Kia Grand Carnival to finally be launched in Q1 2017

It’s been nearly three months since full specifications and pricing for the Kia Grand Carnival have been released, and yet the big eight-seater MPV still hasn’t gone on sale. That’s set to change fairly soon as Naza Kia has confirmed that the car will finally be launched in the first quarter of this year – with that timeframe nearly coming to a close, the event will have to occur within the next month.

The company claims that the introduction of the Grand Carnival will spearhead its sales direction for this year, after a difficult 2016. “For 2017, we have forecasted our sales volume to increase by 25% and the all-new Grand Carnival will play a pivotal role in achieving this target,” said Naza automotive group chief operating officer Datuk Samson Anand George.

The local range will consist of two diesel-powered variants, with on-the-road (inclusive of insurance) pricing estimated to be RM153,888 for the base model and RM181,888 for the top spec, per the preliminary price list provided by a dealer. A five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty will be included, along with Naza Kia’s new Value 5 scheme that guarantees the car’s future value after five years.

Standard kit includes projector halogen headlights with LED daytime running lights, front and rear fog lights, LED tail lights and 18-inch alloy wheels. Inside, there are manual fabric seats with powered lumbar adjustment, manual sliding doors, a Supervision instrument cluster with a 3.5-inch monochrome OLED multi-info display, a 4.3-inch touchscreen infotainment system, a reverse camera and six speakers.

Punting for the GS model nets you gloss black and chrome front grille inserts, keyless entry, push-button start, power-sliding doors, leather upholstery, triple-zone automatic climate control and a powered tailgate.

Safety-wise, both models come standard with six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill-start assist, front and rear parking sensors and ISOFIX child seat anchors on the second and third row. Our cars will have three-point seat belts for all passengers, rather than the lap belts for the centre seats as shown in these pictures.

Power comes from a 2.2 litre CRDi four-cylinder turbodiesel, pushing out 193 PS at 3,800 rpm and 440 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 2,750 rpm. All that is sent to the front wheels via a six-speed automatic transmission.

GALLERY: Kia Grand Carnival low spec (pre-production)

GALLERY: Kia Grand Carnival high spec (pre-production)

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Sick&Tired on Mar 16, 2017 at 12:45 pm

I just saw one on the road. Looks really good. The only issue is naza!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Albert on Mar 16, 2017 at 1:40 pm

U r right.
      In USA,Kia is a respectable brand.
      Like UMW,Naza is the hopeless distributor.
      The COO is definitely not presenting facts.
      How can a rm150-180,000 mpv overturn declining sales at Naza? Where r your volume sellers? Cerato,optima,…and other cheaper models aren’t moving at all.
      This COO definitely needs KIa Korea to remove him.He is playing too much politics.
      The dead tycoon must be very angry…looking at his pet auto empire crumble.
      Honda….needs the BRV,HRV,City,Jazz as volume sellers to chalk up most of the sales.They cant depend on CRV or Accord to move sales,can they?
      Naza,your COO, needs a competent replacement,together with the entire board.
      The problem here is the distributor….not Kia Korea.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
      • Jayanti on Mar 16, 2017 at 4:49 pm

Maner bling bling Diamond grille?

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 16, 2017 at 5:21 pm

Prices are still expensive. I hope we get our 30% price reduction promise. Rm160k less 30% is about RM45k less.

This would help Malaysians a lot in settling their loans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
        • Lucy Tan on Mar 16, 2017 at 6:21 pm

why dont give it to you for free? Work hard and dont be jeoulous on others success

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
          • kambing on Mar 17, 2017 at 1:33 am

he mention about the government promise.

• alldisc on Mar 17, 2017 at 8:52 am

Naza Kia grew to its success in the early millenium with the Kia Spectra selling at 84K, Naza Citra from 74-85K and Naza Ria at 103K.

yes, they totally forgotten about it. i think Naza is now ready to hand over the Kia franchisee to someone else. maybe KMC would like to step in and buy a majority 51% share.

• iamlogan on Mar 16, 2017 at 2:16 pm

Glad not Naza Ria..

• Arvind on Mar 16, 2017 at 4:57 pm

T Innova > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
      • Elchino on Mar 16, 2017 at 10:03 pm

After all the horror stories you hear about the old Naza Ria, I am worried about buying this new replacement. Hope this new replacement would have resolved all the defects found in the old model!

• GeneralHoho on Mar 17, 2017 at 9:42 am

We have a search tool called “GOOGLE”. Why not use it?

• Lucy Tan on Mar 16, 2017 at 3:06 pm

Too big for a lady driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Bash Basher on Mar 16, 2017 at 4:51 pm

Then explain how ladies drive Alphard and Vellfire?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • Sephia on Mar 16, 2017 at 4:56 pm

Once You Go Black, You Never Go Back

• Mikey on Mar 16, 2017 at 5:05 pm

This is 4 Mak Datin 2 go shopping with the driver backing up as bodyguard 2 make sure she get home unscratched after shopping.

The best part is this Grand Carnival is Grand enuff to be parked at the front hotel while waiting for your guest to be chauffeured to your next destination with comfort.

• Ahock on Mar 16, 2017 at 4:57 pm

I still won’t buy from AP King.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Mar 16, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Hello Proton, Q1 2017 is almost over. Any news on your potential partner(s)? Or all lari already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • Ollie on Mar 16, 2017 at 2:06 pm

The only upgrade i need from my current sedan is powered seat adjustment. The only thing this car needs is that to make it a much better bet than Al-Pat/WellPire.

On a related note, can we ban Alpats? Everytime I park next to one its an accident waiting to happen as you park next to what is pretty much a giant block of white with ZERO visibility.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Latif on Mar 16, 2017 at 5:14 pm

KIA NIRO. Nuff said

• Sammy Loo on Mar 16, 2017 at 9:38 pm

this is why you need the Toyota Camry Hybrid with reverse camera and rear cross traffic alert

• Actually alpat/vellfire got 360 camera as part of their driver assist tools. Well you know what happent. Alpat/vellfire seems like a kosong mpv for that price.

• it will really turn them around
    upside down
    180k for top spec
    water fish will buy them

• passion on Mar 16, 2017 at 2:27 pm

yup thats the worry!!!

• Compared to the Sorento high-spec model, the Carnival is poorly specced.
    A 4.3″ display unit? Hello, it’s understandable for a lower specced unit but not on the top end model. Even a RM 56k Proton Iriz fares better with a 6″ display.
    No power seats? The Sorento high spec model comes with powered memory seats, if I remember correctly.

I understand the Ringgit has depreciated our purchasing power. But still, this is a RM181k mpv. Sad as I was really looking foward to the new Carnival after raving global reviews. I guess the look goes on….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • SEDONAmaterialgirl on Mar 16, 2017 at 3:08 pm

Went to see this car. Not as spacious as the outside dimensions led to believe. Sitting position more like in a pickup. The floor is raised unlike smaller MPVs like Exora, 5008 or C4. This is because underfloor space taken up by fuel tank and spare wheel.

• If you want lower floor or lower ground clearance better go for exora or older odyssey

• Julep on Mar 17, 2017 at 10:22 am

This new Carnival ground clearance like Exora but floor is higher so your correlation theory not valid.

• Hahaha on Mar 16, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Carens bila weiiiiiii. Small mpv market dont want to tap. Ini niche punya market pun lambat act Aiyooooo

• Kia Fan on Mar 16, 2017 at 4:15 pm

Not as expected. Compare to US market specs, this spec look outdated. Waste of money buying this mpv

• Sammy Loo on Mar 16, 2017 at 9:40 pm

that is right, the Toyota Innova 8 seater is having more airbags with a trusted and reliable engine to serve as workhorse can be yours for way lesser price

• Looking at the excellent progress made so far by Kia, I feel like this so-called new Grand Carnival is from their early era’s stock. It’s like why not we change a few bits here and there and dump it in the Malaysian market, after all they are always looking for cheap vehicles.

• Nurman on Mar 16, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Kia Grand Carnival is huge…longer than Alphard..will be quite difficult to get it parked properly due to the size
    I might go for Sorento diesel LS (lowest spec)

• In my opinion, at least they brought in the correct engine for our market use. This turbo diesel mill definitely has enough grunt to move this heavy mpv.

• Other country already got a facelift. U just wanted to enter this design? Over ordered parts? Where is kia current’s family grill design? The brown same like apek alphard. 2017 vellfire alphard odysey all black leather interior big touch screen.

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 16, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Why buy Kia? No real good reason. Resale value very bad. Their sorento gearbox slips gear while driving. My friend had one and he eventually sold it off.

• My kelisa slips gear too, so don’t buy any Perodua? Of course not, because Kelisa is already old, and i believe your friend’s Sorento is older version too.

• Ben yap on Mar 17, 2017 at 12:45 am

At that price, it should be power sliding doors. Not the ancient manual ones.

• thepolygonal on Mar 17, 2017 at 8:56 am

Kudos… now at least those travel agencies ada option baru!