Welch Motorsport to expand to running two NGTC Protons in 2012 BTCC – current BTCC Persona goes on display

Welch Motorsports, which ran a Proton Persona built to Next Generation Touring Car series specifications in the second half of the 2011 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship, is set to expand its presence in the championship to two NGTC-regulation Protons for the full 2012 race season.

The 2011 car began participation just after the mid-season break, debuting at Snetterton, driven by Daniel Welch, the son of team principal John Welch. It’s the second NGTC car to compete with the TOCA engine, which is built by Swindon Engines – the NGTC-spec “unbranded” turbo direct injection electronic throttle engine has a 2.0 litre displacement and makes over 300 horses, with the option for an overboost as well.

The current Proton Persona BTCC car has in the meantime gone on display in the UK at Surrey-based West End Garage’s showroom in Woking. As the supplying Proton dealer for Welch Motorsport, WEG will have the BTCC vehicle on show for a bit, and has sent us some photos of the car on display.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jay8393 on Dec 21, 2011 at 1:20 pm

Nice car! Has a very aggressive stance…

• bravo proton..what else can we say..
    always being better..nice..

• RON97 on Dec 21, 2011 at 3:22 pm

yeahhh… better in copy cat. bravo proton
      p/s: hope NAZA win proton shares. brainwash and sacked lazy staff (including guest nick MoFAZ)

• kimswee on Dec 21, 2011 at 4:54 pm

hahhaa.. do you have any personal problem with mofaz ah???

• MoFaz on Dec 21, 2011 at 9:31 pm

ntah.. aku pon tak paham masalah dia. macam mana dia nak sack aku, aku bukan keje dalam proton.

• pomen_gtr on Dec 22, 2011 at 4:35 pm

nick pun MoFaz…..dah sah2 takda kaitan dgn proton…..

RON97..do you know what “mofaz” stands for?

• u should change your name moRON97..

• beatnik on Dec 21, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Fuyoh.. dem gaya! Persona DTM!

• “TOCA engine, which is built by Swindon Engines – the NGTC-spec “unbranded” turbo direct injection electronic throttle engine has a 2.0 litre displacement and makes over 300 horses, with the option for an overboost as well”—–> now i wondering, if proton is able to come out with engine specs like this in tuah/pesona-r…..explosive rocket on the road!

• razor on Dec 21, 2011 at 1:45 pm

then not reliable for daily used! do you ever think why not ferrari/mercedes/renault put their f1 engine in their production car? (just renault la put F1 engine in Espace, just for fun maybe)

• TFazuin on Dec 21, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Kalau nak go check out Mudah ada modded Proton Satria Neo with a supercharger on the mill with over 200hp on the same 1.6L block it was asking 50K cash.

I do not know how long the engine will last though with that much stress for a daily drive. I seen a Satria engine, which coupled with local expertise can generate 180hp on wheel, just don’t ask how much and what they did to get there but it could be done. Kalau tak takkan people like Karamjit can win rallies on even a spare car if the people who prepared the cars aren’t smart.

• bobdbilder on Dec 21, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Huh? Supercar engines are bigger than F1 car. FIA regulation limits the size and power of an F1 engine. Bigger engine also bigger weight.

How can anyone say a 12000 rpm engine is not reliable when the rpm limit goes down to 7500 rpm. Some more, most of you drive auto; 5k only max.

Sheesh

• You know you are being so ridiculous or even stupid, why would you want to have that kind of engine in a family car. Its built only for racing. Trying to be smart only to make a real fool of yourself, stupid fellow. That engine might not even use the normal fuel we have.

• seperlinky on Dec 21, 2011 at 1:43 pm

Nothing to be proud of, only the shell is Proton Persona, the rest, is not.Swindon Racing supplies the engines as contracted by BTCC.

• fadzly on Dec 21, 2011 at 1:51 pm

I still see it as a proton..

• Wisdom on Dec 21, 2011 at 4:33 pm

Foreigners can value Persona chassis and saw the potential, dare to invest hundreds of thousands to equip it with better more powerful engine,with proper race setup, drive it in a world class race…

But pity malaysian keeps on mumbling and condemning their own product….
        Please, stay in your cave.

• Littlebear on Dec 21, 2011 at 4:53 pm

That’s because Malaysians had to buy their own product at a much higher price compared to foreigners & get substandard quality cars in return.

Remember, people don’t complain without a valid reason.

• Loneranger on Dec 21, 2011 at 5:54 pm

again with Malaysia price and outside price…

please go and read how the tax system outside Malaysia…..

substandard? u mean T> Vios better than Proton?

Please..u r lacking of knowledge here….read more..not only 1 page per yaer….

• Arzaq on Dec 21, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Bro, you go check custom!! Proton and perodua also kena tax tinggi lah!

• bobdbilder on Dec 21, 2011 at 10:32 pm

Before the AFTA, people were complaining that its not fair coz Proton is protected. I remember a certain CBT editor was shouting about this. After AFTA, all cars are taxed. And people still complain including the CBT guy.

Compared to Australia with their locally made Holdens and Ford V8s, they are not taxed while imported ones are. You get a non taxed V8 and RWD!!!

Comparison: Sydney

Series II Commodore SS AUD 41K; 6L V8
            Camry Atara SL; AUD 44K; 2.5L Auto
            Honda Legend AUD 84K; 3.7L
            Ford Falcon XR6 AUD 47K; 4.0L

I think we got a bum deal.

• dieeee on Dec 21, 2011 at 7:29 pm

You’re wrong, the team take Persona because Proton supply it FOR FREE.

• jameskorst on Dec 22, 2011 at 5:10 pm

So,if i give then Nissan Micra or Ford KA or maybe Perodua kancil, or Kenari, do you think they will be bothered to tweak the care for racing?

There must be some good stuff in there that nakes them take Proton’s car?

If they wanted free cars, they can ask for China auto manufacturers like Geely or Cherry. I bet they will give it to them, for free plus some side monies to spend to make the car looks good.

Your comment is condensending towards Proton, bro. Give some respect where its due.

• dieeee on Dec 22, 2011 at 6:19 pm

If the chinacar already step into UK market, no doubt the same thing would happen.

Did you realise 2-3 years ago there also aged Lada 110 racing in BTCC?

So it mean the 20 years old Lada chasis is as good as other just like Proton?

• fazron80 on Mar 20, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Then all the cars in BTCC is as good as a Lada. Why only Proton gets the low. Let;s see if this Proton can win against other manufacturers in BTCC. Even if it’s a Proton standard from factory that wins against honda, toyota or whatever comes from land of the rising sun you’ll still bash until kingdom comes. Not own engine lah. Just chassis la. Use other gearboxla. Proton gives car free lah. All negative nothing positive about proton you can see.

• Azri Ishak on Dec 22, 2011 at 8:16 am

of course we should support our own brands, as for me i’m not fans of Proton though, what i’m about to say Proton is getting lazy nowadays, just take a look the new Proton Inspira, it’s a copy n paste from Evo X, seriously Proton need to come up with something more original, copy n paste work doesn’t works for me…

but this is interesting, at least Persona has make it to BTCC…so thumbs up for Proton…

• LE_buruk on Dec 21, 2011 at 1:52 pm

at least there is still proton DNA in it…..

• MoFaz on Dec 21, 2011 at 1:53 pm

do you race just by engine only? u sit on the engine and race kah? terbakar bontot baru tauuuuu…

• Johndeep on Dec 21, 2011 at 5:49 pm

to what I remember only ferrari has it both engine and body in F1, others either engine or body from somebody’s else.

• septzz on Dec 21, 2011 at 1:54 pm

well at least they believe in the chasis. or do they?

• taboogen on Dec 21, 2011 at 2:07 pm

dont worry.. let the brit appreciate malaysian made car

• wendy on Dec 21, 2011 at 2:08 pm

i still proud of it! because im Malaysian! u must be a kiatsu Singaporean.

• izzat on Dec 21, 2011 at 2:16 pm

without the shell, even with 1000bhp you cant go anywhere right? =D so “the shell” is important..be proud =D

• xshiro on Dec 21, 2011 at 2:16 pm

means its a good platform for racing…:P

• simasen on Dec 21, 2011 at 2:25 pm

of course there’s something to be proud dude..the shell was designed and built here in malaysia

• eims @ gold on Dec 21, 2011 at 2:34 pm

who cares…
      the team will still bring our name to the world.

among many cars, why they still chose proton persona bodyshell in the first place..?

• shalie on Dec 21, 2011 at 2:44 pm

At least its a PROTON… even in racing history… the DTM 190E evos has COSWORTH engines in it… car nerds… only knows to bang with keyboards…

• no shell, engine got use?

• At least they using Persona chasiss. Suitable for touring racing.

• SureRock on Dec 21, 2011 at 3:12 pm

Can the engine race without the chassis?

Also this year not just Proton running that engine….Vauxhaul, Audi and Toyota also running that engine…

Next year Skoda and Factory Back HONDA team will also run with that engine….

Nothing to be proud of those manufacturer as well izit?

• confused on Dec 21, 2011 at 3:13 pm

Must proud also laa… They didn’t opt for Toyota Dugong’s shell… Fancy that.

It’s called CHASSIS, no0b..

• Faddd on Dec 21, 2011 at 3:28 pm

But if I still feel proud? you can’t blame me for that..!

• '76 Hemi Barracuda on Dec 21, 2011 at 3:28 pm

Retarded person able to comment ah?

• nas-T on Dec 21, 2011 at 3:43 pm

do you understand what NGTC regulation mean? Then Honda, Toyota that race in BTCC also a disgrace and cannot be proud because they also run on NGTC regulation. This team run on private fund and not supported by Proton company like Satria Neo S2000. Join the BTCC in mid season with a car that just run a shakedown only a week before. They score point in last race.

• Dak Ajan on Dec 21, 2011 at 3:49 pm

Did you know anything about btcc..??
      They are garagies..
      And lotus engineering is they are equaliser for engine performance…

• Datsun Buah Kana on Dec 21, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Sick…

• How about nothing to be proud of, only the soul is yours, the rest, is not. Your momma and papa supply your body….

• Just me on Dec 21, 2011 at 5:48 pm

What make car run faster is the engine. Guess it is cheaper to crash proton than other European car like bmw, vw and all others alike. Or Proton has some sweet deal with the team. Not supprise, its malaysia boleh.

• Loneranger on Dec 21, 2011 at 6:09 pm

why dun they choose China build cars? i believe it is cheaper than Proton…..:)

• Scoobylution on Dec 21, 2011 at 6:11 pm

If cost is the main concern, why not use Lada or Tata? I believe both are cheaper than Proton.

• BadBET on Dec 21, 2011 at 7:16 pm

no sir, to be able to run fast in race track you need a good engine + chassis + suspension + etc. A good engine alone will go no where with able chassis + other part.

btw –> i believe their intention is to win a race, so ‘to crash the car because it is cheap’ is a very moronic idea.

• gen2lama on Dec 21, 2011 at 7:55 pm

err some people say t dugong cheaper than poton if no tax…. why they dont want the dugong…

• Loneranger on Dec 21, 2011 at 5:57 pm

should be proud of coz Persona chasis was designed and build by Malaysian…..enuff said

• Dak Ajan on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:17 am

Damn..!!
      You are lack of knowledge..
      There are plenty of cars running on NGTC on this TOCA..
      And Lotus Engineering is there are equaliser for engine performance..
      Btcc is the best platform for touring car..
      There are garagies and they hv so many car manufacturers from Asia to Europe..

• septzz on Dec 21, 2011 at 1:51 pm

finally…they put in nice bigger wheels. doesn’t look weird. if you keep updated, you know what i mean.

• mnazri.tan on Dec 21, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Perhaps i read it wrongly, this article do not specify what kind of “Proton” car they are going to use next year ??? Surely the Persona is nearing the end of its lifespan so it does not make much sense to keep on using it for 2012 race especially it is almost certain that by Feb/March they would launch the new car…

My wild guess….perhaps they are now preparing the “new car” using the new car we have been seeing in tape….what could be better platform to demonstrate the ability of the car other than track usage?….just a wild guess….LOL

• Obama on Dec 21, 2011 at 2:16 pm

I hate to say this, but the tail lamp is still looks ugly ..LOL

• Nizam80 on Dec 21, 2011 at 2:38 pm

Nice! Finally, good to see a Touring Car car version of a road car that I currently own!

• shawal on Dec 21, 2011 at 2:39 pm

izzit b’cuz its cheaper to replace if you crash it?
    but as always ,any publicity is good publicity

• Loneranger on Dec 21, 2011 at 6:07 pm

if cheaper y dun they take other cars manufacturer ie from China? they build cheaper cars….

• Nizam80 on Dec 21, 2011 at 2:47 pm

“…the NGTC-spec “unbranded” turbo direct injection electronic throttle engine has a 2.0 litre displacement and makes over 300 horses…”

This shows how much power Proton’s chassis can take.

• Brian Jong on Dec 21, 2011 at 2:51 pm

The second Proton build by Brits after Satria Neo S2000

• swoosh3553 on Dec 21, 2011 at 3:01 pm

If these photos were from Welch’s showroom in Woking, why is there a “mee-vee” in the background? or is it just a “Daihatsu Sirion”?

• septzz on Dec 21, 2011 at 4:41 pm

they also sell ‘mee-vee’ in the UK

• taboogen on Dec 21, 2011 at 4:45 pm

its a car dealer… so they must have few other brand in it.. unless they said it at proton dealer.. then that a whole new story.. proton authorize dealer (car dealer), proton dealer (specific for proton only)

• Brian Jong on Dec 21, 2011 at 3:02 pm

The second Proton to be build by British..after the Satria Neo S2000

• Brian Jong on Dec 21, 2011 at 3:05 pm

the second Proton to build by British after the Satria neo S2000..althought differ company

• BTW its called chasis

• ohlala on Dec 21, 2011 at 3:44 pm

shell means chassis and there is a reason why they choose proton chassis rather other manufacturer…well all car manufacturer participating in that event are also in different engines and yet not all car manufacturer get to participate…so there is still something to be proud of…

• Loneranger on Dec 21, 2011 at 6:05 pm

basher will always find their way to bash Proton….but sumthing to be proud of is that posts about Proton will attract them like ants found source of sweet things…..

• Never had crossed my mind Persona can evolve to that beauty

way to go proton…

hopefully Tuah presence wont kill off the Persona BTCC to soon

• nighttrain on Dec 21, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Really nice, a widebody Persona.. is there any pics of a widebody conversion done here locally?

• wonder where can i found in Malaysia…

• Lakonan on Dec 21, 2011 at 5:49 pm

There is nothing to be proud of. If your brain, heart has been removed and replaced by someone’s else. Is that you anymore? Nope.

• Loneranger on Dec 21, 2011 at 6:03 pm

what the point of having a brain without good and reliable body? it’ll be damage also…

• oranggila on Dec 21, 2011 at 6:38 pm

We can proud of the proton persona well built body, at least…

• nas-T on Dec 21, 2011 at 6:45 pm

Dey! nama pon racing car. ferrari ke, Maserati ke, Audi ke kalau dah racing car komfem la tak same ngan standard version. aisehmen…yang racing haram kat highway tu pon part sudah tukar macam macam apetah lagi international racing macam BTCC nih.

• Anyone else spotted the Myvis in the background???

• teamsleep on Dec 21, 2011 at 7:03 pm

No racing chasis is cheap….

• Its not the chasis that is strong.

Any Persona or even Gen2 owners knows that the chasis will create a ‘creaking’ noise here and then.

Even a simple turn during reverse parking will produce a ‘kruk-kruk’ sound at the engine bay.

Perhaps the engine mounting or maybe the whole body give way to twisting effect.

Nevertheless, the sponsor (at least the body) came from Protong.

But the engine, heck even the entire transmission system, shock absorbers and etc. will surely be changed to 3rd party racing spec.

I’m sure the engineers even reinforced the entire body chasis to achieve certain degree of rigidity using stabilizer bars and the likes of it (another 3rd party product).

To say its another “proud of the nation product – Protong”?
    It’s a far fetched from reality.
    As the saying goes, “Jauh Panggang Dari Api”.
    Literally, looks can be deceiving.
    It’s a Protong after all.
    Nothing much to say.

• gen2lama on Dec 21, 2011 at 9:54 pm

wahhh..u pun got persona &gen 2….how many proton do u actually have? so patriotic maaaa

• rally_fan on Dec 22, 2011 at 8:32 am

syoh.. “reinforced the entire body chasis to achieve certain degree of rigidity using stabilizer bars?” they dont use stabilizer bars to increase rigidity. they’re used to control bodyroll.

all race cars need to be reinforced for safety using a rollcage which also helps further stiffen the chassis of course.

but what you can’t change much is the actual design of the whole chassis from proton.. the position of suspension mountings, where the wheels are placed.. the front and rear overhangs.. etc. etc. These items will ultimately decide if you have a good handling car or not.

If you take an inherently poor handling car and build a race car out of it.. you will most likely end up with a poor handling race car.

Thats the main reason why im impressed about this persona. if the car is so crap, no team will be willing to take it and spend hundreds of thousands of pounds on it. they’re better off buying another car.

• zimmer 600 on Dec 22, 2011 at 9:04 am

dah habis modal ke bro.

• Eyesore on Dec 22, 2011 at 9:39 am

What a big liar…

I’m driving a first batch Gen 2 (2004) with original absorbers … Almost everyday i took corners at MRR2 and KESAS @ 100 – 120 kmph… never hear a single ‘creaking’ sound.. Everyday I do reverse parking.. never hear the ‘kruk kruk’ sound… so what the hell are you talking about? U wanna bash, bash with facts la brader…

U think racer will take just any chassis to built their racecar ke? Stupid!

• autojohndoe on Dec 22, 2011 at 10:45 am

“It’s a Protong after all.
      Nothing much to say.”

well… actually you said too much already, how many lines you type, please check back…. KAKAKAKAKAKAKA

• nebula87 on Dec 21, 2011 at 7:52 pm

this wat we call RACE CAR…=.=

• afiqms on Dec 21, 2011 at 8:36 pm

those bashers must be driving myvi or vios~

• maxize on Dec 21, 2011 at 8:50 pm

satria neo, persona membuktikan chasis proton adalah terbaik.kalau tak tentu tak dipilih utk masuk rally n touring…

• This is good news and exposure for Proton ! First the Waja BTCC, then Satria Neo S2000 WRC, then Satria Neo CUSCO APRC, and now Persona BTCC. What’s next ? :]

• ApaSaJa on Dec 21, 2011 at 11:54 pm

The chassis might have been stripped and re weld to make the chassis stronger anyway.

• Wise Man on Dec 22, 2011 at 7:58 am

due , @ Apa Saja. If they wanna stipped blablabla why they choose proton? dont be biase plz

• ApaSaJa on Dec 22, 2011 at 8:54 am

Because it is the cheapest that they can afford to trash it.

• Every production cars need to stripped & reweld again becoz they had to race rules by FIA to follow. Even BMW, Merc, Ferrari even Lamboghini need to do that even they can race straight away. Read rules & regulation on FIA bro before comment.

• makeitmine on Dec 22, 2011 at 9:59 am

Proton in BTCC. Why this car is not winning is because it is losing 8km/h on straight line. Nevertheless, it managed 1 point in BTCC .

Lotus engineering also in BTCC. Lotus conducts turbo boost test. Read http://www.gpupdate.net/en/autosport-news/270818/lotus-conducts-turbo-boost-test/

• lencongan on Dec 22, 2011 at 11:47 am

Ini memang BADASS

• carazy on Dec 22, 2011 at 6:34 pm

why myvee there??

• Having seen and sat in this car personally and spoken to its driver as its in my friends dealership I can tell you there is not much proton about the car other than the shell and small bit of dashboard it has left. The proton donor car was supplied by west end garage in Woking Surrey to the welch racing team in fleet Hampshire. As for the mivi in the background they are also a dealer for them and if you look close you will see they are also a Kia dealer. They used to be a Nissan dealer many moons ago too. The welch team car is there at the minute as the garage have just opened a new showroom for the Kia side of things and it was bought over for some publicity for the grand opening of the showroom that happened today. If you search for west end garage on Facebook you will be able to see some more pics of the car and also some of the new showroom being built.

• paul ogawa on Mar 20, 2012 at 7:41 pm

SY0H says:
    21/12/2011 at 7:35 pm
    Its not the chasis that is strong.

You give very s….. comment. You need to got back to form 1 school.

• Jalai on Aug 10, 2012 at 7:37 am

ok la tu dah masok BTCC… komplen sapa pon buleh, dah pandai sgt try la buat kereta sendiri.. Syabas PROTON

• walch motorsport on Dec 20, 2012 at 3:11 am

Blablabla… i love my persona

• Hadi Anwar on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:42 am

syabas proton! s2000, btcc then what next? my mom’s persona also superb. comfortable,good looking, max out at 170km/h with auto cruise without any vibration or what so ever. at corners, it handles the corners superbly on std full spec only…

Preve’ already has wide body. the chassis tech is much more advanced than persona which is featured R.E.S.S. chassis, ANCAP 5 star safety rating and lots more. if compared to p2 meeevee(as jeremy clarkson said) the factory suspension is rubbish. while cornering feels like its going to be tergolek(i experience that too). the most hideous looking model(said the honda-rean), savvy, which i clowning around driving, that car can manage to take the corner at genting sepah >120km/h DOWNHILL. That’s super.