New Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI in Malaysia, fr RM149k

You’ve seen the spyshots and saw the official teaser, now here it is in full – the new Volkswagen Tiguan. The second-generation Tiguan has been previewed to the media at VW’s Sri Hartamas showroom and is also present at 1 Utama’s new wing for the public to check it out in the metal. It will be officially launched “in a few weeks.”

Unveiled at the 2015 IAA in Frankfurt, the new Tiguan sits on the VW Group’s modular MQB platform, which also underpins the Golf Mk7. It has a larger footprint than before – 60 mm longer, 30 mm wider, 77 mm longer wheelbase – but the size increase comes with no weight penalty, as the new car is over 50 kg lighter than before. VW recently revealed the seven-seat Tiguan Allspace, but this is the standard five-seat version.

The boot volume is 615 litres, which can be expanded to 1,655 litres with the rear seats fully folded (one motion). The latter is split 60:40 and can slide fore and aft. Even the front passenger seat can fold flat forward for long cargo. Airplane style fold up trays with cupholders, mounted on the front seat backs, are available for the rear passengers.

The wider body, reduced overall height (it sits 33 mm lower than the Mk1), sharper lines and that bold new family face also seen on the handsome Passat B8 means the new Tiguan is – to our eyes – significantly better looking than before. What do you think?

The front-wheel drive SUV is powered by a 1.4 litre TSI engine with 150 PS hp and 250 Nm of torque available from 1,500 to 3,500 rpm. The downsized turbo engine is mated to a six-speed DSG dual-clutch automatic gearbox. The official claimed fuel consumption is 6.7 litres per 100 km (14.9 km/l) in the European cycle.

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has taken the unusual step to highlight “wet-clutch” in the marketing material, as the reputation for the seven-speed dry-clutch unit isn’t the best and may put off some. Traditionally, the wet DSG6 has been used in higher-powered applications.

The Tiguan comes well equipped, with many of the goodies that made their debut in the latest Passat. Two trim levels will be available – Comfortline and Highline.

The entry Comfortline car is obvious from its 17-inch “Montana” alloys and black roof rails. Standard kit includes Park Distance Control (PDC, front and rear), auto lights and wipers and LED tail lamps. Inside, this Tiguan gets “Rhombus” fabric upholstery, Composition Media eight-inch touchscreen head unit (with Bluetooth, SD card, USB, AUX-in, eight speakers) and steering paddle shifters.

The Highline, as seen here, is fully stocked with equipment. You can tell it apart from the 18-inch “Kingston” alloys (235/55 Hankook rubber), silver roof rails and LED headlamps with LED daytime running lamps and Dynamic Cornering Assist. There’s also an electric tailgate that opens with a press of the key fob (not by kick) and which opening angle can be adjusted.

The top Tiguan also comes with a “Vienna” leather interior, 12.3-inch Active Info Display digital instrument panel, three-zone climate control (vents and controls for rear passengers), Park Assist 3.0 (parallel and perpendicular auto parking) and a Discover Media eight-inch touchscreen system with all of the Composition system’s functions, plus navigation and reverse camera. Ambience lighting, too.

The Tiguan scores high in safety. In fact, the SUV was named in Euro NCAP’s Best in Class Cars of 2016 list, topping the ‘Small Off-Roader’ category. Standard fit safety equipment across the range consists of six airbags (front, front side and curtain), a Driver Alert System (rest assist), ESC, ABS with brake assist, multi-collision brakes and Isofix mounts.

The Volkswagen Tiguan – which is CKD locally assembled in Pekan and Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) certified – has estimated pricing of RM149,000 for the Comfortline and RM169,000 for the Highline, excluding a limited early bird special offer of RM7,000. It is now open for booking. Five colours are available – Pure White, Deep Black, Atlantic Blue, Tungsten Silver and Indium Grey.

VPCM’s package includes five years factory warranty (as opposed to the old 3+2 extended warranty programme) with five years of free roadside assistance. The service interval is 15,000 km, which means less visits to the dealership.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI Highline

GALLERY: Volkswagen Tiguan on display at 1 Utama

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Das Auto on Mar 01, 2017 at 11:11 am

Book now..solid reliable German car of the Year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Just Like Last Time on Mar 03, 2017 at 1:08 am

Launching already discount. Later sure can get 30K offer one.

• lilytan on Mar 01, 2017 at 11:15 am

Its wet. Safer, less painful, fun experience for VW owners.

• comes with 6 speed wet clutch DSG.

is it really reliable compared to the 7 speed dry clutch or pretty much the same?

• Sammy on Mar 01, 2017 at 11:20 am

Is Malaysian driver so naive and only look for big digital screen and feel satisfy with the car? y all drive assist features are not provided? i.e. lane depart, lane keep assist, adaptive cruise control……and a lot more!! All these feature are now become standard package in many country.

• Imran on Mar 01, 2017 at 11:32 am

Good price to CRV and Xtrail and Cx5. The other models should come with price deduction also. Vento being competitor to the vios and city shud be priced between RM70-85k, Jetta to sylphy and Altis between RM90-105k

• Woot Woot on Mar 01, 2017 at 11:40 am

Definitely value for money

• anyone know whether the 6 speed wet clutch is really more reliable or not?

• current VW owner on Mar 01, 2017 at 6:44 pm

patiently waiting.. for ultimate clearance

• kunta's uncle on Mar 01, 2017 at 7:18 pm

Considering that one has to pay a 1.4 litre road tax and insurance for a 2.0 litre performance and 1.4 litre fuel economy, this is really worth it, especially since its is priced on par with its Japanese competitors for the first time ever.

• Insurance based on car value la not cc

• google first on Mar 24, 2017 at 9:26 am

google first before comment

• Trolled on May 24, 2017 at 6:06 pm

Read properly what he comment haha he said road tax price for 1.4 but insurance price as compared to a 2.0cc look. Guess who’s not reading properly.

• Gracke on Mar 01, 2017 at 11:43 am

Good price, nice looks, performance engine and best handling!!!!!

• Jimmy on Mar 01, 2017 at 10:47 pm

Yup.

And, probably the best SUV that you can get for under RM150k, and it is a German SUV.

Once you drive conti, you don’t want Jap anymore; it is as addictive as that.

• ayamxxx on Mar 01, 2017 at 11:44 am

will another 6 months, vw give another better discount. cz x laku, dsg haunt, after service attitude. what next

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • sackthedesigner on Mar 01, 2017 at 11:52 am

Same boring exterior squarish design

• carChaser on Mar 01, 2017 at 11:56 am

affordable but realible ?

• Kunta Brothers on Mar 01, 2017 at 12:02 pm

Spend RM149k but every other month have to call the tow truck…..for what? Might as well buy cheapo Japanese SUV like CRV, X Trail or Forester.

At least, these Jap owners don’t have to wait in the hot sun waiting for the tow truck. Worse still, you have to sit with the tow truck driver when he tows your car. You can enjoy his small rotating fan attached on his dashboard (the ones you find in 70s teksi)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
    • Kunta bin Kambing on Mar 01, 2017 at 9:36 pm

You emit negative aura. Your life is full of negativity. Why not speak facts? I suggest you build your own car factory dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Lucky Gong on Mar 01, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Why ?

• Jimmy on Mar 01, 2017 at 10:43 pm

I agreed with the word ‘cheapo’ in your second sentence, it is so intuitive and natural, from deep inside your heart, without disguise.

• passion on Mar 01, 2017 at 12:06 pm

1.4T on a sedan is acceptable. but SUV? really?

• Kunta Brothers on Mar 01, 2017 at 12:07 pm

Volkswagen owners have the tow truck driver on their speed dial.

Volkswagen owners invite the tow truck driver for their children’s birthday parties

Volkswagen owners invite the tow truck drive for Valentine’s day to join the couple for wine

Volkswagen owners invite the tow truck driver for their children’s wedding ceremony.

Volkswagen owners visit the tow truck driver when he is ill and take care of him.

Volkswagen owners children are usually proposed to the children of the tow truck drivers for marriage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • ancient on Mar 01, 2017 at 4:04 pm

if you dont have a volks so do not act like you have it laaa….

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 01, 2017 at 9:30 pm

Wow u really put alot of effort on trolling every VW post lol… Have a great life!

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 01, 2017 at 9:33 pm

You talk like you know so much. Volkswagen produces among the best cars in the world and they are in the forefront of turbocharged vehicles. They have the expertise in turbocharging and almost all their cars are turbocharged, even the B segment Vento. If you can’t afford a VW, just shut up. Your rants bear no weight. All CKD models in Malaysia are completely reliable. Get a life dude. Get your facts right.

• David L on Mar 01, 2017 at 12:09 pm

Wow. 149k (minus early bird 7k). 142k for a 250Nm and wet clutch. Value for money as compared to 2.5 CX-5 (158k), 2.4 CRV (168k). 30k drop from previous 179k, thanks to EEV.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 01, 2017 at 5:03 pm

Bro how can u compare the 149k base spec with Mazda or Honda top spec models? The 169k Tiguan should be compared to those models which puts it around the same price as the Japanese top spec models. If u ask me they should have included the 7k intro price intro their price list and just sell it 7k cheaper at 142k and 162k and that will make the Tiguan a very attractively priced SUV.

• Jimmy on Mar 01, 2017 at 10:38 pm

To me, I think the Tiguan base spec will be better than CX-5 2.5 and CRV 2.5. Those 2.5L just won’t accelerate and drive the way you like them to.

And, they lack the solid feel.

Do you think the current CRV is very refined? Seriously?

• dpillai on Mar 01, 2017 at 11:06 pm

Many can buy tapi servis cannot afford.
        Apa macam

• Thomas on Mar 01, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Previous gen sold in Malaysia is 2.0T of not mistaken. Went to 1U to view the real car, pretty nice looking. This or new CX-5?

• Gregory on Mar 01, 2017 at 12:10 pm

Very nice car with a reliable wet clutch DSG. Should be a big seller as it is bigger than a Mazda CX3 and CRV

• BlitzAce on Mar 01, 2017 at 2:47 pm

Yea, bigger boot than both the Mazda and Honda, more powerful than the 2.0’s, while being somewhat modestly specced, too. Especially if you go for the Highline

• Leafable on Mar 01, 2017 at 12:19 pm

My cheque book out. Very good pricing.

• Primus on Mar 01, 2017 at 12:22 pm

Danny, could you please put the actual dimensions of the car in the article, rather than just stating xx mm longer/wider/lower.

• Ben Yap on Mar 01, 2017 at 12:35 pm

0-100 faster than Bezza and persona?

if yes, can buy.

• only one word, ugly

• Hello Vw on Mar 01, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Is this or the new Passat better in terms of rear seat comfort/space for 3 adults? Thinking of buying this or the new Passat

• wait a few months, the pricing will drop for ‘raya special’ or some other nonsense like that. Volkswagen always destroys the second hand car market with their pricing/slash and burn strategies

• Jimmy on Mar 01, 2017 at 10:34 pm

Everybody throws price, MB and BMW included. You are new?

Go and pay full to the marques that you think don’t throw price; you like to pay high and give them full profit margins, I supposed.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 01, 2017 at 1:41 pm

i like that despite it being 60:40 u can move the centre seat down…useful for fishing rods…

• The highline really seems like a good buy. It’s a handsome car for a market that desires SUV more than anything else lower. But VW reputation needs some more sunshine as well as the service/parts cost. For people like me who have their cars in our driveway longer than 5 or more years, it’s going to need a lot more persuasion. Well than Honda, that blown CRV better be here soon.

• MK Lim on Mar 01, 2017 at 1:49 pm

A car with 21st century tech but 20th century design.

• Jimmy on Mar 01, 2017 at 10:31 pm

So, you like the overdone futuristic designs, but not everyone is like you. Boxy plain design ages better. I like VW designs.

• Afook on Mar 02, 2017 at 2:35 am

Ya lorr. From far, front end looks like toyota unser 1st gen. Design fail la this time

• European Car Japanese Price.

• All grey...no thanks on Mar 01, 2017 at 2:16 pm

All grey interior is just too drab. They might as well sell it as a hearse.

Should have mixed it up for highline.

• Golfer on Mar 01, 2017 at 2:20 pm

Shut up and take my money!

• azhar on Mar 01, 2017 at 2:45 pm

can tapau new CRV if price like this..only problem is to convince the public that their gearbox is indeed reliable

• Captain gigi kuning on Mar 01, 2017 at 3:44 pm

oklah. Looks ok oso….but I would buy japanase….for reliability and peace of mind

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 01, 2017 at 4:59 pm

Indeed very good price. Good move. Price + let them know it is Wet

• Mikey on Mar 01, 2017 at 5:19 pm

All in all, it is a pretty decent car with all the tech U will find in a modern SUV. Couple with VW solid build quality, this new Tiguan will be a worthy rival to top dog CRV/CX-5/3008/Sportage/Tucson/X-trail.

The Best part is this is a Genuine German SUV priced around 150k. Of course we all know it is cheaper now bcos of EEV & Local Assemble(CKD) with 5 yr Warranty.

• Jimmy on Mar 01, 2017 at 10:28 pm

German vehicles are better than Japanese.

I really don’t like hollow Milo tin feel; drive is like spaceship in aerospace without gravity, just to exaggerate a bit.

• any idea 0-100km/h take how many seconds?

• idealtech on Mar 01, 2017 at 5:53 pm

Grow up son. It’s a dual clutch tranny. Don’t live in your Sushi days where automatic gearbox is a slugbox. With that punchy torque from just 1.5k rpm, any jap suv is a bulldozer.

• rublik on Mar 01, 2017 at 6:39 pm

tiguan comes with 8 inch media centre and passat only 6.5 inch

very sad

• Hmmmm on Mar 01, 2017 at 8:49 pm

Looks good. Reliable or not? Time will tell.
    Will people be buying this SUV?
    But it looks damn good compared to CRV, CX5 and the usual jap brands.

• Y U Fuk on Mar 01, 2017 at 9:11 pm

Food to see a price reduction, but my guess is that this vehicle is still priced too high for the Malaysian market. What is the Tiguan’s market positioning ? Who are it’s rivals ? You get a lot more kereta in the X-Trail, CX-5 & CR-V. Again, VW Malaysia should understand that the perception of VW in Malaysia is not of an upmarket marque. Malaysians still remember the noisy old Beeetle and KOMBI. VW Group should really consider bringing in the SKODA & SEAT Marques to improve market share. More 3S Centre’s will need to be opened for the public to take VW more seriously. Champion Motors is a good bench mark for VW Malaysia. DSG ?!?!?! Too many question marks !

• Jimmy on Mar 01, 2017 at 10:24 pm

Many people still think that VW is more upmarket compared to Toyota. Bean counters buy Japanese vehicles, generally.

Skoda and Seat are your poor suggestions, not viable.

• JasonT on Mar 01, 2017 at 9:45 pm

Good pricing but safety specs still lacks. Wish it have BlindSpotAssist, AEB & RCTA. Guys Xtrail only 4 airbags (Safety???), CX-5 in my 3rd year steering rack begins to wear & fuel consumption climbing, CRV good resale value but don’t trust them anymore after Takata and Fukushima. With 5years warranty, will think about it but if have Tiguan GTE will definitely buy it.

• Kelvin on Mar 02, 2017 at 9:55 am

They made it sound like early birds only need to pay RM7000.

• Critics on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:00 am

Overseas market tiguan got panaromic roof / 7 airbags instead of 6 / two tone leather seats..why local market always get inferior specs?

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 05, 2017 at 8:32 pm

Those are all options. Leather is already a 2500 Euro option (and absolutely unneccessary). The sunroof is 1000-1200 Euro. AEB, Lane Assist, Traffic Jam Assist, Blind Spot Monitoring and Matrix LED (or something similar) all together cost 1500. The leather is a waste of money.

Anyway, sure you can have a fully speced Tiguan. It will cost more. As it is, the Tiguan sold in Malaysia costs RM 204k. A base spec Tiguan costs RM 125k. So there is already 99k in options in the Malaysian Highline! And the Tiguan, same spec as in Malaysia, costs more in Germany than it does in Malaysia.

Without upgrading the engine… staying with the 150 hp 1.4, you can get the price up to RM 292000 (and that’s not even chosing all options, as some are incompatible with each other. The RM 11k paints are missing for example). If you want a nicer engine and AWD, add another RM 50k. Almost triple the price of a base spec Tiguan.

• Das Auto on Mar 02, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Bring the new Tiguan Allspace with 7 seaters..sure will be hot..

• Tricycle on Mar 02, 2017 at 3:10 pm

Great car at attractive price.

However still hoping VW Malaysia to bring the 2.0 turbo 220hp with AWD with dsg 6 speed wet clutch.

And please keep on improving the after sales service.

• went to OU to see the car just now. This tiguan is seriously a well built car, it resembles audi Q5, with all new dimensions..wider & lowered, but at a fraction of price & smaller engine. 1.4 tsi wet-clutch..they even mention in the pamphlet its a wet-clutch haha, reliability? well only time will tell but seriously at rm150k, value for money for a well built german suv. i must admit the built quality & interior design are more upscale than Japs suv… really love the steering wheel, feels premium. i just hope the wet-clutch won’t cause any trouble, might consider this as my next suv. 5 years warranty…it wud be great if they give 5 years free service as well..hmm, i just bought X-trail though

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 05, 2017 at 6:38 pm

I tried to configure the Tiguan in Germany according to the Malaysian Highline specs (at least what PT published, there may be smaller options not mentioned), and got to 43135 Euro. That is RM 204k. Including 19% sales tax, but Malaysia actually has higher taxes.

Now, that is list price, if you talk to your dealer he will give you a better price. But still, the price in Malaysia is pretty low.

Also, the leather seats cost 2500 Euro. Instead they could have picked the driver assistance package, which includes:
    Blind spot monitoring (in the mirror, it will tell you when there is a car next to you or going to be there soon)
    Adaptive cruise control (keeps a distance to the car in front, brakes and accelerates automatically, and in emergency situations tries to stop the car before impact or at least lessen the impact)
    Heads up display
    Lane Assist (keeps the car in the lane by turning the steering wheel itself, above speeds of 60 km/h)
    Traffic jam assist (keeps the car in the lane, starts and stops the car automatically. Basically you don’t have to do a thing in a traffic jam)
    LED headlights with adaptive light assist (the lights turn into corners, automatically change between different light patterns depending on where you drive and can be on high beam all the time. When the car sees other cars (red or white lights) it will block the light in those areas, so everything else is still fully illuminated).
    Price: 1500 Euro.

Another 400 Euro would have gotten a birds eye view 360° camera, while something like 1000 Euro would have gotten the panoramic sun roof.

All features I’d rather have than those hot leather seats that will burn your bum.

• Vincent on Mar 06, 2017 at 2:05 pm

THese two items is useful:

Blind spot monitoring (in the mirror, it will tell you when there is a car next to you or going to be there soon)
      Adaptive cruise control (keeps a distance to the car in front, brakes and accelerates automatically, and in emergency situations tries to stop the car before impact or at least lessen the impact)

But:These is meaningless on Malaysia:
      Traffic jam assist (keeps the car in the lane, starts and stops the car automatically. Basically you don’t have to do a thing in a traffic jam)

VW owners are advised to put N when car stop. This help to pro-long DGS life spend. With Traffic jam assist, it will kill the DGS!

• Sammy Loo on Mar 13, 2017 at 11:17 pm

by looking at your DGS already know that u know nothing about DSG

• Car MOT on Mar 06, 2017 at 10:38 pm

I have worked on a few 2016 Tiguan’s now and I must say I am very very impressed with the car. We never have a big issue with the cars that we work on and they are usually back on the road within a day or so. Great looking cars with performance to back up the looks!

• passion on Mar 07, 2017 at 9:32 am

paying so much but we don’t get what the Ioniq has. SAD!

• passion on Mar 07, 2017 at 9:55 am

there is a reason for the drab grey worn off looking interior. if dirty it will not show. which is a good thing in the long run. we can apply shine to them from time to time.

• Thomas Heng on Mar 07, 2017 at 11:01 am

Anyone placed your booking on Tiguan?

• Why Malaysia only getting the 1.4 version ? What about the 2.0 with all the latest functions/specs ? Why can’t we Malaysians have the full-spec as the rest of the world ? It has been always a trend where we only get stripped down version (not only in VW). If the people can afford to buy the full-spec, why they are not allowed to have such privilege ?

• Attractive pricing and offering. Specification should be aligned to standards. This will sell like hot cakes amongst the Japanese counterparts

• I have test drived Subaru XV and Foresta, Mazda CX3 and CX5, Renault Captur and Clio, Honda Civic and Finally VW Tiguan in just 2 days. I rate Tiguan the best, Foresta and XV as value for money followed by CX5. Hesitate to buy the new CX5 now because the all new CX5 will be in Msia next year with different interior and design

• I have a Audi A6 hybrid with a lot of problem, the car when sent in to workshop normally will take more than a month to rectify the problem, most sadly is when collect back the car but the problem still there, all the big screw underneath are missing. when complaint to Audi Malaysia but no feed back at all. the car was send to audi sg besi & gleanmerie.