VIDEO: Serdang road rage incident caught on camera

https://www.facebook.com/viviantokfans/videos/vb.121218814612734/928188570582417/?type=2&theater

It would appear that the roads of Malaysia are getting increasingly unsafe by the day as another road rage incident has been captured on camera with the encounter believed to have taken place in Serdang, Selangor. The video begins with a shot of a white Hyundai Sonata driving alongside the victim’s car.

Soon enough, the road bully in the Hyundai surges ahead and slices to the inner most left lane, appearing to wait for the victim to drive pass. As the two cars approach, the Sonata veers out into the direction of the victim’s car, nearly causing a collision – possible minor contact may have occurred.

Following that, the bully steps out and approaches the stationary vehicle of the victim. As he reaches the driver’s side window, he begins to harass the victim by smacking the window and taunting the driver to leave the vehicle. Thankfully, the victim refrains from doing so and soon enough, the bully loses his patience and returns to his car before driving away. Oh, you should also know he had his family with him the whole time.

The entire encounter appears to have been the result of a misunderstanding when the victim honked at the Sonata driver for squeezing into his way into her lane without the use of his indicators. Now, while what he did may be unsavoury, at times it is best to just leave these individuals be.

Should you find yourself in a similar situation, do NOT leave your vehicle. Instead, lock the doors and remain calm – winding down the window a little to apologise is as much contact as you should establish between you and a road bully. If the situation does not improve, seal the car up again and proceed to contact the police.

Make it obvious that you are doing so in hopes that the bully will back away and leave. Remember, dear readers, it will pay to set aside your ego once in a blue moon and just diffuse the situation with an apology. Never resort to violence under any circumstances – think of your loved ones and drive safe!

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Probably the lady driver provoked him first. Who made the uncle angry first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 28
    • ExpertPaulTan on Jul 31, 2015 at 4:24 pm

we malaysian aint’ no coward, we shd fight back for justice!! ppl slap our face we just apologize? or let them slap another side of the face then apologize? come on!! the police already tidak apa attitude, we shd help each other these days! teach those bastard a lesson!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • nonsence lady driver on Aug 06, 2015 at 5:33 pm

it is only one side of the story, may be the lady driver is the road bully? or may be she almost hit the sonata while driving since she was so busy on her handphone ? She set a very bad example of driving while shooting.

• karam singh on Jul 31, 2015 at 4:56 pm

well the video recorded from one side of the story,
      what if the recorded from the other side (so call offender)
      maybe the sonata driver driving as usual and the victim –
      1)lane hogging (slow on right lane)
      2)dont use turn signal
      3)just dont mind other car when coming out of a junction
      4)coming out of junction then eat out space on the faster lane.
      and many more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
      • Lance on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:18 pm

So these can justify his action? Are you going to get down and threaten someone when they road hog?

• thefact on Aug 01, 2015 at 6:36 pm

so what dude? do u think this happens only in KL? or in Malaysia for that matter.

does that give u the right to stop n threaten people in the middle of the road??

• Lance on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:16 pm

provoke or not this guy obviously gone too low. No class

• Jacqued on Jul 31, 2015 at 1:45 pm

There are 2 main police stations nearby, one is the Seri Kembangan HQ, another is Serdang.

I would drive directly there and let him witness me making report and handover the video to the officer.

• johny on Aug 05, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Hi, the Seri Kembangan Police Station was like 400m behind from the first frame of the video. Not sure if they have moved everything to Puchong which ironically is called Serdang Police Headquarters… and the Serdang Hospital is inconveniently located in Bangi… stay safe in SK.

• Well, the problem with these sort of videos are that we do not and will never know who actually created the problem. Sure … the driver from Hyundai lost his cool but why did he lose his cool?
    We will never know … the last thing you know, it was the lady driver who commit the first offense (such as hogging the road initially, sudden cutting in queue or beating the traffic light and cause the Hyundai driver to get offended)
    End of the day, it comes down to who pick up the phone and start recording to their own benefits first that wins.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 10
    • lillian on Aug 01, 2015 at 12:07 am

We do not know what actually happened. Why are people do biased and blamed the women drivers. The man driver looks like a bully. Pity his wife.

• Ego bruised because he was honked at…typical la

• Yup, typical Malaysian drivers/riders. Once you honked them, they’ll be dying to kill you, even if they were wrong in the first place..

If they are on the side of the car, blocking your way; reverse, turn the steering wheels to their direction and drive them flat X’D

• st chan on Jul 31, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Road rage perpetuators should be put into lockup at any police station for 24 hour just like any drunk drivers as they are not fit to drive under the influence of ANGER.

• dontbeacoward on Jul 31, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Dear PaulTan,

I have seen many posts about road rage of yours, always saying when things like this happen, dont honk just leave them alone to avoid trouble (instead of warning them to pay more attention while driving that their driving habit is dangerous).

To amplify this in another view, this is like telling people do not help when somebody is getting robbed in front of you, or girls dont dress provokatively to avoid being raped.

Regards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Sebenarnya apa masalah pon boleh selesai.tapi bukan semua orang suka gambarnya dirakam.takde masalah pon boleh jadi madalah besar.

• AndrewSays on Jul 31, 2015 at 2:42 pm

You guys seriously aren’t attempting to defend the actions of the road bully here right? I mean saying things like “oh, it’s possible she provoked him first” is rather worrying to me as a fellow road user.

I mean assuming someone did hog the road or honked at you unnecessarily or even flashed some crude sign at you, is it warranted for you to do what the “uncle” did? What he did was really immature and irresponsible imo.

First and foremost, he allowed his anger to take control of him, leaving no space for rational thinking. And when that happened, he completely disregarded the fact that (assuming here) his wife and child were in the car with him. Thirdly, he swerved his car out dangerously in a clear attempt to block the path of the victim. In so doing, he could have very well caused a far worse accident – which could have left even his own wife and children hurt. He then confronts the victim (a lady) and threatens to hit her? WHEN IS IT EVER JUSTIFIABLE FOR A MAN TO HIT A WOMAN?

So please, sit and think people before you say anything. I don’t need the entire video documenting the events prior to know that it is the road bully here who should be cuffed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • Mad Maxxxxx on Jul 31, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Correccccct! What freaks me out even further is the multitude of people who strongly believe “it is OKAY” for someone to RAGE if offended. Alright, so you made me mad because you insulted my mother to my ancestors. It is okay for me to stab you with a knife, yes?

Omg people, come on. Regardless, don’t lose your cool, let it go. If you’re not happy, honk them back. Gee.

• Holofanboi on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Why hello there mr.white knight. How nice it must be to be born as a man thinking you are superior to woman no? Im sick of these sort of holier than thou, sexist attitude. Ugh.

However, i do agree with 90% of your intended message. Regardless of the full story, his and many other road rage reactions are unjustified.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Many Malaysians have this low class mentality, they think might is right. This is because they are brought up that way. When parents beat their kids out of anger or frustration, they create adults that resort to violence when they are angry or frustrated. Proper discipline would mean teaching your kids why they are wrong and revoking their privileges to teach them a lesson. This takes effort and patience, beating them is just a cope out from proper parenting. Violence is never the answer, no matter how old or young.

• Angry Unker on Jul 31, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Hey!! That’s me! Hansome or not?

• kirko on Jul 31, 2015 at 3:10 pm

His worst day will come soon, if he did this to the bigger and bad ass bully a.k.a. real gangster.. he’ll learn the lesson the hard way~

• keat hong on Jul 31, 2015 at 4:17 pm

First why the victim start recording the Sonata? Something must be happened before this? Does she has power to foreseen the sonata going to rage so she record the video fist? Who is really the victim here we do not know, it could Sonata not one who recording.

• I read this in facebook posted by the lady driver who described how the incident happened. Like most of the readers commented (here and in facebook) , question is, what has provoked the Hyundai driver with such reaction. obviously something is untold. We need to hear both sides of story before come to a conclusion. The person who write this article need to remain neutral or you are creating unnecessary thing.

• Warrior on Jul 31, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Seriously, at the end of video i think i figured out.
    He probably replicated what that recording lady have done to him earlier.

And she recorded way too early, suspicious.

• The German on Jul 31, 2015 at 5:38 pm

I have never driven a car surrounded by more brainless people than here in KL. Everybody fights for his lane instead of being just fair to each other. Give a hand when someone let you in. Give a smile if someone give you a way and give a peace when someone makes a mistake. We are all humans but honestly some people behave here on the road like animals. Never heard about a zipper merge. People in this country should keep there energy for much more important things to solve.

• I’ll just go out n beat this fat ass deep into 6 feet under

• Jae Han on Jul 31, 2015 at 7:23 pm

Malaysian drivers shud just learn to use indicators!!! Out of 100%, maybe only 10% uses it.. literally

• dawles on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:05 pm

where is my post? bad comment not dare to approve and publish ?????

• denggg on Aug 01, 2015 at 8:16 am

that so-called victim using his/her mobile while driving …. 100% wrong !!!

• Ng Tang Yang on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:53 pm

I felt sorry for the wife and the baby… Should have leave this guy while you still have the chance

• Samang on Aug 01, 2015 at 1:43 pm

I’ve driven in the ME and there you’ll find much worse and unsafe drivers plus they are serial honkers. But here’s the deal, they’re cool about being hooked at. They don’t take it personally or get down from their cars ready to beat you up. Somehow over there you are expected to use your horn to warn others of your presence.
    Somehow in this country we take it as an insult and instantly want to take revenge. Surely an area the sociologists could study on.

• Zachary on Aug 01, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Look, you all can argue that the uncle in the sonata was in the wrong but bare in mind that the video was taken after the “trigger”. As in what really happened. For all I know, it could be/most probably the one holding the camera was at fault. so at the end of the day, drive better, be more aware, don’t hog the lane, signal, be tolerant to one another, LORONG KANAN UNTUK POTONG.

• JusticeLeague on Aug 01, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Tht uncle doesnt looks like road bully.he was provoked by something tht made him angry, imagine a road bully with baby around?? doesnt match!! need to hear wht the other side has done but clearly this uncle was bad tempered

• Matchy on Aug 02, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Probably the uncle was provoked because the lady was driving with one hand and doing recording! So dangerous!

• my bet the driver who took the video did something stupid …drove like imbecile that provoked this apek to do what he did like mafia. furthermore the video was edited before posted to public…why edit? haaaaa….jeng jeng..

• The Travelling Executive on Aug 04, 2015 at 9:15 am

Dear readers, first of all, I must unequivocally state that violence is not an answer to our daily problems. As some readers pointed out, the uncle may not be at fault and it could be the lady who was wrong in the first place. Let us be honest here, the way most Malaysians drive leaves little to be desired. They do not indicate when they change lanes, they have totally no sense of common decency when other road users allow to suddenly swerve into our lanes and worst of all, when they do something wrong and you honk and/or flash them, they think “why the beep did you do that and give you a deathly glare!?!” I personally encounter the above scenarios almost on a daily basis..in most instances I will ignore all these idiots and give in but sometimes when you get up on the wrong side of the bed, you will lose it and go after these idiotic drivers and road users. Hence, the key point here is always be courteous, friendly and civic-minded. Hope the above help us all to be better drivers on the Malaysian roads.