RON 95 for RM4.09 per litre? Shell issues statement

You may have read reports of motorists being charged RM4.09 per litre of RON 95, or RM4.65 per litre in the case of RON 97 at various Shell fuel stations on social media today. Fuel prices being as hot a topic as it is in Malaysia, the cases naturally went viral within hours of the incidents.

The prices above are much higher than what they should be – RM2.08 per litre for RON 95, RM2.36 per litre for RON 97 – so it came as a massive shock to the affected motorists.

According to Shell Malaysia, some 160 transactions were affected by the inaccurate price update between 12.01am to 1.30am on May 18. The company rectified the issue immediately after it was discovered, and has urged those who refuelled over the period to check their receipts, and to go back to the same station for reimbursement of the price difference.

Refer to Shell Malaysia’s official statement on the matter in full below:

We discovered an issue with our price update last night, and this has been rectified immediately. Unfortunately, some 160 transactions that took place between 12.01am and 1.30am on May 18, 2017 were affected. If you have filled up at any of our stations during that time period, please kindly check your receipt, and do bring it back to the station where you made the purchase for reimbursement of the difference.

For your reference, the correct price for the period of May 18-24, 2017 are as follows:

Shell FuelSave 95: RM2.08/litre
Shell V-Power 97: RM2.36/litre
Shell V-Power Racing: RM3.06/litre
Shell FuelSave Diesel (Euro2M): RM1.99/litre
Shell FuelSave Diesel (Euro5): RM2.09/litre

We apologise for the inconvenience caused, and thank you for your loyalty and support. Should you have further enquiries related to this matter, please contact our Customer Service Centre at 1300 88 1808.

So dear readers, do make it a habit to check the prices before refuelling. When in doubt, you can always refer to paultan.org for the latest Malaysian fuel prices.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Pengguna Bijak on May 18, 2017 at 7:59 pm

Next time isi Petronas……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 20
    • Pengguna bodo on May 18, 2017 at 8:30 pm

lj pretronas, other petrol stations like bhp has wave to pay for credit card so convenient.. Petronas dont have those technology to provide to the user nvm, but their system so damn freaking slow. While reading the card and all in petronas, in bhp or shell im already done filling half of my fuel tank

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 75
      • pengguna segaran on May 18, 2017 at 9:43 pm

hate it went petronas always having the card terminal system down like whenever i’m filing up my tank there ocassionally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 29
      • Pengguna Bangang on May 18, 2017 at 10:35 pm

never had that kind of problem with petronas. could be your card that has an issue my friend. yes, you can say that i works fine in bhp or shell or wherever. remember, could be where you place your card is not suitable such as keep your credit card in your kepala lutut or what. that could be one of the reason. just saying :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 23
      • poorsoul on May 18, 2017 at 11:52 pm

cash is king, stick with cash problem solves.. unless one is poor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • kerol on May 19, 2017 at 8:40 am

Regularly use petrol from bhp.. sometimes thr cc terminal down or swipe device offline.. just the same story.. dont bias maaa…

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 18, 2017 at 9:20 pm

Shell should compensate more to the affected people. This is because, being a giant and reaping billions of clean profit, it should have a higher duty of care to the rakyat.

To make matters worse, 99% people just fill up and don’t look at the receipt.

Shell damage control and PR is very bad. They just say sorry and ask the owners to go back to the station for reimbursement.

Few questions need to be asked

1) What if I am outstation. Do I need to go back to the station 300KM away and get reimbursement? Who will pay for my 2nd journey and the hotel charges?

2) Shell should give each of the affected person at least RM1000 free petrol as a gesture they are sorry and as assurance to the 30 million people that it would never happen again

3) The Ministry involved should have some balls. They need to penalise Shell very heavily as a deterrent and to show the rakyat thatwhen giants make mistake, they have to compensate reasonably.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 16
      • Your Ideas Are Good But Not Great on May 19, 2017 at 2:12 am

Give RM1000 worth of Petrol? You out of your mind? Malaysian is greedy and stupid people who weren’t affected would queue up and do mogok outside of the fuel station because they want some free things without doing anything. Just wait and see there will probably be some cases where they’d make a fake receipt just to get that reimbursement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
      • Tommy on May 19, 2017 at 6:28 am

Human errors do occurred especially now when petrol prices are adjusted every week @ midnight Wednesday.The stations’ managers/operators should be more careful to check the revised prices themselves, instead of depending on their technicians when adjusting the prices of petrols.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Ben Yap on May 19, 2017 at 9:25 am

where did you get the statistics that 99% don’t check their receipt?

don’t simply assume…. want to talk, talk facts and substantiate it.

• Kangkung on May 18, 2017 at 9:28 pm

Petronas is the least Petrol I will pump, I rather pump BHP or Petrol make the car run more efficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 37
    • Noviza on May 19, 2017 at 11:02 am

Never had any issues with Petronas.. pyt via ccard so far so good

• Pengguna bangang on May 18, 2017 at 8:53 pm

I would rather take a few seconds more than to be scammed by Shell’s flawed price adjust system. Apparently they could just cincai enter the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Vimalan on May 18, 2017 at 9:00 pm

How about those without receipt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • There Are Other Ways on May 19, 2017 at 2:14 am

If I were them, I’d demand a CCTV preview. Just incase there was no receipt and they liable me as lying and trying to scam.

• Khairul on May 18, 2017 at 9:06 pm

Baru isi minyak kat petron berhampiran subang airport,
    harga minyak RM2 sahaja, kurang 8 sen dari yang ditetapkan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • RakyatMalaysiaBodohBelaka on May 19, 2017 at 11:18 am

In japan, goverment set ceiling price but it up to petrol stations independently..
      You go shell A self service then you go to 1km further Shell B, different price..
      Fair and it up to consumer..
      All petrol station will have their own marketing strategy to survive…
      Here, muka masam ambik duit dr dlm kaunter..
      Minta resit, tarik muka…. sial!!!!!

• Mikey on May 18, 2017 at 9:21 pm

The moral of this article is Caveat Emptor(Buyer Beware). It means we SHOULD check ALL prices B4 leaving otherwise U will have 2 waste your time coming back to the station or office 2 get a refund.

Same for shopping in hypermarket, restaurant & everything U pay. Mistake is bound 2 happen. Just accept it as part & parcel of our life & move on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • YB Kunta Kinte on May 18, 2017 at 9:37 pm

What about those users who cannot remember which station they filled up in or lost the receipt? Most people just throw the receipt away?

Will Shell actually check their CCTV cameras in all stations and contact JPJ to get those car owners details?

Will Shell call all those affected from 12.01am to 1.30am?

Most people don’t know about about this glitch, they need to be informed. It is Shell’s duty to seek and inform those affected.

Obviously, many people will not come forward due to ignorance about this glitch. What is Shell Malaysia going to do with the tens of thousands or maybe hundreds of thousands of profit they made from 12.01 am to 1.30am?

Will Shell Malaysia keep the “extra” money earned or will they return it to some charity?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • Sensible on May 19, 2017 at 7:43 am

Anyone would realise this on the spot. One really should be able to tell because this mistake made users pay double the price of what should be. And if you do throw your receipt away, it is your fault for being complacent. Just don’t judge, because people do make mistake and systems do break down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • Fishy fish on May 18, 2017 at 9:44 pm

Think again why at that price? Was that the unsubsidised price? There won’t error for an error, something fishy behind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • NumericalMethod on May 18, 2017 at 11:34 pm

They might programmed the system of RM2.01 (last week’s price) + RM2.08 (current price) = RM4.09 instead of changing the price from RM2.01 to RM2.08

• ANAK IKAN on May 19, 2017 at 7:42 am

HARGA MINGGU SUDAH RM2.01 TERDITAMBAH DENGAN HARGA MINGGU KINI RM2.08 TERMENJADILAH HARGA TERSALAH RM4.09..AKA PRICE REDUNDANT..INI MACAM SHELL MALAYSIA SUDAH TERLAJAK UNTUNG..ISI SHELL FUELSAVE RON95 SUDAH SERUPA ISI SHELL V-POWER RACING800 JUGA..

• Leafable on May 18, 2017 at 9:58 pm

This is 2018 price.

• Fucukyongtaufoo on May 18, 2017 at 10:21 pm

Someone from future tweak the system and letting us know fuel may go up to that price… *Hint*

• PENGGUNA SEDERHANA on May 18, 2017 at 10:31 pm

No matter which brand we fill up, we as consumer must always be alert and aware for the price change every week. What brand also the systems are updated by human being. And human being are born to make mistake.

Bijak or Bodo,every week we also have to face the same scenario of fuel price changes. Last time every month,rite now every week.

Pity to all consumer and also all station operator.

Keep on fighting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Along on May 18, 2017 at 10:36 pm

Since all Shell petrol stations uses Tatsuno dispensers therefore I think the dispensers need to troubleshoot or replace all Tatsuno dispensers to Wayne or Gilbarco if the problem persists…

Only Shell were affected this issue since Shell uses Tatsuno dispensers whereas Petronas, Caltex, BHP and Petron uses Wayne or Gilbarco dispensers…

• RakyatMalaysiaBodohBelaka on May 19, 2017 at 11:21 am

Huh????
      So what…. machine errorr…???
      First time happen… nothing to so with tatsuko, tatsuko, gibraltar or whatevaaaa…

• heybadigol (Member) on May 19, 2017 at 10:18 am

Does seem from this article that Shell’s response is rather inadequate. Only apology and asking those with receipt to claim from the original station they purchased it from. They should be able to claim from any Shell station and should be compensated as well. Petrol is controlled item. Displaying and charging exorbitant price (above the controlled price) is against the law. Shell should be penalised for this.

• Such a ‘play safe’ statement from SHELL..how it could happened?who setting the pump?and isnt their workers@manager didnt double check the price?such a silly mistake..adios shell..

• Which idiot purposely go pump petrol within 1 hour after the price increased?