Perodua Bezza updated new rear bumper, chrome interior trim, leather upholstery – no change in price

It was caught earlier this week, and now it’s official – the Perodua Bezza has been given an update for the 2017 model year. The company’s first sedan has been given a few aesthetic tweaks for no extra outlay.

There’s just one exterior change – the rear bumper has been given a deeper skirt that better covers the underside of the car, a major source of complaints on the outgoing model. A diffuser-like cutout and a contrasting grey strip that runs across the width of the car breaks up the visual mass.

Inside, the Premium X and Advance variants get chrome platinum trim on the air-conditioning controls, while the Advance also gains new leather upholstery that does without the previous quilting.

Apart from that, there are no changes, with the base Standard G continuing to come with 14-inch alloy wheels, a standard radio with a USB port, 60:40 split-folding rear seats, reverse sensors, power windows, dual airbags and ABS with EBD and brake assist.

Stepping up to the Premium X nets you front fog lights, side mirror indicators, chrome door handles, keyless entry, push-button start, a bootlid release button, an auto up/down driver’s side window with anti pinch, a 5V/2A USB charging port, adjustable rear headrests, Bluetooth and front parking sensors.

The top-spec Advance variant throws in two-tone turbine-design alloys, side skirts, a leather-wrapped multifunction steering wheel, power-folding door mirrors, automatic engine start/stop, a touchscreen infotainment system with Smart Link Android smartphone screen mirroring and a reverse camera. Stability control is also added, giving the car a five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating, one up from the other trims.

Mechanicals have also been left alone, so the Standard G retains the use of a 1KR-VE 1.0 litre VVT-i three-cylinder engine producing 67 hp and 91 Nm of torque, while the Premium X and Advance variants get a 1NR-VE 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i four-pot making 94 hp and 121 Nm. Buyers get a choice between a five-speed manual transmission and a four-speed automatic, with the Advance being auto-only.

As mentioned, prices are unchanged, so the Standard G is priced at RM37,300 for the manual and RM39,300 for the auto, and the Premium X retails at RM42,800 for the manual and RM44,800 for the auto; the Advance auto tops out at RM50,800. All prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance and a five-year/150,000 km warranty.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Nice... on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:21 pm

No more tonggeng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 16, 2017 at 10:55 pm

All over the world, VSC is made compulsory. What happened to the goreng that our gomen gave that all cars in Malaysia must have VSC? Since Perodua can do this facelift, why don’t you include VSC one shot in the Bezza for all the models?

Don’t our lives matter Perodua?

According to the Malaysian Government statistics, cars with VSC can prevent 45% of accidents and deaths.

In other words, if cars had VSC, if there were 10,000 deaths per year due to accidents, we can save 4500 (45%) lives in that year.

The same Perodua cars in Japan like the Toyota Passo (Myvi) all have VSC and even ABS. So I cannot understand why VSC is taken out when the car is sold in Malaysia under the Perodua badge.

UMW have no ethics. Toyota Japan also got no ethics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • kzm (Member) on Apr 17, 2017 at 12:51 pm

correction not UMW oni but Toyota ASEAN. Toyota car is sub par for this region.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Penin2 on Apr 17, 2017 at 8:04 am

That why Perodua better than Proton. They take the action from people comment.
      Proton? Until now, the Preve, Suprima S & Iriz still using the Punch CVT bising! No improvement!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • More decent now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Back seat bezza on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:39 pm

Rear seat macam mana??? Still straight like back patah??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Maximus on Apr 14, 2017 at 11:42 pm

Looks better but hard to say from an angle….. would be very disappointing if the highly uncomfort rear passenger seat and low headroom had not been rectified too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • 6 months down the road, another SE “facelift”. Then model X “facelift”, then lagi bagus “facelift”, then new paint colour “facelift”, then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 35
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 15, 2017 at 1:57 am

Why is the VSC not fitted as standard on all models?
    2018 is near for all car makers to fit VSC as standard.
    Don’t buy any car without VSC or they will lose their value when people don’t want them.
    Better to wait 2018

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Hipokritt on Apr 16, 2017 at 9:58 pm

Don’t buy Proton Saga also without VSC traction control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Henry on Apr 15, 2017 at 7:01 am

IMO, the sales ratio of this car against the current P Saga must be 100:1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Why should P1 workers work hard why they can get salary through our Gov’s ‘donation’? P1 workers work smart like AMG workers by making 1 car per worker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Henry on Apr 17, 2017 at 10:37 am

Truth is they can’t make more even if they want to. No buyers. LOL.

• The original quilted leather design was bad taste. Glad they got rid of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • I have to say it’s look good and solid but much better if it’s given a bigger wheels, this one looks too tiny!

• Driver on Apr 15, 2017 at 8:58 am

Felt pity on those early buyers. Not even a year…..

• TheSaint on Apr 15, 2017 at 9:09 am

This is an expensive little car imo.

• Perodua-PJ-HQ on Apr 15, 2017 at 9:43 am

nice interior! can rival the german now for only fraction of the price no wonder every graduates here in malaysia loving it so much plus the decent aftersales service with free coffee tea and donut in a beautifully designed airconditioned free wifi and free charging station waiting lounge for customers! memang beza!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • Graduan Bijak on Apr 16, 2017 at 10:00 pm

Yes true be smart and always choose Perodua cars.

• Ruslan Bahari on Apr 17, 2017 at 8:02 am

There is this saying that compliments are best given by outsiders. Please don’t oversell yourself. You’re just really an average car company.

• Johnson Amigo on Apr 17, 2017 at 9:57 am

I was shocked by the level of customer service at Perodua PJ HQ after their recent renovation, they even provide ipad with free wifi for customers usage free of charge while watching their car being service through the CCTV broadcasted to the huge LCD tv at the waiting lounge…nasi lemak also provided! Customers makan nasi lemak, perodua staffs doing the hard works!

• matt farrel on Apr 15, 2017 at 9:52 am

At least the tonggek-ness is gone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Proton quality is 1000x better than Perodua. Malaysians are very very very stupid to buy Perodua instead of Proton…..oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 33
    • Betui. P1 quality is even better than BMW and Volvo. This is a fact said by our ministers and whole Malaysia also knows it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Soft Loan on Apr 16, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Perodua actually at least 1.5 billion times better because Perodua never ask donations from govt every year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • AngPow on Apr 18, 2017 at 9:15 am

P1 use a lot of money because they did their own rnd to build their own engine, their own chasis, own design and so on…at the end no one’s gonna buy it..so what do u expect??…

• Henry on Apr 17, 2017 at 7:48 am

Proton don’t need you as their unofficial spokesman. Actually the more you spew your nonsense here the more potential customers you will turn away from the brand. Please, if you cannot help do not damage it further.

• Mikey on Apr 15, 2017 at 10:22 am

With a better looking new bumper & all the usual goodies like chrome door handles, keyless entry, push-button start, a bootlid release button, an auto up/down driver’s side window with anti pinch, a 5V/2A USB charging port, Bluetooth, front parking sensor & Leather added to the top spec, this Bezza will outsell the Saga again. Looks like this Bezza is making life very difficult for P1 Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • Heng Lee on Apr 17, 2017 at 4:21 pm

Bezza is safer too, as Saga is much more powerful (67hp Bezza, 95hp Saga).

Powerful car -> Faster & more accidents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Kancil Hybrid on Apr 15, 2017 at 10:41 am

Bila naik dipersalahkan kerajaan. Bila turun kenapa tak puji kerajaan? Ada yg dah turun. Kangkung dulu naik sekarang ni dah turun. Bezza mcm2 tambah barang harga tetap sama. Ada yg dah turun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Mokmok on Apr 17, 2017 at 2:09 pm

Really? Minor changes to a also want to bring political issues here? Get a life man..

• Random guy on Apr 20, 2017 at 12:38 am

Yo chill man it just a bumper. Your gov ain’t got time for this shit.

• Ootai on Apr 15, 2017 at 11:10 am

Graduates and new executives are queueing to P2. Sad for P1, they are given a miss. Waiting for a strategic partner to turn around P1, if there is one. Else, gone case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Graduan Bijak on Apr 16, 2017 at 10:07 pm

Smart graduates always listen to smart advice from their parents on which car to buy based on their long years of experience in car ownership: either buy Perodua or Toyota/Honda cars. Nothing in between.

• It’s their loss. BMW and Volvo quality they don’t want instead look for Jepunis

• Penin2 on Apr 17, 2017 at 8:11 am

I am the government officer with gred 54, 25 years in service. I also use this Bezza tonggek for 4 month. Better than my 17 years old camry. Have reverse camera, leather seat & steering, dual tone alloy rim.. Can own at RM47K & paid a loan for just 3 years. So what the point?

• What? on Apr 15, 2017 at 11:43 am

No quilting on the seats like before, must be cost cutting to make room for the extended rear bumper. You can’t have it all with small budget cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 15, 2017 at 5:49 pm

Real bodoh company. Typical UMW brain. Not even a year launched, already got facelift.

In the first place, before you launched your car, your engineers and designers could not see it was tonggek? All your highly paid local engineers and local designers could not see it was tonggek?

Now how would the tens of thousands of buyers feel? now that a facelift has come about? They would feel cheated. Also their RV would drop.

Perodua should recall ALL Bezza sold from day one and do this cosmetic make up cause the blunder is rather obvious.

And you must be fair to your existing buyers who gave you support by buying your car DESPITE it being a tonggek car. Make a recall and undo the damage in all Bezza sold. It is very unfair for someone who has bought a Bezza few months ago and then, suddenly, facelift!

So, you expect the current Bezza drivers to drive an ugly car whilst new buyers have a non tonggek beautiful car?

World record broken for a car. Not even 1 year launched already got facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 14
      • tg rambutan on Apr 16, 2017 at 9:14 pm

Since when car company makes recall just to change fugly bumpers?

• leoRNado on Apr 17, 2017 at 9:00 am

read properly. No such ‘facelift’ term in the article.

• Bezzisa on Apr 16, 2017 at 11:03 am

Hopefully P2 has corrected the uncomfortable rear passenger seats and low headroom problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • What? on Apr 16, 2017 at 3:34 pm

Have checked the specs on the changes. The rear bench is unchanged unfortunately and not to mention the article above doesn’t state any changes made to the rear seats.

• Thats a design feature. Its made to be like that. U tak sukak, u can go jauh-jauh buy P1 instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • AngPow on Apr 17, 2017 at 9:13 am

its not design feature..it is called design failure…total failure!…plus with tonggek + x stabil + brgoyang mcm naik sampan…the worst sedan car the world have ever produce…

• Random guy on Apr 20, 2017 at 1:00 am

Its not design failure. Its business. P2 got good sales from previous ugly bezza and i think they will make great money with this one.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 274
    • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 15, 2017 at 5:52 pm

I really hope this car has VSC. Cause, according to the Malaysian Government statistics, cars with VSC can prevent 45% of accidents and deaths.

In other words, if cars had VSC, if there were 10,000 deaths per year due to accidents, we can save 4500 (45%) lives in that year.

IF Perodua is still selling cars with no VSC, this can be considered a CRIME.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
      • Hipokritt on Apr 16, 2017 at 9:56 pm

Proton Saga also langsung haram takda VSC traction control.

• Dah lah john. Channel your worry to proton. Kilang tak jalan. The last public find is finishing. All the the people can do now is to act busy, hoping that they wont be terminated when this ailing company is sold once again.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 246 Thumb down 126
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 203
  • Maximus on Apr 15, 2017 at 6:32 pm

Looks better. Has the horrible 90 degree back passenger seat been rectified too?

• Perodua Vios on Apr 15, 2017 at 7:37 pm

Finally it looks like Vios and price only RM50k very affordable highly fuel-efficient car. I really love it!

Confirm I will buy it 10 units for my whole family! No worry even if petrol price is RM3.00 per liter because Bezza will be huge wallet saver car!!

Thank you so much Perodua for helping us all rakyat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Dr. Bomoh on Apr 15, 2017 at 7:44 pm

I predict this Bezza will conquer the sedan car market from Proton Saga, Persona and even Preve.

Such a majestic one car Bezza able to crush 3 opponent cars in one go! Truly amazing feat!

No surprise if this year Perodua will control 50% market share with Bezza alone contribute 2nd biggest sales after Axia or around 5-6K units per month which is slightly not far off from its initial target.

So all the best and good luck to you Perodua! Huat ahh!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Aryatama on Apr 15, 2017 at 8:22 pm

It’s still ugly :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Teck wan on Apr 15, 2017 at 8:59 pm

Bezza a great car already sell like hotcakes, patch the “kekurangan” will sell more in future. Good moves perodua..In Chinese there’s a word “know the failure can change”. A bit unfair to the 1st gen owner though.

• Penin2 on Apr 17, 2017 at 8:06 am

Nevermind, the improvement at the rear bumper, chrome at the aircond vent & new plain design if the leather seat does not increase the hp of the dual VVT-i engine..

• Well done P2, listened to the buyers complains and took note and to rectify the rear design. The add-ons with no extra cost makes the buyers feel it’s more worth it when you buy the premium X and advance. This I give P2 a thumb’s up.

• P1 don’t “facelift” for long time even better. Keeps the current owner happy, no need to listen to buyers complain

• Still the tonggek car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • xoomie on Apr 16, 2017 at 9:07 am

Hi paultan.. any before & after pictures..

• camtakpro on Apr 16, 2017 at 7:33 pm

They just let it wear underwear, other than that the rear bumper is still non existent.

• Ben Yap on Apr 17, 2017 at 9:47 am

next up date can put dual-exhaust tailpipe and 16″ rims…. fuh! garang yo!

• I think it is abit unfair to the current owner. In my opinion they should at least have the option below.

Free upgrade the rear bumper for existing customer (this is a good option) or at least have that option for existing customer to upgrade (I don’t mind pay for it). I do aware that the gearup does have the option for the rear garnish but that option is only for those that purchase the gearup before 15 April 2017.

I hope perodua will at least show some appreciation to the first batch buyer and I do pity to those that use the car for few weeks and heard this news.

• Just picked up my 1.3 Advance today and I noticed something in the updated model that I think Perodua didn’t include in their press releases – the updated model now has a mirror in the sun visor on the front passenger side. The 1.3 Advance model I test drove before the update didn’t have this. Not sure if it applies to other variants.

• I’ve been driving this bezza 1.3 for almost a week and these are my complaints. The driver seats are way much more worse than Myvi 1.5, and the driver going to have back ache after driving for more than 2 hours. the position of the automatic gear stick. very funny hard to reach. rear seats ,like u guys know, are like bangku. why can’t they make it right after 20 years?

• David on Aug 30, 2018 at 6:24 pm

What is the price to change normal FM player to touch screen player for Perodua Bezza at Perodua Service Centre?