W205 Mercedes-Benz C200, C250 now with 9G-Tronic gearbox, spec changes – up to RM5,000 more

Mercedes-Benz C 200 Avantgarde, 2016 model

The Mercedes-Benz C-Class has been revised for the 2017 model year, with the C 200 Avantgarde, C 200 Exclusive and C 250 AMG Line gaining a new nine-speed 9G-Tronic automatic transmission that replaces the previous 7G-Tronic seven-speeder. The C 180 and the C 350 e plug-in hybrid remain unchanged.

With the change comes a price increase of RM5,000 for the C 200 models, so the Avantgarde now retails at RM253,888 and the Exclusive at RM257,888; the C 250 AMG Line retains its RM287,888 price tag. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a four-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Aside from the new gearbox, the mechanicals are the same as before, with a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine powering all three models. In the C 200 variants, it produces 184 hp at 5,500 rpm and 300 Nm of torque from 1,200 to 4,000 rpm; the C250 bumps outputs to 211 hp and 350 Nm.

Mercedes-Benz C 200 Exclusive, 2016 model

The change in transmission brings the zero to 100 km/h sprint time down by 0.1 seconds to 7.2 seconds for the C 200 and 6.5 seconds for the C 250; the C 200’s top speed has also increased from 235 km/h to 237 km/h. Oddly enough, combined fuel consumption has actually increased marginally to between 5.6 to 6.1 litres per 100 km on the C 200 and 5.7 to 6.1 litres per 100 km on the C 250.

There are also a number of running changes Mercedes has made, which were already implemented at the end of last year. The C 200 Avantgarde now receives black open-pore ash trim – the same as the C 250 AMG Line – as well as an analogue clock. The entire C-Class range also gains pre-installation for the company’s Rear Seat Entertainment system, which is now available at official dealers.

Meanwhile, the C 250 AMG Line no longer features the full COMAND Online infotainment system, reverting to the basic Audio 20 CD system with Garmin Map Pilot navigation that the C 200 models get. As such, the centre display gets a downgrade in size, from 8.4 inches to 7.0 inches.

Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG Line, 2016 model

Other than that, kit count remain the same, with the Avantgarde coming with LED High Performance headlights, 18-inch five-spoke alloy wheels, push-button start, leather upholstery, dual-zone automatic climate control, roller blinds for the rear side windows and rear windscreen, Parking Pilot and a reverse camera.

The Exclusive throws in a more traditional grille with top-mounted three-pointed star, LED Intelligent headlights with Adaptive Highbeam Assist Plus, split-spoke alloys, Artico leather-wrapped dashboard and door cards, brown open-pore ash trim and a sunroof.

The C 250 AMG Line gets the AMG appearance package, AMG five-spoke alloys, keyless entry, a panoramic sunroof, a Burmester surround sound system and a powered bootlid with handsfree opening. Safety-wise, all models get seven airbags, ABS with EBD, stability control, Active Brake Assist (autonomous emergency braking) and Pre-Safe.

Browse full specifications and equipment on all Mercedes-Benz C-Class models sold in Malaysia and get the best deals on a new car on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2016 Mercedes-Benz C 200 Avantgarde

GALLERY: 2016 Mercedes-Benz C 200 Exclusive
GALLERY: 2016 Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG Line

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• That don’t impress me much!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • jamal on Apr 06, 2017 at 5:11 pm

PDAM’s fault! Price increase RM5,000!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 06, 2017 at 7:00 pm

This is absurd. Already Malaysians are paying the highest car prices in the world. Somemore want to increase?

There will be idiots who say, tax the rich. But bear in mind, it is a domino effect. Cause the rich employ us the poor people. When the rich have to pay more for their “toys and luxuries”, they will cut back on the salary and bonuses of the poor people, which is us.

In the end, we all suffer, the poor or the super rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
    • Mikey on Apr 06, 2017 at 5:16 pm

Yes, it does NOT need to impress anyone or U. It sells by itself bcos its a Mercedes. Anyone who drives a C-class is perceived to be a successful man.

Just be happy with your Gen2 bcos it’s nothing to be ashamed of our National car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 19
    • China-Engineering on Apr 06, 2017 at 6:10 pm

take a look at the rear aircond vents, premium? looking cheap and dull.. the dashboard design also tak boleh for 2017 standard… the only thing looks okay is the front of the car, esp the headlight design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Kunta Curi Albert all sama sama on Apr 06, 2017 at 4:44 pm

Down grade the screen size is bad news

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
  • Vasudevan on Apr 06, 2017 at 4:49 pm

Thumbs Up BMW 330e,
    Thumbs down Benz C200.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 14
    • You don’t compare one model that it’s design life cycle has ended and another that is still just about to arrive the mid cycle action.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Not apple to apple. 330e v C350e

• 330e boot space is ridiculous

• applegreen on Apr 06, 2017 at 5:05 pm

Hek eleh skrin kecik banyak cekadak pulak nak naik 5 ribu

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 06, 2017 at 5:08 pm

More gears is usually always good. Hopefully there will be some performance and fuel efficiency gains from the 2 extra gears. But looks like the C200 models don’t get keyless entry (but they do get push button start). So the extra RM5k is just for 2 gears?

• Sawadee on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:11 am

On surface, it’s “only” 2 gears. But factoring in the electrical changes, ECU, exhaust tuning, overall powertrain space, new parts; it ain’t “just” 2 additional gears.

Of course, customers only seek for the best price, best packaged for their purchase. But in more detailed perspective, kudos to MBM for such minimal increment for 2 gears. (Of course, they did cut corners through the downsized screen)

• Nikolai on Apr 07, 2017 at 7:44 pm

On both the C200s, a RM5k increase gives you two extra gears. Plus on the Avantgarde variant, you get open pore ash wood trim (used to be piano black, which was cheap and plasticky). On the Exclusive variant, you just get two extra gears.

On the C250, the price remains unchanged; however, while you gain two extra gears, you get a MASSIVE downgrade in the infotainment system. Audio 20 is a pain to use (I’ve COMAND Online on my C300 and it’s so much smoother and better compared to my friend’s C200 with Audio 20). It’s not just the screen size difference.

• passion on Apr 06, 2017 at 5:11 pm

the rear lamps are an acquired taste.

• Thakum on Apr 06, 2017 at 5:19 pm

Downsizing the centre display for the C250 is rubbish!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • garrick86 on Apr 06, 2017 at 5:26 pm

Expecting more ppl jumping from BMW, Lol.

• 2 extra gears for RM2500 apiece….well it does saves duel and improves drivability.

• Observ3r on Apr 06, 2017 at 6:31 pm

Fuel-efficient cars surely help with fuel prices shooting up here….

• contilover on Apr 07, 2017 at 9:31 am

obviously u didt read properly keyboard warrior and also shallow reader…it clearly stated fuel consumption increase

• silverado on Apr 06, 2017 at 6:47 pm

Did you even read the article before commenting?

“fuel consumption has actually increased marginally”

• Then thats phailed engineering. Almost all increment of gear ratios lead to improvement in FC due to less gear hunting at inappropriate gear levels.
        This worse than even Punch CVT. But I guess since this is jerman overlord, so no one will bash em, huh?

• Merc is trying to send you a message. on Apr 06, 2017 at 5:33 pm

Don’t buy too many Merc, we are getting cocky with our pricing and spec.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 06, 2017 at 5:51 pm

The C250 got a downgrade in spec and a price hike…hmmm doesn’t make sense.

• anonymous on Apr 06, 2017 at 5:54 pm

wow, you also loses out premium speaker Burmester for C250 AMG!.. that’s a big letdown

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Apr 06, 2017 at 6:03 pm

The Burmester sound system is still there on the C250.

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 07, 2017 at 8:51 am

If only MBM can give the Burmester sound system as option for the C200 rather than sunroof, which you will rarely open in the heat here. The base sound system does not match the car’s price tag of well over RM200k.

• long weekend on Apr 06, 2017 at 6:00 pm

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia will post another all-time record sales in 2017.
    Malaysia is a rich country with an abundant of resources and wealthy population.

• M power on Apr 06, 2017 at 6:13 pm

Mercedes getting less attractive day by day

• Trinity on Apr 06, 2017 at 6:14 pm

No cosmetic change?

• dpillai on Apr 06, 2017 at 6:15 pm

For same $$$. Rather buy pre-owned BMW 530i G30

• silverado on Apr 06, 2017 at 6:51 pm

The article seems to imply that the analogue clock is only specified in the C250. That’s incorrect. It’s also present in the C200 Exclusive.

• Yes... on Apr 06, 2017 at 11:59 pm

Coz that the one thing a premium car buyer can’t leave without in a car, a 14th century invention that tells you the time.

Merc should just put a sundial on the dash. Many Ah Pek will like to buy.

• Petrolhead on Apr 06, 2017 at 6:55 pm

How much income is required to afford a Merc C Class ?

• Fenix on Apr 06, 2017 at 7:45 pm

3k monthly to buy the car for 7 yr loan . Your income must be minimum 15k -20k nett . Go figure .

• single person with 10k salary and not much other financial commitment, can easily afford C class. and bank will usually approve the loan.

• Hayenadeblue on Apr 06, 2017 at 8:24 pm

Oh, look, the disc brake is rusty (I know it is normal). If the same issue is post on Proton@Perodua, the brands bashing will start.

• Ask Fee on Apr 06, 2017 at 9:35 pm

I realise that when test drove E200 W213 couple of months ago from standstill the move at 2nd gear.

• Some continentals are like that. I have driven one big cc japanese car that is also like that.

I know for a fact that E90 does this too. Not too sure about the newer F30. It will only start at first gear if you are in DS sports mode. Or selected manually via the paddle shifter. Or if you mash on the throttle.

Reason, smoother take off. It is not a problem since the engine is strong enough in these cars. Some cars also have a snow mode which starts at gear 2 and dampens the throttle response significantly. Not relevant in Malaysia, but in snowy countries, it is important because sudden engine brake/acceleration can cause the tyres to lose traction in very low traction environment.

• Jobless on Apr 07, 2017 at 3:25 pm

If you select the Sports or Sports+ drive modes then it’ll start off at 1st gear.

• Hmmm cancel wait for G20

• Jules on Apr 07, 2017 at 2:17 pm

if the g/boz (9sp) is better than the Bee Em’s zf 8 speed… i wouldn’t mind in exchange of a smaller screen.. haha

• Casey ng on Apr 09, 2017 at 4:43 pm

I booked a C 200 Avantgarde (W 205) in mid Feb. 2017 salesman told me it can deliver end March. Now April 9, it cannot deliver and now they told me C 200 Avantgarde model has stopped. New C 200 model with 9 gears price is RM253,888 as compared to my booking was RM234,115.57, increased by RM19,772.43. What is my recourse ? Extremely unhappy

• Looking at the price of c250, and the downgraded COMAND online system, I would go for c350e with AMG line, the price is not much different. Yes, c250 get 9 speed, while c350e retain the 7 speed, but it’s using a plug in hybrid, which combine total output is a lot higher than c250, and it also comes with adaptive damping, not to mention that full COMAND 8.4″ screen.

• Mercedes fan on Jun 22, 2017 at 4:42 am

You forgot to mention that they removed collision prevention assist?? :(