Proton Prevé Sapphire: hints of a SE version?

At the Proton Prevé launch last night at the MIECC, a special version of the car was also seen – the Sapphire, as it’s called, is a concept drawn up by Proton Design to showcase the possibilities with the Prevé. The car features a matte gun-metal finish, and the shade does look very fetching in the metal.

Changes from the base version include a dark tan leather interior and two-tone five-spoke 18-inch alloys wrapped with Yokohama S.drive 225/40 series rubbers. Oh, and the braking system elements and ride height have seen changes as well. There’s also a new, dynamic-looking front bumper, which transforms the nose and tightens the frontal presentation of the car – Proton’s head of styling, Azlan Othman, mentioned that the bumper is set to see the light of day at some point in the future.

Also on, new side skirts and a revised rear bumper, with additional lip strapped on. There’s plenty of contrast play against the matte exterior shade finish – silver highlights on the bumpers, brushed metal bits and window-frame chrome bezels dress things up further.

It looks sharp, the Sapphire. Word has it that this is a bit of a peek into what may turn out to be a Special Edition version in the months ahead. Like what you see?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• artee on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:58 am

maybe R3 version?

• Obama on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:29 pm

I believe this will be the merdeka day special edition!

• Wisdom on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:56 pm

This is more like it…

• ILoveMalaysia on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:10 pm

One word to describe..S.U.P.E.R.B !! great job Proton.. GREAT job

Design wise, symmetrically aerodanamic and looks stable. After waiting years of silent observation and evaluation I think they managed to produce a car worth buying.

From extensive readings in forums and surveys I can sum up the key points that buyers really beg from proton to improve:

1) stringent fit and fittings,
        2) realiable and efficient engine
        3) AFTER SALES SERVICE…AFTER SALES SERVICE…AFTER SALES SERVICE please..

• only the color n the chrome lining looks nice, the rest…..no design flow
          suka sini lurus sana bengkok, sini bulat sana segi, sini naik sana turun

n another bad name SAPPHIRE.. means lost or unsuccessful in mandrine

• well sincerely can say that too to other cars as well
            it’s rather subjective

• go proton go on Apr 21, 2012 at 1:02 am

whatever it is made in Malaysia is way better compare to made in China.

• go proton go on Apr 21, 2012 at 1:04 am

whatever it is, made in Malaysia is much more better compare to made in China.

• haidar on Aug 07, 2013 at 7:13 pm

mandarine speaking are not welcome to buy preve sapphire..u can go to hell

• jaafar on Jul 19, 2012 at 1:37 pm

Wait first for review from established car magazines like autocar, evo, top gear etc because the local papers will of course praise the local cars for political expediency.Its not proven yet to be a good car despite what proton claims.

• daamz on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:03 pm

i still remember last time Waja have been launched @ RM63k, while Perdana is about 105k. now they can sell much cheaper car but with better quality than 10 years ago. This is so weird, but at least rakyat afford to buy it. Thats the main point.

I think p1 already learn from their mistake. Its okay. For those who seek for a new car, and afford to pay 800-900 per month, you guys may go for this car. Bet this is very decent car and the performance wont disppoint you guys.

Lets hope the reliability of this car is up to the standard where it should be. Hope they keep evolving! dont stop!

• syafeeq on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:32 pm

yes, was about to ask if R3 version is planned

• p1 fans on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:44 pm

awesome!! the color just perfect. but the rear should be redesign if they want make it more appeal to youngsters!!apart from that,perfect.

• Go see the car first bro….i like the rear more than the front…rear design very bmw….the pic aint that good but in real i think even after 5 years down the design still look fresh….like how bmw and toyota and honda is doing….since this is proton first global car…they need time to expand to other country…i bet this model will go for more than 5 years production….might be 5 years sales in malaysia but the production might go extra 1-2 years…
        Dont like the rear?no problem…a diff bumper will fix the overall look just like this

• Of course you like the design to look fresh so that can sell even after 20 years.

• kivatt0024 on Apr 17, 2012 at 6:30 pm

amoi…why u so jealous…..afraid that lg power lg best will become outdated ka…??

• IMSEXYANDIKNOWIT on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:00 pm

Proton Preve Sapphire sounds so gay.
      Proton Preve Avantgarde sound much better.

• alldisc on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Sapphire name was used in the 1980s by Ford.

the sedan version of Sierra (now Mondeo) is known as Ford Sierra Sapphire (go google)

• tiadaid on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:46 pm

And don’t forget the Ford Fiesta XTR Sapphire

• gtmaniac on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:50 am

Yeah alldisc.. u r absolutely correct! Sapphire was a sedan version of the Sierra. And who could forget the Saphire Cosworth!

Anyway, i think it is a right time to have a performance sedan from the proton line-up. Not only cosmetic improvement. Remember the Wira 1.8 DOHC? It is about the only real (and fun!) performance sedan from proton, a true wolf-in-sheep clothing.

• Looks is acceptable only…normal version is just…

• Papa QQs on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:02 pm

try to imagine with red and black color…walauwey sure cun!

• pucuk mangga on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:02 pm

nice!!!!!!!!!!

• Iylia H on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:04 pm

Love the wheels. Love the bodykit and the front silver linings near the fog lights look like those from the F30 luxury line. Indeed love the color, is that some sort of like frozen grey from BMW?

• Yaya … Asia’s BMW ma hor?

• sfssd on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:15 am

Yup, just about to say that, the fog lamp garnish is similar to the new F30 3-series BMW, hehehehe……..cedok aaah?

• noname on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:05 pm

hope this for the production version…

• khuzailifah on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:08 pm

huhu..sbg pemilik forte aku sgt jeles ngn design sapphire nie..

• sebagai pemilik FORTE tak perlu jeles dgn Sapphire jew.. patutnya dah kena jealous dgn Model CFE jerr.. ni dah high end.. haha

• Hazard on Apr 17, 2012 at 2:08 pm

Forte takde turbo… tak syok… :P

• forte pn bole tahan spec dia bro…

• yrauzim on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:04 pm

1) forte turbo pun takde.
        2) 6 speed je.
        3) gps kena pasang sendiri.
        4) dimension forte lebih kecil.
        5) forte lebih mahal. di mana bumi dipijak, di situ kita perlu ikut harga kereta. takde kalau2 harga kat US lah, kat spore lah kat planet pluto lebih murah lah…bla-bla-bla..
        6) byk lggggg forte/city/vios/altis/civic 2.0 kalah…. kawan2 tlg smbung. alah…baca spec preve sendiri senang jee..

forte spec boleh tahan ke?

• kaminski on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:08 pm

This special edition/Proton design concept sure does have lots more character. Proton need to add this, now would be fine!

• DKBOSS on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Adding this looks good but how much you think the final price will come up to, easily another RM5 to 10RM …looking Proton actually used quality items for this !!

So RM73K plus let say RM another 7K makes it RM80K for the Special Edition !! Damm

• Felt a bit heavy for its class.

• Major T-roll on Apr 17, 2012 at 2:48 pm

What the hell does that mean? You test drove it already? Tell me, which class does it sit in?

• those alcon 4pot brakes does not come cheap dude.. i think it’ll cost at least rm10k

• jalan54 on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Better look and feel for the exterior as well as interior. Seriously, the interior still use lots of cheap plastic, hope they can improve this in the future.

• Go see it yourself dude! It was amazing!

• Cheap plastic ! Have u seen suzuki swift inside ? I got one…and that is really cheap plastic. Proton is better..I mean the plastic part.

• azrigon on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:25 am

what kind of comment la???? have you take a look at it ur self or just cedok what other people write? cis!

• damn it Proton, now i’m confused..should i buy now or should i wait for this version..haha..

• Astromas on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:28 pm

hahaha.. you r so funny.. love this one..

• I’m thinking of cancelling my RM500 booking bro.
      Gua x nak gigit jari if Sapphire Preve keluar x sampai setahun.
      But my dad needs an automatic sedan soon.
      His knees kenot tahan jam KL.
      Ah maybe I’ll just buy both Preve Premium & Sapphire.
      Cancel my A4 s line wish.

To haters, Proton is still a Msian Automaker.
      It belongs to a Malaysian.
      The cars are built by Rakyat Malaysia on Tanah Air.
      The engineers are Msians.
      So go suck ur shitty Honda City & Toyota TRD .
      Muahahahaha..

• RON97 on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:13 pm

the colour is ok. but proton may use back the wheel design on the 1st model of perdana v6 & satria Gti. these are the the best wheels from proton ( i mean..jrd, made in rawang)

• aeman on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:13 pm

way cool..!!perfecto..!

• Notakosong.com on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Interesting, it does look better and better!

No, I’m not being sarcastic, this Preve Sapphire do look delicious!

• ahmadfaris93 on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:22 pm

I just hope it is not just cosmetics. Bring on more powerful engine. More horsepower and torque !

• no one want buy preve liao….all waiting this…

• ya lor, p1 should just make this one as their 1st model for launching or atleast the finishing paint

• Rogaz on Aug 19, 2013 at 11:00 am

Those who short of money like you sure don’t wan to buy, Those who can will left you looking forever

• rumplestiltskin on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:23 pm

Wow!. They always keep something up their sleeves. they should make it standard- the bumper and the interior that is. the rim can be an option

• Salleh MY on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Only one word… SUPERB!!!!

• This looks way better than the normal Proton Preve.

• But Proton will never use 18 inch RIM on their Production car… dont day dream… haha

• BeemerFreak on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:33 pm

Cool, but why they did not give all these standard to the CFE? that makes an even compleling case of choosing the preve over the stupid vios and city

• Depends on market as well, some people will look for decent car with lower budgets. the RM59k will be good enough. For those who seek lower budgets the IAFM engine will be ok for them since CFE is with turbo, the maintenance a little bit higher than the iafm. and maybe the turbo cant fit in within that pricing range. just my 2 cents..

• they have market survey. and they produce based on market survey. not everyone needs and wants just like u

• Ongtk on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Wow! The Sapphire certainly looks more stylish! The dash center panel where the air-cond vent and Hi-Fi are located looks more cohesive as a unit. But, I think the steering wheel can be further improved. To me it looks bulky and out of sync with the rest of the pleasant dash design. Oh! the dash looks similar to the one in the Actyon Sport!

• encik boss on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:35 pm

Bring it on!!! we like it!!

• tam wizzo on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:38 pm

I like…..

• eeeriz on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:38 pm

Maybe it’s my eyes, the wheel looks dashing, but it looks out of place when fitted to the car. Overall, much better than the current preve kits.

• sulaiman on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:39 pm

this will be just a concept only. there will no plan to production on this concept just like others concept version. :(

the concepts is awesome ( just my opinion). but still i wonder why proton dont want come out all their concept into production.

mahal do-oh ko?

• kereta_lembu on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:39 pm

Much better in front and on the interior but still don’t like the rear :(

• agree! the tail looks too busy. it is like 3 teams did 3 separate sections and paste it together.
      18 inch rims improves the proportions of the signature slab sided profile with small wheels ala exora. but 18s will cost the earth when it comes time to change tires and driving on crappy kl roads would make you unbelieve. LOL

• nebula87 on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:41 pm

how about full body matte black??! xD

• MNazri.tan on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:41 pm

some said this and turns out…betul siot…
    pepagi ramai suka puji proton…
    basher muncul di petang hari and malam…..weird…siap ada pattern of behavior…

• Pagi budak pi skolah…working guy browsing before do work…petang bdak skolah da blk..working guy doing office work before going back

• meanwhile the p1 fanboys are on all the time coz they got nothing else to do. LOL

• interior nice combine on colour..cool seat…but radio look so sempoi..don’t know how to explain.

• Bongcs on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:43 pm

with the temptation, i would need to work my ass off everyday HARDER !!

• amrymr on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:43 pm

my god..this version of preve surely get my attention.. beautiful n stylish..

• aiyo preve…y u back ugly….otherwise cun already..

• lameduck on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:45 pm

Like what i see? LIKE LIKE STATUS!
    wow nice, launch it already! or are they waiting this to be the SE for Merdeka 2012?????

• Bongcs on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:49 pm

Ok, 80 grand OTR with insurance

• arfadzt on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:50 pm

wow…love at the 1st sight!! good job proton.. :D

• ck2222 on Apr 17, 2012 at 12:56 pm

this is much much better……should open it for booking Proton!!

• beatnik on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:01 pm

the colour looks trick.. ride height should be lowered a bit.

and please, just stop with the SE thingy! this should be the premium model from day one!

and get rid off the horizontal chrome bar at the back!

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:09 pm

I forgot to add that the ride height has been adjusted. Have done so in the story.

• anti-vios on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:03 pm

this one is superb!

• thanks proton.. for the first time im in love with you

• menyesal tak sudah, bagai mau tobat dgn jenama proton.

• Betul bro.

• perantau on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:46 pm

selama pakai proton waja tahun 2001 (4G18P AT), tak pernah pulak rasa terbeban atau hampa dengan performance dia. dah nak dekat 300 000 km dah kereta tu. yang diganti…all beltings, power steering rack and absorbers (tu pon sebab bagi bapak pakai masa berhijrah ke melbourne, guna waja tu masuk ladang…hahaha). engine masih virgin and tip top serta takder masalah pon…bunyi pon senyap lagi (pakai eneos). handling way better compared to mazda 6 ( skrg ni di UK), dan far-far superb compared ngan holden commodore 4.0 masa di melbourne. Bila nampak preve nie, memang tertarik. harap bila balik end of 2014 nanti, dah ada upgraded version and kalau boleh ada estate version. baru best jalan2 balik kampung…..

• RedLine on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:25 pm

The exterior looks very good, but the interior, especially the centre dash / console looks a bit plain, like there is too many empty areas…probabaly because of the light colour material.

• potong on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:26 pm

hells yea. with the brush metal plate number.

• Look better but l rather have Concept Tuah front bumper and more pronounce lumbar support front seats.

• spongebob5654 on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:37 pm

refer the first pic, the preve looks floating..

• VW_kakis on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Hmmm…. interior look a like VW, by the way DEAR proton, we (drivers) want MANUAL CPE…… MANUAL!!!!!

• teelim on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:31 pm

yes, and make it a 6spd while you’re at it

• fabio on Apr 22, 2012 at 6:45 am

YEah proton preve cfe shud’ve a fully manual version!! pretty please proton..hihihi

• ernest on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Kudos to Proton.

• kuriang on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:50 pm

demm.. launch it please!!

• MAI Apprentice on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:52 pm

I rarely salute the proton car design, but.. preve model impressed me.. especially this sapphire edition.. I might say.. good job proton.. keep it up.. always improve.. I’m waiting for the next car proton want to come out..

• VOTE AND DEMAND 4 CHEAPER CARS on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:52 pm

Wah my taxi just got more luxurious!

• and now, why should not proton keep ds syed zainal?

• Nice!! hope proton make-it into production as Special Edition maybe?
    the kit remind me how the korea car looks a-like and yet i love it!!

• forteman on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:56 pm

Forte still the best and the beast…they copy Forte coupe Rim and Roof…

• whysoserious on Apr 17, 2012 at 3:18 pm

poor u..and where is your friend? mr F Fiesta? forgot to inform him bout this?

• Ok kiddo. you win. you make take the medal and leave Preve alone.

Preve is awesome! I will regret if I buy Forte. LOL

• auditorsux on Apr 17, 2012 at 1:58 pm

mmm cant wait for a test drive

• I like it…but what with the SE…why local player like to introduce SE? Should release this in the first place instead of SE. Are engine still the same? No tune up for more hp?

• swifty on Apr 17, 2012 at 2:16 pm

I’ll take the sapphire version anytime. The regular version is bland in comparison once you’ve seen this one. I think this is the real star attraction at the launch. Good work P1! Make it a reality, please.

• I’m interested ONLY in Preve Sapphire. Yesterday, I went to place an order for Sapphire at Proton Edar, Mutiara Damansara. Unfortunately, not available yet. Disappointed like crazy…. I’m in luv with Sapphire. After making a few phone calls, I will get to see it at Glenmarie showroom today….hoping to be able to pay deposit for it. Proton MUST learn to accommodate and please customer! Anyway, good job to Proton team members that were involved in d Preve Sapphire design.

• Supa Hiro on Apr 17, 2012 at 2:17 pm

This Preve will smoke all P1 basher’s Civic and Forte easily – kacang putih. I will be getting mine soon, can’t wait to smoke a Forte and Civic on the road. LOL!

• Jibam on Apr 17, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Dream on bebeh..haa..haaa…1.6 dream. Half cook.

• why not?
        civic 2.0 0-100 – 10.3 sec
        preve 1.6 TURBO (can you read?) – 9.6sec lol

• v-power on Apr 19, 2012 at 12:24 pm

Proton Preve 1.6 TURBO – 9.6sec (Prod 2012)
          Civic Eg6/VTi 1.6 VTEC (NA) – 7.3sec (Prod 1991/92)

Just sharing some interesting motoring facts…peace!

• to be fair to proton, honda knows more about engine tech in 1 camshaft then the entire engine department for proton.
            anyway, emissions standards are now much tighter than in the early 90s plus other considerations such as total kerb weight and gearbox, another area where proton knows nuts about.

• sama hebat on Apr 20, 2012 at 6:01 am

Proton Preve 1.6 TURBO – 9.6sec (Prod 2012) – setakuk minyak tahan 1 minit..
            Civic Eg6/VTi 1.6 VTEC (NA) – 7.3sec (Prod 1991/92 – setakuk minyak tahan 0.5 minit..

• Dumbo…so get it to smoke others…smoke also the VW golf 1.4 tsi

• pakmon on Apr 17, 2012 at 2:21 pm

utk preve SE version nanti konfem leh cantek kalu pakai grill sapphire nih…custom bodykit maker leh start design custom bodykit utk preve…byk sket choice tp kalu preve kuar skali ngn bodykit mcm persona elegance mst lagi best!

• leng chai!

• prashnan kumar on Apr 17, 2012 at 2:25 pm

well, i drove the car today at lumut…..
    eeemmmm….hhhmmmmmm….ok lah boleh…..!

power start after 3000rpm..onward….but pick up….comes with an unsuall sound from (cvt)gearbox…after check with salesman…..his verdict was….excuse me!…..this is latest engine with turbocharged…….for sure…sounds…unsuall.

anyway!….let you guys check the preve’s performance…..and response….

for me something not right!

• Chow 1 on Apr 17, 2012 at 3:23 pm

I test drove the Persona before, and it felt like my Wira is better. :(

• bonbon on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:46 am

maybe different people,different opinion. i actually like persona ride & handling compare to my own wira …. but this preve? i waiting for test drive

• haimi on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:18 pm

i think something not right on you…i & my friend have done test drive in Ampang today..
      no such sound bro..acceleration superb..i tell u

• _xXx_ on Apr 17, 2012 at 6:09 pm

Latest engine but with timing belt????

• SGBLM on Apr 17, 2012 at 7:45 pm

I think u test drove the IAFM+ model lah bro …

• don’t lie here
      cfe turbo kicks in at 2,000 rpm,
      you said at 3,000 rpm? what for too high? even prince engine kicks lower than 2,000rpm
      you don’t even know how to lie , get lost

• burung on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:22 am

He got a point there. As my 3 posts in another 2 main topics. Please scroll.

What I can simplify here again…

(1) Please do, or ask, your SA to test drive the car at the longer distance road. If possible with a 2-3km straight stretch. Not around shop road, shop-houses area where you can’t even get 100km/h.

(2) That sensation of “no pulling” below 3000rpm is true. That’s why he mentioned “3,000 rpm”. Because I didn’t feel anything at 2,000-2,500 rpm.

(3) May be because the car is heavy, at what? 1,340kg?

(4) May be some more “refine-tuning” is required. By ECU update? OBD cable software-update is sufficient?

(5) Again, demand for longer period of test driving from SA. Go for MEN. Women SA are scared of MEN drivers would tekan & rempit the car, plus they’re not so technical.

(6) Engine’s sound is unacceptably loud.

(7) Will test drive again tomorrow (Wed 18/04), if my ears still can’t take that engine noise, I may be cancelling my booking. Burn $200 burn la.

• driver on Apr 19, 2012 at 2:16 am

Bro.. I’m not geographically possible to test drive the car, but am very interested in the NVH of the Preve CFE (not the IAFM).

Mind giving a comparison of the NVH to other car? (preferably City 2008 mode, or Latio sedan, or Civic as these are the car that I’m familiar with)

Personally I don’t mind a small noise from the engine, as long the noise from the wind & road is maximally reduced. I gives me a sporty feeling. Maybe it’s just me.

• it comes with 2 different setup. iafm+ & cfe. paul tan/anthony had mentioned in the previous article, iafm engine is a bit noisy & cfe version runs smoothly u may sleep soundly… :P

• Jernson on Apr 17, 2012 at 2:27 pm

the car sit cushion color !! really cannot la !!

• lol tell that to bmw, audi etc
      if they can choose that color why not proton?

• leng chai! handsome!

• The Punisher on Apr 17, 2012 at 2:30 pm

I like the name, the body, design and everything…

not sure how to express but the word “Sapphire” is a very nice name.

• Quiet on Apr 17, 2012 at 2:30 pm

Wait, baru one day official launch already hinting at a future SE model release? What the..??!

• niceone on Apr 17, 2012 at 3:37 pm

why not? marketing should never stop. plus its a common consensus that special edition will always be more expensive than standard ones, so people who dnt want to spend extra money will go for the standard one anyway..if proton team is really committed to be better, i bet they are already working on the next variants such as preve hatchback, eventhough preve has just been introduced yesterday.

• interior looks like a chery…cheapo plastics and switchgear stands out

• Chow 1 on Apr 17, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Just came back from showroom. Few findings:
    1) The Preve looks better in real life compare to photo.
    2) Build Quality is not top notch with some noticeable detailed flaws, but overall acceptable.
    3) The rear ain’t that back in real life, just not photogenic enough.
    4) Comfortable to sit in compare to Persona.
    5) It actually looks better than Inspira.
    6) Quite spacious and easy to get in, especially the rear seat.

• Josh Ling on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:21 pm

totally agree with you, actually i started to fall for some details of its exterior design already. i have never seen such an attention to details in terms of design from proton before, so for that, i really wanna say great job to proton this time.

about the sapphire, love the look, but i prefer the darker colour scheme across the dashboard area of the original car. the beige colour decorative just make the whole cabin looks not as expensive and classy as it should be.

• Chow 1 on Apr 17, 2012 at 3:15 pm

Proton should have named “Preve” as “Sapphire”, sound more ‘canggih’.

• Salleh on Apr 17, 2012 at 3:19 pm

Estimate to sell 3000 units per month . Bravo proton keep it up .

Looks like in 5 years proton can conqure the global market . Compete with H T N and s VW , BMW Merz.

This tell you we bumiputra Can Compete with Japanese , Korean , Chinese and eventually the German . Malaysia Boleh . Yes Proton go GLOBAL .

PROTON BOLEH !

• What with bumi thingy? Its Malaysian n some foreigner effort in Proton to make this reality

• Proton senior director of operations Dr Wolfgang Karl Epple, bumi ke nama tu?
        wow, if the bumi can compete on merit then all measures that favour bumi esok should be dismantled kan?
        if proton can really compete, NAP pun should be dismantled esok, kan?

• e-tique on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:04 pm

stop acting lah bro! we bumi konon…go to hell lah we bumi kaa, we cina kaaa…we indian kaaaa. i can sense a sarcastic post just to spark hatred among us!

• Potiac on Apr 17, 2012 at 6:55 pm

Its now a bumi’s own company. Hidup tan sri moktar bukhari

• Paint on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:51 pm

This is a truly Malaysian effort, and we all should be proud of it. Please don’t turn it into whatever personal/political gain with your racial remark. Syed Mokhtar just bought that company, true. But he did not build it in months. Our brothers and sisters in Proton did it.

• bonbon on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:48 am

bumi tuh,,,hehe,,konfirm ahli umno nih,,takpun perkasa…

• stylo on Apr 17, 2012 at 3:32 pm

Totally ugly….the front looks more like a truck. The back looks like KTM Komuter. It looks like a patch up work done by kids. Now I am really not buying this.

• I know you dislike PROTON, but this car is a four-wheeled vehicles, how to look like truck or train?
      I think I also can describe you as: in front seem like orangutans, rear look like monkeys. Would you agree? Even if you agree, I would not think you are.
      The car is good or bad, not determined by the brand. There is no one car maker can produced a car with 0% defect.
      Even three-year-old child could see that this is a car. I not deceive you.

• Stylo2 on Apr 18, 2012 at 7:59 am

Hello stylo, I don’t think so you can afford anyway. So don’t talk too much.

• chicken nugget1 on Apr 17, 2012 at 3:44 pm

WE CAN MAKE CARSS. FINALLY!!!!!!!! :D

• _xXx_ on Apr 17, 2012 at 10:52 pm

so time to remove protection and compete?

• autojohndoe on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:13 am

what protection?

have you make your readings?

all cars from SEA are tax equally… except for fully import…

• _xXx_ on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:02 pm

“all cars from SEA are tax equally… except for fully import…”

what talk u, bang?? Cars from other SEA countries are of course fully import lah! U think Brunei/Thailand part of Mesia or wat???

• kerelbort on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:47 pm

kesian. some people donno what is SEA. haha..

• worse still, there are proton fanboys who deny their beloved proton is protected by the govt.

• Sarbath on Apr 25, 2012 at 1:51 am

Haha u made my day bang oi hahaha.. U are the one that supposed to read your reading haha.. SEA dont know ah ?? Oh by the way what _xXx_ say is true, its time to prove that preve can compete with other car brand.. remove AP bro !!.. Would love to see preve compete with BMW 323i :-D without those AP of coz.. If that are happening i would love to see the survival of proton brand in MALAYSIA!!

• jsooz on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:09 pm

Why don’t they launch this as the Preve in the FIRST PLACE??

• _xXx_ on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:33 pm

sapphire pulak…..

• come on! on Apr 17, 2012 at 4:41 pm

seriously guys, there are some pros and cons of this car. It is not perfect i suppose. Just listen to them basher, maybe they’ve got a point?
    from what i see here, when someone giving an opinion saying the car is not good etc, straight away a lot of people downrated the comment, come on

• just like everybody to have the right to bash or support, i think everybody also have the right to dislike or like someone else comment. It is internet freedom.

At the end of the day, you have to make your own judgement since you cannot trust all the comment here…

• I will wait for the SE version! Please be quick Proton. =)

• Cyber on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:04 pm

I like the 4-pot alcon brake calipers *drooling*

• NO! for SE version must redesign rear lamp.

• robot on Apr 17, 2012 at 5:28 pm

cantik siakk!!!

• Man on the Moon on Apr 17, 2012 at 6:09 pm

design looks like taken out from mazda 3 (2004- 2010) version, cabin looks from like previous waja.. probably thats priced ard RM 60k to 73k for malaysia market.

Rather disappointed, but delighted with the LED front light, and to highlight eletronic fuel indicator, wa.., is it reliable indicating the real amount of fuel ?

haha.. time will tell.

• Johnny on Apr 17, 2012 at 6:28 pm

Real bummer for those who ordered the Preve before seeing this.

• SGBLM on Apr 17, 2012 at 7:40 pm

I like the exterior and the chosen color for this Sapphire, but i don’t like the color scheme for the interior … still prefer it to be dark leather (dark red and black, just maintain it like on previous SE versions for other Proton models), now that would be cun …

• sub_zero on Apr 17, 2012 at 7:42 pm

so much negativity lol

nak murah macam viva, nak bagus macam buggati veyron

stupid 3rd world malaysian mentality

• angahsmart on Apr 17, 2012 at 7:59 pm

ok so far kete ni utk price range dia ada 3 kn? yg 50k+, 60k+ ngn 70k+..utk sume kategori tu mmg gear dia sume paddle shifter ke? cz tgk dlm paper yg 50k+ tu manual gear..harap ada info yg m’bantu..thanks :()

• orangkampung on Apr 17, 2012 at 8:27 pm

ORANGKAMPUNG are very proud of this yet another milestone to the Malay technological advances. Say what you like. Had we leave our automotive industry to those kapitans, we would have not achieved anything like this, except assembling stripped down CKD’s from japan… In our lifetime, we would like to see PROTON achieves recognition as the emerging world brand. The Japanese/korean took some time… and have arrived… our time will come….amiin.

• Funniman on Apr 19, 2012 at 9:32 am

If we had not fought against the CKD assemblers, we would be like other countries who only assemble cars. Everything is controlled by the Japanese manufacturers. Every design and approvals must be from Japan. Local people only learn “how to weld and tighten screws” and even the screws / material come from other countries.

We must be proud…berasa Bangga of our own achievement. We must develop technology and stand on our own.

• just test drive today……proton make us laugh again. Before launching, i saw the advertisement , i though preve was very efficiency & powerful car, but ……..sigh……..dun need to talk much here, everyone just go test drive .

• autojohndoe on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:09 am

maybe it is you who cant feel it… or you test drive the cfe or iafm+?

3 auto journos, Paultan, Uncle Chips, Funtasticko test drive it and give good review…

• e-tique on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:38 am

light us up, any model to compare? 3 series? golf gti? or lamboghini?? hehe

• khairulx19a on Apr 17, 2012 at 8:53 pm

chrome on the rear trunk so lame, proton try some thing else to make ur car more attractive

• But it looks so much better with the chrome on the rear trunk if you compare to the non se version

• anyone test drive d?

• shawal on Apr 17, 2012 at 9:28 pm

if the SE looks EXACTLY like this (apart from the rims , its a bit too bling fer my taste) , i’d definitely get 1 , light shade wood trim tastefully done!

• shawal on Apr 17, 2012 at 9:31 pm

I’m really liking this concept, in & out its just purrfect….

• Don Nazar on Apr 17, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Preve 2 door would be hot :o

• whuttadilly on Apr 17, 2012 at 10:04 pm

i think this is only for roadshow purpose.. never will they make this type of modification to be sold.. like the one they make to satrea noe desire and persona envy..

• please make it into production…….this really look superb

• Jimmy on Apr 17, 2012 at 11:21 pm

Sapphire??? Why not just produce the original Tuah Concept as SE?

• Handsome on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:04 am

Great looking car! Proton – take note of the likes and make it happen.

• ahmad on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:20 am

what would foose design buat dgn this car…gulp

• auto lover on Apr 18, 2012 at 7:39 am

ngam sungguh..

• man bobo on Apr 18, 2012 at 8:42 am

hi…anybody can gives roughly the payments for each version of Preve..
    a) 1.6MT……….7 years?……………..9 years?
    b) 1.6CVT……..7 years?……………..9 years?
    c)1.6CVT Premium……7 years? ………9 years?…..all together with minimum 10%

any comment? interest rate? which bank etc..

Thanks in advance

• pitong on Apr 18, 2012 at 12:15 pm

1.6cvt premium, 10% dp, 7 yrs 933, 9yrs 764, bank maybank, public bank offers 2.82%….

• g-mey on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:07 pm

yesterday..this is what the salesman told me…
        if you book n apply loan within this week…
        the bank still follow the tentative price which is 75.5k…
        so u actually can lower your downpayment if the loan approved…
        if you transfer NCD = 55%.. then you can cut another 1.4k from the downpayment…

Tentative Price use by bank : RM75500
        Announced Price : RM72990
        90% from old price RM75500 = RM67950
        DP : RM72990 – RM67950 = RM5040
        NCD 55%, deduct another RM1400
        DP after deduct Max NCD 55% : 5040 – 1400 = RM3640

So.. kepada sesiapa yg kurang DP.. cepat2 booking dan apply loan..

• aminlife on Apr 18, 2012 at 9:01 am

aa…now confused..should wait for Prevé Sapphire?

• izack04 on Apr 18, 2012 at 10:19 am

For me…this model would be better launch as base model for preve because it has WOW factor… the preve base design is very lame and empty…. after 1 year then launch SE before at 3rd year launch facelift….. there are more ideas to come with time…..

Yesterday, i went to showroom and sit as drivers, co-driver and passenger….. the seat is a little bit hard and the cloth texture is rough… easy to caught stain and dust.

The dashboard that i see is acceptable, the meter panel is OK since it light up as you push the start button without the key, like the shift paddle behind steering. One thing that i think should be review is the gear stick should be change something like BMW doing, put it a little bit lower and wrap it with leather. Help yourself by googling it on web.

When i try to get out, i found that the door trim is not hard enough or not strengthen properly. The door trim will “penyek” if you push it especially at the top side, just under the window. I did test it at all door and it si all the same. Maybe it need a little bit of structure strengthen.

• Everyday on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:44 am

You won’t get any better with the current price range bro…

If they made this their initial model, the price would be 90K-100K++ Will you buy bro??

• Why in the world is proton always doing this stupid marketing stunt? I have thought of getting the preve. and now there is a plan to produce sapphire. i may have to wait for sapphire… and then i may not buy the preve or the preve sapphire at all…

• superman on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:03 pm

this is a show car only.. to show people what can be done to make the car look sportier.

• Visited the showroom yesterday, while car has lots of space and mechanical and tech goodies which many would approve the build quality on the interior was quite dissapointing. The pass airbag indicator seems an after thought as the print looks poor not to mention the feel of the buttons that seems just wating to fall apart, handbrake lever and centre lower console are really bad plastics and it shows, dash surface design looks cheap while the grain is to make it look softer looks ugly, some interior panels were not fitted properly in one car but ok on the next, one had and a flat battery with all indicator lights flashing. General feel was ok but can b a lot better, i feel it is a decent car underneath but too high on price as the one to go for would b the cfe.

• zaharUPM on Apr 18, 2012 at 2:54 pm

tu la yang aku rasa semalam…syg btol la…luaran dah cantik..
      xde nak komen ape2…tang dalam tuh..adesss potong stim tul la..

lagi satu aku nak tambah…getah hitam kat blakang cermin sebelah penumpang…
      aku rasa baik sangat2 kalu xde…
      korang paham x getah mane yg aku maksudkan?huhuh

• Ini lah di antara jakun2 yg aku tengok kat showroom semalam,

Perlukah kelakuan ini di showroom?

>Menghenjut2 kereta di dalam showroom
        >Menghempas pintu dan bonet berkali2 (pernahkan diorg feeling mcm mana pintu Audi/VW)
        >Sampai mcm nak baring tengok underfloor
        >Cuba kopek apa jua getah / trim part

Aku percaya kalau kat showroom model lain… tarik door handle pun kalau boleh nak lapik dgn kain… apasal sebab keta harga mahal …. piiiiiiirahhh

• adoii on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:47 pm

This is typical of malaysian ….nak murah …nak baik…nak cantik…
          When it come to Jap or Conti car takde pulak nak komen lebih2…..
          Konon2 beli kreta imported hidung sudah tinggi….
          To VIOS or City ….sor far behind…kena kentut je dgn PREVE….
          Support malaysia product…

• e-tique on Apr 19, 2012 at 1:51 pm

hahaha, i bet this same jakun-species won’t dare to the same thing at T,H or non-proton showroom…b thankful that we hv proton, at least u know how to differs between torsion beam & multi-link…

• matlimmutu on Apr 18, 2012 at 5:41 pm

ayoyo.. they shud hv just launch this one as well huhu..

• yanes on Apr 18, 2012 at 6:05 pm

to those in charge, if ure reading tis, 4WD please. :)

• kadajawi on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:01 pm

The interior looks sooo much better in this color scheme!

• eims @ gold on Apr 20, 2012 at 2:48 pm

2 thumbs up 4 the design..

but i dont like the brown interior colour. old school colour.

• kereta kebal on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Very nice!

Suggestion for Proton to double their efforts to compete in middle east car market, I can see Proton brand here in middle east and it is comparable to more establish brand in terms of design and robustness. I am pleased and proud to see Malaysian brand in middle east. Preve (as a global car) and Saga with a good advertisement, promotion and aftersales service I believe it would be able to grab significant market share for small car segment.

• lalala on Apr 23, 2012 at 11:32 am

FORTE OR PREVE???

• Ala..why stress out? No need to wait long long time..sure got aftermarket bodykit like saphire will be sold in another 1-2 month after the Preve launch..modified la after that. more fun to mod our self what…

• Lady like on Apr 25, 2012 at 8:51 pm

Owh..superlicious! Can’t wait…good bye forte n elantra..

• the interior of the car was not so nice if the cushions all in black colour it will be looks better

• tyrespare on Jul 14, 2012 at 11:55 pm

like transformer…

• the car not meant for production. don’t dream on it guys.

• A Yasir on Oct 13, 2012 at 3:43 pm

There is a few secret cars that I think many have not seen or even heard. During the older days when Tengku Djan’s dad was there at Proton, there was a 4WD + 2 litre + 4 potter Putra, and when they bought Lotus, there was already study + plans to bring out a Perdana 2.5 V6. Even nowadays, R3 is basically stuck in a rut. They can bring out real driver’s car ( I’ve driven the Satria Neo Clubsport in anger lol, imagine 140kph in a badly rutted road around Sunway horsepower arena with the steering still pointing straight and the 4 tires still well planted on the bad tarmac! ), but since the older days until now, they just can’t go around the red tape at Proton. Let’s just hope the Satria Neo Turbo ( already tested in anger at SIC ) or the supercharged version comes out. R3 can certainly dish out driver’s cars from Proton, and Proton build better quality cars with better QC’d parts installed. Talking about interior panel quality, a lot of other cars in MY market is the same. Most of the cars sold here under the RM100k mark got interior panels that can be easily scratched. Heck, even the latest 3 Series that are CKD models, have a lot of issues with dashboard fitment. Remember the engine oil leak with the E60?

• Ed-0ne on Nov 12, 2012 at 11:51 am

This is another phase for proton but not quitely for final touch for proton to stop thinking for futher product ’bout car version. Maybe, in final touch could make better name for proton. Better judgement comes from excellent experienced.

• Hafidz Arifin on Jan 29, 2013 at 7:27 pm

When it comes to performance, people compare Preve to Elantra 1.8, Altis, Civic, Fiesta, Cruze, Forte 1.8 etc

When it comes to price, people compare Preve to Almera, Vios, City etc

anyway what worries me, DS Syed Zainal has left Proton and so are important and brilliant engineers (anak tempatan). once again the politician has put their hands into Proton (sold to DRB Hicom)

Proton Preve will be the only proof that Proton had achieved its greatest level and peak.

• colour is very nice but should be fix in engine 2.0cc

• Faizal on Aug 20, 2013 at 8:31 am

Malas nak puji proton lg, baru2 semua best dah pakai 2 tahun baru nampak tembelangnya. Design memang lawa macam kereta Korea dgn China. Dalam macam haprak, takda kualiti.

• Alnash on Apr 06, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Just love the rims.