JPJ mulling over using one’s birthday as the expiry date for a driving licence

JPJ mulling over using one’s birthday as the expiry date for a driving licenceHands up, those of you who’ve forgotten to renew your driving licence when it has expired. I’m guessing there must be great many who have done just that, driven around for days, weeks, months even without realising that said licence is pretty much useless. The record I know of is four months, accomplished by the other half last year before she took it out one day and went oops.

Which isn’t a surprise, really. Chances are you only whip out the licence when asked to, usually by the police and at some roadblock, at which point it’s a little bit late to say oops. According to a report, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha said this was the excuse many drivers used, that they had forgotten to renew their licence, when they were caught driving with an expired one.

So, the Road Transport Department is mulling over whether to use one’s birthday as the expiry date for their driving licence. If such a system is implemented, there’s no change to the maximum duration a licence can be renewed, which is five years.

“If the holder’s next birthday is less than six months after the expiry date of their licence, the fee for the period will be free of charge,” Kong told reporters at a press conference today, adding that if the period between the holder’s next birthday and the expiry date of the licence was more than six months, the rate will be 50% of the annual renewal fee.

Wonder if that really will change things and make people remember any better. Speaking of which, have you checked your driving licence lately?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• OMG…. they forgot about people with DOB on 29 Feb……

• could someone explain the rules again please..
      tak faham:)

• umpgambang on Jul 19, 2011 at 7:35 pm

DOB 29 Feb only need renew 4 years once… at a year’s price… woah!!

• For leap year (DOB 29 feb), they will use 28 feb as the expiry date..

• last i remembered, i drove with an expired license for 1.5 years
    :)

i think this could be a good move

• xavier lert on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:39 pm

wow u terer than me…i usually renew my license after 6 to 7 month of the expiry..n i renew evry 2 years…so now dh untung few years taun….

huhu kantoi kan diri :)

• confused on Jul 19, 2011 at 5:17 pm

nice idea.. 90% chance u won’t forget it lol.

Friends: Happy birthday, dude!!
    You: Oh, s#it..!!

• good one! haha

• Well, if the G wants it to be this way, how about giving each of us a birthday present, like free road tax? Every year? Hehe..

• mat zaki abdullah on Jul 19, 2011 at 5:22 pm

i am fully agreed using birthday as a guide for this purpose.

• Just_Once on Jul 19, 2011 at 5:24 pm

For me it is a good idea….

• insperut on Jul 19, 2011 at 5:26 pm

good idea

btw… mine got expired already (checked just now)
    even it was at the same month of my bday :D

• Ash Menon on Jul 19, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Lol…Anthony, you’re going to want to revise that record. I…errr…know a certain someone who went test driving with a license that expired 14 months ago.

• autobot on Jul 19, 2011 at 5:30 pm

pas ni member2 x wish hepi besday lagi.. tp tanye kita hang dah renew lesen blom?..

• orang sibuk2 nak buat birthday party..at last lupe nak renew lesen!haha

• ahmad on Jul 19, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Oops!

• _xXx_ on Jul 19, 2011 at 5:36 pm

To solve the problem – abolish yearly fee like what Singapore has practised. Free for life!

BTW, can somebody enlighten me what are we paying RM30 yearly for?

• BeemerFreak on Jul 19, 2011 at 5:56 pm

Exactly, whats the point of paying RM30 every year? Instead tougher laws should be imposed on driving offences and a tougher driving examination to help curb accidents.

On average it takes Singaporeans 3 times before they could pass the practical driving test. We should do the same too, and give validity of the driving license for life.

Remember, the G is stupid with their ridiculous policies…However we are worse if we voted for them….

• _xXx_ on Jul 19, 2011 at 6:19 pm

ours also very …ahem tough wat? Maybe I am ..ahem.. too good so I passed skali test je….hehe

• Lamp post on Jul 19, 2011 at 7:38 pm

That’s probably because Singaporean drivers are not as good as ours… if you’re really good you can pass on first try la…

• Nizam80 on Jul 20, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Maybe yes… maybe not. Based on what my Singaporean cousin told me, aside from tougher driving obstacles, the level required for them to pass is much higher too. Speaking of our Malaysian drivers, we have our fair share of jokers on the road too.

• TFazuin on Jul 20, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Well when you have a small city state you can force people to take the public transport in subtle ways by means of higher pass rate, multiple exams levels which may include the need to pass the ability to change tyre, do a quick oil change, change a whole drive shaft, headlamp and do handbrake turn parking etc.

• dodgeviper88 on Jul 20, 2011 at 6:45 am

The answer is simple; it is not the RM30 you are looking at every but more of the license lasting only 5 years which is more susceptible to people forgetting to renew and when police catches you offguard, you know what happens next.

• Chilavert on Jul 20, 2011 at 8:46 am

for someone to buy diamond ring i guess ;p

• The driving licence shd be valid for life once you’ve passed the driving exam. If the Govt do not wish to lose the income of RM30 per year.. then just add it up to the road tax renewal fee. Problem solved.

Another thing, for citizen of Malaysia.. no need a separate licence to be issued.. Just make it mandatory to lump it up with our ICs. Less paper & plastic required – cost savings to Govt.

• Alan Wong on Jul 19, 2011 at 5:37 pm

Why can’t we have the EXPIRY of 10 years just like last time? I was lucky to have renewed my driving license many years back when I still had 2 years to go… I went to renew it for 10 years… So, at that time, I had 12 years validity…. Until now, still not expired yet. Expiring in 2014…. More convenient for everyone… I know that in Australia, driving license and passports can be valid up to 10 years…

• TFazuin on Jul 20, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Yes but people’s faces features change in 10 years, that would means a better than normal chance of fraud since a hot single 20 year old would not look anything like hot chic after 2 kids for a guy the rounded faces, the tummy means you get a good chance of being held up for potential terror suspect. If you’re white chances are you can get away from the 3rd degree terror suspect interrogation, but if you’re and indian, asian or middle eastern I’m sure it would be interesting story to tell if you experienced it.

• Why is there even a need to renew the licence? It’s the most ridiculous requirement.

• _xXx_ on Jul 20, 2011 at 9:26 am

Exactly. If a holder commited serious traffic offence, invalidate and ask the holder to surrender the license n tats all! Renew WHAT?? Anyway, this $ sucking method was inherited from our old master the mat salleh and the mat salleh themselves had abolished license$ collection in their homeland UK LONG2 AGO!

• klata-klata on Jul 19, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Why the national productivity burden of remembering and renewing the driving licenses, when that activity amounts to nothing other than just a transfer of money from the rakyat? Doesn’t licensed drivers automatically drive up sales of heavily-taxed vehicles in Malaysia suffice?

• tishaban on Jul 19, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Good idea. I know some states in the US are doing the same thing.

Now if only they enforce certain things to maintain driving standards eg. checking eyesight, retesting drivers every certain numbers of years/decades to ensure that people are aware of any new rules etc.

• drMpower on Jul 19, 2011 at 6:02 pm

They dont have anything to talk about do they? I give u some, mr minister

ban those crazy white lights aka ill fitted headlamps. they are menace to other roadusers.
    Check on LED fitted vehicle who drivers dont bother to switch lights on.at NIGHTS.
    Mulls over ministry’s jurisdictions on green technology vehicles
    draft an introduction to milage capability aka EPA in the US

i can go on and on. but this birthday thing really doesnt justify the JUSA paycheck upon u mr minister

giving too much leeway for these jokers who cant even remember license expiry date, isnt going to help the ministry in anyway. I know u should be considerate to the motor users no matter how mad their suggestions are.

Fine them kaw kaw.that gonna improve their memory immense ly. Somebody say something about singapore. Have u occur in mind that whats the penalty for little misdemours like throwing rubbish etc?

To be honest i dont know the exact number but it is huge n somesay draconian.but it works. Because the punishments are really something that hurt either the pocket or the human himself.
    My point is,if they forget to rdnew the license, fine them kaw kaw.

Its their own fault anyway. Theres a campaign working on Like to asking the authority to allow black window tint. Another rubbish thing

• kagesenshi on Jul 19, 2011 at 8:24 pm

then after it implemented …

“people” starts complaining -> makan duit rakyat~!!!!!

• TFazuin on Jul 20, 2011 at 3:11 pm

I agree saman aja, if you can drive you can remember, if you don’t fork RM300 and shut your mouth up.

They should just give the maximum RM300 fine for driving without lights, driving with a broken tail light, driving with no brake lights and tail lights, driving with blinkers in the rain, driving and changing lanes without blinkers on, driving too slow on the highway, driving with the rear mirrors covered or fully tinted till you cant see the car in front. These are all potential road hazards and let us not forget ladies driving with the rear view mirror pointed to the face rather than the rear. That doesnt include those who stop in the emergency lane but fail to use safety triangles and reflector lights. Please address these basics first.

The EPA rules may be too far fetched for Malaysia for now because we still have Euro 2M, and if you want compliance it has to be the basics of the need to have better fuels.

• aloya on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:05 am

Death sentence for drug trafficking, but every year got people hang in the gallow. So no use bro. Self awareness works

• Naz@AE111 on Jul 19, 2011 at 6:03 pm

LOL.. make a b’day date as expiry date ya.. but i will be totally agree on it, makes us remember it easily to renew our license… :)

• good move JPJ

• autobot on Jul 19, 2011 at 6:23 pm

rasa mcm rugi..skrg ni kalau lesen kita expired 9 julai 2011, kita terlupa n only renew 30 ogos 2011, lesen kita akan expired 30 ogos 2012 kan?

kalau ikut hari jadi, maknanya expired date x akan extend walaupun kita renew lewat bbrp minggu/bulan..

• awg1031 on Jul 19, 2011 at 6:56 pm

good move actually..easier to remember, that’s all..

• Serious Fast Donkey on Jul 19, 2011 at 7:44 pm

This is great! We have one less date to remember!

• why not they make it once in a life time..no need to renew once you already pass the driving license..when renew, there is nothing u get actually, unless u will coverup with insurance or ather benefit..

• transformer on Jul 19, 2011 at 8:22 pm

its not a big deal….

i hope they will catch all those lesen-terbang also… not forgetting fake driving license….. just scan, photoshops, print, paste new IC size photo, go shop laminate… DONE! Should remove all these idiot from our road…. should introduce new license format like MYKad with Chip….

• hayden on Jul 19, 2011 at 8:27 pm

for parents.. renewing their kids license can become a new gift! :)

• why not they make it once in a life time..no need to renew once you already pass the driving license..when renew, there is nothing u get actually, unless u will coverup with insurance or other benefit..

• good! my road tax also on my bday..haha

• good! my road tax also expired on my bday..

• kevinmy on Jul 19, 2011 at 9:46 pm

if u tend to forget ur license expiry date… then renew for 5 years… my cousin just have her license expired and drove for one years… only realise it when she took out purse to check something… LOL… actually we can check our license expiry date at JPJ’s website… but who bother and so free go to check???

• u can always take out ur license n check it there itself.why bother wan to make a website for that? later ppl will complain about ‘makan duit rakyat’ lagi…

• I’m bother to check at JPJ website.
      Sometimes I checked my friends and family driving licence expiry.
      I have a full database of my friends IC number.
      haha…

• i dont agree!!!.. how to find reason if caught next time???? now very easy, aiiyyyooo forget laa encik….tak perasan laa encik.

better just abolish the license… and the ministry too.. and gov too.. since malaysian always condemn gov anyway. all malaysian need is political parties, they too obsessive with it.

• T4VR-Ralph on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:56 pm

the most stupidest idea I’ve ever heard.

and i just forgot that 3 months ago was my birthday :-p

• Tombakemas on Jul 20, 2011 at 10:54 am

Not stupid idea…. it is good idea, but if you the one cannot remember when is your birth date… sure something wrong with you… go to doctor and check :)

• tongek on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:37 pm

rugi lah govement…polis… if u know what i mean

• madee zahari on Jul 20, 2011 at 1:54 am

why is this stup id policy? don’t u (mini ster) have something important to think? if u want to change, make it lifetime or free. then make a license as good as doploma certificate. no charge for that piece of paper but the real charge is the courses/classes fee required to get those license. regulate the courses/classes in a way that could produce a really qualified driver. refresher class for every 10 years/5 years.

• exJAVANESE on Jul 22, 2011 at 1:43 am

Haihh…dude!
      today no more free laa… oxygen also u need to pay on the judiciary day…

• I just don’t understand the logic behind the proposal – as though government has nothing to thing. It is very simple, just make everyone pay once and free for life! Very simple – no need to visit JPJ to renew license. Simple.

• azrai on Jul 20, 2011 at 7:32 am

Got alzheimer. Birthday also forgot. Name also cannot remember. :-)

• exentric on Jul 20, 2011 at 8:00 am

Not a bad idea. One thing for sure is, people will lose their main reason for not renewing their license. So, more saman. Padan muka I’d say.

Me myself, I renew once a year just because there’s a good change of forgetting if I do it for anything more. Annually seems a lot easier to remember. All I need to remember is the month of July is month of renewing and open up my wallet when the month comes to check the actual date.

• keropokmoni on Jul 20, 2011 at 8:03 am

kedai kek mst buat offer: beli kek besday anda & FREE renew lesen! (tp utk kek 3 tingkat je la wakaka)

• wackojacko on Jul 20, 2011 at 8:54 am

my mum was driving around for over a year without a license….beat that

• Leonardo on Jul 20, 2011 at 9:31 am

Good idea – especially when you are past 50s!

• The first thing I did after reading this article is took out my driving license to check.

Phew! I am still a “legal” driver. Hahahahahaha!

• Samuel Schick on Jul 20, 2011 at 10:15 am

great, my license expired for 6 months.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 20, 2011 at 10:56 am

Best solution is pay a lum sum valid for life, then incorporated into IC. So, 2 in 1 solution you get, free of hassle to remember and go to post office/JPJ to renew license.

• Wisdom on Jul 20, 2011 at 11:01 am

They better think of what does value added services can be given to malaysian when paying rm30/year.

At least they have to come up to some simple competency test (eye test, fitness) when we’re renewing license. Show to us that they really use the money on something useful.

• fazzurri on Jul 20, 2011 at 5:55 pm

That a great idea.. Just afraid if someone which have “big cable” propose ur idea to minister but all medical check up must be done by one company only like PUSPAKOM

Haiya.. I have no big cable la..

• Factory fitted and properly aligned HID lights are the way of the future. Please target your comments at those with improperly modified cars. Majority of HIDs seen on the road today are actually stock on Conti and high and Jap cars, and hence LEGAL as per JPJ.

• Raymond Yap on Jul 20, 2011 at 11:45 am

drivers should view a driving license as a privilege…
    it’s not too much to ask the drivers to remember…
    after all, you open your wallet/purse almost everyday…
    isn’t your driving license in it too???

as for JPJ, it’s a very stupid suggestion to make in the first place…
    why can’t they follow the Immigration Dept…
    they recently sent to me by mail a reminder that my passport was due to expire…

• Recently JPJ did the same thing as Immigration but due to lacking of gov fund. This mailing remainder service is stopped without any reason.

I think gov agencies such as Immigration and JPJ should come out with new idea to inform the people when their licence and passport will expire like SMS and email.

• you people not aware of mySMS..
        register there then you will automatically get reminder for your license/roadtax expiry date

• Malaysian attitude is pathetic. It is YOUR licence and therefore it should be YOUR responsibility. The government would be wasting a lot of money to remind each and every driver — and I’m guessing — every day! How many drivers are there in Malaysia? How many different expiry dates does JPJ have to keep track of? So it is NOT a stupid idea.

It just shows that Malaysians are LAZY and they want everyone else to do whatever they should do for themselves.

• License expiry on birthday has been implemented in the USA for many years already…
    It is a good move…

I would also think that you should sit for a one hour refresher video session once every four or five years, whre you will be shown new laws and regulations and driving ethics. That can be done at JPJ’s office as well..

• While I foresee tat setting birthdays as the expiry date will help a bit, I still cannot see d logical reason to renew our license in d 1st place.

Reason is not tat we’re required to perform health checks or some refreshment driving course before we r certified to drive for another time span anyway, rite? In practice, its more like paying an annual $$ just to hv another laminated document together wit d original licence in d wallet.

• if this works, next time when uncle traffic cop wishes me my birthday, i’m gonna know it’s gonna be a BAD day haha!

• kamaji on Jul 20, 2011 at 1:14 pm

O.k not a bad idea, so when or just another cakap2 only.

• Firman on Jul 20, 2011 at 2:13 pm

If everyone renew driving license on the day of their birthday…they can celebrate all together their birthday party at JPJ office. JPJ should sponsor the birthday cake. Hehehe!

• Simon H on Jul 20, 2011 at 2:20 pm

I think rather than complicate things, why dont they allow a week for the individual to renew if they are caught with expired license? Also, renewal of license made from the date of previous expiry. That way, drivers wont gain anything from deliberately delaying (if anyone would do that). The gov can impose a fine if expired license is not renewed after the notice period. I don’t think its fair to fine someone for expired license because its pretty normal for people to forget things like that. Come to think of it, I’m checking mine now :p

• black king on Jul 20, 2011 at 4:15 pm

don’t understand about the 50% annual fee. my birthday is on november..n my license expire on February 2015. so i need to cancel my 4-years-more license, and renew it during this year’s birthday, with 50% cut? rugilah

xpaham~ =,=

• is a driver’s responsibilty to remember license expired date
    not to rely on birth date!
    anyway still a good way to remind those ppl who always forget

• is driver’s responsibilty to remember the license expired date
    not to rely on the birth date
    anyway still a great way to remind ppl who always forget the date

• fazzurri on Jul 20, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Yes, Singapore is well ahead in term of economy and such, but in driving?? Meh..
    They just know how to drive fast with their big car on the highway only.. We Malaysian on the other hand can drive fast and at the same time avoiding lobang on road, mat rempit on your right side, mat potong cue on your left side and slow driver in front of you. And we just using tin milo car only..

• transformer on Jul 20, 2011 at 8:34 pm

just dare this Gov to intro new License(with Chips), many aunty and makcik will off the road… less traffic jam…. especially in KL and around schools…. they even drive huge car like Alphard but they cant even park properlly…. sucks….

Let see how many more years before a new format will be introduced…?
    54years Banyak Naik nation already….

• crap…they should go and revise other outdated ruling such as the car tint…etc

are they going to put higher fine to those who still forget to renew their license – they say i forgot my DOB…..

• Terrius on Jul 21, 2011 at 3:17 pm

License is a piece of “laminated paper telling reminding you please pay or you cannot claim for accident and an immunity to meet the cop for a refreshing kopi-o session”.

Please look at the format to get your license. 1 ceramah session for around 5-6 hours, 1, 50 question test (which include of some abolish/obselete signs where you don’t see it nowadays).12-14 session of driving in a mini kancil 650c.c.(max speed 60km/h cause, brake pedal on the other side of your seat). another 5 hour of crap talk about safety where teaching how to respond to emergency *if any. If you still could remember what is 12sec, 4 sec or 3 sec… still, accident happens. End of day, Pay and sign for a piece of document. 2 year P(rofessional) license. $$$

End of day, yeah! You get to drive your style with your “lembu-begini”,”fur-lari” and etc with 1.6 Wira-lusion, Waja-evo and etc. Betterstill, autotrans vehicle. P-R-N-D-2-L. coming soon in the law saying you’ll learn driving automatic. What are the license for? Keep in the pocket till expired. Piece of art.

• democrazi on Jul 21, 2011 at 11:05 pm

Idiots… imagine an idiot driving with an expired license(2.2million of them out there) , caused an accident and killed your loved ones (spouse, children, and parents).
    Not only that people die, you don’t get compensation from the insurance for the death, disability or damage…..
    Such an important document and people make fun of it. Someone i know died like that and do you people think its worth it for him to go like that? Renew your god dam license cos it only cost 30 bux a year. Idiots!

• Terrius on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Even if he renewed his license, can he avoid that accident? Can he make differrent to changes the outcome? This is not about the RM30 matter. It’s all about the SYSTEM.

If you have a matter of claiming compesation, it is the problem of the insurance policy. NOT THE LICENSE which you brought up in this case. Insurance use all sort reason to reject claim. If not, sue the fellow for negligent driving or consider murder depend how the judiciary court’s decision.

This is due to the way people getting license is linear and not proper enforced. That’s why accident happened. That’s why “idiots” can drive on the road with decent people. So, who you wanna blame?