New Hyundai Elantra coming soon – 1.6 Turbo, 2.0 NA

The new Hyundai Elantra will be launching soon in Malaysia. We’ve already seen the C-segment sedan undergoing JPJ tests and the car has just been previewed to local Hyundai dealers. These pics – shared to us by Datuk Billy Goh, CEO of the One Auto Group – shows two examples of local spec cars.

UPDATE: The OTR image of the yellow car below was taken by our paultan.org/bm colleague Izwaashura Sadali in Shah Alam

The red car is the Elantra Sport, which can be identified by its unique grille (chrome slats aren’t full width, discreet ‘Sport’ badge on one side), larger bumper air intakes (note the C-shaped chrome element with LED daytime running lights) and a more elaborate headlamp design.

At the back, a diffuser, twin exhaust tips and a ‘Sport’ badge mark the more powerful car. Like that yellow colour option, the new Elantra’s triple-C brake lamps are pretty distinctive. Different rims too – twin five spokes on the Sport and blade-style on the regular car.

There’s a sole pic of the Sport’s interior, and we see a flat-bottomed steering wheel with red band and stitching (the Ioniq Hybrid has the same wheel, with a blue band), carbon fibre-style trim, metal pedals and red/black seats. Kit wise, dual-zone auto air con, keyless entry with push start and Bluetooth are visible.

The Elantra Sport (Avante Sport in South Korea) backs up its name and racy looks with a more potent engine – a 1.6 litre Gamma T-GDi turbocharged engine that puts out 204 hp and 265 Nm in its home market. There, the blown motor is paired to either a six speed manual gearbox or a seven-speed dual-clutch auto, but we’re only getting the DCT.

The introduction of an Elantra Turbo is interesting but not completely unexpected, as a Tucson powered by the same 1.6 T-GDi engine is already in Malaysia, with 177 PS and 265 Nm. The Veloster, launched here in April 2015, uses a variation of this powertrain with 186 PS and 265 Nm. The Honda Civic Turbo in Malaysia makes 173 PS and 220 Nm, by the way.

Not all will want or need a turbo engine, and we’re expecting the non-Sport Elantra to carry a naturally aspirated 2.0 litre Nu MPi engine with a six-speed torque converter automatic – a powertrain package that’s also in current Hyundai models.

It shouldn’t be long now before the CKD locally assembled Elantra AD makes its debut. Like what you see?

GALLERY: Hyundai Avante Sport, Korean market

GALLERY: Hyundai Elantra Sport, US market

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Karam singh on Apr 14, 2017 at 10:53 am

This is the best selling car maker.

In Korea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
    • When you park the new Civic next to it, the new Elantra looks horribly dated. Like a design from 2-generations-ago-dated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 89
      • Ollie on Apr 14, 2017 at 2:14 pm

Its not eye-catching.. but if you’re 8 year old boy racer you’ll definitely prefer the Civic transformer. Adults drive cars like the Audi S3.. low profile killers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 14
        • Thanks for commenting. I’m almost 40. I like my car designs from the current decade. I don’t own one but I admire the shape and lines of the new Civic on our roads. Everytime I see one I tend to stare, with this new Elantra the best it can hope for is a glance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • nosushi on Apr 14, 2017 at 12:13 pm

Habis la jepunis cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 14
    • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 14, 2017 at 12:30 pm

Amazing how much of power coming out from just a 1.6. This is what you call research and development. No tido and lepak.

Hyundai just started 10 years before Proton was born and yet, they sell 10 million cars globally.

Proton just sells 72,000 cars per annum, 90% of which is ordered by the Government and Ministries as “sedekah” to help Proton out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 21
      • Nancy Liu on Apr 14, 2017 at 1:17 pm

Mr, do you feel bored keep repeating same thing? Find new life please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 33
        • Sista. Ignore him, he gets paid to bash. Take pity on this poor soul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 33
    • Preve still has better FC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 66
      • Malaysia driver on Apr 14, 2017 at 2:41 pm

Shu….. We are talking global car manufacturer that sell millions OK, small players who sell barely 70,000 cars and ask for 1.8 billion pergi main jauh jauh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
    • Civic T Owner on Apr 14, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Civic exterior and interior fantastic but Elantra just predictably ok,just fine.Some say Civic back design ugly but for me it’s fluently curved and different than usual and typical conventional design which i admire most.Honda designers can think of of box,not like old type Toyota kinda stereotype.That’s why Honda outsell all brand here.I don’t think Elantra can past Civic in term of sales.Hyundai still crawling in Malaysia market and most use car dealers avoid Korean due to unexpected low resale value in this particular unpredictable market like Malaysia.Civic still king and Toyota Altis already kong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
  • Victor HZL on Apr 14, 2017 at 10:56 am

Isn’t DCT stands for dual clutch transmission? Typo error I guess Danny?

• Chicky on Apr 15, 2017 at 2:50 pm

yes… they are the same… but we aren’t getting the manual option… pls get what Danny meant

• Gaviny on Apr 14, 2017 at 10:58 am

Estimated price is 130k for the turbo , I dunno man, that’s steep . DCT aren’t the smoothest and I wonder how much performance you can get from euro 2 95 , considering this is a direct injection engine and turbo. Even mazda had to adjust their high compression to accommodate euro 2 petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • 130k? Pretty sure at that price most people would just buy the Civic. Too bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • civic better on Apr 14, 2017 at 12:37 pm

I think 1.6t ckd with eev will be priced at 115k. That’s reasonable, considering that jetta 1.4t top spec after discount 110k only!
      Us/ Aus 1.6t price is less than 90k rm though.

• kereta_lembu on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:02 am

WOW! The dash looks hideous. Such a shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 30
    • That’s what I thought initially. Looks way better in real life.

• Nancy Liu on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:03 am

Hope no basher come here to compare it with Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • If 100k and above, then its Dead on Arrival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Therealmaserati on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:06 am

Take the specs with a pinch of salt. They claim 204 HP but as usual, korean cars will never actually feel that powerful. They have a bad drivetrain and poor handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 33
    • thepolygonal on Apr 14, 2017 at 12:16 pm

I have to agree with you on this. I owned a Korean SUV for almost 4 good years. They look good, spec good but don’t get caught up with the HP and Torque figures. It’s their drivetrain. Power transfer from engine to wheel lacks behind the Japs and Conti… especially for bigger cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Malaysia driver on Apr 14, 2017 at 2:51 pm

Go test drive the new Sportage bro. The awfully light and stupid steering is gone, it is now very responsive, and direct. The damping and chassic composure through the bends simply beats the CRV and X trail , and almost on par with CX5. The drivetrain, though is the old nu 2.0 , is now very eager to kickdown and deliver, courtesy of the retuned 6 speed torque converter. The NVH simply beats every Japanese out there saved the Europeans. Finally, it is a sporty Sportage that live up to its name. It is a very European SUV in kimchi skin. I left the showroom very impressed. Too bad Naza spec it very badly (no cruise control in a 140k SUV!)

The Koreans are catching up, very fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
        • You sound like you go to that showroom daily.

• I agree with u except the engine feel rough at higher rpm otherwise its really nice.Not worth it at 140k but the lower spec with discount really are value for money compared to hrv..

• Proton still have the best handling cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 27
      • That is quite true. kimchis feels very artificial while jepunis r like sampans on stormy seas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
        • john otak udang on Apr 14, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Shaddap with your Proton bullshit, get a life. Noboday gives a dam about Proton. Yet they are nowhere near the kimchis.

If you happen to be joking or moking, it is not funny at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
          • Ask u something. Do u know anything about cars other than sales figure, hmm?

• lotusftw on Apr 15, 2017 at 11:47 pm

Lol even kimchi got to hire somebody to tune their stinger while international reviews never fails p1 handling.

• It’s different now bro. If you watch the review the performance is quite good and the steering response now more natural than before. No numb feel anymore. And reviewer test at US impressed with the improvements especially on NVH and rigidity of chassis and the performance of elantra power train. The korean are catching up.

The following is the performance test done by Pdrive Australia.

Elantra sport Performance
      0-100kmh 7.29 sec Manual
      0-100kmh 6.87 sec DCT
      in-car idle 36db
      in-car full throttle 78db
      100-0kmh braking [email protected] Manual
      100-0kmh braking [email protected] DCT

Civic performance
      0-100kmh 7.54 sec
      in-car idle 39db
      in-car full throttle 81db
      100-0kmh braking 3.06 [email protected]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • Elantra sport Performance
        0-100kmh 7.29 sec Manual
        0-100kmh 6.87 sec DCT

Civic performance
        0-100kmh 7.54 sec
        “Civic should use CVT right?”

• Civic Si on Apr 14, 2017 at 3:38 pm

These acceleration numbers are from a popular youtube channel and they are quite realistic. Considering the Civic is down around 23kw and using a CVT the 0-100 acceleration is reasonable. I’d use the upcoming US/Canada market Civic Si as a better match for Elantra turbo, the Si uses a 1.5T. same petrol
          engine but a higher tune 153Kw, and some suspension bits from
          Civic type R.

• No talk kok on Apr 14, 2017 at 4:35 pm

Thanks for the info. Bro, unlike some of the talk Kok ones from Johnny etc.

• Zoom Zoom on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:17 am

Wow over 200hp…can speed with VW GTI.. Nice exterior but interior looks a bit dated and less premium..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Ben Yap on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:23 am

rear lights looks like honda city and the dashboard looks dated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Sohai not Ori on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:26 am

Just a facelift like the Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
  • Nice rim on the turbo model, hope the priced it lower than Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Kancil Hybrid on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:37 am

After this Elantra Sport will make Civic 1.5 VTEC Turbo makan kangkung. Nasib baik kangkung dah turun. Syukur.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • camtakpro on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:38 am

So the HU will have 320×200 resolution without DVD slot and Apple/Android link?

• kiasu on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:45 am

Dash looks so ugly and like cheap china made car, change la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
  • Mikey on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:47 am

Nothing wrong if compare with P1 Preve 1.6 turbo. It has the same 1.6 turbo engine. For that kind of outlay, the Elantra must be better then P1 otherwise how 2 justify the price ?! At 120 to 130k, U can actually buy 2 Preve. Hehehe. john, what say U ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • While you are at it, please go and buy more preve from them, buy like 16 sekaligus. You proton supporters so memalukan, should buy more protons to keep your favourite car company afloat instead of settling for just one unit.

• wkaka on Apr 21, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Pathetic, if not for gov protection, it would have been the same price. If compare both on an even playing field (eg. Australia), Preve would become scrap metal.

• Kia Cerato 2.0 priced at 110k++.. Elantra 2.0 should be around that price.. for Elantra turbo, i dont see price below 130k.. If the price is about the same with civic turbo, i doubt it will sell good..

• komarad on Apr 14, 2017 at 12:22 pm

can special order the manual??

• turbo on on Apr 14, 2017 at 12:37 pm

See the dashboard. no mood liao… :( the old looking dashboard cannot match with the exterior sporty design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • JB_KIA on Apr 14, 2017 at 12:38 pm

aiyo itu kokpit mcm lori punye aduh…

• Francis on Apr 14, 2017 at 12:49 pm

Why No MT…!!!!!

• Finally! The new Elantra will grace the streets with its elegance.

• Every mass produced car is built up to a price point, some notable features is more distinguished than others, therefore its good to testdrive it first to get a fee of it, sample d speed, handling, NVH

interior looks ok,
    Exterior wise looks really2 good and itll age really2 well this time around…..

if specced well (6 airbags no less), they might hv a winner on their hands…

• Faizal on Apr 14, 2017 at 1:59 pm

2.0L RM126,988
    1.6L Turbo RM152,988

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
    • applegreen on Apr 14, 2017 at 2:27 pm

u confirm this price? i think by of this year the RM152,988, we can switch the 2 and 5 digit, so new price is RM125,988

• Ollie on Apr 14, 2017 at 2:18 pm

Having run a 7 year old 2.0 NA Korean for 150,000 km now.. Defintely will consider Korean>Japanese for cheaper parts, rock-solid reliability. Malaysian consumers as in many many ways are 3 to 5 years behind global data and perception..Which is why Koreans are now no 3 in the world for sales, but Malaysians will still hang on to their old man thoughts… haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • HyundaiKia on Apr 14, 2017 at 4:34 pm

Driving a 12 year old Hyundai, 1.5 NA 171k ++ mileage.
      Apart from FC, overall I am satisfied with my Hyundai!
      Very impressed with the minimal aging of the interior, still like new!

• No talk kok on Apr 14, 2017 at 4:40 pm

Perception dies hard! I owned an old model Elantra for some years now and love the comfortable feel when driving

• Sohai not Ori on Apr 14, 2017 at 2:55 pm

The Kia Cerato allrdy struggling with BIG DISCOUNT in today The Bintang paper

• Mikey on Apr 14, 2017 at 3:10 pm

With more than 200 hp & price too boot, this Elantra has set a benchmark for a C-segment that all car manufacturer to emulate.

• Paddle Shift mana? on Apr 14, 2017 at 4:41 pm

Got Paddle shift? I don’t see one nor it is mentioned by PT. It would a big turnoff if the sport doesn’t come with paddle shifters.

• Hayenadeblue on Apr 14, 2017 at 5:29 pm

Hi, Danny,
    “… or a seven-speed dual-clutch auto, but we’re only getting the DCT”. What do u mean? DCT means dual clutch transmission, which is auto. Did u read again what u have written before clicking publish? God!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Apr 14, 2017 at 8:17 pm

Read the whole sentence, mate :)

• haf, wanna ask you how would you compare hyundai’s twinclutch with Merc and VW? i am more interested in their reliability.

• I think, the guy has a point. I have to read the sentence again to understand. Hey, not all of us know that dual clutch auto and dual clutch transmission are the same.

• BowArrow on Apr 15, 2017 at 11:53 am

” the blown motor is paired to either a six speed manual gearbox or a seven-speed dual-clutch auto, but we’re only getting the DCT.” what he say was we’re getting seven-speed dual-clutch auto ( DCT ) , not the six speed manual gearbox .

• After reading your comment, then i know dual clutch auto is similar to DCT. Thanks, mate.

• You read it wrongly my friend. Lol

• Hayenadeblue on Apr 16, 2017 at 9:56 am

Original:
        “There, the blown motor is paired to either a six speed manual gearbox or a seven-speed dual-clutch auto, but we’re only getting the DCT”

I think Danny should write:
        “There, the blown motor is paired to either a six speed manual gearbox or a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission (DCT), but we’re only getting the DCT”

Look at these two carefully, Danny and Hafriz (and post’s commenters). Being a journalist AND a technical person, both of you should know the rule, to avoid confusion. Paultan.org is recommended by Google Malaysia, your English standard can be improve too.

I’ve read one comment above me with the same issue. Do you want this site to be a technical reference? If yes, I hope Paultan.org’s writers/journalists can further learn about technical writing techniques. Similar with PS and HP numbers mixing in one article.

Sorry, no hate here. Just love Paultan.org. I look forward to see Paultan.org to be like Top Gear one day. Sorry for the long post. Hope we learnt something today.

• BowArrow on Apr 16, 2017 at 8:01 pm

I do agree with the PS and HP , PaulTan should write 120PS(118HP) =P

• Chicky on Apr 15, 2017 at 2:53 pm

Danny means we only getting the DCT but not MT… polish your English

• wkaka on Apr 16, 2017 at 2:16 pm

Seriously you got to brush up on that English comprehension, especially if you want to point out people’s “mistakes”. The quality coming out of the education system recently is seriously sad.

• Maria on Apr 14, 2017 at 8:43 pm

Good, now another hyundai car that will sapu kaw kaw corolla and maybe Civic if they price it wisely. I bet that the sport will be around 130k++ if come with bells and whitsle just like Ioniq while na version maybe around 110k+..Just 1 thing i don’t quite like is the dashbord so 90’s just like his big brother sonata n genesis. If price wise, why not give it a try!!

• Kenny on Apr 15, 2017 at 10:10 am

If any boy racer Civic owners wants a drag race, the Elantra Sports will send him away with his tail between his legs.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Apr 15, 2017 at 10:24 am

Bring in the manual turbo please!

• hmm pricing? close to 130k?

• Bernard on Apr 15, 2017 at 3:10 pm

Manual not going to be introduced here? That’s disappointing ! Also, if sold below 50k for the turbo, that would be great…

• Malaysian Driver on Apr 16, 2017 at 4:17 pm

50k for a turbo c segment car? In your lala dreamland

• nonama on Apr 15, 2017 at 3:57 pm

Bring only the 1.6turbo..sell it at 123k….and bring along ascent 1.5 ..sell it at 78k..then honda will had a hard times

• Idunno on Apr 16, 2017 at 11:30 am

Sad that they dont bring the manual in. We need more manual cars in our market

• Malaysian Driver on Apr 16, 2017 at 4:22 pm

They say traffic jam = leg cramp, which is bullshit.

Driving an auto actually make more abuse to your right leg, the repeatitive throttle – brake -throttle -brake using your right foot is actually more tiring. At least I gotta work both of my feet in a manual car, and don’t feel cramp only in one leg after exiting the car.

Mordern manual cars clutches are very light, it is the bandwagin mentality that make many people stay away from manual cars, even though they dont drive a manual for all their life after getting their license.

• CarBuyer on Apr 17, 2017 at 3:18 pm

” … and don’t feel cramp only in one leg after exiting the car.” Glad you prefer to lead a balanced lifestyle instead – cramp in both legs.

• lolpanda on Apr 17, 2017 at 12:19 am

While the CKD Elantra will likely cost less than its CBU class competition but it might not be enough for people to make the switch. Take the Ioniq for instance; despite being significantly cheaper in the hybrid game, you still don’t see many on the road. Still seeing lots of newly registered Prius though.

As for the performance numbers in Korean makes, the whole stigma of numbers not being translated to real world performance needs to be put to rest. The performance is there; the real issue is that you don’t really feel it…it’s still very numb.

Hopefully a DCT will change that because if the Kia Cerato Koup is any indication (which has similar power figures), it’s no slouch but it has little to no excitement.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 17, 2017 at 10:19 am

Is there any tax differences between a 1.5L car and a 1.6L car? The road tax are the same. How about duties?

I would still prefer the larger engine, even if its only 100cc.

That said, this is never ever going to put a dent on Civic sales. The Civic turbo is rather surprisingly spritely despite its unimpressive spec sheet would suggest. Nice (synthetic??) exhaust tone as well…

But bring out the 1.2T and plop it into the Accent, and Honda Malaysia will be sweating bullets. UMW on the other hand, will just try to bundle in more accessories.

• Darjah 5 on Apr 18, 2017 at 10:08 am

It’s funny when reading the comments here. Majority is negative. You guys don’t even had a hand on the car and the comments like the car is a shit. If you browse the YouTube, most reviews are very positive. The drive especially the sport version is great. Malaysians are so much with negativity.