RAC Future Car Challenge Brighton to London: Proton wins two awards, Gordon Murray T.27 is overall winner

We’re in London now where the RAC Future Car Challenge 2011 finished yesterday. The 64 cars, which included the best electric powered and alternative fuel green vehicles around, started the 92 km journey from Brighton to London, where the challenge ended at Pall Mall. All contestants then drove to a blocked off Regent Street, where the cars of tomorrow parked back-to-back to with the cars from the good old days.

The vintage cars, some over 100 years old, were in town to participate in the annual London to Brighton Veteran Car Run, and got plenty of attention from the locals and tourists alike. Even better, many of their owners were dressed to match the period in which their cars roamed the streets. A sight to behold, but also much white engine smoke to inhale!

A gallery post on that when I return home. After a few hours to collate the results, we all gathered at the prize giving gala dinner at the RAC’s grand old building in Pall Mall. Our table, the only Asians in the room, had plenty to celebrate, after it was announced that Proton won two awards – the Most Efficient Multi-Purpose Car (Prototype) and the Best Overall Extended-Range Vehicle (E-REV). Both were courtesy of the Exora REEV. The Best E-REV award was shared with the Toyota Prius Plug In Hybrid.

The Best Overall Entry award went to the Gordon Murray Design T.27 Electric Car, which also won the Best Overall Pure EV award and the Most Energy Efficient Small Car (Prototype) title. If you don’t know, the flower shirt-loving Gordon Murray is the designer of the legendary McLaren F1 – the man drove his own creation, and you can find him in our gallery. Also spotted at the race were Damon Hill and veteran motoring hack Steve Cropley – regular Autocar readers should know the latter.

Another big winner is the already on sale Nissan Leaf EV, which won the Most Energy Efficient Regular Car (Production) and the Best Overall Vehicle On Sale today accolades. The best ICE vehicle went to the Mini Cooper Diesel, although it didn’t have much company since most were EVs or E-REVs.

Earlier in the day, we were at the Pall Mall finish line to greet the cars, and the Persona REEV was the first of Proton’s three entries to cross the line. Driver and lead engineer of the Malaysian assembled effort, Muhd Zulfadzli, was very happy with the drive. Their strategy worked to perfection and they arrived with 8 mins to spare. The Wankel engine kicked in for 4.5 mins after the car exhausted all its battery charge. As comparison, last year’s winning Exora had its generator running for 34 mins.

Unfortunately, there were some problems with the data collected, and the Persona wasn’t included in last night’s results, which is a shame. It wasn’t Proton’s mistake and the team is gutted, to say the least. It will take two days to repair and “unscramble” the data, apparently, so there could yet be more good news. We’ll see.

The Saga EV had a closer call. Driven by Noamaan Siddiqi and assisted by Datuk Zainuddin Che Din, Proton’s Green Tech Dept director, they arrived with just 2 mins to spare, and with 0% charge left. It didn’t help that they started with just 80% charge (to give the other Protons more juice) and the traffic in downtown London was busy. The Exora REEV arrived last, just in time.

“I am overjoyed, to say the least! We were surprised with the Exora REEV victory last year as the Best E-REV Vehicle and we were determined this year not to take that victory for granted. So, for Exora REEV to come up victorious once again this year, with two more additional awards to its name is truly a remarkable achievement for Proton.

“The fact that we are tied as the winner in the Best Overall E-REV Vehicle category with another world class automotive manufacturer speaks volume about our standards and capabilities in this field,” said Proton MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin of the result.

I think that it’s very unlucky of Proton to not have won more with the Persona REEV, but the fact that the team is not entirely happy with two awards in a challenge featuring the world’s best green vehicles, shows that the company is on to something here.

It proves the point that Datuk Zainuddin Che Din was making in an earlier briefing – green vehicles is a new and level playing ground for all (although some do have mega budgets), and with EVs, Proton and its partner Frazer Nash is up there with the best, instead of playing catch up like in the conventional car arena.

On a different note, I also noticed that the loud noise reported in our exclusive Exora REEV test drive report from last year has been silenced. Read that one here, and our first drive of the Saga EV here.

Well done, boys and girls! Gallery from the start and finish lines are after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• delio on Nov 06, 2011 at 10:27 pm

persona parked next to prius????hahahaha…….

• the Persona really should had win!
      aiyaa tak ada rezeki…

• looking-good on Nov 07, 2011 at 3:33 am

“The Best E-REV award was shared with the Toyota Prius Plug In Hybrid.”

Prius is well-known, and yet proton get to stand right next to it, now that is some awesome achievement i should say.

so proton, hope you gonna give us the best to the home market, not like only the oversea models get the superb specs of the same car..!

• research on Nov 07, 2011 at 7:47 pm

jgn cakap banyak cepat2 jual tengok ade ke orang nak beli. lagi2 dengar harga saga reev pun dah melampau-lampau sampai 80k lebih. ape cerita?

• noname on Nov 07, 2011 at 10:27 pm

ko nak harga brapa?? 50sen 2 ketul?

• sebab ko lol research pertama ko ingat bateri tu murah ke pakai bateri aa kat kedai, ko g tgk discovery lah research, motor yang pakai tu ko ingat beli kat tamiya ke. casis main mcm kete rc erk patut lah ko banyak research.. sedangkan prius n other ev car pun dah sekian mahal … kalau ko tak suke ko dok diam.. research jer rebadge ko tuh

• rally_fan on Nov 08, 2011 at 4:04 pm

EV cars currently in the market in the UK.. nissan leaf, about 28,000 pounds.. and peugeot Ion, about 26,000 pounds and thats after the UK govt incentives.. these cars will never be cheap currently. and we shouldnt expect them to be a whole lot cheaper just because its proton who have even smaller volumes than the other 2 big boys.

like all new technology.. it will certainly get cheaper in the future im sure.

• rush hour on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:15 am

whose fault is it when proton cannot sell in volumes? proton should have been more aggresive in marketing and make cars that comply with international regulation (safety & emission) and what people want (practical, reliable, fuel efficient) rather than make cars according to what the MD likes (remember tengku mahaleel and the failed gen2? no glovebox, poor interior finish, poor mid range power – that even this model was ranked low in theft cases. pencuri pun takmaoo..

• Is Lotus helping ! anyway still prefer other brands …

• HirumaKecil on Nov 07, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Dia mai dahh.. Dia maiii dahhh.. Jenis ketegaq x leh nak terima hakikat ni payah la.. Dok terang pi la seribu kali pon tetap x paham2…. Lotus3… Yg tu ja modal dia.. Suka hati la nak buat apa pon.. Dah Lotus tu Proton punya.. Kalo x guna rugi la beli.. Proton guna lotus apa nak malu.. patutnya Nissan ngan Porsche la kena malu sebab depa ni pon guna khidmat Lotus… Buta alam sungguh… Kalo hati busuk tu memang xleh nak buat apa la… kalo Proton menang Car Of The year pon nanti keluR Lagi isu Lotus ni…

• read from start until end

it take almost 5 decade for korea to develop their auto industry since end of korean war..n 3 decade from it to make their industry the best..our industry less than 3 decade cant we give they a chance…we r not chinese company that have so much money to shortcut..gov do help with money but not that much

• Hoochiez on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:19 am

KZM, dont think your info on Korean automotive industry is accurate.

The Korean automotive industry commenced in 1962 by the Automotive Industry Promotion Law. The South Korean government, by imposing an import ban on completely built-up (CBU) vehicles, protected the local market for the Korean chaebols chosen by the government to participate in the industry.

At first, the government allowed only one assembler in order to achieve economies of scale. The first assembler authorized was Saenara, then Shinjin. However, due to complaints from those left out, in 1967 the government licensed two more producers: Hyundai (a joint venture with Ford) and Asia Motors (a joint venture with Renault) and in 1971 Kia (a joint venture with Mazda). The Korean producers were supported by subsidies and preferential tax treatment from the government. The local parts and components production was also supported by the local content requirements.

However, the government did not get involved in R&D activities in the industry, leaving the task to the producers. By 1997, Korea became the world’s fourth largest automobile producers. Hyundai, its number one producer, has increasingly solidified it competitive position in the global market and achieved a
        significant degree of technological independence.

So, KZM, got 50years/5decades ? More like 35years… How long P1 need ?

Period.

• sukasuki on Nov 08, 2011 at 2:33 pm

then we shud follow Korean style, ban all imported cars. no more toyota, honda etc. ada berani??

• Hoochiez on Nov 08, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Sukasuki, i think it’s best u remain under your tempurung. Memalukan sendiri with such imbecilic comments.

Have said many times before, there’s NOTHING WRONG with applying PROTECTIONIST INDUSTRIAL POLICES. Most importantly, it must yield RESULTS (i.e. industry growth, economic enhancement) at the end of the day.

Look at KOREA’s automotive industry TODAY.
            Look at THAILAND’s automotive industry TODAY.
            Look at our PATHECTIC automovtice industry TODAY.

Anything else you wanna say ? Typical P1 cybertrooper thrash.

Period.

• rush hour on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:31 am

actually, malaysia went stray off vision 2020 path. we are suppose to have 70 million population in 10 years time, but somehow since 1990 to now our population increased to only 10 mil ppl from 18 mil to 28 mil.

we are 3 times bigger than south korea, but somehow we only have half of their 48 mil population. therefore we loose in economy of scale.

this is reason proton still cannot survive to withstand real world market test.

hyundai and kia companies began long time in heavy industries but their actual involvement in carmaking was like only 10 years earlier than proton, hyundai learnt from mitsubishi (powertrain) and ford (their first sonata @ stellar based on ford cortina) while kia learnt from mazda (the earliest model Kia Pride based on Mazda 121, and continued to use Mazda powertrains for their Shuma/Sephia/Mentor models as well as Sportage.

• Wisdom on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:00 am

U’re successfully contradicting yourself….

• rally_fan on Nov 08, 2011 at 4:12 pm

the difference you forgot to mention hoochiez, is, hyundai has existed as an engineering company since the 1940’s… same with Kia.

when proton was founded in 1985.. it not only meant the start of a car company, it meant the start of heavy industries, engineering..etc. etc. etc. in our country, whereas the koreans were already involved in these industries after WW2. so when the koreans went into cars as you mentioned it.. they already had a long history of the sort of industries necessary.. we came off the back of an agriculture based economy. call it what you like.. it is not the same.

proton might not be the best company around at the moment, but it did help kick start many things that help other industries today that didnt exist before then.

• Daniel on Sep 26, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Hmm…its been more than a year since the REEV Exora was made public. I’m still waiting for the production model lah. Anyways, we will wait…I won’t patronize import cars for 1 simple reason, its not a national car and its bad for the national economy. As for now, I’ll take the LRT/KTM when fuel & toll is expensive…no problem doing that. 90% of West Europeans & Japanese take public transport for daily travel…and obviously they are 1000 times more efficient than a Prius hahaha!

• normal_user on Nov 08, 2011 at 8:32 am

Well, its also parked beside a Chevy Volt. Note that the Persona’s butt looks better than the overblown butt of the Volt & Prius (tho its lacks aerodynamic compared to the duo).

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 08, 2011 at 3:13 pm

Power generator uses:
      – diesel – pollutes the air – fossil fuel
      – gas – same as above – scarce in nature and depleting
      – coal – environmental not friendly, depleting
      – hydro dam – how many habitat needs to be destroyed to build a dam

If use petrol car, u pollutes instantly………….but if u use e-car, u pollutes upfront…..which is worse……

so guys, back to square one of using bullock cart and wind catamaran as a mean of transport…….bye bye train, plane……

• Jimmy Dean on Nov 08, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Have you heard of the this term called efficiency? Electric motor efficiency is over 90% while the internal combustion engine efficiency for typical 4 stroke petrol engine is just around 25%. What about the power plant? The gas turbine thermal efficiency is about 60% and it’s much easier to control emission from a single source (power plant) compared t thousands on the road. Electric car has no tailpipe emissions. Bottom line is, the electric vehicle allows for better conversion of energy from the source, therefore less emissions. Even better if the electricity source is clean, renewable type. So, by not reading and upgrading your knowledge before commenting, you are making yourself sound like an idiot… upfront and up yours of course.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:13 am

Oppss, sorry for being too macro since there’s a lot micros scientist who had read thousands of books and upgraded their knowledge from their quantum memory.

ALL GUYS : MAKE SURE YOU DO YOUR READING BEFORE POSTING !!!! OR YOU WILL BE MAKING YOURSELF SOUNDS LIKE AN IDIOT !!!!

p/s I know who you are, dont hide under other people’s name…..show your true colors la!!!!

• Jimmy Dean on Nov 10, 2011 at 9:05 am

Whatever, I actually work on EVs for a few years so I know my stuff… nit just from reading books, but actual hands on design, fabricate, install and testing. If you really know me, why not we meet up and talk about cars and other things?

• That’s true. Maybe in the future, fusion power will solve the energy crisis and it’s much cleaner too.

• jay8393 on Nov 06, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Now who says Proton don’t make good cars?

• LatukBandar on Nov 07, 2011 at 12:44 am

Yeah! Since proton makes good car and won so many awards, it is time for proton to compete in the real world without any protection.

yeah, proton is the best. proton is better than toyota, honda, kia, hyundai, vw… so many awards won by proton, surely this can translate into sales right?

Proton’s slogan is dare to challenge, right? time for the tiger to roar, no more miao miao.

• TFazuin on Nov 07, 2011 at 5:22 am

Protection is there in Japan, how else can afford to grow food in the most expensive country in the world. They may not have protection for manufactured goods, but they protect their fisheries, their agriculture and their technology. They give far greater subsidies for agriculture and livestock. The same for EU and US.

I’d love cheap cars too, but I also want our mechanics and labourers to make as much comparable to the US and EU counterpart. Since our country is so small and densely populated and asians have a great affinity for cars, I doubt that would happen.

• Since we’re at the subject of protection, maybe you can also extend the call to remove the protection from the banking, education and building industry among others. I’ll also suggest for you not to stop there but to go worldwide by calling all government in the world to remove all protection given to their industry.

Then, hopefully all will be competing in an even playing field.

• TFazuin on Nov 08, 2011 at 4:54 am

There is no such thing as a level playing field, you remove the convetional quota by value and quantity. The creative ones the invent ISO standards, sustainability “GREEN” development when they already cleared all their forest and trees to plant soy beans and wheat.

They build banking and commodites cartels. Even better yet they trade in futures to control the business after getting too much effort managing the risks of production. That is why the ordinary people are camping and sitting in NY to demand a change in the way we trade.

Do you know for barrel every oil extracted form the ground, there are 10 imaginary barrels being bought and sold daily for profit? What does that make your actual prices of oil?

They still go back to the goverment when their business is in deep shit and ask for a hand out. There are businesses that aren’t even GLC but because they deal with banking, healthcare and essential services, the government couldn’t just turn them away.

• hoochiez on Nov 08, 2011 at 8:16 am

How about remove NEP first ? Sudah berapa tahun dah ? Boleh tak ? Period.

• Hoochiez on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:23 am

Yeah…Let’s start by removing the archaic policy called NEP. What say you DUAN ?

• akina on Nov 07, 2011 at 9:13 am

jeles la tuuuu!
        busuk hati

• you want me to start with korean car industry story once again?

• research on Nov 07, 2011 at 7:49 pm

hahaha these proton supporters don’t dare to take up the challenge!

• ‘ proton is better than toyota, honda, kia, hyundai, vw… ‘ i don’t get it and that thing will never win 1 of them ! i mean even their Toyota, Honda, Kia, Hyundai and Volkswagen cheapest A segments cars quality is still so much better than that thing highest class segments car and the logos sound safety and better :)

• bobdbilder on Nov 07, 2011 at 6:03 am

Yes they do. The future is bright not only for energy consumption and emissions but also on the country’s economy front. Empowering local people to choose between an expensive imported product and a home brewed one that provides more income to the local people.

We should be careful now. In their efforts to protect internal combustion engines, developed countries will focus more negative influence on countries like us. Countries that dare to challenge the status quo. They will flood us with predictions of failure of the electric revolution. If they haven’t already done so.

It is wise for us to shift through the rhetoric and remain steadfast. The goal of empowering people and country should cast a strong beam to lead us.

• Stealth on Nov 07, 2011 at 8:10 am

U sure Proton did all those? At least Prius did something themselves that is selling so well commercially. Proton only get the European to help putting in something that can’t sell and just for the sake of winning competition. So what’s next? Bring back the car and tell everyone, Malaysia Boleh! And all those Proton supporters will rejoice and say yah! Malaysia Boleh! Kerajaan bagus!

• stupid basher.. u think every PROTON supporters support GOV izzit!! fucking looser!!!

• Feast on Nov 08, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Please la…Who are you to call people stupid? Everyone have their own opinion here. Shall I call you stupid for posting this type of comment here?

• Feast on Nov 07, 2011 at 8:31 am

Election coming la…..buy the best battery, pay that Mat Salleh 5 million for his expertise no problem. Asalkan menang election.

• lepanther on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Proton use other people’s technology la. Since when we use our own local engineer’s talent and brain ah? When? Last time copy Japan’s brains. Now copy German’s brains. Just like that rocket-man using Russia’s rocket and say “Malaysia Boleh!” Really boleh la. Tipu sendiri, ingat sendiri banyak pandai. Engineer sendiri pun tak pakai. Pakai German engineers, beli kerata Jepun, letak badge sendiri. Hahaha. That’s Malaysian technology. The best in the world.

• rush hour on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:41 am

true. true. our, oopss.. P1/P2 engineers are lacking of passion in car making. they only have good theoretical knowledge.

and the best to come out from them are bodykits.

• Wisdom on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:17 am

I believe your are the ‘reinventing my own wheel’ type……

• Danny,
    do you have more info on the Range-extender Proton??
    I’m curious how it fares in the real world.

What is the best possible mileage if it runs continuously without stopping for fuel/charging?
    Will the petrol engine be able to recharge the battery faster than the rate the electric motor depleting the batteries??

Thanks!

• Wisdom on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:27 am

Guys, this is the type of comment that is very constructive. Got just enough points, factual, will make the owner (in this case, Proton) eager to answer with facts and figures without demoralizing them, plus they will try their best to deliver more than expectation.

Some of us might have good intention by condemning Proton here, with hopes they will improve. But bashing is bashing, kinda uncivilized response from a bunch retard. Makes the foreigners laugh seeing Malaysian kidding their own product and portray Malaysian as uneducated nation.

I prefer XxX approach…..

• Wee Feng on Nov 06, 2011 at 10:49 pm

Really proud for our Malaysian team we won 2 awards that say something to Malaysian engineer actually are talented. New world order to Malaysia automotive are now moving forward. Please Proton for next segment car Emas and Tuah concepts produce quality car so that it could silent the critics. May the best for Malaysia automotive! From: Exora owners.

• civicEK on Nov 06, 2011 at 11:09 pm

wey apa ini? team power window rosak pun boleh menang ka? kah kah kah :D

*sarcastic mode on to all proton basher*

• Congrats Proton!!

• Raja Iskandar Shah on Nov 06, 2011 at 11:31 pm

congrats proton. btw, were there any other 6 seater rev ? would probably make for a really good cab – replacing the london black cabs. a unique proposition.

• Cucukman on Nov 06, 2011 at 11:32 pm

Kini ku menawan dunia
    Telah ku gagahi pawana
    Menung dan khayalku bukan lagi sekadar fantasi

Kini ku dipandang dunia
    Telahku langkahi hampa dan lara
    Dan ternyata kan ku
    Menjangkau sejauh jua

• sagatron on Nov 06, 2011 at 11:39 pm

wow…..this is awesome!!!!!proton exora won 1st place among other famous brand………….im proud to be malaysian!!!!!!!!

• :)

• Gajen on Nov 06, 2011 at 11:44 pm

congrats proton!

• Nissan on Nov 06, 2011 at 11:51 pm

just check RAC official entry list, only 6 entries for the E-REV from three manufacturers – Proton, Vauxhall Motor and Chevrolet Europe with 2 entries for each manufacturer. correct me if i’m wrong.

http://www.futurecarchallenge.com/downloads/2011-downloads/Entries%20-%202011/2011%20FCC%20-%20Official%20Entry%20List,%2002%20Nov%20(FINAL).pdf

• so?

• gomok on Nov 07, 2011 at 12:39 am

Nissan no ball to participate…..hahahha

• Yes, but there is a Nissan Leaf in there. At least it’s a PRODUCTION MODEL!!!!

• I think not bad for a pokey milo tin car company from a developing country in Asia to beat the established American Chevrolet Volt made with US$750 million in development cost.. No?? Really??

• teamsleepnine on Nov 06, 2011 at 11:55 pm

Not bad…not bad at all…congratulation..hopefully the interior of the production version will improve…
    Good weekends for proton with proton sweep 8 trophy titles in aprc final round…

• alfie60 on Nov 06, 2011 at 11:56 pm

Seems to me everbody won some thing from this event!! What is important is the Best award went to Gordon Murray and NOT Proton.. Even vintage cars over 100 years old also participated in this event and probably beat Proton in terms of quality in the power window category…hahaha.

Dapat award and certificate in this Brighton event pun rioh satu kampong for completing the journey so what is the big deal. Here in Malaysia every year the Sullivan & Frost shitty award pun seems to go to Proton in every category. I wonder how much of the rakyat money these wankers spent on this publicity stunt.

Proton ni kuat Kencing over media spin and dont forget the award is for Future car challenge not Present car challenge so we have to wait for another 25 years before they can come with something to be commercially viable on product or model.

Proton kuat kencing rakyat!!!! ;-)

• awak ni mesti bwk myvi je kan?
      x puas hati sangat kat proton..hahaha

• Eyesore on Nov 07, 2011 at 1:27 am

so… toyota also dun win the best car award.. vauxall didnt win.. chevrolet also didnt win… so they all also kuat kencing rakyat la? bodoh!! Mentality sempit.. always look down on homegrown product…

if toyota wins ‘yeay they deserved it’… if proton win ‘there must be some backdoor deal invovled’ …. wth… as long as our countryman fail to discard this kind of mentality… it’s really hard to see how Malaysia can be a developed country… sigh….

• taboogen on Nov 07, 2011 at 1:31 am

apa proton kisah kuat kencing pn.. lg pn ko dah basah ngan kencing proton….. BODOH pnya org boleh di ajaukan.. BODOH SOMBONG pnya org… mmg takkan makan ajau…..
      BODOH jer memanjang….

• Iwasthere on Nov 07, 2011 at 5:09 am

Vintage cars seperate event maaa

• Stealth on Nov 07, 2011 at 7:53 am

Have to agree with you. Clearly Proton participated just for the sake of it. I read from The Star that they want more tax incentive for electric car BEFORE they even come out with a commercially viable product. With so much support and advantages and now they need more. Clearly, clearly they still can’t stand on their own and now want even more. This is sickening..

• rally_fan on Nov 08, 2011 at 4:21 pm

there is no such thing as participating in a highly publicised event just ‘for the sake of it’.. Participating in an event like this requires lots of hard work, confidence, and good planning.

and you never enter anything other than to win. if proton lost, their loss would have equally received publicity as well, and that would be bad for them. Many others do not participate, because they know losing will generate them negative publicity, so the safe bet is to not go at all in the first place. So yes, I ‘ll say its a good sign that Proton decided to take the challenge and show up at this race.

btw, vaxhaull and chevrolet are not exactly small potatoes.. they are some of the largest companies in the world. vaxhaull being a part of GM.

• Who will fu*king care if Proton win or lost? They have nothing to loose.

• mizzuddin on Nov 07, 2011 at 10:59 am

tolong jangan guna bahasa melayu… mentaliti anda sangat memalukan

• coolcar on Nov 08, 2011 at 8:53 am

bahasa melayu kan bahasa kebangsaan so kalau malu jangan duduk malaysia,bongok….sengal punya basher.

• mizzuddin on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:42 pm

mentaliti macam tu buat aku malu bila dia guna bahasa melayu

• Jimmy Dean on Nov 07, 2011 at 12:30 am

Congrats Frazier Nash, the Korean company that produces the battery pack and the German (?) company that made the Wankel rotary engine… congrats Proton for putting a large enough battery pack that can outlast the Prius plug-in.

• alfie60 on Nov 07, 2011 at 1:24 am

Heard that the over sized battery has taken room in the boot and all the passenger space and they won the single seater section with a sedan car…hahaha.

Proton kuat kencing rakyat!!

• boboiboy on Nov 07, 2011 at 9:36 pm

klu dh pakai kancil 0.8 je xyah nk bising kt sni…
        proud of you proton,peace!

• Seath on Nov 07, 2011 at 8:00 am

As usual la..Malaysia always want to be number 1 in everything regardless of the cost or whether or not it can sell. Biggest flag in the world, tallest building in the world (build by Korean and Japanese), tallest flag pole in the world and etc. Funny how some say Proton bashers are narrow minded, not knowing they themselves don’t even know what’s happening.

• rush hour on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:51 am

but proton is nowhere in terms of build quality, sales (other than malaysia) and JDpower survey… all the no.1 ratings didnt do good to them.

• Jimmy Dean on Nov 07, 2011 at 9:40 am

Hot debate? Those who thumbdowned don’t understand my point. Proton invested alot in Lotus and Lotus came up with a 2 stroke turbocharged direct injection Omnivore engine that is much better than the outsourced Wankel rotary engine (which has some issues including loud noise and vibration). Why not use your own better technology?

There is a local company producing EV batteries for other EV manufacturers. Why go for a Korean company when a local company can do the same job?

There are better electric motor company than Frazer Nash and on top of that Frazer Nash track record in Malaysia is not so good with the now discontinued Elektrosuria EV buggy program with TNB. Frazier Nash didn’t even want to share their technology with TNB.

The right way to do it is to develop your own local industry, use your own resources and you can perhaps pay even less than the amount paid to to Frazier Nash to do this REEV.

• alfie60 on Nov 07, 2011 at 1:11 pm

The relationship between F&N and Proton happen when a british paki guy by the name of Kamal Siddique con Dr M to buy into the over value company. Dr M even help launch his quranic palm top product in Malaysia. The electric car went into hybernation when PROTON

• alfie60 on Nov 07, 2011 at 1:49 pm

The relationship between Frazer Nash and Proton happen when a british paki guy by the name of Kamal Siddiqi conned Dr M into buying in the overvalue company. This so call ‘pious’ guy even got Dr M to launch his 1st ever quranic palm top for the world which later proof to be a failure.
        When Proton discovered they cant get bugger-all from Frazer Nash and the project went into hibernation.
        Dr M was taken by Kamal pious personality who never missus his solat time and those who used to escort him would laugh at his pretentious act as he would salam even wirh the women and then pray even without the wuduh.

• Jimmy Dean on Nov 07, 2011 at 4:27 pm

If what you’re saying is true… then this REEV project is doomed from beginning. Any element of corruption or crony preference will cause lower efficiency, lower productivity, decrease in competitiveness and an of course increase the price of doing business. In my opinion, the Exora only won because it had larger battery pack than Prius plug in hybrid. It’s really a simple math because overall efficiency from Battery Pack-Motor Controller-Motor-Wheel pathway s always going to be more efficient compared when you have turn on the generator: Engine-Generator-Motor Controller-Motor-Gear Box-Wheel. So, in this event, the car that having lowest period of engine turn on event will register better fuel economy (car with larger battery pack) and Exora just happened to be the best equipped for the event but not for real world driving and perhaps not for really competitive and cost effective production of plug-in hybrid.

• i want the truth on Nov 07, 2011 at 12:42 am

Danny,

Do u know the truth behind the results? I m getting info from UK that the exora should’ve been disqualified coz it didn’t finish in time and the data was corrupted just like the Persona. i wont be so proud unless i know proton won cleanly without any hanky panky behind the scenes

• alfie60 on Nov 07, 2011 at 2:00 am

Not surprise coming from the No. 1 kencing king. Even if Proton were last DSZ will spin it and say to us they came 1st from the bottom.

Gua dah kata Proton ni kuat kencing rakyat!!! Power window warranty tu pun rakyat kena kencing because hard to claim after the 3rd year.

• TFazuin on Nov 07, 2011 at 5:30 am

alfie60,

The power window issue is nothing if you consider that the Suzuki Swift actually needs a product recall to fix all the steering rack which is still not done globally. Windows do not affect the handling, safety and driveabilty of the car. Suzuki is a japanese brand and its still silent on that till someone serves them with a class action suit.

• hoochiez on Nov 07, 2011 at 11:00 am

Evry prob IS a prob, no ? What’s this crap about comparing based on “severity” ? A car whether 30k, 50k, 80k, 100k, 200k etc, is all one’s hard earn money… For such a hefty commitment, is it wrong to expect simple mechanics of a power window to be problem-free ? Btw, P1 is suppose to be a rakyat car but all these years, big time conning the rakyat got la… Give warranty now but with strings-attached.

On the flip side, am glad wif this achievement, but am not overly excited. Until this is made commercially viable, until then… We see lah ok.. Just being realistic.

• tiadaid on Nov 07, 2011 at 6:19 pm

I wonder if those saying Proton’s warranty comes with strings attached are really dumb that they don’t know how warranties work! Everything under warranty must oblige to the terms and conditions. If not the warranty is open to abuse, and knowing the typical Malaysian, it’ll definitely happen!

Do you really think if you buy a VW, you send the car from day one to an ah beng workshop who doesn’t do proper service to your car which causes a part failure, they’d easily replace it under warranty? Definitely NOT!

• hoochiez on Nov 08, 2011 at 8:13 am

You must be talkin to the mirror. Biggest dumbo ever u are seeing !! Period.

• Hoochiez on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:31 am

If you choose to be blind, so be it. But dont start spewing rubbish and claim that there are NO STRINGS ATTACHED.

Why 10yrs warranty but must maintain service with P1 SC throughout ? Normal car service i.e. change engine oil, oil filter, balancing, allignment at some bengkel.. so what ? Are u claiming NORMAL SERVICING will affect the POWER WINDOWS ?

A fact is a fact – P1 SC = blood suckers = no quality parts from crony vendors !

Period.

• tiadaid on Nov 08, 2011 at 12:28 pm

Hoochiez – you’ve just proven my point about how dumb some people are.

Let me make it simple for dumb idiots to understand. Take an iPhone – you jailbreak it because Apple App Store is a blood sucker for charging to download apps. Then suddenly something went wrong. You send it to Apple and they found out the problem’s caused your JB attempt. Like hell they want to replace your phone under warranty!

Get the bloody picture? That’s STANDARD operating procedure for any product warranty bar none!

As for the SC issue, I guess you haven’t been to Honda’s SC then?

• Hoochiez on Nov 08, 2011 at 2:23 pm

I cakap epal, u cakap orange. U dun even understand my simple and more relevant points. Why dont u answer my points ? Why talk about IPHONE pula ?? Siape bodoh nih ?

Btw you are absolutely correct – i have NOT been to a Honda SC.

AM WELL ENJOYING MY mk6. Get a life dude…

Period.

• No worries.. VW group is screwing them hard..

• Iwasthere on Nov 07, 2011 at 5:06 am

I can confirm that the Exora did make it in time n the data logger on the exora was fine. Only two cars arrived late. A small EV and a Van.

• the only thing is the mass production . prototype can be superb .

• danielhashim on Nov 07, 2011 at 5:46 am

Walk the talk la DSZ. we heard enough success,proto after proto….
    still????? presented with mediocre quality cars with endless problems. im gonna tell u a strory abt my uncle exora. the middle seat tumble mechanism got stucked,and what did proton do to solves the problem????? the service centre ordered a new part since april this year till today hampeh la!!!!!! still part blom sampai uncle …how pathetic!!!
    you have been at the helm for many years still lots of frustrated proton owners with their endless problems cars. so quality is the last word in proton dictionary!!!!! get a life

• Crowny vendor.. give time a bit or go another service centre..

• awg1031 on Nov 07, 2011 at 9:56 am

only your UNCLE got that problem..is that a fair justice to blame all of proton product for that?

• ur uncle malas….when my saga side mirror patah coz langgar lori..i buy the OEM part myself at proton factory glemarie(they has proton part shop there at the factory) since EON SC don has that part..they install around 15min…

• sfsdd on Nov 07, 2011 at 7:03 pm

Don’t tell your grandmother story here, uncle lah, auntie lah, like we know it’s true or you’re just bluffing. You want to tell that BS be ready with photos and links, provide your IC and chassis number even.

• danielhashim on Nov 07, 2011 at 7:29 pm

Mediocre quality!!!! thats why,u must be working for proton huh??? earning fat ringgit at the expense of an old man?????
        the truth hurts wasnt it???? go and check yourself how many exora have this problem??? endless nagging problems,brake bunyi mcm brake lorry(rear),aircond, thermostat lampu cabin fused every month,kalah lampu jamban public ckp ko!!! merangkak naik bukit,gas guzzler,if in us sure dah kena gas guzzler tax k.masa baru kuar mcm mcm ckp
        a new breed of proton la,bcm la,mcm mcm,baru 20,000 kms macam macam problem
        .if u cannot be a good manufacturer.then dont be!!!!! tipu rakyat jer tau la korang

• James Lee Yik Hon on Nov 07, 2011 at 5:49 am

meh, my vios can do better!

• narakka on Nov 07, 2011 at 9:02 am

why huh?so u angry your vios cant do?haha

• Honda Power on Nov 07, 2011 at 10:47 am

Ha ha! My City can do better. This win is no big deal. I don’t understand what the hype is all about. Why must some people in this forum congratulate Proton? They don’t deserved to be congratulated. The technology that they have is all contributed by foreign carmakers. Nothing to shout about. In fact, P should be ashamed because they still need G protection after 26 years of making crappy cars.

• God.. you guys are really sick..

I am a P1 basher but I bash it by facts. You guys just bash it just because you are proud of your better milo tins…

Yes, they should be ashamed of a 26 years of protection and crappy cars. But what they demonstrated today is that they can piece together a green car that is equivalent to a Prius. (how green issit in an overall scale. i.e, battery material wise and etc..? that still needs to be reviewed.) That’s something good to be happy about and 1 can only hope that they apply the principle that they learned in this challenge into their future production vehicles.

Honda The Power of KEEP Dreaming for you… Yea, keep on dreaming bro.. Korean “scrapped” metals will overtake them in a few years time.. Scrap Metal > Jap Metal.. I wonder what kind of metal is worser than scrap metal.. lol

• Honda Power on Nov 07, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Yeah, you r right. Keep on dreaming. I dream but my dream always come true just like Honda The Power Of Dreams. Dreams can become reality if one has the willpower to pursue it and make it a success just like what Honda has shown the world. Now I will answer your question; Your question; ‘What kind of metal is worse than scrap metal?’ My answer: ‘Milo tin metal’. Do not be so proud of Korean cars. I just saw a new Hyundai Sonata broke down by the road side near my house. Forte’s auto transmission is prone to problems and Hyundai i10 is a petrol guzzler. All these are facts, I am not bull shitting. By the way, if you are wondering, I am a proud owner of two good quality, reliable, sleek, fuel efficient and powerful Honda cars. Cheers and have a good day bashing Honda. I don’t mind your bashing because I am driving good Honda cars. Bash all you want. Ha ha!

• Whatever dumb ass

• narakka on Nov 07, 2011 at 7:22 pm

honda power is the lowers mentality i ever seen.or maybe pusat sakit mental just gave him laptop and wifi.after all he just found this Paultan page.he act really like mental people!seriously!

• the_fighter on Nov 07, 2011 at 8:33 pm

baru drive honda city berlagak betol, aku own new crv pun x kecoh2 mcm ko..its good achievement for the Proton, please look this at the +ve side la

• Honda Power on Nov 07, 2011 at 4:38 pm

By the way, My Honda is not made of Milo tin . Ha ha ha!

• i tot all car made from tin milo(aluminium sheet)…body structure mostly made using steel composite..but not body if not mistaken

• lepanther on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:07 pm

Agreed! It is German’s technology with a Proton badge. No original local content. Where are the talent of local engineers in this case? Who’s brains is Proton using? German brains right? Not local Malaysian brains. Why no research being done here in Malaysia? Because all our engineers only know how to “goyang kaki” only and sign documents only, besides makan pisang and shouting ‘Malaysia Boleh’!

• bobdbilder on Nov 07, 2011 at 6:14 am

I could not understand the hatred. So much negativity from one source.

Kau ni simpan benda. Keturunan agaknya. Biasanya gitulah. Pergilah buang. Tak guna simpan sampai ketua nanti menyesatkan. Dia suka org yg sesat. Dah janji dia.

• drMpower on Nov 07, 2011 at 6:36 am

congratulation but not for so long
    the members of the team must not rest
    we need to get cracking now. and i say now.

so the ev, rev do work
    but i reckon with smaller body, proton might have had done better

one question is, since the competition is about future cars
    why not they fit the thing into the EMAS and enter it?
    t27 is such a small, visionary car and no wonder it came up top in the competition.
    but if with EMAS, it will not only give proton a better result (no doubt), it would also give proton wider publicity coverage
    i couldnt see any reason why EMAS could had featured in the competition.

i want EMAS to be entered for next years edition.

• bikers on Nov 07, 2011 at 7:27 am

I told u all before.. looking at the participant list.. it doesn’t surprise me proton bags the same award as last year

• Jaine on Nov 07, 2011 at 7:58 am

While Proton can stand tall amongst the automotive hardcores, I do sincerely hope that they fix their power window issue. Lifetime guarantee is not good enough if you have to make regular trips to service centres.

• nampok sangat menipu ckp exora bpk sedara dia order part dr april,skrg xsampai. Anto sc mana? Len kali anto kat branch. Paling lewat 2 minggu part sampai. Jgankan tumbler seat, part satu kete pun bleh sampai. Kcuali out of stok kat hq,amik masa sebulan paling lewat.
    Jrg2 dgr tmbler rosak,yg biasa dgr ramai yg xreti guna tumbler tu walupun ada instruction kat tepi seat, sampai rosak dibuatnya coz guna force nak tolak kerusi kat bwh.

• good effort, why so few companies partici[ated….if its like olympics it will be better.
    The only way proton to earn respect is get out and compete on even terms….which I see is unlikely. Looking at the unresolved quality issue and technology level issue…. I still own a 1995 proton wira…which is serving me well…but I sold my waja after six years with many issue, resolve not to buy another proton …unless without any choice

• http://www.futurecarchallenge.com/entries/2011.html?Page=1

Can somebody find the Proton’s picture on the entry list??

• Honda Power on Nov 07, 2011 at 4:34 pm

Yes, where are the 3 Proton cars? Saga, Persona and Exora? Please provide me with your answer, Name.

• Where is Honda-san? I can’t find their picture oso.. LOL..

BTW, you can find Mr Protons in the pdf document, but only if you are smart enough to click download “2011 FCC Entry List at 1 November” link. Oh yea, you’ll discover something to your delight as well. Mr. Honda Power of Keep Dreaming.

• xxWWWxxx on Nov 07, 2011 at 8:40 am

great, this shows the EV can be the next in-thing the world is waiting for. meantime, ur enginering guys can further improve the interior of the car, in a matter of time whereby u can match the japs n perhaps get on par with the mat sallehs. with two awards too, this sure definitely boost morale to everyone, good lah… syabas! but dun relax, time to move into high gear, bring in ur production car… we eagerly await these EV’s

• KarimSopian on Nov 07, 2011 at 9:40 am

This is a great achievement for Proton. Congratulation to the team!

• civicEK on Nov 07, 2011 at 9:58 am

the tech is there, now pls design a decent car exterior and interior pls pls :)

• yes tiru like korean make very good car than export..sell crap car to own country that what hyundai do until now…i think proton sholud follow…i dont talk empty crap i have fact

• mirror mirror on Nov 07, 2011 at 10:12 am

Congratulations, that is a commendable result from Proton. Even if Proton does not mass produce this type of car, they can always patent the technology, do more research on it and sell this technology to other manufacturer. We all know that manufacturing can be a very messy business, Proton with its limited resources should focus on something small first and build some real strength in that area. I hope Proton can allow all eligible Malaysian to participate in the R&D of this technology : )

• all they know is to come out with a stupid looking vehicle and then use up all the people’s money to shop around the clock at harrod’s and oh, put 100 used car batteries with loads of masking tape and call it an electric vehicle? support my ass

• no inspiration on Nov 07, 2011 at 11:13 am

why malaysian r oways like tat,
    won something small but they report big big, behind the story of winning is something not to be proud of,
    when they lose, diam aje. and the rakyat question ‘y ar? i tot they won big big?
    winning once or twice is not just something to be proud of, getting the name polish with good reputation & quality is the winning ticket to world car industry.,
    losing is the energy to push us forward, if proton dare to take critics,
    if not how to compete outside,
    stay at home better la.

• dirtyoldmen on Nov 07, 2011 at 12:55 pm

congratulations in contradicting yourself.
      your stupidity has come a full circle….
      but don’t stop…as your “losing is the energy to push us forward”.

• Testing 123 on Nov 07, 2011 at 11:19 am

salam 1malaysia….perghh..

• autojohndoe on Nov 07, 2011 at 1:34 pm

an where is myvi?

• krs99 on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:10 am

Actually where is Perodua or in fact Daihatsu??????

OH wait. Daihatsu pulled out of Europe already because developed people don’t by their crappy product like the meevi. Only third world country like the Indons and the Malaysian bought their Avanza’s and the Meevis of this world

That is why… for Malaysian….The Myvi is the best car ever came to Malaysian shore. Thank God that Perodua ever existed. All hail the Myvi…….. ;P

• armandd on Nov 07, 2011 at 3:41 pm

The future looks bright for Proton. I hope they’ll go into diesel as well.

• Ahmed on Nov 07, 2011 at 4:59 pm

Potong won bcoz they give life time warranty on it’s power window !, no ? Try harder. Potong boleh and 1 potong .

• Honda Power on Nov 07, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Potong sawi, goreng sawi dan makan sawi. Sungguh sedap!

• sfsdd on Nov 07, 2011 at 7:07 pm

Proton, don’t listen to these lowlife here, they’re just jealous and kept trying to bring you down, you go do what you do, keep doing the country proud, you’ve come a long way since 1985. Proton Boleh..!

• Proton UK on Nov 07, 2011 at 9:40 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=O0F1uyoNJY0

Video from the event, filmed by Proton Cars UK

• neutral on Nov 07, 2011 at 11:23 pm

well, looks maybe pretty objectives in nature, but these exora and saga look more appealing than the local one. the colour maybe?

now it is time to make it into mass production, not just prototypes and enter competitions again and again.

• Mienzz on Nov 08, 2011 at 12:18 am

Thanks for posting the link !

• Masked Ryder on Nov 07, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Bla bla bla ! So when is our REEV Exora & Persona available commercially ? Infact where is the Supercharged Satria Neo & Turbocharged Exora, can P1 fixed a launch date & stick to it ! Not 2020 i hope.

Launch lah ! Jangan Tidur !

• Honda Power on Nov 08, 2011 at 12:08 am

I don’t want to comment anymore. Wasting my time. Bye bye!

• alfie60 on Nov 08, 2011 at 1:20 am

I managed to see the news today on NTV7 when Datuk Zainuddin Che Din said winning this event puts Proton on par with all the global car manufacturer and Proton won on a level playing field. Their engineer said this is the second year running they won the award.

WHY are they still lying again to us??? Some manufacturer have allready cars in production while Proton is still on prototyping stage. Try to fool the public with this simple ‘SUNDAY DRIVE event. The way the datuk sounded that Proton made a major breakthrough for our MANKIND with winning this event. I am fed up with ‘kencing’ news and spinning the news.
    The amount of media spin of Proton image is getting to a stage that people are seeing how DESPERATE they are to change public perception while no MAJOR changes in their shiity quality cars.
    Ask anybody in the automative industry except Proton people and they will tell you this yearly event is NO BIG DEAL. Except to PROTON wankers its like winning the county championship and coming back to tell us they won the GRAND NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP.
    HADAP sangat for recognition,haprak punya award pun kena spin kau kau!!!!

Must be Chacko’s idea to help DSZ will the weak figure in sells.

Proton laku ONLY in Malaysia and any where else nobody take them seriously.

Tak berhenti-henti nak kencing rakyat!!!

• Wisdom on Nov 08, 2011 at 3:17 pm

I wonder why… Toyota GB PLC (subsidiary of Toyota Motor Corp Japan) not only sent one but FOUR entry, Prius Plug-in, Toyota IQ-EV, Auris Hybrid and FCHV ADV Fuel Cell Highlander, Chevrolet Europe sent their latest Volt, Vauxhall Motor with their Ampera E-REV, Land Rover Europe, Merc UK, Nissan Motor with their Leaf, Tesla Roadster which is now on sale, Volkswagen Group with their Lupo, Mini UK and BMW UK with a few entries, besides a few other well known engineering firm, Magazines, heck even goodyear join the party to proof their tyre is the most fuel efficient… why did they participate in this SUNDAY DRIVE, NO BIG DEAL, DESPERATE, insignificant event?

http://www.futurecarchallenge.com/downloads/2011-downloads/Entries%20-%202011/2011%20FCC%20-%20Official%20Entry%20List,%2002%20Nov%20(FINAL).pdf

alfie60, you are really desperate person with zero credibility. Your comment just weightless….

• civicEK on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:06 am

im waiting for their next new model, if those so called persona R is macam taik. i wont believe in proton anymore :)

• MoFaz on Nov 08, 2011 at 5:57 pm

so if the persona R is good, are you going to buy it or you will deny it as usual? go buy integra laa.. now comes with 2 wheels only. jimat space nak parking!

• civicEK on Nov 08, 2011 at 8:03 pm

bro, i know they are in transition process. but if the so called new persona
        (even though it was stated as brand new line up) is rubbish. how long are we gonna wait for them to mature enough? some more they want it to make as a global car, so the outcome must be appealing rite?

p/s: im planning to buy the so called new persona for my wife la bro next year.
        I still have faith at proton. im not a proton basher but everyone has a limit rite?
        :)

• mana lg ada ev yg wat mass production world wide coz xckp fasiliti lg sluruh dunia. Dlm 2013 ke 2015 brlah masa utk launching ev. Yg ko baca tuh sume masih utk niche market,xda yg mass production lg. Apala, hybrid n ev menda yg berbeza, reev n hybridpun menda yg berbeza, mana ada company jual kete reev mass production lg. Ko ni dtg dr masa lampau@masa hadapan?

• IF there were a competition of who is who in this website who knows everything about proton…
      the winner should be mr mat says: huh!!! mat says what???
      mat says rubbish facts about automotive world! maybe he should be in the parliament as what??? backbenchers.in this case he blindly support proton despite its weak reliability record and its weak brand. congrat che mat for resemblimg yourself to prof serba tahu in gila gila comic.

• Naik bas je cukup

• CHENG KOK LING on Nov 08, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Honda Power @RUBBISH..

UR COMMENT SHOW UR STUPIDITY

• Win something is better than nothing. Next step is how to translate a win into engineered products that bring real benefits to society. Jgn menang sorak aje.

• lepanther on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Last time back in 1980s, it was Japan’s technology with Proton badge. Now it is going to be German’s technology with Proton badge again. Same content, different style. I doubt that there is any Malaysian engineer involved beside the German engineers. Why Proton never do it in Malaysia? Because all our local engineers ‘tak boleh pakai’ punya! Hahaha….

• takbernama on Nov 11, 2011 at 8:25 pm

Kalau kite buat kuih, adakah kita buat sekali dgn acuan2 die???? xkannnn~ cmtu la jugak dgn dorg….dorg buat electric car, with brg2 yg diprovide oleh frazer-nash…jenuh la mak cik limah kalu nak buat nasik lemak dgn ikan2 bilis die kena cipta…hahahha xdak akai ini org

• Menang x menang x penting, yang penting potong boleh mengeluarkan kereta yang bagus kualiti dan mampu milik oleh RAKYAT.

• eims @ gold on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:46 pm

whallawei persona reev….!!

Paul..pls review more on this one if u can get ur hands on it.. huhuh….

btw.. tahniahs proton.. :)

• congrats PROTON ! Proud to be Malaysian. Keep it up.

• farid on Nov 11, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Proton is not all that bad,we re the only full fledged car manufacturer in south east asia,and the manufacturer after japan.indo and thailand are assemblers!!! get the fact rite guys.they hv came out with a lifetime warranty for power windows.even bmw,merc and even toyota cannot hold a candle to that. I bought a Alfa Romeo 156 in 2007,and having problems with its silly robotised manual selespeed after only 50,000 kms on the odometer.no recalls no news nothing.moral of the story: even alfa makes mistakes

• Kalau kau orang kenal engineer2 proton yg kerja department Green Tech ni (except boss), tanya lah mereka cerita sebenar disebalik kemenangan ini. Tak ada sorang pon yg bangga. Diorang ni banyak kena tanggung dosa untuk menipu kat public sbb nak jaga image company.