Lexus unveils GS 250, the first ever GS to go below 3.0L

Lexus has revealed another engine option for its all new GS saloon at the Guangzhou International Automobile Exhibition. It’s the GS 250, and we saw it coming.

Back in August, before the launch of the 5-Series fighter at Pebble Beach, it was reported that Lexus will for the first time offer an engine smaller than 3.0 litres in the GS, allowing it to better challenge German rivals, who all have sedans this size with smaller engines. It makes sense for our region, and UK is also a recipient of this variant.

The GS 250 is powered by a 2.5-litre V6 petrol engine with D-4S direct port injection and Dual VVT-i intelligent valve timing. Maximum output is 206 hp at 6,400rpm and peak torque of 253 Nm is delivered at 4,800 rpm. 0-100 km/h is done in 8.6 seconds on to a top speed of 228 km/h. Combined cycle fuel consumption is 11.2 km/l.

The performance is on a similar level with the F10 BMW 523i, which 2.5-litre straight-six puts out 204 hp and 250 Nm. It does the century sprint a tenth faster than the Lexus.

The V6 is matched to a Super ECT-i close-ratio intelligent six-speed automatic transmission, with a sequential manual shift function. The system has been tuned to deliver faster shift speeds, earlier torque converter lock-up and downshift throttle blips, complimenting a range of different drive modes available through the GS 250’s Drive Mode Select System.

More info and pics of the new GS in our previous post here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 22, 2011 at 6:00 pm

yes, but a bit slow? no? mercedes and bmw are using even smaller capacity turbocharged engines. still, a good move, would be great if they paired this with the rx.

• I really can’t help thinking the exterior of this car is a lil strange….

• Masked Ryder on Nov 22, 2011 at 7:00 pm

Who can made a better conti car than the european = Lexus

Absolute Brilliant !

• RedBeanBun on Nov 22, 2011 at 9:41 pm

nick name should be Predator….the mouth looks alike :P

• even with below 3.0L engine, the price is still ridiculous.

and one more thing, the front fascia looks like this (>.<) based on the first picture. LOL!

• amustapha on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:42 pm

dream car…hmmm..

• Oh my god, what a outdated powertrain paired with a ugly outlook. Hail LEXUS, go to hell!!

• kington on Nov 23, 2011 at 8:35 am

The figures appear fine, as it’s just slightly off the pace against the 523i.

You can’t judge a car by the figures posted. You’ll need to take it for a test drive.

And to be honest 6 speed boxes are way better than those 8 speeders or 7 speeders as far as high output engines are concerned. Otherwise they’ll just give you an additional overdrive gear ON TOP of the existing overdrive gear to aid economy while cruising.

• i tested 520turbo(new engine), VW passat, Merc E and CT200. the most disappointing me is CT200, like driving a Camry. Frankly speaking, there is no turning back after you drive BMW or VW and Audi. They provide you the new era for THE JOY OF DRIVING, WHICH Merc and toyota need to catch up here

• ken dan on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:49 pm

when this car lunch in market?

when this car recall in market?

when they say sorry again?

• kington on Nov 23, 2011 at 8:29 am

Every manufacturer suffers from recalls, it’s just a matter of admitting, apologizing and repairing for customers. You’d be amazed how many other proper recalls were never CALLED upon.

• But if for once or twice then is considered acceptable, BUT toyota keeps calling back and their high end lexus involve too, i wonder are they sharing parts? if yes, then that would be so sad to those lexus owner, YOU PAYING LEXUS FOR TOYOTA

• Jolly_idiot on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:36 pm

So expensive for a rebadged toyota? Big no no

• Ellie on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:44 pm

I agree, The exterior looks a little..strange. Smooth sides, Going into an angry mouth!! Interior however looks rather nice!

• you are better off just driving a camry!

• kington on Nov 23, 2011 at 8:40 am

These 2 are very different. Even if we ignore the disparity in terms of power, the ride and comfort levels are much higher.

• Merc=Real Euro on Nov 23, 2011 at 2:59 pm

duh….there is a big difference between GS250 and camry…

• Unforgiven on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:54 pm

Do you think this car is expensive? Do you think you cannot afford it? You should know who to thanks to in M’sia if the price is sky high.

• if malaysia car is sky high , then u hv to look at our neighbour….to get a car u need a certificate to own a car which currently costs around $56k , the car say a altis is $50k….u do the math….and it has a lifespan of only 10 yrs , in malaysia its freehold ,u can can pass it down to even ur grandchildren…..

• Actually this is not all about our government. How come the korean makes can sell at reasonable price when they import the car from korea?? And with a lot of latest features?? like dual sunroof, push start, 17inch rims, bodykit…………
      The Actual reason why Japs selling their car so expensive is that they want to maximize their profit. A Japs brand car which fully made in Thailand with no new features selling at 130k, example Civic and Altis. This is too ridiculous, they only know how to exaggerate the old tech like Dual VVTI (2007 Mitsubishi 4b11 already have), and Ivtec to attract those who do not possess car knowledge in the market.

• labix7 on Nov 23, 2011 at 1:17 pm

yeah .. also remember in 2007, mits. lancer GT only at rm116k its CBU , but for CKD 2.0 civic & altis was selling higher than that.

• Merc=Real Euro on Nov 23, 2011 at 3:01 pm

dont bring Korean into it…. they are still catching up….

• Korean car is a junk, so sure have to sell cheap, and sad thing is even they sell cheap also only the kimchi ra-ra will buy.

• labix7 on Nov 23, 2011 at 8:52 am

only different in brand name, but still got toyota looks …

• Ha Gnih on Nov 23, 2011 at 9:52 am

Me wonders whats the price gonna be like. Hmmmm…….definitely NOT CHEAP !! LoL

• mirror mirror on Nov 23, 2011 at 10:08 am

I heard that people buy a Toyota because it has an auspicious name, Toyota in Chinese and Japanese means a bountiful rice field. Similatlr, people buy Mercedes because the 3 point star logo is a symbol of lucky star and can bring good fortune and protection against bad things. Similarly, people buy the BMW because its grill resemble a pair of healthy and strong kidneys, so the cars and drivers are full of vitality. So if you have all these three cars at home you will enjoy a well balanced happy life.

• Merc=Real Euro on Nov 23, 2011 at 3:13 pm

whatever it is ….Lexus is in JD Power Survey UK has been very dominant in the last 10 years…No other make was able to match its record….so u can call it glorified Toyota whatever.. fact is fact there are people who will pay for quality, reliability and durability.

Again JD power survey is people’s voice so that counts alot when assess a brand or car..
    In bolehland ppl have no voice. Only ppl with fat bank account have a voice…
    The rest who cant afford….well talk is cheap….lol

• adehhh on Nov 23, 2011 at 5:05 pm

overprice toyota

• Kiddo on Nov 23, 2011 at 5:42 pm

another sad living creature from ice age.

So if Lexus models are expensive rebadged Toyotas, what’s a Bentley Continental GT? I bet you didn’t know it’s based on the VW Phaeton. Expensive Toyota. PFFT!!

• dear mirror(x2), thanks for the email update! didnt know that the name toyota, mercedes-benz and bmw logos meant so many things as we have all 3 types of cars..still i dont feel i have a well balance happy life..lol…so what they say is true, money cant buy you happiness..:)

• mirror mirror on Nov 23, 2011 at 6:39 pm

Ah….. in that case you can add an Alfa Romeo to boost your romance luck, make sure you get a red one. I bet even Lilian Too doesn’t know this ; )

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Nov 23, 2011 at 6:19 pm

I dunno about you guys, but the new front grille looks like Predator (as in Predator vs Alien fame) after it had removed his headgear!! Please tell me I’m not seeing things?

• black series on Nov 23, 2011 at 6:44 pm

toyata sell expensive car to support the lfa expensive project which loses money each car they sell