Don’t play Pokemon GO while driving, says ministry

Pokémon GO

As predicted, Malaysia has practically been swept up by the Pokemon GO craze since the app was released in the country on Saturday morning. Realising that many will be tempted to play the game – which encourages users to walk around to catch Pokemon – while driving, the transport ministry has urged motorists to pay attention to the road instead of their phones, The Star reports.

Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said that he was worried road users could get into accidents if they were concentrating too hard on the game, adding that they were not just responsible for their own safety on the road, but those of others as well.

“Please do not play Pokemon GO while you are driving. Unless you are a passenger, it is very dangerous for you to do so,” he told the English-language daily. “It is against the law to use a mobile phone while driving; whether to hunt for Pokemon, text or talk.”

Liow’s message echoes that of the ministry, which launched the Focus on the Road, Not on the Hand campaign earlier this year to raise awareness of the dangers of mobile phone distraction while driving.

Road users are already receiving traffic summonses for playing Pokemon GO while driving, with Sin Chew Daily reporting of a 32-year-old man that was pulled over and fined RM300 by police in Kuantan, after he was driving around with his friends to hunt for Pokemon that Saturday itself.

“I switched on the apps to detect the hotspots as I drove around. The catches were good. The policeman smiled when he saw the screen of my phone and then gave me a summons,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Oi Liow Tiong Lai! Don’t divert issue again. Another bus accident happened! 2020 baru nak enforce speed limiters ah?

• omegle on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:43 am

I agree one shouldnt be playing pokemon go when driving, so I urge all pokemon go players, please do not give them a reason to ban the game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:44 am

U dont need a ministry to figure that one out…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Becoz MY pipu dun listen, so need minister pangkat to hammer into their thick skulls. Otherwise their skull pecah when kena accidents.

• when something bad happened when playing that game whilst the minister didn’t give any advice before, he will be blame too right? shame

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:44 am

also please don’t run onto the middle of the road. Saw a couple of people doing that while trying to ‘catch ’em all’.

• But somebody up above comment why minister need to tell pipu something so simple like this, woh.
      Then shud advise pipu or shud not advise pipu?

• Bdjzj on Aug 08, 2016 at 11:58 am

What is this pokemon go? I only know pokemon black n white every evening at 6.03pm on astro chanel cartoon

• UMW TOYOTA on Aug 08, 2016 at 2:45 pm

i drive to pokestop and catch pokemon while driving..so what..uncle dont jealous our tenager that can multi tasking..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • don’t use your phone while driving period.

why discriminate on a particular app?
    is it okay to type in whatsapp while driving?

• Rode to work today. Noticed A LOT more people with 5-10 metres gap between the next car, all playing on their phone. Good luck all you drivers in an even worsening jam

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Aug 08, 2016 at 5:07 pm

I noticed a lot of cars cruising at 10-15kmph around housing and commercial areas lately. When I look inside, they are playing Pokemon Go. So we tried as I drove and my wife play, caught 50 Pokemon in 30 minutes. Then drive past all those shrines which doubles at Pokestops to collect Pokeballs and continue catching. She was so busy catching Pokemon that her lap is full of phones and tablets. Then she started directing me where she wants me to go. And all I do is drive and drive and drive…

With that said, I now know how it feels to be an ignored driver…

• Wow… good husband-wife team up. It’s safer (and cuter) also this way compared to crazed dimwits doing it solo putting others in danger.

• Bini4Best on Aug 08, 2016 at 7:41 pm

But can play pokemon-go while riding a bike, right??