Cycle & Carriage Bintang sets record profit (up 10-fold) due to strong sales, higher margins and MBM dividend

Cycle-Carriage-Bintang

It has been a great second quarter for the country’s biggest Mercedes-Benz dealership, Cycle & Carriage Bintang. It posted a RM21.83 million profit for the quarter ending June 30 (2QFY15), which is about 10 times higher than the RM2.03 million achieved over the same period last year.

Revenue, meanwhile, doubled to RM472.36 million for the quarter under review, from RM 231.16 million last year. Its net profit in the first half of the year catapulted to RM28.47 million or 28.26 sen a share, from RM3.73 million or 3.7 sen a share in the last corresponding period.

Cycle & Carriage chairman Alex Newbigging, said the group’s performance was attributed to strong sales of popular models (the brand posted record sales so far this year), improved margins and recognition of the Mercedes-Benz Malaysia Sdn Bhd (MBM) dividend income.

Newbigging says that its Mercedes-Benz operations recorded a net profit of RM17.3 million over the first half of the year, compared to RM3.7 million in 2014, due to a 46% jump in unit sales and better margins. “Overall net profit, which included dividend income received from MBM in June 2015, was RM28.5 million,” he added.

The group recently commenced a programme to upgrade existing facilities, while a new Autohaus in Cheras, Kuala Lumpur, is expected to be operational by the end of the year.

In terms of the outlook for the rest of the year, Newbigging believes there will be tougher trading conditions amid model life cycle issues as well, i.e. the ageing E-Class. Cycle & Carriage shares closed on a three-and-a-half-year-high at RM3.46, with a market capitalisation of RM348.58 million.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• tokmoh. on Jul 24, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Inb4 Maslan will tweet “GST berjaya, rakyat makin mampu pakai Mercedes. Pembangkang tipu, mana membebankan rakyatnya?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Jimmy on Jul 24, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Case study.

• What about Proton?

• chanmali chan on Jul 24, 2015 at 7:09 pm

Everything OK for business bosses in Malaysia.
    but everything not OK for Wage Earners.

Something is very wrong with the economy.
    Maybe bosses hired Bangla, Indo….cut cost a lot…and saved the money for buying Merc ka??

The govt should force bosses to buy proton instead of mercs, to prove the bosses a patriotic, Ada berani ka?

• Bosses will rather buy ‘PATRIOT’ number plate than Proton to prove they are patriotic

• BeemerFreak on Jul 26, 2015 at 1:19 am

Your gov, their cronies and 1mdb bosses are buying merc in bulk due to the amount that they have taken from the people, force them to use only local made product including proton to show as an example to the people la, berani tak??

• James on Jul 27, 2016 at 7:51 pm

i think u crap alot , if u cant afford than shuddap and watch them driving

• old dog on Jul 24, 2015 at 8:03 pm

everything when cronies involved sure lost money for the company but individual pocket earned…we been proven again and again…

• Cycle & Carriage Bintang sets record profit (up 10-fold) due to “MANY AH PEK THAT WILLING TO GET CON”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Obviously you’re not doing something right with your life if you still cant join the ranks of those silly ah peks and buy luxury cars at a whim

• Holofanboi on Jul 26, 2015 at 7:00 pm

LOL!!! A cruel way to put it, but god damn you are right.

• Gary Chong on Jul 25, 2015 at 10:14 pm

“It posted a RM21.83 million profit for the quarter ending June 30 (2QFY15), which is about 10 times higher than the RM2.03 million achieved over the same period last year.”

WTF?!! How did C&C manage business last year? oni RM2M profit? Business snatched by Hap Seng Star? Teruk la oni RM2M profit, for a Mercedess-Benz Dealership.

• please learn how to read properly. it’s only for one quarter. there are four quarters in a year.

• Diesel Power!!! on Jul 26, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Btw, can u earn 1 million in a quarter…if not just keep quiet will done no harm to u..

• Smelly on Jul 27, 2015 at 8:31 am

CCB is an abbreviation of certain hokkien phrase! Lol!