B9 Audi A4 in Malaysia – new variants now available; 1.4 TFSI at RM219k; 252hp 2.0 TFSI quattro at RM315k

When the B9 Audi A4 was launched last year in Malaysia, customers were offered three different variants to choose from – 1.4 TFSI, 2.0 TFSI and 2.0 TFSI quattro. However, at the time, Audi Malaysia only revealed the pricing for the 2.0 TFSI at the time. Now, prices of the remaining two variants have been revealed, along with more information about the optional Tech Pack for the 2.0 TFSI.

We start with the 1.4 TFSI, which retails at RM218,900 on-the-road without insurance. For the money, you’ll get a 1.4 litre direct-injected four-cylinder turbo petrol engine that develops 150 hp at 5,000 to 6,000 rpm and 250 Nm of torque at 1,500 to 3,500 rpm. A seven-speed S tronic wet dual-clutch gearbox send drive to the front wheels, and the top speed is 210 km/h (0-100 km/h in 8.5 seconds).

Among the standard equipment you’ll find on the entry-level A4 are xenon plus headlights with LED DRLs, 17-inch, 10-spoke crystal design alloy wheels, triple-zone climate control, leather upholstery, electrically adjustable front seats, MMI Radio plus and a 10-speaker Audi sound system. Exterior colour options include Glacier White, Floret Silver, Scuba Blue, Tango Red, Monsoon Grey, Argus Brown and Mythos Black.

Meanwhile, the range-topping 2.0 TFSI quattro is priced at RM314,900, and nets you a more powerful 2.0 litre turbo unit with 252 hp at 5,000 to 6,000 rpm, and 370 Nm at 1,600 to 4,500 rpm. As the name clearly suggests, the variant comes with Audi’s quattro permanent all-wheel drive system, and will hit 250 km/h (0-100 km/h in 5.8 seconds). The 2.0 TFSI quattro uses the same seven-speed dual-clutch transmission as the 1.4 TFSI.

Equipment wise, the 2.0 TFSI quattro improves upon the 1.4 TFSI by tagging on LED headlamps with LED DRLs (also found on the 2.0 TFSI), MMI navigation plus with MMI touch interface, 8.3-inch TFT colour display and leather/Alcantara upholstery. It also gets the S line package (a RM25,000 option for the 2.0 TFSI) as standard, which introduces new front and rear bumpers and 18-inch five twin-spoke “Star” design alloy wheels. The 2.0 TFSI quattro is available in almost the same colours as the 1.4 TFSI, save for the replacement of Argus Brown for Daytona Grey.

As for the Tech Pack, the optional equipment package for the 2.0 TFSI variant introduces nifty items such as the Audi virtual cockpit, Matrix LED headlights with dynamic indicators, Audi smartphone interface (Apple Carplay and Android Auto), MMI navigation plus with MMI touch, Audi connect and a rearview camera. The Tech Pack will set you back an additional RM25,000 on top of the 2.0 TFSI, which sells for RM248,900, bringing the grand total to RM273,900.

No change in terms of powertrain, as the 2.0 litre turbo unit continues to serve up 190 hp at 4,200 to 6,000 rpm, and 320 Nm at 1,450 to 4,200 rpm. The front-wheel drive 2.0 TFSI Tech Pack will hit 240 km/h (0-100 km/h in 7.3 seconds), and gets the same body colour options as the 1.4 TFSI.

Audi Malaysia has also announced that all variants of the A4 will now come with a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty, an improvement from the previous four-year/120,000 km manufacturer’s warranty package. Delivery of all three variants is scheduled to start from May 2017 onwards.

That’s not all because for a limited time only, customers will get to enjoy special offers across the A4 range, whereby the 1.4 TFSI can be had for just RM199,900 (RM19,000 savings); 2.0 TFSI Tech Pack for just RM249,900 (RM24,000 savings); 2.0 TFSI quattro for just RM294,900 (RM20,000 savings).

For a more detailed look at each variant of the all-new B9 Audi A4, head on over to CarBase.my. Also, don’t forget to check out our review of the Mercedes-Benz C 250 AMG Line (211 hp/350 Nm) and BMW 330e (184 hp/290 Nm) competitor, here.

GALLERY: Audi A4 2.0 TFSI

GALLERY: Audi A4 2.0 TFSI S line

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Jetta engine in a camry-sized body?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
  • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 10, 2017 at 12:47 pm

For all intents and purposes, the A4 B9 is a VW in disguise. Every single part of the car comes from a VW. In other words, you are buying a VW with the Audi bangle logo. Engine and every part is from VW.

Would you pay RM20k for a Rolex watch if every part inside the Rolex watch is made by Casio?

How to pay so much for a car from a lying company. So many times lie. DSG lie, Dieselgate lie. Don’t know what other lies also going to come out. Even the Dieselgate also was found in an Audi.

Manyak takut buy from compulsive liar car company.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 23
    • Lily Tan on Apr 10, 2017 at 2:17 pm

hahahahahah..very part from VW.
      Who is lieing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • Wow. Another split personalities toking. Now its Unta the VW salesman in charge. Next comment will be the Toyota salesman personality coming up.

• Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 10, 2017 at 3:47 pm

Please continue your sleep bro and make others do the hard work

• Hard at work bashing here has no value bro. Work smart not just hard. Contribute to society.

Oh, but which personality am i toking to:
          The VW salesman?
          The ex-P1 worker?
          The toyota salesman?
          The hate-all-car basher?
          Which is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:44 pm

like i said, pls work hard. Don’t expect everything free. You have so many dupes, I don’t know which john is this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • tg rambutan on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:48 pm

That’s why he should go to tg rambutan to get treatment

• Vincent on Apr 10, 2017 at 3:58 pm

You have “terbalik” the truth!

Audi is belong to VW group. Audi parts is use for next generation VW model. Example, the retired Audi A4 B8 is recycled for VW Passat B8. As you can see from this article, Audi use 7 speed wet clutch. Currently, VW only got 6 speed wet, and 7 speed dry clutch!
      As in Europe, MK6 Golf will be recycle by SEAT… and Skoda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • veedud on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:58 pm

..got le 7 spd wet clutch…previous 2.0 tiguan using the wet clutch 7 speed…its VAG..they shares everyting

• Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 10, 2017 at 12:56 pm

Better to buy the 330e. After discounts, can get for RM230k.

In overseas, the BMW 330e price is DOUBLE that of the A4.

So, you are getting good value for your money compared to this Audi A4 when you buy the BMW in Malaysia

Also, BMW Malaysia gives 6% corporate discounts. So does Mercedes. They also give 6% discount.

Audi will never be same taraf in Malaysia as BMW or Mercedes. Might as well spend same amount and buy a C200 or a 330e

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
  • Worth to buy??
    2013 Audi A6 2.0HYBRID RM 129,800…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Noah Thiruchelvan on Apr 10, 2017 at 2:43 pm

Don’t. Not worth it. That car is a bag of issues.

• principal on Apr 10, 2017 at 2:56 pm

Go ahead man. Janji ada gaya.

But once you have to change that faulty gearbox for RM20k or the battery for RM30k, don’t come here and cry foul about it.

• Audi A6 HYBRID on Apr 10, 2017 at 3:52 pm

Repair till your pants drop

• suanie on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Audi Malaysia champion car!

• paparadzi (Member) on Apr 10, 2017 at 1:27 pm

Audi. Quattro.
    It is hard to justify buying an Audi unless it is a Quattro. The price is a bit high compared to the competitors, especially the BMW 330e but the interior of the Audi is a lot cleaner.
    The base model? Don’t even bother.

• medic on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:09 pm

Audi is only avalaible in CBU form here.It is commendable their cars are not priced out of the range compared to Merc & BMW.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 10, 2017 at 6:52 pm

Well if they were to sell the A4 at those promo prices they would get some attention but too bad it’s just a limited time promo….same like the Tiguan with its 7k discount.

• Passat 2.0 is more worth than it’s sibling

• Passat 2.0 on Apr 10, 2017 at 3:55 pm

Completely agree, for the similar price to C180 and 318i, VW Passat 2.0 would be the best buy, But then the issues are the brand recognition and also the “throw price” by VW Malaysia, so just wait until the end of the year to buy it.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 10, 2017 at 5:00 pm

might as well buy 318i then.

• Vincent on Apr 10, 2017 at 5:22 pm

They already do this for new B8.

THe baseline 1.8 is disc to MYR139K. THe highline 2.0 is at MYR179K.

• CarCaaarCarrrrr on Apr 10, 2017 at 2:26 pm

Audi’s factories are in China. VW who owns Audi needs to cut cost to pay for all the cureent scandals such as Dieselgate. I wonder how the cost cutting is going to impact their QC

• Kumquat on Apr 10, 2017 at 3:08 pm

VW is a good buy! I’ll ditch my Camry afterward….

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 10, 2017 at 3:18 pm

I am no doubt a BMW person, up to their E series. E30, E34, E36, E38, E39, E46, E60, E90, E92. Their new cars are rubbish because of those three and four cylinder turbocharged engines.

Recently I have warmed up with Mercedes. I do think their C-E-S-Class interior are beautiful. But again their I4 and V6 engines are rubbish. I will reserve my comment with their upcoming inline six engines. SHould be exciting.

Lexus are amazing cars. The interior and their V6s are amazingly smooth. But their cars are sold by tamak UMW Toyota. Definitely not gonna pay those Porsche level prices!

Audi. I believe they’re on form currently. I drive the new Q7 and I must say that it is the details that really counts. That Bentley like refinement, that solid build quality, everything about it speaks quality – aluminum everywhere. VW Group’s turbocharged 4 cylinder engines are one of the finest in the market, especially when coupled with that wet DSG.

I think for RM215 it is a bargain for a CBU car. Guess we have to get used to 1.4 car that is as powerful as a 2.4 engine.

The problem now is, the top of the range RM199k CKD Volkswagen Passat 2.0T looks unbeatable value. The list of equipment itself will satisfy techno performance geeks. It has all the performance bits from the GTI Advanced.

But honestly, between the 320i, C200 and A4 1.4. I’ll take the A4 anytime, any day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
    • 380tsi on Apr 10, 2017 at 3:47 pm

WTH FWD Audi? Next!

• Passat 2.0 on Apr 10, 2017 at 3:58 pm

LOL, good that we have people like you to diversify the market, my pick among all your listed would be the Passat 2.0, sub 6s 0-100 performance, enough said.

• veedud on Apr 10, 2017 at 5:02 pm

yup agreed…if u dont mind the batch…get the passat 2.0,…its a steal compare to its cousin the A4 1.4tFsi….

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 10, 2017 at 9:27 pm

I agree. More tech too. Have to test or live with one day by day. The A4 is the perfect “Bangsar” car while the Passat 2.0 is great long distance cruiser and matured GTI over twisty Simpang Pulai hillroads.

• I was a BM person too, had an E90 with the legendary N52 engine for many years. They don’t make engines like they used to anymore. Was itching for a change 2 years ago, and tested the F30, F10 and W204/5. To me they don’t sound like a luxury car should. Only consolation is, it is fast. So i kept the E90 running a few more years.

I suspect the next gen inline 6 will be fitted to the top of the line S class, and it would be a long time before that trickles down to their entry level E-C class, if it happens at all. Not holding my breath there.

Lexus are amazing vehicle. At the end, i sold the E90 for a used 2GR-FE SUV from Lexus. I figure, they are so reliable, no point buying new. I’m still amazed a 7 year old car has got almost zero rattles, CBU Japan quality. Engine is smooth as silk like only a 6 cyl can. Fuel consumption is 13.5l/100km which is high, but E90 was 11-12l/100km, so not much difference there, and this is a much larger SUV. Roadtax at RM2.3k Roadtax wise, i think the reliability of an NA engine more than makes up for it. Remember, if the turbo breaks in a highly stressed turbocharged car/SUV, its easy 5 figure repair bill. Something that can cover my roadtax for >5 yearsroadtax. Pay to play, YOLO.

This Audi at RM199k is a good buy although it is has a 4cyl engine. I will not buy a new car for a while because of this, but if i am in the market for 1, this car is worth a thought. For a guy in my 40s, straight line speed is not that important to me anymore, but for somebody young, it most likely is.

There is no best car in the world although everybody with 1 thinks theirs is the best, and the rest junk. Just cars that meet their needs and cars that don’t. If they have a need for speed, a passat 2.0 with sub 6sec or 330i/e is good buy. Peace out.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 10, 2017 at 3:19 pm

no free service…fwd…3 series pilihan terbaik

• chris on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:13 pm

guys…. 200k for a CBU with 5 year warranty German premium? 7speed wet clutch..

its priced competitively.. this coming from a previous DSG user.

• Mikey on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:33 pm

Gone are the days when a NA 2 liter 150hp/200nm(+/-) is deem enuff for a entry level German car. Yes, I’m talking Audi A4, BMW 3-series & Mercedes C-class.

Now, due to modern technologies, we find that a 1.4 4-pot or 1.5 3-pot with modern turbo/super charging can generate enuff grunts or even surpass the old 2 liter.

All these comes with improved power, emission, refinement & better built qualities to boot. A current A4, 3-series or Merc C-class is better than it’s brother say 2 generations ago by a mile.

If U were 2 test drive the Audi 1.4 now, U will not complaint simply bcos it’s better in every aspects compare 2 any older models.

The A4 by itself is NOT a bad car. It’s just that people who look for a German car who can shell out 200k plus have GOOD/Expensive/Specific taste. Some like Rear Wheel Drive, Some like Front & some prefer 4-WD.

Any A4/3-series/C-class is a GOOD German executive car. Drive any of the 3 will enhance your “status” immediately.

Don’t believe me, just drive one when U arrive at any 5 star hotel. The door bell boys will be Happy 2 open the door 4 U. Make sure U give a Big tip too else U might be branded a KEDEKUT/Stingy punk.

• kancil tebu on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:55 pm

So it is using kancil turbo engine with more power

• veedud on Apr 10, 2017 at 5:06 pm

err..i sometimes driven by my co project SUV at hotels…ie fortuner,santa fe, hilux & even used uber on their myvi’s…no issue ler, bell boy will open the door for you at all hotels regardless what car u arrived on. Chill out bro..u’re too materialistic

• Mikey on Apr 10, 2017 at 6:58 pm

What is materialistic 2 U is MOTIVATION 2 me. When I was studying in collage, I was working as a Bell Boy in a 5 star hotel. I use to say 2 the other BB – I will want to drive/own one of these car.

The last I check, it is NOT a crime to own a German car. If U are motivated enuff, U Can/Will own one. Yes, all Bell Boys open door for U regardless. I think U already know by now what is my POINT.

• passion on Apr 10, 2017 at 5:05 pm

wow the price. i wish it could be lower. i want one.

• Chris Ong on Apr 10, 2017 at 6:41 pm

Too bad virtual cockpit only available for 2.0TFSI, not for the Quattro model..

• paparadzi (Member) on Apr 10, 2017 at 9:50 pm

I’m quite sure the Virtual Cockpit is available for the quattro model.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 10, 2017 at 6:51 pm

For the first time since it’s launch last year I finally got to see ONE A4 on the road in Subang with Matrix lights and it looks damn cool when you use your signal to overtake. I wished I could see more on the road but at the rate Audi Malaysia is selling, they might just close shop instead.

• 1.4 turbo for an A4 at 200k? Serious vw?
    Funny marketing guy you have there

• stupid Tt doesnt know about the existence of bmw 318i and merc c180.