Haval H6 Coupe and H9 for Malaysia – 2.0L turbo engines, CBU, pricing expected to start from RM115k!

We previously reported on the arrival of the Haval H6 Coupe and H9 in Malaysia back in January, and now, we have some information relating to the models’ specifications for our market. This comes straight from Ahmad Azam Sulaiman, CEO of Go Auto, who spoke to our sister site paultan.org/BM during Auto Shanghai 2017.

Firstly, both SUVs are slated to land in Malaysia by Q3 or Q4 this year as fully imported (CBU) models from China. As for pricing, the H6 Coupe is expected to be priced at around RM115,000, while the H9 could retail for RM140,000.

Focusing on the H6 Coupe, the SUV will occupy the same segment as the Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI as well as the Hyundai Tucson T-GDI, powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine with direct injection. The mill churns out 194 hp and 315 Nm of torque, and sends drive to the front wheels via a six-speed dual-clutch transmission.

In its domestic market (China), the H6 is available with the 1.5 litre turbo petrol engine, which is mated to a six-speed automatic, and all-wheel drive is available as an option. However, Go Auto says it has no plans to bring the blown 1.5L version as it would directly compete against its own H2 that is already on sale here.

Inside the cabin, there’s plenty of soft-touch materials, leather upholstery and pleasant-looking plastics, as my colleague Farid pointed out. A detailed list of equipment fitted on the display car wasn’t provided but from what we can see, there’s a TFT-LCD colour display, electrically adjustable front seats, an Audi-esque gear selector (with paddle shifters), dual-zone climate control, smart key and push-start button.

As for the H9, the ladder-frame SUV will replace the H5 when it arrives, packing a direct-injected 2.0 litre turbo four-pot. In the H9, the engine outputs 158 hp and 324 Nm of torque, which is more than the H5’s 2.0L VGT turbodiesel (148 hp/310 Nm), paired with a ZF-sourced six-speed auto and all-wheel drive system.

The H9 is available in three trim levels – Standard, Luxury and Super Luxury – although Go Auto has yet to decide which will be destined for Malaysia. Among the premium features available on the H9 is a retractable running board that automatically presents itself when the doors are open to help with entry and exit.

Other bits of kit shown here include a colour display screen for the infotainment system, automatic air-conditioning (with second-row blower), push-start button and even an Infinity audio system. The H9 will compete against the Isuzu MU-X, Toyota Fortuner and Ford Everest.

GALLERY: Haval H6 Coupe 2.0 GDIT

GALLERY: Haval H9 2.0L Turbo 4×4

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kelab sakit KK on Apr 21, 2017 at 3:18 pm

Interior is like VW. Later P1 will get shoot here.

• To be honest, it looks nice. That day i went to test drive the H4, it was much much much more solid than i expected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Haprot on Apr 21, 2017 at 5:51 pm

Proton kawen Haval…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • Kelab Sejahtera Kunta on Apr 21, 2017 at 10:15 pm

Amazing how China has done it. This is called hardwork. No tongkat, no teh tarik, no lepak and no Sarawak gambir.

China focus on hard work. Lazy companies, all they talk about is rilaks, lepak, awek, kongkek, cinta, roman and minum teh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 15
          • K Kinte on Apr 22, 2017 at 8:20 pm

Please la Proton, please don’t be arrogant and stupid and action with Geely. Be smart and clever, sell yourself to Geely. At least we Malaysians don’t have to have a parasite like you sucking our money forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
          • chinatongkat on Apr 24, 2017 at 3:42 am

China oso got tongkat, last time P1 must JV with local companies to enter their market

• nosushi on Apr 24, 2017 at 3:45 am

Foreign overlords bring outside our money. It IS parasite

• Ohwai bin Deswai on Apr 24, 2017 at 1:11 pm

Proton should just rebadge from now on since making own cars have failed badly. Pls sell to Geely fully.

• Pitbull on Apr 21, 2017 at 4:56 pm

We no drive Left hand .

• Teksi drebar on Apr 23, 2017 at 6:46 pm

I think we drive using both hands. Sometimes I just use my left hand sometimes I use my right hand. At traffic light when I stop my car, I use no hand. I am selling my car as 2nd hand. Both people with long hands and short hands are welcome to buy. Doesn’t matter if right-handed or left-handed as long as have hands.

• Coupe? Jangan persoal tongasn logic…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • Jagermeist3r on Apr 21, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Ur right …X6 Coupe competitor.

• johnny on Apr 21, 2017 at 5:30 pm

Do you know there is Mercedes GLC Coupe and GLE Coupe too? Jangan persoal Germanazi logic also?

• paparadzi (Member) on Apr 21, 2017 at 8:44 pm

I blame it on the Germans who started those 4-door “coupes”. Now the word coupe is meaningless.

• Peneraju segmen sudah tiba !!!

China rajin pandai kaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • dual clutches?

• common sensor on Apr 21, 2017 at 4:13 pm

China-made cars are getting more and more interesting. They have indeed evolve .. and we are still sleeping

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
  • Left hand drive?????

• arowana on Apr 21, 2017 at 5:01 pm

if this is not China branded, my positive perception to this vehicle would be like >9000!

• Get a landwind and change the badge. Ur perception will then be like >900000!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • loler on Apr 24, 2017 at 3:49 am

Only YOUR perception. Meanwhile pipu still know it is FAKE rubbish car!
        Lol

• 1725kg on Apr 21, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Getdrag 7 speed dual clutch!!!!

• Mohd Faiz on Apr 21, 2017 at 5:16 pm

very nice rear aircond vent design there! can’t wait to test drive this Huawei 6 and Huawei 9 ! bang for bucks seriously!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Vincent on Apr 21, 2017 at 5:26 pm

Haval doing well in China. Their SUV is well accepted in China. Their selling price is around 30% cheaper than Japanese brand, with average quality which is close to Japanese.

Let see if they can make a different in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • loler on Apr 24, 2017 at 4:17 am

Quality is close to jepunis? Said who?
      LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLO

• Sewel on Apr 21, 2017 at 5:38 pm

got da look.like an audi but made in china.ill pass.prob will waiting if buy all china product.

• Dermawan on Apr 21, 2017 at 6:19 pm

Greatwall please help buy over Proton.

• old horse on Apr 21, 2017 at 8:41 pm

wow! 115k! sure get it

• Doubt on Apr 22, 2017 at 8:24 am

Looks good but hard to sell… Only way is they spend more money to open more service centers​, give more discount and give GOOD AFTER SALES service.

After 3-5 years , if people see they are still around, then ppl will buy.. same as Chery Easter now the company failed.

I doubt the car reliability and long term running capacity of this company…

• tokmoh. on Apr 22, 2017 at 5:18 pm

When dealership run by incompetent cronies only care about making quick buck with no long term plan and vision to grow, that’s why they died.

What a shame. For a moment, Chery eastar was a good product, but without dedicated after sales, dieded.

Now tongsan cars are this good, but huge question mark on Haval’s local dealership. Big hoohaa last time about Great Wall M4, but many complaints about long delivery wait, chaotic after sales, sigh.

• Gracke on Apr 22, 2017 at 10:28 am

The meter is definitely like GOLF!!!

• marieta on Apr 22, 2017 at 4:16 pm

Nice looking meh!! If slap ‘T’ or ‘H’ logo pipul gonna buy like hot goreng pisang!

• Good job. Designed by former x BMW X5 n X6

• see yew soon on Apr 24, 2017 at 6:47 am

Buruk kereta2 dari china..dont have aku direction ques.plus love tu copy and pasti but with no quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Nina Cheng on Apr 24, 2017 at 10:21 am

just need to cancel my purchase of P1 Perdana……and buy this Haval…..

• Ben Yap on Apr 25, 2017 at 10:07 am

i thought coupe should be a 2 door car? not and suv.

• Lee Lin Dan on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:12 pm

1)Price = OK
    2)Look = OK
    3)Power = OK
    4)Service & Maintenance = Not OK
    5)Resale Value = Not OK
    6)Reliability = Not Sure

Buy or Not ??

• Bernard on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:36 pm

China product ? Be very careful!

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 15, 2017 at 5:56 pm

I’m damn happy with my M4 approaching 3yr old. Looking forward to buy the H6 as I felt the H2 was abit small for my liking.