2017 Perodua Axia facelift officially launched – 1.0L VVT-i engine, two new faces and features, from RM25k

The 2017 Perodua Axia facelift, which appeared in Malaysian showrooms this week, has been officially launched at the MYPerodua Nation carnival at Aeon Shah Alam. The event is being held at the mall’s outdoor car park for this weekend, and it’s free for all to attend.

The Axia, Malaysia’s most affordable car and Perodua’s most popular model, has been with us since September 2014, which makes it nearly two and a half years old. This mid-life refresh brings more than just altered faces for the hatchback’s two designs; there’s also an improved powertrain as well as some useful new features.

Let’s start under the bonnet, where the 1KR-VE 1.0 litre engine now gains VVT-i. The addition of variable valve timing to this three-cylinder engine was first seen in the Bezza sedan last year, and the Axia now gets the update. Outputs are up by 1 hp and 1 Nm to 67 hp at 6,000 rpm and 91 Nm at 4,400 rpm.

Perodua claims a fuel consumption figure of up to 22.5 km per litre with the manual, up from the original Axia’s 21.6 km per litre and just a hair under the Bezza’s 22.6 km per litre figure with the 1.0 litre engine and stick shift. No change in transmissions – one can choose between a five-speed manual or a four-speed automatic.

As facelifts go, this is quite a big one that’s immediately noticeable. The original Axia came with two faces – one for the Standard and another for the SE/Advance – and both get updates here. Now, the Standard E and G variants get the pre-facelift SE/Advance model’s projector headlamps (an upgrade), paired with a redesigned front grille (with a silver bar) and bumper. The Standard face is much bolder as a result.

The side signal repeaters on the front fenders and 14-inch wheels (steel items on the Standard E, eight-spoke alloys on the Standard G) remain unchanged, along with the rear bumper design and red tail lamps. A new addition is a tailgate handle where there was none before, in place of an external keyhole on the pre-facelift car.

The more expensive and sportier-styled Axia SE and Advance models receive get a bigger design revamp. Gone is the ‘Angry Birds’ look, replaced by a new chrome two-bar grille, new design projector headlamps and a bumper that looks like it came from a Honda Jazz, which is no bad thing. The foglamp housings now feature chrome highlights and faux carbon-fibre surrounds.

On the profile, the Axia SE/Advance gets wing mirror LED signal repeaters (as before), new “spiral design” 14-inch wheels from the top Bezza Advance variant and chrome door handles with a keyless entry button on the driver’s side. The sharper rear bumper and clear rear lights are unchanged. The new tailgate handle gets a keyless entry button here.

As expected, there’s less change inside. All variants now get the Eco-drive Mode light (including the Standard E) and a revised instrument cluster design, with white illumination on the SE and Advance. The costlier/sportier two also receive a push start button, located next to a new off switch for the front parking sensors.

Click to enlarge price list

The top Advance gains a new touchscreen infotainment system with “Smart Link” screen mirroring for Android phones (the SE retains a simple radio/CD head unit with Bluetooth, while the Standard G omits the CD player). Other changes include new fabric seat designs for Standard and SE models, as well as new grey (previously red) seat stitching/piping and steering wheel stitching on the Advance.

No change on the safety front – no ESC for the cheapest new car one can buy in Malaysia, but ABS is standard from the Standard G above. All Axias get dual front airbags for a four-star ASEAN NCAP rating. Prices have been revised upwards by up to RM2,773 spec-for-spec, and now range from RM24,900 to RM42,900. Gear Up accessories are available, too. Full price list above.

Two offbeat colours – Lemongrass Green and Cherry Blossom – have been discontinued, leaving Ivory White, Glittering Silver, Ebony Black and Midnight Blue in the colour options list. The SE and Advance have two additional hues – Solid Sunflower Yellow and Metallic Lava Red.

Since order books for the Axia facelift opened on January 13, Perodua has collected around 3,000 names for the car, Perodua MD Datuk Dr Zahari Husin revealed. The company’s sales target for it’s “new baby” is 6,000 units per month. Perodua has sold a total of 214,700 Axias since September 2014.

GALLERY: Perodua Axia 1.0 Advance facelift

GALLERY: Perodua Axia 1.0 SE facelift

GALLERY: Perodua Axia 1.0 Standard G facelift with GearUp bodykit

GALLERY: Perodua Axia facelift official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Fais Roslan on Jan 20, 2017 at 10:27 am

Axia has similar safety, more power and refinement and quieter and way better fuel efficiency than the Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 74
    • Pengguna Bijak on Jan 20, 2017 at 12:30 pm

And less headache too.

Hati senang, tidur malam pun lena dengkur nyenyak sampai pagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 30
      • loler on Jan 20, 2017 at 5:33 pm

Headache la 3 cylinder engine got kapchai vibration, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
        • Mokmok on Jan 21, 2017 at 1:05 am

I own a kenari for 5 years with 3 cylinders engine, i have been in vice with 3 cylinders engine too, now i own an axia with 3 cylinders but i can’t really tell if its running on 3 or 4 cylinders as the vibration barely felt..just my 2 cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
          • Mokmok on Jan 21, 2017 at 1:07 am

vice = viva, mind my typo

• Liang on Jan 21, 2017 at 12:24 pm

You tried to say it is same with luxury car? Oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Duck The John Cigarette on Jan 21, 2017 at 10:53 pm

Try driving 4 cylinder car 1st,
            BTW, is safety a concern for u ?
            this car has no VSA, especially on rainy country like Malaysia, also our Road condition,
            goodluck my friend

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • btw for the duck guy who talked about safety and the vibration i’ve 3 cylinders too. the vibrations u’ll feel for that axia is actually very less for a 3 cylinder car. Yes axia has no VSA, first drive that axia high-speed in rain then u can say things about safety concerns.Whenever it’s rain i take the right lane and speed-up man jt like how i do with almera. I ain’t see any dfrnc. I feel the same comfortability and safety for both

• Mind sharing which axia spec has VSC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Duck The John Cigarette on Jan 21, 2017 at 10:56 pm

Dont mind him, never try never know.
        Try driving Iriz on the highway vs Axia/Bezza ;D
        let the buses pass you, you will feel the car blown away
        so bad if it loss control, it got no VSA.
        well, Sayonara

• John the Duck Cigarette on Feb 10, 2017 at 12:09 pm

If you need stability control to help you not lose control, just because a bus drives past you, I do not think the car is the problem.

So much drama!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • abahaku on Jan 20, 2017 at 3:25 pm

Bro,
      If I’m not mistaken, Iriz got ESC which is std across all variants. Axia ada ke? So now similar safety as Axia??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Er3 bumpers, new paintjob, and they finally put back the DVVT which they wrenched out previously from viva. Lets see how many MY pipu gets fooled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Pengguna Bijak on Jan 20, 2017 at 12:40 pm

Each increase of 5 sen petrol means another 5,000 extra sales to Axia and Bezza monthly.

Looks like Perodua will need another extra factory also, so kindly inform Perodua if anyone with half-empty car factory that need to be rent or lelong pajak gadai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
  • which one is standard G rm24,900 ?

• Anonymous on Jan 20, 2017 at 10:38 am

Front looks a bit like Honda Jazz…?

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 20, 2017 at 10:44 am

What people want is ABS and VSC. The Axia does not have both. ABS safety was a legal requirement in Europe in the early 2003. Then, it was compulsory for all cars to have ABS.

This means, the Axia does not even have the basic safety requirement for cars established 15 years ago.

2ndly, no point doing facelift when your car got no VSC. Since 2005, every car in Europe and USA must have VSC compulsorily.

Malaysian Government already said, having VSC in Malaysia can prevent 45% of all deaths and accidents in a given year.

So if there are say 10,000 deaths in a year, if all cars had VSC, we can save 4500 lives

With this in mind, don’t you think it is better to give VSC and ABS to the rakyat then give a facelift?
    After all majority buyers buy the E

Btw Perodua, the same car in Japan, a Daihatsu, got BOTH ABS and VSC.

How come Perodua take out ABS and VSC? Mahu untung lebih kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 25
    • Albert on Jan 20, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Why r the p2 addicts keep buying Axia when price is reaching basic 1.0 litre Bezza price?
      The more we buy new cars,the more they say the demand is returning.Then they keep blaming ringgit and jack up price.
      You see the greed of this GLC?
      Who suffer ?Car lovers.
      If P2 sales drop 20 percent this month,after CNY they will TURUN HARGA by 5-10 percent to attract sales.
      THE demand is pushed up .They use the falling ringgit FEAR FACTOR to tell buyer”If u dont buy now,when riggit is RM 5 to 1 US dollar,then u gonna pay thro your nose.
      So the addicts ,buy out of fear.
      You need a PHD in psychology to understand this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Jan 20, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Penny wise, pound foolish budaya kite.

The writing is on the wall. Perodua knows Msian want fuel saving AND safety. Bezza advance with VSC alone makes half of total Bezza sold.

They should be generous and give ABS and VSC to all models, and can still be very profitable while maintaining or reducing price. This is guaranteed, as no one will have any reason to buy Proton anymore, and their market share will only grew bigger easily.

But Perodua’s management is too short sighted to see this. They care too much about profit than long term benefit. They ought to know by sacrificing short term profit to give VSC, the benefit goes far and long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • One thing i appreciate from P2 is that they made sure the facelift was not captured while so we dont get spammed with 50 spyshot articles.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 20, 2017 at 10:46 am

No VSC but harga sudah naik banyak.

Oh btw, what happened to the promise that car prices going to be reduced by 30%? Here, even national car also going higher in price. Rm2774 price increase is a lot of money for the lower income group

Perodua is majority owned by UMW. So, Perodua belongs to the gomen. If gomen wants to reduce Perodua prices, they can if they want to to honour their 30% price reduction promise to the rakyat.

Malaysians are suffering now. Even a RM1000 hike to a poor man means a lot. Come on gomen, your leaders lead a luxurious life whilst the rakyat suffer.

Minyak also naik eventhough we are oil producing country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 18
    • Pengguna Bijak on Jan 20, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Sebab minyak naik lah semua rakyat berpakat beli Axia.

Jadi tidak salah Perodua jika offer kereta yang terbukti jimat minyak.

Tetapi memang salah lagi durjana jika terus menjual kereta bazir minyak dan selalu rosak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • Duck The John Cigarette on Jan 21, 2017 at 10:57 pm

Money ? Petrol Price ?
        or You / your family lives matter most ?
        choose…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Kunta Kinte on Jan 20, 2017 at 10:47 am

One question we must ask is this. The original Daihatsu got VSC and ABS.

Why the car come to Malaysia the VSC and ABS is taken out? Are we the dumping ground for the Japanese to give us non safe cars when the Japs themselves sell the same car with VSC and ABS in Japan?

Or did Perodua aka UMW take out the VSC to untung more at the expense of our lives?

The same with the Toyota Passo. All got VSC. Why our Myvi got no VSC as standard across the whole range?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Roslan on Jan 20, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Have to ask that Chinese guy Mr Liow Ministry of Transport. If it’s not a requirement by the Ministry then the auto manufacturers will not implement the VSC as standard in their cars. Unless the ministry mandate it as a requirement the manufacturer have no choice but to include VSC as standard in their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • It’s ironic that most E units are used for driving school and they don’t even come with simple ABS for safety. Lawak betul P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on Jan 20, 2017 at 10:59 am

at RM43K, Perodua cars aren’t cheap and not value for money. Perodua should be giving a turbo engine for their highline cars rather than giving useless accessories and force their buyers to buy underpowered cars.

I bet my balls that if the axia ferries 4 adults, it will struggle to climb Genting highlands or struggles to sprint off from the traffic lights with lots of engine strain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • Albert on Jan 20, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Ben,they dont care about your balls.
      They are greedy to the core.LOok at UMW…sales keep falling.Perodua is using premium pricing now.

• Pengguna Bijak on Jan 20, 2017 at 12:42 pm

If you’re smart, you can buy used Suprima or Preve at RM43K.

Yes if you really smart lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Hello... on Jan 20, 2017 at 12:43 pm

Not everyone go genting bro…. stay in Town Area

• Sam Prabanathan Loo on Jan 20, 2017 at 7:52 pm

RM43k for Aksial, just add RM4k and can get either Myvi 1.5 SE manual or basic Persona 1.6 manual.

• Ben ben on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:58 pm

first of all i don’t understand man! yall expect a 20-35k compact 1.0 hatchback, 14 inch wheel with 3 cylinders to naik genting highlands with full load and do the perfomance of 1.5 sedan/hatchback huh!? dafuq

• jinggo on Jan 20, 2017 at 11:05 am

No VSC? What a joke… LOL

• Matchy on Jan 20, 2017 at 11:22 am

Any side by side comparison between the old and new?

• applegreen on Jan 20, 2017 at 11:40 am

Pergh…gempak gila ‘tailgate handle’ axia ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • 15k is reasonable price

• Rugi la orang beli first model.

• Pengguna Bijak on Jan 20, 2017 at 12:45 pm

Tidak rugi sama sekali.

Ini kerana pemilik2 Axia sebenarnya sudah untung jimat wang minyak jika tidak membeli kereta enjin unta kehausan 10km/Liter.

Memang pilihan yang bijak sekali!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • PenggunaXbijak on Jan 20, 2017 at 1:15 pm

Hahaa.. pengguna akan lagi bijak bila beli EEV famy car.

• You compare to what car? Even small car like axia sip petrol like unta kehausan if you bring full load at 110km/h

• Duck The John Cigarette on Jan 21, 2017 at 11:00 pm

Bijak lagi mereka yang membeli kereta lebih selamat ;D
          Duit Minyak boleh dicari,
          Nyawa sendiri atau family mana mau cari ?

• camtakpro on Jan 20, 2017 at 1:48 pm

So in 1 more year this Axia is obsolete because no VSC?

• cendol (Member) on Jan 20, 2017 at 2:46 pm

I am waiting for the 143rd Myvi facelift,

It should be a game changer

• Dylan on Jan 20, 2017 at 3:07 pm

Paultan. You forgot to mention that the Standard G has now gained the radio from the standard variants of the myvi

• azrai on Jan 20, 2017 at 3:17 pm

I hope more and more people buy P2 so PNB can reap the profit from their investment for all the Amanah Saham. Good job Malaysia buying P2, helping people who own Amanah Saham to continue making profit. Thank again.

• Axia User on Jan 20, 2017 at 4:16 pm

My personal opinion is the car is Good in terms of performance and value for money, i.e. low cost in terms of maintenance and spare parts. No car is perfect, if you have the budget, get a good car. If you do proper maintenance and drive responsibly, it’s not going to be an issue. I myself am driving an Axia bought in November 2014 and no issues so far. If I have the budget, I would trade up to a better car.

• Ollie on Jan 20, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Cool. For your next car purchase, look at cars between 3 to 5 years old and buy a proper used sedan for the money you have thrown at this Axia. It will be safer for you and your family.

• Ollie on Jan 20, 2017 at 6:16 pm

RM 11,000 difference to go from basic to one step higher auto. RM 11,000. Eleven thousand ringgit for ABS, airbags, and a fancier radio, ELEVEN thousand. This isn’t robbery, this is execution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Ollie on Jan 20, 2017 at 6:25 pm

How is this company allowed to rob and bludgeon consumers this way??

Difference between Standard E manual and Standard G auto:
    – Auto gearbox – RM 2,500
    – CD player – RM 300
    – ABS – RM 500
    – Alloy wheels – RM 1000
    – Insignificant BS – RM 500

Total: RM 4,800

Perodua’s price: RM 12,000 –
    (Std E RM25k, Std G Auto RM 37k)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • landan on Jan 20, 2017 at 10:04 pm

People do not see what you are saying. Compare the std E and G, it is totally insane. It is much cheaper if you buy std e and upgrade yourself with all the bell and whistle. But the catch is manual gear and no ABS. Still it is better to ignore axia altogether. Go for vsc.

• The consumer willingly allows it. What can do?

• lawson on Jan 27, 2017 at 4:47 pm

when i bought my 1st new car in 1994 it is the kancil 660cc manual. I was then 33 years old. it cost RM24k otr if I recalled correctly. so for axtia it is definately cheaper since the technology, engine & body and fitments are all better& superior. before that the two cars i had are more than 10 years old when I bought them.

so if you factor the inflation, the income or GDP then vs now and axtia being a larger & superior product I wonder why the hoo ha over axita pricing??. I think people in general expected too much.

years ago my neighbour wanted to get a new myvi as a 2nd car so that she could fetch son or daughter back from late tuition. The son which was getting his driving lesson said “why buy myvi??. it is a cheap car!!”.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Aug 11, 2019 at 7:14 pm

I would like to point out that the “insignificant bs” means:
      – rear parcel shelf
      – central locking
      – alarm with imbolizer
      – centre console
      – painted centre stack
      – electric adjustable with retracting functioning side mirrors
      – reverse sensors
      – rev counter
      – height adjustment for the front driver seat

• Price diff between the cheapest & most expensive model is almost rm20k. Rm20k! For this cheapskate? Mosly for accessory difference only. & nowdays manual & auto prize diff can go as far as rm6k alone. Crazy price. Those days only 2k diff. & yet, still 4 speed auto. Why is it 200% increase in the price of auto? Besi manyak mahal ka sikalang?

• humusjumus on Jan 22, 2017 at 10:23 am

i buy 2nd hand japanese car better……

• Optitron lights on Jan 26, 2017 at 8:36 am

Dear Perodua, please bring back the Optitron lights on the meter panel like it used to be in earlier MyVi and Alza into new models like Axia, Bezza and also current MyVi itself.

Just because some people are so unobservant when it’s dark and not turning on the headlights, this Optitron feature has to be remove. Please reconsider.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Aug 11, 2019 at 7:05 pm

It’s called cost cutting. Something I feel Perodua is good at and wants to be good at.

• yeyed on Mar 13, 2017 at 11:04 am

Guys,

simple.. if you dont like it dont buy. Bersyukur apa yang ade.. bole pakai public transport..

• DANNY789 on Apr 02, 2017 at 9:28 am

If the base Axia 1.0 E equipped with ABS+EBD, mybe the price will went up a little bit….just for ABS+EBD…perodua,please fit the base 1.0 E equipped with ABS +EBD….As long as the basic safety features completed such as Dual SRS Airbags, ABS+EBD…

• Info berbeza dari yg dikeluarkan oleh perodua dalam buku katalog.. Hp enjin yg d nyatakn dlm katalog hanya 50hp sahaja