New Volkswagen Tiguan launched in Malaysia – 1.4 TSI Comfortline and Highline, CKD from RM148,990

We had our first official look at the new Volkswagen Tiguan last month, when it was previewed to the media. Now, the second-generation Tiguan has been officially launched by Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM), and you can check it out at Volkswagen showrooms nationwide.

Unveiled at the 2015 IAA in Frankfurt, the new Tiguan sits on the VW Group’s modular MQB platform, which also underpins the current Golf. Compared to the original Tiguan that surfaced ten years ago (over 2.8 million units sold), this sequel has a larger footprint – 60 mm longer and 30 mm wider, with a 77 mm longer wheelbase – but the size increase comes with no weight penalty, as the new SUV is over 50 kg lighter than before.

Boot volume is 615 litres, which can be expanded to 1,655 litres with the rear seats fully folded (one motion). The rear seats are split 40:20:40 and can slide fore and aft. Even the front passenger seat can fold flat forward for long cargo. Airplane style fold up trays with cupholders, mounted on the front seat backs, are available for the rear passengers.

The wider body, reduced overall height (it sits 33 mm lower than the Mk1), sharper lines and that new family face also seen on the handsome Passat B8 means the new Tiguan is – to our eyes – significantly better looking than before. By the way, VW recently rolled out a seven-seat Tiguan Allspace, but this is the standard five-seat version and VPCM has no plans to bring the LWB in.

The front-wheel drive Tiguan (4Motion not offered here) is powered by a 1.4 litre TSI engine with 150 PS and 250 Nm of torque available from 1,500 to 3,500 rpm. The single turbo engine is mated to a six-speed DSG dual-clutch automatic gearbox. The official claimed fuel consumption is 6.7 litres per 100 km (14.9 km/l) in the European cycle. 0-100 km/h in 8.9 seconds.

The DSG used here is of the wet-clutch variety, something VPCM is keen to highlight in marketing materials. This is probably because the reputation of the seven-speed dry-clutch unit isn’t the best and just mentioning “DSG” alone may put off some. Traditionally, the oil-bathed DSG6 has been used in higher-powered applications.

The locally-assembled Tiguan is available in two trim levels – Comfortline and Highline. Visually, it’s pretty easy to differentiate between the two. The entry level machine comes with halogen reflector headlamps and 17-inch “Montana” alloys (215/65 tyres), while the Highline sports LED headlamps and daytime running lamps, plus 18-inch “Kingston” rims (235/55 tyres). The slimmer LED eyes of the Highline plus extra lashes of chrome on the grille and light cluster really makes a difference.

The rear end is less differentiated, as LED tail lamps and twin exhaust pipes are standard. The roof rails of the Comfortline is in black, Highline in silver.

Standard on the Comfortline are thing such as Park Distance Control (PDC, front and rear), auto lights and wipers “Rhombus” fabric upholstery, Composition Media eight-inch touchscreen head unit (with Bluetooth, SD card, USB, AUX-in, eight speakers) and steering paddle shifters.

Besides the above-mentioned exterior differences, the Highline adds on Dynamic Cornering Assist bending lights, keyless entry and push start, an electric tailgate that opens with a press of the key fob, “Vienna” combination leather interior, “Dark Grid” trim on the dashboard and door cards (silver in Comfortline), 12.3-inch Active Info Display digital instrument panel and three-zone climate control (vents and controls for rear passengers).

Also exclusive to the top variant are Park Assist 3.0 (parallel and perpendicular auto parking), cruise control and a Discover Media eight-inch touchscreen system. The latter has all of the Composition system’s functions, plus navigation and reverse camera. Ambient lighting and a 12-way electric driver’s seat with memory, too.

App Connect is optional for the Highline. With Android Auto, Apple CarPlay and MirrorLink, the software allows for smartphone app connection to the car’s infotainment system, and is available at an introductory price of RM699 for a limited time (normal price RM1,099).

The Tiguan – named in Euro NCAP’s Best in Class Cars of 2016 list – comes with six airbags (front, front side and curtain), a Driver Alert System (rest assist), ESC, ABS with brake assist, multi-collision brakes and Isofix child seat mounts as standard.

The new Volkswagen Tiguan – which is locally assembled in Pekan (the first CKD VW SUV) and Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) certified – is competitively priced at RM148,990 for the Comfortline and RM168,990 for the Highline to battle the Japanese favourites (in case you needed reminding, this is a class featuring the Honda CR-V, Nissan X-Trail and Mazda CX-5). That’s on the road without insurance, before an early bird discount of RM7,000. Five colours are available – Pure White, Deep Black, Atlantic Blue, Tungsten Silver and Indium Grey.

VPCM’s package includes five years factory warranty (as opposed to the old 3+2 extended warranty programme) with five years of free roadside assistance. The service interval is 15,000 km, which means less visits to the dealership. For detailed specs and figures, visit the VW Tiguan page on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI Highline

GALLERY: Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI Comfortline

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• passion on Apr 05, 2017 at 10:34 am

nice car but the price? with the current reputation it should be lower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 32
    • malaysian on Apr 05, 2017 at 12:46 pm

do you know that the clutch is wet clutch, different from the previous disaster one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 26
      • Repoman on Apr 05, 2017 at 2:05 pm

passion bro, your BR-V definitely nicer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
      • Regardless of gearbox.. other components are questionable too.. I already have multiple speed sensor (abs, esp) failure.. go ask VW owners, they will tell you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Apr 05, 2017 at 10:37 am

Not bad.. but I prefer the symmetrical all wheel drive Forester for a better traction and that reliable boxer engine, can get for less than RM120k also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 7
    • Curi Curi Malaysia on Apr 05, 2017 at 1:07 pm

Forester won’t breakdown but This Tiguan sure kaki breakdown. Wet or dry, all DSG still kaki breakdown. Be careful. Spend RM150k but spend your whole life in the SC.

Already read VW Malaysia facebook page and see, even in 2017, so many complaints on DSGs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 45
      • Buret Pipet on Apr 05, 2017 at 2:13 pm

Kalo dulu kecik sudah kawen, ini anak nama Proton Tiguan CFE rm80 ribu..hehwhehewhe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • Mazdarati on Apr 05, 2017 at 2:08 pm

Next door CX-9 @ RM320k OTR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • Henry on Apr 21, 2017 at 3:34 pm

Dey, do you know how to read?

This SUV is fighting the the Mazda CX5 segment. Why compare it with CX9?

• Das Auto on Apr 05, 2017 at 10:39 am

The DSG wet-clutch has Arrived.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 09, 2017 at 11:22 am

Too late. Wet or Dry, reputation is gone for the next 10 years.

Pity those that owns a VW now.

• Manual aircond on the comfortline?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Tree Hugger on Apr 06, 2017 at 12:25 am

Yeah, unbelievable. How come RM150k car still come with:
      – manual aircond
      – fabric seats
      – no cruise control
      – no reverse camera
      – manual seat adjustment
      – halogen reflector lamps
      – no keyless entry/push start
      Who in their right mind would spend premium RM150k on barebones spec like axia/saga level like this? Just to own a ‘premium’ european badge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • LittleMin on Apr 06, 2017 at 1:53 pm

Axia and Saga don’t have six airbags, Driver Alert System, ESC, ABS with brake assist, multi-collision brakes, bla bla bla safety features, dude.

Not to mention the better handling and solid body.

Take BR-V laa if you want a fancy push start.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • Tree Hugger on Apr 07, 2017 at 8:51 pm

Dude Littlemin you are missing the point. At RM150k they shouldn’t skimp on features like those, which should be standard at that price point. Btw, pls check your facts Saga has ESC, ABS, EBD, BA too. Most of the features VW remove are conveniences that people utilize every time they drive. VW should take this as a constructive feedback. Salesman/owner please don’t butthurt this is nothing personal. Chill.

• Henry on Apr 21, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Just living up to its reputation as a “People’s Car.”

• dude this car in German is like Exora in Malaysia. if no tax and everything it will be the cheap car. pls dont assume every import car that the price less than 200k is a premium car. it is not. dont blame VW for this. blame malaysian government instead.

• Ben Yap on Apr 05, 2017 at 11:02 am

all VW cars can go 0-100 in under 10 secs except for 1.6 polo.

overall, when i hear VW, i hear fast cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • Jer clarkson on Apr 05, 2017 at 7:46 pm

This Tiguan is better yet more affordable than bmw x1 and benz gla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Sammy Loo on Apr 05, 2017 at 9:24 pm

better in terms of price, yes
        in terms of performance, no
        in terms of branding, no
        in terms of after sales service, also no

and you should not compare Tiguan with X1 and GLA, they are not in the same league.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • Jogho on Apr 16, 2017 at 10:12 am

In summary,
          BMW X1 sDrive20i = RM 230,800.00
          Mercedes-Benz GLA 200= RM 236,888.00
          Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI Highline = RM 168,990.00

Am I right just to simply compare?

• Yes …VW are very fast esp going back to workshop for repair…baru beli cepat2 kena masuk workshop again!!…hahahahaha

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 09, 2017 at 11:23 am

All VW cars will spend at least 3 months in the workshop waiting for spare parts within the first 2 years !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • When they work

• Abt vw being fast

• Once bitten, twice shy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
  • Anybody know the true boot space for tiguan once the back seat pushed all the way back?the quoted 615litre is actually when the back seat all the way (max) to the front..

• kenny on Apr 05, 2017 at 1:16 pm

Maximum luggage capacity, litres VDA measuring method using
      200 x 100 x 50mm blocks
      With rear seats upright and rear bench forward 615
      With rear seats folded and rear bench forward 1655

• azhar on Apr 05, 2017 at 2:17 pm

Just measured in showroom, 1,655 litres with the back seats fully folded. Best in the segment

• exora much better on Apr 05, 2017 at 11:06 pm

The designer wasted the space available, why no 3rd row seats?

• got 7 seat tiguan…just released in US & Europe…not here yet. Sort of a longer wheel base tiguan

• carlover on Apr 05, 2017 at 11:43 am

I would go for the upcoming all new CX-5..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
  • Das Autar on Apr 05, 2017 at 11:53 am

Be prepared to experience their crappy after sales service for their junk car. Just wait for a while, more discounts coming soon and free towing service too. Enjoy the VW awesome sofa experience!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
  • Mikey on Apr 05, 2017 at 12:20 pm

A decent looking German engineered SUV with a “wet” DSG couple with an intro price below 150k, this Tiguan will be a good entry into the upper affordable SUV world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
    • junkard on Apr 05, 2017 at 11:11 pm

Nothing to see, boring like brick, too squarish design.
      In other words, it is a JUNK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • azhar on Apr 05, 2017 at 1:04 pm

that park assist alone are the major reason to pick highline over comfortline..so convenient!

• Omitting cruise control in cheapest variant is a deal breaker. Park assist is not really important.

• VW Malaysia sucks on Apr 05, 2017 at 1:04 pm

Get the new CR-V in a few months, or if you must get this VW, still wait for the new CR-V to come out and then buy a Tiguan with a huge discount. 1.4TSI in this car is a rip-off… should be at least the 1.8TSI for Comfortline and 2.0TSI for Highline.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
    • thefact on Apr 05, 2017 at 5:42 pm

the CRV will be a 1.5… what a ripoff as well. should be 3.0.. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • Sarcasm mode on Apr 06, 2017 at 1:41 am

True indeed…bt crv wont rip off your time, n money that you spent at sc later which is much much much valuable. N dont let me talk about resale value pls :)

• bringbackmanualcars on May 09, 2017 at 5:10 pm

puii honda with their killer airbag idiot still buy rv my ass

• Honda crv wont break down

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 09, 2017 at 11:26 am

CRV is not the same segment as Tiguan.

VW is in the sui kwan segment

• Love Car on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:45 pm

If based on this: https://www.carbase.my/all-segment
        both are same C segment.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 01, 2017 at 2:43 pm

Dimensions and internal volume wise, yes, C segment.

In the reliability reality, VW’s are one of the most sui kwan for Euro cars

• suvbuyer on Apr 05, 2017 at 1:16 pm

Why no 3rd row? Even Rush Xtrail BRV got one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Periasamy on Apr 05, 2017 at 2:23 pm

Your P2 Alza oso 3rd row mah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • bro 2.0 on Apr 05, 2017 at 3:30 pm

You want to carry all 7 people in the BR-V? Good joke with a 1.5 NA engine instead of a turbo.

Those buyers of BR-V will regret buying it after attempting to climb up hilly areas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • campro memang pro on Apr 05, 2017 at 11:20 pm

Cannnn but you have to push pedal hard, unless you have something like n/a CPS which kickin at higher RPM

Dun compare with turbo..

• lao yee on Apr 05, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Cos the 3rd row usually useless. Go buy MPV if really need that seat

• vwjunk on Apr 05, 2017 at 1:21 pm

Wow marvelous!
    Er I mean the mural behind. LOLOLOLOL

• Firdaus on Apr 05, 2017 at 1:29 pm

Test drove one last weeekend.The whole family was impressed.Big interior, big boot.
    Poweful as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Kent Lim on Apr 05, 2017 at 2:08 pm

Danny – you stated “150 PS hp”, so is it PS or HP? :)

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 05, 2017 at 2:30 pm

no free service…tak nak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Wait end year clearance sure got..haha

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 05, 2017 at 8:50 pm

very likely got year end clearance…new crv and cx5 will kill this

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 26, 2019 at 5:34 pm

zoom forward to 2019…really comes with free service for 3 years

• thepolygonal on Apr 05, 2017 at 2:46 pm

From the rear it looks like the old 2007 X3’s rear.

• passion on Apr 05, 2017 at 3:20 pm

those who thumbs down must be VW owners who fortunately never had any bad experiences, die hard fans or VW salesmen definitely.
    i am a VW owner who regrets my purchase unfortunately. i love contis but not the SC or workshop experiences(comes in a package i believe). BRV is a no no for me. i need a reliable car which is so hard to come by these days the japs included.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Shaey on Apr 06, 2017 at 8:43 am

Define your reliability please? I think you do not know which vehicle segment you want. You want a car? Or people carrier? Or you want a brand? You want fit for purpose? Loving contis for what? Ride handling? Some people just donno what they want. Hence fall into this sort of dilema. Your money dude.. stop being a pussy and whinner.

• LittleMin on Apr 06, 2017 at 1:56 pm

You sound like you want the contis just because of the logo and the ‘status’.

Because nobody talks about reliability when they bought a conti.

• Denial denial denial..

• 150k SUV no cruise control. No all wheel drive. Fabric seats. I would rather buy a second hand X3 diesel (equivalent or better FC) with 8 speed gearbox for much less money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Willesq on Apr 05, 2017 at 8:07 pm

May I know why this article also states the car is a 2nd generation model when I clearly recall this is the third Tiguan model sold in Malaysia? Anyway to each its own, some people like Crv, some like CX5 etc. It’s best to have variety on in the road. Nobody should dictate what car people should buy. Each is a totally different experience. If you want to play safe, just go along with the herd….

• useyourbrain on Apr 05, 2017 at 11:13 pm

Cannot coz when the sales number is getting high, the quality of assembly is going down

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 09, 2017 at 11:28 am

Toyota produces more than 10M cars a year and still, there is no compromise on quality

• Godcar on Apr 05, 2017 at 8:38 pm

VW no point buying now. Just wait for their clearance or warehouse. Probably you will get highline at below rm100k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Lucky Gong on Apr 06, 2017 at 3:14 am

Seems many did not know why the price of certain VW models are reduced so much, it’s about the dry clutch gearbox, have you seen a GTI DSG6 broke-down? This Tiguan is come with DSG6, so far so good on my GTI, I am thinking to trade in my GTI and get this Tiguan too but let’s wait for the new CRV n CX5 before decide which to go! Too bad Tiguan 2.0 AWD is not here!

• Veedud on Apr 07, 2017 at 3:38 pm

same ler….my scirocco 2.0tsi also got clutch problem…yes, its using dsg 6 wet clutch variant..same as the GTI

• Sammy Loo on Apr 05, 2017 at 9:35 pm

VW will need a long time to regain their reputation.

Yes this car is coming with DQ250 but there are still many people out there only know about VW and DSG equal to problem and breakdown.

New CR-V turbo and with 7 seats will definitely lead the segment.

• safety 1st on Apr 06, 2017 at 8:47 am

Why no mention of the South Korean direct competitor which also happen to be the winner of the comparo test elsewhere like in the Australia and even in Germany? Sportage for instant wont the comparison test against the Tiguan back in Germany, as well as in Australia. Here in boleh land…the review is so Honda biased to the extend the dealers can mark up the price so high and still everyone keep buying it. Elsewhere, its all about the quality and value the car can give to their customers

• Amran on Apr 06, 2017 at 11:35 am

DSG okey?

• Gracke on Apr 09, 2017 at 6:17 pm

6 speed DSG with wet clutch this time, definitely no worries!

• Shift on May 27, 2017 at 1:11 pm

We will have to wait and see, my brothers passat cc has a wet clutch. The whole gearbox replaced too.

• passion on Apr 06, 2017 at 11:40 am

to each his own then.

• 7yearsfd1 on Apr 07, 2017 at 1:15 pm

what with front end design especially foglamp n bumper. they use leftover design from the 80s? good god.

• Gracke on Apr 09, 2017 at 3:55 pm

Tested just now!! Excellent….. Drive and handling like a golf, responsive and light steering, practical and fast SUV, quiet and comfortable and lots of space!!!! Love it so much :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 09, 2017 at 7:20 pm

I am sure it comes with complementary 5 years free tow truck service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Lucky Gong on Apr 14, 2017 at 9:38 pm

I went tested so many japs suv, and so far still this Tiguan gave me the best experience on touch n feels when doing my test drive last couple of day back, gonna swap my gti for this. Waiting period now 2 mths plus d, sure not?

• Confirm got REST Assist (Driver Alert System)? Why cant find it in the VW official website?

Anyway to install the original safety function which taken away in Malaysia? e.g. precrash, blind spot…What is the cost?

• Another eurothrash has landed…150k problem anyone??