Naza opens largest Ducati Centre in Asia, launches the 1199 Panigale – 195 hp, 164 kg, from RM160,888

Naza officially opened the largest Ducati Centre in Asia this afternoon. Officiated by Deputy Minister of International Trade and Industry, Datuk Mukhriz Tun Mahathir, the 15,000 sq ft Ducati Kuala Lumpur is located next to the Naza Automall in Petaling Jaya, facing the Federal Highway.

The new 4S Ducati Centre consists of a showroom, coffee lounge (by Dome), Ducati Club Lounge, fitness centre, merchandise square, a pre-owned Ducati showroom and an after-sales centre. The latter has eight service bays and a suspension tuning room. Naza describes Ducati KL as a “home away from home” for local Ducatisti and visiting riders.

“Naza has been given the option of becoming the distributor of Ducati bikes in any country where Ducati has yet to appoint a distributor. In other words, Naza will be involved in the total globalisation of Ducati distributorship with the blessing of Ducati Holding,” said Naza Group’s Joint Executive Chairman Datuk Wira SM Faisal SM Nasimuddin.

“The same approach is also being discussed with other international brands that are currently in Naza’s stable,” he added.

At the launch ceremony, Ducati Malaysia also officially unveiled its latest model, the 1199 Panigale. First seen at the 2011 EICMA show, the Panigale is the Italian brand’s flagship supersports bike. Powered by the latest Superquadro L-twin engine, this little red beast has 195 hp (at 10,750 rpm) and 132 Nm of torque made at 9,000 rpm.

Designed on a “blank canvas”, the Panigale is 10 kg lighter and 25 hp more powerful than the model it replaces. Weighing just 164 kg, the 1199’s power to weight ratio is 1.19 hp per kg. Needless to say, performance is devastating. Not one for the amateurs, that’s for sure!

The Panigale is equipped with Ducati Riding Mode, which combines seven “class-leading” tech. They are the latest gen ABS, Ducati Traction Control, Ducati Electronic Suspension, Ducati Quick Shift, the new race-derived Engine Brake Control and Ride-by-Wire. All the trickery is shown on a full colour TFT screen.

The 1199 Panigale is priced between RM160,888 and RM209,999. With limited units due to strong global demand, and Naza’s order book already exceeding 20 names, it’s already a winner at launch.

Ducati is gaining ground in Malaysia for sure. Naza shifted 300 units in the first quarter, of which 70% was contributed by the Monster 795. Malaysia is currently the second largest market in Asia for the Italian marque, which has just gone under German ownership. Yes, VW’s Audi unit is acquiring Ducati, read the full story here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ChrisLai75 on Apr 19, 2012 at 5:13 pm

looks mean!!!!

• Hameed Koyakuti on Apr 21, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Coollll……

Italian always look sleek, trendy…..

wherelse, Malaysian look very selebet, serabai, booncit…….love thy nasi lemak…..

• hafiz on Apr 19, 2012 at 5:16 pm

waa..very nice bike.

• Glee power on Apr 19, 2012 at 5:20 pm

The ferrari of bikes. That’s not a compliment. Not the fastest. Not the best sounding. not the most fun to ride on. Don’t even get me started on its reliability. Perhaps audi can improve on that.

• caseystoner on Apr 19, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Well you seems like you dont watch or follow Moto GP?still remember Casey Stoner win for Ducati team for the 2007 season?
      Go do your homework dude!
      Dumb A**hole!

• Rossi on Apr 19, 2012 at 7:37 pm

yeah agree with you bro!

• What Glee saying is that the Duke L twin powered is more fun to ride than a typical 4 cyc in line Japs bikes (which are more faster & more powerful)….

its just the way those L twin put down its power which is undescribable….those duke’s L twins just punches out of corner with great tractable traction compares to a much powerful 4 cyc bikes, guess..its the low down torque that gives its the advantage

btw, fyi….duke’s motogp bikes which Casey Stoner are V4 instead of twin….and CS won in 2007 more due to his talent, even Rossi having difficulty wt the Duke’s motogp bikes

• but reliability would be an issue wt Duke but most owner only ride it on wkend….most don’t ride it as daily transport….

my fren whom owned a 916 used to say “riding a ducati is a religious experience”…why??

U need to pray be4 u push that starter button….pray that it starts..hehehehehe

• Glee power on Apr 20, 2012 at 11:47 am

2007 is as distant a year as a ducati 999 is new.

• ApaSaJa on Apr 19, 2012 at 5:32 pm

UK selling 15k pound (RM74k). Duh, AP+Tax (paid to the government) cost RM96K

• In malaysia, this bike considered as luxury item, don’t forget to add in luxury tax.. haih

• for the price, can get a second scoop, skyline or evo.
    just wish big bike prices will come down!
    now, even a secondhand bike are selling like new price during those days. nuts!
    will check on the new xj6 a ckd unit, and also z750 soon.

• Grandpa Trucker on Apr 19, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Got interest? Got enough money? Yes you can buy it to support our government. They need to pay their staff such as the doctor, nurse, teacher, army, driver, diamond ring..oopss!!

• azraffi on Apr 19, 2012 at 8:34 pm

This bike still cant challenge my Kriss 110cc…..

• Its ridiculously overpriced by Naza as usual. The Tricolore, the most expensive one, is ony RM 161,000 if we buy in Singapore…

• A better bargain than facebook purchasing Instagram :D

• Unforgiven on Apr 20, 2012 at 7:58 am

Is there anyone who actually like to see his face?

• Jaybond on Apr 20, 2012 at 8:53 am

On the other hand, heard a news that Naza is planning a local CKD assembly of one of the leading superbike brands – it’s either Ducati or Aprilia, but Ducati already has a assembly plant at Thailand. This could mean Aprilia..

• Mahindra Scorpio on Apr 20, 2012 at 12:05 pm

What can be done with a 195hp bike compare with 100hp > bike? in Malaysia road?

• thats because you are not superbikers.. they just go up the genting or karak highway, pull off at temerloh, have some expensive authentic ikan patin and go back to KL.. then youll know the difference.. they dont do fast ride on state roads..

• once you ride, only then you’ll feel it!
      how many time you fall or meet with accidents, biking will always be in you.

• sangkuriang44 on Apr 20, 2012 at 3:33 pm

that why they build sepang….

• Valen46 on Apr 23, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Hey bad mouting ducati is one thing bad mouthin Rossi is a whole other story….get ur fact right before blabering your mouth!

CS won on the bike bcz he had no previous exp on any other 800/1000cc bike before so blank canvas…..rossi on the other hand has won on a 2 storke 1000cc, 4 stroke yamaha and till tducati can give him a bike that he can feel the front end he will not will another race…..if u know rossi u will know he is best with a bike that has a stable and accurate front like the yamaha n 2T honda in some aspects..the ducati even with all the chasis work in 2 years cant get thim the feel he is looking for…

Not doubting Cs ability but learnin to speak a languange before u learn to speak is a lot easier than seaking tamil and learning to speak mandrin(thats how far the duc is cmpared to the yamaha)……

dun be a basher tin koson pls!!!….u can write strong stuff but get it right bro!!

• bard hashim on Sep 17, 2012 at 10:57 pm

only rich can buy..only poor can dream…dream…dream away..