GALLERY: Haval H2 – 1.5L turbo, from RM87k

Launched in Malaysia earlier this year, the Haval H2 SUV is classified as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) and is available in three variants – the RM87,246.01 Standard base model, the RM95,997.97 Comfort model and the RM98,915.29, range-topping Premium variant – all prices include GST, without insurance. All variants of the Haval H2 come with a five-year, 150,000 km warranty. Pictured here is the Comfort AT variant; note the single tone leather seats.

The sole engine configuration for the Haval H2 comes courtesy of a turbocharged, 1.5 litre VVT petrol engine which produces 147 hp at 5,600 rpm and 210 Nm of torque from 2,200 rpm to 4,500 rpm, paired to either a six-speed manual (the sole option for the Standard variant) or a six-speed automatic transmission (available on the Comfort and Premium variants), sending drive to the front wheels.

Externally, the Standard gets a shark fin roof antenna and an aluminium alloy roof rack, while the Comfort and Premium receive auto headlamps and wipers as well as a sunroof. All variants get manually adjustable halogen headlamps, with LED daytime running lights and front fog lamps.

Inside, the Standard gets a 3.5-inch TFT trip computer, secondary instrument panel, gear shift indicator, keyless entry system, button start system, adjustable central armrest and stainless steel threshold and a Bluetooth hands-free system, and a four-speaker sound system; the latter gets upgraded to an eight-speaker setup in the upper two variants.

The following are items found on the Comfort and Premium variants – audio and Bluetooth controls on the steering wheel, cruise control or a tonneau cover, a dual-zone automatic air conditioning, ambient lighting or electrically-foldable side mirrors with turn signals, leather upholstery, six-way electrically-adjustable driver’s seat, afront active headrest, rear centre armrest with storage case and reverse camera.

On the safety front, the Standard gets dual front airbags, while the Comfort and Premium variants gain six airbags (dual front, dual front side and side curtain) and a blind spot monitoring system. All three however, get electronic stability programme, a tyre pressure monitoring system, a collision-detecting fuel cutoff system, reverse sensors, immobiliser and an anti-theft alarm system as standard.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• 12yrsold on Dec 29, 2016 at 6:54 pm

1) It is passable(not ugly) in the look department

2) The price is acceptable/cheaper when compared to similar C-segment SUV

3) The tech/gizmos are there or about except still using halogen headlamps(should be Led)

4) The 147 hp at 5,600 rpm and 210 Nm of torque generated from the 1.5 turbo is equivalent to a 2.0 liter NA engine

5) A dual-zone auto air-con, leather upholstery, six-way electrically-adjustable driver’s seat, afront active headrest, blind spot monitoring system, 6 airbags & reverse camera put many C-segment vehicle to shame.

6) A six-speed automatic transmission (available on the Comfort and Premium variants)

The only down side NOW is the Badge(which many are doubting including me). If this China brand can stand the test of time say 5 yrs from now, they will be a treat to the Japs/Korean not to mention the French/German/US.

Amazon & Samsung did not born Big, they weathers the ups & downs & stand the test of time. Only time will tell.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 7
    • Gargantia on Dec 29, 2016 at 9:07 pm

The car itself were good but when come to services and maintenance, this car were risky choice even with 88k pricing…

Thanks to the BN mininstry ridiculous tax system !!! Rakyat need to pay Japan brand SUV price for and China made SUV. Thanks for the Rakyat that support the AP cronies !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 29
      • KuntaPangSai on Dec 29, 2016 at 10:38 pm

Nice looking car

• H2 mini on Dec 30, 2016 at 10:32 am

Blue label h2 , and h2 plus …mana …..tis original h2 tak cantik…

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 30, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Should sell Proton to Haval. At least China will inject some local talent into Proton and give it some brains to do well.

Currently, Proton is near bankruptcy. We need Haval or China to save dying Proton. But don’t know whether China want a dying and sinking ship also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Dun like, u can alwiz take BMW trains. Thanks to Gov, now even the poorest rakyat can ride in BMW.

• Tax is not by Brand. Why this Brand can be sell at RM87k?

• Hin Kung on Dec 29, 2016 at 9:58 pm

I test drove this car and it was disappointed.This car way too heavy for the power.Brand,service and parts makes own a proton much more worth it than this heavy wall bricks.Ship back to China pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 46
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Dec 30, 2016 at 12:46 am

Exactly the reasons it will be protons new partner. Incompetent SUV? Exactly why it will be protons maiden model in the segment.

• RavenAii (Member) on Dec 30, 2016 at 2:36 am

“I test drove this car and it was disappointed.” Wahh… You test drove a car and it disappointed at you ah? I agree it really shoud go back to China if the car already disappointed at people who test drive it. *I just can’t help it. Hahahahhaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • 12yrsold on Dec 30, 2016 at 8:44 am

Bro Hin, to begin with, you are comparing a car/sedan with a SUV. That is not a Good comparison.

• H2 mini on Dec 30, 2016 at 10:34 am

That why hrv hotsale at every country…

• Hin KangKong on Dec 30, 2016 at 10:38 am

If you test drove this car, thats mean you also have limited budget. With limited budget, you shall expect what you can get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • idealtech on Dec 30, 2016 at 10:25 pm

The power should be adequate for normal day to day driving. Same as Android vs iOS. It is not solely on hardware, software fluidity concerns too.

• OMG…good looking. but I still prefer pay extra 20k to get HRV…China made car …errrrr….no confident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • virosh on Dec 29, 2016 at 7:00 pm

For <100k, its a pretty decent SUV. Well specced. Decent looks. Say what you want, but chinese cars have definitely been improving in looks and quality. And 5 years warranty. Hello proton, cant beat this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 11
  • Passion on Dec 29, 2016 at 7:05 pm

Very very good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • KedahLad on Dec 29, 2016 at 7:18 pm

Its like an android phone, cheap.. amazing specs but at the end of the day we’ll still choose apple for its reliability

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 78
    • Sorry, my apple iPhone 6 is super lag. I’m looking to get a huawei mate 9 after new year. So, stop saying iPhone is the best.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 11
      • i’ve quit iphone for huawei. 2yrs using. still strong. mr kedahlad says iphone doesnt lag. mate9 beats iphone7 in every single department.

• ccy7218 on Dec 29, 2016 at 8:55 pm

Huawei and oppo also good and reliable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
      • Ah Kow on Dec 30, 2016 at 8:14 am

You cannot use a phone and compare it with a car. Manufacturing a car is far more complex than manufacturing a phone.

• faizrosli on Sep 14, 2017 at 1:08 pm

Both are complex. one have massive big mechanical part, another have super tiny electronic part. so still can compare if the context is “china brand is lousy”.

SO point here, this car still new, how do we measure the reliability? Sorry to say, Honda also QC are bad. i’m a new owner of Honda HRV and that car finishing is BS.

• OMG…Malaysian don’t even trust Korean cars, why trust this CHina made cars some more…Compare smartphone with car, r u kidding.

• Iphone is for kids and ignorant..

• Apple reliable? Unless you only use your iPhone for making calls and sending sms only and doesn’t install any apps, then maybe an iPhone is reliable.

• marieta on Dec 30, 2016 at 11:45 am

Apple = reliable ? WTF

• The engine spec, turbo with 147bhp proton cfe with 138 bhp.proton should be sold off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
    • Sometimes figure wont prove anything. Inhave to admit, proton’s cfe is relatively small for the 138hp, but when it can keep up with a 2.4NA car, it’s actually not that bad.

• govind on Dec 30, 2016 at 10:08 am

What? The limitation of CFE is at the gearbox, the engine itself can churn out more than 210Nm

• I am totally agree, the gearbox is the limitation….

even the CVT also can go head to head with VW 1.4 TSi Engine DSG gearbox

• transformer on Dec 29, 2016 at 7:56 pm

this SUV kerb weight 1529Kgs ! 1.5L Turbo not enough to overtake, MY consumer willing to pay Rm5K more for a 2.0L Turbo Diesel….

http://www.caradvice.com.au/haval/h2/price-specifications/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • It’s almost the same weight as CRV with similar power output as the CRV 2 litre engine. What are you talking about?

• blizzard on Dec 30, 2016 at 10:09 am

It should have at least 240Nm so it won’t be underpowered

• idealtech on Dec 30, 2016 at 10:20 pm

The Exora is at 1.7 tonne. Something is wrong somewhere. It is not about the engine, it is about the whole harmony between the engine and transmission. The Chinese can put whatever engine and gears they want but they are lacking in experience to match both components.

• If China can tebo vios engine, why not the ori maker: toyota?

• Mikey on Dec 30, 2016 at 9:31 am

What’s the diff j, U will still bash Toyo even if they turbo it.

• Hot dog on Dec 29, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Proton no chance anymore !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • Aero (Member) on Dec 29, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Nice photos !

According to the launch article, the early batch Haval H2 is CBU, and later models from September 2016 onward would be CKD. So… is this CKD or CBU ? o.O

It seems like GoAuto does not report sales or production data to MAA (they used to, but stopped reporting by mid-2015). GoAuto should start reporting their sales and production data to MAA. If Chery can do it, why can’t Haval ? Is GoAuto hiding something ?

Anyway, in China at least, this Haval H2 is a huge seller; over 150,000 units so far this year. And it’s not even that great or that fresh… many other Chinese car companies have nicer, better SUVs, but Great Wall/Haval has credibility on their side.

• Bro, cannot compare numbers of sales. Must compare percentage, cuz even if 0.1% their pipu buys from one brand its alredi more than entire sales for jepunis overlords here.

• roland choo on Dec 30, 2016 at 7:52 am

HAVAL is probably the most renown and trusted brand in China today.

The problem is with the distributor here, they don’t even have a H2 demo unit in Ipoh. How then can we expect them to provide a good and trustworthy after sales /warranty service and maintenance.

• FIST (Member) on Dec 30, 2016 at 11:43 am

Should be CKD to qualify for EEV

• Why the wheel size not mentioned?

• old horse on Dec 29, 2016 at 10:16 pm

bring us Landwind and Zotye SR9..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Apple phone still make in china

• Ah Kow on Dec 30, 2016 at 8:19 am

But it is overlooked by Apple US. Quality control is under US not China. There’s a difference.
      The main problem is the quality control. Controlled by who?

Almost everything is made in China, but how come some products have such good quality and reliable, but some others fails miserably?

The one who maintains and oversees all the quality control matters a lot for the product. Not the place where the product is made from…

• Launched early this year, however not even seen one on the road. In November, I went to the Glenmarie showroom, no test drive car. How can this brand/company bring value to the customer? Do you think it is reliable after sales service?

• Jackkriss on Dec 29, 2016 at 11:28 pm

basically the car is somewhere very lag of power vs. kerb weight. if you insist to own one good cheap SUV that’s it but turn RM1 after 5 years.

• Sick&Tired on Dec 30, 2016 at 12:08 am

Audi s line seats! Car doesn’t look bad

• Fishy Feeling on Dec 30, 2016 at 8:26 am

China Cars have EEV status.
    So they are above Japanese and Koreans now?
    CKD Honda Civic, Hyundai and Kia is not EEV right?

Retarded system.

• Even plate number pun dah pecah on the first day..
    Noted its your money.. choose wisely..

• iampetergriffin on Dec 30, 2016 at 9:04 am

Wake up Proton. This is a China-brand car. And you’re still giving excuses for selling a pity of a car at expensive prices. Sure China’s brand reliability may not be up with the rest, but Proton are you too up to that level?

• Donald Dump on Dec 30, 2016 at 9:05 am

IT IS GOING TO CHANGE, WE WILL BRING BACK JOB TO AMERICA !!

• Ahmad on Dec 30, 2016 at 9:09 am

Not bad not bad. Looks like a Merc ML class. Hope it performs like its looks

• waters on Dec 30, 2016 at 9:25 am

Is the H2 a B-seg or C-seg SUV. It looks pretty decent on paper and pictures, but with the same money you can get a HR-V. So…hmmmm.

• “the Haval H2 SUV is classified as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV)”

Another EEV huh? Even market leaders are not pushing their EEVs.

• marieta on Dec 30, 2016 at 11:44 am

wtf! this is china made car!!? I thought they still producing that funny looking van Jeremy and James May tested years back!

• Fit and finishing looks good in the close ups. Reliability still the key question.

• MusTanG on Dec 30, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Hey Mick,

Does this H2 have any safety rating score? (ASEAN NCAP & etc)

• Bernard on Dec 31, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Third world vehicles for third world countries ….

• FYI, total sold of 160k H2 only from Jan till November 2016 in China. U still think China cannot Made good car? Rethink… HAVAL monopoly China Suv market for many year…. Yaes, not even Japanese, Germany… Can beat them…. So Haval good or not go test. Don’t blind by brand…. Then judge…