“We do not condone such ambush operations” – GrabCar on taxi drivers’ trap during protest in KJ

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 1

App-based car hailing service, GrabCar, has issued a statement on the recent ambush involving one of its operatives and a group of taxi drivers during the recent protest held at the Land Public Transport Commission‘s (SPAD) headquarters in Kelana Jaya. To recap, the unsuspecting GrabCar driver was hailed by one of the protesters in a ploy to get him arrested by SPAD.

The driver, Suhaimi Abdul Manaf, arrived at SPAD’s HQ in a Nissan Almera only to find himself surrounded by a mob of taxi drivers who prevented him from leaving before urging the authorities to arrest him. “They told us they are going to take him to the depot or main headquarters to process him. Hopefully, they will take stern action,” commented Jay Rohezan, the mastermind behind the trap.

In response, GrabCar has issued a statement on the episode. “We do not condone such ambush operations and believe the authorities should actively discourage it. As an industry it’s important to understand that consumers want both kinds of services and it is the reason why GrabCar exists,” said a spokesperson.

“In this region for example, regulators in Singapore and Philippines understand the market nuances and have regulatory frameworks that balance consumer protection and the flexibility needed for innovation in the public transport industry,” added the spokesperson. “The multiple services help to ease the barriers that exist within the industry, such as the lack of available on-demand transport options during peak period.”

Aside from said incident, it has to be said that the authorities have been actively pursuing drivers from Uber, GrabCar, Blacklane and Easy Taxi in a clampdown operation on illegal taxis. Recently, The Star has reported that a total of nine vehicles were seized during a similar operation. Of the nine seized, eight operated with GrabCar while the remaining one was with Uber.

While the services offered are not illegal, drivers who do not possess a Public Service Vehicle (PSV) license will be deemed to be flouting the law. “Without a license, it is illegal,” confirmed SPAD enforcement head, Datuk Che Hasni Che Ahmad. All in all, a total of 225 illegal taxis have been seized since the start of 2015.

According to a separate report by The Rakyat Post, SPAD has since mobilised 33 members to partake in operations in and around Petaling Jaya, Subang, Sunway, Bangsar, Sungai Besi and Kuala Lumpur. As mentioned, it is illegal for individuals to provide transport services without a license. Those guilty of such offences may be looking at a fine of up to RM100,000 and/or a prison sentence no longer than three years.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• yeah and Najib didn’t receive 2.6bil…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 145
      • Fully agree with you RBA john! As I said before, fire all of them ingrates. Then gip the 10,000 Rohingyas driving licence and make them drive taxis. If they want to misbehave, threaten send them back to Burma.
        After few years, if they hardworking and loyal, gip them citizenship. At least they will syukur being Malaysians instead of certain pipu.

Win-win for everybody!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
      • sick&tired on Oct 01, 2015 at 7:34 pm

you are right! without Najib, Malaysia would not be what it is today!

-worst performing currency in asia
        -rampant corruption (2.6 billion donation)
        -1MDB (debts of up to 42 billion)
        -GST
        -No more subsidy for petrol
        -High car taxes
        -Rosmah (no explanation necessary!)
        -Racism getting worse!

Thank you BN, UMNO & Jibby!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 7
      • goosfraba on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Dat sarcasm!

• alldisc on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:32 pm

please stop working and do road blocks. meanwhile, grab and uber drivers keep on working. as usual. oh, they will surely avoid KL areas.

probably. now that we know.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Grabcar driver gets arrested.

How about criminal intimidation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Gargantia on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:53 pm

Cronies that cheat Rakyat will never be arrested… care for Rakyat voice will be cause sedition !!! Bolehland policy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
  • dooramun on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:53 pm

their look so scary, serupa itu gangster punye mika

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • This SPAD and taxi drivers are real gangsters n cheating consumers juz like our jibby cheating his ppl. I support grabcar n uber…. Salute to their services!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Cikgu selamat on Oct 01, 2015 at 7:18 pm

the faces of the drivers in the video looks like gangster than trusty cab-drivers.

I definitely wont be taking a taxi if I see these sort of faces…..yucks, and damn scary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Jaypeg on Oct 01, 2015 at 7:30 pm

IF all Uber/GC and app base drivers gets PSV, will they STOP harrassment?

• probably on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:32 pm

yeah probably. but you gotta remember. that mostly uber drivers are part time driver.

theres no way they are gonna get a license to do this.

• still illegal, even though the driver has a PSV license…the car still registered as personal.
        *sigh

• Grabdrebar on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:12 pm

No point doing that encik teksi sekalian. SPAD pun bo layan. Pagi tahan petang lepas already the guy.

• Grabdrebar on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Oh wait..service so reliable tak kira mana tempat SPAD HQ pun boleh pikap

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:40 pm

these guys look more scary than my bodyguards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Saya Pakai MyTeksi on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Saya pakai MyTeksi kerana Teksi sekarang begitu banggang
    kerana tidak memakai meter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • transformer on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:57 pm

These taxi driver knew why their Rice bowl affected in the first place, now they still trying to stop App based consumer ferrying service?

I wonder if these App based company help it’s registered driver to get PSV, what would these taxi driver says next? will SPAD still take action on these App based PSV driver?

• Samad Jain on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:13 pm

Malaysia gonna be a screwed up nation faster with these dunggus around.

Syabas!

• Raymond on Oct 12, 2015 at 10:00 am

+ the head of dunggus that ‘lead’ the country.

Considering all the debts we’re in now, we are already dead actually. Only time can heal once that head of dunggus is bashed to ground.

• Edwie on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:33 pm

In my opinion, the Malaysian authorities should give taxi licences to only those above the age of 55, who can opt for early retirement. All the younger drivers, get a life and find a normal job becos once they become taxi drivers they become like gangsters.
    My wife and kids until today Don trust and won’t take a local taxi, preferring buses or trains. Any other woman also don’t prefer our local taxis becos of thuggish drivers.
    And the older drivers can buy or lease their own taxis instead of it being monopolized by certain parties.

• Edwie on Oct 01, 2015 at 9:36 pm

In my opinion, the Malaysian authorities should give taxi licences to only those above the age of 55, who can opt for early retirement. All the younger drivers, get a life and find a normal job becos once they become taxi drivers they become like gangsters.
    My wife and kids until today don’t trust and won’t take a local taxi, preferring buses or trains. Any other woman also don’t prefer our local taxis becos of thuggish drivers.
    And the older drivers can buy or lease their own taxis instead of it being monopolized by certain parties.

• Boycott on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:06 pm

Easy, me just stop taking taxis nw nearly 20 years only few times used them so far met wit honest ones..me dunt want to be ripped off by majority of them and oso they acted like they own the road just chg lanes without any hesitation and stopping as they like causing many accidents..one even tried to ram me as i cross the road after i stare at him as he purposely tried to speed to prevent me crossing..i guess is karma why they ended up driving taxis

• This is gangster paradise. When talking about law, did they actually on the meter?

• Jasper on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:52 pm

If taxi drivers where honest and service orientated then there would be no need for Uber, grab car etc. Because you don’t want to make an honest days living, and continue to be a rude gangster then there will always be a supply and demand for these alternative services.

Only the lazy and dishonest drives have time on there hands to stage stupid stunts like this. But then again these people have no ideas how to run a business the wise they would not get threatened by competition. I think these guys are way ahead of dirty toilets in the embarrassing Malaysia competition

• LikeTaxi on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:29 pm

Teksi drivers are also the victim here but not by their own doing but the system. A large portion of their revenue goes to the Taxi permit and the cronies. These are real blood suckers have been enjoying easy money on the back of the Taxi drivers. If they could afford newer cars, they probably would have joined GrabCar or Uber who requires newer cars. In fact I think /Grabcar should try to attract taxi drivers to join them work with car dealers in offering them reasonable car leasing . That way they gain more drivers and less resistance from the Taxi drivers.

• Wait until 100 years before gov can realise.. Or after 100 over conference, roundtable discussion, working committee meeting.. Steering committee meeting.. Etc etv

• ben yap on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:45 pm

why those drivers majority black?

• submarine on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:02 am

SPAD, the taxi drivers are sore losers. It is thanks to them that Uber n GrabCar services are such a great WELCOME by the people. By people I’m saying the real everyday rakyat who needs to work hard daily to make ends meet and who pay their taxes so the country moves forward (whether it really moves forwards or not is of course a totally different subject). If you, SPAD, is smart, then you in fact should allow for competition to exist, hence directly encouraging the taxi industry to improve their services immediately. Think about it will ya?

• Henry on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:52 am

It is market forces, stupid. If no one wants to take your taxi and take a GrabCar instead it is the customers’ choice. Stop your harassment. Also, quit your taxi driving and go join GrabCar or Uber.

• They watched too much Bollywood movies

• nasi padang on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:03 am

go sell roti canai lar pls.
    who wan take ur service. i rather ride a ex5 in the rain.
    also not dare try again. msia teksi suxxxxx

• SPAD must be fair to GRABCAR and UBER since it had provided affordability, accessibility and convenience to the public. SPAD is to serve a people and not as a tool by government that is more interested in serving companies that monopolized the taxi industry.

• If we really want to resort to ambush tactic, we would have caught limitless taxi driver not using meter.

• Hapuskan Taxi Meter services and use UBER and Grabcar instead.

• Bangsat in action!