Castrol Magnatec “Instant Protection” campaign kicks off

Castrol’s latest campaign to highlight the benefits and workings of its Magnatec motor oil kicked off on Thursday – the Instant Protection roadshow, which incorporates Augmented Reality technology to showcase the instant protection that Castrol Magnatec offers against start up engine wear, addresses the topic in a fun and interactive manner.

The campaign highlights the point that the problem of engine wear, which is caused by friction, happens mostly during start up – conventional oils drain to the bottom of the sump when the engine is off, and that up to 75% of engine wear happens while your engine is warming up, the company says. That’s where an oil like Castrol Magnatec comes in, offering a ready layer of protection with its Intelligent Molecules that cling like magnets to vital engine parts at all times.

“As up to 75% of engine wear occurs during the critical start up and warm up phase, we at Castrol liken start up engine wear to a “monster.” Castrol Magnatec has been uniquely engineered to provide unrivalled all round instant protection so that you can be sure that your engine is protected from the moment you turn the key,” said Mark Ng, marketing director of Castrol Malaysia & Singapore.

The main attraction of the Instant Protection roadshow is the opportunity to be the first to experience the world’s first giant Augmented Reality Monster, courtesy of technology where elements in a live direct or an indirect view of a physical, real-world environment are augmented by computer-generated sensory input.

The technology functions by enhancing one’s current perception of reality, allowing visitors at the roadshow to enjoy an interactive experience of being protected by Castrol Magnatec’s Intelligent Molecule from a giant monster attack.

The roadshow is currently running at Mid Valley Megamall until tomorrow, June 19, and from there it will proceed to Gurney Plaza in Penang on July 1–3, AEON Tebrau City Shopping Centre in Johor Bahru on July 22–24 before returning to the Klang Valley at One Utama Shopping Centre on August 11-14.

The campaign will also incorporate Augmented Reality technology in an interactive online game contest via Facebook, not surprisingly called the Castrol Magnatec Augmented Reality Monster game. All you need to do is become a fan of Castrol Malaysia by clicking on the “LIKE” Castrol Malaysia button, play the interactive and experiential game to stand a chance to win a host of attractive prizes.

These include holiday trips to Hong Kong Disneyland and Singapore’s Universal Studio, as well as the all-new iPad 2 and Castrol Magnatec products – visit www.facebook.com/castrolmalaysia for more info.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kimi_ on Jun 18, 2011 at 12:35 pm

Nice girl….I prefer the right one :)

• pokcik on Jun 18, 2011 at 3:17 pm

minyak hitam yang mana satu paling bagus??antara shell, castrol, petronas???

• Nieto on Jun 18, 2011 at 4:37 pm

Too expensive lah castrol, ad here ad here, sponsor here, sponsor there… u buy castrol oil, u only help them cover all the marketing fee…

• Machi on Jun 18, 2011 at 6:25 pm

last time got lizard, now got Gozilla…what’s next pula?

Is Castrol want to involve in football and animation industry soon?

• infinity on Jun 18, 2011 at 7:13 pm

any promotion on buying castrol engine oil at the road show??

• Keluangman on Jun 18, 2011 at 8:51 pm

Castrol oil so many imitation in the market….damn scared to try.

• _xXx_ on Jun 19, 2011 at 7:25 am

I can’t understand, Magnatec made in EU, sold at Carrefour at RM79.9. This local one is >RM100.

Plz dun tell me the Carrefour one is FAKE Magnatec. I have been using it for years and very happy with it…

• Yaloh, why import 1 is cheaper then malaysia version?
      Tesco sometime sell rm85

• If the price comes with free gift of the lady at the left, surely i’m gonna buy rite now ! :D

• Jonnie on Jun 19, 2011 at 7:44 am

Why they push magnatec and not edge?

• I’m using Magnatec since 3-5 years ago as I’m using Nissan and it being recommended by the Nissan’s service centre..

As for the experience using Magnatec…just normal feeling…no x-factor…but my personal feeling also same by using Shell or Petronas oils (my previous Proton)…

I’m not sure if I’m using fake or not as the Magnatec is provided by the service centre…

I never use Q8, Royal Purple, Liqui Moly..so can’t gives any feedback on those to say ‘performance oils’…

so conclusions….no ummphhh or x-factor using Magnatec…maybe it really protect engine during the start-up…nobody knows.

• which minyak hitam is the best seller in this country? currently using shell but i want to try this castrol le

• never try..too many imitation~~

• never try..too many imitation in d mrket

• then any tips on how to differentiate between a fake & an ori castrol….taikos pls help

• I always go to their Castrol Auto Service to get/change my oil & take precautions when the price is too cheap, sometimes it is way too different than what I pay then it is a bit dodgy . Hope this helps bro!

• amonrei on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Been using Magnatec ever since i got my used SV4. Works well. I always service at the same certified Castrol Auto Service near my place.

• LeBronJames on Jun 21, 2011 at 5:23 pm

How much they charge for the oil 10-40w Castrol magnatec?

• RM122 (with labour and oil filter) at castrol AC bandar putra permai …