Volkswagen to finally unveil New Midsize Sedan in Detroit

It’s been a while coming, ever since news came about in 2009 that Volkswagen would be introducing its New Midsize Sedan bound for the US market, but it looks like Wolfsburg is finally debuting the as yet unnamed car at the NAIAS in Detroit next week.

Aside from the sketches already released of the car, the Volkswagen of America site has what is presumably the NMS, draped and awaiting January 10, when it will be unveiled.

Though slated to fill in the Passat slot in the North American market, VW says that the NMS is separate from the European Passat shown at the 2010 Paris Auto Show, adding that there is no common design between the two. Whatever the case, it’s pretty much gunning for the likes of the Honda Accord, Hyundai Sonata and Toyota Camry.

To be built in Veedub’s assembly plant in Chattanooga, Tennessee, the car will go on sale in the US sometime in spring, and will be the first model built at the facility. It is also due to be sold in China.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:50 pm

something tells me this is gonna be ckd

• papa sam on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Hopefull …can compete with camry & accord if coming here … price & quality

• frossonice on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:17 pm

VW design is evolving to look more like Audi nowadays. Which is okay, me think.

• Tiadaid on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:50 pm

I would like to say…obviously! Audi’s a subsidiary of VW!

• Mantra on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:18 pm

That is a sick car!
    Good for elegant people…

• Another great car that will only with high price if sell in Malaysia, even is ckd…

• i dun believe about no design sharing !
    thing such as meter, air cond knob ,steering wheel , radio set are share among all vw
    you can get a same design of meter on polo,passat,touran,golf, whatever you can name of from vw latest generation car

• shawal on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:32 pm

it all look the same to me……

• jackspeed on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:32 pm

the front will get the same vw boring face..while the back looks like taken from audi

• JasJos on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:08 pm

It looks like a passat to me. Why so much effort for something similar to a passat?

• Jaybond on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:35 pm

This is tailored for the American market, VW is doing what Toyota & Honda have been doing for years. This is going to be an all-out race to get to the top spot in the American car market.

• Faisal on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:52 pm

hmm.. sure majority cannot afford this car.. peace.

• CocoBear on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:17 pm

Wow, another generic car from the VW group. Yawn…….

• Some Audi element is present in the design. Audi is slowly losing its uniqueness because of WV.

• i can’t wait – i have a 1010 Passat and love it – the price of the new NMS will be a little lower (1 or 2 k for a similar option package) and the new V-Dub will be even roomier. after recently pricing Toyota and Honda – they are not cheap – so price should not be an issue – i have owned American (GM and Chrysler and Ford) and Japanese cars (Accord / Camry / Avalon) and in my humble opinion – my Passat is the best (performance, milage, handling, etc) car i have ever owned. i am ready to test drive one as soon as they become available.

• Fifteen on Jan 05, 2011 at 7:34 am

No, no, no. This is an American Domestic Model only car.

It’s not going places. You already have the Euro Passat.

Will the American Passat follows in the footstep of its smaller sibling the US Jetta in having lower quality and equipment counts?

• alpha0201 on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:28 am

Yes. With more cupholders. As long it’s a sedan and have many cupholders. That is the definition of American quality. Cupholders matter more than GPS.

• lalalala~~~~ on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:21 pm

front lamp look like saga FL

• NotSoDeep on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:17 pm

Hmmm … Where does this leave the Passat CC?

• tyang on Jan 07, 2011 at 9:59 am

Looks like Camaro to me