Proton to continue building the Satria Neo, in Shah Alam

Proton has stated that it is not stopping production of its Satria Neo hatch, despite a report saying that it was set to do so. Proton MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin said that the company was shifting the manufacturing of the model to its main plant in Shah Alam, from Tanjung Malim, and that it was rearranging its facilities at Tanjung Malim in order to bring in its new model (in this case the P3-21A Persona replacement set to arrive next year), according to Bernama.

“There is no truth in the report that we are ceasing production at the Tanjung Malim plant and shifting to Shah Alam. People may misinterpret that we are stopping production in Tanjung Malim to “kill the brands produced there,” Syed Zainal said at a press conference yesterday, in response to an earlier news report that the Satria Neo was nearing the end of its production cycle.

He was speaking at a press event to shout the company’s clean sweep of APRC titles this season, and hinted that a special edition Satria Neo to commemorate the APRC victory would be coming about. “Expect some exciting derivative of Neo, perhaps some special edition,” he said, adding that a “yellow Neo” with “some of the DNA of the S2000″ could be coming out in Q1, 2012.

Syed Zainal did however say that the company has decided to discontinue the sale of its Savvy hatchback, which was introduced in June 2005, and was also phasing out the Gen.2 model from the domestic market. “We are shifting the production of Gen.2 and as you know, we are talking to our partners in China and Iran to assemble the model there. We are still in negotiations,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Area51LE on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:21 pm

P3-21A Persona replacement ? I thought Proton already stated it’s a totally new model and not a Persona replacement

• BeemerFreak on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:45 pm

If Syed himself says it is, means it is. no one has any right to argue with that.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:36 pm

Actually, the mention of the P3-21A and nod to it as the Persona replacement was mine. I have now enclosed it in parentheses, to avoid any confusion.

• vyseus on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Its replacing persona as a new model. sort of…

• lalok_stylo on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:06 pm

it doesnt matter…..
      i just hope some improve from the model…..:-)

• yes this is persona replacement…aka persona R..there is also a hatchback version to be introduce later…codename P3-22A

• stevenLRGP on Nov 24, 2011 at 11:23 am

If you do not have the facts please do not state them out and embarrass yourself. The P321A is a new car by it self, a new beginning of sorts for Proton.

It is NOT a the persona R and the P322A is another new car with a totally new platform again.

• carazy on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:30 pm

glad to hear that..

• armandd on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Glad to hear this. The Neo is one of the best front wheel drive car around. I hope Proton can put a more powerful engine in this car because the chassis definitely can handle more than the 145hp motor they put it the R3 Neo.

• steam_man on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:30 pm

its very very handsome.

beats golf.

• Downsys on Nov 18, 2011 at 2:09 am

Not sure if it beats golf. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. But the Satria Neo is a really nice design nonetheless. A classic! Kudos to Proton for not ceasing its development.

• TFazuin on Nov 18, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Yes I know one being fitted with a supercharger kit and does 200hp on a 1.6L block. Then again, my friend also build a NA on an ordinary satria with 180hp on wheel. So no surpirses there.

• I just hope that proton can consider to change Neo to 5 doors car. I sure can beet Myvi sales.

• It is a new model… Just to replace current persona. persona production will be discontinued for domestic market

• Hopefully there’s no “We produce 700 cars per hour and we don’t have time to check every parts” excuse again.

• Nizam80 on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:49 pm

This car launched in 2006. According to Proton’s 5-year product life cycle, then my guess is, this car will be phased out soon. Anyway, this is one hell of a car with an awesome chassis.

• Satria Neo on Nov 17, 2011 at 1:55 pm

no more M-line and lite? only high line with CPS engine available??

• littlefire on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Mind to explain more regarding why discontinue of the sale of its Savvy hatchback?!?

• anti-vios on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:16 pm

…last month, i went to proton…want to book satria neo cps.. they said about production already stop.. =((((((

thank god it was a false statement… n thank god i didnt book white neo cps because they will be yellow edition… yeah!!!!

Thank you PROTON!!!

• ultrajo on Nov 17, 2011 at 4:53 pm

Be prepared to pay additional 40k on “extra accesories + some of the DNA of the S2000” for that ‘yellow’ Satria Neo Replica APRC Alistair McRae Edition hehehehe!

• SatriaNeo on Nov 18, 2011 at 8:39 am

Lucky you, I wanted the manual version but couldn’t find one and hearing that it was gonna “stop” production, I got an automatic. 3weeks later I read that they’re moving production to Shah Alam. Sigh, I. somehow feel cheated by proton, I bought the auto cause I was really into the car and when I heard it was gonna stop production, might as well get the auto since there won’t be any more next year. If they come out with a newer nicer spec next year, confirm sakit hati

• anti-vios on Nov 18, 2011 at 12:42 pm

like people who buy saga fl.. suddenly saga flx come out… mmg sakit hati….

• udasalleh on Nov 18, 2011 at 2:57 pm

but dude… serves u right to listen to rumours. investment like a car shoudn’t be done based on just speculations & rumour mongering. just my two cents.

• SatriaNeo on Nov 18, 2011 at 5:52 pm

I didnt listen to rumors fool, I went to all the proton branch even the coe and they themselves(proton) told me they stopped production and now this came out. How do you think I feel?

• anti-vios on Nov 18, 2011 at 10:11 pm

me to.. i went to proton branch.. they said HQ ask them to tell customer that satria neo has stopped its production….. same story as SatriaNeo.. feel like been cheated…. =((((

• anti-vios on Nov 18, 2011 at 10:12 pm

its true what SatriaNeo said…feel like been cheated…..

• as usual lah on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:25 pm

stylo btol satria neo nie…

• Fajar on Nov 17, 2011 at 2:49 pm

obsolete car, Proton Neo should stop the production bring new Proton Neo R3 or sort of…

• honestly i was saved in satria neo(it just B-Line,no airbag) in an accident late last month, the car now is 50:50 and still waiting for insurance report, but cabin and chassis really tough. im looking forward to get another one early next year. perhaps new Satria Neo R3 with s2000 DNA is affordable and awesome.

to all car enthusiast out there, im begging all of you please wear seatbelt even thought you are driving at low speed.

• steam_man on Nov 17, 2011 at 9:37 pm

car enthusiast wear 5 point safety belt.

only mat rempit not wearing seatbelt

• SatriaNeo on Nov 18, 2011 at 8:41 am

Wish I could have said the same for Eng Khoon, rest in peace

• areos on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:54 pm

If proton really serious about neo derivatives, proton should introduce 4 door or wagon type neo. I bet it will good demand.

• KageSenshi on Nov 17, 2011 at 8:05 pm

i think engineering wise is not possible to do that unless you make the neo longer .. not enough space to fit another door .. and the rear seat being on top of the rear wheels, it does get tricky what design of door can actually fit there ..

• can always do it like rx8 styled door…but then itll be ugly la imho…

• Great News!!! I love the Satria Neo and was sad to hear is was discontinued. Beautiful car with great handling. Normally 2 door performance cars have a life of 10 years and not 5.

• Nazrul on Nov 17, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Farewell Gen.2 (Solute) For she had become the first car 100% made by PROTON.

• GEN2 eh? oh, I thought waja was the 1st 100% proton car..ok then

• exentric on Nov 17, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Thought as much. I can’t think of a single reason they want to kill of the Satria Neo. Totally illogical. Savvy and Gen2 on the other hand, seems very much realistic to be axed.

• ntah.. on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:03 pm

yeay!! neo is still alive.. replace the savvy with the emas :)

• Absolute Rider on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Well, P3-21A is not Persona Replacement Model.

Paul, can help me to get some inside news whether Proton will introduce new generation Satria Neo? Hehehe…..

• policeman on Nov 17, 2011 at 7:38 pm

Tipu! Proton going to discontinue Satria Neo. Tanjung Malim plant has more than enough space for Satria and Persona replacement.

Syed Zainal trying to pull a Badawi here. I see right through him.

• dirtyoldmen on Nov 18, 2011 at 7:25 am

sooo….you now have x-ray vision? :P

• critic_A on Nov 18, 2011 at 8:39 am

who the hell u think u r to know all the insider stuff?
      and wat a joke that u say u can see right through him!! wat a joker! u think u jedi r??
      u police baik pergi kasih saman cukup

• taboogen on Nov 19, 2011 at 3:08 am

stupid full.. i am the one who will setup the equipment in Shah Alam for this model….

• neo need the CFE engine to qualify it as a sport car.

• Rosmah on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:08 pm

Telor sebijik rioh sekampong.

• wrong la rosmah..

it s suppose to be necklace/pearl sebiji..rioh (havock) the whole state(not kampung laa)

• azrai on Nov 18, 2011 at 8:49 am

Daripada takde telur langsung…

• nighttrain on Nov 18, 2011 at 8:46 am

Sama specs dengan Polo Gti pun jadi la…

• kerelbort on Nov 18, 2011 at 9:12 am

i believe it’s a good move. as to me, tanjung malim should be a facilities for car that target bigger audience and shah alam can focus on niche produce car like this small neo…

by moving neo production to shah alam can also clear up spaces (in term of production aisle for p3-21a) since this should be a global car project and if it succeed, the production should be very big and having a niche production aisle in there will only mess up the line.

with persona/gen2 production moving outside of malaysia, the current team can focus on current and future model those pra-TM era can be continued until meet its cost turnaround in some other places.:-)

• donno on Nov 18, 2011 at 9:32 am

Great news….

It is sad if the Satria Neo is phased out and leave Proton with no sporty 2 door. So Satria neo is here to stay.

But please proton, keep it refreshed soon with a facelift. Doing something like what Porsche does with the 911 series is good, refreshing the looks every few years to a car that is basically the same since the early 2000’s.

And please, put the campro turbo from the soon to be launched new exora into the Neo as the chassis needs the additional power…

• tiadaid on Nov 18, 2011 at 12:14 pm

Am I the only one who notices that this car is actually the GRM?

• To me, Satria Neo has the nicest front fascia in all Proton’s range. To call it a halt is a waste. Proton could use it to develop a four door sedan based on its front fascia, or bring back the glory of Wira by incorporating its front as part of the sentimental reasons. Any design after Wira, for example, Savvy, Persona or even Waja are just failures.

• Ha Gnih on Nov 19, 2011 at 1:19 am

I feel you bro. The Wira is actually one of the best Protons ever made/produced out there. I was driving the Wira at one point and it was a truly a joy to drive. Mine was a 1.6 manual. But too bad had to let it go because it was ageing.

• NeoBest! on Nov 18, 2011 at 11:51 pm

Ini news best sekali ! Neo forever ! Rally champion ! memang hebat ! colour kuning hitam ini cantik sekali i nak paint macam colour ini kereta Neo saya.

• ILike on Nov 19, 2011 at 3:47 pm

boleh jual ke?

• razlan on Nov 29, 2011 at 9:55 pm

My friend in PROTON told me they are coming out with an attractive facelift and powerful supercharged engine once it restarted production in Shah Alam. Can anyone confirm this as I am considering buying a hot hatch soon

• razlan on Nov 29, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Is it true PROTON coming out with super attractive and powerful supercharged engine Satria once it start production in Shah Alam?

• stevenLRGP on Nov 30, 2011 at 5:25 pm

we all will have to wait and see…with the neo winning the APRC…anything is posible!

• ridhwan on Jan 02, 2012 at 9:16 am

YES!!!! i hope is it true!!! i want to be a 1st guy buy this new satria neO!!! :D

• budleee on Mar 10, 2012 at 9:27 am

fuh!.. i was a bit relieved when i heard that it won’t be phased out after all, perhaps i should book it now? i am interested in the CPS version solely because its the only version with the safety equipment, if there is a Lite version with all the safety equipment, I would gladly get it..

and just when I convinced myself getting a Neo is not so bad compared to getting a Myvi…

• neokrazy on Mar 19, 2012 at 2:43 pm

heard there’s gonna be a new satria neo, with a new engine n a new look…with paddle shift also…price range 65-73k…any truth to this….? i just hope it does not look like protom artiga, this model of neo they produced in japan, coz its looks too over the top….

• Ahchai on Mar 28, 2012 at 9:26 pm

this is fake, i tend to book 1 satria neo cps about a week ago. The sales man said the car stop production and it pissed me off.. ….. proton is lying to all off us and the new stated there they still produce the car is just a made up story.

• jinggo on Sep 23, 2012 at 3:08 pm

im glad to hear that if its true….
    i just want the neo cps only is enough already for me….
    are they sell it at semenanjung only….
    what about sabah n sarawak….

• nexus on Oct 08, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Rumor has it there will be a new Neo CFE coming out by the end of this year or early next year. Let’s just hope it’s true…