Toyota C-HR here in Malaysia for first official preview

The Toyota C-HR has finally arrived in Malaysia, officially previewed by UMW Toyota. Before you get too excited though, this is purely a preview, with no solid indication of a local launch anytime soon.

The C-HR has not been launched in any ASEAN market just yet, though it has been spotted testing in Thailand. We also sighted the compact crossover at the Singapore Motor Show back in January this year.

Anyhow, an 8NR-FTS 1.2 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine powers the car seen here, which has 115 PS and 185 Nm on tap. The mill is paired with a CVT that sends drive to the front wheels (all-wheel drive is optional in other markets).

Other powertrain options include a 2.0 litre naturally aspirated four-cylinder petrol mill (150 PS/193 Nm) as well as a 1.8 litre hybrid. The latter is front-wheel drive only, comprising a VVT-i Atkinson cycle four-cylinder engine, a pair of electric motors and a CVT gearbox.

Equipment wise, the preview car is fitted with 17-inch five-spoke alloy wheels, LED fog lamps, bulb-type taillights and LED headlights. We’ve also been told that the car comes with the Toyota Safety Sense suite. Once again, this is merely a preview, so the specifications you see on this car may or may not be offered when the C-HR is officially launched here.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 13, 2017 at 4:37 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 267 Thumb down 1022
    • Shaffiq Haz on May 13, 2017 at 7:25 pm

Totally rubbish average govt worker earns 8000 sgd? That is what an Assistant Director earn, don’t know which is worst, ur mindless ramblings or better yet lies or those who actually like your posting especially false ones like this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 301 Thumb down 78
      • YB Kunta Kinte on May 13, 2017 at 9:31 pm

keyword is “Average”. If you don’t know how to read, don’t get emotional. Let me put it so that you can understand….PURATA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 104
        • Someone on May 14, 2017 at 9:55 pm

Wa lao wei PURATA RM1200…side income x 50. Hugfhuhduh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • Kunta less than average size brain on May 14, 2017 at 10:54 pm

Result of small brain produce nonsense unlogical post

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
          • Ruslan Bahari on May 17, 2017 at 9:52 am

Kata pandai, tapi guna “unlogical”… its “ILLOGICAL” lah… dasar brensek!

• Shaffiq Haz on May 14, 2017 at 11:43 pm

Also, how could you put an Assistant Director’s pay as an average, do you even know what the meaning of average is ? I don’t care about your hate for UMW or whatever it is, what I could not fathom is your crap about Singapore civil servant pay, which does not make any sense and I see you spewing the same lies all the time . .. and it also clear you are a racist . . .I think all of us here know what your agenda is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 9
        • LierKinte on May 15, 2017 at 9:02 am

Lier alwaya got all kinds if excuses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • Singora on May 15, 2017 at 6:22 pm

It’s not 8k. 3-4K is the more likely avg. I’m singaporean

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
      • Rubbish car with poor safety, better buy Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 59
      • Rahman Andak on May 13, 2017 at 11:07 pm

Fresh graduate in Singapore Civil Service start with S$4000.

Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 105
        • D Merican on May 13, 2017 at 11:30 pm

I have to agree with Kunta. Moment we go outside Malaysia, we feel the pinch. Even Thailand now is costly to holiday

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
        • Steven Seah on May 13, 2017 at 11:56 pm

You cannot compare Singapore brain with laziness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
        • facto on May 14, 2017 at 1:01 am

Bashers compared salary between AVERAGE civil service servant in bolehland and FRESH GRADUATE in singapore. I LOLed at this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
        • SC Wong on May 14, 2017 at 4:36 pm

Only becoz Sg. they hire 1 govt servant= MY 3 govt servant. Efficiency is the point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
        • Kelab Sokong Amy Winehorse on May 14, 2017 at 9:53 pm

Enough comparing Mal and Sin.. Degree holder starting salary 3,500 apply to the best uni only not all uni.. Average degree holder in sg around 3k-3.5k.. But mind you with that salary they still not afford to buy the cheapest car yet without parent help.Buying a car in sg line buying a seat in heaven.A basic Vios/City cost you sg47k plus must buy COE around sg30k.So total paying a Vios will cost you sg77k (RM231) then paying petrol sg1.70/litre (RM5.10).Most of them not afford a car below 35 years old.Take bus/MRT much cheaper but if only you willing to join other mackerel or sardine in a can.5km taxi will cost you sg15 (RM45) base on time and location,after midnight and city area cost you more than double.Buying a 2 room apartment house cost you minimum sg1.2-1.7M (RM3.6-RM5.1 juta) Yes,that much for private property.Cheaper one are those used house HDB flat at minimum sg400k (RM1.2 juta) Single only qualify 2 bedroom.Married with children will qualify 3-5 bedroom flat,which will cost you minimum sg800k (RM2.4 juta) Private property 3-5 bedrooms usually starting at sg2M (RM6 juta) onwards.. Cost of living is top 3 in the world.Food and water is very expensive.Electricity is more than triple of what you use and pay in Malaysia.Starting this July water surcharge will be increase 30% and cooking gas will increase very soon.Own a TV must pay yearly licence.GST 7% and service charge 10%.. Yes,Singaporean per capita income is sg52k (RM156k) but they paying many more taxes here and there.But Malaysian enjoy life more with lower per capita almost 15k (RM45k) The problem is most Malaysia overspending their budget.Buying an expensive car just to show off.Salary RM3k but dare to buy over RM100k car? 1/3 of salary just paying car.Nonsense! Then later complain not enough money.Then what to do? Start taking bribery and cheat people money for the sake of class and style! Typical Malaysian!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 18
        • Harris on May 16, 2017 at 10:36 am

Bro, Malaysian civil service officer with a grade 41 (entry level) earns RM3,000 basic. Last I checked allowances etc, brings it up to be RM4,400. Want to ask why our pay is so low, look at private sector willingness and productivity levels of workers instead.

• Najadi on May 14, 2017 at 10:36 am

700 disikes. Nothing hits the raw nerve more than comparing to Singapore. They cannot accept Singapore is far ahead of Malaysia even though started same time as Malaysia and Singapore has no raw resources

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 32
        • This is a car blog, not an own-nation bashing blog. Take ur complain somewhere else where theres likeminded zombies.

Oh and im sure u very surprised theres still lotsa patriotic MY pipu, huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • IGP mom on May 15, 2017 at 10:21 am

Wake up! What’s the denial. Msia is low pay, nothing to argue.
        The fact is average salary in Msia vs Singapore … is 1 to 4x. GDP is 1 to 4x. Sudah kalah 9 streets, so argue here insist this and that, ok so you win argument. But doesn’t change a thing, salary still shitty … never improve. We are low pay. Come 2020, so-called developed country … by name … nothing change … still low pay. Still the same 3rd world country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • Anti Prabanathan Muntahsamy on May 15, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Hold you money everyone! It is confirm HRV will have a facelift in 2018! Expect more on the car and paying at the most cheapest among it’s rivals.Glad Honda dare to fight unjustice UMW.Bring it on!

• Then why are you staying in Malaysia or care about Malaysia? You’re views are not relevant here. We just wanna know about the car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 231 Thumb down 62
      • *your

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 29
      • Nancy Liu on May 13, 2017 at 11:51 pm

Mr Kunta, pls find a life and find yrself a good doctor. I seen mental patient like you at clinics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 13
        • GrammarNazi on May 15, 2017 at 9:54 am

Please get yourself a good English teacher. “I *have seen”, not “I seen”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Najadi on May 14, 2017 at 10:37 am

You should try Singapore cars. CBU. Totally different feel when something is Made if Germany or Made in Japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • coolstory on May 16, 2017 at 12:32 pm

When it is broken and have to pay expensive parts feel like rubbish

• Since when on May 13, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Haha since when govt servant in sg earns an average of 8000sgd. Lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 35
      • Rahman Andak on May 13, 2017 at 11:09 pm

Too many jaguh kampung cannot admit Singapore pipu earn more than us.

Singapore dollar also 3x Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 88
        • Whats the point 3X when takde keje?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
        • Why not compare with Thai or Indon?
          Next time please compare with USA lor, then can show borderless stupidity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • Don’t even start comparing with Thailand. Your lovely country is falling behind. Have you been to outside the country lately.

Everything has to do with purchasing power. In M’sia the purchasing power is very low.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
          • Still can get 8 baht with RM1

Still can buy more with RM

Cheers!

• Wanfumi on May 13, 2017 at 8:08 pm

All you said here are misleading and very inaccurate. Do you think dont have other people knew about living in singapore and their salary? Total BS, please dont say it if you dont know it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 14
      • Najadi on May 14, 2017 at 10:40 am

I was living in Singapore. High level Government servants all earn 5 figure Singapore dollars. Google it, it is in the web. Singapore Ministers also highest paid in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
        • DonkeyKong on May 15, 2017 at 10:49 am

That’s only for ministers, MPs, etc. Regular civil servants, even at director level, can hardly reach 5 figures. I have relatives who have taken up Singapore citizenship and have been working in Singapore’s govt-linked institutions for the past 20 years. Salary not even SGD10k yet. So please, don’t BS about “I was living in Singapore” when you can’t even get the figures right for stuff that every man-on-the-street in Singapore knows.

• Shariman on May 14, 2017 at 10:41 am

Kerajaan still want to hide from Malaysians that we are lowly paid. Everybody kais pagi makan pagi bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Anti Prabanathan Muntahsamy on May 13, 2017 at 8:48 pm

Awesome design but unfortunately a big let down on the engine.. Turbo 1.2 just 115hp..Are you kidding? Slightly few hp than Vios? Not even can fight City 120hp.. Fuel consumption must be terrible to move this turtle weight.. 2.0 sounds good but surely more expensive than HRV.. My prediction it’s gonna be 115k for turbo and 130k for 2.0 even this will CKD..Soon HRV gonna launch facelift for sure Honda going to install more perks and high tech with max 6 airbags all variants.And HRV much cheaper,99k and few more thousand discount.Honda HRV still be more value for money.My Singapore friend said CHR is smaller than HRV..Sigh.Only benefit for CHR is just new weird design..Awkward back side.Pro and con 50-50.That’s it.We all knew UMW will choke your blood with premium price for less specification.Usual 2 airbags,no VSC.Want more? Get the high spec one at 130k and additional 7k for extra safety package.Typical greedy UMW.I give 3.5/5 star for CHR.Just so so.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 20
      • Applegreen on May 13, 2017 at 9:35 pm

Turbo is about Nm not hp la bro. The turbo comes in instantly and car will accelerate faster, but not helping in max speed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • The turbo engine can be chipped v cheaply. And you really don’t want an N/A engine if the car has CVT gearbox…

• There is always the option of two tone Iriz if this is not ur fancy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Top speed without passenger is 190km/h.

• Tok Guru on May 14, 2017 at 8:07 pm

Why not just wait for it to come out officially then?

• Renault Captur on May 15, 2017 at 2:54 pm

Get a Captur la wey, this car is seriously underrated.
        RV aside, this car is surprisingly good.
        Good engine & transmission performance
        Solid Euro handling.

• Bro. u picked the wrong place to rant. PT here is neutral blog, wanna politiks go somewhere else where ur cave “facts” matters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
    • Yes. I admits south overlords earn that much more, cuz kopi is legalised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • Nancy Liu on May 13, 2017 at 11:51 pm

I agree with Kunta. Our GDP is so low. Menganggur here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • GDP high ≠ employment

Just look at hi keras countries Portugis, Spain, Greek, Itali.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Adat ka mana?

• AhBoy on May 14, 2017 at 8:07 am

I have no idea how much the average government servant in SG earns but M’sian government servant definitely low earnings. Just too many of them in the government payroll.

• Karam singh on May 13, 2017 at 4:44 pm

Come to Malaysia, 1 airbag only. That also not driver but passenger side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 41
    • Saya Syg Sama Kunta on May 13, 2017 at 9:49 pm

Karam Singh please dont show your ignorance here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Tok Guru on May 14, 2017 at 8:09 pm

Yes ah? Not anymore my dear friend… even the base spec axia has 2 airbags now… its halfway through 2017 now

• Lcians on May 13, 2017 at 5:08 pm

No use buy this crap…prefer to buy kia which is more affordable and more specs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 50
  • THEREALMaserati on May 13, 2017 at 5:22 pm

Hot seller for sure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 30
    • Yeah, the same had been said of the Sienta and we all know how did that turn out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • Sienta has the looks of an unglamourous mpv. Whereas this looks more iPhone than Nokia if u get the drift. With the demand for rugged SUV looks and the Toyota brand and top notch UMW SC, and if UMW can equip and price it well, this is expected to be a common sight on Msian roads giving the HRV a good run for the money.

• I have a feeling that when the car is launched in Malaysia, Toyota safety sense will not be seen on the spec list. And preview they show us the low spec model with smaller rim, and non-led rear light. While the turbo 1.2 liter engine is not something to feel so excited about actually, the horsepowers is too low, though the torque is high, and the oversea reviewer said the car’s power feel like 1.8 liter, but many ppl driving HRV which is using 1.8L engine, saying underpower. Until after test drive only know is it something worth to be excited

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 7
    • Its all about the torque.. I have an HRV and have to rev the sh*t out of it on the highway, it sounds terrible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Not really all just abt the torque, horsepower does matter. Torque basically is how powerful you feel when you driving and how much load it moves , while horsepower determine how fast a car can go, only when both work in parallel, then u will get the good performance, so you don’t hv to rev the shit out of it on the highway. Of course, if the engine can get you max torque in low rpm, you won’t feel no power like HRV. HRV’s engine torque is 172Nm, while CHR is 185Nm, yes mayb CHR feel more powerful, is it really faster on highway? Since the CHR’s horsepower is so low. It remain to be seen. And also turbo engine need to see whether it cause any turbo lag

• william on May 13, 2017 at 10:46 pm

CHR is direct challenger to CX3, the mini crossover champion. HRV is only top seller in malaysia. thus, should skip HRV.

CX3 is a better in performance, but weaker interior, steering and handling, others.
      clearly CHR is gonna be champion on the road soon(lets skip the pricing :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • J Welinkar on May 13, 2017 at 5:38 pm

The sooner the CH-R is launched in Malaysia, the better for UMW Toyota, as it will be a direct competitor to Honda’s HR-V. This will give potential buyers more choice. The key thing is, if UMW Toyota will be less stingy with standard accessories which should be included in the price. Also, the HR-V is priced competitively, will this be the case with the CH-R ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • And UMW should not pocket any savings from EEV and pass it on to buyers instead.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 14, 2017 at 2:05 pm

Bring it on lah UMW. Everyone knows actually it’s EVERYTHING BUT THE DRIVE. Strictly for show, softy comfy, resale value oriented people who don’t care about handling, power and safety.

• William on May 14, 2017 at 2:53 pm

Direct competitor is cx3

• klguy on May 13, 2017 at 5:41 pm

not bad, hrv badly needs a facelift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • The c pillar blindspot on this car must be the size of Japan itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • Yup. Bashers says the same thing about Gen2. But since this is jepunis overlord, so need to cover line a bit lah.

• 4G63T DSM on May 15, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Long gone are the days where you can get excellent all-round visibility. Call me old fashioned, the same question popped into my head when I drove the X6 and 540 GT. What on earth were the designers thinking?? The Iriz suffers the same fate.

Which is why now you need BLIS, and all that safety gear because the driver simply just can’t see out of the car.

Long gone are the visibility you get from a 80s car. Yes, I know that the A pillar needs to be stronger (and thicker) for new crash requirements, but poor visibility due to the C pillar design is just sloppy work.

• preview means market survey. if public gib good feedback they will bring in. problem is when they bring in, they will overprice it and public will punish umw again…. as usual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
  • aaron on May 13, 2017 at 6:25 pm

UMW is just hinting us that they will bring in the lowest spec version

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • Zuchie on May 13, 2017 at 6:33 pm

Nice move Toyota… hope the price are not to high.

• Rebadge on May 13, 2017 at 8:42 pm

Design look like civic + hrv. Maybe CHR means CivicHRv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • But since this is jepunis overlord, so copying is okays. However if P1 did this…

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 13, 2017 at 10:13 pm

Consider a used Tucson.

Musch better value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Hello Sam Loo on May 15, 2017 at 1:25 pm

Sam Loo, heard that you are selling Peugeot now ? Which branch ? I deal with you on my Vios last time. I want to get a new car this year.

• SFerrand on May 13, 2017 at 10:13 pm

Without the sun roof, it looks different from expected. No longer as attractive as before, looks like a sharper HRV to me. Why Toyota you have to take away the black seamless sunroof. Why!??!

• SFerrand on May 13, 2017 at 10:14 pm

Without the sun roof, it looks different from expected. No longer as attractive as before, looks like a sharper HRV to me. Why Toyota you have to take away the black seamless sunroof. Why!??! Please…

• Iriz two tone looks much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Tok Guru on May 14, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Ru comparing an iriz to the chr? They are not even in the same class

• Liquid Hydrogen on May 13, 2017 at 10:35 pm

Rather get a solid and powerful German enigineered Volkswagen Tiguan than this old outdated and underpowered Toyota junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • VW? It’s a poor man’s conti car for those who cannot afford BMW or Merc

• Callme on May 15, 2017 at 7:51 am

Service center too few n when visiting kch show room, sales girls services good, but when come to the “manager” or not, not sure talk sxxks. What car u comparing to? “Intially plan to buy a D segment” with this reply, will never look at any be again!!!!

• hilux punya fan on May 13, 2017 at 11:01 pm

itu hilux 2.8 trd bila mau mali malaysia?

• ahmadjohnson97 on May 13, 2017 at 11:45 pm

Hopefully there’s an option for manual transmission for 2.0NA.

• Toyota, please do bring in the 1.8L Hybrid powertrain model. Thanks!

• JomMakanDurian on May 14, 2017 at 1:48 am

If suddenly honda malaysia can bring the XRV (china HRV) befor UMW sell this CHR, then they will lost their potential buyer…who knows..

• Wow…very ugly look. Who design that rubbish?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • heybadigol (Member) on May 14, 2017 at 10:18 am

It looks very nice. But pity the rear passengers cos they can’t see much outside the car due to the small rear windows.

• chr come come on May 14, 2017 at 10:37 am

If me, i prefer 2.0 NA engine in this beautiful CHR.

• 1.5L good enough on May 16, 2017 at 6:39 pm

1.5L Vios engine like the Indonesia, at affordable price like honda BRV.

• Ben Yap on May 14, 2017 at 11:52 am

CHR priced at RM100k and below, this will be HRV and CX3 killer.

Price anything above that, it will be a suicide. Later will discon just like Yaris and Rush.

• William on May 14, 2017 at 2:52 pm

The direct competitor is cx3 , Cx3 is currently champion in mini suv world wide except in Malaysia due to wrong pricing

We will see if chr changing the game in mini SUV
    Both chr and cx3 are good cars

• taknaktoyota on May 16, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Both cars are sucky crampy

• I agree that the CX3 has a small cabin, but C-HR will have a bigger one for sure.

• CX3 is expensive because it is fully imported, but not locally assemble like its competitors. Indeed CX3 feels a lot better in build quality, and its luxurious interior is awesome. But one drawback for CX3, the cabin size is small, too small, especially the back seat.

• Henry on May 14, 2017 at 3:42 pm

Forget the 1.2L Turbo. UMWT should bring in the 1.8L Hybrid.
    The 2.0L NA can’t cannot compete with the Honda HRV on price.

• I wish they will bring in 1.2L Turbo & the 1.8L Hybrid model. Both of these are more on fuel efficiency.

• That rim is so ugly. Hope that Toyota will bring in a nice looking one to replace this one.

• proton oh proton on May 14, 2017 at 6:02 pm

Honda its time for you change your hrv design…

• I am wondering how a child will be able to open the secondary door latches?

• C. P. MOHAN on May 14, 2017 at 8:45 pm

This cheaper SUV is more about design than engine power and it also an option to sedan. If want both go for the more expensive LEXUS.

• Guess we will have to wait n see. 1.2 litter turbo, save so much on road tax. Will have wait till we can have a test drive to get the feel of the car. Hope it’s comparable in terms of power delivery and practicality to th Honda HRV. Let’s wait for U-Must-Wait

• On paper, Toyota 1.2L Turbo engine is producing less power compare to Honda 1.8L NA, but very much better fuel efficiency for the Toyota engine. Hope that this will not be a long wait…

• PLZ stop complaining on Govt related matters and standard of living comparison here. Motor heads, not politics. If there is any unrelated matters with the motoring world, plz google and find the right website to write in your “disagreement/s”. It’s an eyesore for purist on the motoring world and we would like talk about Cars. Thanks. Scarcasm also not in here to plz.

• Democracy on May 29, 2017 at 4:17 pm

I agree with you that some of the comments here are restless, annoying, and eyesore. But you behave like a communist…

• aloha on May 15, 2017 at 7:44 am

definately will buy it only for the car exterior design. change rim to 19 inch and lowered it, and wrap in matte color..blacked out all lights…

• thepolygonal on May 15, 2017 at 9:27 am

If UMW bring in the hybrid, there is no competitor at all for this segment. Those with aging Prius and Prius C might just switch to the SUV trend. Hybrid brings with it instant torque.

• Ben Yap on May 15, 2017 at 10:31 am

why is the rear door handle so high up? kids cannot open the door.

• Mikey on May 15, 2017 at 10:51 am

Hehehe. Toyo CHR official preview “ONLY” already received 88 comments at the time of posting. That show how much “Interest” M’sian have on CHR(bashing or otherwise).

If UMW/Toyota are to use the comments here as a yardstick, it will be Dead B4 arrival. Having said that, UMW/Toyo will still bring in this CHR simply bcos they know it will be the ONLY small SUV that can give the mighty HRV a run 4 their $$$.

It will ALWAYS be the Price that determine the number of units sold. It will be an alternative 2 those who do not like to be seen in a “common” HRV or the pricey but well built CX-3.

• I’ve test driven one in Perth the other day. The test drive unit that I’ve had was the 1.2 litre turbo engine paired with CVT.

On normal flat road, it was driven with ease considering it has enough torque to get up to speed. However, the drive itself was somewhat disappointing for uphill climbing. I’ll need to floor down the accelerator for it to give the extra power to get it up to speed at 60km/h.

The only plus point with the Australian model was the Toyota Safety Sense included as standard with all variant having the collision avoidance (AEB), blind spot monitoring, radar cruise control and rear cross traffic alert comes even with the very basic 5 speed manual variant.

I was being told that Toyota Australia doesn’t have any manual test drive unit but it is available for sale. I wished I could test drive the manual to see if it would be better in terms of acceleration but I highly doubt that given the weight was 1395kg with 85kW Power. It translate to only just 60.9 W per kg Power to weight ratio which is a disappointing figure.

And yes the C-Pillar is very huge. If the Malaysian unit doesn’t comes with blind spot monitoring, don’t get it. It is pointless to not have that safety feature considering it has a huge blind spot on that C-Pillar.

• SoftbankSucks on May 16, 2017 at 10:51 am

JDM G-T spec owner here. Let me add some points.

1- 1.2T engine is more than enough for city driving, especially the advantage of peak torque 190Nm available from 1500rpm. But for slope winding roads have to rely on manual driving mode (paddle shift would be an advantage but too bad not available). IMHO VW’s 1.4TSI engine performance range like would be perfect for power efficiency balance given its weight.

2- Back visibility from C-pillar is indeed limited and really have to rely on BSM and RCTA.

3- Engine Idling stop is not available (in contrast to Auris with the same engine). Not essential but would be a plus as option.

4- Bi-beam LED headlights with auto hi beam function is as useful as its aesthetic design, especially during heavy rain or fog. The preview car shown in the picture is not LED but halogen projector btw.

Despite its negative points, I (single 30’s)exchanged my hard earn money for it due to its sleek keen design and excellent after sales services in Japan (Top SUV sales for 4 consecutive months here).

Just my humble 5 cents.

• The weight for 17″ non koba variant is 1440kg but only 85kw
      Exora turbo 1466kg with 103kW

CHR only 5 seater but exora is 7

Duh

• mamahot on May 15, 2017 at 11:03 am

I find this car is very ugly in design. But I don’t mind buying it. Because all of my friend say it is handsome.

• Troller on May 15, 2017 at 1:45 pm

Firstly, T fans trolled the Honda Civic (Prawn, Lobster, Crab)back design
    Right now they want it too
    Hmm~

• look at the ugly n boring rims…could have use better looking rims

• lolpanda on May 16, 2017 at 11:27 am

This is the basic 2WD model in Australia hence the boring looking rims.

Also, unlike what the article says, i doubt this preview model has LED headlights. This trim level comes with halogen bulbs all around (except for DRL) unless it was customised specially for this preview to see what the market thinks of the trim level combination.

The LED headlight+fog+sequential LED signal lamps + LED tail lamp (LED everything basically) is only found on the higher level trim (Koba trim).

Honda managed to inject quite a fair bit of kit on the highest trim HR-V at RM117k, let’s see what UMW squeezes out.

• lolpanda on May 16, 2017 at 11:35 am

Considering how the hideous Toyota Rush with donkey-old tech is still listed at RM110K, i’m not too optimistic about the C-HR being brought in at a competitive price.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 17, 2017 at 12:06 am

still think the cx3 is expensive?

• Pen island on May 17, 2017 at 11:00 pm

Ugly car

• JomMakanDurian on Jun 05, 2017 at 4:16 am

Toyota still wait and see…honda gonna come a cross with their facelift then.

• Vincent on Jul 27, 2017 at 2:04 pm

After read all those remarks! It make me LOL… fall on floor.

Taking average income of a nation to determine selling price of B segment crossover? you need to read more marketing book.

C-HR is targeting HRV..CX-3, market segment. UMW need to study number of total market for HR-V plus CX-3, then take into consider number of potential sedan buyer (100K to 130K) which they can convince to take C-HR.

Then they will decide to price at CKD or CBU in long term!

If confirmed CKD, most likely, it will be price at around 125K to position Toyota brand at a little big more premium, superior than Honda.

That’s how market positioning mean!

• Selipar on Jul 30, 2017 at 5:24 pm

I guess ill wait for proton-geely suv.. this chr seems not so much to shout about..

• enuff already on Dec 27, 2017 at 6:08 pm

enough already with these previews. release it already.

Also, no Hybrid, no buy.