Renault Captur CKD – RM8.2k cheaper, now RM109k

The Renault Captur has arrived in locally assembled form, rolled out of the Tan Chong Motor Assemblies plant in Segambut. Priced at RM109,000 on-the-road without insurance, the B-segment crossover is priced RM8,200 lower than when it was launched in CBU form. The first 100 customers will also receive an additional RM11,000 rebate – effectively making it a RM98k vehicle.

As before, the locally-assembled Captur is powered by a 1.2 litre turbocharged inline-four petrol engine, producing 118 hp at 4,900 rpm and 190 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. Drive is transmitted to the front wheels via a six-speed dual-clutch automatic, riding on 17-inch wheels shod in 205/55R17 tyres.

Four exterior colours are available, including a new Flame Red with Diamond Black roof. The other colour combinations are Pacific Blue with Ivory roof, Ivory with Diamond Black roof, and Arizona Orange with Diamond Black roof. Inside, the seat covers are finished in Charcoal and Grey.

Standard equipment for the CKD (completely knocked down) Renault Captur includes LED daytime running lights, removable fabric upholstery, cruise control and speed limiter, keyless entry, reverse camera, automatic wipers and headlights, automatic climate control, while the Media Nav infotainment unit features a seven-inch touchscreen with navigation, Bluetooth, USB, and auxiliary audio connectivity – all identical to the CBU model.

The locally-assembled Renault Captur can also be purchased with optional maintenance packages, with the three-year regular maintenance service package (worth RM4,212) priced at RM3,400, while the five-year regular maintenance service (worth RM6,552) goes for RM5,200. Other options include leather upholstery for an additional RM3,800 and a trunk tray at RM200. The Renault Captur comes with a five-year, unlimited mileage warranty that is backed by the manufacturer.

For more detailed specifications of the Renault Captur CKD, check out CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Renault Captur TCe 120 (CBU)

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 12:43 pm

@ RM98k, this Capture sure look CAPTIVATING. If Tan Chong motor is serious in pushing the 100 units 2 customers Fast, they should throw in at least the 3-year regular maintenance service package.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • K Kinte on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:25 pm

Nobody trust French technology and cars. That is why Tiara and Savvy also failed big time. Cause French technology is kaki breakdown.

And mind you, parts prices. Have yous spoken to Peugeot customers? They are all crying. Parts prices are same level as Merc, BM and Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 24
      • Ismet on Apr 18, 2017 at 2:41 pm

Naza managed to sell so many Pijot 208

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • RV Nightmare on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:12 pm

stay away from Peugeot, the RV will give you heart attack

Bestari RV in one year became 70% less. The non Bestari Peugeot, in one year become HALF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • Salih Yaacob on Apr 18, 2017 at 6:12 pm

RM109k = $34.5k sgd. @@

• PugDriver on Jun 12, 2017 at 2:07 pm

Uhm, Naza Bestari 206 owner here. Yes, resale value is bad, but really, Pug owners are in love with it and tend to keep their cars long-term (check out the My206 community on FB..). So these are for those who keep cars for more than 5 years.

My car drives beautifully, and only twice has it surprised me with an unexpected repair (broken clutch cable, and fan + cooling box failure). After the warranty period, I stopped visiting the official SCs and take it to specialist shops that know how to deal with French cars.
            Price parts are exp but they wear out less (servicing is after 10K km)

If you drive a French car, it’s an experience that sticks.

• Own 206 Bestari since 2009. Now milage about 250K. Still driving it today as everyday car. If go to official SC, yes part is expansive. Did’t all official SC parts are expensive including those Japs? No? Even a Vios new alternator cost you RM2k++ from SC. Try to get part from spare part shop. There is one in Subang Jaya for pug and Citroen, Renault not sure. You will surprise how cekik darah official SC is and this include those so call high RV car.

• kadajawi on Apr 18, 2017 at 3:12 pm

Renault is nothing like Renault though. SC are identical to Nissan, part prices are reasonable, as are the prices charged at the SC for repairs (head gasket + skimming of the head etc. is cheaper at the SC than for an X-Trail at an outside workshop!). Plus 5 years warranty. This is a really good deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • kadajawi on Apr 18, 2017 at 3:13 pm

I mean Peugeot, of course. Renault is on a different level in terms of service etc.

• Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 3:12 pm

My dear fren KK, just bcos U don’t trust French does Not mean all do Not. The Renault Group sold 3.18 million vehicles world wide.
        The Tiara/Savvy is history now. U should let go & look Forward & Not backward. Being negative does not help U one bit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
        • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:44 am

Exactly. Also, the Tiara was based on the Citroen AX, which wasn’t exactly known for reliability. And that not so great design was then built in Malaysia, so quality sank even further.

The Savvy is mostly a reliable car, except for the automatic gearbox. Since the Captur has nothing in common with that gearbox…

Also, the Captur is a big seller in Southern Europe, where it is quite hot.

• Kelab sakit kinte on Apr 18, 2017 at 3:22 pm

The color is striking

• seroja on Apr 18, 2017 at 7:59 pm

Seperti dijanjikan, harga kereta akan diturunkan secara berperingkat hingga

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:45 am

The red is absolutely gorgeous. It’s pretty much the same that Mazda uses, and it looks amazing in the flesh. Also, it’s an expensive option in Europe, more expensive than the other colors.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:41 am

Can you say all Malays are lazy and cronies?

Exactly. Not everyone is the same. Not every company is the same. A VW is not a Porsche. A Toyota is not a Mazda. Fiat is not Ferrari. Even within the same company there are huge differences. A Myvi is not a LF-A. Even within the same model there are huge differences. The Nissan GT-R used to have one of the worst gearboxes in history. It would not even survive driving fast on the Autobahn for more than a few minutes without requiring a very expensive gearbox oil change. Newer model years should have fixed that issue.

So saying because old Peugeots are unreliable, all French cars are unreliable, is simply stupid. Just because Peugeot parts may be expensive, Renault parts don’t have to be.

At least for my Renault TC keeps decent stock, the SC is a Nissan SC, with similar prices (if not lower). Only difference really is that there’s a different queue, so Nissan drivers have to wait longer.

Ask any Renault owner if they are happy or not.

The Savvy engine was tough, the problem was that AMT gearbox. The Captur doesn’t have one, it has a DCT, but Renault is much more conservative than VW. Gearshifts are slow etc.

• It is true what you said. Sadly, some people here test drive any car reviewed in PT using keyboard. You get it? And give comment like they own it.

• Lim Kit Kongke on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:40 pm

Anyone fall in this crap will be trapped in RV trap in less than a year.Still captivating? Go fall in the hole

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
      • Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 3:18 pm

U are correct & it also mean this “crap” is not intended 4 U. When U talk about RV, it also mean U cannot afford one.

Please buy whatever U want & be happy with it. No need 2 bash a French car just bcos U do not like it. People who buy a French car have certain taste just like not all people like Durian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
  • Ex-VGM staff on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Ahaa… 10% price reduction as to PM’s promise of 30%. Going there soon. At 98k, the best value against HRV and CHR. Bring it on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Badrul on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:23 pm

Bila naik dipersalahkan kerajaan. Bila Renault turun kenapa tak puji kerajaan? Ada lagi yg dah turun. Kangkung dulu naik sekarang ni dah turun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
    • Mikehighseas on Apr 18, 2017 at 5:34 pm

I owned a RenaltScenic 2 and everyone told me I should have bpught a Toyota or a Honda. They were in awe when I asked them to rake the car for a drive and then comment. Until you drive these cars you will never appreciate the quality, refnement, comfort and features which you will never ever feel in any Toyota or Honda. The only drawback is service centers need to buck up and we need to have a betterr range of arenault cars for sale. Wonder g when we will get the new Scenc again, I am ready to buy when it arrives our shores, drivei g experience is many levels higher that the Toyota and Honda. When you buy A Renault, you already accept the fact that the RV will not be on the same level as Toyota or Honda. Hey, isn’t it the same with he Merc, Audi or BMW, the best cars in the world? Toyota or Honda may have RV, but driving experience is all time low, in addition the engines ae more or less similar for 15 years, each facelift there is none or minimal change to technology, but you still pay the same high price despite the little R&D put in. We all can choose what we want, good RV, good technology, good products or whatever – the choice is in our hands, and will always differ for each individual. Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:31 pm

For that money, better get a C-segment Subaru XV or top up a bit for a Forester. Mind you these cars are real AWD cars. Come on la Tan Chong, people these days gets free service la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • gattaca on Apr 18, 2017 at 2:44 pm

Betui..Plotong gip free servis^^

• Subalu under motorimage is oso Tanchong…

• pxp154 on Apr 18, 2017 at 7:07 pm

servis with sub XV, still under warranty but awaiting bearing replacements almost 1month now…. ZZZ… maybe fly in the parts from jpn…

unsure if all parts(non-service rltd) have to wait like this…ZZZ

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:48 am

Most Malaysians won’t need AWD, and the XV has no boot space. Oh yeah, and I thought the XV costs 135k? That’s quite a premium over the Captur.

• gonggok on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:34 pm

Looks good but dual clutch gearbox. Just give us a normal auto please.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:50 am

The problem is that Malaysia as a market hardly matters, and in Europe no one would touch a regular auto gearbox. The only ones accepted are like that 8 speeder BMW uses, or dual clutch. Torque converters have a terrible reputation. Lose a lot of sales in Europe, or a bit in Malaysia.

• Ben Yap on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:59 pm

Renault Captur will capture many hearts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • this looks like myvi size only. better take haval h2 for a cheaper and larger suv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Ah Kow on Apr 18, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Should be the same size as Mazda CX3 and Nissan Juke.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:52 am

Get your eyes checked. It’s bigger than a Myvi. Also, Haval H2? Quality levels, ride quality, performance, handling, … and most of all safety. It’s like saying buy Exora over Civic, cause got more space and cheaper.

• Hemmm the car look weird but compare with japan more premium and the suspension system is very good but the only problem is when we wanted to sell the car i.e either used dealer push yr price down like hell or they don’t even want to look or buy yr car. Another thing is spare parts availability and price. It is a pity that such a good car is still not accepted by our people. I don’t think local assembly would make any different even if price come down and cheaper.

• Why don’t they give us the 1.5 DCI engine option? I would go for it in a heartbeat

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 18, 2017 at 5:00 pm

problem isnt the price…ppl just don like the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • tanluimoi on Apr 18, 2017 at 5:11 pm

Cars in Malaysia was crazy overpriced.

• Vehicle sales up where got overpriced? If u can’t afford don’t blame G

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:56 am

My Golf 1.4 TSI (140 hp, not a GTI or R, and it has a manual gearbox which is a lot cheaper) cost 36500 Euro, I bought it in Germany. In RM that is 173k, significantly more than the 1.4 TSI costs in Malaysia.

• Kangkung with Cheese on Apr 18, 2017 at 6:34 pm

Syukur….this renault’s price has come down, just like kangkung prices…syukur again….

• intermilan on Apr 18, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Price wise, Captur still cant beat 2008. But it getting nearer.

At RM109k w/o insurance (while 2008 is RM106.6k w/o insurance), Captur price is almost identical to HR-V E spec (middle spec) at RM108.5k w/o insurance.
    I am surprise at how competitively priced these two French baby SUVs are compared to the market leader.

HR-V V spec (top spec) cost much higher at RM118.6k w/o insurance.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:53 am

But the Renault has Tan Chong behind it, and thus better SC, better spare part availability etc.

• intermilan on Apr 19, 2017 at 11:01 am

Yeah.. this market segment is heating up. Potential buyer better do SWOT analysis before purchase.