BMW Malaysia prices up for 2017 – certain models costlier by up to RM6k, 330i M Sport dropped

Click to enlarge price list

BMW Malaysia’s price list for 2017 is out, and while prices for some models are unchanged, certain models have sticker prices that are slightly higher, by up to RM6,000.

Models that see a price hike include the BMW 118i Sport (up RM3k to RM176,800), 318i Luxury (up RM3k to RM205,800) and the X1 sDrive20i (up RM2k to RM230,800), all locally assembled. The entire CBU 4 Series range consisting of the 420i Coupe, 430i Coupe and 430i Gran Coupe sees an increase of RM2k.

Elsewhere, buyers of the M2 and M4 will have to fork out an extra RM6k, which should be “small change” when the coupes are priced at RM504,800 and RM746,800, respectively. Owners of the 330i M Sport, your tasty sport sedan is now limited edition, as the variant has been dropped from the local line-up.

In 2016, BMW introduced new and lower prices for the 1 Series, 3 Series and X1 SUV, which were among CKD models that received Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) status.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Pinky on Jan 03, 2017 at 7:45 pm

Just got a Premium Selecions 2016 320i with 0 mileage for RM192K last month.. (Almost RM40k discount!) The SA showed me her entire list of 0-1000 mileage Premium Selections car and they still have more than 200 unsold units at the end of December. Bare in mind that this is from AB only. We still have Wheelcorp Quill Ingress Wearness …

Their sales is bad enough already. Still dare to increase the price of their cars. Bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
    • Ah beng Sam Loo on Jan 03, 2017 at 9:29 pm

x5 is on one year waiting list. Who said sales is bad?

• those higher price beemer like X5 are in demand since most buyer are loaded bus men, money is not an issue…..

its the so called “mampu milik” for those yuppies/pretend to be yuppies 150-250K range thats is fiercely competitive…yeap, those 3 series mkt are very competitive with soo much offering from other brands not just the traditional beemer rivals aka merc & audi…nowadays u have lexus/infiniti/jag…etc

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 04, 2017 at 3:40 pm

Malaysia already has the HIGHEST car prices in the world. Which means we have already prepaid petrol prices at RM2.70 for the next 20 years.

Pity we Malaysians. Already got the highest car prices in the world, now, double whammy, we have to pay high oil prices.

To the bodohs who say Singapore has the highest car prices, well, compare lah GDP Per Capita of Singapore. Singaporeans earn 10X more than Malaysians. So, when they pay RM5 per litre or SGD200k for a BMW 528i, it is FAR FAR cheaper than what we pay even with COE included.

Remember, Singaporeans earn 10X what Malaysians earn.

Even normal Government servant in Singapore, normal ranking, earn SGD8000 per month. Our gomen servants, purata RM1200.

Ask yourself where car prices cheaper?

Malaysian paying RM428k for a 528i earning RM1200

Or Singaporean earning SGD8000 for a 528i priced at SGD200k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
          • Don't panic, Ringgit will bounce back on Jan 04, 2017 at 4:24 pm

Public transportation system has improved tremendously. TakNak private car ownership

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • LcKinta on Jan 04, 2017 at 4:50 pm

What is petrol got to do with car blog, somemore u buta saying 528 at RM428k. Makan ubat is compulsory for u bang

• Sama L00 on Jan 04, 2017 at 6:20 pm

The price hikes have no impact on Proton Exec. They have bought theirs since the RM1.5bil duit raya was given last year.

• Shaffiq Haz on Mar 01, 2017 at 12:38 am

I am a Singaporean and I have no idea where you got the figure of a normal civil servant in sg earns sgd 8000, almost all the things you just wrote does not make any sense . . . and 14 people actually liked your comment . . .

• shalini on Jan 04, 2017 at 12:01 pm

Directors buy BMW using company money.

Blatant tax evasion…

• Henry on Jan 04, 2017 at 12:44 pm

Obviously you know nothing. It is called tax deduction which is perfectly legal.

• Ntah.. on Jan 04, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Legally correct, but is it morally correct as well?

• Jonathan on Jan 14, 2017 at 2:37 pm

It depends. Many people are not paying tax and are taking your tax for free. All they have to do is vote.

• policeman on Jan 04, 2017 at 8:03 am

Hi Pinky, I saw you drive a new Bezza. You got a 320i in your dream?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • 316base on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:04 am

Deswai BMW in Mesia not prestij..

• contender on Jan 04, 2017 at 10:13 am

Well Pinky, your RM40k discount is because it is a 2nd hand car you being the 2nd owner even though mileage is almost zero plus year end discounts … Premium Selection is pre-owned, pre-loved or pre-reg is still a 2nd hand car ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • YaY!! on Jan 04, 2017 at 7:22 pm

So what if it is ‘technically’ a used car. Even a new car has been driven by BMW’s mechanics or the salesmen before delivery. Most important thing is that the car is zero mileage and the owner saved 40k. New car owners can boast all they want if they think paying premium price buy them for boasting rights. I’ll say money in my pocket from the savings is best for me.

• Jonathan on Jan 14, 2017 at 2:36 pm

“more than 200 unsold units ”

If so many buyers are failing their credit, even before picking up the car, why doesn’t BMW change the system? Do they register the car before you make a single installment?

How does this system work???

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 03, 2017 at 7:48 pm

Guess they also can’t sustain with the crap MYR which is about RM4.5 to a dollar now.

• Gsviny on Jan 03, 2017 at 8:11 pm

Still the defacto brand for anyone who has a few bucks in the pocket

• nabill (Member) on Jan 03, 2017 at 8:20 pm

If im really looking for a new bmw, wd these price increases actually deter me from buying one ? Of course NOT!
    Would these price increase actually have any bearing on bmw sales? Of course NOT!

THIS is the new normal guys, of course most prices/cost will increase…Obviously we don’t like any price increases, bt u keep voting for same incompetent ppl… U cant expect change!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
    • You have no idea what you talk about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 48
      • lian jao on Jan 03, 2017 at 10:14 pm

You have no idea what you talk about

• asgfxjf on Jan 04, 2017 at 7:26 am

neither do you

• waters on Jan 04, 2017 at 8:52 am

ssdd, He does. If you want to buy a 320d, you will buy it. The 3-6K price increase is not suddenly going to make you change your mind to a Honda Civic.

BMW knows this. Luxury manufacturers of anything know this.

• And most buyers wait for the year end discount which the 3k~6k price increase will be negligible.

• gaviny on Jan 03, 2017 at 11:02 pm

Most people that i know driving these have approximate 2-3k car allowance, an extra 5-6k selling price is equal to a few hundred extra only each month.

• Well.. not going to say the 30% promise here although gomen can do better to avoid this increase. Now you can blame it on RM which is one of the worst performing currency in ASEAN countries.. we have depreciated so much compared to Thai, Singapore and event Vietnam.. well, maybe better than Indonesia but still…

• AcerMan on Jan 04, 2017 at 6:59 am

Worst performing currency in ASEAN for 2 continuous year. :-)

• Don't Panic, Ringgit Will Bounce Back on Jan 04, 2017 at 11:21 am

Weaker ringgit good for tourism and exports.

• komarad on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:31 am

well, SGD depreciates around 7% against USD, whilst RM depreciates around 22% against USD!!

• Undi BN on Jan 03, 2017 at 8:34 pm

Poor Malaysians …Malaysians getting poorer by the day

• Megane on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:07 am

Yeap you will be poorer if you but BMW . The cars are good but overpriced in Malaysia setting like the rest of Conti cars . Will be keeping old cars for a long time .

• Laughing at You on Jan 04, 2017 at 4:22 pm

If buying a BMW makes you poorer then you shouldn’t really be buying a BMW. With this kind of mentality being rampant within the country I’m quite surprise that beyond oil prices people can’t figure out the flaw in the country.

Who would want to invest in a country where people can’t even figure out they’re stupid?

• I think it’s madness that you can no longer buy a 3 Series in M Sport trim at all

• All will move to Mesidis or audi then. Either ways, tax the rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Mikey on Jan 04, 2017 at 8:27 am

The super BMW salesman will say “Sir, U will NOT feel the difference bcos our super low interest rates are better than Mers/Audi not 2 mention we treat U with the Best in terms of after sales services.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 03, 2017 at 10:02 pm

Why must they drop the 330i? Probably not selling well, but still. The 330e has poor boot space and has no adaptive suspension (which is important if one wants to maximise the handling of the F30). So if a 3 Series buyer wants practicality, they’re stuck with the 320i. If they want performance and practicality, they’d be better off getting the C250 AMG then. At least when MBM dropped the C300 (for the C350e), they kept the C250. Don’t quite understand BMW Malaysia’s strategy here.

• They also dropped the 320i M Sport and 320d M Sport. Now if you want a sporty small executive saloon your only choice is the C250 AMG. I think its a poor strategy from BMW, see a lot of M Sport trim level cars on the road previously

• Did the 330i had the adaptive suspension?

• BMW pain on Jan 14, 2017 at 1:32 am

This is not a country of motoring enthusiasts. All that matters to people is number on the boot, and if the weak hybrid can be brought in cheaper than the 330i because of tax, all the better.

Currently they are squeezing loyalists into the 388K 430i if they want M Sport. Beginning 2017, they even cut sapphire black from the 320i to squeeze people into the 330e- one of the most popular colours. All because the 330e can only be repaired by them and will make them money for years to come.

In fact, word is there will soon be an M Sport version of the 330e. Yet, there is no indication what this package includes. It could be active or passive suspension. It might not even include all the M Sport features.

• sick&tired on Jan 03, 2017 at 10:13 pm

our currency so weak, what else to do. Even Thai baht also higher than our ringgit. I remember when there was a time when our money was one of the most best performing currency in SEA. Now, I think the way things are going, rupiah also will outperform the ringgit. very embarrassing.

• Whatever that goes up, must come down. Whatever that goes down, will go up or end up in the drain..

• Shaddap on Jan 03, 2017 at 11:19 pm

if you scream about the slight price increase, that mean you guys cannot even afford such cars. So shut up.

• AhmadBoy on Jan 04, 2017 at 1:30 am

Dont complain so much. The big brother is enjoying himself holidaying in australia. Do you think he cares? Dont waste your energy.

• Ben Yap on Jan 04, 2017 at 9:36 am

those can afford this car the increase in price is minimal for them.

after all, most of the businessman charge it to company….

• wtf BMW? First you dropped the 320i M Sport, 320d & 320d M Sport and now the 330i M Sport? The least you could do is give the option to upgrade to M Sport line for the 330e. And why not CKD the 4 Series while you’re at it.

• BMW pain on Jan 14, 2017 at 1:26 am

You might get your wish. Word is M sport is coming to the 330e.

But ONLY the 330e. It will not reach the 320i. In fact, this year BMW Malaysia slashed sapphire black for the 320i, one of the most popular colours. Check out the website, that colour is gone.

• Few months ago, call up BMW dealer and realize the 330 m sport is no longer in offer. Very disappointed as I am looking forward to getting one. I guess from a pricing/value perspective BMW is seeing that 330e fits better in their product portfolio than a 330 msport. However, consumer behaviour is hard to predict and it might surprise you.

• Contact AB Glenmarie Premium selection . They may have old stocks . Good luck !

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 04, 2017 at 1:57 pm

weaker ringgit has nothing to do with the increase in price

every corproation wants continuous higher earning year by year, it is unsurprising that BMW is pricing it higher to meet their financial goals

if you know basic economics, weaker ringgit is good for our country as we are relying on exporting goods. it also helps with having more tourists coming to our country to boost our economy.

some of u shud pay more attention in sekolah to learn economics

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • Ntah.. on Jan 04, 2017 at 2:55 pm

errrr.. dunno whether to like or dislike this comment..

• Deadpool on Jan 04, 2017 at 7:58 pm

all of your comments just made me laugh out loud. you the one lack of information still bragging around talking like a pro like u know everything. You mentioned about reading G official website to get the correct information? LOL. you didn’t know those official, rtm, local newspaperS are regulate by the G? they only report things to brainwash you about how good they are, which is not true at all. read your comments is like reading jokes. currency drop is a good thing? true it may increases tourism, export things etc. If only the money earned helps to develop our country and for the living quality of Malaysians. but hell no, your idol Mr.JIBBY MO1 used it to indulge himself, and leaves us rakyat suffering. and on the other hand, we malaysians can’t go anywhere because we don’t have strong currency and now G still want to suck more money from us the rakyat. Currency dropped like hell, you still say it’s good, another nobrainer. you just a G puppet. please leave more comments with ur name below so that people will know you are a good comedian.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 11:34 am

beribu ribu tahniah ckd masih naik harga

• Jonathan on Jan 10, 2017 at 3:12 pm

What do you guys think of the chance of the 330i coming back?

I know it was only just dropped from the January 2017 pricelist, but the reality is BMW dropped it in August right after their “sale.” They simply did not update the list and are still carrying it on their website.

One dealer told me there is a chance it might come back after they get 330e production started up. It strikes me as odd the 330e is available in Malaysia where petrol is cheap, charging infrastructure is poor and there is no higher spec 3 series to compete with the C250 and above.

• Jonathan on Jan 12, 2017 at 11:14 pm

Browsing the BMW Malaysia website (that was given a long overdue update in Jan 2017), it seems they killed the sapphire black colour for the 320i Sport.

If this is true, things are really getting ridiculous.

• Wondering why 320i is discontinued from selling now. Only 330 sport available in showroom. Any idea?? :) thx