April 2017 week five fuel price – petrol, diesel down

Another Wednesday, another weekly fuel price announcement – and this time motorists can breathe a sigh of relief as prices of fuels have gone down across the board.

Starting tomorrow, April 27, RON 95 will be priced at RM2.21 per litre (down six sen compared to the previous week), with RON 97 at RM2.49 per litre (down five sen). As for diesel, Euro 2M will be RM2.14 per litre (down seven sen), with Euro 5 diesel at RM2.24 per litre (down seven sen). These prices will last until May 3, when the next price adjustment will be announced.

This is the fifth update of the weekly price announcements since the new pricing system came into effect on March 30. Compared to March 2017 prices – before the system was implemented – RON 95 is down nine sen, RON 97 down 11 sen, and diesel is down eight sen.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• thepolygonal on Apr 26, 2017 at 4:16 pm

Kita haruslah berterima kasih kepada Russia kerana increased output dari sana, meningkatkan inventori sekaligus menurunkan harga minyak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
    • K Kinte on Apr 26, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Malaysia is the only oil producing country that sells its fuel to its rakyat overpriced. Don’t get excited with 6 sen reduction.

All over the world, oil producing country sell their fuel super cheap to their rakyat except Malaysia. For example, Saudi sells USD25 cents (RM1.10). Brunei sells below RM1

Anyway let us assume we are not oil producing nation. We are still overpaying by more than 70sen per litre. By right, processed Ron 95 fuel should not be more than RM1.50 per litre. We are paying about 70 sen more per litre

Assuming one fills his 40 litre tank 7 times a month, one would overpay the Government by (RM28 x 7). About RM200

Calculate that by 10 million motorist. Gomen makes BILLIONS extra per month.

And yet, our hospitals have no medicine!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 234 Thumb down 45
      • Chris on Apr 26, 2017 at 6:41 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 163
        • K Kinte on Apr 26, 2017 at 7:48 pm

ha ha hah ah ha ha…where can convert? This like our bodoh gomen telling us in Singapore it is RM5 per litre. But they forgot to tell us, Singaporeans earn 10x more than Malaysians.

Average gomen servant in Singapore earns SGD8000 (RM27,000)

Average gomen servant in Putrajaya earns RM1200

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
          • Daniyal on Apr 28, 2017 at 3:06 pm

Ave govt servant earns sgd8000? How come my wife earns 1600 only huh?

• Arthur on Apr 26, 2017 at 8:08 pm

stupid comment. my mother work as nurse in UAE earn RM18,000 a month. You got nurse earn RM18,000 in Malaysia??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
        • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 26, 2017 at 9:13 pm

Ya, how much are their salary and their Toyota Corolla in their country?

• Chris Ohwai on Apr 26, 2017 at 9:55 pm

Does that mean in US, petrol is only US 0.69 cents per litre? (RM3.12 bahagi 4.5)

That is very cheap. Their cars also very cheap.

• What to do, RBA don’t play with fact. At the end those who believed in them will suffer. Water increase they don’t highlight.

• Chris John Ohwai on Apr 27, 2017 at 7:47 am

Saya harap minyak masak pun turun harga

• again and again, do not convert the currency, smut-S Chris.

moreover dig deeper. what ur saying there is mere surface. whats the average income of an American? Whats the car price in China?

Every country’s governance is different and so, to just compare their fuel price against us is not really fair whether their fuel is cheaper or not. What u earn there, u spend it there. Some countries, their public transportations are adequate, their government are actually doing something for the public for alternative modes of transports Malaysia?
          U must work in a bank or some financial related institution, Chris. well, wake up. don’t just speak for urself. not everyone can be so optimistic and comfortable like u cos again, u sounded like some bank execs trying to sell something.

Suppose u work in Canada, think ur gonna gripe on their fuel prices?
          Brunei’s fuel are cheap. why? because their beloved sultan understands that the average income per capita there isn’t as high as most might thought. The range of typical Bruneian’s income there is B$600-2,500 for locals there and they are paying 31 sens for Euro 4M diesel!

• Chris on Apr 27, 2017 at 4:57 pm

Exactly my point! Thank you very much. I merely put the facts on the table and let the readers make their own conclusion.

I don’t have any rights to judge if a person is shallow or stupid, that would be wrong. But what I can observe is that people like to jump on the hate bandwagon, and some take whatever chance they can to stir up more hate. Just like my post up there, most probably assume I’m against K Kinte (but am I?) And the respond is expected.

The post is a lot deeper than just a price list. Just an example, everyone only looks up, oh he’s having it better why am I not as lucky? Why no one ever compare to those below them and appreciate what they have? This is not saying one shouldn’t strive for the better but what can you do by whining about it?

I’m no banker, I’m no salesman. I suffer from high petrol price too, but I do hypermile for fun. I’d like to challenge my own thoughts and prove my yesterday’s self wrong, but taking out my pitchfork and join the mob for no reason isn’t my thing.

If I can make just one person to think about it more before picking up his pitchfork, I’m happy.

• Nellie Chan on Apr 26, 2017 at 7:32 pm

I see you posting same thing every week. Do you need treatment? Yes..,indeed.

• Takeshi on Apr 26, 2017 at 8:26 pm

Dear ..k kinte …
        Excuse me ..brunei petrol per litre 53cent dollar …not below rm1 …

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 26, 2017 at 10:53 pm

Bila naik dipersalahkan kerajaan. Bila turun kenapa tak puji kerajaan? Ada yang dah turun. Kangkung dulu naik sekarang ni dah turun. Minyak minggu lepas naik minggu ni dah turun. Ada yang dah turun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • john wick on Apr 26, 2017 at 4:49 pm

Why fuel price still so high?

Malaysia, an oil producing nation. No?!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 21
      • Work harder if you find RM2.20 expensive. I find it very cheap cause I work hard….oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Chris Ohwai on Apr 26, 2017 at 10:21 pm

Government 6 times increase price. Then 1 time reduce price. then another 6 times increase price. then 1 time reduce price. And so forth

They try to do jedi mind trick on people.

• john palak batu on Apr 26, 2017 at 4:29 pm

this is more like it.

• K Kinte on Apr 26, 2017 at 4:50 pm

What happened to the price war by PDAM??? So many weeks passed so senyap.

It looks like PDAM is supreme and nobody can tell them to do anything. Infact PDAM is the Government and they are running the country.

Now PDAM have decided not to have any competition. We all must kow tow

Also when price go up PDAM keep silent. When price go down PDAM demand from Government compensation!!!

Malaysians are still waiting for dealers to sell below the official RM2.21 price today

Stesen mana berani jual RM2.20 or below? 1 sen pun takut mahu kasi rakyat?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 19
      • Albert on Apr 26, 2017 at 6:21 pm

Kinte
        There wont be any price war after all these wayang.
        Very simple.It can be an “unofficial “cartel.All the dealers within 2km radius agree not to drop price.
        So,for eg..if John is from tanjong rambutan,he wont go to another outlet 10km away.Those outlets within the 2-3km vicinity just hold the price firmly.So u see ? Has any outlet near yr home reduce price? Somemore must write for permission before reducing price.

So,price reduction is actually going to be a myth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 26, 2017 at 4:30 pm

SYUKUR GOMEN INI CINTA RAKYAT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 37
  • Ben Yap on Apr 26, 2017 at 4:31 pm

mari kita puji kerajaan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 37
    • Mikey on Apr 26, 2017 at 5:52 pm

I know U(ben) & Semi-Value are being Sarcastic but many did not read into your Sarcasm. Not that the both of U are bothered. Cheers 2 Harga Petrol Turun.

• Still higher by 1 sen for RON95. Last week it was higher by 4 sen. What is wrong with the government???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • KinKorea on Apr 26, 2017 at 5:09 pm

“OMG!!! they’re according to the market price or not? Oil price drop a lot compare to last week!

• VAPER on Apr 26, 2017 at 5:11 pm

Current market price: RM2.18 per litre. Can hope next week the price will drop again…

• wawasan2020 on Apr 26, 2017 at 5:17 pm

happy sangat minyak turun.hujan pun turun lebat hari ni.kamu semua tak suka G yang tercinta oleh semua rakyat boleh balik kampong . sekian terima kasih.

• china,US,UK also oil producing countries . their petrol price is much more expensive than malaysia .
    must thanks malaysia goverment

• Drink fuel on Apr 26, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Different story at the ither sid.. Fuel down but water will up. No fuel can live, no water? Drink fuel?

• How sure are you?

• Tiger88 on Apr 26, 2017 at 7:54 pm

Pondan goman where is formula.it should b Rm 2 below per litre for 97

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Apr 27, 2017 at 4:30 am

What is the source of info and formulae used by Gov to increase n decrease the petrol price still remains a mystery to rakyat… The only thing become more transparent is our country is our value of ringgit, makin menipis giler.

• Teropong on Apr 27, 2017 at 7:42 am

Hi Jonathan,

May I suggest that weekly announcement of prices on Paultan be accompanied by a graph of historical prices and MOPS price since the mechanism was announced. It is easier for consumers to chart trends and do some benchmarking. I think that will be excellent value in addition to your reporting. Cheers!

• Dedak Man on Apr 27, 2017 at 9:08 am

Pressure release measure before the next increase.

• panjang on Apr 27, 2017 at 9:45 am

wow…18 cent saving when i fuel my EX5.
    now can plan next week what i can spend the 18cent for next week.

• hyin21 on Apr 27, 2017 at 11:27 am

fuel price will be reviewed every week. all this comments will be recycled every week