New Nissan Sylphy is the 2013 Nissan Sentra in USA

The new Nissan Sylphy, which we’ve covered and driven in Thailand, is a global model that will go on sale in 120 countries, with sales expected to hit 550,000 units annually by 2014. Thailand was the second country after China to launch the car, which has now popped up in America as the 2013 Nissan Sentra. Different name, same car.

Nissan says that it focused on “class-above design standards” inside and out, as well as efficiency in engineering for the 2013 Sentra – messages consistent with what we heard in Thailand. The new Sentra is 68 kg – or 5% – lighter than the outgoing model, yet has slightly larger overall dimensions and more interior room. This leads to a 13% improvement in EPA combined fuel economy.

“Nowhere is the new Sentra’s ‘class-above’ style more evident than in the interior. You notice it the minute you sit in the roomy, comfortable seats and when you touch the high quality materials. And when driving you notice the extra attention paid to isolating noise, vibration and harshness from entering the cabin,” said Al Castignetti, vice president and general manager, Nissan Division, Nissan North America. Not an empty boast, we say.

The US Sentra is powered by the same 1.8L MRA8DE as the ASEAN Sylphy, and the 130 hp/174 Nm figures correspond as well. This new engine has a longer than normal stroke for improved combustion speed and efficiency, as well as twin Continuously Variable Timing Control (CVTC).

It’s matched to a new-generation Xtronic CVT. This improved gearbox, which is smaller and lighter, offers a wider gear ratio of 7.3:1 through use of a sub-planetary gear and smaller pulleys, resulting in better high-speed fuel efficiency at low rpm and more responsive acceleration.

The pics you see here are of the sporty SR and range topping SL. The former is the blue car with 17-inch forked five-spoke alloys, side skirts and rear spoiler. The fog lamp area of the lower bumper, and the lower rear bumper designs are also different.

The SL gets 17-inch split seven-spoke wheels, Smart Auto headlights, fog lights, heated outside mirrors with integrated LED turn signals, Nissan Intelligent Key, Bluetooth, six-speaker audio system with 4.3-inch display and Sirius XM Satellite Radio. The SL also can be had with a leather-wrapped steering wheel, maple wood-tone trim, dual-zone air con and a tyre pressure monitoring system.

Click here for our launch report from Thailand, brief impressions and a full gallery of the new Sylphy. Pics of the 2013 Sentra are after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• JeremyNg on Sep 04, 2012 at 1:20 pm

This car in blue colour look brilliant !!! Not every1 will agree with me especially those chinaman minded people :p

• badman on Sep 04, 2012 at 2:09 pm

I agree this blue is quite good looking on this car. But what to do with Chinaman minded?

• carnoisseur on Sep 04, 2012 at 2:11 pm

I agree ! It looks like Nissan is following the design cues of the Teana and the blue is bold and beautiful !

• Good job Nissan. Such naming system of different models in different market not only successfully creates confusion, it also further discriminates the consumers in different market.

Here the Sentra and Sunny were once equivalent and now we got the uninspiring Almera.

TCM will further discrimate buyers here by offerring the most sparsely eqquipped junk and charge a premium price over it because of the brand.

• carnoisseur on Sep 04, 2012 at 2:13 pm

Well, if TCM is reading this , I hope they dont give us the sparse model but give us some quality specs instead !

• If this model is going to rename it as Nissan Sentra here, I would be the first to foot the bill.

• badman on Sep 04, 2012 at 2:12 pm

Im not so in nissan sedan, but recent teana make a wow effect to me in term of good pricing and spec. by the way, name for this car is just marketing strategic, Sentra or Slyphy. I dont see any big impact on it. can you please clarify why?

• sepucps on Sep 04, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Those blue color car have hideously huge fender gap for very comfort bias handling..

• seyed on Sep 04, 2012 at 2:19 pm

@TEC: me to dear tec…….If this model is going to rename it as Nissan Sentra here …Im first buyer..Im in love with that….sentra always remind me quality long lasting beauty car..low maintenance family car…its enumeration …its realy well known car brand……

• profiler on Sep 04, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Smaller version of Teana but still looks great.
    Sylphy here, Sentra there. Why can’t they standadize the model name

• Good job on the name, Sentra sounds better Sylphy.
    Sentra- Car made for the Sentry ( Watchman/ “Jaga”)
    Sylphy- short for syphilis (the disease where the male genitals start to rot)

• kelvin on Sep 04, 2012 at 4:16 pm

Malaysian always get unattrative model plus expensive priced car. We are treated like stupid consumer by most of the car manafacturer. WTH!ll.

• MythD on Sep 04, 2012 at 4:49 pm

The blue colour resembles bluebird name but bet TCM wont be using bluebird lah. That’s why Sylphy la.
    Again, going to Msian market most of the colour would end up black,white,grey,gold and maybe 1,2 other colour lah!

• alldisc on Sep 05, 2012 at 3:42 pm

at one time, there’s a model called Bluebird Sylphy to indicate that the name Sylphy is taking over.

they are both same cars, not to forget Nissan Altima.

• Chow 1 on Sep 04, 2012 at 5:27 pm

Slyphy, Sentra, Almera, Sunny, I am confused.

• ETCM afraid to use Sentra since Sentra still sell alongside the Sylphy 2.0. If this new Sylphy/Sentra/Sunny/Pulsar targeted at Altis or Civic, ETCM must follow Thailand pricing closely, i.e the cheapest 1.6M merely RM73k in Tomyumland, we must pay not more than RM88k for 1.6M. RM77k for 1.6CVT here not more than RM92k (RM20k dearer than Preve CFE).

To keep current Sylphy model alongside the 1.6 and 1.8, opt for Pulsar name if not Bluebird and please equipped with ESP and TCS.

By doing this, this new sedan can go on par with Altis, Elantra, Civic and Forte.

• tikus on Sep 04, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Tan Chong pls include 5 years warranty.

• kambeng on Sep 04, 2012 at 6:44 pm

This is just a refacelite Nissan Sylphy.

At last US get older Nissan than Malaysia.

• TCMptuik on Sep 04, 2012 at 8:05 pm

TCM ptuik!

• Jilbaber on Sep 04, 2012 at 9:35 pm

I love that old fashion meter display…hate nowadays scope design…

• johnree on Sep 04, 2012 at 11:43 pm

quite good looking car..)

• Jiaksai on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:30 am

Boycott TCM. Company only care about their side instead of Rakyat.

• Michael on Dec 15, 2012 at 11:27 am

Price this car at RM90k and I will be first on the queue line during launching day.

• Elohssa on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:21 am

Msia govt tax too much. TCM might have to cut some features (which would otherwise be standard package in other countries), in order to be competitively priced in Msia. Sad…