VIDEO: 2016 Proton Persona 1.6L walk-around tour

By now you would have realised that the 2016 Proton Persona is the star of the day, with us bringing you a live stream of the official launch this morning, and the subsequent comprehensive launch report with all the details that you need to know. Plenty of pics there, but here’s a walk-around tour of the new Persona, for a different viewing perspective.

The Persona is based on the Iriz, which means that the new sedan is a B-segment car. The 2,555 mm wheelbase length is identical to the Iriz’s, and width (1,722 mm) and height (1,554 mm) are similar too.

However, the Persona is 467 mm longer and its 510 litre boot holds a lot more than the hatchback’s 215 litres. It also beats the old Persona’s 430 litres. All body panels except for the front doors and fenders are unique to the sedan.

The Persona is powered by the Iriz’s 1.6 litre DOHC VVT engine with 107 hp and 150 Nm. Drive is sent to front wheels via a five-speed manual (for the Standard only) or a CVT automatic (for all).

The choice of three-point engine mounts (instead of four) and a new exhaust system deliver better refinement – Proton claims that the Persona is six decibels quieter than an equivalent Iriz. No 1.3L engine; that’s reserved for the upcoming Saga, which will be 1.3L-only.

Three trim levels are available – Standard, Executive and Premium – and the entry-level Standard is the only one with the manual gearbox option. Buyers of the Premium can opt for a bodykit for RM1,000 extra. Prices range from RM46,350 to RM59,800, OTR including insurance. For full specs and more pics, check out our launch report.

GALLERY: Proton Persona Premium CVT with bodykit

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• MusTanG on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:17 pm

I believe its

5.6L/100km instead of 5.6km/L

That’s a pretty bad fuel consumption isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 31
    • It stated at 90km/h which is misleading because people might compare it to other vehicle which is MIXED both city and highway driving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
      • B-Unggul on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Well, they aren’t even trying to mislead anyone since it’s explicitly shown on their materials.

Although, of course, people were cool with that ‘certain’ 22km/l figure, without the accompanying details.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
        • cuz nobody persoal jepunis overlord figures

• Price Important on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Must admit Proton did a good job this time around… they listened to customers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Fingers Crossed on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:23 pm

May Proton return to their heydays… with better and affordable cars for the people.

• tulip on Aug 24, 2016 at 8:59 pm

I like the tonggeng look

• Boring Samy on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Well written arricle. Well done proton. Hope no fake copy paste story from basher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • MusTanG on Aug 24, 2016 at 9:02 am

Proton Persona brochure shows 5.6L/100km.

The end part of the video shows 5.6km/L

I was trying to point that out. But its okay, they’ve amended it.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:13 am

I hope Proton can sell many. Last year sold 100k cars. This year, with all these launches, can Proton sell 100k cars? If below 100k, malu betul.

• Inspira on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Nice! Design looks fresh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 15
    • Nazgul on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:25 pm

After bezza has become eyesore on the road with the ‘tonggek’ design this persona will be next to follow. It’s looks like donkey. Now the only hope is the new Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 107
      • Don’t hold your breath

• krueger on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:23 pm

it’s sound too hard and harsh, my friend. did u really see ‘that donkey’ in front of your eyes?. i took nearly 2 hours this evening at a proton showroom. watching.. touching.. knocking (he he).. plus a diehard test drive.. my conclusion is the “the overall car design and interior: not bad. the gadgets: awesome, and the driving experience: impressive.” i owned an iswara and wira before and still driving waja 4g18 mitsu 2004, besides another 2 hondas… what i can say is that our proton is quite improving.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 26
        • Nazgul on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:30 am

U can see ‘that donkey’ from side view. I’m Proton owners too. My Satria Neo CPS R3 still looks sexy until now.

• kanazai2001 on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:21 pm

agreed! they hav an huge LEAP~

hopefully they resurrect their customer service & service center…

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:15 am

that is what everyone says about Proton in showroom. 6 months later, like all other Protons the past 30 years, you will see problem after problem

• CarBuyer on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:38 am

I know beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, but the car looks somewhat “overbodied” to me (wheels and wheel arches small relative to overall car size). Looks like there will be good business opportunities in the aftermarket wheel and maybe wheel arch modifications for this car.

• proton_lover on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:19 pm

Do a reliability test, after 3 months, after 1 year, after 3 years and show the results.
    Show how many million complaints & be transparent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 32
    • Betol Tak?? on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:48 pm

If still not sure, better go buy Bezza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 43
    • Ootai on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:34 pm

After 11 months, door rattling, stiff steering, door knobs unbearable & service centre blame the owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 53
      • same loo hati busuk on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:33 am

wooo…i see, now 11 month a ready new persona on the market..thanks ya for ur knowledgeable info

• Albert on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:38 pm

The new Pesona looks like a decent job.But what is happening to poor sister Iriz?
      There is overlapping of pricing,alto one is sedan ,the other is hatchback.I m dead sure Iriz stocks will balloon the next 3 months.
      Why cant the Pesona be marketed as 1.3 VVT and 1.6 VVT?Remember the Wira 1.3 and 1.5 ? Like bezza 1.0 and 1.3 ?
      Proton’s strategy is too fragmented.The car sales overall is already going downhill,and Proton’s costs are going up.Next month ,Saga 1.3 is coming.Then Ertiga will replace Exora.Preve will be phased out except turbo variant.
      How on earth is the 1.5 B going to be repaid?Just gone with the wind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 33
      • syerin on Aug 24, 2016 at 8:40 am

Ertiga doesn’t replace exora. It is placed under exora. The new exora is said to come after that.

If persona offers both displacement, it overlaps with both saga and iriz instead of just with iriz. That solution is adding problem now.

• Das Auto on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Started with Waja, then Gen 2, Savvy, Satria Neo, Persona, Saga, Exora, Preve, Suprima, Iriz and now Persona 2nd Gen. 11 Malaysian design and made cars! More than 30 years ago Malaysian only dreamt that they can have own car marque and now we have gone a long way and still the only one in the region to have a complete package car manufacturer. No doubt the journey is still long but I doubt Malaysia can have a car marque if we start today. Automobile industries are becoming more complicated and very much technology driven. Congrat Proton! We the people, will keep bashing you cause we love very much!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 172 Thumb down 47
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 182
      • rally_fan (Member) on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:13 pm

just because someone supports a certain brand that you don’t, doesnt make them bodoh sombong.. please be mature. you have choices.. dont like proton.. dont buy it.. dont like proton, stop reading news about proton, dont like proton, stop posting mesgs about proton.. so why are you even here?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 10
      • Xperlu tau on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:07 pm

Lu yg bodoh . Lembu pun lg pandai . Bangang punya makhluk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Nalzam on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:25 pm

Dont you think 46k++ is cheap? I still remember buying my first wira at 46k in 2001… after 15 years… it seems that proton has been applying a zero inflation rate with a lot of extras… for once ..dont be no negativelah…. if malaysian keeps on supporting Proton… the loans and subsidies could well be saved… I guess … I could also ask you… How much are you being paid to write what you wrote?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 10
        • Nobrainer on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Exactly rite..i bought my wira for 50k last time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
        • Same L00 on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:23 pm

Pay RM 60k get a junk back home and become the joke among friends… Well done go ahead!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 60
          • Heng Lee on Aug 24, 2016 at 9:59 am

A joke among friends would be a Vios driver with it’s 110km/h topspeed… :D

BTW: Toyota was disqualified in Le Mans in 2016 because their low speed was a danger for other racers, hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • Sam Poo@Loo on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:11 pm

How’s about those tai lan ngong pay nearly RM 100k get a junk ‘TRD Stupidvo’ back home with nearly zero safety spec and become the joke among friends… Well done go ahead!

• kassorga on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:32 pm

and how much u got paid to write this up???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
      • Das Auto on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:38 pm

No, I am not being paid, just a typical middle-income tax paying nobody. I praised because it brought jobs to the younger generation as engineers, designers, mechanics, researchers and others in automobile related industries rather them being stuck as pekerja kilang buat kereta. Don’t know which generation are you from but 30 years ago Malaysia has a lot of factory workers. They don’t even bother to look at Proton cars then because they can’t afford it. Lastly, with only 15% Malaysian paying income tax, car taxes will remain high. I don’t like it but that’s life. So enjoy whatever good things in life left.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 12
      • syerin on Aug 24, 2016 at 8:51 am

So the company took all your paid taxes? How about schools, public facilities, hospitals, medical equipment? How high is the percentage of your money gone to proton while you yourself assumable to not have a proton?

• Neutral on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:05 am

From the no. of thumb down you get, a lot of people still live under the tempurung. Just like our imfamous MO1 who still get wide spread support blindly especially the moronic red shirt rascals. We definitely would be better off without Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • I wonder why when people give comments that support Proton or whatever brand, they are accused to be paid to write those.

But when you are condemning the brands, you are never accused to be paid for condemning. I thought bad news spread faster.

Proton is a national pride – no doubt about that, at least to some people. Thousands of people worked there and still many of them are there. So you expect that there will be supporters among the users, customers, vendors, and employees. These many supports, and you still think that they are paid to comment?

• You dreamt of owning the CHEAPEST QUALITY car? That is and oxymoron and you are a moron… LOL moment…

• Das Auto on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Started with Waja, then Gen 2, Savvy, Satria Neo, Persona, Saga, Exora, Preve, Suprima, Iriz and now Persona 2nd Gen. 11 Malaysian design and made cars! More than 30 years ago Malaysian only dreamt that they can have own car marque and now we have gone a long way and still the only one in the region to have a complete package car manufacturer. No doubt the journey is still long but I doubt Malaysia can have a car marque if we start today. Automobile industries are becoming more complicated and very much technology driven. Congrat Proton! We the people will keep bashing you cause we love you very much!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 48
  • thepolygonal on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Well done Proton! Car looks good with good features. Keep the price low cause that’s the real selling factor for this car :D Right tech with right price = sales.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 7
  • Curious user on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Dear sirs, why is the video removed ?

• Elchino on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Why did they remove the video?

• Julian Lee on Aug 23, 2016 at 5:59 pm

video removed by user :v

• kapchai on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:07 pm

The rear seat space looks rather small

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • inspira owner on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:23 pm

Cramp rear seat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
      • bezza have bigger leg room

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
        • That is because Bezza has a shorter rear seat cushion. The Persona looks like it has fewer legroom, but its cushion supports passengers’ thighs better. And Persona has a more raked seating angle for better comfort. Just go and have a look for yourself if you don’t believe me.

• im punch man on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:03 pm

are you referring to bezza?

• Andrekua on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Front does resembled Honda but with Lancer like bumper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • TheDean on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:26 pm

No LED daytime running lights?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • Lazada on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Add on urself.. cheap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • Garfield on Aug 24, 2016 at 11:08 am

We’re not a European country where the regulation was enforced because of the often foggy condition. Alas it has become cosmetic in nature because it looks good, but not a necessity in our weather

• Annamalai Ramanathan on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:37 pm

With millions of car on the road, one car will resemble another in some way or rather.. better yet car companies are sharing common platforms nowadays.. hence is too little u could do to change much… Let me wish proton the best of luck…u have improved…with good marketing, pricing and refinement the mass market would respond.. all the best and let the good time flow in..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
  • Marican on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 137
    • So how much did P2 pay u to post this crap?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 11
    • drillero on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:25 am

Youre right, Pero2 & Toyolta models are much better or rip-off model at the expense of Malaysian? Learn the lesson & stop buying crap & dumping cars from nippon

• John L on Aug 24, 2016 at 2:46 am

So.. this is the sales script that Perodua showrooms train their staff to pitch? Imma go Perodua showroom just to see if their sales people repeat your crap lol. By the way, I already saw you post the exact same words on another article. Come on, man.

• 1500Mpa vs 590Mpa chassis, i will take the 1500Mpa chassis anytime. Fuel consumption maybe will be problem but you can refuel. But life do not have take two. How much you expecting to save for fuel?

• since when bezza use CVT Transmission? Perodua only have 4-speed and manual. nothing more.

• syerin on Aug 24, 2016 at 8:55 am

Bezza platform: yes. But the whole sedan body of bezza is tested? Are you sure? This is the first home grown perodua we’re talking about. Not saying its bad but a small statement can be misleading.

• MusTanG on Aug 24, 2016 at 9:06 am

“Tested and proven Bezza”?

Really? Testing in kilang area is enough?

Really?

• Bezza is using CVT?you sure about that?

• EmperorMaybach on Aug 23, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Classy design. Tail lights look rather similar to the volkswagen jetta’s rear lights. Unique aesthetic feature indeed. Kudos to the designers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 9
  • Ahmadjr on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:01 pm

I’m so disappointed they still use Punch cvt. Only chinese brands use punch and the fuel consumption is really bad. In short, it sucks. Use proper transmissions for saga and others please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • Santo on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:07 am

Audi benutzt cvt auch….

• syerin on Aug 24, 2016 at 8:57 am

Tweaked punch cvt mind you. Drive it and compare with iriz. Paultan crew has driven it and they did mention it’s significantly different. Assuming won’t help at all.

• I heard there are improvements this time, even still using Punch. Anyway, need to test drive it.

• Silthice on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Should have highlighted the Front & rear sensor which available in all variants that usually only available in Premium Variant

• Sammy Loo on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:36 pm

Suprima S is C-segment hatch instead of sedan…

• wondering on Aug 23, 2016 at 7:51 pm

Why Proton name is Persona? They should just name it Iriz sedan. It’s feel like they are making Persona a smaller car… Expecting Persona to grow but it’s not…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • syerin on Aug 24, 2016 at 8:59 am

It shrinks in overall size yet baloon up in space.

• Alldisc on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:22 am

The first proton persona was the wira. This model has similar dimensions in terms of length and width but bigger cabin space and luggage compartment

Proton cannot have 3 models fighting in the same segment like what used to have (waja, persona, inspira – all c segment).

The new rational is to have one model per segment saga, persona, preve, perdana

• kenpachi on Aug 23, 2016 at 8:27 pm

u keep comparing the boot with other brands’ but y not rear legroom oso? heard the ‘feels bigger’ so many times n only compared to iriz..

• Firdaus on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Being 6′ tall, i can’t control myself from bashing this car cause when seated in front, it is so tight.Rear legroom is also terrible.

I think the facelifted saga will have a better room for people like us cause i’ve owned a BLM before.

Proton, just like humans are now living longer, the median height has increased as well.Your cars are only made for Indonesians and even they don’t prefer buying a Proton.Tough luck!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
    • Alldisc on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:23 am

The new saga will be an A segment sedan, meaning it is smaller than this persona. Which is a b segment.

• Firdaus on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:45 pm

u go and sit in both the cars and tell me which one has better leg room

• You do know you can adjust the seating position inside the car right?

• Firdaus on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:46 pm

what i mean is, when the driver door is shut, the space becomes cramped no matter how far back the driver seat goes to.

The right leg can become numb on long distance driving.

• Knight E on Aug 23, 2016 at 9:42 pm

overall look quite nice and more euro style design…hope led taillamp and projector headlamp will apply in facelift model…

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 23, 2016 at 10:15 pm

I hope they change the steering wheel, looks too big for the interior

• orang biasa on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:52 pm

Change the steering by yourself to momo steering or even F1 steering better

• The Persona just launched and Saga not yet launch, you already know are failures? Do you represent the whole Malaysia with your views? Have you driven both the Bezza and Persona before saying the Bezza is better? The Campro and subsequent VVT engines are actually reliable, just ask owners. Proton’s build quality is the main culprit for perceived unreliablity but the same can be said of Perodua too. The Axia’s build quality is inconsistent at best. Some cars are trouble free, while some suffers from uneven panel gaps and dashboard rattles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Nazgul on Aug 23, 2016 at 11:23 pm

I’ve thought nissan almari was the last one. Now it was bezza and persona. If i have to pick which design is worse it would be Perodua Bezza at the top followed by Proton Persona and Nissan almari will be third. Why Proton not using their Satria Neo and make it become sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
  • Why the manual does better than cvt in terms of fuel consumption ? Nowadays, cvt normally does better.

If the airbag counts same across the various, we will believe you about the safety from proton.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 24, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Normally you’d be right.

But proton doesn’t use the combined / average fuel runs like ones used by the EPA or NEDC (which also is highly criticized for being not representative).

Thier runs are at constant 90km/h. It just means the manual has a higher final drive than the CVT so it revs lower on cruising.

But anyway, expect much higher fuel consumption than the published numbers on actual use in most cases, more so, with our driving conditions in mind.

• Yap Tai Wai on Aug 24, 2016 at 1:08 am

Nice design & good job at the right prices…jus left a good engine & gearbox to completely perfect and against foreign’s brands…Proton..u can!!!

• looks good,congrats proton ..at least engine piston wont crack, meccatronic wont fail, no excessive oil consumption, premature wear on cam lobes..car in shop for weeks on end waiting for parts..protest infront hq..sounds like one two european car manufacturer that some proton bashers cant stop licking their behind..

• almera is as ugly as ugly gets..

• zamer on Aug 24, 2016 at 8:26 am

When can proton change the car jack? It has been the same jack since 1st gen Saga.
    It is not important but it shows that proton has not fully moved since it started.

• applegreen on Aug 24, 2016 at 8:53 am

We should wait for new saga and then we can make better comparison between bezza, persona and the new saga

• red light on Aug 24, 2016 at 9:07 am

where is multi-link rear suspension, like the previous version?

• Damien on Aug 24, 2016 at 9:45 am

Got VVT at the exhaust valve or not?

• The rims are too small. I guess 16 inch would look better on this car (and the Iriz too)?

• Ben Yap on Aug 24, 2016 at 10:21 am

the rims is too small. at least 16″ or 17″ la.

• Garfield on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Quite a number of people talk from their heart rather than their head; and finally sounding like coming from their arse rather than their mouth. Blind P2 supporters talking like the Bezza as in the ultimate in small car technology. Some P1 users even question why this Persona is named as such.

P1 made blunders in the past, yet many ignored their present effort. I reserved my own right to bash, since I made 3 trips on a tow truck during my shortest ownership of any car in a Waja. P1 bashers still talk about Proton service people of folklore. Post-Waja, I have encountered worse from other brands. And I taught myself that P1 service agents exists, and more than supplement the service center’s shortcomings.

P2 capitalized on this, and have been selling any comparable product at a premium on the pretense of being a Toyota offspring. In case you guys don’t know, P2 now do outsourcing to Chinese factories. Do pray that these factories have the same level of integrity of the Japs and won’t even think about cheating, outside of the scheduled QC visits from P2 engineers.

Why not have your prejudices on a temporary hibernation mode, go visit both showrooms and observe to your heart content. My advice, don’t speak to any salesman because they cloud your judgement (plus annoying when they don’t even know what you know from paultan.org).

Better still, if any one thinking of Bezza as god’s gift; wait for the Saga to make the true comparison of the A-segment products. I hope that a 3-way comparo can be made between; 1. the most expensive new Saga model; 2. the price-matching Bezza 1.3 model; and 3. the cheapest Persona standard 1.6 auto. Have a separate match-up between the cheapest Saga and Bezza for the crown of people’s budget car.

• Ahmad TM on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Hopefully the new persona have a better resell value…. i dont know why used car ppl always offer a very bad price to previous persona….

• Suddenly i put CR-V catalogue aside and waiting for future proton SUV to be coming. hopefully they will make it

• orang biasa on Aug 24, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Why walk through tour, the video so gelap gelap??? Who didn’t pay bill TN?

• Dear Proton,

bila baru mau pakai Jatco CVT ?

• Amelia on Aug 27, 2016 at 10:25 pm

Good attempt, hopefully we start seeing fewer City and Vios. Really wish they had an all black interior option though, that light grey is REALLY UGLY