New Chevrolet Malibu leaked ahead of Shanghai debut

This is an image of the all new Chevrolet Malibu, which is said to have been mistakenly uploaded to GM’s media site. In the US, the Malibu is tasked with taking on midsize stalwarts Camry, Accord and Altima, but this new one, which will get its world debut in Shanghai, is meant to be a world car like the Chevy Cruze.

It will carry on the Malibu nameplate in the US, but in some countries such as Australia, this new model will wear the Holden badge and receive the baton from the Epica, an ungainly looking big saloon that’s way off the D-segment par. By the way, before Naza Quest took over the Chevy marque in Malaysia, GM did toy with the idea of introducing the Epica in Malaysia, but it’s no big loss that it didn’t materialise.

In contrast, the car that we see here looks sharp and contemporary, and should be an interesting alternative to the Japanese favourites, although the Malaysian D-segment is a very hostile battle ground, and a good product alone is not quite enough. Because if it was, we would be seeing more Ford Mondeos on the road. Cruze sales haven’t really taken off either, so we wonder if this would ever reach our shores.

What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tiadaid on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:07 pm

Thanks to Malaysian mentality that everything Japanese is the best, forget about getting this car on our shores. Even if tax is not a factor, the status quo would definitely remain the same.

• Dasar pandang ke Timur!

• c14man on Apr 14, 2011 at 7:04 pm

Ask people who own a Chevy and a Toyota about the after sales service and you’ll know why Jap brands still rules. It’s the after sales service that’s important.

Not a worshipper of T and H, but for other brands to catch up, they have to have reliable and friendly after sales service.

• ringtourer on Apr 14, 2011 at 10:24 pm

yeah that so called mentality didnt just pop out from nowhere, a number of factors contributed to that over the long term, reliability that got ppl to work, responsive aftersales service, yada yada. these are bread n butter cars ppl buy using brains were talking not heart , if you dont got the right stuff the status quo as you said should remain..

• clutch basah on Apr 15, 2011 at 9:29 am

Can’t share your opinion there dude, T&H no longer dominates the scene as before. You’ve forgotten the new Sonata..
      I think this car could do give serious fight given the right price and package that is.

• Beemie on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Vauxhall inspired?

• Mahdi on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:11 pm

Nice car…really an American style of car

• fuel consumoption also sure american style

• bring the diesel cruze/malibu…then fuel consumption will be better than the Japs, wt added incentive of more power & torque ; )

• DonkeyKong on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:12 pm

One of the major reasons why the Chevy brand is not so strong in Malaysia must be because of Cergazam’s incompetence as the service center provider during the Optra and Aveo days. Charging by the hour for workmanship that is often slipshod, and for parts prices that are terribly inflated compared to what can be bought in Thailand and even Singapore.

If Naza wants to be serious about making the Chevy brand competitive, they must really ramp up the service quality and lower the spare parts prices, so that people will totally forget about the bad old Cergazam and DRB-Hicom days. Don’t try and sell Chevy as if it’s a premium brand that is meant to compete with European brands.

• sepul on Apr 14, 2011 at 6:36 pm

agreed.. i read in the cruze facebook page that a lot of the owners complained how poor the services offered by Naza Quest in regards to spare parts pricng and availability and even the service centers themselves were not helping to ease the tension

I wonder what Naza is thinking about the chevy brand..

• True…true….totally agree!!!

D-Segmen especially with the big 3 are all about pricing. To break them, Sime Darby Motors and Naza Quest need to price their cars appropriately BELOW the Japs.

• yeap, need to be lower price than the establish Japs and at least on Par after sales services…

• Chevy Jelebu on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:16 pm

I think Malaysian market is too dependant on resale value.
    That’s the 1st reason…

2nd, of course about after sales service

• slum in bolehland on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:20 pm

wow such boxy and muscular that why i fall in love with american car but there none and the close one is camry before the arrival of cruze.but if this coming with a good value package maybe will consider as dream car for next to buy.hopefully

• toroto on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Hope that dis model won’t be underpower like other Chevy models n oso Ford Mondeo do in M’sia market. Pls bring in de latest engine n gearbox tech…

• Yeap, agreed…the Mondeo need the diesel TDCi, the current petrol version is too underpowered & thirsty!

• bourne on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:36 pm

inspira bumper

• rifle on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:40 pm

mali..buuu….

• Spongebob on Apr 14, 2011 at 5:41 pm

OMG…….Nice!!!

• Van the Man on Apr 14, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Want to make people fall in love with Chevy here? easy peasy. bring in RHD Camaro (if available) at the right price. And you will see people start worshipping the brand.

• Teeva on Apr 14, 2011 at 7:34 pm

The malaysian market perception is hard to change but sales is possible with the right pricing, attractive financing package, service and warranty package, and assuring after sales service.

• shawal on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Scared the drug addicts will try to steal the touch screen…!

• shawal on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:08 pm

Kia Optima Wins!

• kelah on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:12 pm

looks like opel insignia…

• Han!h on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:36 pm

it really does look great. so as Cruze & Mondeo. But, yeah, like everybody else is wondering. Will it sell?

Back then when they reintroduced the Chevy brand here in Malaysia, I recalled that other than Optra, Aveo & Nabira, Lumina is also on the plate. But, I could only see it once.

Malaysians prefer Japanese. Korean, second…

• Roocarroll on Apr 14, 2011 at 8:43 pm

I love the Chevy grill and the muscular look. I was really keen on the Cruze but they brought in the wrong version and that awful blue fabric interior. Also, Chevy’s commitment to Malaysia is questionable and their service has a poor reputation. Who wants to take a RM100k gamble on a car? Not me.

• Chevyboleh on Apr 14, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Lol. Owning a Chevy is a romantic notion but certainly not practical for all the reasons above, given by previous comments. I’m not ready to be a hero, so I won’t buy a Chevy.

• the dashboard is so old school

• Jimmy on Apr 14, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Mondeo, and especially the Cruze, are they sincere offerings?
    Cruze vs Forte 2.0….. I wonder what the strong points of this Cruze are, stiffer chassis maybe? more underpowered.

• Chevy is a good brand, but we can only dream for it in Bolehland because of the massive taxes + not really good distributor. This Malibu looked great and Camaro was my dream car but that will be impossible to see them here.

• Ya, agreed, camaro & mustang was my ‘DREAM’ car in boleh land….sad:(

• rockycar on Apr 14, 2011 at 10:37 pm

the car looks ok but must change the name first, model name is critical for people to talk about. People will ask: “Malibu who?”

• Good Luck if they bring it here…Naza is not doing a super job with chevy here…wonder why they was chosen anyway…wonder what GM was thinking too

• hard to change ppl’s mindset here..
    there are options (i’m talking about good option).. what to do

• Lim Kopi on Apr 14, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Look like the Opel Insignia … wonder if its as good…

Chevy needs to work harder if it wants to survive in Boleh land … really …

• fadzli on Apr 15, 2011 at 12:11 am

Muslim (especially me) like the design n the price, but the cross emblem me make think 100 times! most of my friends said “kereta kristian!” phew! very sacarstic

• chuakz on Apr 15, 2011 at 12:21 am

maybe the sultan of johor should be put into jail for owning a camaro then…

• Izzat on Apr 15, 2011 at 7:42 am

Its a bow tie la, im Muslim too

• Izzat on Apr 15, 2011 at 7:55 am

Its a bow tie la

• clutch basah on Apr 15, 2011 at 9:22 am

Cmon la Fadzli.. people are more educated than that. Don’t tell me their aqidah is that weak.

And for a note the logo is actually a bow-tie and Chevrolet cars are everywhere in middle east countries.. are you suggesting we are better muslims than them?

• Audi+Merc=Real Euro on Apr 15, 2011 at 9:35 am

Bro… not a nice comment……..Not all muslims think like you….

• i’m a muslim too. don’t be too narrow minded. fadzli, i think u should ban the letter “t” too.

• zoom zoom on Apr 15, 2011 at 12:04 pm

ya, ban anything that looks like a cross… like the road T junction… ban Thailand durians, ban Tom yam….. ban Tyres…. cars shouldnt have tyres cause start with T…. also ban Teh tarik….. ban Tulis, cause that also start with T… wah, my list can go on for Ten million pages, but that will also get banned cause it has Ten million pages…. hehe

• aprilcoco on Apr 15, 2011 at 7:50 am

Stereotypes don’t only exist in Malaysia. In countries like Korea, almost impossible to see Toyota Corolla, Yaris. Only Camry Hybrid can sell. In Japan, Hyundai had to pull out after selling only 15000 cars in 8 years. Anyway, look at our low salaries and high price of cars, would you risk your money on a non mainstream brand?

• 4G63tDSM on Apr 15, 2011 at 8:18 am

Agreed. If Chevy was to take off here, they have to really fix thier aftersales support and service.

Having driven the current generation Malibu, I would really question why anyone would buy the cookie cutter Camry and Accord (in a normally competitive market).

BTW, what new face? Looks like the old one….I want to see the rear end! :p

• MrDDR on Apr 15, 2011 at 9:58 am

Naza should rebadge this car so they can change the emblem. No more prejudice. :)

• bobdbilder on Apr 15, 2011 at 12:17 pm

Aiya they got lots of problem to think about than to do something about the Chevy brand. The same question I fielded about Pug’s and their servicing. Naza is a company deeply entrenched in selling Cars. Where do you send their cars for servicing during the warranty period? Can they have 3S centers for every brand under their umbrella? That would be a massive undertaking unless they franchise it out;

Chevy
    Hyundai
    Kia
    Pugs
    of less kesian is;
    Brabus
    Ferrari
    Masers
    Porsche
    not to mention
    Ducatis
    Harleys

Ideally, if they had the top 3 brands servicing done in one shoplot, then it would make economic sense. Coz they’re from Korea anyways. But I’d bet you the marques want to have it differently. Branding is more of a concern for a lot of them.

• Hafidz on Apr 15, 2011 at 12:48 pm

Some bashers would like to see Chevy to be under Kah Motor, Sin Khiong Star or Tan Chong is it?? seems so much comments on Naza Nasimudin efforts is it? hmm..

• aprilcoco on Apr 15, 2011 at 10:18 pm

Kah motors service was very crap also lah, bro. Why do u think honda took back their brand from them, they shafted their customers so much. Eh, Malaysia standard cannot make it lah, nevermind whether its kah motor or naza, Stand alone is much better. Look at Coway, after under direct korea management much better. Malaysia management sucks lah, doesn’t matter which company.

• aprilcoco on Apr 15, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Also, if i am foreign company wanna sell here in malaysia, wanna be in charge, i think with the DRB – honda relationship Honda is more of the boss thats why can still sell. If under more local control, quality will suffer. Sorry to say, but malaysia still not there. But after a few years, maybe can make it…l

• it’s just a logo… nothing much…. will someone consider about the design of the carmaker’s logo before purchasing it?

• MARISYA on Sep 29, 2012 at 8:54 am

PREFER THE ECONOMY, LONG LASTING, EASY TO FIND PARTS..LEBIH NILAI UNTUK WANG…LIKE JAP BRAND. IT TO ME..LIKE MY WISH 8 YEARS STILL OK MAA.