Subaru XV 2.0i-S STI introduced in Malaysia – RM123k

Motor Image has introduced a new addition to the facelifted Subaru XV range – the XV 2.0i-S STI arrives all dressed up with STI accessories. Kit includes an STI rear roof spoiler, STI rear under spoiler and STI side skirts as standard for this edition.

Buyers have the option to add on more bits, at a premium. Additional items on the list include an STI flexible tower bar, STI front under spoiler and 17-inch STI alloy wheels.

Otherwise, the XV rolls on unchanged, mechanically or physically. The facelift made its local debut in January last year, and at point of launch two versions were introduced, a 2.0i and 2.0i-Premium.

The XV is powered by a FB-series 2.0 litre DOHC naturally-aspirated flat-four petrol engine offering 150 PS at 6,200 rpm and 196 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. Drive is sent to Subaru’s Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive system (60:40 split front-to-rear) via a Lineartronic CVT, which has six virtual ratios.

The Subaru XV 2.0i-S STI is available at an introductory price of RM122,688 (before GST, without insurance, registration fee and road tax), and this special pricing is applicable while stocks last.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ahock on Apr 27, 2017 at 5:30 pm

Subaru ETC reliable baguss

• The price otr will be around 130k+- @_@

• karam singh on Apr 28, 2017 at 3:52 am

Dont be like Toyota pls, STi badge should be more performance parts & tuning , not some kits.
        Make it abit lower, firmer suspension, abit higher output then it can wear STi badge.
        Better exhaust sound would be better too for the Boxer to unleash its rumbling sound.

• put the badges where your mouth at on Apr 29, 2017 at 6:28 am

i dont know why subaru japan allows this blasphamy to happen here in malaysia, they should keep sti exclusivity to their halo model not putting its badges to any weak engined model they have just to push the sale… cant imagine if honda puts its type r badges on its jazz or bmw puts it M badges to its116i

• dont know how many version already this XV. better they introduce the normal impreza to compete on a normal C segment sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • K Kinte on Apr 27, 2017 at 5:43 pm

Overpriced junk. The car is same size as a HRV. I might as well buy the HRV or wait for the Toyota CHR. Both will command good resale value later when I sell after 3 years.

Subaru seems to be very arrogant. You should sell your cars cheaper considering you only have a tiny amount of sales per annum

By the way, where is Jib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%? RM123 – RM37k (30%) is RM86k.

4 years Malaysians have been waiting for this promise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 60
    • Honda Fan on Apr 27, 2017 at 7:41 pm

The overprice junk should be the HRV and not Subaru. The XV is overpriced but not junk. The HRV is nowhere near the Subaru in terms of handling, smoothness and power. Not to mention the NVH and comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
    • i bought mine (XV) last year for the price of RM 84000.00 (before GST)…plus insurance = RM 93600…

not cheap enuf for u ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • applegreen on Apr 27, 2017 at 8:07 pm

Early 2013, we can get this XV at RM151k, and then slowly discount to RM135k and finally RM115k. For me RM128k with sti kit is worth it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Othello Pong on Apr 27, 2017 at 9:04 pm

AWD based XV by Subaru is overpriced Junk? Comparing with HRV. Let me have some of the weed you are taking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • G63T DSM on Apr 27, 2017 at 11:34 pm

Subaru XV so many Editions oledi….

Proton Satria Neo oso gip tabik.

• kuntak kintek on Apr 27, 2017 at 9:09 pm

rm123k not overprice la. if 140k then can say overprice. somemore it not same size as HR-V. its same class as ASX which is price around rm120k+ also. size between full size B-segment SUV (HRV, 2008) and full size C-segment SUV (CRV, Cx-5)

• This sotong has kena goreng’ed. Shalom mate. Cheers

• Adryan on Apr 27, 2017 at 10:34 pm

I think the quality of the Subaru is better than Honda HRV

• Henry on Apr 28, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Anytime. No way can the HRV compare with the XV.

• Rennie A Ghani on Apr 30, 2017 at 2:20 pm

HRV is SUV witg minimal capability other than looking good, FWD summore

• iamboxer on Apr 27, 2017 at 11:36 pm

Me likey Subie Forester.

• same shit you talking on Apr 28, 2017 at 12:57 pm

Get a life .. stop complaining.. work harder to buy a car..any car ..

• Anonymous on Apr 28, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Another sohai…using a 2wd vs a AWD to compare…further…typical sohai…before even own it already think of selling it …..

• Paul YW on Jan 24, 2018 at 2:29 pm

Stupidest comment ever, apparently this idiot has no clue on Subaru’s Symmetrical AWD technology. *My wife drives a HRV btw.

• Overpriced, might as well for the new one that’s coming

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 27, 2017 at 8:18 pm

lol why would one buy this over a hrv and cx3, unless u really need the AWD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Henry on Apr 28, 2017 at 4:36 pm

Why not? It is only a few thousand more that the full spec HRV and many thousands less than the CX3. It is a bigger than these two and comes with their iconic AWD.

Go and drive the car before you comment.

• Paul YW on Jan 24, 2018 at 2:31 pm

Ya, why not? Unless you can only afford a motorbike in reality lah.

• Alan Wong on Apr 27, 2017 at 9:26 pm

Omg Subaru again STI with high price and you seem like to go circle and circle with yr so call STI spec. Last time i go to your showroom you offer overstock XV with a price 92K for all models but when we want to book the STI, a lot of original strut bar and emblem which i think expensive one u never give or take out. Hemmm i pity previous owner who bought earlier with high price so i guess present upgrade model will sooner offer again when overstock. I agreed with K Kinte this model is overprice and my advised to you Subaru do not always offer low prices when overstock cos it going to kill your own brand. I sure a lot of present owner is angry the way u deal with overstock and thrown the price down so much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Kelvin on Apr 28, 2017 at 8:22 am

Only STI cosmetic add-on? Don’t even have sti shock or spring or bembo brake?
    Its a waste of time and money.I will only buy Subaru with a turbo engine and never their NA

• Rooney on Apr 28, 2017 at 9:41 am

Go drive your Myvi for Uber. When you got enough, come back and talk about buying a Subaru.

• Ben Yap on Apr 28, 2017 at 11:09 am

i will buy if it’s an imprezza

• isengard12 on Apr 28, 2017 at 2:55 pm

Our car industry scene is so shockingly lacking in terms of value. Instead of adding value to the car with features that are truly useful (autonomous braking, blind-spot monitoring etc), they instead come up with so-called “branded” kits/accessories.

Anyway, have to blame our own taste also. Everyone just wanted to look good (ada gaya). The demand for “gaya” overwhelms safety consciousness.

• Maxisolon on Apr 28, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Isn’t vx got a newer model now? Shouldn’t they release this year? Wth is this? Another bodykit?

• Rennie A Ghani on Apr 30, 2017 at 2:23 pm

They will release the 2nd Gen XV by 3Q 2017, CBU first then CKD by early 2018, AWD is great to drive contrary to what people say, it inspires confidence in daily drive