VIDEO: Alfa Romeo Giulia blows its war trumpet

Close to a week since its official debut, the Alfa Romeo Giulia is still generating a fair bit of hype – fair enough when one considers the fact that Alfa chose to unveil it in range-topping Quadrifoglio trim. By now, you would’ve seen the car in its totality, had a glimpse of its interior even, but there is still one element of every new Alfa model that most Alfistis would be most concern about – the noise.

The brand is well aware of this and, as a result, has released a quick video spot that zeroes in on the acoustics of the new (inhale) Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio. The video begins with said car barrelling through the countryside coupled to highlights of its front Active Aero Splitter in action. Halfway in, the video cuts to more shots of Alfa’s racing past before coming to an end with a specific message.

And look at the past you will as the new Giulia marks a triumphant return to the marque’s core philosophies. This is the first Alfa Romeo to send its power to the rear wheels since the Alfa Romeo 75 was discontinued in 1992. Under the bonnet, the Giulia QV comes powered by an aluminium, twin-turbo 3.0 litre V6 engine putting out 510 hp. Curiously, torque figures remain unknown.

Mated to a six-speed manual transmission, the car is capable of sprinting from rest to 100 km/h in 3.9 seconds. Aside from the fire-breathing QV model, lesser variants of the Alfa Romeo Giulia will be powered by a range of diesel and petrol engines – a turbocharged 2.0 litre four-cylinder with up to 298 hp is said to augment the petrol range. Also, four-wheel drive is expected to feature as an option.

We’ll be sure to receive more info on the other variants in time but for now, sit back, crank up the volume and let us know if you prefer the bark of this Italian V6 or is the Mercedes-AMG C 63 the better musician still?

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Good to see, good to dream, but not practical at all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
    • iiAMGPackage on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Pleasela, stop making jokes. I’ve been diagnosed with cancer from your lame Toyota jokes.

• toyodatowtruck on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:53 pm

So what is practical? Toyota?
      Puh leeeaaaassseeeeeee

• Akrapovic on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Cannot deny, that is one sexy beast. Sounds great too. ^^

• Ganeson on Jul 01, 2015 at 3:09 pm

The alfa… seriously… AMG v8’s sound great but the alfa is an eargasm..even the stock run of the mill Mito 2.2. JTS sounds soulful…compared to my current magnesium 6.

• Jarhead on Jul 01, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Surely you mean the 159? The Mito has a 4 pot turbocharged 1.4L engine

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 01, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Nothing comes close to the bark of a properly tuned V8. But…..

Although at the back of my mind the sound of this Alfa V6 is pretty much tuned and a little synthetic but my god, it does sound lovely.

The italian have a sure way to bring life to its cars, even old 4 pots sound amazing.

• cobra on Jul 01, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Used to love Alfa during my younger days. Dad bought me a red one. Can’t recall the model. Brought car home but next day couldn’t start. Sold away after not too long. During that time, always drooling at a GTV 6.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Nice but I’m more interested to hear how the 2.0 engine will sound like since majority of the customers will be buying this over the $$$ V6 model.

If the 2.0 sounds even half of this I think we have a winner here…now who’s gonna bring the brand back to Bolehland?

• Johnny on Jul 01, 2015 at 7:31 pm

Some say you’re not a man until you’ve owned an Alfa. Guess I’m not a man yet.

• ganni on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:18 am

Some say you’re not a petrolhead until you’ve owned an Alfa.

that’s another famous phrase..

• zamer on Jul 01, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Alfa Romeo and Volvo always has special room in my heart even there are faster and nicer mercedes or bmw..

simply because they don’t copy and compete among their competitor.

This Guilia is a perfect reborn for Alfa. It would be nicer if they add up dynamic rear spoiler..add some gimmick to the aggresiveness looks

• fugleyy on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:39 pm

Now alfa copied BMW lor, look at the body.
      But front end, both suck – beemer with pig nose and alfa with skeleton nostril

• Thats some sound mate ! goose bumps !!! Awesome …

• It’s sounds great , looks nice and its alfaromeo so its have a soul like a human .. but not like new c class looks like mini s-class and dont know what to be till they decide just make fast and more powerfull then the other competitors….lameeeeeee sorry mercedes fan im a mercedes fan too but the old school benz only.