Bangkok 2017: Honda CR-V – Thai 7-seater live gallery

Sawasdee-kap. We’re reporting live from the 2017 Bangkok International Motor Show (BIMS), and kicking things off is the all-new 2017 Honda CR-V, which is making its public debut here at Impact Muang Thong Thani after its official Thai launch last week. The latest iteration of Honda’s popular midsize SUV will be coming to Malaysia soon, and this serves as a preview of what’s to come.

It’s not just the old CR-V template wearing new clothes – this fifth-generation model has a third row of seats, making it seven in total. This is the first time that a CR-V has more than five seats, and it joins the T32 Nissan X-Trail in playing the 2-3-2 formation.

Both the second- and third-row seats are reclinable, with the former also being able to slide fore/aft. The second row also tumble folds out of the way to provide access to the third row, although it’s not one motion. As on US models (Thailand is the third country in the world to launch the CR-V after the US and Canada), there are air vents for the second row, but the third row gets unique vents on the roof, tour bus style.

The third row split folds 50:50, and the boot floor can be set in two positions – the higher position is to ensure a flat load area with the third row folded. The full size spare tyre is located inside the car, under the third row.

Up front, while the basic interior architecture of the Thai CR-V is similar to the US-market car – a “floating” centre stack, TFT LCD virtual instrument display and Civic-style three-spoke steering wheel are highlights – the regular automatic gearlever has been replaced by an NSX-style button selector, with the reverse button deeply recessed to prevent accidental operation. The ‘electronic gear selector’ is only for the diesel engine; the petrol version gets a normal gear lever (more on engines later).

The exterior design is also significantly more modern. Like the US car, the Thai-spec CR-V comes with optional LED headlights (nicely integrated into Honda’s Solid Wing Face corporate look), chunky wheel arches, an upswept D-pillar kink and L-shaped LED tail lights. Top-spec cars get turbine-style 18-inch six-spoke alloys (235/60 tyres); base variants get 17-inch items (235/65 tyres).

Also new for the CR-V in Thailand is a diesel engine option. The 1.6 litre N16 DOHC i-DTEC turbodiesel from the outgoing European-market model makes 160 hp at 4,000 rpm and 350 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. The oil burner is paired to a ZF nine-speed conventional automatic gearbox with paddle shifters, and comes with idle stop.

The i-DTEC should give the CR-V ample pulling power, but not everyone is comfortable with diesel. The starter petrol option is the carryover 2.4 litre K24 naturally-aspirated DOHC i-VTEC engine with 175 hp at 6,200 rpm and 225 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The Earth Dreams CVT gearbox has been carried over for the Thai-market previous-gen facelift (Malaysian cars are using a five-speed automatic).

Both engine options can be had with AWD, and there are two trim levels for each, making it four variants in total – 2.4 E 2WD, 1.6 Turbo E 2WD, 2.4 EL 4WD and 1.6 Turbo EL 4WD. Prices range from 1.399 million baht (RM179,511) to 1.699 million baht (RM217,974).

Standard kit on Thai CR-Vs include LED headlamps and daytime running lights, a powered tailgate, leather seats, digital meter with MID, smart key and push start, walk away auto lock, cruise control, eight-way powered driver’s seat with lumbar, Bluetooth, electronic parking brake, auto brake hold and six airbags.

Thais who move up to the EL trim level gain goodies such as auto headlamps and wipers, kick-operated handsfree access tailgate, 18-inch rims (up from 17-inch), wood trim (matte finish, smooth satin feel to it), dual-zone air con, four-way powered front passenger seat, seven-inch touchscreen head unit with navigation and Apple CarPlay, HDMI connector, LaneWatch and Driver Attention Monitor. Of course, there’s a full set of Modulo add-ons, which we will show you in a separate gallery later.

Honda Thailand expects 40% of CR-V buyers to opt for the costlier diesel engine – are Malaysians open-minded enough to accept the i-DTEC in significant numbers? We’re guessing no, so expect the 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo petrol engine from the Civic to be our Melaka-assembled range topper. Like what you see?

GALLERY: Honda CR-V 1.6L i-DTEC EL 4WD

GALLERY: Honda CR-V 2.4L i-VTEC E 2WD

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bryan on Mar 28, 2017 at 1:09 pm

trendier to have more seats every day. airlines also squeezing more seats lol.

• Yeast Lump on Mar 28, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Honda, please make sure all your CRV/HRV front head lamps low beam lights cut-off does not glare incoming traffic. Also make sure there’s auto levelling system is calibrated.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
  • Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 1:37 pm

See, all important cars are now launched in Thailand. Our KLIMS? Konon name is International but nobody launches cars there. Only sell lubricant oil, and banks stand there and try to sign you up for their credit cards

Really malu. It is time that KLIMS be abolished. I am shocked that now, every car is launched in Thailand. Surprisingly, in the 90s, Malaysia was the Detroit of Asia.

But because of bodohism, all car companies diverted their Billions to Thailand instead of Malaysia. We lost about close to 1 Trillion Ringgit in investments as well as few hundred thousand jobs. All now in Thailand.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 30
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:05 pm

Bolehland never was Detroit of Asia.. have proof? Don’t include car produce by p1/p2. Then compare with car production in Thai n Indo in the same period. See if indeed Bolehland was Detroit of Asia that time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • As some says, better dun build here cuz they say will no quality one. Better build in tomyam, cuz we all want impoted not CKD or Made in MY.

• Albert on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:09 pm

Kunta, got jobs created by Protong.But at rm15 Billion of taxdollars….and now more to keep P1 afloat since the white knight wants a massive dowry before marrying Protong.

• Mikey on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:10 pm

Yes, agree with U we were once the Detroit of Asia. We were once the Tiger of Asia too in terms of economic power. Sad to say, we lost out to Thailand as the Motor Hub of Asia.

To add insult to injury, we also lost our economic prowess to our neighbors in SEA. Fortunately, we still have our EGO intact albeit slightly Dented.

Back to the 7-seater CRV. When is Honda M’sia bringing it here ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Monkey Face on Mar 28, 2017 at 7:55 pm

Loosing to Thai & Indo ain’t humiliating but, Vietnam . Their Liberalised, modern era government just set their development plan back in 1986, in which not long Potong kaki was setup. But now, Vietnam already surpass us by miles, even they wanted to be next Asia superpower with the ability to challenge the BIG guns like of China & Japan.
      Soon Bolehland will loose to Cambodia and even Laos… We are seriously moving backwards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • But the irony is, Indo Vietnams Combodia Laos are coming here to seek for jobs. Pity My pipu. Hidup susah merempat.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:08 pm

Thats why u should migrate to thailand…berambus la cepat so that we have less annoying people like you…and the rest can berambus to singapore bcoz over there cars are so cheap and properties are even cheaper than here…so what are you waiting for..just get lost lor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
      • China is coming!!! Hohoho

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:26 am

i have to stay here bro. Otherwise, who else going to work hard?

• Org Tak nak maju on Mar 29, 2017 at 3:14 pm

There are just too many poor Malaysian like you, who still failed to understand why paying so much for merely making a living. But, only jealous of other cause you are not capable. Good luck poor creature.

• azhar on Mar 28, 2017 at 1:39 pm

impressed with the boot space when all seats are up..about 300 liters of space maybe?

• Johari on Mar 28, 2017 at 1:51 pm

volvo XC90 @ 1/3 price

• Hard and Penetrate Him on Mar 28, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Would be the best seller in the same category even the design not as remarkable as expected.I’ll get this in 6 months time.Any Honda SA here?

• Proud CRV G3 Owner on Mar 28, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Come on HM, bring the turbodiesel model here…..berani laa skit….

• petrolhead on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:33 pm

Siapa nak beli?

• Elchino on Mar 28, 2017 at 7:10 pm

I have been looking forward to buying the diesel model, so please bring it to Malaysia.

• lao yee on Mar 29, 2017 at 10:36 am

Design like this consider berani. It’s either to be success due to majority bad taster in the market or it’s failure due to its ugliness.

• Volvo SUV rear looks better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • XC90 at half of XC90 price! Honda FTW!

Honda > Volvo China
    Honda > all

• Pls bring the 5 seater rather than 7 seater because…
    1) 3rd row is so small for adult
    2) 3rd row safety is questionable..this is where your child will seat. There are no crumple zone.
    3) It is add up unnecessary weight
    4) It eat-up storage… where majority buy CRV due to storage.
    5) No storage cover… wow your valuable is expose !!
    6) CRV is designed in USA with 5 seater. 7seater is just patch-up…

People want 7 seater.. buy MPV. It is design for people mover with proper safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 47
  • Same L0rr on Mar 28, 2017 at 2:49 pm

I sure this model can sale well. Easily can kill Proton Exora in term of number of sale!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Pipu on the last row get barbecued, so hot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • koochai on Mar 28, 2017 at 11:05 pm

the article says
        “… but the third row gets unique vents on the roof, tour bus style.”
        #facepalm

• Same L0rr on Mar 29, 2017 at 8:52 am

Hot or not, we must accept Proton Exora is outdated. Buy Honda CRV better!

• hondaman on Mar 28, 2017 at 3:35 pm

as one of the 1st batch owner of G4 CRV , i will wait for facelift in 3 years time before changing because honda malaysia is well known to shortchanged their most loyal customers. Bought mine & need to pay extra for reverse sensor and other standard accessories.

• it is called marketing strategy bro..

• mackl on Mar 28, 2017 at 7:58 pm

Well… This new Honda CRV is a totally new design whereas the design for current & previous Honda CRV are almost the same. Thus, it is irresistible not to get this new one ….

• Like the new Honda’s aggressive design concept. This new design concept has change the old simple CR-V design with the new LED lamps especially at the front. The interior is also marvelous which i like the gear knob that is placed at the centre dashboard that follow the 2 previous old CR-V design cue

• where are the parking sensors?

• sabahan on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:08 pm

yer…. why the tail light like that?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:09 pm

Taillights so ugly..volvo tk jadi…haiyaaaa

• jhleo1 on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:42 pm

No worry…Honda Malaysia won’t sell 7 seater as confirmed by HM Sale Person in Melaka Training now. Also lots of spec will cut down for sure….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • jhleo1 on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:44 pm

No worry… Honda Malaysia only sell 5 seater. It is confirmed by HM sale person who currently having training in Melaka. Lots of spec cut out to lower the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Albert on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:06 pm

The gear lever is absent,replaced by recessed button.
    What if the driver apply extra pressure accidentally on the reverse gear button?….Honda Malaysia…can any expert answer this?

• Francis on Apr 17, 2017 at 2:28 am

What happens if the driver apply pressure accidentally push the gear lever to Reverse gear?

• mackl on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:38 pm

Please include Honda sensing which is an important safety feature available in USA. As Indonesia will launch its new Honda CRV with Honda Sensing, I cant see why Malaysia cant come with it.

• mackl on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:45 pm

New Honda CRV has scored well with Top Safety Pick + in IIHS crash test in USA recently….

http://www.iihs.org/iihs/ratings/vehicle/v/honda/cr-v-4-door-suv/2017

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fv6Qr6nYykA

• Deswai i says CRV is same-same with XC90 but half price. Somemore is jepunis mari, not China mari

• Living Your Dream on Mar 28, 2017 at 6:25 pm

Both engine options can be had with AWD, and there are two trim levels for each, making it four variants in total – 2.4 E 2WD, 1.6 Turbo E 2WD, 2.4 EL 4WD and 1.6 Turbo EL 4WD. Prices range from 1.399 million baht (RM179,511) to 1.699 million baht (RM217,974)

Wonder what would be the price here….

• I tot tomyam car price is cheap? Maybe they have Trotong & Terotdua, their national car there.

• Ali Karim on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Disappointing. Putting the money back into account.

• Tree Hugger on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:35 pm

Danny,

“Both the second- and third-row seats are reclinable, with the former also being able to slide fore/aft as before.” — Are you sure the second row slides fore/aft (as before)? Our current gen CRV second row seats don’t. They only tumble fold to create more boot space.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 28, 2017 at 11:48 pm

You’re right about that, corrected

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 09, 2017 at 7:17 pm

Dam, why can’t Honda Asia use the US Odyssey design whereby the middle row can slide sideways?

• Derick Phang on Mar 29, 2017 at 1:07 am

The 3rd row aircon is taking a lot of head space. Looks as if “the Hulk” sat on it and u have than big weird shape about your head. That’s the only thing I don’t like seeing protruding.

Wish it will be designed slimmer and not “I’m in your face” Air conditioning……. just looks weird.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 29, 2017 at 4:09 am

The third row looks uncomfortable. Enough space, but the seat is way too low to the ground. That means all the weight is on a small part of the passengers rear end, and the knees are way up in the air. Same issue with the old Touran. And it looks like you can’t even cross your legs, yoga style, in this car. Not enough space.

• No name on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:55 pm

Lol, look at that screen