?Must be a honda salesman.

• alan tam on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Well think you’re comparing oranges and apples.

And did u forget the vid where the toureg pulled a boeing 747 plane?

• I owned a 2010 crv, and trust me Toureg is way better than crv. it’s just both its a different class of car.

• What? My wife owns a CRV. It is grossly underpower and always need to be kick-down to 3rd gear to get enough pick-up ;(

• Crazy Indian on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:32 pm

VW’s TSI engines are way superior to Honda’s iVTECS.Honda formerly known for it’s engines are lagging behind even the koreans.Japs reign at the top are numbered.VW’s quality is better than any asian companies but they lack the reliability

• Turbo man!!! on Dec 16, 2010 at 2:30 pm

I agree.

In terms of outright technology, germans are there at the very top.

But in terms of absolute reliability,jap is still up there. Koreans are catching up fast.

Yes, i know some of you guys have frens who know frens who has a jap car failing.

But do check out the conti forums, vs jap car forums. I know cause i own a conti. Yes some post 2000 contis do drive to 200k without issues ( the older ones are very reliabile, now ones not so much ). If thats the case with ur post 2000 conti, consider urself very lucky. Majority of us ( the rest of conti owner ) are not so lucky!!

• you use the s60 name but you are so biased towards Honda.why don’t you change you pseudonym CRV instead.it’s ridiculous to think that any car enthusiast will say that the CRV is superior to the tuareg unless you are a honda salesman.your comments are unconstructive and I may even have to change my pseudonym(which I have been using for quite some time here) as some some may mistake your silly comments as mine.have you actually driven or owned a conti before?if you have you wouldn’t make these comments.

• Turboman on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:28 pm

Agree.

CRV is NOT better than Touareg in terms of technology. Never is, never will.

• carl-over on Dec 15, 2010 at 11:26 pm

alright who let the honda salesman in?? xD

• seriously dude?

u say so because u see many CRVs around Malaysia, because it is cheaper than the tuoareg. not many can afford to buy touareg. please. CRV is not a match for this superb car. never in a million years.

Oh my god!

• Alpha on Dec 16, 2010 at 12:35 am

Dude,i drive a Honda and yeah,it’s good.but compared to a Toureg??Come on,bro!!

• bohpee on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:42 am

Dude, if u want to compare CR-V with another model,

it should be X-trail, Sorento, or Santa-Fe

Not TOUAREG!

LOL

• 2cents on Dec 16, 2010 at 5:11 am

You’re comparing a RM100k+ car to a RM400k+ car? If you don’t like what you see here, please move on.

• littlefire on Dec 16, 2010 at 8:50 am

CRV pick-up good?!? Even Nissan old X-trail at the same price can get 2.5L can smoke it like no other days.. Even 4WD system is better then it..

• Turbo man!!! on Dec 16, 2010 at 2:24 pm

Even in SUV forums, we get ppl who is interested in smoking each other.

How pathetic.

• Reinmuster on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:01 am

Toureg won Paris-Dakar rally. CRV not. The only match for Toureg is Mitsu’s Pajero.

• taufic on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:54 pm

noticed that vredestein space master

• CHONG KAT on Dec 15, 2010 at 6:20 pm

vw copy saga fl headlamp?

• look like this new touareg got Porsche Cayenne DNA

• reuben how on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:23 pm

Nothing special that can’t be matched by a lexus? At least it’ll last longer…? VW performs poorly in reliability surveys. Maybe good for corrupt taikos, High income people that understand the meaning of money will plonk for the lexus.

• reuben how on Dec 15, 2010 at 7:33 pm

eh, probably my comment might be deleted, but seriously, if you need that many reversing cameras you shouldn’t be driving…. ha ha ha. Just got one on my hybrid camry and it seems to do the job.

• Francis on Dec 15, 2010 at 8:54 pm

was that a Radical Tyre for the spare tyre which does not uses any air/pressure ???

• Danny Tan (Member) on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:59 am

There’s a supplied pump for you to inflate it before use

• Francis on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:06 pm

I see, really thought they using the new tech tyre from michelin for the spare-tyre

• Trans on Dec 15, 2010 at 9:15 pm

By the way this car is big on the outside, but the inside is no bigger than the inside of CR-V.

• Jimmy on Dec 15, 2010 at 10:38 pm

For some people, it is like choosing a Saga at RM42k vs Myvi at RM49k vs Persona RM56K; not much difference.
    So, if you have that amount of money, will you choose this, X6 (just go for X6, instead the alang-alang X5), LR Discovery, or a brand new Ninja King(LOOKS LIKE the largest/bulkiest).
    BTW what is the largest brand new SUV/4WD (in length, height and width) available in Malaysia?

• Forget about HONDA CRV!no class at all and cheap,it’s for poor people SUV!erm Honda quality?i thought same as the Proton lolx:)btw new VW Touareg is so nice and sporty,love it!

• Alpha on Dec 16, 2010 at 12:39 am

Danny,may i know if ths Touareg shares the same platform as a Q7??I knw it’s the same platform with Cayenne.

• Forget about CRV!Porsche and VW is not very big different class~btw new Touareg is so nice and sporty!

• Ze Ber on Dec 16, 2010 at 8:48 am

This is one very cool looking 4WD.

German tech n quality.

Nice but Audi has better premium image, considering this would be for upper management use of a plantation or developer or corporate head.

CR-V? entirely, totally different market altogether. CR-V sits with the X-Trail.

• Irlan on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:23 am

pricing is a bit of a joke. VW is Europe is a common car. Its like a Proton in Malaysia. Infact in Europe its like a Skoda.

You want to pay RM440,000 for such a car?

Porsche Cayenne in Europe is highly respected. I might as well spend RM550,00 and get a Cayenne.

Its so funny. Its like Honda CRV pricing their car at RM300,000. I guess the Japanese are much more intelligent than the VW distributors in Malaysia, No wonder why the grey market for VW is doing well,

• Someone on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:12 am

Vw is a common BRAND in Europe. But you must remember that their range of CARS are extremely wide.

It’s like saying: “Why should I pay RM600k for a NIssan GTR? It’s only a Nissan… right?”

Seriously, you and a few others who comment like this make me scratch my head and wonder. But of course, Malaysians love BRANDS so much, they would choose a more prestigious brand rather than a better car.

FYI, the Cayenne does NOT get respect in Europe, only around Asia. Go to any car magazine/website/forum and you’ll see comments about how fugly they think it is.

Peace.

• Robert Tan on Dec 16, 2010 at 10:51 am

strange, I lived in UK for 10 years and Cayenne is highly respected here and the whole of EU. Even Jeremy Clarkson has superb things to say.

Macha, don’t lah kelentong.

• tokmoh on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:15 pm

Since when Jezza had nice things to say about Porsche? I hardly recall him doing a Porsche review (any model you name it) without making sarcastic German/Nazi jokes!

When Richard Hammond was talking about the new Cayenne, he showed a picture of the Cayenne at night given by Porsche, implying Porsche is too embarrassed themselves to show the new Cayenne to them.

• Ze Ber on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:02 am

I think their sales figures are kind of ok.

Car magazine, etc. does not mean people are not buying.

Talk n action different.

• haha,..dude..u r awesome.. so VW sells all cheap cars? no premium? so their phaeton should be priced like a golf? so smart u.

by the way the mitsu ASX CBU from japan is 140k.
      But CRV CKD in malaysia is at 150k?

which is overpriced now?

• gimmeone on Dec 17, 2010 at 11:48 pm

like skoda? LOL. go check the prices of similiar models between Vw and skoda…..
      this is an example of mouth moving before the brain does!!! in this case hands typing before brain

• tricycle on Dec 16, 2010 at 9:41 am

If only they offer it in Diesel, VW can easily beat BMW, AUDI, PORSCHE in terms of sales. But again if only…

• Mercedes in Singapore is common too ( E class taxi ) what a joke :) but CRV is so ugly!3 rd world country love 3rd world style!haha

• if i am spending half a million on an SUV i would like something that looks better than a bread box.

the newly launched sorento looks better than this….

Porsche Cayenne it is…….for me….its got presence and character……

• if i am spending about half a million ringgit on this i prefer something that looks alittle better than a bread box.

porsche cayenne it is for me…..has presence and character

• Ze Ber on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:17 am

Nice badge.

That is all I can say.

VW ok for lower profile n to show humility.

The FC is very high but when u really need to go into slightly muddy ground and not too steep, it can do it easily.

Nice wood trim.

• Turbo man!!! on Dec 16, 2010 at 2:20 pm

i wonder whats the long term maintenence cost for cayenne vs this WV Touareg?

Parts availability?

• Jimmy on Dec 16, 2010 at 12:07 pm

X6 is the best, with formal famous distributor – Auto Bavaria (immediately recognisable, your vehicle will have it).
    If we drive a Cayenne, immediately our rich friends will THINK we drive a recond, shameful isn’t it (looks like we slap our cheeks to appear fat).

• Francis on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:13 pm

Have you watch the Top-Gear episode which talks on X6? (go youtube)
      watch it and might change your mind by saying X6 is the best but of course do not take serious Top-Gear as best-car-reviewer, you only can enjoy as entertaiment,

No doubt i must admit X6 is one of the most handsome SUV..Cheers!

• I would definitely choose this over Porsche cayenne. This VW looks tougher than the sporty cayenne, and i wouldn’t mind going off road with the VW either. As for the cayenne, it think most owners would like to keep it tucked safely in their garage rather than using it everyday.

• Reeza on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:00 pm

This car looks boring….. X6 is better. I predict the sales volume for this car will be very low in Malaysia

• eeeriz on Jan 15, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Toureg is designed to go off road in mind, X6 is only for normal roads, if go for off road, sure stranded one. Hehe

But yeah, X6 is one the most handsome SUV around.. :)

• RON97 on Dec 16, 2010 at 1:22 pm

previous post: extra rm 1k for facelift only. this new model by VW price: unchanged despite being TOTALLY NEW. yes..same price. so who is dumb? p1 supporters of course…hahaha

• keluangman on Dec 16, 2010 at 2:20 pm

If I have 450k to blow on an SUV this Touareg would definitely be the last choice of everything else in the market…boring yet expensive!

And did I mention resale value drop like hell for touareg?

• lkf0512 on Dec 16, 2010 at 5:10 pm

If you are the kind of person who can pump in 450k for a car, you would not even care about the resale value.

You will be thinking of the next car to “shop for” while driving this Touareg disregarding this Touareg is boring or not.

• Jimmy on Dec 16, 2010 at 11:17 pm

Obviously has not YET experienced spending that amount of money.
      Resale value is the last thing in the minds of people buying X6 or equivalents.
      Wish you all the best. One day maybe your turn.

• harry on Dec 17, 2010 at 10:41 am

you must be an idiot to ask for 2nd hand value of thiscar after owning it..get a life la dude..

• anafanas on Dec 17, 2010 at 9:56 pm

437k for 5 seaters?so pricey…i can get a honda odyssey/elysion/estima/alphard which is more seat and cheaper than toureg.

• Ure on the wrong page dude, they are off diff league. Its like saying why get a 437K 5 seater when the toyota avansa is 1/6 the price and sits 7. Seriously! Stop making a fool of yourself.

• Easy no money don’t buy loh~wah German SUV compared with Japanese MPV???100~300k for Honda Odysse or Estima?i can get a full spec Exora or Alza only 70~80k :)

• Za Bar on Dec 22, 2010 at 5:11 pm

Ody Esti XO n Acar……..MPV. Got one more, Alphard.

Hmmm, no money to buy but can still make comments right?

How come nobody compare with Volvo too.

This car low volume seller…….and it is much cheaper than Q7, Cayenne n X6.

Porsche n BMW have good brand presence here but VW good value.

• Ferrari n Lambo is 100 times better than Porsche and BMW!!!at least VW sound better than good brand~

• Jordan on Mar 07, 2011 at 3:25 pm

No CRV, VW, Porche even Ferrari. I love Peugeot 308. Affortable, comfortable, reliable and fashionable. That’s the Iconic car for all Malaysian. Ha….

• ChrisG on Jun 25, 2011 at 7:54 pm

my friend likes H so we went to look at CRV at the showroom in pj. the interior quality is terrible, even the accord’s. the silver plastic linings at the door handle were fading, the plastics look like it was made in kepong. For that price, it was a too much. I think if its not brand h, the selling price should be be around exora’s only!!

08 out of Malaysians love H&T, maybe bcos this group of ppl do not read, are not exposed, follow the crowd and willingly pay overpriced Jap offerings. Quality of their engines are good, but that is it. Some of you idiots even dare to compare alphard, crv, wish etc to this great Toureg? its like comparing your plastic casio/ Bonia watch (with japanese ‘movement)’ to a Breitling!

i think many of you are just jealous because you cannot own this car. Since you only like H&T, it will be only H&T for you until the day you die- because you hear your friends tell you abt resale value. Resale value for what? you trade in, you still end up with the same old shit- another T&H.

I cannot afford this car but its still a desirable, superb offering. I wish to own one one day.

• Jerry on Jul 20, 2011 at 12:34 am

Just manage to test drive this car. One word, awesome!

• manlaisu on Aug 14, 2011 at 12:46 am

where can i buy new design led head/tail lamp for my 2007 VW Touareg 3.6fsi?? is’t available? thanks