Mercedes-Benz Malaysia puts up a video teaser – locally-assembled W213 E-Class to debut on April 20?

Emotional design meets high-tech. Are you ready for it? #staytuned #MyMasterpieceOfIntelligence #MercedesBenz

Posted by Mercedes-Benz Malaysia on 27hb Mac 2017

A new tristar arrival beckons. According to the teaser video from Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s Facebook page, something new is on the way and is set to make its local debut on April 20.

The headlamp design with Multibeam LEDs in the footage appears to be from the E-Class range, and with the C238 E-Class Coupe not due in Malaysia until the third quarter of this year, that brings us to the only possible candidate, the W213 E-Class sedan going the locally-assembled route.

Since its introduction in Malaysia last June, the E-Class has been available as a fully-imported model, the current range consisting of the E 200, E 250 and the E 300 AMG Line. No word yet on specifications, but looks like we’ll find out soon enough. The CKD E-Class will be built at the Mercedes-Benz assembly plant in Pekan, Pahang, where the W222 S400 Hybrid is also assembled.

Read our international drive as well as the local drive reports on the W213, and take a closer look at the local spec E-Class in our walk-around video of the car.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• sudonano on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:04 pm

When I drive a 5 series to golf club the indonesian girl caddie will call me ‘Bang’.
    When I drive E class, the girl caddie will call me ‘Pak’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
    • Golfer on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:13 pm

Yet u kenot afford both kakek

• Kelab Pembenci Kunta on Mar 29, 2017 at 7:05 am

Stupid people buy Mercedes. Better buy our Proton. It is better quality than Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Otman on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:19 pm

BMW is the favourite car of all the direct sales people, all the stock market sharks and all the MLM conmen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • So you are saying Dato Lee Chong Wei is a conmen? Please give people some respect before open your month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • hello on Mar 29, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Hate to break this to you, but…. He didn’t say exclusively for con men.

• Mikey on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:28 pm

What does the caddie call U when U drive an Audi ?? Is it Bro. He he he.

• The Real Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:08 pm

Better wait 1 year and buy 2nd hand. Mercedes E class first year alone lose about RM150k to RM180k
    Let the first buyer suffer with the high depreciation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:14 pm

MBM and BMW Malaysia need to reduce prices. The E300 in the US is only US$50k. Don’t calculate back to Ringgit. USD50k is the salary of a McDonald’s worker for half a year’s work.

But in Malaysia, at RM400k to RM500k, even a doctor or a lawyer finds it difficult to buy a BMW 530i or a E300.

It is high time for Gomen to keep to their promise to reduce car prices by 30%. Whether buying Merc or Axia, we Malaysians have suffered enough with high car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 22
    • iwanttoworkformcdonaldsUS on Mar 28, 2017 at 7:53 pm

US$50k is 6 months’ salary of McDonald’s worker in the US? So you’re saying they’re earning US$100k take home pay per year.

Goldman Sachs’ investment banking analyst base salary is only US$83.8k a year.

I suppose the McDonald’s worker you’re referring to is probably not the one that flips burgers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
      • Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:51 pm

of course lah executive level worker in McDonalds. Where got the one flipping burger can earn 100k?

• william on Mar 29, 2017 at 11:23 am

US$50k is 6 months, i sure the mcd guys works alot of OT.

Job Range
        Cashier $7.25 – $9.98
        Fast Food Worker $7.09 – $10.16
        Restaurant Manager $8.35 – $12.84
        Fast Food Manager $8.45 – $13.11

• azhar on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:16 pm

Promise to reduce car prices by 50% next PRU..lulzz

• Tax the rich so no poblem

• Kelab Pembenci Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:31 pm

Better get a Kuntamoto turbo car with 300bhp at your disposal.

• lets go MCD on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:21 am

I don’t think McD workers ,at least not those that work at the front line take home 6k to 7k USD a month though. I am pretty sure of that……..

• Mikey on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:30 pm

The W213 will outsell the G30 5-series simply bcos its better looking, better interior & better transmission. At the end of the year, MB will our sell BMW in the E & S class even when our Gov GLC uses/buy BMW to use as their CEO/MD/ED mode of transport.

• Latif on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:52 pm

At the end of the year, BMW will sell Pre-owned cars used previously at
      Golf open, Cycling tour, Asean meeting, kids Drawing contest, makcik Cooking challenge ….trying to outdo Proton

• MBM shudnt build here. Later MY pipu says no quality one. All work in MY no quality one, according to bashers.

• orang biasa on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:31 pm

hopefully quality tiptop as it is…

• Bimmer on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:35 pm

BMW 5Siri > all

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 28, 2017 at 6:39 pm

same company with no ethics that placed a big ad on top of a volvo showroom. sorry la volvo > mercedes

• 7yearsfd1 on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:18 am

So what the price range will be? No wonder the e200 got a cool 40k disco