Ford Focus 1.5L EcoBoost Red & Black Edition – based on Trend variant, limited to 20 units, RM121k

Sime Darby AutoConnexion has introduced a new limited edition run of the Ford Focus 1.5L EcoBoost called the Red & Black Edition. It’s based on the Trend hatchback variant of the facelifted third-gen C346, which was launched in Malaysia last March.

A number of items have been added on to the standard count for the special run, which will consist of only 20 examples, all in Candy Red. Though the colour – as well as Panther Black – was listed for the Trend at point of launch, we’re told by SDAC folk that the baseline variant has only been available in Frozen White up to now.

Black has been added to the exterior in a big way to provide contrast (and give the edition its name) – the car gets its grille surround, front and rear skirt lips and side mirror covers finished in gloss black, and the shade also adorns the 17-inch multi-spoke alloys. A black roof completes the dress-up job.

Inside, the Trend’s standard black fabric seats have been replaced by leather upholstery, and extra kit finds its way on, in this case an auto-dimming rear-view mirror with a rear-view camera and driving video recorder. Standard equipment for the Trend includes SYNC Gen1 and a 3.5-inch dot matrix monochrome central display, six-speaker audio system, manual air-conditioning, a keyed ignition and two airbags.

No mechanical changes, and so the 1.5 litre EcoBoost GTDI engine continues with 180 PS at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm at 1,600 to 5,000 rpm in terms of output. The mill is paired with a SelectShift 6F35 six-speed torque converter automatic transmission. The Focus 1.5L EcoBoost Red & Black is priced at RM120,888 on-the-road without insurance, a RM2k premium over the standard Trend.

GALLERY: C346 Ford Focus Mk3 facelift, 1.5L EcoBoost Trend hatchback

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Passion on Mar 17, 2017 at 8:42 pm

Discount

• Albert on Mar 17, 2017 at 9:09 pm

RM 121000…….is a lot of money.
    For such a small car,ugly looking….it is insanity ,unless u have tons of cash like some people who have 150 designer handbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • maXref (Member) on Mar 17, 2017 at 9:20 pm

RM120,888 and you give 2 airbags?? Lol, who inspired your business model? Toyota and Perodua? Doomed to fail la this model

• Johnson Amigo on Mar 17, 2017 at 9:54 pm

C-segment worst interior design…skip!

• Nobody is here on Mar 17, 2017 at 10:04 pm

Instead of launching the Focus RS here, they launched these riced standard ones.

• Kopio on Mar 17, 2017 at 10:11 pm

anybody would seriously pay this price for an unreliable Ford vs …say… flavour of the year Civic?

• ivan Chong on Mar 17, 2017 at 10:37 pm

Did you try to open the trunk from the inside of the car?

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 17, 2017 at 11:46 pm

Funny that u just offer one color for your lower spec car and decided to add another color by introducing an ‘edition’ model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 19, 2017 at 10:30 am

Can buy under market value or not..this one for his only son..now still in school

• Heng Lee on Mar 19, 2017 at 8:50 pm

The Ford Focus 1.5 Ecoboost is £21,885 in the UK, that’s RM120412.50

So what exactly is your problem?

• cendol (Member) on Mar 20, 2017 at 9:52 am

In UK, their worker earns Pound 2000 per month,

Can pay cash for the car after saving 2 years.

In Malaysia, How many earns RM12000 per month??

• Power of Dreams on Mar 20, 2017 at 11:46 am

Some random unker declared Malaysia marching towards achieving high-income nation with world class high speed train transportation. so no problem

• Heng Lee on Mar 20, 2017 at 1:24 pm

Kunta Kinte said, that “in Malaysia. 99% of the sales are from Ranger.”

The Ford Ranger is RM91588 in Malaysia.

So according to you and Kunta RM91588 is no problem for the average Malaysian?

• In UK, income tax is base 20% (no rebate), and VAT is 20%.
          And their NHS is shietier than even 1M klinik.
          Still not cukurrr??

• Are you sure the Malaysian average individual income same as Britain?

Average Annual Income RM40k~50k compared to GBP24k?? Are you joking?

So what exactly is your problem? +1

• Kunta Katakman on Mar 19, 2017 at 9:12 pm

This is really a good car indeed. It can definitely beat all Japanese cars out there, the only serious contenders are German VW, Audi, BMW and Mercedes.

• It’s like jepunis sells turbo car, but no power

• Same L0rr on Mar 20, 2017 at 7:38 am

DSG ok bro?

• Kelab talkok kunta on Mar 18, 2017 at 11:23 am

It is a good car indeed. But after sales is so so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Elchino on Mar 18, 2017 at 1:21 pm

Better to get a 1.5 HONDA Civic which is cheaper, better specs & more power!

• Ootai on Mar 18, 2017 at 9:22 pm

The prospect will go for civic 1.5 turbo.

• BbalingBiru on Mar 18, 2017 at 9:36 pm

Hmmm, maybe Ford is trying to readress the market that thier 1.5l turbo unit is superior than the newer Honda unit.

• Andrekua on Mar 18, 2017 at 10:57 pm

Seem cheap if you compared it to Fiesta 1.0 Ecoboost.

• Farhan on Mar 19, 2017 at 2:12 pm

Lol 2 airbags.

• JB_KIA on Mar 19, 2017 at 9:51 pm

wrong price wrong spec – pls go find out why 1.5T from another make is selling like hot cake!

• “SYNC Gen1 and a 3.5-inch dot matrix monochrome”…eww that is disgusting

wa they just use same original rims and colour it black?
    was this stock manufactured in 2016/stock? don’t tell me is 2017?

• passion on Mar 20, 2017 at 9:12 am

ford has lost it in Malaysia. time to move on.

• Club cakap perempuan kunta on Mar 20, 2017 at 9:54 am

Tried my neighbor focus, much more fun than civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • tokmoh. on Mar 20, 2017 at 10:47 am

This facelift change to torque converter edi.

Don’t worry, just wait a bit. Later Ford lelong throw rm12k discount. This is what happens when cronies do business, syok sendiri put overpriced price tag, then when cannot sell, throw big discounts.

If the distributor is smart and competent, they’d price it better in the first place.

• Martini on Mar 20, 2017 at 10:49 am

The Focus is really up there. WRC winning pedigree & drive like Colin McRae, Superior than Jap & Germ rivals

• ben yap on Mar 20, 2017 at 11:09 am

this car faster than civic meh?

• lao yee on Mar 20, 2017 at 11:16 am

What is “MK” stands for? I thought it was only referring to the Golf.

• Heng Lee on Mar 20, 2017 at 1:33 pm

The word mark, followed by number, is a method of designating a version of a product:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_(designation)

• Zoom Zoom on Mar 20, 2017 at 1:06 pm

Joke of the day! RM 121k with 2 airbags, 3.5-inch dot matrix monochrome central display, manual air-conditioning, a keyed ignition??? hahahaha

• First of all.. do you ever own Ford car?
    I know some case may take longer time for parts.. but in my Kuga case.. accident repair (major front and back) took about 1 month at Ford Jln Ipoh.
    1 week ago.. my ABS sensor only took 5 days to be replaced by dealer at Batu Pahat.

So.. by Ford standard.. I am happy and have no issue.. so far 3 years of using my Ford car.. I’m happy with the professional service.. except 1 situation where my mileage exceed 1,000km more than the scheduled maintenance.. which they refused me for free service.. reason being Ford Int’l policy.
    So if u use ford.. or plan to use for.. find a good place to send your car.. and pplan ahead for your service..

• yea ford is good enough , eventho ill save some for the new peugeot 308 .. you want honda . be like the rest of malaysian . want japanese . i prefer toyota .