Illegal for motorcycles to use the fast lane in Malaysia?

In March last year, deputy transport minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi said the transport ministry would request that the relevant road transport authorities deny motorcyclists use of the fast lane on gazetted highways and expressways. Intended as a measure to reduce fatalities amongst motorcyclists, there was no further information as to whether the deputy minister’s request was forwarded or acted upon.

We recently received an email from paultan.org reader N.C., who asked the Road Transport Department (JPJ) the same question, and received an affirmative answer. The matter transpired when N.C. was involved in an accident along the Lebuhraya Damansara-Puchong (LDP).

In the incident, N.C. was driving in the outermost, or fast lane, on the LDP, with a concrete barrier on his right. A motorcyclist attempted to overtake N.C.’s car on the right by squeezing into the gap, but obviously misjudged the distance. This resulted in damage to the vehicle, and the wing mirror being broken off.

According to N.C.’s account, the police did not take any action against the motorcyclist, and classified the case as “refer to magistrate”. This meant that N.C. had no recourse to an insurance claim against the rider, pending new information.

AppleMark

Unsatisfied with the police response to the matter, N.C. sent a query to JPJ, asking if motorcycles were allowed in the fast lane of highways. A reply was received from a JPJ Putrajaya officer, stating that motorcycles were not allowed on the fast lane of highways.

N.C. believes that such a situation, where no fault is found against the motorcycle rider, should not be allowed to happen. He then received a recommendation from the JPJ officer to file another police report in order to pursue further action.

We reached out to both the JPJ and police to determine the ruling on whether motorcycles are forbidden from using the fast lane on highways, but were unable to obtain an official statement. However, perusal of the government gazette up to 2011 did not reveal any ruling specifically forbidding bikes from the fast lane, as would have had to happen if Kaprawi’s request had actually been tabled.

Further research into the Road Transport Act 1987 showed there is no specific rule or regulation forbidding the use of the fast lane by motorcycles. Credible sources mentioned that motorcycles are forbidden to use the highway only when there is a gazetted (dedicated) motorcycle lane alongside the highway, such as the Federal Highway, the Guthrie Corridor Expressway and Kajang-Seremban Highway (LEKAS).

In all other cases, motorcycles are entitled to the use of any lane on the highway. Our source did say that slow motorcycles are suggested to keep to the left-most lane, or use the emergency lane, as circumstances permit. In short, technically, it isn’t illegal for motorcycles to be on the fast lane on Malaysian highways.

Obviously, overtaking in the fast lane when there is a only concrete divider next to you is not a smart move, because you have nowhere to run if the car on your left decides to move suddenly. Over to you, dear readers. What do you think – should motorcycles be banned from the fast lane? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Very, very simple. All motorcyclists should know their place in the vehicle kingdom and stay off from the fast lanes of the highways.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 413 Thumb down 114
    • Leroy Wee on Apr 28, 2017 at 6:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 227
      • RavenAii (Member) on Apr 29, 2017 at 1:01 am

Depends on the type of motorcycle. If one owns a superbike then it is safe for them to use any lane, as they have more power to overtake cars and swiftly changing lane. Kalau dah pakai motorsikal cc kecik(no offence) tak payah berangan naik lorong laju. If you don’t mind kena langgar or kena gilis then go ahead. This also applies to cars. Fast lane, obviously for fast vehicle that travel faster than normal but not exceeding the road speed limit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 17
        • K Kinte on Apr 30, 2017 at 8:08 pm

Pity the bikers and car users. None to be blamed. Both bikers and car users are give no direction by the Government.

Here, we see flip flop Government. No focus. One day make law, another day, make another law. No focus cabinet.

Pity bikers and pity car users cause Government is flip flop.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 5
        • John Ohwai Mental Asylum on May 01, 2017 at 9:04 am

Why nobody here discuss on four wheeler bike? I use four wheeler bike to sell my rojak and cendol and to carry my ice grinder.

Why nobody here discuss four wheeler bike??? We got no rights ah? If I want to use fast lane my business what!

If I am late, nobody can get their lunch you know!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
        • Sorry bro, the right lane is only for overtaking only. There is no fast lane for fast car. After finish overtakes the slower car, you should get back to the left lane or middle lane.
          On the other hand, I do support your statement on bikes.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 29, 2017 at 1:32 am

That includes EMERGENCY lanes! The busybody people with china cameras who like to catch cars doing it never make noise when kapchais do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
        • K Kinte on Apr 30, 2017 at 8:20 pm

PDRM also have tidak apa attitude. Their policy is very simple. In an accident, between motor and car, whoever can PAY more, he will win the case.

The IO will call you to the back room and say, “semua boleh settle” whilst smoking in a closed room aircon office.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
      • On the dedicated motorcycle lane or on the slow lane. Very simple.

• Tokok on Apr 29, 2017 at 8:25 am

use the far most left lane where the cars are moving slow which is safe for the motorbikes unlike the fast lane which is more risky to motorcyclist.

Or better still use a dedicated motorbike lane where available.

Motorcyclists who insist using fast lane are risking their lives and maybe others too. Please use logic thinking while riding, if accident happens, which party suffers more? The driver or motorcyclist?
        Driver probably unharm only have to repair their car or replace a new car.
        Motorcyclist how? One hit KO. How to replace arm or legs? or worse case scenario their live. How to replace life?

Basically both parties need to be considerate. Please be a good Malaysian road user. Budi bahasa budaya kita.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • Anomi on Apr 29, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Let’s feed your curiosity Leroy. Fast lane – your object motorbike vs a car object – which is 10x times bigger and 20x times more protected. It is obvious that no matter how big is your bike ( or think how big your b*lls) – hitting a car on the speed lane – you will die miserably. It’s just physics and physical aspect ratio. Even if you have 2000cc bike.. your b*lls are still not protected mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Jeffrey Ng on Apr 29, 2017 at 6:30 pm

That it’s not always easy for bigger vehicle to see them clearly as they may be in other vehicles’ blindspot. That makes them extremely vulnerable on the road especially at night.

• karam singh on Apr 29, 2017 at 10:05 pm

They can stay at fast lane, they can ride up to 300kmh..
        the biggest problem is the driver that drive slow on fast lane. 4 lane seremban highway,
        more cars on right lane driving slow, other car need to pass those car from the EMPTY left lane.
        Lots of stupid driver nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
      • Missing Kunta Kena Tangkap on Apr 30, 2017 at 1:18 am

Must have good motorbike lanes so the motrorist wont risk their life to use fast lane

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 21
        • K Kinte on Apr 30, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Dont miss kunta, you yourself work hard. Don’t be lazy and want everything free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 31
          • Kunta club mental rosakmember on May 01, 2017 at 2:06 pm

All got to work hard at thus economy status. By the way,You belum kena tangkap kah?

• Muzafar Ohwai on May 01, 2017 at 4:10 pm

oh my, what ENGLISH? work hard at thus economy status?

• John Ohwai Mental Asylum on May 01, 2017 at 9:06 am

I hope to pasang turbo in my 4 wheeler bike. I can tekan laju!

• WT Fuchhh on Apr 28, 2017 at 7:05 pm

Kasi tembak saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 78
      • K Kinte on Apr 30, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Car owners must unfortunately beware. Cause in any accident with motorbike, 99% of the time, the car owner will be blamed no matter if the car owner is not at fault.

The motorbike will always win. Why?

99% of all PDRM officers also bike riders and they “feel” for their fellow laymen bikers.

This is a fact. Ask anybody who has had an accident with a motorbike. Polis will say it is the car fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
        • Ex-VGM staff on May 01, 2017 at 11:19 pm

It is actually the law. Bigger vehicles must take care of smaller ones. Lorries and buses drive carefully to avoid crashing into cars. And car drivers careful not to crash into bikers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 28, 2017 at 7:07 pm

Hell no.
      Look at other countries, there’s a reason why they’re at slow lane.
      Want to drive at the fast lane? Get bumpers, crumple zones and safety belts
      Easy just get a car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 251 Thumb down 32
      • Lewls on Apr 29, 2017 at 9:31 am

Haaa…if you want to talk about other countries, they all allowed motorcycle in the same road/lane as car..your argument are invalid..

• karam singh on Apr 29, 2017 at 10:09 pm

Better Ban those driving slow on right lane..
        I never seen Big bike lane hogging on the right lane

Better traffic = better FC = better life

#SAYNOTOLANEHOGGING
        #FINETHOSELANEHOGGING

• Hmm… i guess this gips meaning to the the term “the roads is a jungle and the occupants r animals”

• old horse on Apr 28, 2017 at 10:30 pm

even flyover, there is a sign for motorcycle to use different path, but all ignore..

• lorrydriver on Apr 29, 2017 at 1:24 am

like that lorry have priority in the fast lanes, judging by the vehicle kingdom concept

• You can see on weekends idiot big bikers hogging the fast lane. They will travel in a convoy and refuse to go back on the slower lane. On normal days, you can see kapchais riding prefering the fastest lane on the KL highways. These morons should be strongly dealt with by the authorities

• Why not make driver who drive slow on fast lane illegal also. There are from which kingdom?

• Vehicle kingdom priority to bigger or faster? H2, S1000rr got more riguts than a Myvi I assume? 1500+cc bikes has more rights than most B segment cars? Or bigger in size where lorries avoid most damage themselves since you guys saying get crumplezones and seatbelts right…

Just give way to faster vehicles and stop hogging it simple. Don’t try to outrun a fast approaching vehicle unless you are willing toto floor that pedal.

• Motorcycles SHOULD be allowed to use the fast lane. However, motorcycles MUST be BANNED from lane splitting when using the fast lane.

The motorcyclist involved in the accident above is clearly lane splitting. Had he overtook the car like a normal vehicle (full lane overtake), this issue would not have happened. Any sane people can see the motorcyclist is at fault here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 323 Thumb down 38
    • BMW Superbiker on Apr 28, 2017 at 9:19 pm

What’s the option to lane-splitting?

Try trailing a car as if your motorcycle is a four-wheeler and see what happens. The car behind you honks at you. The car in the next lane tries to squeeze into your lane without giving signal because that’s the greatest opportunity to do so.

Also try to imagine the scenario in the heart of the city. It’s peak hour. A car is trailed by a motorcycle, trailed by a car, trailed by a motorcycle, trailed by a car, trailed by a motorcycle, trailed by YOUR car…. And then you will next ask the government to ban motorcycles.

• Anand on Apr 29, 2017 at 1:30 am

You’re the man bro, I’m sure you have experience in both these both type of vehicles.

• Vchin on Apr 29, 2017 at 5:18 am

Why isn’t this the main topic of contention? The real issue in that particular incident was lane splitting, not which lane the motorcyclist was in my opinion.
      If the motorcyclist wants to risk getting into a fatal accident by going on the fast lane vs non life threatening accidents on slower lanes, that’s his discretion but going on the fast lane itself doesn’t increase the likelihood of an accident. Lane splitting is what’s drastically increasing the likelihood of accident

• Idiot Motorcyclists on Apr 29, 2017 at 5:53 pm

Exactly the point. Im not saying all car drivers are good but certainly almost all motorcyclists are behaving in the wrong manner. 1 lane is meant for 1 vehicle and the dotted lines is not a
      lane.

Also one other annoying thing I noticed on highways. When its jammed up and some cars use emergency lanes illegally, motorbikes begin honking like mad on the same emergency lane. Since when did our law state emergency lanes are built for motorcycles ??

• I would say not all driver are bad but most are!You will know if you riding,the driver try to kill the motorcyclist.Trust me.

• IGP mom on May 02, 2017 at 9:22 am

Judging from your comment, 99% you are riding motorbike. Now, if the drivers are always out to kill the motorcyclists, why are you still around replying? Is it enough proof the drivers are not trying to kill you, but perhaps maybe your way of riding is courting troubles?

• Agreed Motocyclists should banned from using fast lane on Jun 13, 2017 at 3:15 pm

The motorcyclists should banned from using fast lane. The super-bikes maybe can allow if they ride according the speed. But the normal bikers want to use the fast lane and blocking the cars from moving fast. Other than that, when cars overtaking other cars, this motorcyclist will come fast from somewhere and honking at car drivers. Actually car driver already give signal to move to other lane, so, those are behind can see the signal and should act accordingly but this stupid people still come fast and honking at the car drivers. One more thing, since motorcyclists using the emergency lane, even the cars got emergency and using the emergency lane with double signal, this stupid motorcyclists still honking at that specific car. One more thing, when there is accident, these motorcyclists busybody will stop by roadside and blocking the lanes and make the jam worst.

• Jeffrey Ng on Apr 29, 2017 at 6:39 pm

If you allow motorcycles to use the right-most lanes, car drivers will need to watch out for more users on the same lanes apart from the regular cars, vans and trucks. Motorcycles are smaller thus not as easy to watch out for. It’s safer to keep motocycles away from the right-most lanes on all roads.

• Motorcyclist doing lane spliting because many slow cars hogging fastlane.Bare in mind,the so call ‘fastlane’is for overtaking only not for you to hogging for your whole journey.

• isengard12 on May 02, 2017 at 1:48 pm

True that. Our Malaysian mentality always think that the right most lane is “FAST” lane. It is meant for you to overtake ONLY.

There is no such thing as fast lane. We always complain & talk about Government’s lack of enforcement, JPJ & Police’s incompetence but we do not see our own wrongs.

• thepolygonal on Apr 28, 2017 at 5:14 pm

“Credible sources mentioned that motorcycles are forbidden to use the highway only when there is a gazetted (dedicated) motorcycle lane alongside the highway, such as the Federal Highway, the Guthrie Corridor Expressway and Kajang-Seremban Highway (LEKAS)” Ohh.. polis kaya kalau operasi kat federal highway setiap hari.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 8
  • BOYRACER on Apr 28, 2017 at 5:19 pm

There should be a law against a bike using the highway but whether it is practical or not is open for debate.As in other countries bikes that are 150cc and below are banned from the highway.Most Malaysians cannot afford 2 or 3 bikes in their homes.I’m a rider myself so I do understand what’s going on the road.For me the most important thing while riding is common sense.Know what’s dangerous and what’s not.
    I’m not siding with anyone on this matter.
    Ride safe everyone

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 5
    • Rennie A Ghani on Apr 28, 2017 at 10:06 pm

Agreed whole heartedly on banning motorcyles below 400cc from ever setting foot on gazetted highways

• Ahmad on Apr 29, 2017 at 8:29 am

I hope every motorcyclists and driver share the same mindset as you. Common sense is very important. Especially motorcyclists.

• Medic on Apr 28, 2017 at 5:22 pm

Well, they can continue using fast lane n happily contribute to national mortality statistic

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 19
    • Sensible Rider on Apr 29, 2017 at 2:07 pm

I ride my bike sensibly. If I find that I’m faster than the other vehicles (cars, lorries, buses, bikes…), then I don’t hesitate using the fast lane. The danger only occurs when slow bikes go on the fast lane.

• HONDA MALAYSIA on Apr 28, 2017 at 5:39 pm

Ban for 150cc and below…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 30
    • Haliff on Apr 29, 2017 at 10:03 am

Boleh nak banned..tp hapuskan smue highway yg upgrade dr jalan persekutuan..samada buat elevated highway or use other road..

• TheFed on Apr 28, 2017 at 5:43 pm

Motorcycles are entitled to use any lane on the highway.
    Authorities use this measure to reduce population.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 55
  • boboyot on Apr 28, 2017 at 5:47 pm

moto takdak bayar roadtax ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 102
    • Kahkah on Apr 28, 2017 at 7:12 pm

Motor takdak bayar tol

• RulesAddict on Apr 28, 2017 at 8:09 pm

Moto x bayar tol!

• Anonymous on Apr 28, 2017 at 8:45 pm

Roadtax bayar… tol bayar jugak ke?

• Moto tak bayar tol ka?

• tak suka accident on Apr 28, 2017 at 9:37 pm

Motor tak patut guna fast lane sebab menganggu kereta yg bayar tol.

Pengguna jalanraya berbayar mesti ada kelebihan berbanding pengguna free.

• You mean who pay more have priority?That’s mean if I pay more then I can kill you?

• Fenix on Apr 29, 2017 at 4:25 am

Motor memang bayar road tax tak kisah bro . Sanggup ker bayar dengan nyawa sekali ? Berbaloi ka kalau ader family nak tanggung anak kecik kat rumah bahayakan nyawa sendiri duduk fast lane ? Jimat few minutes saja . Baik bertolak awal a few minutes dan duduk Lane slow skit LEBIH selamat .

• rider on Apr 29, 2017 at 9:43 am

Kap chai.. RM2 roadtax???

• rider on Apr 29, 2017 at 9:49 am

Lagi satu 2 roda ada bayar toll ka? RM2 road tax tu utk beli nasi lemak kosong utk pekerja contractor jalan raya?
      Yg ada pula bawa honda cub ingat bawa motor besar…dah la bawa kap chai je.. klu terlanggar kereta org ada duit bayar???

• Ada, tapi jauh kurang dari kereta kan? Jadi guna kat tepi jalan je la, tak yah gi fas lane semua, kalau nak fast lane, bayar lebih rod teks pakai kereta.

• Ni boleh jadi cadangan baik. Yang bayar RM2 tak boleh guna fast lane. Yang bayar road tax baru dibenarkan. Saya cadangkan

• Kips Owner on Apr 29, 2017 at 11:18 am

Jalan Malaysia ni pakai konsep share.. tapi masalahnya, aku selalu nampak bila jalan jem… kereta bagi signal, motor yg lalu tengah2 antara 2 lane akan bawak laju… langsung tak bagi peluang kereta ubah lorong… siap hon bagai… mana konsep share tu?… bukan nak pertikai berapa RM kita bayar roadtax.. atleast bertimbang rasa….
      Aku penunggang motorsikal pon malu dengan perangai bikers kat malaysia ni.

• Mak awak on Apr 29, 2017 at 11:58 am

Motor tak bayar tol, buat cara tak bayar tol..duduk diam2 kat lane kiri..awak tu menumpang je.

• memang takdak

• RM2

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 29, 2017 at 6:33 pm

Moto tak bayar toll.

• Wilson on Apr 28, 2017 at 5:56 pm

Motorbike should be able to use on all lanes, it’s a matter of discipline, just like cars who zag in and out is as dangerous as bikers whom perform the same stunt. An irresponsible motorbike crash into an innocent car is not as bad as a irresponsible car crash into another innocent car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 53
  • What to ask? This is MY.
    Drivers will blame riders. Riders will blame drivers. Bashers pulak will blame Gov no enforcement bleh bleh bleh. But what to do, law din says its illegal. So how to enforce?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 12
    • tokmoh. on Apr 28, 2017 at 8:58 pm

Cuz lawmakers prefer to discuss about banning selena gomez, and if cannot, butthurt and putus alliance.

• Mikey on Apr 29, 2017 at 3:50 pm

john, more than 70 to 80% of Riders also Drive. So it is Not a question of using fast lane. they all FAHAM/understand.

Like U said, It is enforcement. Bcos the authority do Not enforce, they all don’t care bcos no one is there to stop or catch the culprit. So, who should we blame ?! The Gov or U ??

• Err. Pls read article again. its against the law cuz there is no law. Wanna blame someone? Blame urselves for choosing politikus that prefers elaborate Moves than bringing this into law.

• Fell off your bike on the fastlane and they will be picking up bits and chunks of you off the tarmac
    Your choice.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 4
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 29, 2017 at 1:36 am

Then uncles in camrys slow down to watch causing jam.

• cars also accident at all lane. so, cat should be banned from road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 57
    • tokmoh. on Apr 28, 2017 at 9:01 pm

Car accident, kena saman, collect points, lose ncd.

Bike accident, APA SALAHAN SAYA? KERETA SALAH KERANA TAK BAGI SAYA JALAN. PADAN MUKA SIDE MIRROR DIA PECAH PTUIK.

Sila meninggal, dirty rempit peasants.

• Megane on Apr 29, 2017 at 4:27 am

Go back to school and learn common sense .

• kiasu on Apr 29, 2017 at 3:08 pm

How can you control cat when they want to cross the lane…they’re a stubborn creature not unlike dog.

• You don't know jack on Apr 30, 2017 at 2:16 am

Why should the cat be banned from roads?

• Anonymous on Apr 28, 2017 at 6:58 pm

I drive n i ride but pls use commonsense… its just that u need to be patient n vigilant always… always think of every possible outcome for ur actions whether to lane split, overtake or better to just throttle down n wait a few seconds. U can try to blame others unless u end up dead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 5
  • Musang on Apr 28, 2017 at 7:07 pm

Common sence…all about tol payment…two wheel didn’t pay

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 33
    • Based on that common sense then, those who pay topkek road tax can use fast lane while myviva must stay in left lane kah? So since when did our roads practice caste system?

• Liew Chee Hoong on Apr 28, 2017 at 9:50 pm

But they paid for road tax..Okay..Sir. Musang..

• Safe Rider on Apr 29, 2017 at 12:43 pm

Super bikers pay much higher road tax than most cars on the road.

• Chung on Apr 29, 2017 at 2:38 pm

How about roadtax?

• Ban bikes below 250cc from using the fast lane. They’re slow and cannot keep up with cars especially uphill, hogging the road. Besides that, any bike more than 250cc pays more roadtax than a Myvi, so its fair to let them use the fastlane.
    Besides that a minimum speed limit of 20km/h difference from the maximum speed limit should be enforced too at the fast lane especially uphill so that large trucks wont hog the fast lane.

• Jagan on Apr 28, 2017 at 7:20 pm

I think rather then having them banned frm fast lane, all highways should equipped with motorcycle lane . This is a better solution

• Motorcycles should use the small lane aka emergency lane. The fast lane is only for cars, who PAY to use the highway! Don’t ride on fast lane and act like you own the highway. Especially those with big cc but act like road bullies!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Awang on Apr 28, 2017 at 7:48 pm

Right most lane for overtaking. If other people faster than you, move over to left lane. Don’t matter whether that guy driving car, bus, lorry, motorcycle, or horse. Give way. Problem solved.

• Peter Ong on Apr 28, 2017 at 8:00 pm

The big bikes are capable of matching and even exceeding the speeds normal for cars. I feel that to ban them will not be fair to them. However, I would like to see them obey traffic laws and etiquette just like that which applies to cars. If they are incapable of matching the speeds then the road hogging rules apply. When overtaking, the overtaking rules apply. I understand that in some countries it is illegal for bikers to overtake or travel in between cars. That is the more sensible rule to create.

• If I recall correctly, there is a no Motorcycle sign on the fly overs on LDP. The No Motorcycle sign can also be seen at the underpass along Jalan Tun Razak. Perhaps some confirmation would help N.S. in this matter

• Mike G on Jul 07, 2023 at 2:23 pm

That sign actually means motorcycles are not allowed to be stopped/parked under those areas. This sign exists because when it rains many bikers will need a place to stop to put on their raingear or if the rain is too heavy, seek shelter.

• RulesAddict on Apr 28, 2017 at 8:14 pm

Let the rules apply to all. People shoukd ride a bike like they drive a car. No squeezing between cars. Follow overtaking rules like a car. Ride in the centre of the lane like u r a car. Life is not cheap, we only have it once

• Benjamin Lee on Apr 28, 2017 at 8:21 pm

The problem is the law. In any accidents involving a vehicle and a motorcycle even if its the motorcyclist fault, you have to claim ur own vehicle’s insurance. Motorcyclist doesnt have to pay any insurance. Theres no coverage and they get to drive like an idiot on the road leaving us vehicle driver to suffer their idiotic behaviour. Of course they are at a better risk and they themselves know better that they will die should they be involved in an accident. But idiots are idiots and they dont give a damn. Though not all are motorcyclist are idiots and some do abide by the rules and ride safely. My concern is only on that particular small percentage of rotten apples. Maybe JPJ and PDRM should review on penalising motorcyclist the same as car drivers if they are found to be at fault.

• Noon Sod on Apr 28, 2017 at 8:27 pm

In my opinion, its not about the fast lane. The main problem is Malaysian motorcyclist do not respect the safety space surrounding other vehicles and their own motorcycle.

It is better to permanently revoke license of those caught squeezing in between spaces of vehicles on the road. While overtaking, they should mantain a clear distance arround their motobikes (about the size of a car).

Just yesterday I read a news about a Malaysian motorcyclist killed in Singapore because he squeezed in between 2 big trucks and hit one of the trucks and went under.

• Saiful Hamdan on Apr 28, 2017 at 8:30 pm

There is no fool proof ways of preventing accidents be it on the motorways or public roads.

What is important is all road users (drivers and riders alike) MUST know the safest way of driving/riding and be aware of their surroundings all the time.

My personal opinion is thru self education on safety and best practices of road behavior. When you are well versed in safety mindset and properly geared for riding, accidents can be prevented or at least the fatality can be reduced.

Gazetting the laws is only a small portion of the entire matter. The rest lies on the knowledge of safety and self awareness.

• 1)motorcyclists should not be allowed to use fast lanes in all highways
    2) where there is a dedicated motor way alongside a highway, motorcyclist should not be allowed to use the highway

• Confused AF on Apr 28, 2017 at 9:04 pm

Fast lane? Don’t you mean the overtaking lane?
    Slow lane (left), Fast lane (mid), Overtaking lane (right).

• BMW Superbiker on Apr 28, 2017 at 9:07 pm

Superbikes are motorcycles, too. Now, imagine they are not allowed to go on the fast lane….

• Roy Nelson on Apr 28, 2017 at 9:25 pm

I absolutely detest the phrase “fast lane of a highway”. Can you please tell me what the legal speed limit of such a lane is? As I understand it, the national speed limit of a highway is 100Km/hour and that speed limit applies to ALL lanes. There is no “slow lane”, “intermediate lane” or “fast lane” so WHY do you refer to it as such? I suspect the lane you are referring to must be the outside OVERTAKING lane – i.e. you use that lane to overtake slower moving (those travelling at less than 110Km per hour in the middle lane, which in turn are travelling faster than those vehicles NOT travelling at 100KM per hour in the inside lane).

Please refrain from using “commonplace” jargon when writing your articles.

As to the question of whether motorcycles should be allowed to use the outside lane of a highway, the answer, of course, has to be yes they should. All users of a highway must have passed a test showing their competency to control and legally drive a vehicle on the highway, so there should be no restrictions provided they remain within the law while doing so. Trying to overtake a vehicle that is already in the outside overtaking lane is clearly outwith the law and as such should be punished. I do not understand why the police would not take action against such unlawful behaviour.

• Anyone can ride on any lane they like. Better still, since damaging property by being on a fast lane is no fault, similar might be applied to knocking them down and causing permanent life lost. Then they can decide later to go on which lane is safer for them. Everyone has a personal choice.

• Liew Chee Hoong on Apr 28, 2017 at 9:47 pm

Motorcycle do paid for the road tax..
    My as well..If motorcycle free from road tax then yours entitled to ban..Please think for those using motorcycle..They are not rich like you all..thanks

• When you ride on a motorcycle, it is easy to get into a car driver’s blind spot. Adding that when your speed is much faster than others, the driver’s brain can only process according to what the sensors can capture quick enough.

Sometimes we just don’t see you coming. Be considerate when you want to over take in gaps, the other driver is not a superhuman. Don’t blame that he’s not super.

Today you knocked just enough to break a mirror, next day if you had to so hard that you died, everyone gets the trouble.

• Daniel on Apr 28, 2017 at 10:37 pm

Simple logic la…if you are the fastest at that very moment, u stick to the fast lane. But if another vehicle is a lot faster, then move to the left. Slow & fast lanes are created to help smoothen traffic flow so that vehicles of a certain speed stick together & not disrupt others. And there is a reason why a fast vehicle drives on the right…because we are right hand drive, imagine overtaking on the left lane, very dangerous because you won’t be able to see what is in front…where as overtaking on the right is a lot easier as you can see far ahead.

So there is no logic behind designating only cars can use the fast lane…but lorries are not allowed on the fast lane because of their size, it makes for a very dangerous situation for other vehicles to overtake from the left.

• Boon works hard, so he can afford a car, boon goes home to family safe

• Those who agree to only allow motorcyclist in motorcycle lane don’t know how “good” the motor lane is. I ride along federal highway during rain. Most the underpass is fully submerged in water. Left alone pot hole and construction workers just block the lane like it belong to them.

• Big biker on Apr 28, 2017 at 11:30 pm

If a bike can travel at the speed limit, it should be allowed in the right hand lane just like any other vehicle. My bike has more horsepower than most cars on the road – I use the appropriate lane for the traffic conditions. If there are slow vehicles in the left and centre lanes going below the speed limit, why should I have to travel slowly with them? What would be more important is to take action against car drivers who sit in the middle lane doing 90km/h in a 110km/h area when the left lane is empty. They force people into the fast lane unnecessary.

• Razza on Apr 28, 2017 at 11:30 pm

Motorcyclists can ride on the fast lane if they are riding fast. When they are slow they must ride on the slow lane. This apply to all vehicles. Why do you want to ban motorcycle from the highway ? Imagine what will happen if all these motorcylist drive their car to work instead of riding ?

• sick and tired on Apr 28, 2017 at 11:34 pm

come on la. the 1 thing all malaysian have in common is pointing the finger at someone when something goes sideways.
    https://paultan.org/2017/04/25/yet-another-child-dies-in-road-accident-in-malaysia-parents-secure-your-kids-with-seat-belts-child-seats/
    so.. y are busses not banned from highways? and i m sure this is not the only case. bottom line is.. if u drive or ride stupid u will end up stupid.
    and for those who just wanna blame bikes for everything.. take a good look at yourself first la.. using your hp while driving (which i m sure that everyone here is guilty of) is more dangerous than riding on a highway

• sick and tired on Apr 28, 2017 at 11:37 pm

our-kids-with-seat-belts-child-seats/
    so.. y are busses not banned from highways? and i m sure this is not the only case. bottom line is.. if u drive or ride stupid u will end up stupid.
    and for those who just wanna blame bikes for everything.. take a good look at yourself first la.. using your hp while driving (which i m sure that everyone here is guilty of) is more dangerous than riding on a highway

• Nasri on Apr 28, 2017 at 11:39 pm

Dear Paultan.org admin,

Maybe you can ask whether is it legal to lane split/ criss-cross between lanes like what motorcyclists are doing nowadays.

If motorcyclists would like to be treated fairly as a road user, maybe it is time for them to stick to one lane only.

• Steve on Apr 28, 2017 at 11:45 pm

Im daily highway user. For me, motorcyclist should NOT be using the fast lane. How if a car using motorbike/emergency lane, the motorcylist gets hyper with their horns. Treat the same for fast lane/car lane?

• Mr. Kz on Apr 29, 2017 at 12:21 am

I don’t think that motorcycle should be banned from using the fast lane at a highway. In fact, i do feel safer when using fast lane to overtake rather than slipping into emergency lane. But common sense, do not “makan angin” at the fast lane or other road user will high beam u. It is also worth noted that many rider does not like to use motorcycle lane especially in federal highway from mid valley to subang because there are lot of problems with the lane itself like water puddles, dark tunnel, too sharp bent and super bumpy road. In a nutshell, use fast lane to overtake others while other vehicles respect each other on the road, and everything will work out smoothly.

• C.Chong Kerry on Apr 29, 2017 at 1:15 am

Motorcycles, esp superbikes do not pay toll, so should not be allowed on highway..No tax income to public coffers..If they damage any highway facilities, no tolls collected, so whom paid for repairs..Do they bikers can be caught speeding on highway unlike cars and lorries?..

• Bikers

Bikers, respect other road users, respect the law and be mindful of your own safety.

Don’t go in if your way is not clear. Be patient. A car is an immovable object when traffic stops. Honking won’t move the car nor clear traffic.

Don’t kick cars. Kicking doesn’t make the car move. The laws of physics are on the car’s side.

Sometimes what was clear gap may have closed up, and a car driver is often caught being unable to complete a lane change. Be patient. You don’t own the split lanes.

Stop at traffic lights when it’s red and stop when there’s a stop sign before proceeding. Yield to main traffic flow when there’s a yield sign. There is no shame in yielding. Don’t stop or wait in the middle of an intersection especially a box junction.

Follow the direction of traffic flow, a one way street doesn’t mean you can ride in the opposite direction.

Observe the double lines. Don’t cross it.

When it rains, don’t park you bikes taking up 2 car lanes under an overpass.

When there is a bike lane use it. Keep off the car lanes. These are especially for you. No cars can and will drive on it.

Sidewalks are for pedestrians to walk they are not for bikes to ride and park on. Car lot are for cars. There are bike parking lots, park there. Please do not park in OKU parking lots.

Emergency lanes are for emergency vehicles. You don’t own it. Keep clear of it.

Helmets are for your safety whether you ride a kapchai or Harley or some high powered sportster to the sundry shop or to the Surau or to work or to road race, wear them.

Mirrors are there for a purpose use them and not for combing hair or hanging your helmet.

Headlights, tail lights, brake lights and signal lights all have uses and are mandatory. Make sure they function and use them. On a dark road, I can’t see you but you can see me.

Oh when your ride is over so don’t bully other drivers off the road with your illegal blue lights, marshal stickers and honking like you own the road. Wait patiently like other drivers when the road is congested. We all want to get home too.

We don’t mind sharing the car lanes if bikers follow the same rules as cars and show respect for others. Cars pay road tax too. In fact much higher than you. We are not asking for more, just the same treatment. We don’t need to share bike lanes.

God has bestowed you with a brain, use it. When the situation is too dangerous for a maneuver, wait. Brains not balls.

And this question will arise.

• There should be a complete ban against motorcycles, buses, lorries and any sort of heavy vehicles on the fast/overtaking lane with no exception.

Such vehicles have no business trying to overtake other cars on the road and any mistake on their end will definitely cause significant damage/death to themselves or others.

Many drivers/motorcyclist here do not even have the slightest common sense on what is the function of the fast/overtaking lane is and I blame this mainly on the improper education and poor enforcement who only emphasize that speed kills but fail to highlight that improper usage of the fast/overtaking is a reason as well.

In Malaysia, a lot of these vehicles are just clogging the overtaking lane but essentially are just cruising along on the road. These jokers are the one who loses control easily thus creating a chain reaction of accidents on the congested overtaking lane. If a car is close enough to tailgate you on the overtaking lane, then you’re in the wrong already.

• Sameoldstory on Apr 29, 2017 at 1:54 am

This is another lifelong age old question which will be discussed over and over again with no clear cut answer. Doesn’t matter what we think, there is no definite right or wrong. It’s what the authority decide, stick to it and enforcement that matters, the general public will just follow. Problem is who decides and enforce? Traffic police? JPJ? Ministers? Who will take charge?

• Blabla on Apr 29, 2017 at 2:02 am

I drive and also ride sometimes to avoid heavily traffic jams. Usually when i ride, i will use the fast lane just when there was huge lorry/bus on slow and middle lane. Just imagine especially lorry here in MY mostly mudguard seems like useless. We’ve always encounter debris from those lorry and buses. Yes, same debris as u usually face that sometimes can crack your windscreen when u are trailing behind lorry/buses. And one more thing, in MY, the middle lane is usually used as slow lane.. Those slow poke also should be banned driving on the middle lane as well since riders find it difficult to overtake lorry/bus on the left lane, so they were left only fast lane options. But, for those who just simply ride at fast lane without any reasons, yes, they also should get punished.

• Skeeny on Apr 29, 2017 at 2:04 am

Any vehicle that is not going at an overtaking speed or having the “disability” to look at the rear mirror consistently should be banned from the right lane.

• Mohammad on Apr 29, 2017 at 2:58 am

I do not agree with most of the comments below , motorcycles should be banned from using the highway if there is a motorcycle lane but if there no motorcycle lane then they can use the emergency lane which is sufficiently spaced for their travel ,Most malaysian motorcyclists have thiet brains below their knees when they are on the road ,in overseas motorcycles are allowed on the highway because they respect the law and have concern for their lives but not in malaysia .Certain motorcycles do have hazard lights and safety for the rider but small kapchai do not have any safety, if or when we allow or a rule is made to allow motorcyclist on the highway then this laws will be made as a advantage or misused and will be misunderstood and will cause bigger problems like illegal racing

• Erric Chew on Apr 29, 2017 at 7:12 am

Motorcycles shld be allowed on highways too but they would need to observe proper riding procedures without taking risks by riding or overtaking between vehicles. BUT since most motorcyclists do not observe proper riding procedures; for their safety & others, motorbikes should be banned from city centres & higheays. Completely. There are just too many deaths involving motorcyclists. More often than not one death or disability destroys a family. With 3000 deaths a year work out the tragedy.

• 150cc can use fast lane. Below than that, use left-most lane. Rider should know their own vehicle limit.

• Yes they should be banned from the fast lane….

• Arasu on Apr 29, 2017 at 7:35 am

Logically if everyone intend to avoid accident….should ban motorbikes use fast lane. Motorbikes can go fast in between eventhough cars were moving slow in traffic, t moment a car decide to change lane and couldnt see t motorbike which in its blindspot will cause a accident.

• Thanks to motorcyclist for sacrificing and reducing road traffic. Can you imagine everyone driving a car in Malaysia.

• Why motorcyclist like to lane splitting?Because a lot car driver abuse “fast lane”,most of the slow drivers like to stay at “fastlane”.Please understood the so call”fastlane”is for overtaking only.Many stupid drivers block the way for overtaking which endangerous other road users but those stupid drivers talking bullshit now!To all the car users,the big bikes are more faster then your expensive cars,I don’t believe you will ride slow when you get on it!Please be considering on the road because this is not your father’s road and be a pollite road users!IDIOT!!!

• Aiya… Malaysia law always on motorcyclist side lah…

• Motorcycles​ should use the leftmost only lane
    Cars should use only the centre lane
    Lorries and busses use the rightmost lane

Or maybe motorcycles and the big vehicles can switch lanes, doesn’t really matter once we segregated the vehicles by sizes

• Zahir on Apr 29, 2017 at 9:10 am

I used to ride fast and most of the time i used the fast lane. One thing, i never overtook a car and put me in a sandwich between a car and a divider.

• Tau tak! on Apr 29, 2017 at 9:16 am

Motorcycle under 150cc should ban from using highway. In MY too fast is a problem, too slow lagi problem! As safety cautions, our gov should bring in more motorbike with ABS. Motor or car, we all share the road. Fast lane bapak sesiapa punya Jalan!

• ALL DIY on Apr 29, 2017 at 9:35 am

Agree with the enforcement that motorcycles are not allowed in the fast lane

• Open Letter To Bikers

Bikers, respect other road users, respect the law and be mindful of your own safety. We can share the roads.

Don’t go in if your way is not clear. Be patient. A car is an immovable object when traffic stops. Honking won’t move the car nor clear traffic.

Don’t kick cars. Kicking doesn’t make the car move away from you. The laws of physics are on the car’s side.

Sometimes what was clear gap may have closed up, and a car driver is often caught being unable to complete a lane change. Be patient. You don’t own the split lanes.

Stop at traffic lights when it’s red and stop when there’s a stop sign before proceeding. Yield to main traffic flow when there’s a yield sign. There is no shame in yielding. Don’t stop or wait in the middle of an intersection especially a box junction.

Follow the direction of traffic flow, a one way street doesn’t mean you can ride in the opposite direction.

Observe the double lines. Don’t cross it.

When it rains, don’t park you bikes taking up 2 car lanes under an overpass.

When there is a bike lane use it. Keep off the car lanes. These are exclusively for you. We won’t intrude.

Roads are not race tracks or a place for you to get your kicks. Don’t weaving thru traffic at breakneck speeds, between cars trying to catch the smallest of gaps. Stay in lane like other vehicles and go with the flow.

Sidewalks are for pedestrians to walk they are not for bikes to ride and park on. Keep clear of doorways and ramps. They are for walkers or goods or invalids. Car lot are for cars. There are bike parking lots, park there. Being a biker, you are not an OKU, leave the OKU parking lots for OKU.

Emergency lanes are for emergency vehicles. You don’t own it. Keep clear of it too.

Helmets are for your safety whether you ride a kapchai or Harley or some high powered sportster to the sundry shop or to the Surau or to work or to road convoy, wear them.

Mirrors are there for a purpose use them and not for combing hair or hanging your helmet.

Headlights, tail lights, brake lights and signal lights all have uses and are mandatory. Make sure they function and use them. On a dark road, I can’t see you but you can see me.

Oh when your ride is over so don’t bully other drivers off the road with your illegal blue lights, marshal stickers and honking like you own the road. Wait patiently like other drivers when the road is congested. We all want to get home too.

We don’t mind sharing the car lanes if bikers follow the same rules as cars and show respect for others. Cars pay road tax too. In fact much higher than you. We pay toll to use the highways. We are not asking for more, just the same treatment that you expect from us. But we can’t and don’t drive on the bike lanes.

God has bestowed you with a brain, use it. When the situation is too dangerous for a maneuver, wait for a better situation. Brains not balls that is required here.

Get a license, road tax and insurance before you ride.

Do these and we can happily share the roads together.

• Garry Khoo on Apr 29, 2017 at 9:58 am

Paultan is the best automotive news ever!!! Thanks for your efforts.

• Shamsul Fansuri on Apr 29, 2017 at 10:03 am

I agree they should be ban for using the fast lane, furthermore they not paying tol to enjoy the benefits.In most cases l witness this bikers speeding and overtake dangerously.

• In MY, motorcyclists are king of the road and submit to no road regulations whatsoever. They ride however they wish. See how many blatantly ride against the flow of traffic? When I highbeam or horn these reverse flow riders, they have the cheek to get offended and horn me back.

• aizat on Apr 29, 2017 at 10:51 am

I’m a daily LDP user. Most of the time rides bike and sometimes driving.

There has been many cases motorcycle on LEFT lane knocked down bcoz some cars trying to go for the exit. YES. Exit junction is on the left side of the road mostly.

I’ve been in that situation several time which makes me feel staying in the middle or right side of the middle lane is the safest option.

• There have many instances when I want to cut into another lane from the fast lane..with proper signals..all I get are motors high revving or massive honking…this cutting g is done properly..yet this motor flers..harass you like we done something wrong…not to mention the stares…and the purposely slowdown in front of your car to show anger…this motor flers never even bother to use signals ..but disrespect and threaten those who do…

• Bernard on Apr 29, 2017 at 11:31 am

It’s all about attitude, mentality, intelligence, respect, common sense etc which doesn’t exist ….it’s not about allowing or not allowing , banning etc.

• Tiger on Apr 29, 2017 at 12:05 pm

Whether there is motorcycle lane or not , u see motorbikes are everywhere in the left , middle or right lane on the highway . Come over to Kesas Highway (both direction) and witness for yourself how motorbikes are bossing on the highway. Lack of enforcement by the lazy authorities.

• Sensible Rider on Apr 29, 2017 at 2:14 pm

It’s the rider, not the bike, that causes accidents. Same for cars, it’s the driver, not the car. So banning any group is just not tackling the problem at the cause. I think everyone should treat other road users like how he/she wants to be treated, i.e. with consideration and courtesy. Then all these laws and rules will not be necessary.

• I know bikers r giving a very bad reputation. I don’t call myself a biker, I’m just a motorcyclist. I won’t ride on the highway whenever there’s a dedicated lane for bikes although most of the bike lanes r not well maintained. For those ppl who says bikes need not pay for tolls fee, i don’t think they know how much road tax bikes r paying. Let me tell u, 1500cc car paying Rm90 per year whereas 800cc bike paying Rm350.

• VincentHillYL on Apr 29, 2017 at 3:35 pm

Just my point of view. If it’s a common free road, i have no problem for motor to stay at any lane as long as they drive & overtake safely but if it’s a toll-paying highway / expressway, it’d be unfair for 4 wheels paying super expensive tolls to give in to some of those motorcyclist that doesn’t give a damn at all & ride as if it’s their father’s road. 4 wheels drivers pay for a service and we should get the intended service so if 2 wheels wanna tag along the road free, you gotta discipline yourself. Unless the gomen abolish all tolls and make all roads free, then only every motorist can have a fare share of the road.

• albert lim on Apr 29, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Motorbike has the same right as a vehicle. On a highway, vehicles should stay in the middle lane if they are maintaining at certain legal speed limit & leave the fast lane for overtaking. (U k traffic rule).

• mazmanar on Apr 29, 2017 at 4:13 pm

slightly off tangent but nevertheless something to be considered is the use of the term “fast lane” – there should be no such thing as “fast lane” – the use of such a term implies that you can drive fast relative to all other road users who may actually be traveling at the speed limit – try traveling at the speed limit in the “fast lane” and see the number of irate drivers who’ll flash their lights and middle finger because they’re in the “fast lane”…Returning to the topic at hand, if a motorised vehicle such as a motor-bike were to use the “fast lane” on a highway but still be at the designated speed limit why should this be a problem to anybody????

• Instead of banning motorcyclist from using fast lane, better impose heavy fine for drivers who “crawls” at the fast lane. 60kmh on the fast lane? Come on la

• What?! Motorcycle overtook the car? The car driver such a road hogger.
    In this very case, I would say the road is for public and everyone should give and take. For example: Give way lah when motorcycle trying to pass. You will look generous and the traffic will be smoother. But when it is lack of space, motorcyclist should wait for the right moment to pass, coz you know what? Motorcyclist you are betting on their life. So drive, ride and stay safe.

• Traveller on Apr 29, 2017 at 5:35 pm

This should be implied to bikes150cc n below any bike with a capacity of 250cc-1000cc should be allowed to on the fast lane if this rule implies to all bikes regardless of CC then there’s gonna be a problem you can’t do 110kph on a litre sports bike for a long time

• Idiot Motorcyclists on Apr 29, 2017 at 5:45 pm

In most cases motorcyclists are the ones causing problems, be it misjudgement or lack of brain development.

It’s ok for motorcycles to be on any lanes. They should be BANNED driving on lines between lanes and follow rules of any vehicle. Just because they’re small doesn’t mean the lines is a lane for them.

Dear motorcyclists, most if not all of you have honked vehicles that are trying to switch lanes and prevented other vehicles. You are not entitled to do that. In fact you should be in the lane, not between the lanes.

JPJ should start to issue summons for bikes that drive on dotted lines.

• Chikhisham on Apr 29, 2017 at 5:50 pm

If there is no motorcycle lane, limit motorcycles to the first lane only. They should not go beyond the first lane, whatever motorcycle capacity.

• Balan. on Apr 29, 2017 at 6:25 pm

Yes they should be banned from using the fast lane. In fact they should only be restricted to use the slow lane so as to avoid collision with larger vehicles

• Bullshit. Before want to enforce motorcycle to use the motorcycle lane, make it safe to use first. Burglary, no light anything. Try to use putrajaya motorcycle lane first. And on 2 am.

• Akash on Apr 29, 2017 at 10:20 pm

There still motorcyclist using the federal highway even though there is motor Lane….. They should implement merit system to this motorcyclist as well… This way can reduce this kind of expensive events from happening.

• Motorcyclist in Malaysia thinks they are above the law and yes, the laws here do favors motorcyclist compare to cars. So, they end up selfish and do what ever they like.

But one thing for sure, when an accident happens the law of physics does not discriminate.

• Ben yap on Apr 29, 2017 at 10:49 pm

Motorcyclists are plain nuisance. They hog the road and kick your car if you honk them. Already paying cheap road tax but act as if the road is theirs.

• Guest on Apr 29, 2017 at 11:27 pm

Motorcycles should also pay full toll rates at ALL highways.

• Danial on Apr 30, 2017 at 12:04 am

I’m a daily rider and I adopted American and European riding rules. I don’t believe in lane splitting on fast roads as it is very dangerous at high speeds and it gives you very little time to react. I always highlight/rev/honk when I’m in the fast lane wanting to overtake, half the time people do move, but other times they get pissed at me and ask me to just go, even though they’re going about 80-90 in the fast lane a.k.a over taking lane (mainly annoying ass taxis). So for me lane splitting is only something I do in a traffic jam, or if some people are just lane hoggers. I do teach this to many of my fellow bikers, and as I race motorbikes I’m also very geared towards safety so for me safety gear + safe riding manners and driving manners on the road is crucial. So what I’d say is motorbikes, please don’t lane split, just highlight/rev/honk, and for cars please don’t hog the fast lane, give and take. If you’re not going fast and overtaking someone, just use the middle lane, even when I speed I use the middle lane whether car or bike, simply because there may be someone coming faster and if there’s no need to be on the right, just use the middle lane.

• RealRider on Apr 30, 2017 at 4:33 am

Powerful bikes should have equal access to the roads as cars. Pulling stupid stunts like overtaking cars which are already in the fast lane and who’s drivers are selfish enough not to move over, is downright dangerous and should be held as an offense in law, as should the actions of the selfish car driver. How a rider of a high-powered motorcycle is expected to stay in the lane designed for the little step-through 125s is beyond me and obviously extremely dangerous. If the rules of the road are made clear, observed by all road users and enforced by the police, there is no problem.

• Toy Yoda on Apr 30, 2017 at 7:10 am

Lorries and buses create more problems and serious accidents to cars and motorbikes. They drive close behind you but cannot brake in time. They block traffic causing congestion by driving slowly in the fast and middle lanes. They change lanes suddenly and squeeze out other vehicles. Recently a bus skidded and hit the back of an MPV killing a child, and a speeding trailer suddenly swerved and killed a motorcyclist. The authorities must stop being too lenient on those lorries and buses.

• I cannot brain this on Apr 30, 2017 at 8:05 am

Why does a motorcyclist think/feel that they have a different set of rules from other motorists?

I have lived all over the world and only in Southeast Asia do we have motorcyclist lane splitting either during overtaking on the highway or squeezing by in a traffic jam.

Then when this people “graduate” to a car, they try and do the same by weaving through traffic in their big SUVs.

• panjang on Apr 30, 2017 at 10:01 am

Its not about motorcyclist or driver, its about not hogging the fast lane and keeping it cool.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 30, 2017 at 11:30 am

They even get themselves killed riding on motorcycle lanes along Federal Highway. Its pure ignorance and stupidity

• Not motorbike or car fault, is just the human fault that want go very fast, don’t know when to slow down. How about the car that tail gate, how can they be banned. Big bikes have more power that car due less weight, so they can keep up or much faster then car. Moral of the story, ban humans from driving and hire robots.

• C. P. MOHAN on Apr 30, 2017 at 5:30 pm

Motorcycles can use vehicle/highway lanes if there are no motorcycle lanes provided they do not use the fast lanes. if illegal than highways that do not have motorcycle lanes are also illegal for allowing an illegal act.

• vezeroth on Apr 30, 2017 at 6:54 pm

How can the police condone the act of the motorcylist to squeeze in between the car and the divider, even if they are allowed to use the fast lane they are NOT allowed to squeeze in between traffic and are supposed to ride on the 1/3 of the lane and line up behind the cars. Clearly the motorcylist is at fault and should be punished by the police.
    This should not be allowed!

• Samuel on May 01, 2017 at 12:51 am

agreed that motorcycles should not be on fast lane of highway but firstly we should STOP motorcycles on highways with motorcycle lane such as Federal Highway, Kesas etc. You can see plenty of motorcycle on this lanes everyday, and it is getting more because there is no enforcement and police just dont bother, they rather go chasing lorries and cars where they benefits.

• motorcycle should not allow to enter the city

• Alot of commenters here seems to stop reading the article after the headline and start the bash. Pls read the article again.

• Using the fast lane is only a tip of the iceberg. Illiterate motorists are on the rise and it should not be limited to motorcycles. Some drive or ride of the opposite side of the road, knowing well of the incoming motorists. Some use indicators as an excuse to cut when they should be waiting in line. These mischievous motorists obviously know the dangers they are likely to cause and repeated frequency of occurence suggest they actually want to die. I am not saying all motorcylist are bad but for those who wants to die or plans to cause others to be injured, we need to do our part by honking them at the very least. The rest should be left to the law to decide or administer.

• jason on May 02, 2017 at 6:16 am

bikes seems to have a different view of situation. where there only 2 lanes they see 5 lanes. where there are 3 traffic light colors, they see an extra. cars are also starting to have the same views. but luckily not everyone started on the bike lanes yet. when i was on a biker previously, i feel the wind and adrenalin rush to do anything possible. now i am on car, we realize that we have a responsibility to provide safe driving for bikes. as long as the roads donot provide bike lane, it is difficult to fault bikes when they are motorist too.

• Zerotohero on May 10, 2017 at 11:58 am

I ban motorcycle on the road, they should go to the park and jogging. Hahaha. Let the car on the road, rise the power, and unleash the monster of the engine. Btw, for safety issue, motorcyclist should share lane with ambulance lane, because anything happen to them let ambulance takes over. Not on car lane, might cause congestion.

• Have you encountered HOGS or Superbikers convoy on NSE? I am a bike enthusiast too but riding in a huge convoy and hogging the overtaking lane in a long convoy is shit brained ego centric selfish. Sure they are already breaking speed limit by cruising 130-140kmh but there are cars want to overtake and cruise at 150-160km why ride as if they own the damn hi-way and scorn at you for breaking the speed limit when they are speeding too?

• Carlos on Dec 27, 2017 at 12:51 pm

Did you ever join them? If not, please do research or join them at least once before commenting. Since you consider yourself as a bike enthusiast

• Carlos on Dec 27, 2017 at 12:47 pm

IMO, low cc bikes (below 250cc) are too light weight and dangerous to ride in high speed. If you get take over by a higher speed vehicles, the wind pressure definitely will caused you losing control.

So please don’t think you are a professional or very experienced rider with those bike, riding on the fast / most right lane is making yourself in danger.

by the way, common sense la bro.. no rules said you can’t do wheelies on street, but take your own risk if you do so.

• St.Kyle on Jul 05, 2019 at 9:23 pm

Riders should be banned from using expressways /highways altogether

• Steven on Oct 01, 2019 at 4:42 pm

Why should bikes be treated any different from cars. Rules of the road are the same for all and sundry. Unsafe driving or riding is at issue and those who don’t follow the ROR pay the price. Attitudes are important. Bikes have as much right to be on the road and those who drive must consider safety on the road, just as much as riders themselves. If people stay in the correct lanes and use them as intended, all is well. If a bike is capable of speeds which elicit the use of the fast or overtaking lane, why curb them? Just because they are bikes? How about drivers who abuse the outside lanes by hogging it instead of passing quickly and returning to the correct lane? Or does poor road design lend to the way people engage the roads? Is driver’s education adequate as it is or does it need a revamp to ensure truly competent operators?

• Kheong Moke Wai on Oct 09, 2022 at 9:07 pm

motorcycles shouldn’t b on the highway

• HS.Gan on Sep 25, 2023 at 5:41 pm

Hopefully Malaysia government plan to build a 3rd/4th left lane for motorcycle lane to avoid to across emergency lane & car lane in North-South Expressway (From Perlis to Johor Bahru).