G30 BMW 5 Series launched in Malaysia: 530i, RM399k

The all-new G30 BMW 5 Series is finally here – the seventh generation of Munich’s benchmark executive sedan has been launched today, and will be available in showrooms from this weekend.

Entering the market in fully-imported (CBU) form for now, the new 5 Series is available in just one variant – the 530i M Sport, priced at a very competitive RM398,800 on-the-road without insurance. Included is a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty, a five-year free service package and a two-year tyre warranty.

Power comes from a B48 2.0 litre turbo four-cylinder engine that produces 252 hp from 5,200 to 6,500 rpm and 350 Nm of torque between 1,450 and 4,800 rpm, sent to the rear wheels via an eight-speed Steptronic Sport automatic transmission. Key figures include a zero to 100 km/h sprint time of 6.2 seconds, fuel consumption of 5.5 litres per 100 km combined and carbon dioxide emissions of 126 grams per kilometre.

Measuring 4,936 mm long, 1,868 mm wide and 1,479 mm tall, the G30 is 37 mm longer, eight mm wider and 17 mm taller than the outgoing F10; its wheelbase is also seven mm longer at 2,975 mm. The aluminium, high-tensile steel and magnesium construction has shaved off as much as 100 kg from its predecessor, whilst also improving body strength and torsional rigidity.

The exterior design comes with the latest BMW cues, including headlights that flow into the double kidney grille as well as L-shaped LED tail lights. A second shoulder line, which flows into the C-pillar Hofmeister kink, provides a distinctive “twisting” effect to the bodyside surfacing. Meanwhile, the Air Curtain intakes and Air Breather vents around the front wheels contribute to a class-leading drag coefficient of as low as 0.22 Cd.

As the variant name suggests, the 530i comes with the M Sport package, including a more aggressive front apron, deeper side skirts and a diffuser-like rear valence design with twin trapezoidal exhaust exits. Also equipped are 19-inch double-spoke style 664 M alloy wheels, along with M Sport brakes with blue callipers and BMW Individual satin aluminium exterior trim.

Inside, the larger dimensions provide increased interior space, particularly at the rear; boot space has also increased by 10 litres to 530 litres. At the front, the Professional navigation system now gets a 10.25-inch touchscreen, and features a new smartphone-style six-tile interface with live information. The Gesture Control function, which debuted on the G12 7 Series, can also be found here.

Standard kit includes adaptive LED headlights with automatic high beam, LED fog lights, Comfort Access keyless entry, power-adjustable front sports seats with driver’s side memory, four-zone automatic climate control, a glass sunroof, sunblinds for the rear side windows (manual) and rear windscreen (electric) and a powered tailgate with kick-activated hands-free operation.

Other features include 11-colour ambient lighting, a full 12.3-inch multifunction instrument display with Black Panel technology, a reverse camera, Park Assistant for automated parallel and perpendicular parking manoeuvres and a 16-speaker, 600 watt Harman Kardon surround sound system. A touchscreen-equipped Display Key, which shows key vehicle information, is also thrown in.

Buyers can choose between Black Sapphire, Sophisto Grey Brilliant Effect, Alpine White and Mediterranean Blue exterior colours, as well as black (with contrasting blue stitching) or Cognac Dakota leather upholstery. The latter is not available with Mediterranean Blue.

Safety-wise, the 530i is equipped with the Driving Assistant package, which includes Approach Control Warning and Person Warning with City Brake function, operating at speeds between 10 km/h and 60 km/h for pedestrians and 80 km/h for vehicles. Other features included in the pack include Lane Departure Warning, Lane Change Warning, rear collision prevention and rear crossing traffic warning.

Also featured is the active cruise control system with stop and go, which can be activated from standstill to speeds of up to 210 km/h – the system can now sense up to two cars in front to make for smoother driving, and takes into account highway exits and roundabouts using information from the navigation system.

As before, there’s Dynamic Damper Control, while the Driving Experience Control, which adapts the engine, drivetrain and chassis settings, now gains an Adaptive mode to complement the existing Eco Pro, Comfort and Sport settings. In this mode, everything is adjusted automatically depending on the driving style and also the route ahead, using accelerator and steering inputs, gear selector position and navigation data.

The automatic engine start/stop system has also been made smarter, using the navigation system, stereo camera and radar sensor to detect if the car is approaching a roundabout or a junction, and disabling itself in these situations to make it easier and safer to merge into traffic.

Want to know how the new G30 BMW 5 Series drives? Read our in-depth review here. You can also browse full specifications and equipment, and get the best deals on a new car, on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• THE BENCHMARK HAS ARRIVE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 52
  • The Saint on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:00 pm

Being a CBU, the price is very reasonable vis-a-vis the W213. What more with the 5 year free service package.

Well done BMW!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 3
  • THE BEMCHMARK HAS ARRIVE! Be afraid, be very afraid!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 41
  • John Doe on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:02 pm

I say this is very good pricing and very happy that this is for the 530i. The specs are revolutionary for the pricing moreover getting the driver assistant packages really beats the E class. Now the E-class is quite underequipped

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 6
  • THE BENCHMARK HAS ARRIVE! Be afraid, be very afraid!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 43
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:06 pm

considering volvo and mercedes wants 460k for their s90 t6 and merc e300 , all i can say is beribu ribu tahniah thats a good price

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
    • Honda City is only less than 1/3 of the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • I love Volvo now on Mar 29, 2017 at 5:10 pm

Output wise S90 T6 should be compared the 540i and E400. 530i and E300 are in the same range as S90 T5 lah. So the Volvos are still cheaper.
      But this 530i at 400k really is priced really really well lah lol

• Plus 5 years warranty and free service! Wow

• klguy on Mar 29, 2017 at 6:27 pm

this one shud compare with s90 T5 not T6…..

• The only Changes are the steering wheel and the touch screen ma!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
  • seancorr (Member) on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:21 pm

Wow finally BMW introduces the Driver Asssit pack which brings it on par with Europe and the rest of the world and it’s at a good price too. That would mean the 530i will undercut the E300 by quite a margin when CKD kicks in both both models unless Mercedes takes a big paycut n price the E300 closer to the 530i. If there’s one thing missing in the 530i it would be the surround camera view. Include that in and the 530i is a full spec model comparable to the the States and UK.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:31 pm

Oh wait there’s no HUD. They better include that into the CKD model since the F30 330i smaller sibling has that as standard kit! Am not to worried about the missing 3D remote view which isn’t necessary unless u wanna look at who parked next to u haha.

• Mikey on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:39 pm

U are right on the dot. In M’sia, a Merc is always price higher compare to BMW. Don’t ask me why. I guess Merc perceived their products as slightly “Better” But not necessary true. Just a perception or maybe a deception. He he he. Chers …

• intermilan on Mar 29, 2017 at 2:20 pm

C-class & S-class cost much more & still outsold 3er & 7er.
      If U bitch abt cheaper pricing at premium segment.
      Simply means U are not there yet. Work harder dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Basheer on Mar 29, 2017 at 3:29 pm

This looks like an intro price by BMW to capture the market from those undecided between Merc and BMW. They’ll probably recover the profits by not reducing the future CKD price too much. The E300 CBU already commands a RM60k premium over the 530i but can’t see Merc lowering the price much more than that when CKD kicks in. So probably the CKD 530i will be just RM20-30k cheaper only but they’ll up the specs a bit, and E300 RM60-70k cheaper. In any case BMW seems to come out the winner in the eyes of potential buyers.

• Mercs futuristic dash wins hands down! This still looks like the 90s dash!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • KontiKinte on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:29 pm

This is really generous offer from yours truly hail hail the Germans King back for the throne
    Merc should take note this seriously

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:29 pm

Wow that’s quite a lot of kit for a CBU car that costs just around RM400k. Lexus Malaysia please take note of this. Very good work by BMW Malaysia to bring it in at such a competitive price. Syabas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
  • SpongeWai on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:37 pm

good pricing for BMW 5-ies G30 but do not forget there is another rival coming really soon for CKD next month and might be the price nicer than CBU price

• G30er on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Congratulations, Auto Bavaria and BMW for a well priced CBU.
    I do hope I can get to test drive this car soon, was told will be available for test drive 1st week of APR.

• HarmAn Kardon Not Harmon, please correct the typo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • C T Ho on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:52 pm

G30.Now is your time to take over the So Called W213 ,Who is the leader at this moment, Hope the CKD unit will coming out soon to beat the CKD W213 Became the No 1 hot Spot.

• Nikolai on Mar 29, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Finally, a German car with semi-autonomous driving aids at this price.

Considering that it’s CBU and is pretty well specced (aside from 360º camera and laser headlamps), it’s a steal.

Mercedes is going to have to throw in at least Driving Assistance Package Plus to make the E-class more desirable, but then, their customer base probably doesn’t care (or doesn’t even know that such aids exist).

• Mana Harga Turun? on Mar 29, 2017 at 1:24 pm

Boring design, interior never change at all, exterior even worse, like facelift only. Yet selling price is high,but u get oldish design and some new electronic refresh look only.Over priced car.

look for F10 to drop further and get it instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • Mana Harga Turun? on Mar 29, 2017 at 1:27 pm

Paul, minyak RON95 boleh pakai tak for 252bhp beast like this? Or V racing only? 5.5l/100km is measure using which grade of petrol?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 29, 2017 at 1:29 pm

why no carbon black though =(

• smith on Mar 29, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Carplay or Android Auto support?

• Najib2.B Razak on Mar 29, 2017 at 2:06 pm

The funny part is that Thomas from autogheful said the 5 series is behind the e class in terms of tech. but in the malaysian version the 5 has a lot of features than the E. this makes the e class price seems like a joke.

• I laugh those who live nearby my taman that just went on to buy the heavily discounted F10 528i.

• cendol (Member) on Mar 29, 2017 at 2:10 pm

wait a year and buy pre-reg 2017 car at great discount

• carlover on Mar 29, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Sorry, the interior look cheap and plasticky.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • applegreen on Mar 29, 2017 at 3:10 pm

Image ID – 636506 , why keyfob different not stylish like in the advertisement yesterday?

• Chong on Mar 29, 2017 at 3:25 pm

Huaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

• dpillai on Mar 29, 2017 at 3:52 pm

Kudos to BMW Msia. Pricing and Specs are spot on.

Will be proceeding with my order after test driving the car this weekend.

• thebargainhunter on Mar 29, 2017 at 5:15 pm

I will wait 3 years and buy for RM150k. still entitled for 2 yrs warranty.

• Faust on Mar 29, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Guys, need your thoughts and opinions here. Since G30 has been launched, I’ve been wondering is it okay to buy a second hand F10 now? ‘Okay’ in a sense of the reliability and problems I guess? I’ve read a lot of reviews on F10, but I’ll keep it to myself first. Anybody owns an F10 or has experience regarding an F10, do share your thoughts. I’m torn and in need of second opinion. Thanks.

• second hand F10 how much??

• Faust on Mar 30, 2017 at 10:04 pm

You can get it below 200k and below 150k depending on the year and specs.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 30, 2017 at 11:19 am

Why worry about reliability when there is 5 years warranty? But get 520i or 520d cos better value for money (specs almost same as 528i, just less power. Though it is still sufficient). Get on lease even better. When lease is over, can buy G30 next as it too will be replaced by a newer 5 Series then (so G30 will be cheaper then).

• Faust on Mar 30, 2017 at 10:05 pm

Does that 5 year apply to the second owner and to the F10 itself?

• BMWF10528iOwner on Apr 06, 2017 at 10:58 am

Best car in its segment. everything is perfect – in terms of size, space, looks, power, features, consumption and reliability. a happy owner for 4.5 years.

• PassBY on Mar 29, 2017 at 7:34 pm

Hi editor is there an option to get ceramic button & switch (glossy black gear stick and dial button) on this model?

refer this
    https://paultan.org/2017/03/27/driven-g30-bmw-5-series-raising-the-stakes-again/g30-bmw-5-series-59-3/

• Random reader on Mar 29, 2017 at 8:45 pm

Nice move BMW Malaysia ! With Volvo and BMW featuring driving assistant on S90/V90 T5 and 530i with a price tag less than RM 400k , E class is going to have a hard time

• mcMac on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:29 pm

the connecting headlights and grill design really weakens the front end… the 7 series headlights looks much better than the 5’s bland design…otherwise a great car inside out..plus they have improved vastly on the steering n handling..making it once again a class leader

• Bernard on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:41 pm

Great car! If only it was priced below 50k. Can I trade in my beautiful proton tiara for this? Pls advice. Tq:)

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 29, 2017 at 10:07 pm

was trying to nitpick on this car….one thing missing is the heads up display

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 30, 2017 at 9:51 am

Not sure if the Malaysian G30 comes with remote parking. But admittedly, it is a bit gimmicky.

• Megat Mohamad Irfan on Apr 04, 2017 at 8:56 pm

agreed i mean the previous CKD 528i M Sport has Head up display

• Roda Roda on Mar 29, 2017 at 11:14 pm

hmm…not even heads up display and air suspension!. this is so 2007.

• BMW exterior looks almost the same over the last 5 years. Nowadays, Merce looks are more sharp, that’s why the sale is increasing over the years and surpassing the competitors!

• Leafable on Mar 30, 2017 at 2:27 pm

Is this new or old? Can’t tell the different on the interior. Maybe it’s a BMW thing “old fashion”. Why can’t they use the I8 or the i3 as benchmark?

• Megat Mohamad Irfan on Apr 01, 2017 at 9:50 am

kinda weird that is doesnt hv head up display

• King Arab Camel on Apr 01, 2017 at 3:54 pm

Head up display now cheap ..download at google playstore..

• jaydengan on Apr 15, 2017 at 11:44 am

This is a beauty. Nicely priced. Merc and Lexus. Buck up on the pricing!

• I would say the head up display is a “lebih” feature. Maybe this is the reason why bmw take off this lebih fancy stuff to make it sport yet matures like a 5.