VIDEO: 2016 B9 Audi A4 Malaysian walk-around tour

Here we have our walk-around video of the new B9 Audi A4 in Malaysia, in its standard 2.0 TFSI guise. Interested in how Ingolstadt’s latest compact executive car fares against the W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class and F30 BMW 3 Series statically? Spare five minutes to find out.

Currently available with a sole 2.0 turbo engine with 190 hp and 320 Nm, the RM249,900 (RM240k for the first 100 customers) A4 is priced rather competitively against its rivals, despite being a fully-imported CBU model. Two more variants – 1.4 TFSI and 2.0 TFSI quattro – will arrive in January 2017.

If you still think it looks too similar to the old one, do check out our comprehensive B9 vs B8 comparison gallery. Seen side-by-side, you’d be surprised how different the two generations look, especially the styling details. The biggest change, though, is on the inside – worlds apart.

All you’ll see in the video above, the B9 A4 does have quite a few class-leading attributes. Question is, would you choose one over the C-Class or 3 Series? Let us know in the comments section below. For a complete list of specifications and options for the Audi A4 2.0 TFSI, check out CarBase.my.

GALLERY: B9 Audi A4 2.0 TFSI

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Tiger mix with guinness on Oct 25, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Audi?

B O R I N G

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 27
    • Das Auto on Oct 25, 2016 at 10:32 pm

Smart money wil go 4 Passat B8.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
      • Smart money will go for Passat B8 a few months later or a year later when the price dropped to half or a quarter of the launched pricing. #nomoredasauto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
        • Of course for the Audi … but a few years later. Now macam “kosong” spec only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • tokok on Oct 26, 2016 at 11:07 am

cuz VGM running Audi Malaysia now

• VGM murdered the VW brand in Malaysia. Think Audi will be victimized too.

• Same L0rr on Oct 26, 2016 at 3:28 pm

Buy Volkswagen better than Audi. Buy Proton better than Volkswagen. Buy Perodua better than Proton. Perodua better than Audi!

• This or 2014 Audi A6 2.0T (A) HYBRID RM 148,333.

• Missing kucing karat kotak on Oct 26, 2016 at 7:59 am

Far away dmfrom C and 3.

• Tiger mix with guinness on Oct 25, 2016 at 9:49 pm

It looks like 2nd Face lift ‘attempt’ than a new generation model.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • Zizan on Oct 25, 2016 at 9:51 pm

No PT gang got an Audi. Nuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • Anand on Oct 25, 2016 at 10:03 pm

Pipu buy the C Class for prestij comfort. 3 Series for sporty ride, Audi A4 – CBU fwd?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Anything but P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 25, 2016 at 10:58 pm

BMW 330e > Merc C250 > Audi A4 2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • TreeHugger on Oct 25, 2016 at 11:30 pm

7-speed dry clutch DSG? Have to replace the whole clutch pack every couple years? It’s a no brainer C-class and 3 series anytime rather than this nightmare. Of course, there are abundant great features to love about on this car but the DSG is a single huge enough let down it is the deal breaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
    • venven81 on Oct 26, 2016 at 12:56 am

where the heck did you get the info that the transmission is dry clutch??? could you please get your fact right before commenting?

• Mikey on Oct 26, 2016 at 8:34 am

Bro Tree, it is mention in the video that this A4 Have a (Wet) DSG box la.

• it is wet la…

• abc123 on Oct 26, 2016 at 10:37 am

is a wet clutch la…. do ur homework before commenting….

• ganni on Oct 26, 2016 at 12:15 pm

this guy logic..

1) see the headline and no reading the detail/watch the video
      2) know the famous dry clutch problem
      3) simply put comment and bash

Maybe this step you are applying also when you are working..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 26, 2016 at 12:28 am

is this a joke? this car is so bad it makes the f30 3 series feel new

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • Noh Jib on Oct 26, 2016 at 1:12 am

On Carwow.com A4 beats the new C class and current BMW. Awesome .

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Oct 26, 2016 at 1:37 am

any1 here knows how does Audi brand perform here in Msia? in terms of after sales service, build quality after years of use, spare part price & availability, market value. im thinking of buying 2nd hand cars cos im not into new cars since most of that money goes to tax.(let the first hand owners pay for that). but i dont have friends i know that owns an Audi, so cant ask them.

• I have a friend bought an A4 1.8T many years ago. If not mistaken is B6 model. I did test drive b4. Nice.. and comfort driving. My friend from Ipoh and he told me that time the only servicing done by him was in KL. The car has only one problem and was fix by Audi FOC. The problem was the dashboard suddenly off all the lights n the car engine went death. After fixing, no problem at all. His family bought 2 of this and keep until now. Not he didn’t hv money to change, reason is he is kind of fella who don’t change car always.

Recently, Goh Brothers (VW) Ipoh selling Audi cars in Ipoh and Audi cars can be serviced in VW Ipoh. They are link together therefore you can guess their workmanship.

Another thing is Audi now like VW, the reduce their price after sometime especially during festival days… rebate tenth of thousands like VW cars. So u should think about it.

Personally I drove a few VW b4 and I also view some Audi cars. Basically the button inside are majority the same and only dashboard different. I don’t think a big different of them. However, if they could reduce the price within my expectation, I will give it a try.

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Oct 26, 2016 at 12:57 pm

i did some googling n found out that between merc, bmw & audi, Audi breaks down more & more expensive to repair especially when they are close to 100,000km mark where parts now have to be changed.bmw in 2nd place & merc in 3rd. However this statement apply to brand in general ,not model-specific.
        so how does that B6 fare after 5 years?
        i dont change cars often. my family tend to use cars as long as we can

• Megane on Oct 26, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Just buy Japan made cars lah esp Mazda . Almost the same quality less headache . Brand new

• Mikey on Oct 26, 2016 at 8:48 am

Now I understand why Hafriz Shah mention “Spare five minutes to find out” bcos this New A4 have so many gizmos & tech longer than my shopping weekend in Tesco.

It is all in the video & I’m not going to bore U all. All I can say is for a fully imported model, the price is indeed competitive in this premium segment.

• passion on Oct 26, 2016 at 9:26 am

gorgeous gear lever and dash.

• tahar on Oct 26, 2016 at 9:59 am

Paultan

How does this compare with Volvo S60 T6? when u limited your comparison to only C class and 3 series . Why??

Surely Volvo is a more established brand compare to Audi in Malaysia and personally I think Volvo S60 T6 is a more powerful and safer machine compare to Audi A4.

Nowadays people can google to check on every products for their own findings and reviews before deciding right?

• have reverse camera or not?

• If concern about resale value shouldn’t buy conti cars. Instead, get a Japanese brand.

My first priority is the specs, then come to reliability. Looks is 3rd place.

If I would like to choose, I will buy a C class in this moment. BMW and Audi designer are bit lazy recently. Both of them look almost the same since from previous generation. C has fresh looking.

• -BigBalls- on Oct 26, 2016 at 10:55 am

this design is so old that i remember george bush was the president of the US when the original design b8 came out…

-BigBalls-

• little boy on Oct 26, 2016 at 11:40 am

someone screwed up.. they took soo long to get this to Malaysia that I lost interest in the B9 A4.

Otherwise its actually a solid option.

Good job guys on the massive delay.. clap clap

• Zebra ill on Oct 26, 2016 at 11:50 am

Buick Regal/Opel Insignia/Chevolet Malibu >>> Audi A4

• old horse on Oct 26, 2016 at 12:10 pm

both merc and Bm smiling at the price..

• dorea on Oct 26, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Just like the VW, the looks of the Audi cars are getting boring. Same old looks. Yawn.

• Maybe is just me but I thought it would be a good idea to add in subtitle. Kinda hard to listening.

• Hafriz, please speak a bit slower, clearer and louder. on Oct 27, 2016 at 11:04 am

I agree with you. Subtitles would be ideal, but i think they might be too busy to do that. So, i’d say the easiest way to improve is to speak slower, clearer and louder.