B8 Volkswagen Passat officially launched in Malaysia – three variants, priced from RM161k to RM200k

b8-vw-passat-launch-5

Volkswagen Passenger Car Malaysia (VPCM) has officially launched the B8 Volkswagen Passat in the country. The car, which was previewed earlier this month, takes over from the B7 Passat that has been on sale here since 2011.

The B8 makes its local debut directly in locally-assembled CKD form, and is available in three trim levels and with two engine options. Sitting on the automaker’s modular MQB platform, the new Passat measures in at 4,767 mm long, 1,832 mm wide and 1,456 mm tall, making it two millimetres shorter, 12 mm wider and 14 mm lower than its predecessor. Wheelbase length is also up by 79 mm to 2,791 mm.

The two engines for the car are TSI direct-injection turbocharged four-pots, replete with BlueMotion Technology. A 1.8 litre mill offering 180 PS at 5,100 to 6,200 rpm and 250 Nm from 1,250 to 5,000 rpm equips two of the variants, the base 1.8 TSI Trendline and the higher-spec’d 1.8 TSI Comfortline. Both are paired with a seven-speed DSG dry twin-clutch automatic gearbox.

b8-vw-passat-launch-8

The other is a 2.0 litre unit, which has 220 PS at 4,500 to 6,200 rpm and 350 Nm from 1,500 to 4,400 rpm for output numbers, and this is mated to a six-speed DSG (wet) twin-clutch automatic. Essentially, the 2.0 TSI Highline sports the same powertrain that moves the Mk7 Golf GTI, albeit with a different engine tuning.

Some quick notes about the numerical badging attached to the boot lid of the cars, the emblems done in the same style as that seen on the Jetta facelift introduced last month. The 2.0 litre sports one that reads ‘380 TSI’, and the figure refers to a ‘performance level’ of sorts, roughly tagged to the amount of torque the variant produces. As for the 1.8 TSI models, they both wear ‘280 TSI’ badging.

In terms of equipment, the item list for the entry-point Passat Trendline – which rides on 16-inch Aragon alloys and 215/60 profile tyres – includes halogen headlights, front and rear fog lamps, LED tail lights, twin exhaust pipe finishers and auto lights/wipers.

Volkswagen Passat 280 TSI Trendline
The interior is dressed with Silver Diamond decorative inserts for the dash and door panel trim as well as a leather-wrapped steering and gear knob. The seats are manual units with adjustable lumbar, upholstered in a fabric design called Weave.

Kit includes a Composition colour five-inch touchscreen, a colour multi-info display, a multi-function steering wheel and push start ignition. Also to be found are electric foldable wing mirrors with heating, front and rear Park Distance Control (PDC), an electric parking brake with auto hold and Climatronic three-zone air-conditioning, complete with rear vents.

The 1.8 TSI Comfortline adds more equipment into the mix. Headlights are LED units with LED daytime running lights, and it sits on 17-inch Istanbul alloys wrapped with 215/55R17 ContiPremiumContact 5 rubbers. The automaker’s ‘KESSY’ keyless entry is added to the push-start button, and the seats are wrapped in Vienna combination leather.

Volkswagen Passat 280 TSI Comfortline
The driver’s seat gets a 12-way adjustable function, with memory and massage elements thrown in. The touchscreen audio system, meanwhile, is bumped up to a Composition 6.5-inch unit, and there’s Park Assist, a cruise control (with speed limiter) and steering paddle shifters.

The Comfortline, which the company expects to be the volume seller of the three-model range, also features a powered boot (operable via foot under bumper or through the key fob) and a chrome package to brighten up the interior. It also adds on a rear-view camera.

Finally, the 2.0 TSI Highline, which again ups the wheel size by another inch; the 18-inch Dartford alloys are clad with 235/45 series Conti CSC5 tyres, and a more sophisticated twin integrated chrome exhaust outlet arrangement. It also gets a chrome exterior package to snazz up the looks.

Volkswagen Passat 380 TSI Highline
Inside, extra kit abounds. Brilliant Pine decorative inserts replace that seen in the other two variants, and the Highline features an electric rear screen blind, an Active Info Display digital meter panel, ambient lighting and a more upscale infotaiment media unit, in the form of a Discover 6.5-inch touchscreen system with MirrorLink and navigation.

The 2.0 TSI Highline is also equipped with some chassis enhancement bits compared to the 1.8 litre models, and these are an XDS electronic differential lock as seen in the GTI (the 1.8 TSI models have an electronic differential lock, but no XDS) and Dynamic Chassis Control (DCC). The latter brings active damping and driving modes (Eco, Comfort, Normal, Sport, Individual) into the equation.

Standard fit safety equipment across the range consists of six airbags (front, front side and curtain), a Driver Alert System (rest assist), ESC, ABS with brake assist, anti-skid regulation, hill-hold control and Isofix mounts. The 2.0 TSI adds on a Lane Assist function.

As for pricing, the B8 Passat range – which is available in seven exterior colours (Pure White, Deep Black, Reflex Silver, Indium Grey, Crimson Red, Black Oak Brown and Harvard Blue) – is priced at RM160,937 for the 1.8 TSI Trendline, RM180,937 for the 1.8 TSI Comfortline and RM200,030 for the range-topping 2.0 TSI Highline. All prices are on-the-road without insurance.

Aside from a five-year warranty, VPCM announced at the launch that the B8 Passat will come with a five-year free service programme. The early-bird offer is valid for cars registered before the end of the year.

We’ve driven the B8 Volkswagen Passat – read our review of Wolfsburg’s latest D-segment sedan. You can compare the specification of the Passat variants at CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Passat 380 TSI Highline

GALLERY: Volkswagen Passat 280 TSI Comfortline

GALLERY: Volkswagen Passat 280 TSI Trendline

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 16, 2016 at 6:20 pm

In January 2017, 2016 made car will be sold for Rm20k discount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 17, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Passat is a bad word in the Malaysian car industry. I advice people, instead of spending RM200k, just buy 2nd hand for RM70k after 1 year later.

Now, even 2014 Passat cars cannot sell. No used car dealer wants to touch the car cause nama busuk due to the DSG. VW Malaysia has kelentong the rakyat saying that using mineral oil has solved the problem. This car use wet DSG also will be the same, don’t worry.

Even in 2016, people who are using mineral oil still seeing their DSG breaking down (wet or dry). And it is pretty sad, that you buy a RM160k (old Passat price) car and you are told not to use fully synthetic but mineral oil.

Previous Passat prices dropped so much because VW Malaysia themselves do firesales and sell their previous Passat at RM120k. So, 2nd hand market follows suit. It just drops like crazy.

If you really want, wait for 1 year. Buy this RM200k Passat for RM100k. Cause in a few months time, VW Malaysia themselves will sell this RM200k Passat for RM130k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 27
      • Abang bersih on Nov 17, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Same crap fake story again. Get a life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 17, 2016 at 4:56 pm

sore VW owner. Cannot accept the fact VGM cheated him….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Autodriver on Dec 26, 2022 at 12:13 pm

Now is year 2022 Dec, the used car price of Passat B8 2.0tsi HL 2016 (6 years car after 5 years warranty) and the used car price at Mudah.com is RM 100k. 2017 is RM 105k while 2018 is RM 115k. FYI, wet clutch are way more reliable than dry and almost no report of clutch issue on wet type. There were still got clutch issue for dry type such as Passat B8 1.8tsi but much lesser compare to B7.

• Seriously honestly frankly genuinely anyone expert here can tell whether the gear of this car can last? Wet or dry or both?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Gearbox on Nov 17, 2016 at 6:09 am

If dare, just buy it.
      Else, diam diam buy other.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
    • there are experts here? LOL… all armchair experts. Talking from behind their computer screens…. hahaha

• foxes on Nov 17, 2016 at 9:30 am

there are experts here? LOL… all armchair experts. Talking from behind their computer screens…. hahaha bodoh

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 17, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Where is Najib’s promise? Jib said car prices will go down by 30%. Now we see, this car has gone up by more than RM9k.

Malaysians don’t know, VW is Europe is a low class brand. Here, it is marketed as a high class brand at par with BMW and Mercedes.

Do yourself a favour, go buy a 1 year old 2015 BMW 528i. Now selling for RM230k. Bhp 245bhp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • ..are u nuts…a one year old Banyak Masuk Workshop…same reliability risks…get a lexus instead, prob/headache free but not so good driving dynamic…but ask urself..u want good to drive or problem free motoring?

• Who wants to be a ………… (not millionaire) guinea pig?

• Practical people will not touch VW and its kuncu like Audi and Porsche.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
  • BeemerFreak on Nov 16, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Volkswagen is still no Toyota and Honda. It’s significantly better is what it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
  • Nisha on Nov 16, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Solid German quality. Trouble-free DSG.
    What more could U ask for…. The Best is Here !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 48
    • cynical on Nov 17, 2016 at 10:34 am

Not sure if sarcasm or serious

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 17, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Many owners here come to say their dry clutch never fail them. They scared their RV so bad. Now only can get 30% of their car value.

So they come here and try to persuade people not to believe rumours. Go to VW facebook page. That does not lie. Read the comments there. All genuine comments. All comments come from facebook people with 200 over friends.

• I know some friends that had nothing but trouble with their Golf and Passat (dry clutch), all of them sold their cars as soon as it broke down once.

My Golf GTI mk6 so far has been mostly trouble free except for mechatronic replacement once. 35,000KM after replacement and still going strong ;p

I do believe that you should wait to see if this one has any niggling issues, but so far I have not heard much complaints from owners with Mk7 GTIs. Except for the Tech Pack add-on requirement. Greedy buggers.

• Conti Fan on Nov 16, 2016 at 7:05 pm

Wait for 3 months…when sales stall….then can get 30k discount. Never pay full price for VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • transformer on Nov 16, 2016 at 7:12 pm

why range-topping 2.0 TSI Highline no “BLIS” ?
    (for rear blindspot system using camera mounted on passenger-side rear view mirror)

with just lane-departure system and fatigue alert system is insufficient… even Honda Accord 2.4L VTi-L comes with this safety feature as standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Nov 17, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Nissan Teana 2.5XV, Toyota Camry Hybrid also have all 160-180k

• dsg wet clutch, good news

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • George Abdul on Nov 16, 2016 at 10:27 pm

Price view… this’s bad pricing for a CKD model… Do VWM management forget the VW emission scandal ?!?!

• sclim on Nov 16, 2016 at 7:21 pm

Wow, 5 years free service. This is what we want from VW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Well that’s nice and good. But what if every 6 months your car spends 2 months in workshop? Still good? its better to have a reliable car and pay for servicing- and have your car with you throughout its life span.

• medic on Nov 17, 2016 at 9:50 am

Only for this year car..still left 1.5 mths to New Yr.

• vasily on Nov 16, 2016 at 7:25 pm

Better buy V40 T5 E-Drive than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 25
  • Vincent on Nov 16, 2016 at 7:39 pm

haha.. I get ready chair to watch how VW kena hantam…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • autodriver (Member) on Nov 16, 2016 at 7:55 pm

It is great car but completely wrong pricing. The previous model is selling at 170,888 which is considered similar spec to the new model comfortline, but the new model is 179,990 which is 9k price increase. VW never study that they had terrible image on their model especially Passat. Look at the used car value of year 2011 or 2012 only sell about 60k, but the owner sell to used car at price of RM50k only which is nearly 120k drop in 5 years time.

The ideal price for trendline is not more than 150k, comfortline at 165k and 2.0 highline at 180k, if VW seriously looking at real sales of new Passat. With their current price I expect VW to give discount at least 20k or more by 2017 if sales figure not good. Good car with wrong pricing is a great shame. VW still haven’t learned from their mistake and tarnished brand image.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 8
    • seancorr (Member) on Nov 16, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Agreed, their base spec model price should match the base spec of the Accord and Camry if they want to compete else it’s DOA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • A4 Shame on Nov 16, 2016 at 9:30 pm

Wanted to buy an A4 but after seeing this passat, damn, to hell with overpriced A4 with no virtual cockpit at 240k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • We want Langkawi car prices on Nov 16, 2016 at 9:58 pm

I totally agree, considering that it is a CKD unit. Volkswagen wants us to believe that it is a premium brand. In reality it is not. Look at the aftersales and the reliability of its dry clutch cars. It really shows the greed of car manufacturers. The truth is, I am a big fan of the wet clutch DSG GTI. The Passat 2.0 really is a Passat GTI for the mature grown up executive or family man. Cheaper too. The fact that Volkswagen Malaysia chickened out and made Volkswagen Passenger Car Malaysia (VPCM) handle the distribution clearly shows that they can’t handle the whole issue. Shame. It is a good thing that Honda, Toyota, Lexus and Volvo teaches them a thing or two about car ownership in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • pass some salt on Nov 17, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Aiyoo…another idiot. VW is not a premium brand, they have Audi to cater for the premium segment(u know right?….VW owns Audi, Skoda, SEAT, Porsche, Lambo, Bently, Ducati…they have all sorts of brands for different segments).

VW compete wt Toyota, Nissan, Honda, Ford, Vauxhall, Mazda…etc..if u looking for their premium model…go get an Audi or Porsche

• BeemerFreak on Nov 16, 2016 at 10:07 pm

What are you comparing it against? Proton perdana? Of course this is overpriced, that was the product of last decade, today is 2016 where the RM is at 4.3 again USDand even more against Euro. The fact that our cars are still priced sensibly is already astonishing. Screw the current government for all this bullshit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
      • Its thanks to current Gov that prices remain sensible despite all this unnecessary bullshit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • thefact on Nov 17, 2016 at 7:08 am

Wowww. Awesome comment. How are u comparing a car which its components brought in from Europe compared to cars from Thailand/Japan? The cost of transportation itself is higher. Common sense simple logic.

The RM is also not the same since the older Passat B7 as well. It’s easy to be keyboard warrior.

• Thai components are better made than the Euro rubbish

• autodriver (Member) on Nov 18, 2016 at 11:07 am

Merc C200 W205 (new model) is selling at 249k where the previous model W204 was priced at 259k. It was 10k cheaper for the new model and both are CKD, components are mostly imported from Europe as well.

No one can predict currency exchange rate and the plan of launching new B8 was not 1-2 months ago but it takes at least 6 months or more. Which mean the current exchange rate is not the factor for price hike.

Look at the Jetta which was launched on September, the new Jetta comfortline is similar to previous Jetta. The new one cost RM119 which is 12k cheaper than previous Jetta priced at RM131k.

Read from newspaper advertisement the B8 is EEV which mean B8 should be entitled with EEV incentive but it was not declaced from VW. Jetta is also EEV and it can price down but B8 is priced up.

Paultan.org has many info for reference. There are keyboard warrior but they are true analyst in cyberworld. It is up to you individual thought.

• autodriver on Dec 26, 2022 at 12:44 pm

Commenting my own post at Dec 2022. When I first comment here I wasn’t Passat B8 owner. But 3 years later I bought one pre reg model B8 2.0tsi HL at RM 170k. After 3 years owning it the car is still pretty strong. Engine and transmission are in good condition. There are few problems I met, water pump (defective problem, solve in first service), driver door handle plastic peel off, fuel sensor (inaccurate reading) and center lock motor issue (SC informed seldom happen).

How it drive? It is really powerful and fast despite of its D segment size. The car handling is very good and agile like driving C segment sedan. But the DSG is too aggressive and not that comfort in certain speed and can feel jerking sometimes. Don’t get it wrong, dual clutch jerking is like driving manual car. Not mechanical problem but this is how the dual clutch work. The DSG gear changing ia lighting fast compare to China car’s dual clutch which is slow in changing and in return more comfort.

Fuel consumption is amazing. In City drive it is like 1L to 8-9km, not much different from Accord 1.5 but still saving than Camry 2.5. But in highway drive it is easily get 15km/L. Much better than Camry, Accord, Teana and Mazda 6.

2nd hand value not too bad, mudah.com still showing RM 115k for 2018 model. Not high but not low either. In 2022 seeing a Passat B8 or B8.5 is more easy than seeing Accord 1.5T. Btw Camry still the leader of D segment.

• The front looks like Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • No. The front looks like my Biza. VW no shame go and copy from my glorious P2.
      P2 >VW. Jangan persoal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Kenny on Nov 16, 2016 at 8:28 pm

Does this Passat B8 comes with an audio system? None of the reviews I’ve read mention the audio system at all. How many speakers and does it have bluetooth connectivity?

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 16, 2016 at 9:23 pm

Only the wet clutch model is the one people should buy to avoid breakdowns but most Malaysians look at the badge so the 318i would be the better buy despite lacking in kit count. Furthermore VGM’s image is at an all time low so I don’t expect to see many of them on the road especially when similar D segment competitors offer similar kit at a lower price.

• Vwdull on Nov 16, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Premium? The power window buttons feel so cheap!

• VWfanboisarefools on Nov 16, 2016 at 10:54 pm

Why buy now??? Wait for mega sales discount.

• bukapintubayartol on Nov 16, 2016 at 11:03 pm

I’d rather have a Camry Hybrid (IMHO)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • old horse on Nov 16, 2016 at 11:06 pm

get the cheapest one and definitely better than Camry experience..another sink to Camry..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Accord Is Here on Nov 17, 2016 at 12:05 am

Get a Camry or Accord instead, no to this overpriced Passat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • keluangman on Nov 17, 2016 at 12:06 am

dsg mechatronic…no courtesy cars… next!!!

• It’s a new DQ200 (version 5) 7-speed dry-type dual clutch automatic transmission.

• Chibi Maruko Chan on Nov 17, 2016 at 12:56 am

Just wait and they will give a huge discount.

• accord on Nov 17, 2016 at 3:59 pm

..still not worth the risks if u want headache free motoring….

• kadajawi (Member) on Nov 17, 2016 at 2:10 am

Why no Adaptive Cruise Control? Not even on the Highline spec? It’s a relatively cheap option in Europe, and it’s very useful. It will stop the car faster than a human can do, if a crash is ahead, and in traffic jams it will keep the right distance to the car ahead. Should you come to a full stop, and the car ahead moves again, push a button and the car will start driving. Considering Malaysian traffic jams wouldn’t that draw people to the car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • ex-VGM staff on Nov 17, 2016 at 1:10 pm

depending on what system VW is using. if it is infra red its ok. like Jaguar using radio based and MCMC didnt approve, fearing crossing with hand phone waves.

• kadajawi (Member) on Nov 18, 2016 at 3:15 am

VW is using radar. Works very well, those camera based systems are problematic. See the Tesla that crashed. See the Hondas that slam the brakes because they mistake a bridge for a car.

• hukaka on Nov 17, 2016 at 7:55 am

passat new car price rm 170.888
    new car 2013,2014,2015 pre reg,demo,bla bla bla.
    rm 118K,128K,138K bla,bla,bla,
    used car derler,passat used car for trade in rm 38K,48K,58K.huhuhu……

• jamaley maria on Nov 17, 2016 at 8:26 am

Preve head unit look alike..kudos Proton

• Peugeot fan on Nov 17, 2016 at 9:11 am

2.0 turbo wother 350 Nmm torque is my dream engine. I’m ready to get one if not because of the” throw price ” sale strategy for B7 passat.
    Now, I will wait for the discount & also next peugeot 508, see which one is themailed best buy

• Mikey on Nov 17, 2016 at 9:32 am

RM160k for the 1.8 TSI Trendline is a waste of time. Most purchaser will opt for the range-topping 2.0 TSI Highline that comes with all the goodies & look the part of a respectable car for just 200k.

You don’t want to own a German car & loose your bragging rights when the Japanese/Korean outrun you on a straight line would U ?

• Ben Yap on Nov 17, 2016 at 9:50 am

just get the ultra reliable honda accord. some more now got year end discount.

what else is better than this deal?

• passion on Nov 17, 2016 at 9:53 am

WRONG PRICE VW. WHY WHY?
    let us all with one mind wait for the year end sales next year. and even then we fear the harness problem that will cost a BOMB!
    the service centers need to improve their call pickup time. there are days the phones keep ringing but no answer.

• I have tested the 1.8Tsi. This is a comfort and smooth ride. About the price, I have no comment but the cos all cars in bolehland are over price. Comparison the old n new Passat, there is a big changes. More technical specs can be found when you walk into VW showroom. Although 1.8Tsi sounds like old engine but this new Passat got 2 injectors in each cylinder, according to VW. This gives better fuel economy when driving slow. The meter cluster I found is not practical, however I still prefer a classic type. The car stereo now got motion sensor where old Passat did not have. The rear camera view can squeeze to become fish eye view. DCC is interesting where old Passat don’t have this. At the front side view look like a BMW. The handling is good when driving at bumpy road, the noise inside the cabin pretty low. The feel is a lot better than Japanese car. The only thing I don’t like is the tyre. Bit noisy. About reliability, I don’t know. If you ask me would I buy it? No. The reason is I have bought 3 VW in my passed and I don’t want a 4th one. Perhaps, in the future. Now I prefer SUV vehicle.

• sharil on Jan 12, 2017 at 8:57 pm

U already own 3 VWs why not add this b8 if its much improved version from previous model

• DSG is like your Cheating wife. Can never trust it again even with sweet words of assurance.

• With this pricing, Toyota Camry Hybrid will eat the Trendline for 3 meals.

• Scirocco Owner on Nov 17, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Wait,is this 2011 passat? Eh no,its 2013 passat. But its identical to 2014. I got confused with the article its 2016 passat.

Finally i understand,VW cars all looks the same with micro and minor changes. I bet 2090 passat also look the same with this one. Same like iphone. Generation by generation,the model still look the same with just a minor changes here and there.

• passion on Nov 17, 2016 at 2:59 pm

NO MORE VW. NUFF SAID!!!

• Vincent on Nov 17, 2016 at 3:11 pm

I saw a lot of keyboard warrior who never do their home work before put their words. Most of you never try DSD plus TSI and keep saying that VW owner is stupid. Most still say that Camry 2.5 Hybrid is over price but never go and test drive one.

If one shall test, they will agreed with below comment:
    1) Passat B7 is a better drive car, no way Accord 2.4, Tenna 2.5 or Camry 2.5 (old version) can come close.
    2) After tested Camry 2.5 Hybrid, one will say.. point 1 is true, and Camry 2.5 hybrid is still better than Passat B7. Discounted price of 170K, is worth the value for their money.

Well, AS for VW, see below facts:
    1) It is a facts that DSG, TSI, give a lot of problem. VW owner don’t thing the problem is solved, solution given so far might only help to pro-long the life spend of the DSG. Anyway.. traditional Shiftronic gear box might last you 150K KM to 200K KM… depend on brand and user. For DSG, most of it failed at around 50K KM, which is consider unacceptable. If they can pro-long it to 120K KM, well, it consider as fair by looking at how DSG work.
    P/S – Be rational, only buy DSG if you can take the risk of breakdown. Pls be reminded that Mazda Rotary Engine also last below 100K KM, as compare with normal engine which last average 300K KM. But, 1300 CC with 3.0 performance, that the trade off.

2) People is comparing the wrong segment here! Comparing VW Passat vs BMW 3 series, Audi A4, Mercedes C class, and say that the price is too close to them, low class car.. selling high class price…those statement will only make urself look stupid. Passat is D segment car.. shall not C. Hence, it is cheaper than those luxury brand and it comparable with 508, S60 and etc. Pls check how much is Passat selling in Germany before say that it is expensive! As for 2.0 Passat, it is a sport sedan, GTI that give you more than 200 PS.

3) It is a facts that the RV of VW is super poor. it is as low as Peugeot and Citroen. However, to those that can afford this car, should the resales value be the concern? If yes, they can only pick Japanese like Camry and Accord.

4) Last, VW really doing a poor job in Malaysia! They failed in Damages Control! The way they fire sales their car, is making a grave for themselves! Genuine DSG lover will wait for VW to disc 30K by beginning of 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • The surge on Nov 17, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Another thrasher with ‘expert’ opinion backed with ‘statistics’. To put it short, the new batch of CKD models are reliable cars. I’m a testament as I own a Jetta and I’m absolutely enjoying its twincharged tsi engine and rapid fast gear shifts. Enough said.

• Are you an expert? on Nov 18, 2016 at 1:59 am

Why should anyone believe you? You sound like an ‘expert’ yourself too.

• VW Owner on Feb 23, 2017 at 12:07 pm

Nicely analysed and I myself shares the same opinion and observation as yours. Will be getting a 2.0Tsi soon if the price goes down to RM180k OTR!

• Vincent on Nov 19, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Well, the test drive car is finally in pg. I tested the 2.0 (380badge).

Overall, if the wet DSG is reliable, can last more than 100k km, this is definitely a worth to buy car.

One important point to note, Pls make sure u change it to sport mode. Else, at normal or comfort mode, this car feel.like a 160 PS car, performance is not to expectation. Once u change to sport mode, it will cheer up every moment u step on the pedal.

• Start by giving bumper to bumper warranty for 7 years or 300k km..dare stand behind your product quality vw? Else just keep those junk..

• Bernard on Nov 19, 2016 at 11:04 pm

If below 50k worth it

• I shivered when i read the 1.8 is mated to a 7 speed DRY dual clutch 7 speed DSG.

• VW Owner on Feb 23, 2017 at 12:10 pm

The 7 speed dry clutch phasing out. Coming in all using 7 speed wet clutch

• Brain. Use it on Jan 01, 2017 at 12:45 pm

Hey VW is doing a suicide no-hander here!

Passat as a car is already holding such a weak reputation value in Malaysia, yet they dare to jack up their price to 200k? Wow seriously someone needs to ask them “what are you thinking” in a straight face because the answer will be hilarious.

Who dosen’t know passat is a cheap car, it’s just a honda city price. If you really so thick face or your group of friends are driving locals car only – then go ahead buy a passat, but don’t be STUPID and pay full retail for it.

• nazli on Feb 12, 2017 at 11:11 am

im own a passat in 2015. this is my 2nd year owning it.before this im own altis(2008-2015). so this is my opinion.
    1. altis is a very good car. never had any problem. i drive it with milage 370K. only had change minyak hitam every 10-15K(KM). never had any issue. but i seeking for power acceleration. so i change to passat 1.8 in 2015.
    2. passat is very very good car. im just drive it 53K for past 2 years. it is a very good upgrade as i thought. i drive from kedah to kelantan(naik n turun bukit)without any troble, can simply potong any car that block my way during that turun n naik bukit( it’s acceleration is very SUPER). im not even try his sport mode yet during these 2 years because i think its normal mode already satisfy me.
    every 15K(KM) i will go to VW and changes its minyak Hitam(mineral oil if im not mistaken). so far, my passat never cause me any problem. but… a litter big but here… i had come across a few owner of jetta, passat, bettle during my visit at VW(for service every 15K), some of them really had this issue(mechathornix and Gear box Issues), but most of them that had these issues brought their cars in 2012 and below. only 1 owner had this issues that buying it in 2014.

so, my conclusion here:
    1. DSG problem still occur, but less. still under warranty 5 years.( lucky me im make my car loan for 5 years only)
    2. Passat(my passat 2014) is a very VERY good car if your intension of having a new car is for its acceleration.( u can say bye bye to Accord, Camry, Sonata, Teana in the highway, even during turun naik bukit, all these cars cannot follow u, they will disappear after 2-3 corner, believe me)
    3. Passat after sale value is dropping A LOT.( the very big disadvantage). but, a big BUT here, i done care much about it because for this moment, n i hope so until i finish my loan, im very very satisfy with my PASSAT. let say if i had finish my loan and want to sell it and i get RM 20K for it, then be it, because she had serve me very well during these period.
    4. in my opinion, for these time being, if i want to change my car later on, i still go for PASSAT.( i already go to VW SC at Alor setar n had a look at the new PASSAT, but i cannot do anything because im still paying for my loan and it is not make any sense to trade it with new one because of my PASSAT value is Dropping Way way LOW( very very BIG DISADVANTAGE).
    5. for who want for acceleration, go for VW. for who want for ReValue sale, please select other car.
    6. for who want free of mind during drive(tak takut kereta rosak, DSG problem, mechathronic problem), please go for TOYOTA. ( my altis is very good car)

ok, that all from PASSAT owner. thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2